About TouCan

By HighYa Staff

Billed as “the world’s easiest hands-free can opener,” the TouCan Can Opener features 1-touch operation, the ability to work on any shape or thickness of can, and an ultra-strong, built-in magnet to keep your lid in place and make disposal a snap. All you have to do is place the TouCan on top of the can, press the button, and your can will be open in seconds, making it an ideal option for those with arthritis or joint pain.

In order to accomplish this, the TouCan Can Opener’s unique outside blade clamp is claimed to use 100 pounds of force to penetrate the can’s seal at precisely the right place and angle, which leaves edges that are smooth and safe (this also allows the lid to pop back on for refrigerator storage). In addition, the TouCan also features a “bottom beak” that can be used to open jars, cans, and bottles

And once you’re finished using your TouCan, the manufacturer claims the can opener is easy to clean and fits into any drawer for easy storage.

If you regularly strain your hand trying to open cans, or find the process too painful, can the TouCan Can Opener help you enjoy everything cooking has to offer, but without the pain? Consider the following:

Hands-On TouCan Test

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel

When It Comes to Hand-Free Can Openers, You Have Options

If you’ve ever encountered an “As Seen on TV” product before, you know that the manufacturers create intensely interesting infomercials to draw you in, and hype their promises with big claims. It’s almost like you can’t look away.

Despite this, the fact is that many ASOTV products are simply slightly different versions of products already widely available on the market, and the TouCan Can Opener appears to be no different. You can see just how many options you have by typing the phrase “hands-free can opener” or “electric can opener” into your favorite search engine.

In fact, the TouCan Can Opener used to be sold under the name Smart Touch fairly recently, so it appears to be a rebranded version of one of the company’s other products.

On top of this, considering the TouCan’s steep, non-refundable S&H charges (more about this shortly), many of these options will likely end up less expensive.

Non-Hands Free Can Opener Options

In addition to hands-free options like the TouCan, keep in mind that a countertop can opener might be a viable option for you, especially if you open a lot of cans on a regular basis.

Granted, many of these options will be too big to store in a drawer, will take up permanent space on your countertop, and won’t be completely hands-free, although they should still provide easy operation, even for those with grip issues or with painful hands.

In other words, there are a wide variety of options you can explore before making your decision. For more information, we’d also recommend reading through EBay’s Complete Can Opener Buying Guide and About.com’s list of Arthritis-Friendly Can Openers.

TouCan’s Manufacturer Seems To Have a “Flighty” Reputation

The TouCan Can Opener is manufactured by Telebrands, the largest company within the “As Seen on TV” genre, who makes dozens of other popular ASOTV products, including Hurricane 360 Spin Mop, Grassology, Ankle Genie, and many more. What are HighYa readers saying about these products?

Among more than 200 reviews, these products have an average rating of 1.5 stars here on HighYa, primarily due to complaints of poor quality, not working as expected, and poor customer service experiences. Sure, you might not experience the same with TouCan Can Opener, although it’s certainly worth noting.

Also, it’s important to mention that Telebrands had a C rating with the Better Business Bureau (up from an F rating a couple months ago), based on 1,223 closed complaints. In fact, Telebrands’s BBB accreditation was revoked due to their complaint volume, and the company was investigated by the NJ Attorney General’s office in 2014 for allegedly violating the Consumer Fraud Act. Since this time though, Telebrands appears to have been actively working to clean up their reputation.

TouCan Can Opener Pricing & Refund Policy

One TouCan Can Opener is priced at $19.99 plus free S&H, although you’ll be able to order a second TouCan for an additional $9.99 S&H at checkout.

As with most Telebrands products, the TouCan comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. If you choose the BOGO offer, this means you could lose just as much in S&H charges as you’ll receive as a refund if you’re dissatisfied.

With this in mind, in order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 844-863-0165.

Can the TouCan Can Opener Help You Avoid Painful Hands?

When it comes down to it, the TouCan Can Opener’s 1-touch operation and hands-free capability could realistically help you keep going in the kitchen, without having to worry about painful, throbbing hands—but so can dozens of similar products.

In other words, because you’ll almost certainly have many local options available that are nearly identical, we’d recommend searching local retailers before placing your TouCan Can Opener order. At the very least, this could save you some hard-earned money in lost S&H charges, as well as make the return process as easy as hopping in your car.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 132 TouCan Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 4 1 star:  115
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 132
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 15 people found this review helpful

    This is the best can opener

    You will never find a better opener than this. I wish I had one like this year ago. The person who invented this is a genius.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 24, 2015

      Geraldine Mason

      I really can't believe your statement, sounds rehearsed. I have seen the other comments and it's hard to believe yours works so great! Mine is in the garbage and I'm waiting for the second one to quit. This one has opened 1 can and not opened 2. Not good odds. Then you would recommend it to your friends. Really? You wouldn't have many friends left.

