The Zebra Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
The Zebra

Overall Rating

4.4

290 Customer Reviews

Summary

The Zebra is a service that allows you to compare auto, home, and life insurance rates from many carriers. Learn whether or not customers are pleased with the service.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

4.4 Stars out of 290 Reviews
5 Star:81% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:1% 1 Star:12%
86% Recommend This Service
Start your review of The Zebra:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Apr 19, 2021

Hooked me up just right!

By Jessica L. , Chubbuck, ID

I’ve never usually used things like comparing sites but this one works. I typed in a few bits of information and it compared for me. Found the best ones for me (Geico). It also transferred the information to them that they had and filled in some more information to get started with Geico. It was super quick, painless, and didn’t cost me a penny just to look at quotes. Thanks again “The Zebra” as I know I can be pretty picky.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Free

Quick

Painless

Transferred info to company to get started

Not all companies had quotes next to them

Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

Jun 24, 2021

Thank you for your kind words and positive review! We strive to make shopping for insurance quick and painless, and are so glad that you found success with our service. We hope to serve you again in the future. Take care! - Emma W.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 7, 2021

Fantastic service!

By Pamela M., Wilmington, NC, Verified Reviewer

I was in need of homeowners insurance and was browsing online. I clicked the link to The Zebra, they called me right away. The agent was very patient and helpful. He even helped me find a better rate for my car insurance. He was truly a blessing.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quick

Money savings

Professional

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

Jun 24, 2021

Pamela - We're happy you found our staff to be so supportive during your experience here at The Zebra. Your kind words mean a lot to our team. Thank you for celebrating us by leaving a positive review. We are celebrating your savings win with you from the other side of the screen as well. Have an awesome day! - Emma W.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 5, 2021

Great rate!

By Julia J., Raleigh, NC, Verified Reviewer

I got a really good rate from Progressive Insurance! The only problem I am having is that the second choice is constantly calling and messaging me even though I told them that I already made my choice!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy application process

Great choices to pick from

Calls from alternate choices after the fact

Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

Jun 24, 2021

Julia - Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We're so glad you found savings with our service! We do hope we can be of assistance in the future. Take care! - Emma W.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 2, 2021

Great service, saved me a ton!

By Chelsea R., Florida, Verified Reviewer

My experience was wonderful! After comparing prices all day, The Zebra got the best rate for me. I was super pleased! They made it easy and fast. They saved me $140 on a quote from my own insurance.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy

Affordable

Friendly

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

Jun 24, 2021

Chelsea - Woo hoo! We at The Zebra are celebrating your savings win with you. Smart consumers compare and you're living proof. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did and to recommend us. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Take care! - Emma W.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 22, 2021

Awesome service

By Wesley W. , North Carolina

Two other so-called "cheapest" insurance agencies that advertise all over TV every day multiple times tried to give me a $320 policy and the other a whopping $500 policy! I called The Zebra and got one for $174! Keep up the good work, you are the real MVPs!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 14, 2021

Got mega savings for me

By Patricia N., Phenix City, AL, Verified Reviewer

I was pleasantly surprised that I qualified for great monthly savings and still have the plan that I currently use. Travis was a great help in listening to my needs. Actually received a discount because of my occupation.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenient

Travis

Money saved

Took a while to get the right program

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 13, 2021

It was great

By Leon L., New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

Called the first time to The Zebra. Agent Gina Chambers was very professional, helpful, and friendly. She explained to me the whole process. Everything was done over the phone and computer. The entire process took approximately 15 minutes and I received my insurance ID cards thru email right away. In fact, I was very pleasantly surprised about how smooth and fast the entire process went thru.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Great job, thanks

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 9, 2021

Better insurance at 1/2 the cost!

