• 66 Customer Reviews
  • 86% Recommend This Brand
4.4 out of 5
5 star: 78% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 3% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 7%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This is a BIG FAT SCAM!

    • By Anne Taylor,
    • Charleston, SC,
    • Oct 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My boyfriend, his Dad and I went to this event thinking we were actually going to learn something about flipping houses. Unfortunately, they just get you all hyped up and excited about the next step, which will cost you a little under $200.00 each.

    We signed up for a three-day workshop. Then after doing some research, we found out that the next phase would cost each of us thousands of dollars if we really wanted to find out how to flip houses. By the way, no one will see Than.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • $5 is still a scam

    • By Arya Chan,
    • California,
    • Feb 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This $5 neuro-linguistic negotiation makes you think it doesn't cost much, but it is still a scam. After payment and registration, they try to sell you a monthly $97 regular membership and more for the advanced access. They make you watch a 6-minute annoying video, and it says you can't close the page or you'll lose your access. At the end of video, the page got stuck so you can't get to anywhere. I am claiming $5 is annoying, and it's best to not even fall for that!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total rip off

    • By Cal Constant,
    • Garden Grove, CA,
    • May 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Nothing new if you ever took a real estate class, or you did few loans. I spend $200 and 3 days to learn about real estate investors which will finance a deal, or contacts with wholesalers. Don't waste your money or your time. You can google wholesalers and investors in real estate and get more information. In the 3 days, for 1 and 1/2 days, they push their advance learning, which they charge $50,000. You can get a mentor for $5,000 which will teach you 1-on-1 and will get you all the information you need. Any investor in real estate will lend you 70% of the Future Value to buy and rehab a property. Unfortunately, nobody will lend you 100% of the money you need. For the remaining of the money you need, you need to get the seller of the property to come in the deal with you or find an angel to come up with the gap money, the difference between the 70% and the money you need to finish the project.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • 2 hour "free" seminar a total waste of time

    • By Lacinda T.,
    • Cedar Rapids, Iowa,
    • Jul 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Pretty much everything that was said during this 2 hour free seminar was stuff that is common knowledge. I couldn't believe the number of people that actually signed up for the 3 day seminar. All they are doing is handing their hard earned money over to these people. The only thing I got out of the free seminar is that everyday I receive at least 300 spam emails now. Wish I never would have signed up for this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unless you have $30,000 to $50,0000 it's a total waste of time

    • By Joel M.,
    • San Angelo, TX,
    • Jul 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The $197 three-day class is not a class at all, it's a clever three-day sales pitch to try and upgrade your membership to the Master membership that costs between $30,000 & $50,000 where they claim to mentor you one on one. I was misled to think the three-day class was an actual class.

    Extreme waste of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Too pricey, much pressure to sign up.

    • By Jo Peterson,
    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Sep 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well, when I was told the minimum investment for getting into this program was $35K, I was done. I figured if I gave them that much money I was better off on my own. My "counselor" accused me of thinking like a consumer instead of an investor. I just did not want to empty out my 401K and other assets to do this. I do not trust people that much with my SSN and everything, INCLUDING my money.

    After paying for the three-day seminar, I felt like I had enough information, and with a little trial and error, I would be ok. Too much emphasis on money, and BIG pressure to" Do it now!" No thanks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not getting what I paid for

    • By Bryan Smith,
    • Florida,
    • Apr 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a weekend course to learn principles for flipping. I got a lot of good information but a lot of time was spent trying to sell a $30000 to $50000 program. So far out of two days, three to five hours spent trying to sell upgrades. I feel cheated on the deal. I feel if you want to sell upgrades to course should be done on their time, not on my time and my dime.

