About Toco Auto Warranty

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jun 30, 2015

If your car is no longer covered by a manufacturer’s warranty, Toco Auto Warranty claims to offer “simple and affordable” vehicle service contracts that can help protect you against huge, unexpected auto repair bills when your car breaks down. This includes coverage for your vehicle’s engine, transmission, drive axle, electrical and cooling systems, air conditioner, and more, which can be handled by any licensed repair facility of your choice.

On top of this, Toco’s auto warranty plans are claimed to include 24-hour roadside assistance, trip interruption coverage, rental car benefits, and more.

Compared to other companies, Toco claims to help you approach auto warranties as you would any other monthly expense, such as a utility bill, by maximizing coverage and keeping their plans simple and straightforward. In other words, Toco claims to “put the consumer first.”

When the rubber meets the road though, can Toco Auto Warranty give you a helping hand when your car breaks down, or is it a colossal waste of money? We’ll answer all your important questions in a moment, but let’s first take a look at the Toco Auto Warranty process and plans:

Obtaining a Toco Auto Warranty Quote

In order to obtain a Toco Auto Warranty quote, you’ll first need to enter your vehicle’s make and model on the website home page. Then, you’ll need to enter your vehicle’s year and mileage, as well as your personal information (first and last names, email, phone number, and state).

After you’ve entered everything, you’ll be contacted by a Toco Auto Warranty representative to help you find a plan that best fits your needs.

Toco Auto Warranty Plans

Speaking of which, Toco offers 3 different auto warranty plans:

Blue Plan

Covers vehicles that are no older than 20 years for up to 175K miles, including engine, transmission, drive axle, cooling system, fuel system, and more. For full plan details, be sure to read through the complete contract.

Yellow Plan

Covers vehicles that are no older than 10 years for up to 100K miles for everything found under the Blue Plan, in addition to electrical, technology (including “high tech” parts), brakes, suspension, and more. For full plan details, be sure to read through the complete contract.

Orange Plan

This is Toco Auto Warranty’s most comprehensive plan, and covers your vehicle on an all-risk basis. In other words, unless something is specifically excluded under your contract, it’s covered. For full plan details, be sure to read through the complete contract.

Now, let’s dig in to the nitty-gritty …

Toco Auto Warranty is Not Insurance

First and foremost, it’s important to note that Toco Auto Warranty does not provide insurance, such as coverage for bodily injury in the even of an accident, and so forth.

Instead, according to Toco’s FAQ page, they provide “a vehicle service contract … for repair or replacement for an operational or structural failure of a vehicle, which you can purchase either before or after your original manufacturer's warranty expires,” which exists as a “new service contract between you and the contract provider.”

What Do Toco Auto Warranties Cover?

As you probably noticed above, exactly what Toco covers depends primarily on the plan you’ve chosen.

However, a Toco Auto Warranty is intended to provide coverage only for major repairs, regardless of whether or not your vehicle is still operable, as a result of mechanical breakdown (not accidents, as noted above). As such, you shouldn’t expect your warranty to cover regular maintenance.

See Also: Do You Need an Extended Auto Warranty? 4 Questions to Ask

In addition, keep in mind that Toco Auto Warranties only cover factory installed components, and do not cover aftermarket parts such as “oversized tires, engine chips, or aftermarket exhaust systems.”

Is Toco Auto Warranty Coverage Available in All States?

Toco Auto Warranty does not provide plan coverage in AK, MO, and WA.

What is a Licensed/Preferred Repair Facility?

According to the Toco website, your warranty plan provides the ability to take your vehicle to any licensed repair facility of your choice. But what does this mean?

Other than claiming that an “Administrator can assist in locating a repair facility,” there isn’t any clarification as to what a licensed facility is defined as in the Toco contract, and whether this references someone simply licensed by the state, or a facility that is ASE certified.

Other Auto Warranty Companies

Finally, if you’re in the market for an auto warranty, keep in mind that there are dozens of companies competing for your business, including CarTection, Warranty Direct, and many more.

As such, be sure to do your research before choosing one company over another (HighYa is a great place to start!).

Toco Auto Warranty Pricing & Fees

A Toco Auto Warranty quote is completely free of charge, and the company claims there is no down payment to begin your coverage. Here is a sample payment plan.

Obviously, what you’ll pay for coverage will depend on several factors, including the year, make, model, and mileage for your vehicle.

Important note: According to the Toco website, “All plans require a mandatory Waiting Period before coverage takes effect, which starts from the contract purchase date and vehicle's odometer mileage at contract purchase date.”

Once your coverage is up and running, your contract can be cancelled at any time, less an administration fee. Per the Toco contract, this admin fee is not to exceed $25, although one complaint claimed the fee amounted to 3%.

Finally, covered services are subject to a $100 per-visit deductible, $50 of which will be waived if your vehicle is taken to a Preferred repair facility, which your Toco representative can help you locate.

