About Toco Auto Warranty

Published on: Jun 30, 2015

If your car is no longer covered by a manufacturer’s warranty, Toco Auto Warranty claims to offer “simple and affordable” vehicle service contracts that can help protect you against huge, unexpected auto repair bills when your car breaks down. This includes coverage for your vehicle’s engine, transmission, drive axle, electrical and cooling systems, air conditioner, and more, which can be handled by any licensed repair facility of your choice.

On top of this, Toco’s auto warranty plans are claimed to include 24-hour roadside assistance, trip interruption coverage, rental car benefits, and more.

Compared to other companies, Toco claims to help you approach auto warranties as you would any other monthly expense, such as a utility bill, by maximizing coverage and keeping their plans simple and straightforward. In other words, Toco claims to “put the consumer first.”

When the rubber meets the road though, can Toco Auto Warranty give you a helping hand when your car breaks down, or is it a colossal waste of money? We’ll answer all your important questions in a moment, but let’s first take a look at the Toco Auto Warranty process and plans:

Obtaining a Toco Auto Warranty Quote

In order to obtain a Toco Auto Warranty quote, you’ll first need to enter your vehicle’s make and model on the website home page. Then, you’ll need to enter your vehicle’s year and mileage, as well as your personal information (first and last names, email, phone number, and state).

After you’ve entered everything, you’ll be contacted by a Toco Auto Warranty representative to help you find a plan that best fits your needs.

Toco Auto Warranty Plans

Speaking of which, Toco offers 3 different auto warranty plans:

Blue Plan

Covers vehicles that are no older than 20 years for up to 175K miles, including engine, transmission, drive axle, cooling system, fuel system, and more. For full plan details, be sure to read through the complete contract.

Yellow Plan

Covers vehicles that are no older than 10 years for up to 100K miles for everything found under the Blue Plan, in addition to electrical, technology (including “high tech” parts), brakes, suspension, and more. For full plan details, be sure to read through the complete contract.

Orange Plan

This is Toco Auto Warranty’s most comprehensive plan, and covers your vehicle on an all-risk basis. In other words, unless something is specifically excluded under your contract, it’s covered. For full plan details, be sure to read through the complete contract.

Now, let’s dig in to the nitty-gritty …

Toco Auto Warranty is Not Insurance

First and foremost, it’s important to note that Toco Auto Warranty does not provide insurance, such as coverage for bodily injury in the even of an accident, and so forth.

Instead, according to Toco’s FAQ page, they provide “a vehicle service contract … for repair or replacement for an operational or structural failure of a vehicle, which you can purchase either before or after your original manufacturer's warranty expires,” which exists as a “new service contract between you and the contract provider.”

What Do Toco Auto Warranties Cover?

As you probably noticed above, exactly what Toco covers depends primarily on the plan you’ve chosen.

However, a Toco Auto Warranty is intended to provide coverage only for major repairs, regardless of whether or not your vehicle is still operable, as a result of mechanical breakdown (not accidents, as noted above). As such, you shouldn’t expect your warranty to cover regular maintenance.

See Also: Do You Need an Extended Auto Warranty? 4 Questions to Ask

In addition, keep in mind that Toco Auto Warranties only cover factory installed components, and do not cover aftermarket parts such as “oversized tires, engine chips, or aftermarket exhaust systems.”

Is Toco Auto Warranty Coverage Available in All States?

Toco Auto Warranty does not provide plan coverage in AK, MO, and WA.

What is a Licensed/Preferred Repair Facility?

According to the Toco website, your warranty plan provides the ability to take your vehicle to any licensed repair facility of your choice. But what does this mean?

Other than claiming that an “Administrator can assist in locating a repair facility,” there isn’t any clarification as to what a licensed facility is defined as in the Toco contract, and whether this references someone simply licensed by the state, or a facility that is ASE certified.

Other Auto Warranty Companies

Finally, if you’re in the market for an auto warranty, keep in mind that there are dozens of companies competing for your business, including CarTection, Warranty Direct, and many more.

