About Toco Auto Warranty

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jun 30, 2015

If your car is no longer covered by a manufacturer’s warranty, Toco Auto Warranty claims to offer “simple and affordable” vehicle service contracts that can help protect you against huge, unexpected auto repair bills when your car breaks down. This includes coverage for your vehicle’s engine, transmission, drive axle, electrical and cooling systems, air conditioner, and more, which can be handled by any licensed repair facility of your choice.

On top of this, Toco’s auto warranty plans are claimed to include 24-hour roadside assistance, trip interruption coverage, rental car benefits, and more.

Compared to other companies, Toco claims to help you approach auto warranties as you would any other monthly expense, such as a utility bill, by maximizing coverage and keeping their plans simple and straightforward. In other words, Toco claims to “put the consumer first.”

When the rubber meets the road though, can Toco Auto Warranty give you a helping hand when your car breaks down, or is it a colossal waste of money? We’ll answer all your important questions in a moment, but let’s first take a look at the Toco Auto Warranty process and plans:

Obtaining a Toco Auto Warranty Quote

In order to obtain a Toco Auto Warranty quote, you’ll first need to enter your vehicle’s make and model on the website home page. Then, you’ll need to enter your vehicle’s year and mileage, as well as your personal information (first and last names, email, phone number, and state).

After you’ve entered everything, you’ll be contacted by a Toco Auto Warranty representative to help you find a plan that best fits your needs.

Toco Auto Warranty Plans

Speaking of which, Toco offers 3 different auto warranty plans:

Blue Plan

Covers vehicles that are no older than 20 years for up to 175K miles, including engine, transmission, drive axle, cooling system, fuel system, and more. For full plan details, be sure to read through the complete contract.

Yellow Plan

Covers vehicles that are no older than 10 years for up to 100K miles for everything found under the Blue Plan, in addition to electrical, technology (including “high tech” parts), brakes, suspension, and more. For full plan details, be sure to read through the complete contract.

Orange Plan

This is Toco Auto Warranty’s most comprehensive plan, and covers your vehicle on an all-risk basis. In other words, unless something is specifically excluded under your contract, it’s covered. For full plan details, be sure to read through the complete contract.

Now, let’s dig in to the nitty-gritty …

Toco Auto Warranty is Not Insurance

First and foremost, it’s important to note that Toco Auto Warranty does not provide insurance, such as coverage for bodily injury in the even of an accident, and so forth.

Instead, according to Toco’s FAQ page, they provide “a vehicle service contract … for repair or replacement for an operational or structural failure of a vehicle, which you can purchase either before or after your original manufacturer's warranty expires,” which exists as a “new service contract between you and the contract provider.”

What Do Toco Auto Warranties Cover?

As you probably noticed above, exactly what Toco covers depends primarily on the plan you’ve chosen.

However, a Toco Auto Warranty is intended to provide coverage only for major repairs, regardless of whether or not your vehicle is still operable, as a result of mechanical breakdown (not accidents, as noted above). As such, you shouldn’t expect your warranty to cover regular maintenance.

See Also: Do You Need an Extended Auto Warranty? 4 Questions to Ask

In addition, keep in mind that Toco Auto Warranties only cover factory installed components, and do not cover aftermarket parts such as “oversized tires, engine chips, or aftermarket exhaust systems.”

Is Toco Auto Warranty Coverage Available in All States?

Toco Auto Warranty does not provide plan coverage in AK, MO, and WA.

What is a Licensed/Preferred Repair Facility?

According to the Toco website, your warranty plan provides the ability to take your vehicle to any licensed repair facility of your choice. But what does this mean?

Other than claiming that an “Administrator can assist in locating a repair facility,” there isn’t any clarification as to what a licensed facility is defined as in the Toco contract, and whether this references someone simply licensed by the state, or a facility that is ASE certified.

Other Auto Warranty Companies

Finally, if you’re in the market for an auto warranty, keep in mind that there are dozens of companies competing for your business, including CarTection, Warranty Direct, and many more.

As such, be sure to do your research before choosing one company over another (HighYa is a great place to start!).

Customer Satisfaction with Toco Auto Warranty

There were several consumer review websites that featured feedback for Toco Auto Warranty, including PissedConsumer, where the company received an average rating of 1.4 stars based on 28 complaints. There, the most common complaint referenced denying claims.

