About TBX-Free

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Jun 20, 2017

Using revolutionary film strip delivery technology, TBX-Free is a laboratory-based product that promises to work immediately and deliver fast-acting nicotine replacement therapy that can help you stop smoking, without side effects or withdrawals.

The company claims this homeopathic treatment comes in a very small, pocket-sized dispenser that’s easy to take with you. Whenever you feel the urge to smoke just grab a strip, place it on your tongue, allow it to dissolve, and the active ingredient will enter your blood stream and work on a molecular level to ease your craving.

In fact, the manufacturer claims their TBX-Free strips are so effective that they have an 88 percent success rate and are the “#1 choice by smokers.”

It’s easy to understand why you’re looking for a nicotine-free method of quitting smoking, since traditional options like patches and gum often just keep you on a never-ending cycle of addiction from one expensive, nicotine-based product to another.

But, can you reasonably expect the ingredients found in THX-Free’s strips to provide a quick fix for your cravings? That’s the primary concept we’ll explore here, starting with the basics.

A Few Quick Facts & Figures About Nicotine

Nicotine is an alkaloid (a group of plant compounds that have “pronounced physiological actions on humans”) found in tobacco. Once absorbed by the lungs (smoking) or lining of the mouth (smokeless tobacco), it’s transported through the blood stream to the brain in a matter of seconds.

Once there, nicotine triggers the release of adrenaline and feelings of pleasure and provides a quick energy boost. According to the U.S. Department of Health and Humans Services:

“The buzz fades quickly though, and leaves you feeling tired, a little down, and wanting the buzz again. This feeling is what makes you light up the next cigarette. Since your body is able to build up a high tolerance to nicotine, you’ll need to smoke more and more cigarettes in order to get the nicotine’s pleasurable effects and prevent withdrawal symptoms.

This up and down cycle repeats over and over, leading to addiction. Addiction keeps people smoking even when they want to quit. Breaking addiction is harder for some people than others. Many people need more than one try in order to quit.”

This is why, although Daily Mail reports two-thirds of smokers want to quit, only about six percent are successful. However, we didn’t encounter any clinical evidence for the five percent success rate for nicotine gum or the 10 percent success rate for patches noted in the TBX-Free Facebook Live video.

Regardless, will the active ingredient in these dissolvable strips greatly increase your chances of successfully quitting? Let’s take a look.

Are TBX-Free’s Ingredients Effective For Smoking Cessation?

While there aren’t any ingredients listed on the TBX-Free website, according to the U.S. National Library of Medicine, each strip contains 8mg of cytisine, which is a chemical found in the seeds of the golden rain tree that acts as a nicotinic receptor agonist. In other words, it mimics the action of nicotine at specialized receptor sites in the brain.

Inactive ingredients include pullulan, natural mint extract, sugar, menthol, licorice, and aspartame.

As far as clinical support, although authoritative sites like the Natural Medicines Database, WebMD, and Examine.com didn’t have standalone listings for the ingredient itself, a 2014 article originally published by HealthDay News reported on a 1,300-participant study conducted in New Zealand that found:

“After a month, 40 percent of those taking cytisine pills said they hadn't smoked, compared with 31 percent of those who used nicotine replacement therapy.”

In addition, we found 110 related studies for “cytisine smoking” on the National Institutes of Health’s PubMed at the time of our research, many of which seemed to indicate that cytisine works better than placebo for helping smokers kick the habit. Specifically, in the study above, it had a nine percent better success rate than those who attempted to quit gradually using nicotine replacement products.

However, the manufacturer didn’t provide any evidence on their website that TBX-Free has been shown to provide the same feeling as if you smoked a cigarette, or that it can reliably deliver an 88 percent cure rate. We reached out to the company for more details and will update this article as soon as a response is received.

TBX Free Cure RateWhile they don’t provide any clinical support, the manufacturer claims the cytisine in TBX-Free mimics the feeling of nicotine and has been shown to be successful 88 percent of the time. Image credit: Redwood Scientific Technologies, Inc.

Finally, while the website indicates that TBX-Free’s dissolvable film strip delivery technology is revolutionary, the reality is that you’ll find similar technology used in hundreds of products like breath fresheners, pain relievers, vitamins, and sleep aids.

What about side effects, though?

Will the Cytisine In TBX-Free Cause Potential Side Effects?

The manufacturer tells us that TBX-Free won’t cause any side effects and won’t lead to withdrawals. And since it seemed to be such a new ingredient, the Natural Medicines Database, WebMD, and Examine.com didn’t list it, or any of its potential side effects, either.

With this said, the 2014 New Zealand cytosine study mentioned earlier concluded that, while “cytisine was found to be superior to nicotine-replacement therapy in helping smokers quit smoking, … it was associated with a higher frequency of self-reported adverse events” like nausea, vomiting, and sleep disorders.