As such, be sure to do your research before choosing one company over another (HighYa is a great place to start!).

Customer Satisfaction with Toco Auto Warranty

There were several consumer review websites that featured feedback for Toco Auto Warranty, including PissedConsumer, where the company received an average rating of 1.4 stars based on 28 complaints. There, the most common complaint referenced denying claims.

To this end, there were also single reviews on RipoffReport, ComplaintsBoard, and ScamBook, all of which referenced the same problems with denied claims.

From a company perspective, Toco Warranty Corp is based out of Sherman Oaks, CA and held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 15 closed complaints (as of 6/29/15). Unfortunately, no complaint details were available at the time of our research.

While Toco may be the company that sells and services your extended coverage plan, your coverage is provided and administered by Warrantech Automotive, Inc. based out of Bedford, TX. Despite having more than 300 customer complaints on the BBB, Warrantech held an A rating. Again, most of these appeared to reference difficulty obtaining repairs and/or denied claims.

Toco Auto Warranty Pricing & Fees

A Toco Auto Warranty quote is completely free of charge, and the company claims there is no down payment to begin your coverage. Here is a sample payment plan.

Obviously, what you’ll pay for coverage will depend on several factors, including the year, make, model, and mileage for your vehicle.

Important note: According to the Toco website, “All plans require a mandatory Waiting Period before coverage takes effect, which starts from the contract purchase date and vehicle's odometer mileage at contract purchase date.”

Once your coverage is up and running, your contract can be cancelled at any time, less an administration fee. Per the Toco contract, this admin fee is not to exceed $25, although one RipoffReport complaint claimed the fee amounted to 3%.

Finally, covered services are subject to a $100 per-visit deductible, $50 of which will be waived if your vehicle is taken to a Preferred repair facility, which your Toco representative can help you locate.

Finally, your Toco coverage is transferable to the new owner of your vehicle, if requested within 30 days and subject to a $75 transfer fee.

To ask questions about Toco Auto Warranty coverage, you can contact customer service at 888-672-0290 (TOCO).

Can Toco Auto Warranty Provide You with Peace of Mind?

Chopping to the point: Overall, Toco Auto Warranty appears to provide a fresh perspective on extended service plans, including straightforward pricing and upfront contracts.

However, whether you’re talking about Toco or another auto extended warranty company, the number one complaint often revolves around failure to cover claims. As such, you’ll definitely want to read through the full agreement for the Toco Auto Warranty plan you’re thinking about purchasing, as well as to contact a representative before making a purchase.

After all, it’s your money, and you deserve to know exactly how far it will take you in the event of a claim.

What’s your experience with Toco Auto Warranty? Tell us about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

24 Consumer Reviews for Toco Auto Warranty

Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  16
Showing 1-11 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • Great coverage

    • Florida,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Enrollment was easy. Previous experience with Toco nothing but excellent! $100 deductible covers all major repairs. Affordable monthly rates keep you covered. Roadside assistance and rental coverage are a big plus. Customer service representative, Jay, was outstanding!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 11, 2019

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Thank you for taking the time to review Toco's services. Jay is great and always working hard to provide a best in class customer experience. It is people like Jay that help Toco to be a simple, affordable, and stress-free service and it is customers like you that keep us in business. Thank you again for your feedback!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Rip off company

    • Tennessee,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rip off company. I signed up for an extended warranty on my personal pick up truck and was approved and made my monthly payments. Since I work for a corporation I put their name on the back of my truck, and my truck came with a ladder rack when I purchased it. When my vehicle broke down, the adjuster went out and took pictures of the breakdown and also took pictures of my ladder rack and the name on my truck, and then they turned around and said my vehicle was not covered because it was being used as a commercial vehicle. The vehicle is personally registered to me and I work for a corporation, just because I advertise their name on my vehicle does not mean it’s a commercial vehicle. This company is a rip off company and I would not recommend them to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Outstanding

