About TouCan

Billed as “the world’s easiest hands-free can opener,” the TouCan Can Opener features 1-touch operation, the ability to work on any shape or thickness of can, and an ultra-strong, built-in magnet to keep your lid in place and make disposal a snap. All you have to do is place the TouCan on top of the can, press the button, and your can will be open in seconds, making it an ideal option for those with arthritis or joint pain.

In order to accomplish this, the TouCan Can Opener’s unique outside blade clamp is claimed to use 100 pounds of force to penetrate the can’s seal at precisely the right place and angle, which leaves edges that are smooth and safe (this also allows the lid to pop back on for refrigerator storage). In addition, the TouCan also features a “bottom beak” that can be used to open jars, cans, and bottles

And once you’re finished using your TouCan, the manufacturer claims the can opener is easy to clean and fits into any drawer for easy storage.

If you regularly strain your hand trying to open cans, or find the process too painful, can the TouCan Can Opener help you enjoy everything cooking has to offer, but without the pain? Consider the following:

Hands-On TouCan Test

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel

When It Comes to Hand-Free Can Openers, You Have Options

If you’ve ever encountered an “As Seen on TV” product before, you know that the manufacturers create intensely interesting infomercials to draw you in, and hype their promises with big claims. It’s almost like you can’t look away.

Despite this, the fact is that many ASOTV products are simply slightly different versions of products already widely available on the market, and the TouCan Can Opener appears to be no different. You can see just how many options you have by typing the phrase “hands-free can opener” or “electric can opener” into your favorite search engine.

In fact, the TouCan Can Opener used to be sold under the name Smart Touch fairly recently, so it appears to be a rebranded version of one of the company’s other products.

On top of this, considering the TouCan’s steep, non-refundable S&H charges (more about this shortly), many of these options will likely end up less expensive.

Non-Hands Free Can Opener Options

In addition to hands-free options like the TouCan, keep in mind that a countertop can opener might be a viable option for you, especially if you open a lot of cans on a regular basis.

Granted, many of these options will be too big to store in a drawer, will take up permanent space on your countertop, and won’t be completely hands-free, although they should still provide easy operation, even for those with grip issues or with painful hands.

In other words, there are a wide variety of options you can explore before making your decision. For more information, we’d also recommend reading through EBay’s Complete Can Opener Buying Guide and About.com’s list of Arthritis-Friendly Can Openers.

TouCan’s Manufacturer Seems To Have a “Flighty” Reputation

The TouCan Can Opener is manufactured by Telebrands, the largest company within the “As Seen on TV” genre, who makes dozens of other popular ASOTV products, including Hurricane 360 Spin Mop, Grassology, Ankle Genie, and many more. What are HighYa readers saying about these products?

Among more than 200 reviews, these products have an average rating of 1.5 stars here on HighYa, primarily due to complaints of poor quality, not working as expected, and poor customer service experiences. Sure, you might not experience the same with TouCan Can Opener, although it’s certainly worth noting.

Also, it’s important to mention that Telebrands had a C rating with the Better Business Bureau (up from an F rating a couple months ago), based on 1,223 closed complaints. In fact, Telebrands’s BBB accreditation was revoked due to their complaint volume, and the company was investigated by the NJ Attorney General’s office in 2014 for allegedly violating the Consumer Fraud Act. Since this time though, Telebrands appears to have been actively working to clean up their reputation.

TouCan Can Opener Pricing & Refund Policy

One TouCan Can Opener is priced at $19.99 plus free S&H, although you’ll be able to order a second TouCan for an additional $9.99 S&H at checkout.

As with most Telebrands products, the TouCan comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. If you choose the BOGO offer, this means you could lose just as much in S&H charges as you’ll receive as a refund if you’re dissatisfied.

With this in mind, in order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 844-863-0165.

Can the TouCan Can Opener Help You Avoid Painful Hands?

When it comes down to it, the TouCan Can Opener’s 1-touch operation and hands-free capability could realistically help you keep going in the kitchen, without having to worry about painful, throbbing hands—but so can dozens of similar products.

In other words, because you’ll almost certainly have many local options available that are nearly identical, we’d recommend searching local retailers before placing your TouCan Can Opener order. At the very least, this could save you some hard-earned money in lost S&H charges, as well as make the return process as easy as hopping in your car.


Read 134 TouCan Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 2 3 star: 4 2 star: 4 1 star:  116
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 134
Sort reviews by:

  • 50 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Does not work for me.