The U.S. National Library of Medicine indicates you shouldn’t take TBX-Free if you’re using another smoking cessation product, if you’re taking depression or asthma prescription medication, or if you’re allergic to any of its ingredients.

Further, you should speak with your doctor if you have heart disease, an irregular heartbeat, high blood pressure, stomach ulcers, diabetes, or allergies to other medication.

Even if you haven’t experienced these, since so little has been reported on cytisine, including its potential side effects and drug interactions, you’ll definitely want to speak with a healthcare professional before taking any product containing it.

How Much Does TBX-Free Cost?

Available in menthol, tobacco, or classic flavors, a one-month supply (120 film strips) of TBX-Free is priced at $49.95. With your order, you’ll receive a user guide and a dosage guide.

Important note: All TBX-Free orders are automatically enrolled in a recurring shipping program. This means you’ll continue receiving a new supply of film strips once per month, and your credit card will be charged $49.95 each time.

Although the company recommends using TBX-Free for 60 days for best results, all orders come with a 30-day refund policy, money back guarantee, less S&H. To request one, or to pause or cancel your automatic shipments, a stop smoking specialist can be reached at 800-554-1352 or support@tbxfree.com.

We also found the supplement sold through Amazon for the same price, although apparently without the autoship enrollment.

Based on these prices, are customers reporting satisfactory results?

What Can We Learn From TBX-Free Customer Reviews?

On Amazon, TBX-Free had more than 375 customer reviews, with an average rating of 3.6 stars. There, most compliments seemed related to greatly reduced (or eliminated smoking), with little-to-no cravings or withdrawal symptoms. On the other hand, common complaints revolved around no results and high price.

The product also had more than 36,000 Facebook followers at the time of our research, with the majority also reporting positive results.

From a company perspective, Redwood Scientific Technologies is based out of Claremont, CA and manufactures a line of products that all feature the same dissolvable strip technology, including Prolongz, Comfort Time, and Sumnusent.

They had a C- Better Business Bureau rating and 31 closed complaints as of 6/19/17, most of which appeared related to the company’s autoship program.

Obviously, we’re only reporting the facts so you can make a more informed purchase—not indicating you’ll necessarily experience any of the same with TBX-Free.

Does TBX-Free Have Any Competition?

Although cytisine has a molecular structure similar to nicotine and seems to have some compelling (albeit limited) clinical evidence that it might help smokers quit, it isn’t a popular ingredient outside of Eastern and Central Europe.

However, we did encounter one other cytisine smoking cessation product available outside this region called Tabex, which delivers 1.5mg of the ingredient per pill. A pack of 100 was priced at $32.95 and only available through the manufacturer’s website.

Will this work better than 8mg of cytisine provided in each TBX-Free strip? We didn’t encounter dosages listed in any of the studies referenced above, or its relationship to helping smokers quit, although you’ll pay about $0.10 less per dose of Tabex than TBX-Free?

In the end, though, will this deliver a better value?

Our Final Thoughts About TBX-Free

While TBX-Free bills itself as a homeopathic treatment, with its single active ingredient and 8mg dosing, this doesn’t seem to match the definition, based on our extensive research into the topic.

Regardless of how it’s defined, the cytisine in TBX-Free seems to come with some solid clinical support that it could help smokers quit more successfully than placebo, along with mostly positive online customer feedback. And if it doesn’t work, the manufacturer stands behind it with a 30-day refund policy—just keep in mind you’ll be out a few bucks in shipping charges if you decide to process a refund.

Even if TBX-Free works for you, remember that any orders placed directly through the company come with automatic recurring shipments, so be sure to cancel when you no longer need more.

What did you think about TBX-Free and cytisine? Did it work for you, or did you have to quit smoking using more traditional methods? Tell us all about it by writing your review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

19 Consumer Reviews for TBX-Free

Average Consumer Rating: 4.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 12 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  3
Bottom Line: 79% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 19
Sort reviews by:

  • It WORKS!

    • Ridgecrest, CA,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I smoked for 42 years. I had been ill with bronchitis, and the ad for TBX-Free kept popping up on Facebook, so I decided to research it. It sounded good. I decided to quit smoking. I set a date, ordered my TBX-Free, prayed...a lot. On the morning of April 10, 2017, I woke up, prayed some more, put two strips on my tongue and I haven't smoked a cigarette since. My family and friends are very proud of me. Especially my daughter and grandsons. Thank you TBX-Free! I tell everyone who smokes that it really works. Try it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Finally success

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Aug 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started taking TBX-Free one week after I received it in the mail on November 13, 2017. It is now almost 9 months later and it was a success.

    I am smoke-free and feeling great.

    I had tried everything - patches, gum, cold turkey, and even Chantix, and I was never successful.

    I had seen the TV ads and was curious but never ordered it, and then one day in the middle of the night I saw the advertisement again.

    I called immediately and was very surprised how professional and informative my sales person responded to my questions and concerns about the product. Needless to say, I tried it, and although there is willpower involved, I was successful. I had no side effects and very little withdrawal.

