• 74 Customer Reviews
  • 11% Recommend This Product
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 9% 1 star: 79%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Poor business practices

    • By Kent,
    • Texas,
    • Feb 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I went online to look at the TacLight Lantern and considered ordering it. When I went as far as selecting it for purchase, I was presented with the payment information screen. I was serious at the time about ordering, so I proceeded.

    The next screen presented me with other options, including ordering a family pack of five at about $12.50 per light, so I chose that. When it took me to confirm my choices, it had one unit at full price plus the pack of five at discounted price. It would not allow me to remove the single unit at full price. I felt this was not for me; I don't need six lights, but would consider five if I get the lowest price on all of them! Anyway, I canceled out of the order at that point.

    Well, today, over six weeks later, I received a shipment confirmation email from noreply@customerstatus.com about the order of one unit at the full price. I NEVER got an order confirmation email from them, so I felt like my order was not completed.

    So, how should you do business and expect to have happy customers who give good reviews?

    1. Give all purchasing options up front, don't give other options only while the customer is checking out.

    2. If part of the order is considered to be already completed, show this information to the customer while they are considering your other ill-timed offers.

    3. Send an email confirmation AT THE TIME OF THE ORDER if you are taking the order. Don't let the customer assume that since they didn't want your special offer, they can opt out of the whole order if they, in fact, cannot.

    4. Never make your first contact with the customer by sending an email three days after you start processing their order shipment. That just makes you look sleazy; like you are afraid that if the customer knew about it, they would want to cancel it before you ship it.

    Bell & Bowell, you've managed to conduct poor business with me. At this point, I have the choice to accept the shipment for what it's worth, or call you after receiving it for a return, which will still cost me at least your web processing fee of $2 that I don't feel you deserve to keep. So, I may keep the order of a single overpriced lantern (according to many of the reviews here) if I ever actually receive it. I will be contacting you and my credit card company if I have ANY problems with the product, especially if I do not receive it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TacLight Lantern

    • By Todd Kirk,
    • Hinsdale, Illinois,
    • Feb 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered two of the upgraded lanterns on November 25th, 2016, for a total cost of $48. I received them on January 27th, 2017. The lanterns are very bright, and the magnetic base is a nice feature. I am pleased with the purchase but would not order from their website again. These lanterns can be purchased from Amazon and on eBay with much more reliable delivery.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not as advertised

    • By Marie,
    • Southaven, MS,
    • Feb 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just got my TacLight lanterns in the mail today (January 28, 2017). I ordered these back in November. Luckily, I wasn't charged until they shipped. I am sending them back, but am having a hard time finding a return address.

    The whole lantern is cheap, gray plastic. It will definitely not hold up as a military grade aluminum one, though. One of the lanterns was cracked, and on one of them, the magnets wouldn't stay on the bottom due to screws that have backed out from poor assembly. The magnets just sit on top of the screw. They are bright, but you probably can't see it two miles away. I would not think these would be waterproof either.

    Oh and the package includes an arbitration agreement and says you have to ship it within 30 days. I hope I get the refund, but it's on my credit card so I would think so. Thank God I didn't use the debit card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Company not taking ownership of the call taker's error

    Overall Experience:

    I place an order for one lantern at the regular price of $19.99. The order taker said I could add three more at $6.95 each. This order was placed 11/14/2016 and finally shipped on 1/21/2017 with only one lantern.

    The first time I called, they said it was their error, and they would ship the remaining three lanterns as soon as they arrived. Two hours later I called to ask for a supervisor to explain the error. The supervisor said the person that placed my order made it in error. Only one additional light could be ordered and not three. It is interesting how I found this out several months later. The printed order states that all four lanterns were shipped.

