About TouCan

Billed as “the world’s easiest hands-free can opener,” the TouCan Can Opener features 1-touch operation, the ability to work on any shape or thickness of can, and an ultra-strong, built-in magnet to keep your lid in place and make disposal a snap. All you have to do is place the TouCan on top of the can, press the button, and your can will be open in seconds, making it an ideal option for those with arthritis or joint pain.

In order to accomplish this, the TouCan Can Opener’s unique outside blade clamp is claimed to use 100 pounds of force to penetrate the can’s seal at precisely the right place and angle, which leaves edges that are smooth and safe (this also allows the lid to pop back on for refrigerator storage). In addition, the TouCan also features a “bottom beak” that can be used to open jars, cans, and bottles

And once you’re finished using your TouCan, the manufacturer claims the can opener is easy to clean and fits into any drawer for easy storage.

If you regularly strain your hand trying to open cans, or find the process too painful, can the TouCan Can Opener help you enjoy everything cooking has to offer, but without the pain? Consider the following:

Hands-On TouCan Test

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel

When It Comes to Hand-Free Can Openers, You Have Options

If you’ve ever encountered an “As Seen on TV” product before, you know that the manufacturers create intensely interesting infomercials to draw you in, and hype their promises with big claims. It’s almost like you can’t look away.

Despite this, the fact is that many ASOTV products are simply slightly different versions of products already widely available on the market, and the TouCan Can Opener appears to be no different. You can see just how many options you have by typing the phrase “hands-free can opener” or “electric can opener” into your favorite search engine.

In fact, the TouCan Can Opener used to be sold under the name Smart Touch fairly recently, so it appears to be a rebranded version of one of the company’s other products.

On top of this, considering the TouCan’s steep, non-refundable S&H charges (more about this shortly), many of these options will likely end up less expensive.

Non-Hands Free Can Opener Options

In addition to hands-free options like the TouCan, keep in mind that a countertop can opener might be a viable option for you, especially if you open a lot of cans on a regular basis.

Granted, many of these options will be too big to store in a drawer, will take up permanent space on your countertop, and won’t be completely hands-free, although they should still provide easy operation, even for those with grip issues or with painful hands.

In other words, there are a wide variety of options you can explore before making your decision. For more information, we’d also recommend reading through EBay’s Complete Can Opener Buying Guide and About.com’s list of Arthritis-Friendly Can Openers.

TouCan’s Manufacturer Seems To Have a “Flighty” Reputation

The TouCan Can Opener is manufactured by Telebrands, the largest company within the “As Seen on TV” genre, who makes dozens of other popular ASOTV products, including Hurricane 360 Spin Mop, Grassology, Ankle Genie, and many more. What are HighYa readers saying about these products?

Among more than 200 reviews, these products have an average rating of 1.5 stars here on HighYa, primarily due to complaints of poor quality, not working as expected, and poor customer service experiences. Sure, you might not experience the same with TouCan Can Opener, although it’s certainly worth noting.

Also, it’s important to mention that Telebrands had a C rating with the Better Business Bureau (up from an F rating a couple months ago), based on 1,223 closed complaints. In fact, Telebrands’s BBB accreditation was revoked due to their complaint volume, and the company was investigated by the NJ Attorney General’s office in 2014 for allegedly violating the Consumer Fraud Act. Since this time though, Telebrands appears to have been actively working to clean up their reputation.

TouCan Can Opener Pricing & Refund Policy

One TouCan Can Opener is priced at $19.99 plus free S&H, although you’ll be able to order a second TouCan for an additional $9.99 S&H at checkout.

As with most Telebrands products, the TouCan comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. If you choose the BOGO offer, this means you could lose just as much in S&H charges as you’ll receive as a refund if you’re dissatisfied.

With this in mind, in order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 844-863-0165.

Can the TouCan Can Opener Help You Avoid Painful Hands?

When it comes down to it, the TouCan Can Opener’s 1-touch operation and hands-free capability could realistically help you keep going in the kitchen, without having to worry about painful, throbbing hands—but so can dozens of similar products.

In other words, because you’ll almost certainly have many local options available that are nearly identical, we’d recommend searching local retailers before placing your TouCan Can Opener order. At the very least, this could save you some hard-earned money in lost S&H charges, as well as make the return process as easy as hopping in your car.

