• 36 Customer Reviews
  • 25% Recommend This Service
2.2 out of 5
5 star: 25% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 5% 1 star: 63%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • A TIDAL wave of PROBLEMS

    • By Martin F.,
    • Florida,
    • Feb 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I subscribed to Tidal because it promised an easy way to get a big library of music into Serato for DJing. Seemed easy and cheap enough at the $9.99 per month rate. Once I subscribed, however, the nightmare began.

    Within 2 weeks they upcharged me to the $29.99 per month rate for their supposed hi quality stream without permission. Let me just clearly state that the quality is not as promised...Some recordings of older songs is just horrible. You can find better quality on YouTube.

    I emailed them and they responded back stating they canceled my subscription but would not refund the upcharge and that I would need to dispute it through my credit card company...so I did...I won that round and got the charges removed.

    That was in October/November of 2019. Now in January, I find another charge for the $29.99 monthly subscription. So again I am disputing the charge. Luckily I kept copies of the emails I printed to PDF.

    Customer Service is HORRIBLE...Recording quality of most older songs are not even CD quality. This service is a JOKE and it is best to be avoided at all costs. Do yourself a favor and don't even do the free trial and don't trust them with your credit card because they will bill it and try to fight it. AVOID AVOID AVOID!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Alphabetical order can’t be that hard

    • By Ben G.,
    • Hudson, OH,
    • Oct 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I get it for free with my phone plan, so that’s why I use it, but I would not pay for it. The sound quality is not noticeably better. Also, my biggest frustration is the fact that there is no way to alphabetize a playlist. Why on earth would I want to see songs in the order I downloaded them? This makes it way too difficult to play a specific song from my playlist. I believe Tidal blames someone else, but that company blames Tidal, so screw you Tidal, it’s your UI, just fix it. It’s ridiculously stupid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A solid streaming alternative for HiFi lovers

    • By Nick L.,
    • Fremont, CA,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Tidal is a solid alternative to Spotify if you really want a streaming service to explore lossless songs more accessibly than buying albums all the time then Tidal HiFi is worth it.

    Questions you should ask yourself before subscribing.

    1. What quality of speakers/headphones do I listen on?

    - If the answer is stock phone earphones, cheap computer speakers...Tidal HiFi will not make your music magically better.

    2. Can I consistently hear the difference between YouTube compression and full quality music files?

    - If you cannot distinguish that difference, you will NOT hear any difference between Spotify Premium Extreme quality and Tidal.

    3. Are you willing to try something new?

    - Are you invested into the playlists you have curated in your Spotify/iTunes account? Are you willing to remake them again? Do you listen to very niche artists? Going to Tidal is going to be a risk/reward investment. There's no guarantee you will find all your music there, but the ones that are their library are guaranteed to be full quality files.

    4. Do you have $10 extra to invest into Tidal HiFi?

    - Assuming you have good headphones/speakers and can hear the sound quality improvemtn, can you afford or be willing to pay a premium for the very small extra luxury?

    5. How often do you explore your music selection?

    - If you have only a few artists which you listen to religiously, you're better off absorbing the cost to buy the full quality digital or vinyl albums of those artists/tracks, HOWEVER, if you're one to explore music all the time, Tidal is absolutely worth it for the price you pay.

    Summary: Tidal is going to be ever so slightly more sparse in the music selection than Spotify's huge library...but remember, how many different artists do you actually listen to and care about and how popular are they? If they are relatively known, chances are you will find them here. Also quality > quantity, I love knowing that EVERY song that exists in Tidal is guaranteed to be full quality using the HiFi account and settings and I'm ok with missing a small handful of tracks here and there in return for a full library of CD quality music. The service is expensive and is likely not going to be worth it for 90% of consumers, but it was never intended to be for 90% consumers (that's what their $9.99 service is for) so accept it for what it's worth to you.

