• 66 Customer Reviews
  • 86% Recommend This Brand
4.4 out of 5
5 star: 78% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 3% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 7%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • So much information, so little time...

    • By Dino D.,
    • West Melbourne, FL,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The positive experience I had at the full immersion training is beyond words. This was the kind of training that comes complete with practical experience, a wealth of knowledge, and rare networking opportunities with some wonderful people. I give special recognition and thanks to Amy for sharing her experiences and working with us as a group. Words will never be able to express the appreciation I have for this opportunity, and I look forward to more like this in the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • SLC Immersion Weekend

    • By Robert A.,
    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's still a little overwhelming of all the elements involved with being a Real Estate Investor. The wife and I are glad we are taking this business venture seriously (too much money to sit idle). I'm slowly ingesting all the different subjects and areas that are required to be successful in this venture. "Life Happens," and that cannot be an excuse in the time management aspect of starting and succeeding at a new business. The weekend Immersion with Mike O was a very thorough view of how to start, network and succeed as a Wholesaler, Rehabber, and sooner than later a properties owner.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing business opportunity

    • By David B.,
    • Rancho Cucamonga, CA,
    • May 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Nothing beats a great team except when the great team is your own team. Bring a part of Fortune Builders puts us in the team with coaching and training, support and encouragement. It's the best thing to come around to accelerate a real estate investing business to best it can be.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Fabulous training!

    This was an information packed boot camp with high energy experts who shared their stories of success in real estate investing! The networking was fabulous, and I met so many fellow Mastery students who shared their experiences.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Marketing Systems Immersion

    My wife and I attended the Marketing Systems Immersion in San Diego, California on May 2nd and 3rd. It was great! Linda, our presenter, did not let the mood drop and kept us all awake the whole time with her great teaching abilities. She was on top of her game and really knew her material down pat. I am sure that it helped both her and us that she has already been using the system for a few years.

    We learned a lot of new twists and how marketing has changed recently with the social media tidal wave. My wife has an MBA in marketing, and we have managed a few business campaigns in the past. But your methodology actually can reduce marketing costs and help us to hit a whole new market segment.

    We are excited and getting set up to go full blast as quickly as possible.

    Thanks for your help. It was a pleasure meeting you. We look forward to seeing you in Austin, Texas, for the Wholesaling Bootcamp in June.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great community, great boot camp

    I really like the boot camp classes. Although they are topics we've learned about from the online courses from FortuneBuilders and reading from other sources, getting it in person from all the different trainers/presenters is very different and powerful. I appreciate Than and all the presenters. They must have taught these materials a couple of thousand times, yet they keep it high energy, interesting, and rich with their real-world experiences and learning. That reflects their passion and integrity about this business.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Empowering

    • By Jim Sahatoo,
    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • May 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had the pleasure of attending the 3-Day Fortune Builders Workshop. It was one of the best investments of time and money I have ever been a part of. I believed there was another way of living and was missing some of the founding principles. This workshop helped fill many of those missing pieces for me and was truly a phenomenal experience!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Total rip off

    • By Cal Constant,
    • Garden Grove, CA,
    • May 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Nothing new if you ever took a real estate class, or you did few loans. I spend $200 and 3 days to learn about real estate investors which will finance a deal, or contacts with wholesalers. Don't waste your money or your time. You can google wholesalers and investors in real estate and get more information. In the 3 days, for 1 and 1/2 days, they push their advance learning, which they charge $50,000. You can get a mentor for $5,000 which will teach you 1-on-1 and will get you all the information you need. Any investor in real estate will lend you 70% of the Future Value to buy and rehab a property. Unfortunately, nobody will lend you 100% of the money you need. For the remaining of the money you need, you need to get the seller of the property to come in the deal with you or find an angel to come up with the gap money, the difference between the 70% and the money you need to finish the project.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not getting what I paid for

    • By Bryan Smith,
    • Florida,
    • Apr 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a weekend course to learn principles for flipping. I got a lot of good information but a lot of time was spent trying to sell a $30000 to $50000 program. So far out of two days, three to five hours spent trying to sell upgrades. I feel cheated on the deal. I feel if you want to sell upgrades to course should be done on their time, not on my time and my dime.

    I don’t think it is an ethical way to do business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Learn the process

    I had a blast, learned a lot, very informative. A class not to miss to do real estate investing. A step by step process, hands-on class. Very positive and very energetic. Love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Life changer

    I was fortunate to attend the initial seminar which led me to get into the 3-Day Workshop, and it was there I discovered the treasures, yes! Unlike other events, this was well organized and revealed mind-blowing information that's worth millions. You will not be an average person after this experience at a FortuneBuilders workshop, if you want to do something exciting with your life, make money and have the lifestyle you desire, come see what they can teach you to get there over time!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome workshop!