By Johnathon W., Elizabethtown, KY, Verified Reviewer

I was with Esurance. I was paying $206 per month for full coverage auto insurance with a $1000 deductible. I liked my service with Esurance, but I was just curious if another company could offer me a better rate, so I checked out thezebra.com after seeing their TV commercial. I was amazed at, how in just a short time, they were able to show me many insurance options. I quickly found on their site that I could get the exact same coverage with Liberty Mutual for about $115 per month with a lower $500 deductible. I'm glad I checked out The Zebra. They helped me save about $100 a month on my auto insurance.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fast

Very Useful

Helped me save money

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 9, 2021

Easy to do and really do find the best prices

By Steven W., Harvest, AL, Verified Reviewer

I tried a lot of individual insurance quotes and was looking at $200 or more a month so I got on The Zebra and filled out all of my information and call to speak to The Zebra and I wasn't on the phone very long before they found a quote that was half what I was originally looking at. Also, the person I talked to was very helpful and eager to help me find the best price and I was very satisfied with the end result. I would recommend anyone and everyone to get on here for their insurance even if looking to save money.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Found a cheaper and better insurance company

The person I talked to to help me was very respectful and made sure I got the best quote for my car

The fact I could do everything at home and the fact it didn't take long until I was covered again

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Mar 4, 2021

Great service

By Cynthia E., Idaho Falls, ID, Verified Reviewer

Juanita was amazing, great service and happy to get everything I needed that morning, it was quick. She was attentive to my needs and very friendly, and we share the same birthday so I just have to say she is great, lol!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Customer service

Price

Time

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 18, 2021

As advertised

By Joaquin L., Texas, Verified Reviewer

I have been with my current carrier for about 3 years and rather than my premium decreasing, it went up without reason. Even in the pandemic with very limited driving. I saw the ad for The Zebra and thought it couldn't hurt. I saw a great quote online and called to confirm, spoke with Brian who answered my questions and was able to find me a plan that saved me approximately $50 per month with the same coverage.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It was simple to use

It saved me money

It met my expectations

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 17, 2021

Scam!

By Mark W., Wilmington, NC, Verified Reviewer

Horrible, after entering info and getting quotes, chose the best deal only have to re-enter all info again as was told couldn't offer me the service as listed. What a bunch of BS!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

False advertising

Agent's rudeness

Total misrepresentation

Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

Feb 17, 2021

Hello Mark - We're sorry that you could not get the insurance you wanted while using The Zebra recently. Unfortunately, depending on the provider you choose through our site, your information does not transfer over to their website.

This is an information-sharing limitation between our website and some carriers (you might also see this when comparing hotels or flights and have to re-fill out forms).

As for the service offer, we also apologize that the carrier could not offer what was listed. Sometimes after receiving additional information from the user, they adjust their offers or services. We cannot control that once you are working directly with the insurance company.

The Zebra is the nation's leading insurance comparison site, helping millions find car and home insurance through our marketplace. It isn't a solution for every shopper, but, despite some limitations that we're always looking to improve upon, it is most definitely a legitimate website and service.

If you have any additional comments or concerns, please feel free to contact us at social@thezebra.com .

- Daniel

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 6, 2021

It's about time rates get lower

By David K., Syracuse, NY, Verified Reviewer

Great, easy, fast, low quote. I would recommend this site to anyone looking for insurance. I like getting a quote that I can actually use as a guideline for the cheapest quote.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fast

Easy

Cheap

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 5, 2021

Simple and easy

By Kevin B., Killeen, TX, Verified Reviewer

Quick, fast service and decent rates. Agents were very attentive and made sure that I got the lowest rate possible. First time with The Zebra and turned out to be a good experience.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 27, 2021

Agent left out important details from last policy

By Trendi W., Birmingham, AL, Verified Reviewer

I tried The Zebra for the 1st time thinking I could get cheaper auto insurance coverage, but still have the same coverage from my last policy. Donita was not thorough, nor did she explain what she was leaving off (i.e. roadside assistance, and now I see that my medical payments for $1000 were left off too). Anyway, I paid for their auto security plan (a The Zebra product, which was $25 monthly for 6 months or $100 paid in full). She was talking all over me as if I didn’t have a right to question what she left off without asking. I doubt if I will try them again because this was flat out shady business. You get what you pay for and Progressive isn’t much better, but I have to keep my car protected until I can find a better deal, and an agent who won’t disregard what I need, then push something else off on me. I hope that the little money Donita made is worth being deceptive.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Deception

Disregard for customer needs

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 15, 2021

Rep Breonna

By Carrie D., Cleveland, OH, Verified Reviewer

She was so pleasant to work with! Breonna quoted me a very low price with Progressive Insurance for 6 months and I was truly shocked. She got me discounts I was pleased with. I bought the policy right away! I am happy and will try to get others to know about The Zebra and Breonna.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Low quote

Pleasant insurance agent

Discounts

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Dec 14, 2020

So glad I heard about this!

