Read 74 TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 7 1 star:  59
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 74
Sort reviews by:

  • Beware of TacLight ordering tactics

    I was considering ordering a TacLight Lantern as seen on TV and when I googled, I found their website and was putting the information in when I decided to go check out some reviews. I saw negative ones and that the same light at other stores is less expensive so I decided not to order online, back paged and wiped out my name, address, credit card info and exited out of the site.

    Two days later I was checking my bank account and there were two charges deducted for $31.33 from them. I called the number on my bank's site, and the lady tried telling me they were shipped yesterday and that I would have had to call her to cancel. I told her I NEVER COMPLETED the order process, NEVER clicked the "submit" button so WHY did they place the order anyway? She kept telling me when they arrive, return them and I would be credited.

    I see it says 2-4 weeks for delivery, are they coming by a slow boat from China? I told her I would report them for committing fraud that the process was NOT completed and they should NOT have kept my banking info when I deleted it and NEVER hit the submit or place order button. So beware; this company is unscrupulous if not engages in criminal behavior!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Misleading advertising

    • By Jay Futterman,
    • Palm Harbor, FL,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received my order of two lanterns. I paid $5.95 for two extra sets of batteries. The advertisement does not state that batteries are not included. You are lead to believe that the lanterns come with batteries, and you are buying extra sets of batteries. Wrong! No batteries come with the lanterns.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not attempt to order. They will steal your money.

    • By Marc E Webb,
    • Virginia,
    • Jun 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I didn't even press the submit order button and over two days they pre-authorize my account twice and still sent the order. I decided not to order it because of all the questions they were asking and deals they were offering.

    I called customer service, and the first lady hung up on me so I called the second time and that lady was rude, and I finally got to talk to a supervisor, and she was totally rude. They said it was a live order, so they shipped it anyway. They won't refund any money until you ship back the product, which I can understand, but why charge someone for something they didn't even order?

    I wish I read the reviews first. This is a total scam and customer service is horrible. They are trained to steal your money. I said I was going to shut down my accounts so they can't get the money and the supervisor said "Thank you" and then hung up. I needed the $56 they free authorized my account for, and they didn't give a crap. I even explained I had a family death yesterday and that I couldn't handle any more stress, and they still didn't give a crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Far from durable

    • By Shawn Smith,
    • Madison, WI,
    • May 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought it from Menard's Madison West. The first day they were bright, but seemed cheap. It fell six feet with a magnet on the door. The bottom cover broke, and the lights don't work. This product is not military grade or tactical at all. This is junk. I am out $19.95 plus tax. I would give it zero stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Used for only ten minutes

    I was so tickled to get this last Christmas, but it lasted ten minutes. I got several more as gifts and hope they don't have the trouble. A piece of junk. Now we are under a storm watch (tornado), and I always felt like I could grab this when the power goes out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Commercial is misleading.

    • By Michael,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Mar 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They show a rugged, supposedly metal construction lantern. What it is, is plastic. And cheap plastic. After only a couple of uses, the top sliding part is so loose it slides open if laying on its side or carried by the handled, and when placed it will slide shut without enough tension to keep the upper part open for light, much less adjustable.

    I can't help but roll my eyes seeing them pulling one out of a fire or being smashed by a falling crate on the infomercial now. You can find four for $20 on Amazon by Gold Armour that look identical, but that put out 300 lumens and actually feel sturdier. (I am not affiliated with either company, just tossing out a better deal I found if people want this style lantern).

    Beware of the TV version; it's junk. The one I got wasn't even the "free upgraded magnetic deluxe version" either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The worst buying experience

    • By Tom Sclafani,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Mar 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst buying experience I've ever had. I did the upgrade for $6.95 for the 2nd lantern, however, it never came. I've had to call every week for three months.

    I would never recommend this product or how they perform their business practices. Also, if you want this product, you can get it at Bed Bath & Beyond. Nothing but a nightmare.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor quality

    • By Joe,
    • North Andover, MA,
    • Mar 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It has less light than a small candle, and the springs don't hold batteries tight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You get what you pay for

    I happened to see one of these at a Walgreens for $14.95, and I kind of bought it on impulse.

    Do I believe it could withstand the punishment depicted in the infomercial? Absolutely not. It is constructed of the typical cheap plastic found in a product of this price range. On the upside, it seems very bright, and the light pattern is distributed pretty well, with just some small vertical gaps between the LED panels. Also, it does collapse to a fairly small size when not in use.

    All that said and done, I believe it is worth the 15 bucks I paid for it. Anyway, I have 30 days to play around with it and can return it to Walgreens for a full refund if I choose.

    By the way, you can find a lot of the "as seen on TV" products at Walgreens and I myself would only purchase one this way. Just in case anyone is wondering, I am not affiliated with Walgreens in any way, I just happen to purchase some of my prescriptions there.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money!

    • By PM,
    • Florida,
    • Mar 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is by far the worst encounter and experience I've had. Should any other person tell you otherwise, they are liars.

    The product claims to withstand being in water, extreme heat and even being frozen (BS!), but the product could do none of the things the advertisement claimed it could.

    Below were the tests I performed.

    1. Water: I submerged it in water, and it leaked into the "glass" and would likely rust out any metal components (had to trash it after the last test).

    2. Freeze: Oh it froze, and it took time for it to thaw before rendering any use. It's plastic and made from China.

    3. Heat resistant: Nope, it melted (trashed).

    Save your money and dignity. You're the only hope we have left to save mankind because these people will rip you off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't bother, definitely a scam.

    • By Joy Campbell,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Feb 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    There are a lot of red flags. They first and foremost get your credit card info. THEN they keep asking you to add this and that for more money. For example, upgrade the strength of the flashlight, but you're buying it because it is already strong (or so you thought).

    On TV it says you get two for $19.99 and with free shipping. When you are ordering, you find out you're paying $31.99 for two flashlights.

    I will go to my credit union Monday morning and stop payment on this thing and be more careful next time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 74

Write a Review for TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
TacLight Lantern by Bell & Howell