Finally, your Toco coverage is transferable to the new owner of your vehicle, if requested within 30 days and subject to a $75 transfer fee.

To ask questions about Toco Auto Warranty coverage, you can contact customer service at 888-672-0290 (TOCO).

Can Toco Auto Warranty Provide You with Peace of Mind?

Chopping to the point: Overall, Toco Auto Warranty appears to provide a fresh perspective on extended service plans, including straightforward pricing and upfront contracts.

However, whether you’re talking about Toco or another auto extended warranty company, the number one complaint often revolves around failure to cover claims. As such, you’ll definitely want to read through the full agreement for the Toco Auto Warranty plan you’re thinking about purchasing, as well as to contact a representative before making a purchase.

After all, it’s your money, and you deserve to know exactly how far it will take you in the event of a claim.

What’s your experience with Toco Auto Warranty? Tell us about it by writing a review below!


Read 31 Toco Auto Warranty Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  21
Showing 1-11 of 31
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Cancellation of policy

    • By Diana J.,
    • Muskogee, OK,
    • Jan 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible experience. I called 3 times to cancel and was transferred to the "cancellation department" and no one got on the line. The excuse I got was they were short-handed and backed up and someone will call you back. Then on 1/2/20, I got an email stated the amount that will be debit out of my account. I had to call the bank, shut down my card that they had on file, call my other bills and let them know and wait for another card. How do they expect me to trust the fact that my car will be serviced right when they cannot even be staffed enough to handle a cancellation? They are quick to take your money but do not want to give you proper respect. I will not call them again and I have reported them to the Consumers Affairs, BBB, and also Attorney General for my state.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 8, 2020

      Company Response from Toco Warranty

      Toco is sorry to hear that your experience could have been better and will investigate the situation if you would be so kind as to share your contract number. Toco has no interest in forcing someone to stay enrolled if they do not want to be. Respect is a core value at Toco and trust is key.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Total liars

    • By Wardell M.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Nov 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Believed Toco was for real only to discover that the whole thing was a huge scam. Had issues and called TO report issues and ask where to take the vehicle. That's when I discovered there were discrepancies in what I was told and what they allegedly stated I was told. The real deal is that the real repair shops won't be able to complete any work for they go to the position of "they are overcharging them, therefore, take what you can get from Toco". Not only this, they have your vehicle torn down, diagnosed, and Toco IS IN NO HURRY to validate claims. Was so angry I canceled immediately and Toco had the nerve 1.5 months later to ask me for payment. My out of pocket costs were $ 800.00. If it sounds too good to be true, it was.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 19, 2019

      Company Response from Toco Warranty

      Mr. Mikell, Toco stands behind the product that we sell and our Core Values of Honesty and Transparency. Toco contracts cover listed parts (per the terms of the agreement), and covers posted labor rates and reasonable parts cost (New or Like-kind and QUALITY), regardless of where the vehicle is taken for repairs. Toco is interested in finding a resolution to the issue you described, pending your willingness. While Toco does not judge claims, Toco is committed to helping.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    • By Enrique V.,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They denied the claim after having me wait for a response for 8 weeks! They based the denial on the personal opinion of the adjuster. My engine broke down, they said it was too much to pay for, so they passed the claim to their supervising dept which then took 5 weeks to deny. I can't get the reason in writing; they claim I have to go through extra depts and steps. Shady from the beginning. Now I'm out almost $1000 in payments to them. People save your money! Their customer service reps are polite, but their claims reps are rude and out to deny claims right from the beginning!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 25, 2019

      Company Response from Toco Warranty

      Enrique, Toco is sorry to hear about your claims experience. Toco does not approve or deny claims, the claims administrator does.

      Toco reviewed the initial sales call to find that the contract was sold based on the terms and conditions therein.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bad customer service

    • By Brandi B.,
    • Ohio,
    • Jul 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company continued to charge me even after my contract was expired. I requested a refund as they told me to show proof of my milage. I requested 3 of the payments back but was told I was lucky to get 1 as I had 2 many repairs to my vehicle. They replaced a radio and tire rod but it was covered under warranty, they approved the claims for both repairs over 1 year ago. The rep proceeds to tell me I made $1400 worth of payments but hade $2300 worth of work done on my vehicle. What type of warranty is this? I paid my deductibles as well as my monthly payments but they tell me I owe them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 19, 2019

      Company Response from Toco Warranty

      It is great that Toco was there to assist with the repair cost of $2,300, no one wants to have a vehicle breakdown and get hit with those types of charges! Toco is sorry to hear that your experience was one-star after receiving the help that was promised.

      If you have questions about your account or would like a breakdown of the agreement, feel free to let Toco know.