    I would say take the trial and accept that there may be a $20 charge (if the support is actually as bad as others say) and cancel after that if you really don't like it. Even at $20 it's worth trying if you think you'll hear the difference.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The best, if you have the equipment to appreciate it.

    • By Chris P.,
    • North Yorkshire, England,
    • Apr 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Please bear in mind this is a premium service offering lossless hi-fi quality so you may have to pay a little more than something like Spotify.

    This is no boast, Tidal delivers, in all areas.

    Highly recommended.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • If only...

    • By Ryan Z.,
    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Mar 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    While the music quality is slightly above what is available through other services, the library is missing many songs that I enjoy listening to. The iOS app and desktop app also leave a lot to be desired. Overall experience is subpar, especially considering the price is 2.5x more (it's $25.99 a month on iOS for HiFi now).

    You do need the right equipment to actually notice a difference in music quality. If you're using earbuds over Bluetooth with your iPhone, you aren't going to notice a difference. I am running a Peachtree 300 with LS50s in my office, and a Marantz/Focal system for my home theater.

    The price needs to come down to a max of $12.99 - $14.99, user interface improved, and the library expanded. Until that happens, this app is a no from me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dishonest! Avoid at all costs!

    • By Michael S.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Dishonest renewal policy and deceitful charging. No reason, sound quality is no better than Spotify and at least they are honest. NO help from customer service. Had to get my credit card company involved to reverse the charge. Bad people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money worst ever

    • By Diana L.,
    • California,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Can't say I made a purchase because the free trial wasn't worth having. Why would I spend money on something not worth having for free unless you have nothing better to do with your money. But even then, I put it in a trash can before I would pay for this app. I would never spend a dime on this so-called better than the rest. The free trial is the worst. It plays 25% of the time, the rest of the time it's stuck on stupid.

    And don't get me started on trying to get to the home screen from angled phone, you can't. You have to turn your phone back upright, which is stupid when you're trying to do this hands-free while in a moving car. Then finally when you do, it freezes up. Then you download music so it will play and it plays like you're playing it on slow-mo, and it constantly tells you "you're offline, get online."

    The most stupid music app ever. I had two free months, I canceled it after three weeks. Not even worth having it for the free trial.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Best sounding steaming service, period!

    • By David K.,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As I read through the negative comments, I can’t believe what I’m hearing. Those comments have to be the other streaming service trolls. Tidal is by far, the most rewarding audio experience one can get online. The "master" quality songs 192kHz/24-bit depth maximum are truly breathtaking. To put that into perspective, it would be CD quality times four. An average 3.5 minute "master" quality song would take 236.3 MB of data versus a 320kbs "MP3" quality song takes 13.1 MB of data. Look how much information is taken out of the average MP3 song. Critics say you can’t hear it anyway. I can hear it! The singer's voices, every breath, every cymbal, instrumentals, everything is there! I rarely, if ever, turn on the TV because the great sounding music is much more rewarding.

    A file size of 236.3MB "master" at 9,216kbps versus 13.1 MB "MP3" at 320 kbps is the difference in the amount of data used. A compressed MP3 song throws away 223.2MB of song dynamics or detail you supposedly can’t hear. If I’m paying for anything, I would prefer to have it NOT watered down.

    That brings me to cost. $19.99 a month for the BEST sounding streaming service available in the United States. The yearly cost is about the price of two concert tickets, but you have access to millions of artist 24/7/365.

    Maybe it’s just me, but when searching for information on Tidal Master quality, it always refers to some other streaming service's 320mbps quality. Is there a deliberate trashing of Jay-Z owned Tidal streaming service?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Money stolen by Tidal

    • By Gregory K.,
    • Oklahoma,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not use Tidal, they will steal as much money as possible from you and refuse any type of refund. They have an absolutely no refunds policy in the US. Their system will ignore cancelation requests and forward you to a survey that may not load, which is required to complete the request.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Absolute garbage

    • By Marrian H.,
    • West Sussex, England,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Awful company. If I could give zero stars, I would.