    I don’t think it is an ethical way to do business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not totally upfront

    • By Gayle D.,
    • Long Island, NY,
    • Oct 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I attended the free seminar to learn about investing in real estate property. The class did offer good information but they seemed focused on convincing you or getting you in a mindset to spend the amount of money they are asking for their classes. Honestly the next set of classes for 3 days I was at were a surprisingly reasonable rate. They also allowed you to invite two people for $197. The facilitator continues to impact the audience with remembering how much money they had spent for their college education, so when they drop the amount of the course for their future classes it will be more acceptable to those in attendance. Remember how much money you invested in your education, some of you spent over $100,000, some of you spent $70,000, suggesting what they offer to charge for their classes will be nothing compared to what one spent on their college education. Well, I wanted to go home and research a little more and check out reviews, which I had not done. And most of the people felt like I felt the free seminar was motivating hopeful for a future in real estate property investing. One review mentioned that the next step, the Master Class, is between $50,000 to $80,000. Pretty much the cost of a college education. That is the deceiving part that I did not like. Which puts these guys in a class with everyone else trying to make money selling their training courses for over-the-top amounts without really showing us how to do it. Just making money off of selling their courses not a real concern for an individual success in real estate investing. Those interested in real estate investing will have to do like the majority of people and learn from other trainings more affordable yes they will be some mistakes along the way but that's all part of the learning process.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Investment or gamble

    The intro (which I only went to peek into, not invest in yet) was very nicely presented all around. Maybe due to the speaker, I wasn't the only "I really want to do this" buyer. The cost was not $1,179 but $179 if we signed on before leaving the Best Western. A few had left during the event, but many had gone to the tables. I could only afford a down payment, but had a month's grace to balance the remaining $127.00. I did ask the man if more investment was required to go further, into the three-day class. He said no.

    But investment in my own business may come requisite later. I figured I would probably learn even more, but even with the special offer it all stood out a gamble, especially with the presentiment much-hidden explanation, stipulations are lacking. You will not be sold via "get rich quick," but more substantial self-improvement themes. Which have a point, but there is much more to this real estate vocation.

    I can't say this is a "scam," but what you take from it may be dependent on non-volitional factors.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Three-day seminar

    • By Condie G.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jun 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Lots of informative information that we already knew. The problem for me was the speaker; he really has nothing to do with Than and his company other than a motivational speaker who works the same real estate deals. Don't get me wrong, he was terrific and what he said makes sense. I was totally captured by his charisma and salesmanship. However, for the amount of money they are asking, I want an owner or member who is flipping, turning, selling, rehabbing at the meeting showing me proof it is being done. Hearsay means nothing to me, show me the proof. For the $50K they should put it in my first flip, sale or rehab. Now that would make me comfortable and ready to rock and roll. When you go to a University, you get scholarships which you start paying after you graduate. We already paid $200 to hear things we already knew.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • FortuneBuilders is the opportunity to own a business - not just a real estate course

    I just completed day 2 of the 3-day workshop for Than Merrill's Real Estate Workshop. I am naturally a skeptical person and cynical about these 3-day selling gigs.

    I knew that the attendees would be subjected to an upsell. I was prepared for some money, but when the real costs were revealed, I was stunned! $49,997.00 for the Master's Class. What a crock I thought to myself. These guys must be crazy.

    I went online on 10/27/2017 to do some reviews of the program and found a review from BiggerPockets that explained the same feelings I was having that although this was not a SCAM, it was certainly NOT something that the average person can afford, and I thought yeah, that the FortuneBuilders team was taking advantage of "the little guy."

    I WAS SO WRONG. My mindset was not looking at the whole picture. This program is a franchise. You are actually purchasing a business that is tried and true. What Than Merrill has created is truly a life-changing product. This program is not for the part-time investor, the wannabees of real estate investing. This program teaches you how to replicate a solid thriving business entity.

    The software alone is worth $50K. The marketing projects are already set up and ready to go. This program is slick and as the MC for the program stated. It is the closest thing to a success formula/guarantee in this industry as you will ever get.

    I think he called it the "McDonaldization" of real estate investing. Lee Escobar was our 3-day coach, and he was fabulous. A little pushy and talked too long on some days, but the product is stellar. When BiggerPockets reviewed this product he did not mention that you could take 6 people with you; they train your future employees for you.

    There are 12 months-24 months of hands-on coaching. They have someone to look over your deals for you. The Deal Analyzer, the templates for doing rennovations, the costs sheets and SKU number from Home Depot are already set up for you.

    The Repair Module.

    This program sets you up to run a real business. NO, I did not sign up because I realized that after the $49,997, there would be additional expenses like marketing, paying your employees, etc. Just like a franchise you need operating capital after your purchase the business. This product that FortuneBuilders provides is a new way of doing flips. The FLOPS are just the beginning, they also teach you how to create ongoing income, and passive income.

