Read 102 TeenSafe Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 28 4 star: 7 3 star: 4 2 star: 8 1 star:  55
Bottom Line: 35% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 102
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible!

    This is the worse app I have ever dealt with. NOT user-friendly at all AND not convenient. Continuous problems. Although customer service is excellent, TeenSafe leaves a lot to be desired.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 27, 2017

      Company Response from Gryffin Media

      Teresa,

      We understand why you are dissatisfied. What we do is very difficult, and we also wish the installation was simpler and the procedures more intuitive. Our R&D team continues to research a simpler approach to a complex issue.

      Our goal is to provide the best tools possible to help parents become more digital-safety savvy but it isn’t easy. Best, the TeenSafe team.


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Better than I expected

    I had read previous reviews about TeenSafe and not all of them were good, so I was a little skeptical about trying it out. After the free trial, I decided I wanted to try it out a bit longer, and I was surprised that the app allowed me to see way more than I expected regarding my son's messages and photos. I particularly like that I am able to know where he is at certain times. I try not to use it often since I want to give him space, but it helps me sleep better at night knowing that I have some control over what he sees, who he spends his time with, and where he goes after school. I guess I will use this tool for a few more years until I feel he is old enough to monitor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    NOT user friendly - have tried twice!

    I just canceled TeenSafe for the second time. Ran into far too many "bugs" and found it very difficult to troubleshoot. Not intuitive at all and too time-consuming to figure out, even when calling the TeenSafe support line. The two occasions I really needed it, I wasn't able to accomplish anything. I've decided I would much rather just be up front with my daughter about accessing her device than to try to do it "behind the scenes."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 28, 2017

      Company Response from Gryffin Media

      Stephanie,

      Sorry you had a difficult time! Monitoring smartphones is not at all easy and therefore it can be difficult to install. Thought we would share two links that may help with your digital parenting. Perhaps a smartphone contract can help with the process of accessing her device. The other link is other ways you can help safeguard your daughter. Again, we’re sorry TeenSafe didn’t work for you.

      https://www.teensafe.com/blog/smartphone-contract-2/

      https://www.teensafe.com/blog/ultimate-guide-protecting-kids-online/


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Garbage app

    • By Jon Wearly,
    • Indiana,
    • Nov 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Too complex to install (install was ridiculously long and only can support one device per child when most kids now have an iPad for school and cell phone), and too complex to maintain. It worked for three days, then ceased working. I was working out of state and wanted to check on my son's whereabouts while I traveled, but the app ceased working and puked. Not only was I paying $9.95 via Apple per month, but then TeenSafe was billing me $14.95 per month on my credit card.

    I do not have time to babysit this app and its eccentricities. I would recommend going elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 10, 2017

      Company Response from Gryffin Media

      This sounds infuriating, we’re sorry that this has been your experience. Our goal is to deliver the best monitoring tool parents can use to keep their teens and tweens safe.

      The service we offer is technologically difficult and this can be reflected in the installation process. Without more details, we’re not sure why it stopped working for you. We wish you would have called our customer support team to help you. If you’re still interested please call (800)245-8598 or email support@teensafe.com.

      Given what you’re being billed, you signed up for both of our services and we understand there can be product confusion. TeenSafe Monitor allows you to 1) view web browser history 2) sent, received and deleted SMS and iMessages 3) call logs of incoming and outgoing calls including contact name, number, date, and duration. 4) and see your teen’s current smartphone location on a map as well a history of the phone’s location.

      And through Apple, you have the TeenSafe Control app that enables parents to block apps, set restrictions, or pause the teen’s phone at bedtime, dinnertime, study time, and to prevent texting while driving, among many other uses.

      We know your time is valuable and are sorry the software did not meet your expectations.

      Best, the TeenSafe team


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great service!

    • By Theo Kaufman,
    • Louisville, KY,
    • Sep 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We needed to keep tabs on our teenage daughter and this was a perfect mechanism to follow who she was calling or communicating with. It also allowed us to keep tabs on her physical location, although that part of the app ran a bit slower than we would've liked.

    There are some other limitations. The app can keep track of who she was texting but if she used an app installed on the phone and used that app to communicate with others we couldn't see it.

    But given what this app allowed us to do and see it's a great service to parents wanting to keep a watchful eye on their children.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Useless

    • By CMK,
    • New Hampshire,
    • Sep 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Loaded this program and it worked one night, but the next day nothing showed; no text, calls, web or location. This was with a paid subscription.

    The first email said there had been an interruption in service, but they had resolved it, so I gave it another try. Nothing. I got several more emails telling me how to troubleshoot, which I followed. To no avail, still, no info showed.

    Like most people, my time is precious, so I don't have time to waste loading, deleting and reloading this program. When I pay for a service I expect it to work as advertised, and this falls significantly short.

    Even though only activated for two days, with advertised services not being provided, they won't refund. Use your $14.95 and buy yourself lunch.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 5, 2017

      Company Response from Gryffin Media

      Greetings,

      Sorry that the process was frustrating, we understand as parental control software is tricky to set up. Our goal is to deliver the best monitoring tool parents can use to keep their teens and tweens safe. Unfortunately, Apple, Google, and others do not make this easy.

      You can call (800) 245-8598 so they can pinpoint specifically what issue you’re having. Often when you’re not getting the data the next day it means your teen’s device may not be connected to WiFi or the internet overnight. This issue is easy to detect and resolve.

