About The Black Tux

If you’re looking for inexpensive, high-quality tuxedo and suit rentals, The Black Tux claims to take the hassle out of the whole process by providing online ordering, and pre-paid shipping both ways. On top of this, The Black Tux even claims to provide a Fit Guarantee on all of their orders, which can help you look your best on the day of your event.

But can the Black Tux really help you avoid the last-minute pickups, low quality materials, and high prices associated with traditional suit and tux rental shops? Let’s suit up and find out.

Quick Facts About The Black Tux

By partnering with one of America’s top suit-makers, The Black Tux claims to provide wool and cotton suits that feature 150s Merino wool, classic and slim fits, and a wide range of accessories, for prices much lower than traditional tux shops. With this in mind, The Black Tux carries jackets ranging in size from 34-58 inches, and pant waist sizes from 28-54 inches—although all pants come with a 2-inch waist adjuster. If you can’t find the size you need, the company claims that they can manufacture a custom size if necessary, though this will require extra production time.

Because The Black Tux rental process is handled completely online, it occurs over 4 steps:

  1. Visit The Black Tux website, pick the individual items you like, or choose from a range of complete outfits. Once you’re finished, add them to your cart.
  2. Get measured. To accomplish this, you can visit your local tailor in advance, or use the 10-minute measurement tool on The Black Tux website. If necessary, the company can even send you a free tape measure.
  3. Your garments will be shipped via FedEx and will arrive seven days prior to your event. If you’re within 14 days of your event and need something ASAP, a rush shipping and handling fee will apply.
  4. On the business day after your event, place your garments back in the original box, add the pre-paid shipping label, and send it back to the company.

The Black Tux Pricing & Refund Policy

The Black Tux claims that their suits and tuxes would retail for $1,200, although they can be rented for the following prices:

  • Tuxedos: $95 - $120
  • Suits: $95 - $110
  • Shirts: $15
  • Vests: $15
  • Neckwear: $5 - $10
  • Cufflinks & Studs: $5 - $10
  • Shoes: $15 - $30
  • Misc. Items (Suspenders, cummerbund, tie clips, etc.): $7 - $15

All rentals include free shipping both ways, unless your order requires a rush shipping fee. Your garments will arrive folded in a garment bag, and should be ready to wear right out of the box. If there are any wrinkles, the company claims they should naturally fall out within a couple hours.

The Black Tux rentals come with a Fit Guarantee, which means that if your tux or suit doesn’t fit properly, the company will cover the cost of alterations, or will send a replacement item.

If you cancel your order more than 30 days prior to your event, you’ll be eligible for a full refund. Inside of 30 days however, you’ll receive a merchandise credit that can be applied to future orders. If your order has already shipped, you can send it back to the company as soon as you receive it, and you’ll then receive a merchandise credit upon arrival.

Keep in mind that if you fail to send your suit or tux back on the first business day after your event, you may be subject to a late fee of 25% of the rental price, per day.

For questions, concerns, or returns, you’ll need to contact The Black Tux customer support at 888-717-1588.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About The Black Tux?

The Black Tux is based out of Santa Monica, CA, and has been in business since 2012. Since that time, they’ve been featured in BusinessWeek, TechCrunch, The Wall Street Journal, GQ, and more. Despite this, the company is not listed with the Better Business Bureau.

Online reviews regarding The Black Tux appear to be overwhelmingly positive, and cite great quality, good fit, and high marks for customer service.

What’s the Bottom Line About The Black Tux?

The founders of The Black Tux claim that they were inspired to start the company due to their poor experiences with the traditional suit and tux rental process. But have they lived up to their vision?

By all appearances, it would seem so. In less than 2 years, The Black Tux seems to have made a big name for itself, and every review we read during our research seemed to provide glowing feedback.

Have you used The Black Tux for one of your events? If so, tell us about your experience by writing a review!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

87 Consumer Reviews for The Black Tux

Average Consumer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 80 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  7
Bottom Line: 93% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 87
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Poor Customer Service

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jul 19, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Black Tux has a nice website and a good business model. Unfortunately my experience was not pleasant, and it's in the area of customer service, something they have 100% control over. First you'll visit the website. Once you're online and your event is chosen, you'll input your measurements. Proper fit is key for a good look. In my case it's a 40R jacket with a 32/32 slack--a pretty standard eight inch drop.

    Here's what they don't tell you, as confirmed over the phone: As part of the "process" Black Tux will revise your measurements if they feel they have a better fit. They may reach out to you, but absent a quick reply they'll mail you what their recommendation is instead of your order. In my case off a 32/32 order I received a 34/30 slack. Black Tux will claim it's based on their fit experts and the type of suit/tux they supply. In the case of the waist there *may* be variation, but length is a pretty universal measurement. Not surprisingly the suit fit exactly like a 34/30; too big in the waist and too short in the leg.

    Phoning up the company on a Wednesday I received the same agent who actually revised the fit. He explained what I mentioned above, that they alter what's sent based on what their fit experts see for your body measurements. I told him that my original selection (32/32) was the right fit and found it was not available (perhaps why it wasn't sent originally). A 32/30 could be sent, but in order to get there three days later (Saturday) it would need to be shipped via the overnight service. In short, I would need to pay $21 for the shipping a suit that was closer (but not quite) my actual order. He said he was happy to trade poor review(s) for the $21. Fair enough.