To this end, there were also single reviews on RipoffReport, ComplaintsBoard, and ScamBook, all of which referenced the same problems with denied claims.

From a company perspective, Toco Warranty Corp is based out of Sherman Oaks, CA and held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 15 closed complaints (as of 6/29/15). Unfortunately, no complaint details were available at the time of our research.

While Toco may be the company that sells and services your extended coverage plan, your coverage is provided and administered by Warrantech Automotive, Inc. based out of Bedford, TX. Despite having more than 300 customer complaints on the BBB, Warrantech held an A rating. Again, most of these appeared to reference difficulty obtaining repairs and/or denied claims.

Toco Auto Warranty Pricing & Fees

A Toco Auto Warranty quote is completely free of charge, and the company claims there is no down payment to begin your coverage. Here is a sample payment plan.

Obviously, what you’ll pay for coverage will depend on several factors, including the year, make, model, and mileage for your vehicle.

Important note: According to the Toco website, “All plans require a mandatory Waiting Period before coverage takes effect, which starts from the contract purchase date and vehicle's odometer mileage at contract purchase date.”

Once your coverage is up and running, your contract can be cancelled at any time, less an administration fee. Per the Toco contract, this admin fee is not to exceed $25, although one RipoffReport complaint claimed the fee amounted to 3%.

Finally, covered services are subject to a $100 per-visit deductible, $50 of which will be waived if your vehicle is taken to a Preferred repair facility, which your Toco representative can help you locate.

Finally, your Toco coverage is transferable to the new owner of your vehicle, if requested within 30 days and subject to a $75 transfer fee.

To ask questions about Toco Auto Warranty coverage, you can contact customer service at 888-672-0290 (TOCO).

Can Toco Auto Warranty Provide You with Peace of Mind?

Chopping to the point: Overall, Toco Auto Warranty appears to provide a fresh perspective on extended service plans, including straightforward pricing and upfront contracts.

However, whether you’re talking about Toco or another auto extended warranty company, the number one complaint often revolves around failure to cover claims. As such, you’ll definitely want to read through the full agreement for the Toco Auto Warranty plan you’re thinking about purchasing, as well as to contact a representative before making a purchase.

After all, it’s your money, and you deserve to know exactly how far it will take you in the event of a claim.

What’s your experience with Toco Auto Warranty? Tell us about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 26 Toco Auto Warranty Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  17
Showing 1-11 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • Canceled warranty

    • North Carolina,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first purchased this warranty I was told I could cancel at any time, less the fee for cancellation, but I was told I couldn't get any of my money back after I called to cancel. I would say to anyone that wants an honest auto warranty to not purchase Toco. They will rip you off without justification, and will not refund your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 15, 2019

      Toco Warranty Corp

      Hi Debra, Toco sells plans with month-to-month financing. When you pay for a month, you get a month of coverage. When you stop paying, (cancel), then the coverage starts. Toco never charges for months in advance like others in the industry. Had you paid the whole contract, then Toco would pro-rate a refund, but you did not pay the entire contract price, rather had month-to-month payments. When you cancel (which you can do anytime), there is no refund because you are only paying for the contract during months that you have coverage. Simple and easy.

      Toco is honest, and not looking to rip-off anyone. Toco offers simple, easy payment plans and contracts. Let Toco know if there is anything that can be done for further clarification.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Asked about my warranty

    • Miami Gardens, FL,
    • Apr 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Mr. Aaron was very polite and he answered all my questions that I asked him. Mr. Aaron was helpful at directing me to the department that I needed to contact. Also, he provided me with information that I did not know about if I recommend a friend or family member and how to file a claim if I need too in the future. At the end of our conversation, I was very satisfied.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 15, 2019

      Toco Warranty Corp

      Thank you for reviewing Toco and the service of the agents who dedicate themselves to customer success. Your business, review, and your loyalty are all appreciated.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great coverage

    • Florida,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Enrollment was easy. Previous experience with Toco nothing but excellent! $100 deductible covers all major repairs. Affordable monthly rates keep you covered. Roadside assistance and rental coverage are a big plus. Customer service representative, Jay, was outstanding!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 11, 2019

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Thank you for taking the time to review Toco's services. Jay is great and always working hard to provide a best in class customer experience. It is people like Jay that help Toco to be a simple, affordable, and stress-free service and it is customers like you that keep us in business. Thank you again for your feedback!

