About The Zebra

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Published on: Mar 30, 2015

Founded by Joshua Dziabiak and Adam Lyons, The Zebra is an auto insurance comparison website that provides instant, real-time quotes from hundreds of car insurance companies in seconds, including USAA, GEICO, State Farm, AAA, Allstate, and many more.

And because the process can be completed anonymously, The Zebra claims to help you find the best deals without the spam. As such, the company dubs itself “the Kayak for auto insurance.”

Let’s be honest; if you’ve spent any time searching online for auto insurance comparison websites, you’re probably a bit jaded. After all, many of these types of companies simply capture your information and then sell it to independent agents, who will continuously contact you. But is TheZebra.com any different, and is it worth your time?

We’ll answer these important questions in a moment, but let’s first take a look at how The Zebra works.

How Does TheZebra.com Work?

After landing on The Zebra website, you can begin obtaining personalized auto insurance quotes by choosing the year, make, model, and trim (if known) of your vehicle.

Then, after calculating your results, the website will display all your insurance carrier options on the right-hand portion of the screen, as well as pricing information. On the left-hand side of the screen, you’ll be able to enter additional relevant information such as your birthdate, marital status, gender, age first licensed, whether or not you’re currently licensed and insured, citations/accidents, vehicles, other drivers in the household, and more. After you’ve entered this information, you can press the “Update” button to refresh your list of available insurance companies and the associated premiums.

A screenshot of thezebra.com An example of some of the many questions The Zebra will ask in order to provide you with a list of carriers and premiums. Once you’ve entered all your information, you’ll receive a list of available insurance companies and their policy premiums.

Based on the amount of information you’ve entered, The Zebra will display an “estimate accuracy” ranging between low and high that’s continuously updated throughout the process. Once you get about halfway through, TheZebra.com will ask if you want to save your progress by entering your email address.

Finally, once you’re finished entering all your information, you can click on the Confirm Now button next to the company you’re interested in applying with. Once you do this, a popup will appear that asks for your contact information in case your chosen option isn’t available for one reason or another.

You’ll also be prompted to contact a TheZebra.com licensed agent in order to confirm your quote, help uncover any additional savings, and—presumably—help you purchase a policy (we’ll talk more about this in a moment).

The Zebra Is Not an Insurance Company

First and foremost, similar to other insurance comparison websites such as Compare.com, Get My Insurance, and Best Quotes, The Zebra is not an insurance company. Instead, they help match you with insurance carriers who can provide you with the best coverage and rates based on your specific needs.

The Zebra’s Estimates Are Not Guaranteed

Also, as we’ve mentioned in many of our other insurance comparison website reviews, the rates displayed on The Zebra’s website are wholly dependent on the information you provide. In other words, if you neglected to list an accident or citation, a young driver in the household, or any other “big ticket” items, it can drastically alter your premium.

On top of this, many auto insurance carriers have moved to multi-variant rating (also known as predictive modeling) systems over the past few years, which means that seemingly inconsequential factors, such as quote vs. effective dates, can impact your premium. This also goes for credit rating (also known as insurance score), which is something that The Zebra doesn’t factor into their automated quoting system.

When It Comes to Insurance, Price Isn’t King

Keep in mind that although it’s tempting to always pick the lowest-priced auto insurance option, the few dollars you save each month might come back to bite you in the event of a claim. This is because some carriers will provide added policy benefits (such as replacement cost coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist, and much more) that could translate into thousands of dollars once a claim occurs.

For more details, we might recommend reading through Consumer Affairs’ Auto Insurance Buyer’s Guide.

The Zebra.com Difference

Unlike the other sites mentioned above though, The Zebra doesn’t appear to be a lead generation company that sells your information to independent agents. Instead, it appears that once you’ve chosen a specific company, you’ll have to contact The Zebra directly and speak with a licensed insurance agent, who will then presumably sell you the chosen policy.

In other words, it appears that The Zebra essentially acts as its own lead generation website, after which, one of their agents will help you find an auto policy that meets your needs. However, once you’ve purchased a policy, it’s unclear whether The Zebra will continue to act as your agent (e.g. for billing questions, policy changes, etc.), or if this will be handled by the insurance company directly.

Are The Zebra Customers Pleased with the Service?

Although The Zebra has been in business since 2013, there weren’t any online customer reviews available at the time of our research. The company has been featured in a variety of popular publications, including Inc., Forbes, Wall Street Journal, TIME, and more, where their ease of use and the ability to compare most of the top carriers were the top-cited compliments.

From a company perspective, The Zebra based out of Austin, TX and holds an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, with no closed complaints (as of 3/26/15).

The Zebra Pricing

The Zebra is completely free to use.

Once you’ve completed your quote, you can contact a licensed agent by calling 855-255-4364.

Should You Use The Zebra to Purchase Auto Insurance?

When it comes down to it, The Zebra appears to outshine other auto insurance comparison websites by providing you with real-time estimates, as well as the ability to purchase a policy directly through them once complete. On top of this, since The Zebra provides a completely in-house experience, you won’t have to worry about having your information sold to third-parties, and the resulting spam and unwanted sales calls.

However, keep in mind that your quote is only as accurate as the information you input, so before putting too much stock in your online quote, make sure you contact The Zebra to verify that your rates are accurate.

See Also: How to Lower Your Car Insurance Cost and Still Have Enough Coverage

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 27 The Zebra Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 27
Sort reviews by:

  • Not worth your time

    • Venice, FL,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    All they do is call an insurance company number and then hang up. I can look up any insurance company number. How does this help? Just marketing marketing marketing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Zebra is a scam

    • Arizona,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Went to website to see if I was getting a competitive price on my auto for my current cars and drivers. The Zebra asked personal info on drivers, including some contact info. Completed info requested but never was asked about coverage needed or possible discounts, which you might qualify for. Results came back with only minimal coverage for comprehensive and collusion which were obviously too low for any driver who wants to be sure they had what is needed for the average driver. Yes, the price was lower but it was like comparing apples and oranges. Website is definitely a data mining operation. Next day started receiving spam texts for fast cash loans.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • The cheapest for me

    • Paducah, KY,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Zebra just searches the insurance companies' quotes. I already found the cheapest on my own but I wanted to check and see if I was missing out on a cheaper price. The cheapest for me is Root! Zebra had Root as my number one quote so this means they are doing what they are supposed to do. Thanks Zebra for confirmation. Now let’s see if they call me about insurance like all the other companies do after you look up quotes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Didn't like my experience

    • Watertown, CT,
    • Jun 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After using The Zebra I began receiving non-stop robo, spam, and scam calls. I never had this issue until using The Zebra, they, in my opinion, sold my info. I wouldn't recommend this site to my worst enemy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    The Zebra is a SCAM

    • Staten Island, NY,
    • May 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After entering all of the required information (20 minutes), I was directed to the websites of three different insurance companies where I had to re-enter the same information (another 60 minutes) to get outrageous quotes from them. The Zebra wasted my time. I am super upset at them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 14, 2019

      Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

      Hi Joseph,

      Thank you for informing us of this issue. We would like to apologize for your negative experience. It is likely that you received ads which directed you to the individual insurance companies' websites. When clicking on ads rather than direct quotes, your information does not automatically transfer over to the insurance company’s website. We take these complaints very seriously and are currently working on improving our customer experience. -Grace


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Poor service

    • Kinsale, VA,
    • May 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Treated me very poorly. Rude and child-like. Didn't even get a quote. Waste of time. Would not listen to my questions, wanted personal information up front. When I called back to complain, they even denied being affiliated with The Zebra and hung up!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 14, 2019

      Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

      Hi Steve,

      Thank you for taking the time to inform us of the service you received. We are so sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with The Zebra. The behavior that you are describing is not at all in line with our brand values or how we believe a customer should be treated. We work with many agents who are not The Zebra employees and although we vet these agents for quality, we unfortunately do not have control over their actions. This is something that we will be looking into and hopefully preventing from reoccurring. -Grace


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time -The Zebra insurance comparison website

    • Fort Lauderdale, FL,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw the ad on television about The Zebra and how I would be able to comparison-shop very quickly and get a much lower car insurance rate. I would say it was relatively quick, however, they now have all of my information about me and my car.

    The results that came back were more than double what I currently pay with Geico. And other results that came back just push me off to other websites like Esurance and State Farm that then required me to add all the same information in their websites

    WASTE OF MY TIME. Don’t waste yours.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 14, 2019

      Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

      Hi M Boyette,

      Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that you are unhappy with your experience. The Zebra is a tool to compare car insurance rates and while many people are able to find reduced rates, it is not something we can guarantee. There are many factors which can affect the quotes that you are given, and the best way to save is to compare every 3-5 months. -Grace


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Grateful

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got quotes from The Zebra because I am clueless when it comes to insurance. Little did I know I had been paying twice the amount (literally) that I needed to. Through quotes from them, I was put in touch with Geico. I am now paying $250 a month as opposed to the $510 Progressive was trying to get from me. I have not gotten annoying calls, texts or emails. Just standard expected offer of service. I am so glad I visited the site!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 22, 2019

      Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

      Thank you so much for your kind words, Tara! We are very grateful you chose us for your insurance needs and that you were able to save so much. :)


  • 8 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Rip-off

    • Illinois,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up, received a quote from one of their top carriers, paid on time for three years, had one minor fender bender and was not only dropped within 24 hours of reporting a minor accident, they refunded my current month's payment. After 30 days of attempting to contact them and was bounced between 3 companies, the States Attorney issued me a no insurance ticket and I had to pay a hefty fine. Per my State's law I now have to carry SR22 insurance for 3 years. This was my first and only accident and ticket in 31 years. Total fraudulent insurance providers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 18, 2019

      Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

      Hi A Free. We apologize for your unfortunate experience. The Zebra is not an insurance carrier so you won't handle any claims with us. However, we are able to help you find a new policy that is better suited for you! Since your name isn't listed on this HighYa review, we can't contact support and ask them to look into your specific case. So please give us a call at 888-444-8949 as we would really appreciate helping you out. Thank you again for taking the time out to leave a review. -Nikita


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Combativeness from an agent

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Jan 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was on the phone to get a quote from the company and an agent was combative. That is the last thing you would expect on a call about getting a quote.

    The agent threw an assumption of a bad driving record in my face without me having even said anything. And multiple times, he pushed back on what I said about other insurance agencies going back on driving records three years, rather than five, and on The Zebra being the only one that went back five. And did so even after I said that I had talked with six or seven other insurance companies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 25, 2019

      Company Response from Insurance Zebra, INC

      Hi Rhett,

      The Zebra here. We do apologize about your experience when you called in for an auto insurance quote. This behavior that you describe in your complaint is certainly something we do not tolerate from our employees and your review is something we take very seriously. We strive to provide great customer service and to always maintain a high level of professionalism with everyone we talk to. We will be actively investigating this matter and do everything in our power to make sure this does not happen again. We will also ensure our representative is well aware this is not how we conduct business. Thank you for taking out the time to let us know.

      -Nikita


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Scam! Don't be a fool.

    • Florida,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased an insurance policy from The Zebra, over the phone. Provided the agent with my vehicle info (2012 Buick Regal GS) and VIN number. Once I was provided a quote, I provided the agent with my debit card information. Immediately after ending the call, I reviewed my email for the policy. I immediately noticed the vehicle as a 1980 something Oldsmobile (never owned one) and the policy was not full coverage as requested. I immediately called The Zebra and advised the whole policy was wrong and to cancel. I received cancelation paperwork via email, signed and immediately sent back. The only refund I have received is the $25 for roadside assistance. I am still owed an additional $118.00 that I have yet to be refunded. The Zebra keeps saying the insurance company will be refunding my money, but I have yet to receive it, and it's been a month now. I provided my credit card info to The Zebra so they should be the one issue my refund. Especially seeing the insurance company isn't budging. The Zebra practices as the middleman, well, they need to play their part by fixing this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 27

Write a Review for The Zebra!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review