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Handling my claim

    • By Thomas R.,
    • Florida,
    • Jun 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My 2007 Chevy Impala had an overheating problem. And the team of people handling my car was very very professional and walked us through every step. Ivan, the person we spoke to, is the best. I just want to say thank you. And I will start recommending my friends and family to Toco.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 5, 2019

      Company Response from Toco Warranty

      Thank you for taking the time to review Toco. Our goal is to create memorable customer experiences and ensure customer success. Your review helps us know that we are on track. Thanks again!


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Canceled warranty

    • By Debra C.,
    • North Carolina,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first purchased this warranty I was told I could cancel at any time, less the fee for cancellation, but I was told I couldn't get any of my money back after I called to cancel. I would say to anyone that wants an honest auto warranty to not purchase Toco. They will rip you off without justification, and will not refund your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 15, 2019

      Company Response from Toco Warranty

      Hi Debra, Toco sells plans with month-to-month financing. When you pay for a month, you get a month of coverage. When you stop paying, (cancel), then the coverage starts. Toco never charges for months in advance like others in the industry. Had you paid the whole contract, then Toco would pro-rate a refund, but you did not pay the entire contract price, rather had month-to-month payments. When you cancel (which you can do anytime), there is no refund because you are only paying for the contract during months that you have coverage. Simple and easy.

      Toco is honest, and not looking to rip-off anyone. Toco offers simple, easy payment plans and contracts. Let Toco know if there is anything that can be done for further clarification.


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Asked about my warranty

    • By Vanessa D.,
    • Miami Gardens, FL,
    • Apr 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Mr. Aaron was very polite and he answered all my questions that I asked him. Mr. Aaron was helpful at directing me to the department that I needed to contact. Also, he provided me with information that I did not know about if I recommend a friend or family member and how to file a claim if I need too in the future. At the end of our conversation, I was very satisfied.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 15, 2019

      Company Response from Toco Warranty

      Thank you for reviewing Toco and the service of the agents who dedicate themselves to customer success. Your business, review, and your loyalty are all appreciated.


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great coverage

    • By Gerald Y.,
    • Florida,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Enrollment was easy. Previous experience with Toco nothing but excellent! $100 deductible covers all major repairs. Affordable monthly rates keep you covered. Roadside assistance and rental coverage are a big plus. Customer service representative, Jay, was outstanding!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 3, 2019

      Company Response from Toco Warranty

      Thank you for sharing your experience! Toco strives to make every interaction a great one. Simple. Affordable. Stress-free.


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Rip off company

    • By Robert R.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rip off company. I signed up for an extended warranty on my personal pick up truck and was approved and made my monthly payments. Since I work for a corporation I put their name on the back of my truck, and my truck came with a ladder rack when I purchased it. When my vehicle broke down, the adjuster went out and took pictures of the breakdown and also took pictures of my ladder rack and the name on my truck, and then they turned around and said my vehicle was not covered because it was being used as a commercial vehicle. The vehicle is personally registered to me and I work for a corporation, just because I advertise their name on my vehicle does not mean it’s a commercial vehicle. This company is a rip off company and I would not recommend them to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 20, 2019

      Company Response from Toco Warranty

      Toco is committed to customer success. Toco relies on the customer's account of the facts at the time of enrollment (performed online or over the phone without a vehicle inspection). Toco asks every customer about vehicle usage in order to determine if the contract is a proper fit for the car. In this case, the investigation of this vehicle showed multiple signs of commercial usage in addition to those being described above.

      Toco is committed to setting customers up for success with an easy, affordable product.


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Outstanding

    • By David G.,
    • Lincolnton, NC,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a customer of Toco now for over two years. Used their services four times now and have zero complaints. Superior service every time. Can't say enough praises for these folks. They do a bang up job, and their customer service staff is always cheerful and goes the extra mile for you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 15, 2019

      Company Response from Toco Warranty

      David, thank you so much for leaving a review and for your patronage. Toco strives to create this same experience for all customers and it is nice to hear that Toco's efforts are helping. Toco appreciates you. Toco hopes that your car never gives you problems, but if it does, Toco is here for you. Thanks again.


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    The excellent service

    • By Lorraine H.,
    • Bronx, NY,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a warranty on my vehicle from Toco and the manual states the items which are not covered. I took my vehicle to the dealer for repairs and unfortunately they were not under the warranty. Toco did not want to leave me stranded but instead gave me money to help to pay for the services which are not covered under the warranty. I am so grateful and happy because I don't know of any warranty company that cares about the needs of their customers. Other companies would say sorry, you are on your own and that's it. They are very lenient, empathetic, resourceful, respectful, and professional.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 15, 2019

      Company Response from Toco Warranty

      Hi Lorraine,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave Toco a positive review. Toco really strives to provide a positive customer experience. When things go wrong, it may not be Toco's fault, but it becomes Toco's problem. It is great to know that you were taken care of and that your experience was a positive one. Your business is appreciated as is the time that you took to review the services! Thank you.


Showing 1-11 of 31

Write a Review for Toco Auto Warranty!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review