About The Flipping Formula

Endorsed by Peter Souhleris and Dave Seymour, stars of the A&E TV show “Flipping Boston,” The Flipping Formula is a real estate educational system that claims to “simplify and demystify the real estate market” and to help individuals improve their financial position. On top of this, The Flipping Formula also claims to help supercharge your success using the program’s strategies, formulas, and techniques, such as how to fund your deal using other people’s money, how to fix up the property, and how to realize a huge profit.

Because of the big profits that investors can realize from flipping real estate, the industry has boomed over the past decade. And as a new investor, you probably feel overwhelmed by all the things you need to learn in order to become profitable, and perhaps even a little fearful that you’ll make a huge mistake. As such, real estate “mentoring” programs such as The Flipping Formula promise to help take a lot of the mystery out of real estate investing. But when it comes down to it, are they worth the money, or are they just full of empty promises? Take a look at what we found out.

The Flipping Formula Details

At its most basic, The Flipping Formula claims to include a proven formula for locating real estate deals, using other people’s money to repair them quickly, and then flipping them for “huge” profits, and that this same formula can work for you, regardless of the city in which you live.

By signing up for The Flipping Formula, the company claims that you’ll gain access to their Education Center, which acts as the foundation for your success. Here, you’ll receive the complete Flipping Formula, in addition to the Quick Start program, which is claimed to put you on the quickest path to making money in real estate during your first 30 days. In addition, you’ll also gain access to a library of insider videos, forms, deal calculators, webinars, and pre-recorded material from previous web seminars.

In addition to The Flipping Formula Education Center, the company also offers advanced training related to creative funding and financing, which can help you learn practical, real-world techniques and methods to fund your real estate investments. In these on-demand courses, which are claimed to be taught by one of the top private money experts in the nation, you’ll also learn recognize fundable deals, the 7 steps to fast funding, when to use equity deals vs. short sales, how to invest in real estate at a fraction of the value, and more.

On top of this, some of The Flipping Formula’s other advanced training programs include:

  • Personal Business Coach – This FastStart Three-Day Bootcamp is claimed to help you develop the interpersonal skills necessary to succeed at real estate investing; to achieve your goals faster; to set priorities and develop self-discipline; and how to conquer personal hurdles.
  • Real Estate Marketing Mastery – A 2-Day Marketing Mastery Camp held in either Scottsdale, AZ or Las Vegas, NV that is claimed to help improve your marketing through the use of social media, targeted lead generating websites, and other online options. You’ll also learn how to expand you network and increase your online visibility.
  • Wealth Strategies – Held in Park City, UT, Scottsdale, AZ, or Las Vegas, NV, this is an advanced 2-day camp that is claimed to help you know when to take action, how to create success, and how to maximize your income.
  • Flipping Formula Investor Summit – A 3-day event that claims to provide you with a wealth of information, give you the opportunity to network with other investors, and to locate “discounted cash flow” deals. Also includes appearances by Dave Seymour and Peter Souhleris.
  • 2-Day One-On-One Mentorship – After you’ve completed the 3-Day FastStart Bootcamp, you’ll have the opportunity to work with a Flipping Formula mentor in your market who can help you plan, strategize, and achieve your goals based on the previous training you’ve received.
  • Coaching – Claims to provide on-on-one support that can help you cut your learning time in half.

The Flipping Formula Pricing & Refund Policy

In order to obtain Flipping Formula pricing or refund information, you’ll need to contact customer support at (800) 680-0036.

Note: The Flipping Formula website advertises that you can sign up for a free trial for the Education Center, but there is no option to sign up after clicking on the link.

With this said, based on numerous customer reviews, it appears that Flipping Formula seminars and programs range between $2K and $50K.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About The Flipping Formula?

The Flipping Formula is operated by Premier Mentoring Inc. based out of Salt Lake City, UT. This is relevant because, although the company has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, they have more than 100 closed complaints over the past 3 years. Among these complaints, the most common appear to reference:

  • Difficulty obtaining refunds, even if cancelled within 3 days of signing a contract.
  • High-pressure sales tactics during seminars. In fact, several customers stated that one of your first assignments will be to call your credit card company and inquire about increasing your available limit. Several customers even complained that Flipping Formula staff promised them funding for a real estate deal if they signed up for a paid seminar, which never manifested.
  • That seminars (whether free or paid) contain very little usable information, and basically act as a sales funnel to get you to sign up for higher-cost seminars.