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

127 Consumer Reviews for TouCan

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 4 1 star:  113
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 127
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love this can opener/jar opener

    • Shreveport, Louisiana,
    • May 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was hesitant at first getting one, but this product is awesome. I'm 64 years old and has had surgery on both of my hands. This can opener is a life saver with opening cans and opening jars. It just pops the lids on jars so you can open with ease. Also, it is so helpful when the electricity goes out. I want another one for the RV. Thank you TouCan.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    TouCan can opener

    • Oakdale, PA,
    • Apr 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this can about a month ago, and I used it about five times. It started to open the can about an inch then quit. I took it off and started again, but the same thing happened, it quit. This is the worst product on the market. I wouldn't recommend this can opener to anybody; it is a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not worth your money

    • Rancho Cucamonga, CA,
    • Apr 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I would have read reviews first. As others have said, it worked great for a few months, then stopped. It sits on the can and does absolutely nothing. What a waste of my hard earned dollars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    TouCan can opener, very dangerous product

    • Anchorage, Alaska,
    • Feb 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After the first two cans I opened using the TouCan can opener for soup, I got poked by "razor blade" sharp metal shaving from the can. Upon looking into the cans further, I found more metal shavings as long as 0.1 to 1.2 inches inside the cans. Had my wife and I ate the soup, we would have ingested the metal shavings.

    This product should not be anywhere for sale. It may potentially harm someone, maybe even fatally.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not a good product

    • Bement, Illinois,
    • Jan 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am sorry, but this is a piece of junk. It worked ok for about four months and then became more and more difficult to use. After about nine months, it will barely open half of the can, and then you have a royal MESS at that point because now you have to figure out an alternative way to get the can open after half the top has released.

    I love the concept, and if there were a manually-operated one available I would use. But the gears of the battery-operated one (we also went through batteries like crazy) wear very quickly (I doubt we averaged one can per day opened) and it just sits there and runs but will no longer pull itself to open the can. It is worthless now!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrific, do NOT take a chance on this product

    • Nevada,
    • Jan 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My TouCan has worked as described on occasion, but 85% of the time, it would go around the can a dozen times and not remove the lid.

    But the very worst part is that while it is trying to cut the can open, it actually produces tiny metal splinters along the way. Needless to say, the times it has managed to open a can, I have then been afraid to use the contents, because it might have deposited a splinter into the contents.

    Now it sits in the box, never to be used again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not Worth The Money

    • Lafayette, Louisiana,
    • Dec 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Since I am a senior citizen the thought of a handless can opener sounds great, but in actuality, it is not worth the money I spent. It takes several rounds to cut through the can lid. But it is not the worst thing about it, after several times around the can it peels up a thin thread of metal. I think it is probably the worst product I have ever ordered.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great Idea, Chinese JUNK.

    Since my wife has hand problems, thought this was a great idea, so ordered one. Worked great for a dozen cans or so, then just sits on the can and chews up the inside of the lid.

    Contacted the company website and after some time got the complaint sent. Return advice was that it only had a thirty day warranty but if you purchased the red and white one, five years.

    Since the batteries lasted longer than the product you have a good flashlight but no opener. Chinese JUNK.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Excellent

    • Floral Park, NY,
    • Nov 4, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Great experience, works the first time and every time. It's so easy to use. I'm going to buy one for all of my kids.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    TouCan can opener is junk

    • IL,
    • Oct 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the TouCan can opener - it worked for two cans and hasn't worked since. I would never recommend this to anyone. And there is no phone number to return it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    A Piece of Junk

    • Iowa,
    • Sep 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had this can opener for eight months. I have opened no more than 30 cans, and it no longer works, just sits on the can and clicks noisily.

    What a piece of cow dung, as is the company that pedals such garbage.

    By the way, they know they are selling an inferior product, or they would not so piously give the buyer a 30 day only warranty. I'd guess 95% of the products marketed the crap out in less than a year.

    With the cost of shipping and handling, exorbitant to say the least, my 30 cans only cost about $1 each to open.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 127

Write a Review for TouCan!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review