    • Mar 15, 2019

      Troy S.

      My wife file a claim for our car on Monday 4/11/2019. The mechanic spoke with someone in claims, the claims department dropped the ball and didn’t file the claim until the next day, we were told 24-48 hours for an adjuster to come out and look at the car. Well, now it’s Friday and still no adjuster. The claims department said the claim didn’t actually process until Wednesday, 24 hours later, and they don’t have anything to do with it, they transferred us back to Toco. Toco said they don't know either. Starting to look really shady here?

    • Apr 3, 2019

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Troy, Toco wants to help out. Is there a best time/ number to reach out to you at?

    • Apr 3, 2019

      Toco Warranty Corp

      Thank you for sharing your experience! Toco strives to make every interaction a great one. Simple. Affordable. Stress-free.


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Rip off company

    • Tennessee,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rip off company. I signed up for an extended warranty on my personal pick up truck and was approved and made my monthly payments. Since I work for a corporation I put their name on the back of my truck, and my truck came with a ladder rack when I purchased it. When my vehicle broke down, the adjuster went out and took pictures of the breakdown and also took pictures of my ladder rack and the name on my truck, and then they turned around and said my vehicle was not covered because it was being used as a commercial vehicle. The vehicle is personally registered to me and I work for a corporation, just because I advertise their name on my vehicle does not mean it’s a commercial vehicle. This company is a rip off company and I would not recommend them to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 20, 2019

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Toco is committed to customer success. Toco relies on the customer's account of the facts at the time of enrollment (performed online or over the phone without a vehicle inspection). Toco asks every customer about vehicle usage in order to determine if the contract is a proper fit for the car. In this case, the investigation of this vehicle showed multiple signs of commercial usage in addition to those being described above.

      Toco is committed to setting customers up for success with an easy, affordable product.


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Outstanding

    • Lincolnton, NC,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a customer of Toco now for over two years. Used their services four times now and have zero complaints. Superior service every time. Can't say enough praises for these folks. They do a bang up job, and their customer service staff is always cheerful and goes the extra mile for you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 15, 2019

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      David, thank you so much for leaving a review and for your patronage. Toco strives to create this same experience for all customers and it is nice to hear that Toco's efforts are helping. Toco appreciates you. Toco hopes that your car never gives you problems, but if it does, Toco is here for you. Thanks again.


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    The excellent service

    • Bronx, NY,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a warranty on my vehicle from Toco and the manual states the items which are not covered. I took my vehicle to the dealer for repairs and unfortunately they were not under the warranty. Toco did not want to leave me stranded but instead gave me money to help to pay for the services which are not covered under the warranty. I am so grateful and happy because I don't know of any warranty company that cares about the needs of their customers. Other companies would say sorry, you are on your own and that's it. They are very lenient, empathetic, resourceful, respectful, and professional.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 15, 2019

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Hi Lorraine,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave Toco a positive review. Toco really strives to provide a positive customer experience. When things go wrong, it may not be Toco's fault, but it becomes Toco's problem. It is great to know that you were taken care of and that your experience was a positive one. Your business is appreciated as is the time that you took to review the services! Thank you.


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Actually, very happy with this company

    • Ohio,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My name's Matt. My 2014 Nissan Sentra's transmission gave out at 77,000 miles. Kept up with all oil changes and fancy stuff like that. Luckily, I had purchased Toco's yellow plan. They paid for a $3,500-$4,000 transmission replacement. I think I paid around $2,000 for the plan as a whole. So, I'm already up. Very happy camper.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 14, 2019

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Hi Matthew,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave Toco a review. With most things in life, it's more common to send feedback when things go wrong vs. when they go right, so Toco appreciates the time you took out of your day to leave positive feedback. It is unfortunate that you had an issue like this, transmissions are not small repairs! Hopefully (for all parties) you do not run into any more issues.

      Thanks again for taking the time to leave a positive review. It's great to hear that your experience was a good one!