    You are in fact buying the system and protocols, the SOP of a thriving entity that you just need to copy and paste and go forward. It is a genius concept that I may explore at a later date. In the meantime, I'm buying Than's book on wholesaling to create the capital I need to join FortuneBuilders.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very good program, but...

    • By Matthew,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Most of these reviews are on the 1-day or 3-day intro course/seminar. As an actual FortuneBuilders "student," I will attempt to provide some insight into the program as I and my wife have experienced it.

    First off, the free 1-day and not free 3-day courses are introduction devices, and the 3-day is very much an up-sell. They are pushing the full-blown and very expensive Mastery Program which STARTS at $30k, yes $30,000. This is not affordable to the average person wanting to start a real estate investment business and is actually geared towards experience investors wanting to up their game.

    This hard sell and high cost raised a very real red flag with me because I am very skeptical about most things and I was dead set against it. HOWEVER, there are several lower cost options to join FortuneBuilders that they will not tell you about during the hard sell on the 3rd day of the seminar. You have to 1) express interest but balk at the cost and 2) be in the economic demographic that they are looking for.

    After you leave them your contact info and you walk away, you will be contacted days later by one of their salespeople to get you to sign. They will offer you a less expensive option but it will still be in the low five figures, and for us, it was still too much. After we told them it was still too high, we were told that there was a somewhat limited program for TEN TIMES less than the original Mastery Program. We signed up for this one.

    The program DOES offer many very good useful tools, forms, contracts, tips and tricks for every aspect of real estate investing that you need to be successful. There is a very comprehensive curriculum to follow and daily live and recorded seminars in the evening. They also have actual people who you can contact with questions and who will review your deals before making an offer. The limited one is only for a specified number of months (6-9), after which you pay monthly.

    So the program itself, even in the more limited form, is actually very good and I would recommend it. You could glean all or most of the information from a bunch of online sources, but you won't get personalized help, and it will take A LOT of time to gather and understand it all. I am giving it 4 stars and not 5 because of the off-putting hard sell for the high dollar program and no mention of the more affordable option until way late in the discussion.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Free 2 Hour Seminar, 3 Day Workshop, Mastery

    • By Aisha A.,
    • Newark, DE,
    • Sep 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I attended the free 2-hour seminar with my husband expecting it would be an up-sell event for something bigger and I was right. The something bigger was a 3-day event for about $200 for two people. I've done a couple of real estate deals before and what impressed me in the 2-hour seminar is the introduction to "systems" that this organization has put in place that streamlines much of the process and is tried and true so we purchased the seats for the 3-day event. I expected the 3-day event to give us access to some of these tools they teased us with at the free seminar, but it didn't. It was a great motivational event and mind setting weekend (which I didn't need) and a lot of up-selling for the "Mastery" program - the big-ticket item ($30,000-$50,000 - which on the surface sounds ludicrous) that gives you access to the many systems this organization has built, as well as education on how to utilize them for up to 6 people (a little over $8,000 per head) for over one year of coaching and hand-holding, as well as unlimited access to an online education system and all the systems they've created to streamline real estate investing and reduce risks. To be honest, $50,000 is hard for anyone to pay out...but then what would one pay for a year's tuition and business coaching...and for a group of up to six people? When you look at how stellar the organization is, the quality of the human resources they employ, the quality and amount of systems you gain access to, the amount of education at your disposal...is it worth it...that depends on YOU...are you willing to put in the time and effort needed to learn and apply what they have to offer? If you aren't then don't waste your time. This is truly only for those serious enough to hit the pavement hard and put in the effort. By doing so, there is real potential to build a business in real estate investing...this is not a "get rich quick scam"...this is an "are you ready to learn, work hard, apply what has been offered and put in your every effort to be successful with guidance" opportunity. Anyone who thinks you'll walk out with easy wealth is naive and should just stay home...those who are serious, this is an awesome organization that is sharing its experience - for a price, as you'd expect any educational institution would charge.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • 2-hour sign-up Saturday

    • By Mark B.,
    • Inglewood, CA,
    • Jan 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I went to the free meeting today in Culver City and signed up (at a cost) for the 3-day teaching class. From what I've read, it is a segway to the masters class ($15 -$50K) for up to 6 people. That's not going to happen for us! I think if you have a basic understanding of real estate, these extra tools will help in getting a productive investment/flipping real estate business going. Anyway, we'll see how it goes in February!

