About The Paleo Secret 30-Day Challenge

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 24, 2017

Developed by doctors Chad and Brenda Walding, The Paleo Secret 30-Day Challenge isn’t a diet. Instead, they claim it’s an ancient, easy-to-follow eating plan that can improve digestion, increase insulin sensitivity, and help you lose body fat.

As a result, Chad and Brenda tell us that you could experience unlimited energy, reduced pain and inflammation, improved sleep, reduced body toxicity, rejuvenated skin, and improved overall physical and emotional wellbeing.

In fact, they claim that the improved health provided by The Paleo Secret 30-Day Challenge could help address a number of health issues; everything from type 2 diabetes and autoimmune issues to fibromyalgia and thyroid problems.

All you have to do is follow the program's easy online material and relaxed pace and change your eating habits (while still enjoying delicious, rich, filling foods anytime you're hungry).

According to Chris and Brenda, the Paleo Secret program will work for anyone, regardless of age, current weight, or level of physical fitness—and even if you don’t know how to boil an egg! There’s no exercise involved and zero tracking calories, points, portions, or carbs.

If we’re to take The Paleo Secret’s claims at face value, it might be easy to believe you can completely transform your health and your physique in a matter of 30 days. But does this align with reality?

Furthermore, with so many other Paleo programs out there, is the 30-Day Challenge more deserving of your money? Why or why not?

Before handing over your hard-earned money, these are some key questions that require answers. That’s exactly what we’ll help you find here.

How Does The Paleo Secret 30-Day Challenge Work?

Like most long-form sales videos, The Paleo Secret 30-Day Challenge’s website does a lot of talking but very little explaining. In other words, we’re provided with very little information we can use to figure out how the program works or how it compares to the thousands of other Paleo books and programs out there.

In fact, we’re basically told just two things:

  1. It’s centered around changing your eating habits and feeding your body what it was designed for.
  2. You’ll receive all the instructional materials, coaching, and support you need to succeed.

That’s pretty much it. Fortunately, we can help you fill in many of the gaps.

What Is a Paleo Diet?

The Paleolithic period (or Paleo for short), which lasted about 2.5 million years, marked the beginning of the Stone Age. This is the time before humans invented agriculture, so our diet was mainly based around what we could forage and kill; berries, nuts, tubers, and wild game.

Today, the term ‘Paleo’ has become synonymous not with chasing prey and digging for plants in the forest, but with a diet approach that avoids foods our Paleolithic ancestors would have never encountered. Namely, dairy, processed grains, and processed sugars (including alcohol)—while consuming copious amounts of meat, nuts, vegetables, and sometimes fruit.

The Paleo Secret Wine DisplayIt’s interesting that The Paleo Secret’s creators decided to use this image on one of their long-form sites, since alcohol (including wine) is typically forbidden in these programs. Image credit: The Paleo Secret 30-Day Challenge

Can The Paleo Secret Help You Lose Weight?

Obviously, avoiding (or at least limiting) processed foods can be beneficial to your health, as well as to your waistline, since they’re often loaded with sugar, salt, and calories. However, there are two important considerations to keep in mind:

First, if you want to lose weight, you must create a calorie deficit (consuming fewer calories than you expend). This is the case whether you eat mostly processed foods, or only eat meat and leafy greens.

A pound of fat is equivalent to 3,500 calories, which means you’d need to restrict your intake by 500 calories per day to lose one pound per week. This might be difficult with The Paleo Secret 30-Day Challenge, though, since you won’t count calories.

Second, while there are plenty of individuals who have reported improved health and reduced weight using Paleo diets, the clinical evidence remains limited, although promising, for its specific benefits.

On the other hand, there’s substantial evidence that eating whole grains improves health, and that eating legumes benefits much more than it harms—both of which you’ll likely stop eating in The Paleo Secret program.

Further, Paleo diets are loosely created around modern interpretations of what our ancestors ate, so other than what you can’t eat, there aren’t many steadfast rules. But even with such a simplistic rule set, the fact of the matter is that many authoritative websites question the one-size-fits-all approach of Paleo diets.

Is The Paleo Secret 30-Day Challenge Different?

Type the phrase “Paleo diet” into any search engine and in less than a second, you'll have more information available than you could hope to read in a year. This includes nutrition guides, meal plans, shopping lists, tips and tricks—you name it.