    • Lincolnton, NC,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a customer of Toco now for over two years. Used their services four times now and have zero complaints. Superior service every time. Can't say enough praises for these folks. They do a bang up job, and their customer service staff is always cheerful and goes the extra mile for you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 15, 2019

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      David, thank you so much for leaving a review and for your patronage. Toco strives to create this same experience for all customers and it is nice to hear that Toco's efforts are helping. Toco appreciates you. Toco hopes that your car never gives you problems, but if it does, Toco is here for you. Thanks again.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The excellent service

    • Bronx, NY,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a warranty on my vehicle from Toco and the manual states the items which are not covered. I took my vehicle to the dealer for repairs and unfortunately they were not under the warranty. Toco did not want to leave me stranded but instead gave me money to help to pay for the services which are not covered under the warranty. I am so grateful and happy because I don't know of any warranty company that cares about the needs of their customers. Other companies would say sorry, you are on your own and that's it. They are very lenient, empathetic, resourceful, respectful, and professional.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 15, 2019

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Hi Lorraine,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave Toco a positive review. Toco really strives to provide a positive customer experience. When things go wrong, it may not be Toco's fault, but it becomes Toco's problem. It is great to know that you were taken care of and that your experience was a positive one. Your business is appreciated as is the time that you took to review the services! Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Actually, very happy with this company

    • Ohio,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My name's Matt. My 2014 Nissan Sentra's transmission gave out at 77,000 miles. Kept up with all oil changes and fancy stuff like that. Luckily, I had purchased Toco's yellow plan. They paid for a $3,500-$4,000 transmission replacement. I think I paid around $2,000 for the plan as a whole. So, I'm already up. Very happy camper.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 14, 2019

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Hi Matthew,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave Toco a review. With most things in life, it's more common to send feedback when things go wrong vs. when they go right, so Toco appreciates the time you took out of your day to leave positive feedback. It is unfortunate that you had an issue like this, transmissions are not small repairs! Hopefully (for all parties) you do not run into any more issues.

      Thanks again for taking the time to leave a positive review. It's great to hear that your experience was a good one!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Two weeks, one inspector, and still no progress towards approval

    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Toco is the slowest company I have ever dealt with. Their customer service reps are unknowledgeable about their own policies, clearly hate their jobs, and become annoyed just by answering the phone.

    Too is fast and friendly to sign you up, but trying to make a claim is clearly a different department filled with despair.

    My truck has been in the shop for two weeks needing a timing chain replaced. One rep says no, the manager says yes, the inspector comes out, and now they're saying they're waiting for photos.

    This company is awful and a money black hole.

    Avoid losing your money to a company that refuses to deliver on their policies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 19, 2018

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Hi Chad, we want to look into your situation and help. Toco does not administer the claims process, rather we sell the contracts. However, we are more than happy to intervene and see if we can get your situation resolved. Please call and ask for a manager so we can help. Unfortunately, this platform does not share your contact information or we would reach out to you proactively.

    • Dec 21, 2018

      Wilfred B.

      So far in one year with TOCO warranty, I've literally dropped on one of my cars close to $3000 dollars in repairs, supposedly not covered. Be careful about choosing an extended warranty company. Keep in mind, I get 85 percent of repairs and maintenance done at the dealer.

    • Dec 21, 2018

      Chad D.

      Three weeks, multiple phone calls, hours spent on hold, and FINALLY, I was able to argue my case enough to get Toco to honor the coverage I am paying for. Three weeks to the day is what it took to get eight hours of labor and the parts to replace a timing chain. Customer service is sub-par, many of their reps are rude and clearly do not like their job, and overall the warranty does not give me peace of mind in the least.

      This wasn't a fine print issue. This was a waiting game. I took my truck in to have the work done before a complete failure of the timing chain would have resulted in a complete engine replacement. The pre-approval took two weeks and three days, I was denied twice, and even after the third appeal that FINALLY went to an actual claims specialist in Texas, they STILL required an on-site inspector to verify the problem. Then they required the teardown of the engine and photos from the mechanic before they would approve the repair. THREE weeks.