Outside of the BBB, online customer complaints appear to be similar to the above.

Can The Flipping Formula Really Help You Make Money with Real Estate Investing?

Now that you know more about what The Flipping Formula is and how it works, can it ultimately help you make money through real estate investments? Perhaps, although consider the following before handing over your credit card:

Star Struck

First, if you’re expecting to meet Dave or Pete at any of these events, you’ll likely be disappointed because these TV stars don’t host any of their seminars. On the other hand, it appears that “mentors” are simply employees of Premier Mentoring Inc., which is a company that has appears to have a reputation for hyping up their high-priced products, while providing very little value in return.

In fact, it’s not clear if either of the Flipping Boston stars actually created any of the educational material in The Flipping Formula seminars or education programs in the first place.

High Price and Questionable Value

Similar to other real estate “mentoring” programs such as Scott Yancey, Flip with Nick, and Freedom Mentor, it appears that The Flipping Formula is built around an initial free seminar, which is intended to convince individuals to purchase access to the $2K seminar. However, many customers have stated that this paid seminar contains very little usable information, and appears to be primarily aimed at convincing you to sign up for even more expensive programs, often totaling $40K or more.

Because of these high-pressure sales tactics, seminar-based real estate programs like these appear to offer very little value for your hard-earned money.

Bottom Line: Before handing over your credit card for seminar-based real estate programs such as The Flipping Formula, it’s probably a good idea to read some books and attend a local REI group meeting. By doing this, you may be able to gain much of the same information found in The Flipping Formula (perhaps even more), at a much less expensive price.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

28 Consumer Reviews for The Flipping Formula

Average Consumer Rating: 3.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 16 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  7
Bottom Line: 68% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 28
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    This is definitely no good!

    The speaker asked the audience if it was okay for him to go fast so that he could purposely fast talk (typical fast-talking salesmen). I feel so sorry for those people who were so excited to join. I have to admit it sounded good, but it was too good to be true, and you know what the saying is about that. I'm totally convinced this is not a good thing especially after reading these reviews. I wish I had read it prior to wasting my time and receiving a boxed lunch like I was in school. It was a good sandwich, but the flyer leads you to believe it would be a sit-down lunch, especially since it was at a higher end hotel. Consumers BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Took our money and ran! What a joke.

    We had high hopes for learning how to flip homes. We dropped the $2k to go to a 3-day workshop. All they talked about is to hire a mentor, and they will teach you everything you need to know to learn how to flip houses and build rentals. After a few days of high-pressure sales, we invested for their services ($40K), however, after thinking about this and how it works.

    We reached out to the team of mentors with hopes of a phone call. After several attempts to get ahold of them, we decided that with that type of money we should have phone calls returned. Still no phone calls. Now we have asked for a full refund. They have stalled at each and every single time to return a call, as well as our money. We have called over 12 times asking for a refund. Still no calls. We have talked to Nichole, Wendy, Roxanna, and Tyler at 800-277-4350 and 800-680-0036. Still no return call.

    I would strongly encourage you to not attend any of this. Most of all, please do not spend your money. My friend lost her husband and was a little emotional. Still, they refuse to give her the money back. This is a really sad way to do business. Now we are gong to go to court to get our money back. We hope you understand this is not to be mean or rude. We did not want to use the service and asked for our money back. All in all, they stole money for services not provided.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 16, 2017

      Michele

      I really appreciate your true comment. I needed to know if this was real or not. It could help me gain knowledge of some way to make money and not use the money I do not have. Thank you, and thank you. I am so sorry you invested your time and money in this, as well as your belief that was taken for granted.

      I truly pray that you get all of what you invested when you go to court. Show these rip-offs that they will not be tolerated and they will not get away with doing this to others. Thank you and good luck!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Attendee

    • Connecticut,
    • Apr 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Follow the formula, and the results happen.

    I attended, listened, and executed. Sometimes we don't realize that the simple steps with action equal results. I have to say; they really know their stuff. I highly recommend it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Learned a lot

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Apr 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I attended the free one-afternoon meeting which sparked my interest, so I paid $2K to attend a 3-day seminar in Pittsburgh. The $2K allowed me to bring a 2nd person.