Given that so much Paleo-related information is available for free, is there anything about the 30-Day Challenge that makes it worth the price?

Again, we're told very little information about the program. But we grabbed a couple of snippets from The Paleo Secret website to see if we could locate the same information elsewhere online, for free.

The claim: “How to burn fat by eating fat (Yes, it's true, but only if you know WHICH fats to eat and which to avoid like the plague).”

The reality: It’s well known that there are good fats and bad fats. While authoritative sites indicate there’s limited clinical evidence showing that eating fat can help you lose weight, good fats can reduce cholesterol levels and risk of heart disease.

The claim: “The truth about COFFEE -- and how to turn it into a fat burning cocktail!”

The reality: Bulletproof coffee involves adding grass-fed butter (and sometimes oil) to black coffee, although there’s limited evidence that it can help you lose weight. Further, some Paleo practitioners recommend coffee, while others strictly avoid it due to the caffeine content.

The bottom line is that any diet program focused on helping you achieve long-term results is focused on changing eating habits, and The Paleo Secret is no exception.

But all things being equal, we’re not sure what the 30-Day Challenge offers that you couldn’t find on third-party websites, for free, in just a few minutes’ time. Speaking of which, let’s talk price next.

How Much Does The Paleo Secret 30-Day Challenge Cost?

The Paleo Secret 30-Day Challenge is available for digital download after a one-time payment of $27.

For this price, you’ll receive the 66-page Paleo Secret 30-Day Challenge Manual: Change Your Diet, Transform Your Life, along with six bonuses:

  • The Skinny Guide on Fat – Which fats boost your metabolism and which ones cause you to gain weight.
  • The Paleo Secret’s Shopping Guide – A one-page shopping guide that you can print and take with you to the store.
  • Paleo Tips For Eating Out – Avoid gaining weight while still enjoying a meal out.
  • PaleoHacks Delicious Cookbook Sampler
  • Mary the Paleo Chef’s Cookbook Sampler
  • Civilized Caveman Cooking – Grain-Free Goodies Recipe Sampler

All 30-Day Challenge purchases come with a 90-day, 100% money back guarantee. In order to request one, the only way to reach customer support is by sending an email to support@thepaleosecret.com or by filling out an online contact form.

What do we know about The Paleo Secret’s authors?

Who Wrote The Paleo Secret 30-Day Challenge? What Are Their Qualifications?

Chad Walding earned his undergraduate degree from Trinity University and his Doctor of Physical Therapy degree from Hardin-Simmons University. He holds several different certifications, including as a Russian Kettlebell Instructor and in Crossfit, Olympic Weightlifting, and Crossfit Endurance.

Brenda Walding earned her undergraduate degree from Texas Christian University and her Doctor of Physical Therapy degree from Hardin-Simmons University. She is also certified as a Functional Diagnostic Nutrition practitioner and Tao Flow Yoga instructor.

Together, Chad and Brenda own and operate Alchemy fitness+ flow, a holistic-based gym in Austin, TX. They’ve also authored several other e-books together, like Sitting Solution, The Anti-Inflammatory Diet Guide, Cooking With Coconut, and Paleo Holiday Party Recipes.

Most of these books seemed well received by Amazon customers, with limited feedback, but 4-5 star average ratings. Most compliments referenced delicious recipes that can help improve your health.

The Paleo Challenge came in slightly lower at 3.6 stars, based on eight Amazon customer reviews. Again, many compliments related to improved health and ease of use.

In fact, the only complaints there related to personal preferences, such as digital vs. physical copies, and that the Paleo program simply wasn’t their cup of tea.

While Chad and Brenda wrote The Paleo Secret e-book, it’s sold through a third-party company named Lexicon Health. Lexicon had a D+ Better Business Bureau rating based on 18 closed complaints (as of 1/24/17), many of which referenced difficulties obtaining refunds.

What does all of this mean for you?

Is There Any “Secret” With the Paleo 30-Day Challenge?

We learned earlier that restricting your caloric intake by 500 calories means that you could lose 5-10 pounds over the course of 30 days. And fortunately, Brenda specifically points out in one of their videos that The Paleo Secret is not a “lose weight quick” scheme.