      Next time I'll be less proactive and wait until catastrophic failure before starting the process. In trying to save Toco money and my time, I lost money and time. Paul M. VP of customer success is likely a misleading title. I'm pretty sure your only reason to want to "reach out" to me is to save face from an honest review of a low-quality company that is only concerned about getting money from "customers" and not ensuring the customer actually gets what they're paying for.

      Buyer beware. Put the monthly premium in a savings account for repairs as Toco doesn't want to pay out on anything without a fight even when proven to be an accurate claim and due diligence on the customer's part.

    • Jan 3, 2019

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Chad, Toco does not administer the claims process. It is unfortunate that the claim took longer than expected, but Toco is dedicated to helping our customers and assisting however we are able to. It sounds like you had a pretty major repair done. I, myself, have had a full engine rebuild and I know that it can take a few weeks (whether using a VSC or not). It is frustrating being without a car for this type of time period, which is exactly why Toco offers to reach out; it is everyone's intention is to make the claims process as easy as possible. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to investigate the process and look for opportunities to improve. Toco is committed to our core values of "Honesty Respect, Service, and Conviction" and is committed to providing a practical approach to car repairs with low monthly payments.

    • Jan 3, 2019

      Chad D.

      That's a lot of fluffy nonsense that does absolutely nothing to rectify the poor quality of service or build any confidence in Toco. I, as a customer, don't care in the least how Toco's claims process works on the back end. You're bringing it up is little more than an excuse and attempt to pass the blame to an anonymous scapegoat.

      Please stop posting meaningless and hollow replies. If you have an actual response, i.e., a plan of action that can rectify the disappointing experience that is the Toco claims process, then, by all means, respond.

      At no time did ANY Toco representative reach out to me, offer any assistance in the claims process, or indicate any desire to provide the service I have paid for.

      In the end, my truck was repaired, but at a cost to me far greater than the deductible, and took almost four weeks, only eight hours of which were actual labor on the truck.

      Twice I was told no claim was even found. Once, they were unable to even find my contract.

      When the claim was finally processed, it was denied without any contact. It wasn't until I called in to check on the claim that I was informed the claim had been denied.

      After appealing the claim, I was able to get it approved, and even that was a very difficult process.

      I retained the replaced part should I ever need to prove how incompetent Toco's claims representation is.

      No reimbursement has been offered for my time lost. No rental car was offered. No apology was offered. Nothing. The closest thing to any apology or sympathy has been hollow replies designed only to save face with anyone reading this review. Hollow.

    • Jan 8, 2019

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Hi Chad, there are no accounts in the Toco CRM with a customer name "Chad Drewery."

      You are welcome to call in with your contract number or VIN number and Toco will pull up your account, looking for opportunities to assist. Based on the information above, an approved claim would be eligible for car rental reimbursement, and Toco will assist you in getting that taken care of.

      You, just like anyone reading this review, are encouraged to call into Toco Customer Care if you are experiencing difficulty with your contract. Toco is committed to a positive customer experience and living our core values of "Honesty Respect, Service, and Conviction," providing a practical approach to car repairs with low monthly payments.

      Looking forward to hearing from you and assisting in your situation. 855.298.8626.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Failure to honor claim

    • Temple Hills, TN,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yesterday, I went to Ourisman Chevrolet for service on my 2010 Chevrolet Impala. I took my vehicle for service because I failed my states' emission test. My car was diagnosed with a large and small leak from the engine, issues with the accentuator (clicking sound), thermostat needs replacing (car states engine hot, turn off AC) and some other car related issues. The service department attempted to file a claim for authorization of service on the above issues, however, my claim for service was DENIED.

    I contacted the claims department and was advised by one of their agents that the claim was denied because these parts needed to fix the issues were not covered. So I was not able to address the issues on my car. I was also told that I was responsible for paying the $172 for the diagnostic test because the claim was denied.

