About TrackR

Although you may have difficulty finding your wallet or your keys, in today’s market, you definitely won’t have any problem finding products that can help you address this problem, one of the most popular of which is TrackR.

Originally founded in 2009 as Phone Halo, TrackR is a tech startup that specializes in manufacturing low-energy Bluetooth dongles that can attach to an item, which can then be located in seconds using your iPhone or Android smartphone. In fact, with a variety of TrackR devices available, the company claims that they can help you find your dog, wallet, laptop, purse, bike, or nearly anything else.

By claiming that their thin, durable devices offer the simplest way to track all your items, and that you’ll “never lose anything again,” TrackR has managed to raise more than $1.2 million online through Indiegogo crowdfunding campaigns, which have greatly fueled their success. But when it comes down to it, do TrackR Bluetooth dongles have a reputation for working well, or for being rushed to market? Let’s find out below.

The Details Behind How TrackR Works

Currently, TrackR offers 3 different Bluetooth-based dongles:

  • StickR TrackR – A coin-sized device (smaller than a quarter) made of plastic that uses an adhesive to attach to whatever you need.
  • Wallet TrackR – About the size of a credit card, this is an ultra-thin, plastic device that can slip inside your wallet or can be attached to any other commonly misplaced item. Fully customizable, including sound alerts and more.
  • TrackR bravo – TrackR’s newest device, this small, coin-sized device constructed of anodized aluminum attaches to your valuable items. Can be looped through a keying, placed in your wallet, stuck to a laptop or bike, or even worn around your dog’s collar.

Whichever option you choose, your TrackR dongle with work in conjunction with the TrackR app, which is available for iPhone and Android smartphones. Once connected, your phone will attempt to connect to the TrackR dongle via Bluetooth, and will then notify you once it’s been found, as well as its approximate distance. If you’re still unable to locate the item, you can “ring” it by instructing it to emit an audible “beep.” In addition, if your phone gets too far from whatever you have the dongle attached to (e.g. keys, wallet, etc.), TrackR will notify you so you don’t leave it behind.

When compared to the competition, TrackR is attempting to differentiate themselves by implementing “Crowd GPS” technology into their dongles. Ultimately, this means that even if you’re out of Bluetooth range, if another TrackR user comes within 100 feet of the item, you’ll receive an alert of its approximate location. We’ll talk more about this in the final section.

TrackR Pricing & Refund Policy

Each of the 3 TrackR dongles are priced as follows:

StickR (ships in 1-3 weeks):

  • 1 Device Pack: $24.95
  • 2 Device Pack: $39.95
  • 10 Device Pack: $149.95

Wallet (ships in 1-3 weeks):

  • 1 Device Pack: $29.95
  • 2 Device Pack: $39.95
  • 4 Device Pack: $79.95

Bravo (will not ship until 1/7/15):

  • 1 Device Pack: $29
  • 2 Device Pack: $49
  • 5 Device Pack: $95
  • 10 Device Pack: $99

For the TrackR bravo, you can also order custom laser engraving for $10, and an accessory pack (includes pet collar, metal loop, and waterproof shell) for $19. The bravo’s default color is steel, although it’s also available in black, rose gold, or sky blue for an additional $5.

If purchased directly through the company, TrackR dongles comes with free Standard shipping within the U.S.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About TrackR?

Although the TrackR bravo won’t be released until January 7, 2015, the Wallet and StickR models appear to have a fairly evenly mixed online customer reputation, so you could probably expect much of the same for the bravo. Among those who were pleased with their TrackR devices, the most common compliments cited that they were easy to pair and to set up.

However, regardless of the device model (even some of the company’s previous models such as the Cobra Tag), the most common complaints referenced:

  • Poor Bluetooth range (most users found it to be in the 10-20 feet range, versus the 100 feet advertised by TrackR).
  • Frequent disconnections (and the alerts that come along with it). In fact, some users reported having to turn this feature off because of the constant alerts, even if their phones were within a couple feet of the device.
  • That the location feature doesn’t always work properly (e.g. the app may show your item as being several blocks away when it’s actually in the same room).