    After the intro, it's all up to you what you do with it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great and exciting workshop

    • By M Smith,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Mar 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I attended a Fortune Builders 3-day workshop in the Chicago area on January 13th to 15th in 2017.

    Sean McNicholas (Seannie Mac) our speaker gave a great and exciting workshop, and I'm glad I came. I learn so much that weekend then I did at any real estate seminars and workshop I have attended in the past. Like Carlton Sheets and many more; you name them, I was there. When I first heard about Fortune Builders, I wasn't sure, but my heart and my feelings told me to go.

    This feels real, and I'm proud to say that the small investment was worth it and I'm looking forward to moving ahead. Thank you Seannie Mac for delivering a great, wonderful, and knowledgeable weekend. You will be hearing from me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Extremely informative

    I was very pleased with my experience at the three-day workshop. I found it to be full of USEFUL knowledge that you could begin implementing immediately upon leaving the conference.

    I would recommend it to anyone flirting with the idea of real estate investing; it's a great foundation!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Face timing, that would have be the highlight. ONLY complaint!

    • By Demika,
    • Greensboro, NC,
    • Apr 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a GREAT $197 investment. The seminar was severely informative. The speaker got into his personal life with examples.

    It starts out slow to weed out anyone is who looking for a quick fix, but then BOOM, educational overload. Facebook seminar in Raleigh, NC lead up to additional ways to invest in your knowledge by offering classes. YES, everyone can not afford it, but the seminar taught us go-getters how to GO and GET IT!

    I am so proud of my partner and I for completing the full weekend. We felt like a boss. Walking with high heads as we learned with attorneys, business owners, house moms, doctors, people with established money, middle-class workers, students, etc. WE HAD A BLAST. Since then we have been studying our notes so we can apply what we learned.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Three day workshop

    • By Kevin Smith,
    • New York,
    • Apr 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently attended Fortune Builders 3-day workshop, and it was a great experience. The host Jon Steingraber was awesome. The presentation was very motivational, and his story was inspiring. The time was well worth it, a great experience and full of information.

    I would recommend this to anyone looking to invest in real estate, who are motivated and looking forward to changing their lives. I look forward to working with Fortune Builders in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Three day real estate workshop

    Before I took the workshop I was at a point where I had to make some serious decisions, but I had no direction. After taking the workshop I had a clear understanding of what I needed to do to reach my goal of financial freedom. I am a firm believer in sharing knowledge to help others reach their goals and improve their lives, and that is exactly what I see in the team at Fortune Builders.

    I was impressed by the knowledgeable instructor and the principles and strategies presented. I see money investing in a whole new light, and I am not afraid to invest in my future anymore. I see the true value and power that knowledge affords. As a result, I was advised to sign up for one of the trainings offered by Fortune Builders as a starting point. I have also been able to get my family members involved, and we are all excited about what our future looks like. I know that with hard work and the help of my newly found team, my family and I will be a success and reach our goals.

    Thank you Fortune Builders for putting me on the road to financial freedom.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Than Merrill and his all-star team

    Nate Harris knows how to put his point across with professional class, and with an occasional laugh thrown in.Tthan has put together an all-star team. I would like to thank Mr. King for his follow up help and patience in helping me to acquire the credit required to move ahead in this type of business.

    The support system Than has is very caring without being judgemental since I'm just starting to really learn how to use a computer.

    Thank you all from Tony and Darlene.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Reviewing my 3 day seminar with John DeJulio

    My name is Jeff VanScoyoc, I attended the three day event in Toledo Ohio from 4-13 through 4-15, our primary speaker was John DeJulio, John and his team brought excitement and enthusiasm to this course. The course started off with a hype to it and it got the class and I into high gear for the remainder of the course. The team took time out of their lives to come here and help us get our endeavor going, our questions were answered professionally and courteously by the team, they shared their experiences with us in hopes that we're successful too. I can not thank John, the team, and Fortune Builders enough for giving me this opportunity to get my business going and to help me in hopes to achieve a better life and the financial security for retirement.