    I signed up for a six-month free trial and got charged after four months. Apparently I had upgraded, which cut my free trial in half. The customer service agent told me they could see I had downgraded a minute later. So I was charged, out of the blue, £9.99 for one minute's worth of their service. It wouldn't even have been a minute, I must have accidentally pressed something that upgraded my account and canceled within seconds.

    Their customer services is a joke, the agent just kept saying "as per our terms and conditions" as a reason not to refund me for their unfair practice. Luckily I had signed up for the trial with my PayPal account and spoke to PayPal who refunded me directly, and their customer services agents were helpful and friendly - something Tidal could learn from. I never even used the app.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Twice the price, not quite as good.

    • By Brian E.,
    • Sydney, New South Wales, Australia,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I downloaded and ran Tidal's HiFi quality service (AAC 320 kbps) against Spotify's extreme premium (OGG Vorbis 320kbps) service.

    Ran them, plus some genuine high quality, FLAC files through my phone - LG G6 (Asian market version with the 32bit DAC) and my Shure 535 IEMs.

    I played the same five songs as an "A vs. B vs. C" comparison, switching between all three on the fly.

    Conclusions:

    1. Spotify sounded closer (and better) than the Tidal service to the original high quality, FLAC files.

    2. Tidal has some weird streaming issues from time to time, large gaps between songs as it buffers.

    3. Neither is as good as the genuine, high-quality FLAC files played directly.

    4. Tidal Hi-Fi is TWICE the price of Spotify premium.

    Overall, I really can't recommend Tidal.

    It's more expensive, and somehow, slightly worse than the competition.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware of false prophets

    • By Michael W.,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Based on the initial advertisement, the service has several shortcomings. It lacks quality versions (remixes) of songs. It is not a valid music player because it feeds you artists instead of providing your specified choices. Also, the quality of the sound is not what they advertised. You can simply purchase a pair of Sennheiser earbuds, and have much better sound, than what this app offers. I am stuck with another month of this pathetic attempt at a player for another month, sadly, because I delayed canceling my subscription. Oh, and by the way, they were ripping me off for $25.99 per month. Please learn from my mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Absolutely appalling

    • By Elayna A.,
    • Harleysville, PA,
    • Aug 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have never signed up for this service at all, in any way in any format. I have an unauthorized charge on my account for $19.99, which I had to contend with on my birthday rendering my account inactive for 5-10 days until they send me a new card. I needed that money for something very important; there is a number associated with the charge that hangs up on you when called. I contacted them via email and no one will respond to fix the issue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Premium quality sound!

    • By Antonius L.,
    • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been waiting for years for this streaming service...

    It is absolutely worth it if you have a quality sound system, mine is high end (50K!), and I am amazed by the sound. It’s the BEST after vinyl LP’s and CD’s and much much better than the highest quality MP3s.

    I rediscover old music and discover new goodies all the time! About credit card charges, once I canceled because I was traveling abroad for more than 3 months, I never had monthly recurrent bills. Perhaps they updated their customer service to something better and respectable.

    Yes, it is much pricier than Spotify and others.

    So far, its been pretty good for my ears.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Poor UI

    • By Nathan G.,
    • Quebec, Canada,
    • Jun 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Copy of my moan to Tidal:

    ''Do you not realise that the current user experience / UI for Tidal desktop is woeful, that it will lead to the loss of the few loyal customers that you do still retain.

    This will mean no job/s for you. Do you care?

    Since updates to software 3-4 weeks back, I see a very marked degradation in the service from Tidal.

    In fact, 50% of time now I cannot get the Desktop to function (I want and pay for mqa) so have to use instead the web player. This is not at all satisfactory.

    And no, I am not going to delete/ re-install your Desktop each and every time that I use the service (as you suggest!).

    First we had unnecessary recaptcha everywhere. Then we had a window saying 'Close to go to the player' - and when you do so, you lose your log-in and need to re-start. Infuriating.