    The bottom line is, I made the decision to place an order based on the ability to order three additional lanterns, and now the company is not willing to take responsibility for the employee's error. One big additional piece of information is that the lantern I received was faulty. Total phone time (for both calls) was one hour and a half.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never showed up

    • By Brian,
    • Bullhead City, AZ,
    • Feb 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My credit card was charged on November 7, 2016, but no one answers the phone, and the only info I can get online is that it is out of stock and I will be notified when it's shipped.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Real bright

    • By Darrell,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Jan 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This lantern is nice and bright, but the batteries don't last that long. I'm glad I have rechargeable batteries.

    I waited two months for this lantern, and it's not really worth the wait.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Perfect little lantern.

    • By Geoff,
    • Sudbury, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered two of these lanterns for Christmas gifts. Unfortunately, they did not arrive until after the holiday, but I can understand that.

    I must say that the light from these lanterns is brilliant, much brighter than I had expected, and I wish I had ordered a couple more because it certainly appears to be money well-spent.

    I would recommend the purchase of these lanterns.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Where are they?

    • By Connie,
    • Golden Valley, Arizona,
    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered these last November, on the 27th. I received a "thank you for your order" email, and then nothing. I am angry, and a debit card was charged. Now it is January 16th. Since this may never be printed, I'd still like some answers. All I want are the two I paid for so I can get them to my Mom who is nearly blind.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy it!

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this item for a Christmas gift, but it was never delivered after five weeks of waiting. Their website says that it is on back order. My wife bought one in an As Seen On TV store.

    The first thing you see when opening the battery compartment is "Made in China" on the unscrewable button. The next thing I see is a big gap between the battery contacts. When I installed batteries, and just tapped on the side, the light went out as expected because the batteries fell off their contacts. I put foam in between the batteries, which seemed to hold them in place.

    Plastic is of ultra-cheap material and would never handle an ammo box falling on it as it is advertised in the commercial. Very poor product, no communication from anyone as to order status.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Still not shipped and shipping to take up to 3 weeks

    • By Carol,
    • Texas,
    • Jan 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered two ultimate TAC Lanterns on December 4, 2016, as Christmas gifts. I have called customer service (855) 721-3332 twice requesting a ship date and was informed that the items were on back order for 2-6 weeks! It's been five weeks and two days since I placed my order. I called customer service again today was told today that my order is now in stock, should ship out within the next week, and that it should arrive by the end of January.

    There was nothing stating that the items were on back order when I placed the order. My order "should" arrive almost two months after I paid for it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They're ok

    • By Sue,
    • Canada,
    • Jan 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a couple at the beginning of December. Yes, they came after Christmas, but I kind of expected it due to the season, so it's not really their fault. When I went on site using the address in the confirmation email, it showed they were out of stock.

    I can't really blame them for the Christmas rush, I'll just start online earlier next year. They arrived this week (first week of 2017), and I'm keeping both myself.

    I got two lanterns for $39.00 total (Canadian). Was it worth it? I think so. I like the way you just pop it open. The light itself I find pretty bright, and we tried it inside and out. I like the way it lights up without having to point a beam like with a flashlight, and it adjusts with the up and down.

    Whether it can be seen two km away, I don't think so, but I'm going to try it when we get to our summer property. It looks to be tough, because I dropped it two times and it worked fine afterward. I haven't heated it or thrown it in water, but it looks pretty sealed where batteries and bulbs are (three AA's). It's the size of a mug, and it'll be perfect for my car and one for the house.

    It is definitely better than the regular flashlights with the straight beams. This one you can set in the middle of the table and it'll light up the room ok. I spent $25.99 plus taxes on a regular heavy duty flashlight, so yes because of the way it's made and works, I think it's worth it for two. Mine didn't come with the metallic bottom though, and I didn't see that on the Canadian version of the order site.

    Plus it's a bit of a novelty the way it turns on and up.

    It's -12C degrees tonight, and I may leave it on the deck just to see if it'll work in the morning. Curiosity sake only. I don't plan to use them for heavy duty stuff, but as spares, in case the electricity goes out or at night.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy

    • By Karen,
    • California,
    • Jan 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Like everyone else, I have NOT received the item ordered, which was ordered in plenty of time for a Christmas present. It is impossible to get a hold of any human to talk to find out if the TacLight will ever be delivered.