By Rebecca T., Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

I heard about this via podcast Sword and Scale, and decided to go on it. Why not, as I was paying a lot for car insurance and I didn’t even know what I had.

I ended up saving $50 a month for a lower deductible and wayyyyyyyy better coverage.

To give you some numbers, I was paying $150 a month for a $1000 deductible and now I pay $100 a month for a $250 one.

And my coverage went from 25/50/25 to 50/100/50. All of my coverage numbers increased and my deductible decreased.

It is insane, I have spent the last 5 years paying so much!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Saved me money

They listened to my needs

I got every question answered

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 4, 2020

Auto insurance

By James B., Springfield, OH, Verified Reviewer

The agent that handled everything did everything wrong, didn't even give me the right insurance or anything else. And then what I called about it because it was all messed up, the other agent tells me they have to cancel this insurance, and then I have to pay everything all over again and wait for who knows how long to get a refund of my other insurance that they started. And I wouldn't even be getting all that money back. Crappy service. I am turning it into the BBB. Also, I wouldn't recommend anybody to go through you, not after the way I was treated. You've got really lousy agents.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 15, 2020

I had a wonderful advocate!

By Raymond W., Mesa, AZ, Verified Reviewer

Trey was very polite and extremely helpful, staying with me the whole process. I got an even better deal than I believed I would.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The advocate he was awesome

The work to find my insurance

The price I got for insurance

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 5, 2020

Great service

By Neysha C., Rome, NY, Verified Reviewer

Agent was very helpful and explained things, very nice! I would definitely recommend. You have several options when it comes to carriers. Agent finds you the best rate while still making sure you have the coverage you need.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Cheaper rate

Person centered

Good customer service

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 22, 2020

More than excellent

By Marisol M., California, Verified Reviewer

Excellent. She was helpful and very patient, that's why I came back to buy more insurance from her. She is a great worker but mostly a great person. Thanks Melissa.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The person

Patience

Helpful

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 22, 2020

Betty

By Lisa H., Holiday, FL, Verified Reviewer

It was so easy! And the agent who helped me was professional, friendly, and very knowledgeable. By the time my transaction was finalized I knew exactly what I was getting without any second-guessing about service and price. Not only did I have my insurance needs met, I also now have an awesome roadside assistance plan.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

One stop shopping with confidence

Great customer care

Pricing

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 1, 2020

Best customer service

By Michele B., Chippewa Lake, OH, Verified Reviewer

Agent was very helpful and in a timely manner found me an insurance company with the price that I was looking for. The best experience with auto insurance ever.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Price

Agent

Time

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 27, 2020

Great job

By Antrinette W., Birmingham, AL, Verified Reviewer

I called and got a very knowledgeable representative. She was very patient and answered all my questions. I am now insured and that takes a worry off my mind.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Knowledgeable agent

Patient

Great rates

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Sep 26, 2020

Couldn't have asked for better

By Sherry J., Bedford, VA, Verified Reviewer

Ian found me a better rate, he made my needs a priority. Excellent service, I have already recommended The Zebra to 2 of my friends!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Very fast

Convenient

Affordable quotes

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Sep 24, 2020

Very impressed with how quick The Zebra was able to get a quote from numerous insurance companies you have to pick from

By Paul and Mary D., Gallatin, TN, Verified Reviewer

Was first put in touch with Scarlet to help us with our insurance needs. Then was put in touch with Dominique since I was having trouble with my computer to sign forms. Both Scarlet and Dominique were so patient trying to help me through my trying times with computer issues. They deserve medals for their going the second mile with us. Appreciate them very much!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quick response

Very patient and helpful

Didn’t have to call a number of companies ourselves

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Sep 23, 2020

Awesome

By Ashley E., Hemet, CA, Verified Reviewer

Got us a great rate with a low down and very quick. Representative was very friendly as well. Will def recommend and use again if need be.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quick

Cheapest rate

Easy

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 1-27 of 290

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.