    Get someone with the required skills to write new code that actually works, please.''

    Tidal will do nothing, I know, but you were warned at least.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Watch out for a charge posted on a "free" trial

    • By Robert R.,
    • Baltimore, MD,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So you sign up for a "free" 30-day trial from Tidal but decide to cancel it within 30 days for whatever reason. Your account expressly shows that you will be changed only on date X (after the trial ends). So if you would think, perhaps naively, that if you should cancel the day prior to date X, you will not be changed, right? Wrong! Tidal would still charge you and refuse to refund the erroneous charge. And this is a recurrent problem as seen from multiple complaints. You have been forewarned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You don't need to be an audiophile to appreciate

    • By Bill W.,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Lossless streaming is phenomenal. And you don't need to be an audiophile - if you can hear the difference between a CD and the same song played on an MP3 on your stereo system or someone else's, you have the ability to distinguish what makes lossless streaming so much better.

    I have a mid-range home stereo with good speakers. When I play Tidal HiFi for my friends, and then the same song on Pandora or Spotify, all my friends, even the nonmusical ones, all say "oh my god, that sounds amazing." Our ears naturally hear richness, harmonics, etc., even if we are casual listeners. Spotify and Pandora need to offer a lossless streaming option.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awful experience

    Overall Experience:

    I don't normally write reviews, but Tidal is so bad I wanted to warn others.

    I signed up for a 30-day free trial. I canceled it before 30 days, an email confirming cancellation received from Tidal. Since then Tidal have taken £40 from my account over the past two months.

    Tidal customer service is arrogant and unhelpful. My bank is investigating, but I am going to cancel my card so they cannot charge me anymore.

    AVOID.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Was hacked yet they still couldn't refund my subscription

    Overall Experience:

    I got my account leaked in a Tidal breach. The hacker used my credit card to pay for a subscription, yet Tidal won't refund my money and just say I have to contact my bank for a chargeback.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cheats!

    • By Eldrid,
    • Middlesex, England,
    • Feb 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Please DO NOT subscribe to this service. They are CHEATS.

    I signed up for a 30-day free trial and was presented with two plans; a monthly £19.99 plan and a 6-month £16.99 plan where they would charge me for 6 months upfront. On the page where they asked for my credit card details, they say that they won't take the money until my free trial ends. When I look into my account, I see my account ends in 7 months i.e 30 days free trial plus 6 months subscription. However 3 days later, I got charged the entire £101.94 for 6 months.

    I contacted them within the free trial period for the refund, but they rudely refused, saying that it's stated in their terms that since I am on the value plan a refund can't be issued. I will be contacting my bank and reporting the transaction as unauthorized. Please save yourself the agony and go for other services. These idiots have poor customer service and are cheats!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible support

    • By Simon Picken,
    • United Kingdom,
    • Jan 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased my first title for download. After the first song had downloaded, it stated my download limit had been reached and refused to let me download other tracks or to try again.

    I raised a support request and received no response until a day or so later, and it was closed without explanation. I questioned this and was told me download limit had been reset, although this had no impact.

    As I was getting nowhere with Tidal support, and slowly at that, I purchased the music I wanted from one of the other lossless sites. I was able to easily and successfully download it from their competitor.

    I asked Tidal for a refund, sending screen captures to prove I had not been able to download the music from them and also proving I had purchased it elsewhere since.

    After days of persistence, Tidal's response was "we don't do refunds." Since then, they do not even respond to my emails or support requests.

    The experience I have had is one I would expect from a back-alley contraband dealer. I am utterly shocked and appalled.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible customer service.

    • By Deanna,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Dec 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Bad company! I downloaded Tidal basically as soon on as it hit. I have had an account for over a year now.

    One morning I awoke for a workout only to find my whole playlist, which took me about (I believe) two years to make, was completely gone! I never missed a payment, and Tidal took my payment this month and basically refused to restore my playlist and told me to send my info to disconnect my account!