    The days were long but packed with usable information. I was impressed with the down-to-earth attitudes and stories of the presenters; also they were very professional and approachable. They were there to answer questions anytime and were inspirational. Tomorrow is my last day, and we are covering legally protecting your assets and setting up marketing techniques. They have laid the groundwork for available additional educational packages that you have to decide on that day to get the special rates.

    It's a lot of money, and not sure yet if it is worth it. But, it includes quite a bit, and I really want the access to their private website database that is only available through the package deals. So far, I would recommend this $2K class ($1K per person) as I have a Masters degree and could research this on my own, but this 3-day course crammed in information that would have taken me days to sift through and weeks to understand. Plus they give lots of tips from their own experiences!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 18, 2017

      Phyllis Anderson

      Why would you recommend something that you haven't received results from yet? This guy is a fast-talking salesman at best. He actually asked the audience if he can go fast, in order to justify his fast sales pitch. What a joke? I would never buy into this.

      Good luck to you lady, and it would be nice if you gave a HELPFUL review once you were able to see a profit. That's what this is all about!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 8 people found this review helpful

    A real game changer

    • Worcester, MA,
    • Apr 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Guys, this program got me started on my real estate business. Going into this program is one of the best decisions I ever made in my life.

    The program gives you all of the tools you need to get started. It does take time, effort, patience, extreme focus, and intensity to push these tools to work. If you are lazy, this is not for you.

    From my experience, it was difficult to start. I got the coaching package deal, and it got me moving faster. The program has videos online, and these helped me stay on track. I had to be very aggressive on the techniques that were taught to me to get deals done.

    In my opinion, the education and training of this program are priceless. If you got what it takes, the return on money from this program is infinite.

    I hope this helps. Good luck everyone!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Flipping Formula is worthless!

    • Lacey, Washington,
    • Mar 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid $6,500 for a program that was supposed to give me a mentor. What I got was a phone number and a guy to talk to. The little info I got was worthless. Everything you need is free online and locally.

    These people prey on the public knowing that 99 out of 100 will never be successful at it. It's all hype and stealing your hard earned cash. You can't buy any property and rehab it without having at least $100,000 in working capital. If they say otherwise, it's BS. These TV shows are also very misleading. I've flipped houses myself and know these for the true facts. They won't respond to my demands for a refund. It's all a money fraud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 12 people found this review helpful

    We are SO motivated!

    • Minneapolis, Minnesota,
    • Mar 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Dear Dave (and Peter), David Freier, Bryan (the LA cop), Mike (our Seminar Mentor) and Lisa,

    A quick note just to let you know that we promise to work hard to get things done these next three weeks. Mark and I are both onboard at 200% (if our confidence dips a little, we'll still be above 100%). We're all in! Now that we have a new purpose and deadlines, we're scrambling to use every minute. I will admit that Fryman scares me, but in a good way, to get stuff done.

    I want you all to know too, that Bryan's FaceTime phone call was the tipping point for me in deciding whether "these guys and this stuff was really real." Because I knew from Bryan's live call, he was "real." As an L.A. cop, Bryan would never have fallen for a scam, so this MUST be real. Thanks Bryan!

    And thanks to Mike and Lisa and Dave and Peter, co-creators of The Flipping Formula, for sharing their life stories with us. You helped us get on board with this system. We know we need to do something NOW.

    Mr. (respectfully) Fryman, you led a great seminar. You gave it 200% for just 10 Minnesotans. THANK YOU! Apparently, you've gotten into both Mark and my heads. We hear ourselves saying: "Fryman's right, we need a specialist;" "Remember when Fryman said this or that;" and "Oh you're just like Fryman!" Mark says I'm starting to scare him. I know that's a good thing. I'm just channeling Fryman's positivity and "get er done" attitude.

    Last night, we took turns reading the Secrets to Funding out loud to each other at dinner and took a photo with our selfie stick of both of us celebrating, like you asked. But I'm too shy to share it with you because I know you have the ability to post it everywhere. You're an Apple expert too.

    So thanks Fryman, for sharing your Flipping Formula exuberance. Your amazing knowledge of making money in real estate gives me hope that we can succeed in this Flipping Formula adventure. Enjoy your vacation and family.

    We'll stay in touch with everyone.