    So far this company is a scam and is only collecting people's money without delivering a product. Do not order from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No customer service

    Overall Experience:

    I placed an order on 11/18/016. All I have is a printout of order, and nothing else. I went to their website and got nothing but "have no record of your order". I talked to a person who had nothing to recommend, and their emails say go to customerstatus.com.

    I called the number listed on order but the phone rings a few times, a voice says, "all circuits are busy, " and I am disconnected. No lanterns, no communication. And it was to have been Christmas presents. My order number is 36856201648148537 and the confirmation number is 19916687R.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never got the item

    • By Robert,
    • Paducah, KY,
    • Jan 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I placed an order in November of 2016, and as of today, January 1, 2017, I still have not received my order.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Back ordered for two months.

    • By Burnette,
    • Hazlehurst, GA,
    • Jan 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have not received my lanterns, and the status website shows that they are back ordered. My order was made on 11/7/16, and no one will answer the phone at customer service. I see commercials every day where they are still selling them.

    I have not had a chance to use the light due to not receiving it. This review is for their customer service. I'm concerned this is completely a scam, and my money has been stolen. If it's not received soon, I will be contacting the Better Business Bureau for assistance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Have not received my order, no communication from company

    • By Sabrina,
    • Hanover, PA,
    • Jan 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It has been nearly six weeks since my order was placed and I have not received my products, nor have I received any communication from TacLight Lantern (with exception to my order confirmation immediately following placing my order). I went online and entered my order number to find that the product is temporarily out of stock.

    When I called, they were very "matter of fact" about the situation and stated that it is their "policy" to notify customers by mail six weeks after an order is placed if their product is out of stock. I'll be waiting at least another four weeks, I was told, before I should expect my products. Extremely POOR customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience

    • By Carol,
    • South Carolina,
    • Jan 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We were scammed, as I ordered this for my husband for Christmas and found out after the order was placed that the item is out of stock, but of course, the credit card was charged right away. I am working with the credit card company to have charges reversed due to no merchandise received and no timeline for delivery. I think everyone should be trying to do this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed with shipping time and unable to contact company.

    Overall Experience:

    I placed an order for six Deluxe TacLight Lanterns on 11/25/2016, and they arrived on 12/29/2016 at the cost of $83.04, including taxes. One of the lanterns is broken, it will not shut off. I have called mornings, noon, and evenings with no luck. The phone goes into a busy signal each time. No way to run a company when your customers can't even call you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TacLight Lantern

    • By Lynn Mango,
    • Ohio,
    • Jan 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered six of these TacLight Lanterns. Communicating with the company could be improved. I was able to track the order, and at first, the lanterns were out of stock, but my credit card was not charged until the order was shipped.

    I received the order in good, shaped-well packaging. The lanterns were everything the ad claimed, and I am very pleased with them. The delay caused these Christmas gifts to arrive one day after Christmas, a disappointment.

    I would recommend the lights to friends, and I am considering on getting an additional order. I was skeptical with all the negative reviews and was glad that I proceeded anyway.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I guess I got lucky!

    • By Nat,
    • Colonial Heights, VA,
    • Jan 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered four of these on December 10th as Christmas gifts, sent to two different locations. I received a confirmation of the order, tracking info and email updates on the locations as it traveled. I received confirmation that all were delivered on December 29th, including mine. I came home, installed batteries and worked great. Very bright and compact. I love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Back ordered product finally received, and love it!

    • By Linda,
    • New York,
    • Jan 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have read through the reviews, and I also ordered this product in October. I do have to say that they did not charge my card until it was shipped.

    I also had to reach out to customer service multiple times and that was when I was informed it was out of stock. I expressed my dissatisfaction with the manager because this was one of my husband's Christmas gifts, the reason why I ordered it so early was so I wouldn't run into this problem. They moved me to the top of the list and it was shipped out a week after that. Needless to say, it did not arrive in time for Christmas (I ordered it October 26th, and it arrived December 27th).

