About The Zebra

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Published on: Mar 30, 2015

Founded by Joshua Dziabiak and Adam Lyons, The Zebra is an auto insurance comparison website that provides instant, real-time quotes from hundreds of car insurance companies in seconds, including USAA, GEICO, State Farm, AAA, Allstate, and many more.

And because the process can be completed anonymously, The Zebra claims to help you find the best deals without the spam. As such, the company dubs itself “the Kayak for auto insurance.”

Let’s be honest; if you’ve spent any time searching online for auto insurance comparison websites, you’re probably a bit jaded. After all, many of these types of companies simply capture your information and then sell it to independent agents, who will continuously contact you. But is TheZebra.com any different, and is it worth your time?

We’ll answer these important questions in a moment, but let’s first take a look at how The Zebra works.

How Does TheZebra.com Work?

After landing on The Zebra website, you can begin obtaining personalized auto insurance quotes by choosing the year, make, model, and trim (if known) of your vehicle.

Then, after calculating your results, the website will display all your insurance carrier options on the right-hand portion of the screen, as well as pricing information. On the left-hand side of the screen, you’ll be able to enter additional relevant information such as your birthdate, marital status, gender, age first licensed, whether or not you’re currently licensed and insured, citations/accidents, vehicles, other drivers in the household, and more. After you’ve entered this information, you can press the “Update” button to refresh your list of available insurance companies and the associated premiums.

A screenshot of thezebra.com An example of some of the many questions The Zebra will ask in order to provide you with a list of carriers and premiums. Once you’ve entered all your information, you’ll receive a list of available insurance companies and their policy premiums.

Based on the amount of information you’ve entered, The Zebra will display an “estimate accuracy” ranging between low and high that’s continuously updated throughout the process. Once you get about halfway through, TheZebra.com will ask if you want to save your progress by entering your email address.

Finally, once you’re finished entering all your information, you can click on the Confirm Now button next to the company you’re interested in applying with. Once you do this, a popup will appear that asks for your contact information in case your chosen option isn’t available for one reason or another.

You’ll also be prompted to contact a TheZebra.com licensed agent in order to confirm your quote, help uncover any additional savings, and—presumably—help you purchase a policy (we’ll talk more about this in a moment).

The Zebra Is Not an Insurance Company

First and foremost, similar to other insurance comparison websites such as Compare.com, Get My Insurance, and Best Quotes, The Zebra is not an insurance company. Instead, they help match you with insurance carriers who can provide you with the best coverage and rates based on your specific needs.

The Zebra’s Estimates Are Not Guaranteed

Also, as we’ve mentioned in many of our other insurance comparison website reviews, the rates displayed on The Zebra’s website are wholly dependent on the information you provide. In other words, if you neglected to list an accident or citation, a young driver in the household, or any other “big ticket” items, it can drastically alter your premium.

On top of this, many auto insurance carriers have moved to multi-variant rating (also known as predictive modeling) systems over the past few years, which means that seemingly inconsequential factors, such as quote vs. effective dates, can impact your premium. This also goes for credit rating (also known as insurance score), which is something that The Zebra doesn’t factor into their automated quoting system.

When It Comes to Insurance, Price Isn’t King

Keep in mind that although it’s tempting to always pick the lowest-priced auto insurance option, the few dollars you save each month might come back to bite you in the event of a claim. This is because some carriers will provide added policy benefits (such as replacement cost coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist, and much more) that could translate into thousands of dollars once a claim occurs.

For more details, we might recommend reading through Consumer Affairs’ Auto Insurance Buyer’s Guide.

The Zebra.com Difference

Unlike the other sites mentioned above though, The Zebra doesn’t appear to be a lead generation company that sells your information to independent agents. Instead, it appears that once you’ve chosen a specific company, you’ll have to contact The Zebra directly and speak with a licensed insurance agent, who will then presumably sell you the chosen policy.

In other words, it appears that The Zebra essentially acts as its own lead generation website, after which, one of their agents will help you find an auto policy that meets your needs. However, once you’ve purchased a policy, it’s unclear whether The Zebra will continue to act as your agent (e.g. for billing questions, policy changes, etc.), or if this will be handled by the insurance company directly.

Are The Zebra Customers Pleased with the Service?

Although The Zebra has been in business since 2013, there weren’t any online customer reviews available at the time of our research. The company has been featured in a variety of popular publications, including Inc., Forbes, Wall Street Journal, TIME, and more, where their ease of use and the ability to compare most of the top carriers were the top-cited compliments.

From a company perspective, The Zebra based out of Austin, TX and holds an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, with no closed complaints (as of 3/26/15).

The Zebra Pricing

The Zebra is completely free to use.

Once you’ve completed your quote, you can contact a licensed agent by calling 855-255-4364.

Should You Use The Zebra to Purchase Auto Insurance?

When it comes down to it, The Zebra appears to outshine other auto insurance comparison websites by providing you with real-time estimates, as well as the ability to purchase a policy directly through them once complete. On top of this, since The Zebra provides a completely in-house experience, you won’t have to worry about having your information sold to third-parties, and the resulting spam and unwanted sales calls.

However, keep in mind that your quote is only as accurate as the information you input, so before putting too much stock in your online quote, make sure you contact The Zebra to verify that your rates are accurate.