    Thank you TBX-Free for helping to do what I have never been able to do. I am smoke-free! HURRAY!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Stopped craving cigarettes immediately.

    • Kansas,
    • Feb 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've tried everything, but the withdrawals were always horrible. Awful sweating, anger, and insomnia. I took TBS and no cravings and withdrawals. I've been eating a lot more. But I think it's a replacement thing, not a side effect thing. But still, I'm so freaking grateful!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    It works!

    I have been a smoker for 45 years. I must say you must really want to quit, but TBX has helped me. When I am really really wanting a smoke, one strip and the sedation is gone in minutes. Thank you TBX!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    TBX-Free

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried everything from patches to gum to pills, and nothing worked. I had seen the ad on Facebook about TBX-Free, read the reviews, and figure it won't hurt to try. It's amazing! I smoked Newport 100's for 20+ years at one pack a day. It works great, and when you have those cravings coming on, you take a strip and it's gone!

    I love TBS-Free; it really does work. I have recommended it to all my friends and family who smoke. Also, I only needed a one-month supply and have been smoke-free for over six months! I just ordered TBX-Free for my mom to try.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    I quit in just 30 days

    Dear TBX-Free,

    First, I'd like to thank you for bringing me a product that has NO SIDE EFFECTS! My doctor talked to me about the side effects of the "typical" drugs they offer. I was NOT INTERESTED! Then I saw your late-night ad and looked you up. As I was looking into TBX, I found Facebook ads a lot. I could not find any side effects, which made me even more interested. So in April 2017, I ordered a 6-months supply so I could have enough in all my places and never be without. What I found was one box was enough. Who would have thought? One pack at home, in the purse, in the car, at work, etc.

    I did not follow your 30-day directions though. I just took it every time my brain said: "take a break and have one." I smoked along with TBX and eventually over the full month of May 2017, I quit for good on May 23, 2017! By July, at a family graduation party, I brought my supply to give out to my siblings. Most are nurses and they smoke!

    So there you have it. Yes, there are times that I say that if I had a cigarette right now, I'd light one. But as of yet, January 3, 2018, I have not had any cigarette, and I'm waiting for my 1-year free date to celebrate.

    I can't thank you enough for finding this product and allowing me to use it. The best 260 bucks I've ever spent. I am going to have a VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Only method that has ever worked for me

    • Littleton, CO,
    • Jan 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a 3-month supply right off the bat. I have been a heavy smoker for over 40 years, solid two packs daily, having tried a few times to quit; gum, patches, carrots, etc. I never really tried hard enough to quit, and I became a grouch when I trying. From the very first oral strip, I never picked up another cigarette. I know, I could hardly believe it myself. My cough was gone in just a few days. I did modify things a bit, and I used the 4mg Nicotine Lozenges for a while, but nothing was actually going into my lungs. I do occasionally have a craving, but that too passes.

    Bottom line is if I can quit smoking, anyone can! Good luck!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    43-year-old smoker quit in four days using TBX

    • Lake Luzerne, NY,
    • Nov 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m 53 and I’ve been smoking since I was ten. I’ve tried many times to quit using the patch, gum and most recently CHANTIX, none of which worked. I saw their commercial on TV and in desperation, purchased it. I used it starting as recommended, and by the time I got to the point where you use 4. I hustled, stopped, and haven’t smoked since. Better yet, I have had very few cravings, which only lasted for a few seconds. I recommend TBX to everyone who is trying to quit smoking. It was effortless to stop.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Bad company

    This is a scam! I ordered from this company (?) and only received part of my order. I made it clear that my order was a one time order, but I got a notice that another order had been sent a month later. I notified my credit card company, got my money back, and since they said they had already shipped the order I had to send it back when it arrived two weeks later. Now it's two months later, and they did it again!

    Are they scamming me because I'm 71 years old or are they just a bunch of thieves doing it to anyone they can? I don't expect they will publish my review, but let it be known that the BBB will hear from me. I feel sorry for people like this, but "The Man" knows what you do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 16 people found this review helpful

    So few strips

    There are 120 strips per order. One pack smokes per day for this customer, so I get 120 strips compared to 600 smokes.

    If a customer does use the strips continuously until gone, a smoker will be out of strips in 6 days.

    Rotate strips and smokes? This person just isn't in the understanding of using this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Did not refund my money

    When I ordered this product I ordered a 3-month supply. Without my knowledge, 3 months later they took $127.95 from my account under a different name I didn’t recognize. I called the bank to tell them, and they started an investigation.

    I then called the number that was on my bank statement. I was told that they didn’t want me to relapse, so they sent me another 3 months without my knowledge. I was told if I sent the product back I would get a full refund, but I have yet to get it. I am now told they will not give me a refund but send me more product. I do not want more product of something that did not help. So I guess I’m out $127.95 because they took it upon themselves to send me more product. Scam is what I would call that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 19

Write a Review for TBX-Free!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review