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Two weeks, one inspector, and still no progress towards approval

    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Toco is the slowest company I have ever dealt with. Their customer service reps are unknowledgeable about their own policies, clearly hate their jobs, and become annoyed just by answering the phone.

    Too is fast and friendly to sign you up, but trying to make a claim is clearly a different department filled with despair.

    My truck has been in the shop for two weeks needing a timing chain replaced. One rep says no, the manager says yes, the inspector comes out, and now they're saying they're waiting for photos.

    This company is awful and a money black hole.

    Avoid losing your money to a company that refuses to deliver on their policies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 19, 2018

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Hi Chad, we want to look into your situation and help. Toco does not administer the claims process, rather we sell the contracts. However, we are more than happy to intervene and see if we can get your situation resolved. Please call and ask for a manager so we can help. Unfortunately, this platform does not share your contact information or we would reach out to you proactively.

    • Dec 21, 2018

      Wilfred B.

      So far in one year with TOCO warranty, I've literally dropped on one of my cars close to $3000 dollars in repairs, supposedly not covered. Be careful about choosing an extended warranty company. Keep in mind, I get 85 percent of repairs and maintenance done at the dealer.

    • Dec 21, 2018

      Chad D.

      Three weeks, multiple phone calls, hours spent on hold, and FINALLY, I was able to argue my case enough to get Toco to honor the coverage I am paying for. Three weeks to the day is what it took to get eight hours of labor and the parts to replace a timing chain. Customer service is sub-par, many of their reps are rude and clearly do not like their job, and overall the warranty does not give me peace of mind in the least.

      This wasn't a fine print issue. This was a waiting game. I took my truck in to have the work done before a complete failure of the timing chain would have resulted in a complete engine replacement. The pre-approval took two weeks and three days, I was denied twice, and even after the third appeal that FINALLY went to an actual claims specialist in Texas, they STILL required an on-site inspector to verify the problem. Then they required the teardown of the engine and photos from the mechanic before they would approve the repair. THREE weeks.

      Next time I'll be less proactive and wait until catastrophic failure before starting the process. In trying to save Toco money and my time, I lost money and time. Paul M. VP of customer success is likely a misleading title. I'm pretty sure your only reason to want to "reach out" to me is to save face from an honest review of a low-quality company that is only concerned about getting money from "customers" and not ensuring the customer actually gets what they're paying for.

      Buyer beware. Put the monthly premium in a savings account for repairs as Toco doesn't want to pay out on anything without a fight even when proven to be an accurate claim and due diligence on the customer's part.

    • Jan 3, 2019

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Chad, Toco does not administer the claims process. It is unfortunate that the claim took longer than expected, but Toco is dedicated to helping our customers and assisting however we are able to. It sounds like you had a pretty major repair done. I, myself, have had a full engine rebuild and I know that it can take a few weeks (whether using a VSC or not). It is frustrating being without a car for this type of time period, which is exactly why Toco offers to reach out; it is everyone's intention is to make the claims process as easy as possible. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to investigate the process and look for opportunities to improve. Toco is committed to our core values of "Honesty Respect, Service, and Conviction" and is committed to providing a practical approach to car repairs with low monthly payments.

    • Jan 3, 2019

      Chad D.

      That's a lot of fluffy nonsense that does absolutely nothing to rectify the poor quality of service or build any confidence in Toco. I, as a customer, don't care in the least how Toco's claims process works on the back end. You're bringing it up is little more than an excuse and attempt to pass the blame to an anonymous scapegoat.

      Please stop posting meaningless and hollow replies. If you have an actual response, i.e., a plan of action that can rectify the disappointing experience that is the Toco claims process, then, by all means, respond.

      At no time did ANY Toco representative reach out to me, offer any assistance in the claims process, or indicate any desire to provide the service I have paid for.

      In the end, my truck was repaired, but at a cost to me far greater than the deductible, and took almost four weeks, only eight hours of which were actual labor on the truck.

      Twice I was told no claim was even found. Once, they were unable to even find my contract.

      When the claim was finally processed, it was denied without any contact. It wasn't until I called in to check on the claim that I was informed the claim had been denied.

      After appealing the claim, I was able to get it approved, and even that was a very difficult process.