      My point is this product is a piece of junk. These people that sell this product are no different than the medicine salesmen from the old west.

      Definitely would not recommend this product!

    • Nov 26, 2015

      Roxanne,

      Well, mine is still working and I have had it a couple of months now, I went through a set of batteries, but I use it a lot. Yes, I do recommend this opener and have bought some as Christmas presents. Maybe I know how to use it. Your statement was not very kind. If you have nothing nice to say, don't say anything at all.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Noise

    • Monterey, TN,
    • Oct 20, 2015

    When using the TouCan Can Opener it makes a clicking noise besides the normal running sound. Is supposed to happen? Otherwise all seems to work as on commercial.When using the TouCan Can Opener it makes a clicking noise besides the normal running sound. Is supposed to happen? Otherwise all seems to work as on commercial.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 26, 2015

      Jami

      I'm going to guess that it IS supposed to click because mine stopped clicking after about 10 cans and doesn't work anymore.

    • Apr 5, 2018

      Sullivan

      You are eating metal shavings from that openers operation, look at the wheel after you pull the can out and you can see them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    • South Carolina,
    • Dec 16, 2015

    I love my Toucan can opener. In fact I'm thinking of buying four more to give as Christmas gifts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Actually Works Perfectly With A Little Guidance

    • Metairie, LA,
    • Dec 31, 2015

    First of all I will try almost any product. If it does not work perfectly I will complain. The TouCan works perfectly and saves my 81 year old hands. Please note, I have a $1 pair of needle nose pliers and when the TouCan completes its round, I use the needle nose pliers to pull up the top. Also, with pop up cans I open the can from the bottom, since the ring seems to interfere with the TouCan opener. I give the TouCan a full five star rating. None of the dozen other can openers worked -- buy a TouCan and you will be happy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 14, 2016

      Marc C.

      Ok, so if you have to get a pair of needle nosed pliers to assist your can opener with getting the lids off because the magnet doesn't do crap, how is that a 5 star product? You know, not everybody feels comfortable sticking tools in their food. And, not everybody has these tools to stick into their food before they eat it. I have empathy for an 81 year old but I can't sit back and watch a bunch of 81 year olds spend their hard earned money on something you need pliers to make work right. Don't buy this can opener people, it is a rip off. In other words, it costs you over 30 dollars for something that you think is going to do one thing but its going to do another. And that other is it's not going to work without some needle nose pliers to assist it. 5 stars? Really? Just stop trying to con others into wasting their hard to come by money on crap. It simply doesn't work and good luck ever getting 5 bucks back out of your 35 bucks. Just stop it. 5 stars? Again, really? Unbelievable.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Love this can opener/jar opener

    • Shreveport, Louisiana,
    • May 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was hesitant at first getting one, but this product is awesome. I'm 64 years old and has had surgery on both of my hands. This can opener is a life saver with opening cans and opening jars. It just pops the lids on jars so you can open with ease. Also, it is so helpful when the electricity goes out. I want another one for the RV. Thank you TouCan.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 5, 2018

      Sullivan

      You are getting metal shavings in your food can from this device. I am telling you from my own experience, please be advised.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    TouCan

    This is the best can opener I’ve ever owned. If you put it on the can properly, I think others would agree. No more sore hands for me! I am going to get one for my arthritic brother for Christmas.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great can opener

    • Oklahoma,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using this opener for over two years. The only time it didn't work was when the batteries went dead! You can't rush it. Lids can be put back on the can to store unused in the fridge. Draining water is tricky but not impossible.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I give it 6 stars

    • Oregon,
    • Jan 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had a TouCan for about 6 years. It has finally said it is tired. I have a condition where using conventional can openers is very painful. I just purchased new TouCan to have on hand when the first one no longer works. I use the can opener on an average of 2-3 times a day. It has NEVER failed. This is one of the best purchases I have ever made!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    TouCan is hit and miss.

    • Allegany, NY ,
    • Nov 3, 2015

    The product isn't perfect, but it does work. I'd rate it opening most cans at 70% of the time, with a 30% failure rate. I bought it because I have one arm that doesn't function and opening cans is difficult. Regular can openers are very hard to use one handed. A little more engineering behind this product could make it excellent. Worth buying.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Excellent

    • Floral Park, NY,
    • Nov 4, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Great experience, works the first time and every time. It's so easy to use. I'm going to buy one for all of my kids.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Tape the batteries.

    • Hendersonville, NC,
    • Sep 30, 2015

    Tape the batteries in and it will perform ok.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 132

Write a Review for TouCan!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review