    I will be telling others that have the same goals in life that I do and want a better chance at retirement, or want to become a lender to make other money down the line, to go to the next event in the area and try to get into the Mastery program so they can have the opportunity to learn from people like John and his team,

    Thank You sincerely Jeff VanScoyoc

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Three-day real estate investing course, NYC, April 2017

    This seminar, taught by Lee Escobar, was a tour de force!

    The amount of information is stunning, and the entire event was incredibly well done. Lee was able to keep the focus on the training, so we were able to cover everything the seminar was set up to deliver. His discipline, focus, strength, and willingness to answer questions at break time or end of day enabled the pace to stay brisk.

    A special note about the energy of the room and all the coaches and back-end personnel: They truly seem to care. They want to do well and give back and help others. It's palpable. Living in NYC, I'm hyper-attuned to sharks circling. This was not that. In fact, I ended up with three hugs on my way out, along with my 50 pages of notes.

    And it should be noted that I felt like I was unplugged from an old matrix of money-making into a new one. That was the bottom line. I'm still trying to digest it all and look forward to implementing it in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The three day Fortune Builder's seminar is a gift for a lifetime

    The Fortune Builder's seminar is a must for anyone who is seriously seeking a life of financial freedom. The seminar's schedule is packed with strategies, financial understanding, and an educational program that will motivate the doubtful.

    What I loved about the program was that it is not a pressure seminar to get you enrolled, nor is it a get-rich-quick plan. The presenter and staff were professional, knowledgeable, kind and attentive.

    The Fortune Builder's program is structured with systems that have been tested by Than Merrill and his team, and everyone invited to the mastery program has access to the same systems used by the professionals themselves. You are guided through whatever options are available to help you begin, whatever the team can do for you.

    Lastly, Than Merrill and his team pay it forward. They do a food drive in the city that hosts the seminar and donates the food to a local food bank in that city. This generosity is exemplified in their teaching and dealings. THANK YOU for the opportunity of helping me on my way to financial freedom.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing information and transformation!

    The Fortune Builder workshop was absolutely AMAZING! There is so much valuable information shared to not just build an incredibly lucrative business but they also provide information on how to structure business entities in addition to ways to utilize the tax code to dramatically increase the amount of our hard-earned money you keep in your pocket that can grow your business even further and faster.

    The presenter was very knowledgeable about every aspect of the business and presented it with confidence, used his own experience to further explain concepts and did so with humor and energy to keep it fun while maintaining a professional atmosphere.

    I have attended other real estate workshops and have bought another program before attending this Fortune Builders. I REALLY wish I had found this one first!

    This workshop provides the core information you need to start or enhance your real estate business and fills in the blanks that other programs omit. It is completely THOROUGH!

    Not only did I gain priceless information to help build my real estate business, but I also experienced a personal transformation that has been helpful on many levels. Since the Fortune Builders workshop, I have looked at everything in my life through an entrepreneur lens.

    Not only do I see my business more clearly, but I evaluate the rate of return on everything in my life from what I spend money on, to how I spend my time to people with whom I have personal relationships.

    I see everything as an entity with systems and have been able to pinpoint where I was wasting time and energy on things that were not moving my business forward.

    This workshop helped ME move forward and has helped me be a better entrepreneur and person. I am so grateful for the experience and you will be too!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Inspiring class

    Very powerful class. My mindset instantly changed from that 2nd day of that class for what seems like will be the rest of my life. I had lunch with a buddy, and he could instantly tell I had changed for the better. And after that lunch and talking with me, he was able to get a job that he was having a hard time getting.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • My time at the 3-day event

    I truly was happy to attend the 3-day classes with Jon Steingraber. It was a great moment of my life. I received so many important information. FortuneBuilders truly changed my way to think. I am alone here just with my wife and my two kids. I will try my best to do what I can possibly do to change my family life and my community.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • 3-day workshop

    • By Zach Barber,
    • Illinois,
    • Oct 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had an amazing time at the three-day real estate event put on by FortuneBuilders. This was well worth the small investment to go. The speaker for the weekend, Jon Steingraber, did an amazing job explaining the topics.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 66

Write a Review for Than Merrill!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Than Merrill Reviews