      I retained the replaced part should I ever need to prove how incompetent Toco's claims representation is.

      No reimbursement has been offered for my time lost. No rental car was offered. No apology was offered. Nothing. The closest thing to any apology or sympathy has been hollow replies designed only to save face with anyone reading this review. Hollow.

    • Jan 8, 2019

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Hi Chad, there are no accounts in the Toco CRM with a customer name "Chad Drewery."

      You are welcome to call in with your contract number or VIN number and Toco will pull up your account, looking for opportunities to assist. Based on the information above, an approved claim would be eligible for car rental reimbursement, and Toco will assist you in getting that taken care of.

      You, just like anyone reading this review, are encouraged to call into Toco Customer Care if you are experiencing difficulty with your contract. Toco is committed to a positive customer experience and living our core values of "Honesty Respect, Service, and Conviction," providing a practical approach to car repairs with low monthly payments.

      Looking forward to hearing from you and assisting in your situation. 855.298.8626.


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Failure to honor claim

    • Temple Hills, TN,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yesterday, I went to Ourisman Chevrolet for service on my 2010 Chevrolet Impala. I took my vehicle for service because I failed my states' emission test. My car was diagnosed with a large and small leak from the engine, issues with the accentuator (clicking sound), thermostat needs replacing (car states engine hot, turn off AC) and some other car related issues. The service department attempted to file a claim for authorization of service on the above issues, however, my claim for service was DENIED.

    I contacted the claims department and was advised by one of their agents that the claim was denied because these parts needed to fix the issues were not covered. So I was not able to address the issues on my car. I was also told that I was responsible for paying the $172 for the diagnostic test because the claim was denied.

    My concern with the Blue Plan or with this extended warranty is that you are not told that if you take your car in for service and your claim is denied you are responsible for coverage of the diagnostic test. I was concerned that if my vehicle breaks down due to circumstance beyond my control, will I be able to utilize this plan for service of my vehicle. Additionally, I feel the covered parts listed in this warranty is too general and not specific enough, thus leading the consumer to take a risk in getting the service that one pays for!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 26, 2018

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Hi Herb,

      We certainly strive to make sure that we accurately describe the coverage, limits, and maintenance requirements on each call. Unfortunately, the contract does not cover diagnostics costs on non-covered components, like you pointed out. Had it been covered, it would have been added into the total cost and paid for by the contract (minus the deductible). If we did cover those, there would be nothing keeping someone from taking the car in multiple times a month for each small noise they here and it would continually add up. Those costs would drive up the cost of the service contract, and no one would be able to afford them, defeating the point.

      Again, we are sorry that you ran into this and we hope that we can be of service down the road.

      -Toco


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    A total lie and scam company

    • Four Oaks, NC,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The timing chain went out on my 2004 4x4 Ford truck and according to the policy it is covered. The rep came out, said the truck was clean as he has ever seen and recommended a new motor. It was shut down by the company because the truck has dual exhaust and larger tires than from the factory. I was told I "didn't know how to follow the rules" and modified the truck. Because of the age of the truck I had to send pictures of the truck that showed the tires and dual exhaust already modified before the policy was approved. They never intended to approve any repairs. This company lied to me in the beginning to get my money and scammed me. Do not believe anything they say!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 26, 2018

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Archie,

      Unfortunately, the contract does not cover repairs on modified vehicles. We make sure to ask on each enrollment if the vehicle has been modified or has oversized tires, as they can affect the true speedometer reading and add additional stress on components. We see that a full refund was offered, pending verifiable documents. If you still want to pursue that, we would be happy to help. Feel free to give us a call.

      -Toco.


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Bogus coverage

    • Henderson, NV,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    About a year after I started this insurance the AC compressor went out. They will not cover the compressor because it has seals in it and they don't cover seals they say! This is nothing more than a loophole that they create in order to not pay for any major repairs. This is a scam. Do not, I repeat, do not get this auto insurance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 26, 2018

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Ira,

      Unfortunately, the contracts do not cover leaking seals/gaskets by themselves, as stated in the contract. We are sorry we were unable to assist. Should you need further assistance, feel free to give us a call.

      -Toco


Showing 1-11 of 26

Write a Review for Toco Auto Warranty!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review