    I attended the FortuneBuilders workshop in Atlanta, Georgia and I was completely blown away by all the information and valuable knowledge that was given . The workshop speaker was Lee Escobar, and he did a wonderful duty by keeping everyone engaged and giving out helpful tips and strategies about real estate investing and more. I would definitely recommend this workshop to others who are interested in real estate or are open to learning.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • It was an event of one of a kind

    • By Top Osa,
    • Bronx, NY,
    • Apr 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I want to say a big thanks to you Than, and your entire team for this great opportunity, and for taking real estate business to greater heights. I must confess that the 3-Day Workshop was awesome.

    I gained knowledge that needed immediate action. Moreover, I was able to capture vital things that I never knew before through the systematic teachings of the main speaker, Jon. He is so vast and well loaded, teaching with much clarity and confidence, thereby feeding us with all that is needed to be a success in real estate world. It was an amazing event.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Knowledge is power

    This class was awesome. Real estate is where I want to be. When I saw the video about the 401k I was like wow, are you kidding me, they take that much money out my 401k. I also learned how to flip to get the money and then buy rental properties. Real estate investing is new to me, but this class makes me want better for my life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome

    • By Mike Donahue,
    • Trevose, PA,
    • Apr 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Nate Harris was a pretty laid back speaker. After a follow-up call from James Hung, I will be signing up for the Jumpstart program. As I am an investor now, this will be a nice fit. Of course, I don't know everything. My son also attended, and we will be starting the home flipping world.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very interesting workshop

    • By Yara Wehbe,
    • Evansville, IN,
    • Apr 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was a very informative and enlightening workshop. A lot of materials were covered during the 3-day period, and the team was very helpful and friendly.

    After leaving the workshop, I felt really motivated to start making a change in my life even if it is at my own pace.

    Overall it was a great experience! I would recommend this workshop to anyone who is looking to invest in real estate!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Than Merrill systems

    • By Marc Cohen,
    • Rochester, NY,
    • Apr 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We started with FortuneBuilders a month or so ago. The education, knowledge, and just plain fun of the classes and courses have been outstanding! We are new to real estate investing, and following the system has been a great experience! We look forward to working with Than and the others often!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Review of Fortune Builders and Immersion Weekend

    Hi Than,

    I want to say how excited my family and I are to join Fortune Builders. We are extremely impressed with the knowledge and professionalism of the Fortune Builders personnel we have been involved with so far.

    Ryan Carmody did an excellent job at the 3-day weekend seminar a few weeks ago in Baltimore. He was instrumental in our learning more about the Mastery program and all of the systems and coaching your organization provides.

    Maura and I had our first session with our coach, Bret Alford. Bret is very knowledgeable, and we are looking forward to our coaching with him, as well as calls with Field Experts.

    Bill Hook is an excellent presenter/teacher. We learned so much from Bill during Immersion Weekend in Baltimore last week. His experience, knowledge, and willingness to help others was very evident.

    Thank you to all those mentioned above as well as yourself, and the others at Fortune Builders. Glad we joined the Fortune Builders Family, and looking forward to meeting you.

    Sincerely,

    Tony Iacoboni

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worth my time and money

    With my past experience, the three-day event started out with very little new information/value to me, since I have prior experience investing in real estate. The last two days were much different. They provided new information and have a complete package of tools, for helping me be able to easily outsource the grunt work of the business.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • $5 is still a scam

    • By Arya Chan,
    • California,
    • Feb 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This $5 neuro-linguistic negotiation makes you think it doesn't cost much, but it is still a scam. After payment and registration, they try to sell you a monthly $97 regular membership and more for the advanced access. They make you watch a 6-minute annoying video, and it says you can't close the page or you'll lose your access. At the end of video, the page got stuck so you can't get to anywhere. I am claiming $5 is annoying, and it's best to not even fall for that!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very good program, but...

    • By Matthew,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Most of these reviews are on the 1-day or 3-day intro course/seminar. As an actual FortuneBuilders "student," I will attempt to provide some insight into the program as I and my wife have experienced it.

    First off, the free 1-day and not free 3-day courses are introduction devices, and the 3-day is very much an up-sell. They are pushing the full-blown and very expensive Mastery Program which STARTS at $30k, yes $30,000. This is not affordable to the average person wanting to start a real estate investment business and is actually geared towards experience investors wanting to up their game.

    This hard sell and high cost raised a very real red flag with me because I am very skeptical about most things and I was dead set against it. HOWEVER, there are several lower cost options to join FortuneBuilders that they will not tell you about during the hard sell on the 3rd day of the seminar. You have to 1) express interest but balk at the cost and 2) be in the economic demographic that they are looking for.

    After you leave them your contact info and you walk away, you will be contacted days later by one of their salespeople to get you to sign. They will offer you a less expensive option but it will still be in the low five figures, and for us, it was still too much. After we told them it was still too high, we were told that there was a somewhat limited program for TEN TIMES less than the original Mastery Program. We signed up for this one.