    This is a great product, and I would give the product itself five stars, but due to the wait time and delays with processing and shipping, I gave it one star.

    The product itself, however, is exactly as advertised and is excellent. If it helps anyone I found that calling early in the morning is easier to get through to a representative, and also have your order number, as this also helped.

    If they could improve the processing and shipping time for the product that would be great! I did say I would recommend this to a friend, but I am referring to the lantern themselves.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best guess, it's s scam

    • By R Henderson,
    • Florida,
    • Jan 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Like all of the reviews I have read so far, I ordered this item months ago and have not received it yet. I was able to talk to a customer service representative who told me the lanterns would be mailed out "tomorrow," needless to say, it was a lie.

    Every time I check on the order status, it reads "temporarily out of stock." I continue to see the advertisements on television even though I have not received my lanterns in close to two months. I guess I had joined the club of those who believed what they saw on TV. Really disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't purchase!

    • By Gary,
    • Montana,
    • Jan 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I placed an order on December 1, 2016 and STILL no product!

    I was expecting it in time for Christmas presents and just checked the status of the order and it is STILL on backorder! They have no product but are still sucking up your money as they are still advertising on TV. You cannot contact them as no "human" answers the phone, and there is no email available. You can check your order status, and that is IT.

    I highly recommend to stay away from this TV offer until they actually sell it in stores because you will NEVER see your order!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Order received

    • By Keith Watters,
    • Levittown, NY,
    • Jan 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I placed the order and didn't know whether the order went through, so I checked my checking account and nothing appeared. I thought it didn't go through, but four weeks later it showed up on my statement, and one week later my six lanterns showed up, just in time for Christmas. I seems like I was one of the lucky ones to receive the product.

    I wanted to place another order, but now I'm afraid to do it after seeing these other reviews. I myself am satisfied, they did make good gifts for Christmas, everyone loved them, and I particularly like the one I kept. It really is very bright. I keep it on my coffee table so I don't have to get up to turn the lights off and on, LOL.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Would be better off investing in hula hoops

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered it on November 21st, and it is still out if stock. I was hoping to get it by Christmas of THIS YEAR. What a major freakin ripoff this is. I advise all to save your money for any day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Does not deliver

    • By A.E. Reams,
    • Oregon,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this lantern and bonus package on 11/15/16 and never received the order. I called to verify that I placed the order on 12/10/16 and was told the items were on backorder. No one ever notified me or contacted me pertaining to this order to let me know this.

    At this time I still have not been contacted as to when I can expect delivery. As of yet, they have not charged my account either. I was hoping to have these lanterns for Christmas presents, and the customer service has a great deal to overcome. This business continues to advertise without delivery.

    I do not know if this is a good product or not, but I do know that they cannot deliver what is promised.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ordered on Nov. 7th, but apparently I need a Plan B for Christmas gifts

    Overall Experience:

    I usually check online reviews before ordering anything I see on TV, but I neglected to check on this item or company. I blame my insomnia, and my sleep deprived thought processes (or lack thereof). Unfortunately, at 3 a.m. this lantern appeared to be a great stocking stuffer. So I picked up the phone to order one.

    By the time I hung up the phone, the woman who answered had sold me four lanterns (sleep deprived customers are easy) for a total of $136.89. I got free shipping, product upgrades, and other special offers involving the word "bonus," all because I called on November 7th (one of those "today only!" things).

    If I ever receive the lanterns, I will post an actual product review. Until then, I am fortunate that I use Chase Bank, and they are very understanding and responsive about crediting debit cards when fraudulent charges are reported.

    Also (probably irrelevant at this point) four lanterns became three, according to the company's records. When I searched using my order number, the order was not located. But entering my email and the last four numbers of my debit card revealed what others have noted; the item is out of stock. I will attempt to call their customer service number but, based on the reviews, I am not hopeful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 28-54 of 74

Write a Review for TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell