About Theradome

If you’re one of the 80 million men and women in the U.S. who suffers from hair loss, Theradome is a new product that claims to help grow new hair, increase the size of your hair follicles, and to slow—or even stop—hair loss. In fact, the company claims that Theradome is the first and only FDA OTC cleared clinical strength laser hair therapy for home use, and that it’s 100% proven to work.

But is this really the case? Can Theradome really help regrow your thinning hair? Let’s comb through the facts and find out.

Understanding the Theradome

At its most basic, Theradome is a cool laser treatment intended to be worn on the head that the company claims has been developed over 5 years of research by biomedical engineers and doctors. The Theradome helmet weighs less than 16 oz. and is claimed to fit 98% of the population, but provides the same power, light level, and concentration as in-clinic lasers in the comfort of your own home.

Unlike much of the competition, when used for 20 minutes two times per week, Theradome is claimed to feature high-efficiency, specially developed lasers that increase blood flow to the scalp and reduce inflammation. Theradome’s proprietary lasers emit a very specific wavelength of light, remain cool when used, and are controlled through microprocessor algorithms. The company says their lasers contain more energy (joules) than any other laser light therapy and have a narrower beam for deeper penetration.

In addition, Theradome’s proprietary lasers emit a very specific wavelength of light (680nm) that has been shown to be ideal for clinical strength rejuvenation, remain cool when used, and are controlled through microprocessor algorithms.

Theradome claims that the helmet increases blood flow to the scalp and hair follicles, stimulates protein synthesis and cellular metabolism, and promotes thickness and density. With this in mind, the helmet is claimed to result in three primary benefits:

  1. Grows new hair.
  2. Doubles the follicle diameter of existing hair (reverses miniaturization).
  3. Slows (and even stops) hair loss.

If used as directed, Theradome claims to halt hair loss within 18-26 weeks, to regrow hair within 28-52 weeks, and to provide fuller, thicker hair after 100 weeks.

Theradome features soft rubber pegs and foam pads for comfort, as well as a built-in speaker, while the automated treatment counting system keeps track of the total number of treatments you’ve undergone.

Theradome is claimed to result in zero side effects, and that it can be used with most hair-loss medications, and 30 days after surgical hair loss treatment.

Theradome Pricing and Refund Policy

Theradome is currently priced at $895, which includes free shipping. With your order, you’ll receive one Theradome laser helmet, AC charger, foam pads, and a protection bag.

Theradome comes with a six-month money-back guarantee, which begins from the date the helmet is delivered. However, this guarantee only applies to U.S. customers, and all international orders are considered final. Details and requirements for processing returns can be found in the FAQs section of Theradome’s website.

Theradome hair loss helmets come with a one-year manufacturer’s warranty against defects in workmanship, although you can purchase an extended three-year warranty if you choose.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Theradome?

At the time of publishing, HighYa and Amazon were home to numerous Theradome reviews.

The product had 21 reviews on HighYa with an average rating of 1.8 stars and 24% of users would recommend it to a friend. The most common complaints we saw were that the helmet didn’t work.

On Amazon, there were 39 reviews that gave Theradome an average rating of 2.9 stars. Recent reviews of the product were mixed, with several people saying that the helmet worked and some saying it didn’t.

In general, we believe that whether or not Theradome works for you has a lot to do with your own specific hair health and how many of your follicles are dormant and how many are dead.

Our Bottom Line About Theradome?

What do the facts and evidence say? The jury is still out. Here’s why:

First, it’s important not to confuse “FDA cleared” with “FDA approved.” According to the FDA’s website, a cleared device simply means that “that the medical device is "substantially equivalent" to a device that is already legally marketed for the same use.” In other words, the device will be significantly similar to something else already on the market.

On the other hand, “approval” only occurs after the FDA has received proof “…of the device’s safety and effectiveness.” In layman’s terms, this means that Theradome has simply let the FDA know that their hair loss helmet is very similar to an existing device already for sale through another company—not that it has been evaluated to achieve a specific result.

With this in mind, ESRP (associated with the Better Business Bureau) released a statement in April 2014 that requests that the company “modify or discontinue certain advertising claims for Theradome,” as they don’t provide adequate proof for some of its main claims, in addition to “insufficient evidence to demonstrate that the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) had “approved” the product “to increase the diameter of hair up to 200%.”

On top of the vagueness between “cleared” and “approved,” another seemingly fuzzy term used on the Theradome website is “dormant,” as the company claims that their hair loss helmet can reinvigorate dormant follicles.

The important distinction here is that dormant follicles are ones that have begun producing increasingly thin hair, while dead follicles are no longer capable of growing hair at all.

In other words, similar to products like Rogaine and Scalp Med, Theradome can only regrow hair from live follicles, which means that if you’re already experiencing advanced hair loss, you may achieve thicker hair from your live follicles and slowed or stopped hair loss, without total restoration.

Finally, based on customer reviews we read, the overall sentiment so far seems to be that the product doesn’t work, or at the very least, that the results aren’t in line with its high cost.

» See Also: How to Choose a Hair Loss Product, Even if You Don’t Know What to Do

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

22 Consumer Reviews for Theradome

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 27% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 22
Sort reviews by:

  • Excellent. Reliable. So comfortable!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's so easy. Just a few minutes a week and my hair is stronger and shinier than it's been in years.

    How great it is to be untethered as I wear my hair device around the house.

    Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Does not work for hair, or work properly

    • Aug 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I agree 100% with all the other reviews when they say it does not work. First, it's expensive, and two, it does not work properly. It has lights that don't work on the right side; they flick on and off. It's also not effective at all for hair loss. I would not recommend this Theradome laser cap at all, unless you want to throw money down the loo.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 1, 2019

      Theradome Customer C., Customer Service

      Hi Gary

      We are sorry that you didn't have a positive experience with your Theradome. We have both a 12-month warranty and a 6-month guarantee. Were you able to take advantage of these?

      Our medical grade lasers are not made to flick on and off and it sounds like you are experiencing an error. We would like to get you back on track and growing new hair.

      We would be happy to discuss with you on +1 855 549 6757 or by email support at support@theradome.com. We look forward to assisting you.

      Theradome Customer Care

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It improved my hair greatly

    I loved this product, so easy to use. Pop it on for twenty minutes while watching your favorite TV show every second day. My thinning hair grew back thicker and longer. Very happy, two of my friends bought it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 1, 2019

      Theradome Customer C., Customer Service

      Thanks Veronica, we are glad you are enjoying your Theradome! Please let us know if there's anything we can do to help you reach your hair growth goals.

      Theradome Customer Care

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Theradome

    • Connecticut,
    • May 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is an expensive product, and the first one I ordered did not work properly. I made multiple calls to customer service. Customer service was slow, and I was finally sent a new charger for the product, but the product still did not work. I would not recommend this product to anyone. There are other hair laser products on the market for a lot less money that may or may not be worth trying.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 2, 2018

      Gary B.

      I agree, after using it for a month I realized that it did not work properly. It's $1300, very expensive and not effective at all for hair loss. Money down the drain. I would not recommend it at all. Do not be fooled by them.

    • Jan 20, 2019

      Theradome Customer C., Customer Service

      Hi Kay, we are sorry that you didn't have a positive experience with your Theradome. We have both a 12-month warranty and a 6-month guarantee. Were you able to take advantage of these? We would be happy to discuss with you on +1 855 549 6757 or by email support at support@theradome.com. We look forward to assisting you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware: Theradome does not work

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • May 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Buyer beware: I purchased the Theradome on 04/19/2016. At the time I was not aware that the Theradome product worked better for women than men and had not shown results with hair growth in the front of the head. I tried to return the product within several weeks and was told there is a 7-day return policy. Not sure what you can determine in 7 days but the representative encouraged me to try Theradome for at least a year and then call back.

    I have done this, and no changes whatsoever have occurred in my hairline. Now the product does not even accept a charge anymore and when I called to complain I was told the one year warranty had expired and I would have to pay for a new charging cord. I don't typically go online to voice my complaints, but this entire experience has been frustrating.

    If Theradome had allowed me to return their product when I originally called, even if it meant restocking charges, I would not be writing this review. The Theradome customer support personnel sounds like broken recorders giving you the same company lines as to why the product does not work (haven't used it long enough, potential medical issue, not using at least twice a week, etc.). Buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 20, 2019

      Theradome Customer C., Customer Service

      Hello, we have unfortunately just discovered your HighYa review. Is your Theradome working for you now?

      Theradome Customer Service

    • Jan 22, 2019

      Felix Lopez

      I believe my original comments explain the situation clearly. I have continued to use the Theradome and seen no results. I originally requested a refund but was given the runaround. What's interesting is I tried to put this review on Theradome's website but it kept getting removed; I assume by Theradome.

    • Jan 26, 2019

      Theradome Customer C., Customer Service

      Hi Felix,

      Thanks very much for your feedback. Did you purchase a new cord as you've continued using Theradome? Please tell us what treatment number you are up to. Also Felix, did you take before and after pictures? We would be happy to discuss this with you if you would like to contact us at support@theradome.com

      We originally had a 7-day refund window which was consistent with our partners in clinics selling the Theradome PRO LH80.

      The policy has changed as of 12/14/18 with purchases made from Theradome.com and/or via 1-855-549-6757 covered by a 6-month money back guarantee. In order to qualify for this money back guarantee, we simply request that you use the Theradome as instructed in the user manual: 20-minute sessions, twice a week for 180 days, to the best of your ability.

      We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your Theradome purchase and hair growth goals with you.

      Kind regards

      Theradome Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Theradome worked for me

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jul 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using it for about 16 weeks now and I do see some result. As a woman it is very devastating to see my hair fall out, this was really my last hope. I started using it and was skeptical especially because of the reviews on here but I decided to take a chance. I'm to the point now where my hairdresser is commenting on my hair. I'm happy with how my results are turning out, I don't have long luscious hair (yet), but my patches are greatly diminishing and I'm happy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 21 people found this review helpful

    The Theradome helmet does not work, don't buy it.

    • Troy, MI,
    • Apr 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    In my 192 treatment session (75 treatment week), I do not see any improvement at all on my hair. In fact, I am seeing it getting worse and worse. I have photos of my evolution that support this fact. I have the feeling that the follicles are getting damage.

    Before using the helmet, I used spectral DNC from DS Laboratories for over 4 years. And this treatment really gave me good results which by the way, were gone away after the helmet.

    I contacted Theradome and Bosley but they refused to answer my email and still I haven't received any response from them.

    I will definitely will stop this very destructive technique and will begin to tell my story in the forums in order to prevent hair damage on other people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 1, 2019

      Theradome Customer C., Customer Service

      Hi Miguel

      We're sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience with your Theradome. We would be very interested in seeing your before and after photos. Bosley and Theradome both have telephone and email support as well as Theradome's chat support. Please confirm that you received support since leaving this feedback.

      We would be happy to discuss with you on +1 855 549 6757 or by email support at support@theradome.com. We look forward to assisting you.

      Theradome Customer Care

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Major waste of money!

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Feb 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did not experience hair growth, but I did notice the rate of hair loss was slowed. Additionally, the hair had more body, HOWEVER, the company SUCKS and is disreputable! At the time I purchased my Theradome, no warranty was provided. When I called about this, I was told I would not have any problems, which was not case. Several times during the year, after I first received my Theradome, I had to call them and their customer service was able to help. Then, about 13 months after I received the device, it stopped working. After many calls, the company mailed me a new battery charger. Still, my device did not work. Only then was I advised that a new warranty program had recently been established for purchasers like me, who had received no warranty. This new program required me to send Theradome a check for $100 or $150 (I can't recall the exact amount), and they would repair my unit!

    I have never received such shoddy, unprofessional treatment! At about the time my Theradome died, my front-load 13 year-old Whirlpool washer died, and though my extended warranty had expired one month prior, Whirlpool sent a tech to my home, who fixed the machine and did not charge me for the repair call, only the needed replacement part.

    If you are interested in laser hair therapy, go to howtoLou.com for directions on making your own device, for less than $100. Or check out other online retailers for devices similar to Theradome, for less than $200. From what I can tell, the major difference seems to be Theradome uses a hard-hat type helmet, while the others use a less-bulky type of head gear.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 1, 2019

      Theradome Customer C., Customer Service

      Hi Maria

      We're sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience with your Theradome. Theradome has always had a 12-month manufacturers warranty and we also offer an extended warranty that also covers accidental damage.

      Theradome PRO LH80 contains 80 medical grade lasers are the only device available that delivers laser scalp penetration at 680-nanometer wavelengths. It's not possible to buy a product for $1-200 that comes close to the laser strength of the Theradome.

      We would be happy to discuss with you on +1 855 549 6757 or by email support at support@theradome.com. We look forward to assisting you.

      Theradome Customer Care

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Absolute Trash

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Sep 1, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm a male in my mid twenties. This review is based on my own experience.

    A year after getting hair transplant for the upper/front part of my head, I decided to give the Theradome a try to fill in the gaps. My hair surgeon recommended it, and she was in fact featured in the original advertisement.

    I used the Theradome for over a year, twice a week, and did not see any improvement. During this time, I did not use any form of Minoxidil. I did, however, continue using 1.25mg of Finasteride, everyday, and have been for several years.

    I cataloged/photographed my hair during the time I used this product, using the exact same harsh indoor lighting, no outdoor/external light, and with a fixed tripod. I did not see a single new hair (in the form of peach fuzz, the initial stage for all new hair).

    You may ask why I didn't 'double up' on my hair growth chance by also using Minoxidil during this time. I was convinced into thinking the helmet would work just fine on it's own and wanted to test/believe in it's supposed effectiveness.

    It would be interesting if someone with the tools and know-how could independently verify the authenticity of the Theradome. Does it really use 678nm laser light at 443 joules? Does it actually promote hair growth with a control group using no other form of medication?

    Tamim, and the people working with him, are frauds. If this helmet is so effective, why won't he agree to publish/release his clinical reviews/papers? Very surprising for someone who was a former NASA scientist.

    Several weeks ago I filled out a questionnaire administered by Theradome and told them of my dissatisfaction and zero growth. I was contacted on the phone asking for more details. I explained my situation and was told they'd get back to me. I have yet to hear from them.

    I sent a request for a refund, and am currently waiting to hear back from support.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 1, 2019

      Theradome Customer C., Customer Service

      Hi Howard,

      We're sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience with your Theradome. We would be very interested in seeing your before and after photos. Please confirm that you received support since leaving this feedback.

      We would be happy to discuss with you on +1 855 549 6757 or by email support at support@theradome.com. We look forward to assisting you.

      Theradome Customer Care

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Expected to pay $20,000, left paying $700

    • Portland,
    • Aug 9, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you're prone to male pattern baldness you're going to go bald no matter what. In my case I took testosterone and started losing hair so needed something to kick start my hair and restore what I have. I've been using it for two months now and would say yes I think it's having an effect. I bought it at Bosley because I was going to do hair restoration for the hair that fell out due to testosterone use and my impatience. I did research on hair restoration and went into Bosley expecting to spend up to 20 grand. I didn't even know about the Theradome. The rep Casey in Austin Texas looked me over and said " if I were you I'd just use the laser treatment". I said "what are you talking about?" And he explained it to me. There's a comb version or helmet. Again I don't have male pattern baldness in my family. So I'm not naturally prone to going bald. Casey said if he were me he would use the Theradome. Also he said if I'm not happy with the results in one year I can bring it back for a full refund and use that towards hair restoration. So this is a guy who knows what he's talking about and could've easily sold me on a hair restoration surgery for thousands of dollars. I walked out with the Theradome and will continue to try it for a year. Using it every other day. You can use it twice a day every day. Your scalp needs time to heal. Just like lifting weights. So that's my experience. Take it for what it's worth.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Product is crap, support is crap.

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    This product does not charge. It lost all of its battery power and now it never charges no matter how long it's left plugged in.

    I also contacted their online live chat support and the rep was a complete flippant jerk.

    Someone is well off with this company and this product. Why is Bosley Clinic selling this crap?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 1, 2019

      Theradome Customer C., Customer Service

      Hi Justin

      We're sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience with your Theradome. Please confirm that you received support since leaving this feedback.

      We would be happy to discuss with you on +1 855 549 6757 or by email support at support@theradome.com or onsite with one of our chat agents. We look forward to assisting you.

      Theradome Customer Care

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 22

Write a Review for Theradome!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review