    The program DOES offer many very good useful tools, forms, contracts, tips and tricks for every aspect of real estate investing that you need to be successful. There is a very comprehensive curriculum to follow and daily live and recorded seminars in the evening. They also have actual people who you can contact with questions and who will review your deals before making an offer. The limited one is only for a specified number of months (6-9), after which you pay monthly.

    So the program itself, even in the more limited form, is actually very good and I would recommend it. You could glean all or most of the information from a bunch of online sources, but you won't get personalized help, and it will take A LOT of time to gather and understand it all. I am giving it 4 stars and not 5 because of the off-putting hard sell for the high dollar program and no mention of the more affordable option until way late in the discussion.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Two-hour real estate class

    I attended, VERY MOTIVATIONAL, and I will now proceed to the three-day class (yes, I drank the Kool-Aid). The wheels were spinning in my head that told me with the systems they have and the knowledge and expertise they possess, that this is POSSIBLE. As with everything in life, it depends on what you put in to attain what you will get out. I am aware of The Mastery Class and the cost. I have a SOLID PLAN in my head already. HERE GOES!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • FortuneBuilders is the opportunity to own a business - not just a real estate course

    I just completed day 2 of the 3-day workshop for Than Merrill's Real Estate Workshop. I am naturally a skeptical person and cynical about these 3-day selling gigs.

    I knew that the attendees would be subjected to an upsell. I was prepared for some money, but when the real costs were revealed, I was stunned! $49,997.00 for the Master's Class. What a crock I thought to myself. These guys must be crazy.

    I went online on 10/27/2017 to do some reviews of the program and found a review from BiggerPockets that explained the same feelings I was having that although this was not a SCAM, it was certainly NOT something that the average person can afford, and I thought yeah, that the FortuneBuilders team was taking advantage of "the little guy."

    I WAS SO WRONG. My mindset was not looking at the whole picture. This program is a franchise. You are actually purchasing a business that is tried and true. What Than Merrill has created is truly a life-changing product. This program is not for the part-time investor, the wannabees of real estate investing. This program teaches you how to replicate a solid thriving business entity.

    The software alone is worth $50K. The marketing projects are already set up and ready to go. This program is slick and as the MC for the program stated. It is the closest thing to a success formula/guarantee in this industry as you will ever get.

    I think he called it the "McDonaldization" of real estate investing. Lee Escobar was our 3-day coach, and he was fabulous. A little pushy and talked too long on some days, but the product is stellar. When BiggerPockets reviewed this product he did not mention that you could take 6 people with you; they train your future employees for you.

    There are 12 months-24 months of hands-on coaching. They have someone to look over your deals for you. The Deal Analyzer, the templates for doing rennovations, the costs sheets and SKU number from Home Depot are already set up for you.

    The Repair Module.

    This program sets you up to run a real business. NO, I did not sign up because I realized that after the $49,997, there would be additional expenses like marketing, paying your employees, etc. Just like a franchise you need operating capital after your purchase the business. This product that FortuneBuilders provides is a new way of doing flips. The FLOPS are just the beginning, they also teach you how to create ongoing income, and passive income.

    You are in fact buying the system and protocols, the SOP of a thriving entity that you just need to copy and paste and go forward. It is a genius concept that I may explore at a later date. In the meantime, I'm buying Than's book on wholesaling to create the capital I need to join FortuneBuilders.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • 3-day workshop

    • By Zach Barber,
    • Illinois,
    • Oct 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had an amazing time at the three-day real estate event put on by FortuneBuilders. This was well worth the small investment to go. The speaker for the weekend, Jon Steingraber, did an amazing job explaining the topics.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • My time at the 3-day event

    I truly was happy to attend the 3-day classes with Jon Steingraber. It was a great moment of my life. I received so many important information. FortuneBuilders truly changed my way to think. I am alone here just with my wife and my two kids. I will try my best to do what I can possibly do to change my family life and my community.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Inspiring class

    Very powerful class. My mindset instantly changed from that 2nd day of that class for what seems like will be the rest of my life. I had lunch with a buddy, and he could instantly tell I had changed for the better. And after that lunch and talking with me, he was able to get a job that he was having a hard time getting.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Too pricey, much pressure to sign up.

    • By Jo Peterson,
    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Sep 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well, when I was told the minimum investment for getting into this program was $35K, I was done. I figured if I gave them that much money I was better off on my own. My "counselor" accused me of thinking like a consumer instead of an investor. I just did not want to empty out my 401K and other assets to do this. I do not trust people that much with my SSN and everything, INCLUDING my money.

    After paying for the three-day seminar, I felt like I had enough information, and with a little trial and error, I would be ok. Too much emphasis on money, and BIG pressure to" Do it now!" No thanks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 28-54 of 66

Write a Review for Than Merrill!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Than Merrill Reviews