About Toco Auto Warranty

If your car is no longer covered by a manufacturer’s warranty, Toco Auto Warranty claims to offer “simple and affordable” vehicle service contracts that can help protect you against huge, unexpected auto repair bills when your car breaks down. This includes coverage for your vehicle’s engine, transmission, drive axle, electrical and cooling systems, air conditioner, and more, which can be handled by any licensed repair facility of your choice.

On top of this, Toco’s auto warranty plans are claimed to include 24-hour roadside assistance, trip interruption coverage, rental car benefits, and more.

Compared to other companies, Toco claims to help you approach auto warranties as you would any other monthly expense, such as a utility bill, by maximizing coverage and keeping their plans simple and straightforward. In other words, Toco claims to “put the consumer first.”

When the rubber meets the road though, can Toco Auto Warranty give you a helping hand when your car breaks down, or is it a colossal waste of money? We’ll answer all your important questions in a moment, but let’s first take a look at the Toco Auto Warranty process and plans:

Obtaining a Toco Auto Warranty Quote

In order to obtain a Toco Auto Warranty quote, you’ll first need to enter your vehicle’s make and model on the website home page. Then, you’ll need to enter your vehicle’s year and mileage, as well as your personal information (first and last names, email, phone number, and state).

After you’ve entered everything, you’ll be contacted by a Toco Auto Warranty representative to help you find a plan that best fits your needs.

Toco Auto Warranty Plans

Speaking of which, Toco offers 3 different auto warranty plans:

Blue Plan

Covers vehicles that are no older than 20 years for up to 175K miles, including engine, transmission, drive axle, cooling system, fuel system, and more. For full plan details, be sure to read through the complete contract.

Yellow Plan

Covers vehicles that are no older than 10 years for up to 100K miles for everything found under the Blue Plan, in addition to electrical, technology (including “high tech” parts), brakes, suspension, and more. For full plan details, be sure to read through the complete contract.

Orange Plan

This is Toco Auto Warranty’s most comprehensive plan, and covers your vehicle on an all-risk basis. In other words, unless something is specifically excluded under your contract, it’s covered. For full plan details, be sure to read through the complete contract.

Now, let’s dig in to the nitty-gritty …

Toco Auto Warranty is Not Insurance

First and foremost, it’s important to note that Toco Auto Warranty does not provide insurance, such as coverage for bodily injury in the even of an accident, and so forth.

Instead, according to Toco’s FAQ page, they provide “a vehicle service contract … for repair or replacement for an operational or structural failure of a vehicle, which you can purchase either before or after your original manufacturer's warranty expires,” which exists as a “new service contract between you and the contract provider.”

What Do Toco Auto Warranties Cover?

As you probably noticed above, exactly what Toco covers depends primarily on the plan you’ve chosen.

However, a Toco Auto Warranty is intended to provide coverage only for major repairs, regardless of whether or not your vehicle is still operable, as a result of mechanical breakdown (not accidents, as noted above). As such, you shouldn’t expect your warranty to cover regular maintenance.

See Also: Do You Need an Extended Auto Warranty? 4 Questions to Ask

In addition, keep in mind that Toco Auto Warranties only cover factory installed components, and do not cover aftermarket parts such as “oversized tires, engine chips, or aftermarket exhaust systems.”

Is Toco Auto Warranty Coverage Available in All States?

Toco Auto Warranty does not provide plan coverage in AK, MO, and WA.

What is a Licensed/Preferred Repair Facility?

According to the Toco website, your warranty plan provides the ability to take your vehicle to any licensed repair facility of your choice. But what does this mean?

Other than claiming that an “Administrator can assist in locating a repair facility,” there isn’t any clarification as to what a licensed facility is defined as in the Toco contract, and whether this references someone simply licensed by the state, or a facility that is ASE certified.

Other Auto Warranty Companies

Finally, if you’re in the market for an auto warranty, keep in mind that there are dozens of companies competing for your business, including CarTection, Warranty Direct, and many more.

As such, be sure to do your research before choosing one company over another (HighYa is a great place to start!).

Customer Satisfaction with Toco Auto Warranty

There were several consumer review websites that featured feedback for Toco Auto Warranty, including PissedConsumer, where the company received an average rating of 1.4 stars based on 28 complaints. There, the most common complaint referenced denying claims.

To this end, there were also single reviews on RipoffReport, ComplaintsBoard, and ScamBook, all of which referenced the same problems with denied claims.

From a company perspective, Toco Warranty Corp is based out of Sherman Oaks, CA and held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 15 closed complaints (as of 6/29/15). Unfortunately, no complaint details were available at the time of our research.

While Toco may be the company that sells and services your extended coverage plan, your coverage is provided and administered by Warrantech Automotive, Inc. based out of Bedford, TX. Despite having more than 300 customer complaints on the BBB, Warrantech held an A rating. Again, most of these appeared to reference difficulty obtaining repairs and/or denied claims.