    Cheers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 3, 2017

      bret smith

      Did they pay you to strew that BS?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Exceptional experience

    The construction and design techniques will be handy and fitted. The three days with Peter and David was an exceptional experience that I won’t forget. I learned a lot and feel more prepared and have more tools ready to execute. Amazing!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Beware - 260 consumer complaints with BBB since January 2012

    • Boston, MA,
    • Nov 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Went to the free seminar and knew something wasn't right. This is what I found from the Better Business Bureau:

    Both events are part of Premier Mentoring Inc. of Salt Lake City, a company that has received more than 260 consumer complaints with BBB since January 2012, 140 of those in the past two years.

    Many of those consumers say the business initially attracted them with tickets to free investment seminars and then charged them anywhere from $2,000 to more than $70,000 for follow-up real estate classes and personalized mentoring programs which they believed had little or no value to them.

    Complainants to BBB describe the company’s onsite sales pitches as aggressive and misleading. Some said they were able to obtain partial refunds only after contacting BBB or law enforcement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 51 out 57 people found this review helpful

    My impression

    • Sep 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went to this free seminar. They didn't cover much info as far as a secret formula (you have to attend the 2k training for that lol) turns out after the 3-day 2k training. There, they just try to sell you more, expensive training from what I've read here. I'm not usually talked into anything but I agreed to attend the free seminar with my mom so she wouldn't go alone. The ad said they would provide lunch or dinner. however, when we got there, there was a bag with a chewy bar and chocolate chip cookies oh my chair. Clearly, I wasn't there for the food but this speaks to their honesty and the "straightforwardness" they like to talk about. They are right about real estate, it's a good time to get into it but you don't need people to sell you "secrets" find some local REI in the area and talk to them about getting started.

    I bet none of them learned through these seminars. They also made a lot of assumptions about attendees by saying such as, “Thank you for getting off the couch today and making a move for your future”. Something to that effect.

    They talk down to you so you can want to be "in" even more. Once the presentation is over you have like a 10-minute window to sign up and pay your 2k for "in-depth training". I got on my phone immediately to research and the mentors were literally stalking me by handing me forms and clearly trying to get me off the phone probably so that I wouldn't see this kind of stuff and reviews. I picked up on the fact that they didn't want me to make an educated decision before paying they. Instead, they wanted me to make a rash decision so I had a feeling it was a scam and left.

    Then later I found all these reviews and realized I was right. Intuition is key. They prey on the hopeless which most of these people were "just looking for a break". You could tell these people weren't financially capable of forking over 2k but again they kept saying “It's not for everyone, only those who want to be RICH”. I think it's a typical scam/scheming, this is a lot like the model Scientology uses, they just keep selling you more training or "cleansing", whatever those freaks are selling.

    If you read the 5-star reviews titled "Thanks Pete and Dave", whoever their names are (I don't watch TV and you shouldn't either) they're clearly fake to bring up the average which is like 2 stars.

    Those A&E guys weren't even there so if you actually attended you wouldn't have addressed it to them. They very likely did not create this formula, just lent their faces to the program. Think before you buy guys and gals!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 16, 2016

      travis

      Tell me, would it be worth it to go to the Flipping Oregon thing and drive sales on them? I've got the perfect joke: Pet Rock's cousin, the "Eye Rock."

      I can fill my truck full of rocks with eyes glued on them, and then say, "Oh, guess what, you get a special gift, and here's a complementary Eye Rock Pocket Pal," and then convince them to purchase life insurance for their new "pals!" And I'll record it!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Hats off to Pete & Dave

    • Holladay, Utah,
    • Sep 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Flipping Formula will provide a great opportunity and education. Like most education, it will cost money and require work. As Jim Carey put it, “Visualization works if you work hard”. That's the thing. You can't just visualize and go eat a sandwich. If you want to spend money and expect to have more money fall in your lap in return, this isn't for you. If you want to learn something new and valuable and apply this knowledge then you CAN make this a lucrative business. Thanks Pete and Dave. Bring your friends!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 17, 2016

      Marcia Nease

      The good reviews are from people who are connected to the company via friends and family. I know an employee, who says that they have a whole team of people who don't do anything but watch the internet for bad reviews, and then in response, give good reviews.

      These are fake customers, that give fake "good" reviews.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 28

Write a Review for The Flipping Formula!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review