    What about all the money I’ve already invested, one, and two, where is my refund for this month of December!?

    Highly disappointing and, on top of all of that, when you do have technical problems or an issue like this, you have to go back and forth, corresponding only thru email and there is no person to speak with. Even the emails seem to be generic, automated answers. Beyond unacceptable, especially considering how much the monthly payments are!

    I’m waiting to see if Tidal is going to make this right and correct this problem. I don’t want to lose my playlist and all the money I already put into this company. So far, feels like a total rip! I downloaded from the website also and later found out I was supposed to receive six (6) months free from my carrier, which was never mentioned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service is abhorrent

    • By Evan,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Tidal has been an all around terrible experience for me. I originally downloaded it for the trial and canceled it halfway through the month, even taking a departure survey to explain why I didn't like the service (runs slower and has less selection than Spotify).

    My card was charged the following month, so I got into contact with customer service. I only received extremely scripted emails blaming me for not receiving an email confirmation of my unsubscription when several landing pages already said this. They have NO PHONE SUPPORT. I went through about ten correspondences and it was the worst customer service I've ever experienced.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • So glad Tidal exists!

    • By Matt Stanton,
    • Charlottesville, VA,
    • Sep 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Howdy,

    First, I'd like to point out that I am very much not a fan of Jay Z, and on top of that I'm fairly sure I would not like him as a person, either, if I met him (though this is based on past actions and what little I have seen of him as potrayed in the media). Regardless, I've been using Tidal Hi-Fi for about half a year now, and I love it.

    I am not as OCD about getting a perfect live performance sound as probably most audiophiles are, but I do have a phone with a high quality DAC and headphone amp built in (the LG V10) and a couple pairs of very nice headphones (Sennheiser HD650 studio headphones and Noble Audio 3 universal in-ear monitors). With iTunes and Pandora I was getting decent sounding music for a good price, but after trying Tidal I was blown away by how amazing music from my phone could sound.

    Now, I couldn't recommend Tidal's Hi-Fi service to someone with a cheap fair of headphones, and I would be hesitant to even recommend it to someone using Bose (and certainly not Beats) headphones. I doubt you would be able to hear enough of a quality difference to justify spending $20/month. If you have a computer/phone/device that is capable of driving a good pair of headphones or a good set of speakers, though, then it's certainly worth the time it takes to try it out for a week. Just remember to cancel your membership before the free trail period is over if you don't want the service.

    It is also worth noting that Tidal offers a "normal" service using standard lossy compression (I think it's 320kbps AAC) for $9.99, now. I'm not sure how it stacks up against the other streaming services, though, because I have only been listening to Hi-Fi quality tracks since switching to Tidal. I do like the interface well enough, though it took some getting used to, and I don't make much use of Tidal's ability to suggest new music that I might like. It is possible other services would be a better value to you if they have a more intuitive interface or a better suggestion engine and those things are more important than sound quality.

    I hope this helps!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Tidal has charged my debit card without authorization!

    • By Jeff Sowers,
    • Longwood, Florida,
    • Feb 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My experience with Tidal HiFi so far is a bad one. I was attempting to pay my phone bill, but my credit card was declined, and after further investigation, I saw that Tidal HiFI had charged my debit card without my consent. I want my money refunded ASAP!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Tidal rocks

    • By Jeff Cimini,
    • New Jersey,
    • Jan 7, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    I am a 55 year old audiophile who misses vinyl. I have been dreaming of a service like Tidal for years. This is as close as you can get digitally. Thanks Tidal for bringing this to us old ears who appreciate great sounding music. I have been listening to albums I have not listened to in years. Thank You. I feel like a kid in a candy store.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Scam, fraud, rip off.

    • By Anonymous Reviewer,
    • Pittsburg, PA,
    • Dec 22, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Just like a bunch of other reviews before me, this service is used simply to steal money from our credit cards.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 36

Write a Review for TIDAL!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
TIDAL