Toco Auto Warranty Pricing & Fees

A Toco Auto Warranty quote is completely free of charge, and the company claims there is no down payment to begin your coverage. Here is a sample payment plan.

Obviously, what you’ll pay for coverage will depend on several factors, including the year, make, model, and mileage for your vehicle.

Important note: According to the Toco website, “All plans require a mandatory Waiting Period before coverage takes effect, which starts from the contract purchase date and vehicle's odometer mileage at contract purchase date.”

Once your coverage is up and running, your contract can be cancelled at any time, less an administration fee. Per the Toco contract, this admin fee is not to exceed $25, although one RipoffReport complaint claimed the fee amounted to 3%.

Finally, covered services are subject to a $100 per-visit deductible, $50 of which will be waived if your vehicle is taken to a Preferred repair facility, which your Toco representative can help you locate.

Finally, your Toco coverage is transferable to the new owner of your vehicle, if requested within 30 days and subject to a $75 transfer fee.

To ask questions about Toco Auto Warranty coverage, you can contact customer service at 888-672-0290 (TOCO).

Can Toco Auto Warranty Provide You with Peace of Mind?

Chopping to the point: Overall, Toco Auto Warranty appears to provide a fresh perspective on extended service plans, including straightforward pricing and upfront contracts.

However, whether you’re talking about Toco or another auto extended warranty company, the number one complaint often revolves around failure to cover claims. As such, you’ll definitely want to read through the full agreement for the Toco Auto Warranty plan you’re thinking about purchasing, as well as to contact a representative before making a purchase.

After all, it’s your money, and you deserve to know exactly how far it will take you in the event of a claim.

What’s your experience with Toco Auto Warranty? Tell us about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

18 Consumer Reviews for Toco Auto Warranty

Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  14
Showing 1-11 of 18
Sort reviews by:

  • A total lie and scam company

    • Four Oaks, NC,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The timing chain went out on my 2004 4x4 Ford truck and according to the policy it is covered. The rep came out, said the truck was clean as he has ever seen and recommended a new motor. It was shut down by the company because the truck has dual exhaust and larger tires than from the factory. I was told I "didn't know how to follow the rules" and modified the truck. Because of the age of the truck I had to send pictures of the truck that showed the tires and dual exhaust already modified before the policy was approved. They never intended to approve any repairs. This company lied to me in the beginning to get my money and scammed me. Do not believe anything they say!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Coverage

    • South Carolina,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Toco gives you a list of stuff they say cover, and when you go to get your car fixed under warranty, then they will not cover anything. Toco, I believe they are a scam. Toco is not worth making a payment to. They charge you these high prices for nothing. I am in search of a warranty service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Bogus coverage

    • Henderson, NV,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    About a year after I started this insurance the AC compressor went out. They will not cover the compressor because it has seals in it and they don't cover seals they say! This is nothing more than a loophole that they create in order to not pay for any major repairs. This is a scam. Do not, I repeat, do not get this auto insurance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    I initially signed up for Toco because I wanted to protect my investment in my car. I looked the plans over and decided I would sign up. Then when I called, I got even better. I was told that I should have no worries, that if I didn’t use the service, I would get a full refund. So I signed, and for the first two months, everything was fine.

    Then, unfortunately, my AC compressor went in the third month. That’s when things went wrong. Not only did they tell me my car would have to leave my car at the mechanics until one of their inspectors could come out and look at it, they would not cover a rental until after the inspection. I told them that I traveled for my job and would need a rental today. I asked would they reimburse me the rental cost if the work need was covered. They said no.

    The next problem was that they don’t work on weekends. I’m off on the weekends. So now they are saying that not only are you not going to pay for a rental but now you want me to miss a day or two of work to wait for an inspector to come. That’s just crazy and unreasonable.

    So I called to cancel my subscription and GUESS what?! I was told I could get a refund. It was only for $30. Are you freaking kidding me? I've paid you guys $600, that’s $200 a month. And you are telling me I’m getting back $30 for a service I’ve never used. That’s crazy. I would never refer anyone to your company. Thanks for nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 8, 2018

      Lena L.

      I'm going through a similar issue right now, but I'm going wait this out and see if anything is going to be done. I've been with this company two different times, and I haven't had any issues until now. I'm without my car for four days and hope to hear something by Monday, waiting on an inspector.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    This is a scam, due not purchase!

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Mar 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not purchase this warranty, it is a legalized scam. I had an engine go out and they asked for receipts showing the upkeep of the oil changes, etc. I sent that in and was completely lied to by a guy named Dave in Claims. Even after submitting the sufficient forms, this warranty is a waste of money and is more of a benefit to Toco rather than the customer. Please don't waste your number. And do not check the BBB, there are false good reviews there. Toco will fight you tooth and nail not to pay the claim, and the contract states that they can deny a claim for any reason, so in all reality, you can show proof that you kept the car up and they can still deny you!