However, elsewhere on the program’s website, we’re told you could “lose 10, 20, 30 pounds or more” and make an “easy, rapid body transformation.” Given this, there are certainly some mixed signals floating around.

Here’s the bottom line: If you’re looking to improve your health (which might also involve shrinking your waistline), a Paleo diet might help keep you motivated throughout the process. Just be sure to speak with your doctor first.

But authoritative websites tell us there’s little clinical evidence showing clear health benefits (including weight loss) with Paleo diets. And while there doesn’t necessarily seem to be anything revolutionary about The Paleo Secret’s approach, their extra bonuses might make the $27 price tag more worthwhile.

Ultimately, it’s a decision only you can make. But if you end up dissatisfied, it’s positive that the company offers a 90-day refund policy—just keep in mind that, according to some customer feedback, this might not go as smoothly as you’d prefer.

Before clicking away, tell us about your experience with The Paleo Secret 30-Day Challenge by writing a review below! Did you lose weight? If so, how much?

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 35 The Paleo Secret 30-Day Challenge Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 4 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  24
Bottom Line: 23% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 35
Sort reviews by:

  • 28 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Believe in the Paleo Diet!

    I've been using the Paleo Lifestyle recommendations since February 1, 2017. I've lost 20 pounds, and I feel great! Having stopped using dairy products, my constant sinus drainage has ended. I can lay my head down at night and breathe for the first time since I was a child!

    Occasionally, I "cheat" and have crusty bread at a restaurant, but otherwise, I have had no desire for bread, sweets, or dairy products. That's because all the protein, vegetables, and 1-2 fruits a day keep me satisfied! What "diet" do you know that can make you say that?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 22, 2017

      Jacqueline Truax

      Eating Paleo. Yes. It is a great "live-it" program for staying healthy.

      This 30-Day Paleo Secret program is a total rip-off. Lots, and lots of talk, emails, lots of promos and all with very little value. You can do better with the Keto-diet program or other diets that deliver value. You can simply get a Paleo book from Amazon.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Has changed my life

    • Seagrove, NC,
    • May 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It has changed my life. I am down 41 lbs since January, inflammation is gone, headaches are gone, and numbers across the board are great! The support that you receive from Chad Walding and the Paleo group is phenomenal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Loving the Paleo lifestyle!

    The reason that I tried this plan was because I just couldn't lose any weight, and I my joints just ached terribly. Little did I know what a change I would have.

    I was so addicted to sugar and told myself that I could do anything for 30 days, so I started with the 30-day challenge. I found Thrive Market online to purchase the majority of my food at the cheapest prices. First I had the Paleo flu, "the body detoxing" for about 5 days. Then one morning I noticed I wasn't coughing and blowing my nose constantly after waking up, like before. It had been years since I was able to breathe clearly like I can now.

    I've only been on it for about 1 and 1/2 months, and I have lost around 15 lbs and dropped 2 pant sizes. Rarely do I have any joint pain, and my mental health hasn't been this good in over 20 years. I plan on eating this way the rest of my life. I am in my late 50s.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • It worked GREAT for me

    • Woodbury, CT,
    • Nov 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started the program mid-February 2018. I wanted to get off two medications related to joint pain, so I wanted to see if changing the way I eat reduces inflammation. By the third month, I had lost 30 pounds and was off both meds. I’m 63 and wearing size 4s again.

    That aside, the community of people using this program is extremely supportive through a dedicated Facebook page. I have NEVER had a problem reaching a staffer as an individual needing a confidential question answered. I use three of the products they sell. THAT IS A CHOICE. For goodness sake, ignore the ads that don’t interest you. You may also UNSUBSCRIBE from the product offers.

    Yes, it’s a common sense program, but a lot of people have no idea how to empty their pantry and start over. This program walks one through each and every consideration.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Helped me

    • Eaton Rapids, MI,
    • May 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found the 30-day challenge very helpful. Though I only lost a few pounds, I am feeling much, much better, and sleeping great. My latest labs were so good, that my doctor halved my blood pressure meds. Best of all, a clearing away of the brain fog.