    My concern with the Blue Plan or with this extended warranty is that you are not told that if you take your car in for service and your claim is denied you are responsible for coverage of the diagnostic test. I was concerned that if my vehicle breaks down due to circumstance beyond my control, will I be able to utilize this plan for service of my vehicle. Additionally, I feel the covered parts listed in this warranty is too general and not specific enough, thus leading the consumer to take a risk in getting the service that one pays for!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 26, 2018

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Hi Herb,

      We certainly strive to make sure that we accurately describe the coverage, limits, and maintenance requirements on each call. Unfortunately, the contract does not cover diagnostics costs on non-covered components, like you pointed out. Had it been covered, it would have been added into the total cost and paid for by the contract (minus the deductible). If we did cover those, there would be nothing keeping someone from taking the car in multiple times a month for each small noise they here and it would continually add up. Those costs would drive up the cost of the service contract, and no one would be able to afford them, defeating the point.

      Again, we are sorry that you ran into this and we hope that we can be of service down the road.

      -Toco

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    A total lie and scam company

    • Four Oaks, NC,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The timing chain went out on my 2004 4x4 Ford truck and according to the policy it is covered. The rep came out, said the truck was clean as he has ever seen and recommended a new motor. It was shut down by the company because the truck has dual exhaust and larger tires than from the factory. I was told I "didn't know how to follow the rules" and modified the truck. Because of the age of the truck I had to send pictures of the truck that showed the tires and dual exhaust already modified before the policy was approved. They never intended to approve any repairs. This company lied to me in the beginning to get my money and scammed me. Do not believe anything they say!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 26, 2018

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Archie,

      Unfortunately, the contract does not cover repairs on modified vehicles. We make sure to ask on each enrollment if the vehicle has been modified or has oversized tires, as they can affect the true speedometer reading and add additional stress on components. We see that a full refund was offered, pending verifiable documents. If you still want to pursue that, we would be happy to help. Feel free to give us a call.

      -Toco.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Bogus coverage

    • Henderson, NV,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    About a year after I started this insurance the AC compressor went out. They will not cover the compressor because it has seals in it and they don't cover seals they say! This is nothing more than a loophole that they create in order to not pay for any major repairs. This is a scam. Do not, I repeat, do not get this auto insurance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 26, 2018

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Ira,

      Unfortunately, the contracts do not cover leaking seals/gaskets by themselves, as stated in the contract. We are sorry we were unable to assist. Should you need further assistance, feel free to give us a call.

      -Toco

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    I initially signed up for Toco because I wanted to protect my investment in my car. I looked the plans over and decided I would sign up. Then when I called, I got even better. I was told that I should have no worries, that if I didn’t use the service, I would get a full refund. So I signed, and for the first two months, everything was fine.

    Then, unfortunately, my AC compressor went in the third month. That’s when things went wrong. Not only did they tell me my car would have to leave my car at the mechanics until one of their inspectors could come out and look at it, they would not cover a rental until after the inspection. I told them that I traveled for my job and would need a rental today. I asked would they reimburse me the rental cost if the work need was covered. They said no.

    The next problem was that they don’t work on weekends. I’m off on the weekends. So now they are saying that not only are you not going to pay for a rental but now you want me to miss a day or two of work to wait for an inspector to come. That’s just crazy and unreasonable.

    So I called to cancel my subscription and GUESS what?! I was told I could get a refund. It was only for $30. Are you freaking kidding me? I've paid you guys $600, that’s $200 a month. And you are telling me I’m getting back $30 for a service I’ve never used. That’s crazy. I would never refer anyone to your company. Thanks for nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 8, 2018

      Lena L.

      I'm going through a similar issue right now, but I'm going wait this out and see if anything is going to be done. I've been with this company two different times, and I haven't had any issues until now. I'm without my car for four days and hope to hear something by Monday, waiting on an inspector.