    If you're doing $500 - $1000 worth of business with a company, you deserve quality customer service, and you deserve something that fits right or at least what you ordered. Great website, sure. Great suit, maybe, if you like wearing someone else's size.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Poor fit

    • Los Angeles,
    • Sep 4, 2015

    Three of us ordered from the Black tux and none of their pants/jackets or shirts were right. We spoke with customer service over the phone and after a lengthy conversation I figured out their problem, they have no "odd sizes" or 1/2 sizes. I normally wear a 15 1/2" shirt, they only have 15 or 16, so they could only give me a 16 which I would swim in or a 15 with a collar extender, yikes - so much for a custom fit. Same with their jackets, nothing is customized, all off the shelf sizes based on measurements you send in.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Incredibly pleased

    • Plantation, FL,
    • May 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We used The Black Tux for our son's senior prom and could not believe the experience. Their website is user friendly, the tux, shoes and accessories were beautiful (they even sent a brand new pair of socks for my son to keep) and it all arrived when the company said it would. It came on hangers in a black garment bag along with a prepaid shipping label for the return as well as a piece of tape to seal the box!

    We wanted to keep it an extra week as my son was invited to a prom at another school so I called the company and they gave us an extension for a small fee. The customer service rep was so nice!

    I highly recommend The Black Tux and would definitely use them again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Rentals not timely

    I had a poor experience with The Black Tux and for a bride and groom it was a lot of added stress right before the Big Day. The online order experience was excellent and the suits were good quality. But 3 days before the event we had still not received my husband's suit, when their policy is to send it out 10 days ahead so that the groom receives it 7 days in advance and is able to send it back if there is a fit issue.

    Some of his groomsmen had received theirs at that point and they all needed to send back at least one piece of the suit, which made us very nervous. Other groomsmen had not yet received theirs either.

    When I tried to contact The Black Tux, I had a very difficult time. They do not pick up their phone calls, and you are welcomed to be called back by their customer service. However, when they call back and you pick up, there is a voice recording saying "Sorry, we seem to have missed you. Please try us again", or something to that effect. This happened more than three times.

    I finally got someone on the phone and was told I'd be called back the next day once it was shipped out, after they blamed the issue on FedEx. (However, if it was FedEx's shipping issue, I would have at least received a preliminary notification that it was scanned. And secondly, if it was a FedEx issue, you think someone at The Black Tux would have reached out to let us know about it.)

    Anyway, the next day I did not receive a call back, so I again went through the call/hold/auto-recording chase. When I got someone on the phone I demanded a FedEx tracking number for the suit, and that I was not hanging up until it was addressed.

    I would not recommend this company, especially when trying to outfit a bridal party, as it caused a massive amount of stress and time wasted to multiple people. Lastly, their shoes for rent are horribly cheap looking in person - a total disappointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Wrong suit

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Mar 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We placed an order for suits for my son's wedding based on the picture represented on The Black Tux website. We called in and spoke to the representative who assured us that the navy suit was, in fact, the color represented in the photo. So, we placed our order.

    When we received the suits, they were almost black and not the lighter navy blue with gray tones shown in the photo. I immediately called The Black Tux and was told that there is nothing they can do about the misrepresentation in the photo or what the representative originally told us.

    They basically bait and switch, and then less than two weeks before the wedding can only offer a refund rather than appropriately correct the problem. It's very clear that trying to do this online is not appropriate. They have left a disappointed wedding party stranded.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Very Disappointed!

    First, the suit arrived very wrinkled up. I figured no big deal. I will have it pressed. Once I tried on the suit I realized the vest was too small. I called their support line. I was told although they do carry the larger size, but currently, there are not available. Their only option was to refund me the rental cost of the vest.

    Really?! What about the father of the groom being the only person that is partially dressed? I asked to speak to a supervisor and was told she is the one who authorized the refund of the vest rental amount.

    I can't tell you how dissatisfied I am with their lack of concern.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awful

    I bet this won't be viewed on the website! Awful quality. My son's shirt was threadbare and ripped when buttoned. My husband's tie was awful, and they sent a replacement that was even worse and smelled like a firepit/smoke. Yuck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent

    • Nashville ,
    • May 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought I would fit better in different sizes than what I had originally selected and they were 100% right. I had to get pants altered locally. I snapped a photo of my receipt and was reimbursed the next day. Excellent company!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great tux at a great price with excellent customer service!

    • Dayton, Ohio,
    • May 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is wonderful! My son's tux was on back order and the tux was delayed in getting here. I emailed and the same night they emailed me back and the tux was here two days later.

    I was worried that I wouldn't have time to get it altered but that wasn't needed. The tux fit perfectly and my son looked wonderful! Thank you so much for making the effort and getting the tux to us.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great Experience!

    • Austin, Texas,
    • May 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Renting a tux is generally a painful and expensive experience. This was neither of those. I went through the process, picked out my tux and punched in my sizes. A few weeks later I got an email suggesting a different size with the guarantee that if they were advising me the wrong size Black Tux, the folks could get me the right size pronto (and before my event). They were correct on the size and the tux ended up fitting perfectly. The customer service throughout was great!

    Got a lot of great compliments on the tux!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Wedding success

    • May 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We ordered charcoal suits for the groom, all the groomsmen, and our dads for our wedding last month. We did the wedding trial to sneak peek the fit/quality/color of the suit we wanted and loved it. When everybody from the party got their tuxes (shipped to their homes, a week before the wedding), there was only 1 sizing issue. We called in and had a new jacket for the groom within two days. All the guys agreed that is was way easier than making trips to a tux shop to get fitted, especially since our guys lived all over the place in different states. No trip to the tux shop before and after the wedding day, too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 87

Write a Review for The Black Tux!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review