See Also: How to Lower Your Car Insurance Cost and Still Have Enough Coverage

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 35 The Zebra Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 11 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 2 1 star:  19
Bottom Line: 37% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 35
Sort reviews by:

  • Efficient, patient, and nice

    • Florida,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Nothing specific, but I did receive good service and am happy with what I got. Don't remember exactly how it went, but it wasn't complicated at all and everything went out smoothly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Awesome service

    • Houston, TX,
    • Sep 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I worked with Stephan, I believe, to complete my online quote. My overall experience was pleasant. He was very courteous, efficient, and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend The Zebra to anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Everything went well, told me about my policy and everything I have to upload, some pictures of the car and I'll be done

    • Ohio,
    • Sep 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with Zebra.com was good. They answered all my questions, let me know that if I had any questions I can call the insurance company that I chose. I can add on stuff later if I want, it sends me my documents by email. I was satisfied.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great deals

    • Logan, UT,
    • Sep 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Great deals and service, when everyone was charging me hundreds of dollars more per month and now I am safe and insured. I would recommend anyone to try them to compare rates. This has been one of the better experiences with insurance I have had.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Very thorough!

    • Louisville, KY,
    • Sep 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I contacted The Zebra for auto insurance price comparisons and they took their time and found me the best deal! My agent was so helpful and thorough in his quest to find me the best deal! I couldn’t be happier!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Difficult for myself, I'm used to a one on one

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Aug 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's hard in the world, the world has changed, knows if you're actually communicating with a hacker or a legitimate business. Old school is so much more simpler and as far as I'm concerned way more honest. Now, as far as this insurance policy codes, it's overpriced for me because I have an extremely clean record, no tickets, now nothing. At 62, don't go out and party, don't drive crazy, but I still pay $92 a month. It is what it is, at least for this month.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great service

    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Aug 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Brian was great. He went through all of my options and was very detailed in his explanations! I had to call him back a few times and he was extremely patient! I that know I got a great price and the right coverage and I’m grateful for The Zebra for their services. I will continue to use them in the future for any insurance needs and recommend them to all of my friends and family!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 30, 2019

      Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

      Theresa - Thanks much for the kind words and we're so pleased that you were able to get the right coverage at the right price that works for you. That's what we do! We'll be sure to pass the praise along to Brian as well to know that his help was appreciated. We look forward to helping you or anyone you send our way in the future. Thanks again! - Dan


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    WORST EVERY

    • Greenville, NC,
    • Aug 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site just directs you to other insurance companies and you have to enter the information each time. A waste of keyboard strokes. You can get the same result by visiting each site yourself and leave out the "middle" man...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 27, 2019

      Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

      Hello Danita - We endeavor to connect customers with insurance providers as best we can for the price and coverage that works for you. Depending on the company you selected when comparing quotes, the previously provided information may not be transferable and may require you to re-enter it (this is not the case for most providers that partner with The Zebra). We agree, this is not an ideal user experience and we apologize for that. We’re working to make sure that this is as seamless as possible in the future. - Dan


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not worth your time

    • Venice, FL,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    All they do is call an insurance company number and then hang up. I can look up any insurance company number. How does this help? Just marketing marketing marketing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 20, 2019

      Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

      Hello. We’re sorry for your experience with The Zebra. After going through the comparison process on our website, and if you leave your number for a call back, we attempt to connect you with one of our trusted providers. If you’d like to speak directly with one of our agents we’ll be happy to help find you a policy of your liking. Call us at 1.888.255.4364

      - Daniel W.


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Zebra is a scam

    • Arizona,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Went to website to see if I was getting a competitive price on my auto for my current cars and drivers. The Zebra asked personal info on drivers, including some contact info. Completed info requested but never was asked about coverage needed or possible discounts, which you might qualify for. Results came back with only minimal coverage for comprehensive and collusion which were obviously too low for any driver who wants to be sure they had what is needed for the average driver. Yes, the price was lower but it was like comparing apples and oranges. Website is definitely a data mining operation. Next day started receiving spam texts for fast cash loans.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 20, 2019

      Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

      When comparing car insurance we ask that customers provide as much detail as possible for us to return the most accurate rate. Our comparison process allows for customers to include coverage needed and check for discounts. We truly value your feedback and will pass along your feedback so future customers have the most ideal experience possible.

      As for the unwanted contact: Privacy matters to us, and we never sell personal information to spammers. Spam or unwanted calls may be coming from other similar companies you’ve provided information to recently.

      - Daniel W.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    The cheapest for me

    • Paducah, KY,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Zebra just searches the insurance companies' quotes. I already found the cheapest on my own but I wanted to check and see if I was missing out on a cheaper price. The cheapest for me is Root! Zebra had Root as my number one quote so this means they are doing what they are supposed to do. Thanks Zebra for confirmation. Now let’s see if they call me about insurance like all the other companies do after you look up quotes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 20, 2019

      Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

      We’re glad to hear you’re getting a great rate from one of our trusted partners! The Zebra is different from our competitors in that your privacy matters to us, and we pledge that we will never sell your personal information to spammers.

      - Daniel W.


Showing 1-11 of 35

Write a Review for The Zebra!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review