    DO NOT purchase this ever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Hidden

    On the rental, I was not told that the rental was based on the hours the mechanic takes to fix it. So it took six days for me to get my car back, and they paid one day for the rental and just $34.99, not anything else. I kept the car one day extra and paid over $200. That's what was left from what they did not pay the day before. And there was a part that was not on either list, Covered/Not covered, so they did not approve the work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Waxahachie, TX,
    • Mar 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Toco is a scam. My vehicle broke down, and I was told that I did not have my warranty, but four days past the grace period and my vehicle should not have broken down that soon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Disingenuous practices

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Feb 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Orange plan. I had to wait 60 days to use it but paid starting on day one of the contract. Heating coil went bad and I turned the vehicle in for repairs before 90 days and was refused coverage because the damage was caused because of a clog from fluids and they said I hadn't had the required services done. I provided them with the documents they requested to show that I had the required services performed and they still denied me for something else. After canceling the policy I was denied a refund because it was after 60 days.

    I remind you I had to wait 60 days to use my plan and was denied on my first try because of a part which depends on water to go through it and can only be fixed by the dealer. This is like being denied of getting your water pump fixed because a belt went bad. BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 62 people found this review helpful

    Just perpetrated one me. War!

    Toco Warranty company is a total scam! I was recently unjustly denied on a claim on my 2008 Honda Pilot. I am heading to war with a potential lawsuit against this company! I am an investor and owner of AJ Capital Partners based out of Scottsdale, Arizona. I am an aggressive Jew with a Spanish surname. I also have a JV Partnership and equity in a PR Media Firm here in Phoenix.

    I have harshly spoken several times with Robert Kota, VP of Claims for Toco. He is simply a paper pusher and crony to deny claims. He forced me to have my mechanic to completely open up my transmission at "my cost" and set me up for a failure on a proxy fraudulent and misleading inspection by a flunky mechanic/adjuster to support their quest to deny responsibility.

    I video recorded and probed this adjuster with pointed and interrogative lines of questioning during the entire inspection. He admitted that he is NOT specialized in transmissions. I also took pictures of his report. Bad move Toco! I have also recorded on my cell phone "recording app" all phone communications to support my pending lawsuit. Communications with Toco's so-called "world-class customer care people" and most importantly, every recorded call with Robert Kota are saved as evidence.

    I have a TON of grounds to support my claim against this SCAM company. I still seek a quick resolution with you Bob Kota. We can avoid unnecessary motions, litigation and more public relations "negative" exposure. It may also avoid a class action.

    Anyone that feels victimized by this company that is truly corrupt and is a subsidiary of AM Trust Financial Services call me for details. I will share my findings including all video and audio footage. Again, I phone video/audio taped the field adjuster pretending to be an authority in transmissions. He was a joke. I think I scared him because "Darrel" was afraid to give me his last name.

    Google AM Trust Financial and see what type of company we are dealing with people. FBI and Securities Fraud Investigations should bring red flags! I definitely should have googled Toco and their parent company AM Trust Financial from the beginning.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 27, 2017

      Tim

      What relevance does having a Spanish surname and being of Jewish descent have? I'm happy your the owner and investor of AJ Capital Partners, you sound really proud. I'm actually rooting for Toco after reading this review, you sound like a jerk.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 57 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Toco Warranty is no good

    In August 2017, I set up two warranties with Toco Warranty for a 2015 Ford F150 and a 2010 Ford Edge. Therefore, after the first payment on September 1st, I decided to cancel Toco Warranty on the 2010 Ford Edge. On or about September 5th, I call Toco Warranty and told the representative that I was canceling the warranty on the 2010 Ford Edge. The representative told me the warranty has been canceled and one debit will be made monthly for the warranty on the 2015 Ford F150. I never received anything about the cancellation.

    On September 26, 2017, I receive an email from Toco Warranty that two debits were going to be made on my checking account on October 1, 2017. I call Toco Warranty and told the representative that I canceled one of the warranties I had with Toco Warranty. The representative told me the representative who sold me the warranty will call me back in 10 minutes. I call back after an hour and told representative I wanted to cancel warranties with Toco Warranty. The representative told me a cancellation form will be sent via email, and I should fill them out and send them back. The representative told me since the warranties have been cancel in system, the account will not be debited on October 1st.

    It's September 27, 2017, I haven't received anything in an email from Toco Warranty even after calling four separate times inquiring about cancellation forms and that I didn't want funds debited out of my account on October 1st.

    I reviewed complaints on Toco Warranty via BBB and other complaint based website, and this is Toco Warranty's method of operations. Toco Warranty doesn't cancel accounts nor sends cancellation forms, but rather they debit funds off individual's accounts. Toco Warranty is a scam company, and those good reviews on Toco Warranty via the BBB are composed by Toco Warranty employees.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 81 out 82 people found this review helpful

    No good

    • Mississippi,
    • Jul 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is not a good company, I promise. I took my car to the shop, and if there is one drop of oil or any fluid under your car, they will turn you down. They send someone to whatever shop you take your car to and tell the mechanic the warranty is void. They won't even tow your car. When you call, they give you the runaround. I promise, this company is no good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a Review for Toco Auto Warranty!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review