    • Nov 26, 2018

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Trevon,

      Major repairs must be diagnosed so that the cause of the issue can be determined and the repair resolved. It appears that the vehicle was moved and therefore the inspection could not be performed. We understand that customers are busy and car repairs are inconvenient, regardless of whether they are under coverage or not. We would have preferred to retain your business and cover the repairs, but it appears that the contract was canceled. We wish you the best moving forward and we are here if you want to call about it.

      -Toco

    • Nov 26, 2018

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Lena, it appears that your repair was taken care of, in fact, it looks like to date Toco has covered $2,315.75 in repairs on the vehicle. We hope that you are happy with the service and consider leaving us a positive rating.

      -Toco

    • Feb 21, 2019

      Demetrius B.

      I just recently had an engine blow out on me about a month ago. I have a 2004 Dodge Durango and I had Toco Warranty Blue coverage and my mechanic said that the engine was damaged by internal components and therefore it should be covered by my plan. I talked to a customer service rep named Nichole Maeshack and she told me to put the claim in and have the mechanic give them a call for the claim process to begin. So I did just that.

      Then I was told to have service oil records sent to them to verify oil changes. I did just that. Then they claimed they never got them via email, so I figured they were scamming me so I called about a week later to cancel my policy. Then Nichole said there was a mix up on their end, they received my service records and it was approved, so I just needed to have the dealership to call them back to start the invoicing for parts and labor, which was approximately $8,000.

      Two days after this a man by the name of Brian Marshall emailed saying he needed my service records again after they were already sent to Nichole. More run around, more games. So I emailed him the service records. About three days later I emailed him to get a status update. He said that management denied my claim because my service records were unverifiable since there were no miles or VIN number. The service records from Jiffy Lube are done by plate number, not VIN number. And my other service records from dealerships and other service places were pulled off of official Kelley Bluebook records that did have miles and dates. So, they are using a fake loophole to not cover my repairs. I have reported them to the BBB and have not gotten any response from them about canceling my policy. Nichole is the only person Toco claims can cancel my policy and she has refused to return my calls or emails!

      Stay away from them! They are dangerous liars that are full of false loopholes and promises to take your monthly donation to them, and when trouble arises with your vehicle, they will find a way to deny big claims by fake technicalities! I'm sure this will be responded to by Toco with a politically correct answer. But trust me, find someone more reputable and honest for warranty coverage. Don't make the same mistake I made.

      Hope this helps someone else out.

    • Mar 9, 2019

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Hi Demetrius, Toco is sorry that the claim was denied due to missing or un-verifiable records. The agreement between both parties maintains that verifiable records be maintained and available upon request. Toco is committed to honesty and conveys these requirements at the point of sale and clearly states this in the contract.

      In this case, there were as many as 6 missing records. Per your written request on 2/22, the account was canceled immediately. Toco is sorry that this was the mutual experience and remains committed to adjudicating claims based on the agreed upon expectations.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    This is a scam, due not purchase!

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Mar 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not purchase this warranty, it is a legalized scam. I had an engine go out and they asked for receipts showing the upkeep of the oil changes, etc. I sent that in and was completely lied to by a guy named Dave in Claims. Even after submitting the sufficient forms, this warranty is a waste of money and is more of a benefit to Toco rather than the customer. Please don't waste your number. And do not check the BBB, there are false good reviews there. Toco will fight you tooth and nail not to pay the claim, and the contract states that they can deny a claim for any reason, so in all reality, you can show proof that you kept the car up and they can still deny you!

    DO NOT purchase this ever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 26, 2018

      Paul M., VP of Customer Success

      Marvin, Toco does not produce false reviews on the BBB, those are real customers! Toco does not administer the claims process, so at no point does Toco approve or deny claims. Toco sells the contracts (based on what is written in them) and offers a convenient month to month financing.

      We will, however, continue to look into your situation and see how the claims team can improve. Thank you for your feedback.

      -Toco

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 24

Write a Review for Toco Auto Warranty!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review