    I love the recipes, the articles, and the online community. I have to hold back one star for the constant marketing emails (all attached to lengthy videos), and the push to spend more money. But they seem to know their stuff and are living what they preach.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Paleo 30-Day Challenge

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • May 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I lost 19 lbs on the 30-Day Challenge eating Paleo. I found it easy to follow and have continued eating Paleo after the challenge ended. I found I felt better, had less inflammation, and was not hungry. I ate well. In fact, eating this way I find I'm eating far more vegetables than I did previously. My family enjoys the Paleo meals, too.

    I have referred this way of eating to a couple of friends, and one, in particular, started eating Paleo and has also been successful. I didn't use a lot of the extras on the program and could have found Paleo cookbooks elsewhere, but the 30-Day Challenge was inspirational for me. I liked the challenge part of it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 22, 2017

      Jacqueline Truax

      Eating Paleo. Yes. It is a great "live-it" program for staying healthy.

      This 30-Day Paleo Secret program is a total rip-off. Lots, and lots of talk, emails, lots of promos and all with very little value. You can do better with the Keto-diet program or other diets that deliver value. You can simply get a Paleo book from Amazon.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    Joining was confusing, at one point I accepted something for extra money. I complained and was given the option to return the book and get money back. I was upset.

    In the meantime I joined their website and read the book; it is overwhelming, so much info, a total change in my eating habits. Their website is a jewel, a paradise populated by kindness, ideas, recipes, encouragement, and people healing of all kind of physical problems. I did the 30-day challenge, and my energy came back, pains and aches disappeared, I lost volume, clothes were not tight anymore, and I lost about 5 lbs. But most important for me was that I was not having acid indigestion at night anymore.

    That was one year ago, and I did not stay on the paleo diet all year. I was on and off, mainly because I live with people who were not interested, until recently. But I kept reading the posts in the Paleo Secret website, which just by itself is priceless.

    My husband and daughter decided to join me. I haven't gained the 5 lbs back. After 13 days on Paleo, my daughter's insomnia is gone, my husband can see parts of his body his stomach was blocking and everybody's mood is HAPPY!

    My daughter's insomnia is much improved.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Just starting

    I felt it necessary to write this, based on all the negative I see regarding the billing procedure. I will say there is a lot of info upon sign up - but I did find it clearly noted between the $27 and $67 versions. I was contacted the next day by the coach, and to order supplements. I've spent far more on other programs, and it's hard to believe that people wouldn't expect to take certain supplements on a diet that contains a cleansing period. I'd like to come back at the end of my first 30-days and do a review, but for me, my experience in signing up, and being explained the program and what has been charged to my card has been correct. Trust me, if it wouldn't have been, I'd have been the first one on the phone to my credit card company crying fraud.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 55 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Good program. Too much sales pitch.

    • Fort Mill, SC,
    • Jun 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got suckered into the $67 price to get the printed "book," which was a rip-off. It's a nice pamphlet version of the PDF you receive for the $27. They do email you daily (of course it's a pre-written email), but it does motivate you to keep going. After it's over, they still email daily with sales pitches. I just marked it as spam today to make it stop. I did the diet to battle chrons disease, and it didn't help, but that's not their fault.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    I am highly disappointed. This is nothing more than a marketing scam to buy more products. I ordered two cookbooks and at the time was asked if digital or hard copy. I don't buy digital, so I opted for a digital and hard copy so I could get the hard copy. When I haven't received my hard copy, I emailed, and they said it was only digital. I wasted my money because I will never use the digital copy and have not to this day. I wish I would have read the reviews first. I never would have bought into this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam...but consistency can get you anything

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    SO, it's $27...I thought maybe it might be worth it just to get the health coach and eating plan. The health coach called me once...never sent me the health plan OR the information to buy any of the supplements. The amusing part of this is, the supplements are where they make their money, so that was pretty stupid on her part.

    I followed up asking for more information again...and again, NOTHING. Then they spend the rest of your days sending you sales pitches for numerous different supplements, books, and other stuff to sell you. It's like an ongoing sales pitch that never ends. The Krill Oil that I had wanted week one, finally showed up in an email on like day 35...it's a never-ending sales pitch.

    THAT BEING SAID, if you eat healthy, non-processed foods in reasonable amounts, odds are you will lose weight. But there is no accountability here and they are just out to sell you all their supplements. That's how they make their money! The $27 is a pittance at that point.

    P.S. I actually paid $67 for mine...more the sucker am I!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 35

Write a Review for The Paleo Secret 30-Day Challenge!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review