      Also in our terms of use, it states that any use of a full access paid account by a user, no full or partial refund will be issued. Unfortunately, in the past users have downloaded the data and canceled as they got want they wanted without wanting to pay for it.

      Again, sorry you had issues.

      Best, the TeenSafe team.


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    They just get it!

    • By Eric Pham,
    • Oregon,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    TeenSafe just gets parents. TeenSafe Control has been a godsend. The app works! I brick my kids' phones for bedtime and when they are out of line. No point in grounding them these days. You must call the customer service person I spoke with as I did get stuck on installing the thing, but in the end, it was so worth it. I love the pause button and really don’t know how I did it before without it. I can’t recommend this app enough.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive and shady

    • By Heather,
    • Richmond, VA,
    • Aug 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to try the six-day free trial. I got a chance to see how it worked on my child's phone and decided it wasn't for me and I pretty much never thought about this company again.

    Fast forward to MANY months later I discover that TeenSafe has been charging me every month. I go into my account that I had completely forgotten about. Thankfully, I remembered the password to get in. My account is still listing me as a free trial member. I cancel my membership even though there shouldn't be anything to cancel since I just did a free trial, right? Immediately the site kicks me out. In order for me to sign back in, I've got to enter in my credit card information. Shady, right? I don't do anything else because who's to say what they'll do with my credit card information the second time I give it to them?

    What's interesting to point out is that in all these months of TeenSafe charging me not once did I get any emails reminding me of their service or anything to tip me off that I was still an active member with them. They were just VERY quietly charging me for MANY months of service, service that I never once used expect during my initial "free" trial.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 22, 2017

      Company Response from Gryffin Media

      Heather,

      Very sorry that this has happened to you. Many companies use free trials to begin subscriptions. Please reach out to our customer support team to help you. You can call (800)245-8598 or email support@teensafe.com.

      We have more than a million parents who have tried our services and had no intention of charging you if you don’t want to use the service. Sorry and again, please call our support team to resolve. Best, the TeenSafe team


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't do as advertised

    • By Sherry P.,
    • Bloomfield, MO,
    • Aug 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We used this and paid the full subscription the first day to get the full benefits and the first day it worked great. The second day, it never showed the location of the phone and the text messages that it showed were spotty. It didn't show all of the sent messages.

    After sending an email to the support team, it picked up location but the texts never showed up. The third day, over 50 text messages were sent and received from the phone and not one of them showed up, location didn't show and new numbers our child saved didn't show.

    After chatting with the very ill informed representative, I was told if the number wasn't saved it wouldn't show up. Well, come to find out, our child DID save the number at school that day but it never showed up in her contact list. AND then I was told for this to work, the location had to be on and be connected to wifi!

    WHAT?!? Any teenager will turn those things off if they know they're being monitored so what good does this do. Needless to say, I canceled on the third day.

    We'll see what happens with the $14.95. I shouldn't be billed at all since it was technically a free trial week and this thing only worked 1/2 day, but we'll see.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 11, 2017

      Company Response from Gryffin Media

      Sherry, we are very sorry this was a frustrating experience for you. Technologically, what we offer is very complex and at times, it's less than perfect. We’ve logged millions of successful transactions over the years and our software is highly functional but not always. Cloud-based monitoring systems all need some type of data connection with WiFi being the best.

      We certainly understand your point about location services needing to be on. Many parents find this non-negotiable, part of the privilege of having a smartphone is that location services will not be turned off. Please email me directly if you have an issue with billing at ruth.doering@teensafe.com.

      Again, we are sorry it didn’t work for your family.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Excellent product

    • By Ann,
    • Illinois,
    • Aug 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thank you TeenSafe! Thanks to the ability to read deleted texts, I was able to get my daughter out of a very dangerous situation. It would be even better if we could monitor Instagram messages and Snapchat messages, but I saw what I needed to see to make a well-informed decision for my daughter's safety and mental well being. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    It is not working

    • By Scott,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am an IT guy. I have installed TeenSafe for parents over 100 times. It used to work great, but for Apple devices, it no longer works.

    Apple changed the rules and TeenSafe hasn't been able to keep their product working. The problem is that even though TeenSafe knows it doesn't work, by their own admission (read TeenSafe's comments on these reviews), YET they continue to sell the product as a WORKING product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 12, 2017

      Company Response from Gryffin Media

      Scott,

      Appreciate your assistance in helping parents install TeenSafe. Wish you could meet our IT team as they wake up each day with that same goal – how can we help parents as they walk their kids through the challenging digital minefields. We posted a blog this week with more tips on what they can do this summer before the back to school “digital flu” hits. Perhaps you can share with the parents you help. https://www.teensafe.com/blog/ultimate-guide-protecting-kids-online/

      And as an IT guy you understand the complexities of what we do – it’s not easy with continual operating system changes and most recently grave hacker threats to Apple which prompted the iCloud changes. Our small but dedicated team has been working tirelessly to resolve and are confident they’ve discovered a workaround to the industry-wide iCloud lockout issue affecting our subscribers. However, as you know writing the code, debugging and Q&A testing will take time.

      Our product is working for all Android users and many of our iOS customers have not been affected. We look forward to all subscribers using TeenSafe to protect their kids.

      Best, the TeenSafe Team


Showing 23-33 of 102

Write a Review for TeenSafe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review