    • Pendleton, OR,
    • Aug 14, 2015

    It opened one can but then the gears seem to strip or something. The gripper wheel will turn but when you put it on a can it doesn't move, it just sits and makes noise. I sure feel like a sucker. This is a good company to stay the heck away from.

    I haven't tried calling them about this yet since this is a weekend and I just got it Friday. However, judging by the other reviews I would guess I have been scammed out of my money. If not, I will write another review to explain what takes place.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 44 out 45 people found this review helpful

    TouCan review

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Aug 20, 2015

    8-14-2015, Just received the TouCan can opener in the mail. Put the 4 batteries in and tested it on a unopened can. It did not open the can, not even close. I should have read the reviews before I ordered it. I will never order anything from a TV commercial again. It will go in the garbage immediately.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 41 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Not As Claimed

    I received my can openers in the mail today after waiting 7 weeks. I opened them up and installed the batteries and got a can eagerly to see how well this worked. What a piece of crap. It barely grabbed the can and just set there and ran till I shut it off. I tried three more cans of different sizes and it still did not open a can. What a waste of money. Recommend if you ordered this that you just refuse delivery and send it back for your refund otherwise return shipping will cost as much as the can opener.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 35 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Smart Touch can opener

    • Lowell, MA,
    • Jul 28, 2015

    This TouCan opener seems to be an updated version of the Smart Touch. I had purchased the Smart Touch and it worked pretty good for about six months. After it stopped working, I tried to replace the batteries but that didn't work and I could not get it to work after that. Luckily, the Smart Touch was only $10.00.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 34 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Customer service

    • San Jose,
    • Jul 26, 2015

    I cannot rate the opener yet as I have not received it yet, however, I can tell you that the customer service is terrible. I wanted to check on my order and could not find anyplace online. I was told where to check but there were numerous sites at that website and did not see their's, even though he insisted it was the only one. Along with that, I was told it would be 4-6 weeks before it even ships. I order online all the time and told them I have NEVER heard of a company taking that long just to ship out. I'm very disappointed in this As Seen on TV.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 34 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Biggest Scam Of My Life

    • Aug 8, 2015

    I am so disappointed in myself that I spent this much money on a can opener that DID NOT WORK. I had to use a hammer to assist me in opening a can while trying to use this can opener.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 28 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Piece of crap

    • Glendale, CA,
    • Aug 5, 2015

    We saw how easy it was to open on TV but looks can be deceiving. Don't buy it from TV. Based on our experience, we weren't too happy with the end result.

    When I got the can opener it didn't work. We put in the batteries and it didn't open the cans. The customer service rep was very rude and hung up on me. This company doesn't have customer service and doesn't care about how they treat their customers. They deceived me about this product and never bothered to put an invoice with the order.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    TouCan

    I too ordered the TouCan Opner and waited for quite a while for it to arrive (it probably came with a slow boat from China, I mean that). After putting in four batteries I was ready to open cans, as so I thought. Well it turned and turned, but did not open the can nor any other one I tried. I thought I must be doing something wrong, but after reading the other reviews, I knew better. I think this is fraud, isn't there a law against that?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Both TouCan openers do not open any cans

    • Olympia WA,
    • Oct 5, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't waste your money. I purchased two of these devices - the 2nd was was not exactly free - $9.95 "shipping and handling" was charged.

    I would have been happy to pay for these devices if they had worked. But, unfortunately, neither one worked on any cans. I tried opening several cans with each of the TouCan openers that I received. They both rotated around the cans like the videos show. However, neither of the two openers cut through the metal of the can at any point.

    I believe that this is due to sloppy manufacturing of the TouCan openers. But, given the experience of several others who report similar issues, I will not attempt to spend any more time or money getting replacements. I just chalk it up to experience and will be extra cautious about responding to any more of these TV ads.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    TouCan

    • Baltimore MD,
    • Sep 29, 2015

    Please please DO NOT waste your time or money on this POS. Opened two cans, on third can just sat there making noise. Wish I had read reviews before buying. Bought from Boscov's, it is going right back to store. I would not give this to my worst enemy. A minus gazillion stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    TouCan Opener

    • Massachusetts,
    • Oct 4, 2015

    This product is totally useless. Tried on several cans and even asked my neighbor to try it. Both of us were unsuccessful in opening a can. DO NOT waste your money as I did!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 134

Write a Review for TouCan!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review