Is the TrackR Helpful for Finding Lost Items, or Will it Make You Lose Your Mind in Frustration?

If you’re prone to losing small, important items such as your wallet or keys, can TrackR devices help you remain a little more organized? Perhaps, but keep the following in mind before placing your order:

Limited Usefulness

First and foremost, depending on your needs, TrackR devices may not ultimately be very useful for you. This is because once you’re out of Bluetooth range, the TrackR app will only show you the last known location of the item you’re monitoring. As such, if the item was stolen and moved from its last known location, this information may not do you any good.

Speaking of Bluetooth range: When testing their devices, numerous customers claimed that it took the TrackR app several minutes to establish a Bluetooth connection with the dongle. This could mean that, even if you know the last general location of the item you’re looking for, it could take a long time for the app to connect to it, and to send a “beep” to help you find it. As such, going room-to-room around your house looking for lost wallet or keys may turn into a very time-consuming process.

Crowd GPS Only Works with a Crowd

Next, the key differentiator from the competition is TrackR’s Crowd GPS, which claims to alert you any time another user comes within 100 feet of your item, which could help you locate it once you’re out of Bluetooth range. However, this first requires an enormous number of TrackR users in order to be even slightly useful.

To address this concern, the company recently released 100,000 of its devices to the public, although only time will tell the actual number it takes to be useful, and whether or not this number is attainable in the first place.

Bottom line: Will You Find Your Lost Wallet?

Like most technology products, “breakthroughs” such as TrackR can often take generations to be dialed in and to work as well as they’re advertised. With this in mind, although the company appears to be constantly improving, TrackR devices may be ideal for tech-savvy early adopters, but the rest of us may want to wait until the technology is improved before handing over our hard-earned money.


Read 210 TrackR Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 4 1 star:  201
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 210
Sort reviews by:

  • I don't know what all these 1-stars are all about.

    • By Kenny,
    • Aug 19, 2015

    Trackr works great. I own several and have only ever had problem with one of them, which they replaced when I complained.

    If you look at the vast majority of reviews on this site, you'll see that they are all 1-stars. What a sad model to try and bring in traffic so you can profit off your AdSense campaign by trashing other, legitimate businesses.

    This site is the type of scum that Google is trying to get rid of. Nice spam backlinks by the way, I'll be reporting you. Go focus on Clear TV why don't you?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great product!

    I ordered my TrackR devices during the Black Friday sale. They arrived quickly, and were very easy to setup and use. I kept a few devices for myself, and gave the rest away as gifts for the holiday season. Everyone I gave them to is very impressed, and loves them as well. I did have a few issues getting my separation alerts to work, but I emailed customer support and they responded right away, and helped me get the alerts working properly.

    I love my devices, and am already planning on purchasing more!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Seems legit

    • By Al,
    • Redwood City, CA,
    • Aug 2, 2015

    I ordered a week ago, and it arrived today (total time from order placement was 5 business days). I'm not sure about all the 1 star reviews indicating they never got product after several months. I ordered a 3-pack of the basic TrackR Bravo (silver, no custom engraving or anything). Too early to tell how well it works so the recommendation is only for the fact that this company appears legit, vs. actual long-term product functionality & quality.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Works pretty good

    • By John Carr,
    • Cascade, MT,
    • Aug 10, 2015

    The first thing I wanted to mention is that I ordered three TrackR units but received six. Not thinking they were worth much of value, I tried this on several items including Mike, he's my remote control and my wife's purse. I found that these work as advertised although there were a couple of the units that had problems connecting. The resolution was simply to open the battery case and close it. After that the TrackR sank beautifully. I am doubtful that it will last a year on the battery life, but I am curious to see how long it will last.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Likely a quality issue, not a scam

    • By Mark,
    • Minnesota,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    I ordered through Amazon and received the Tracker in 2 days (Prime). On the basis of my single Trackr, I believe that the problem is manufacturing quality, not a scam or a design issue. It seemed to work OK, right out of the package, and installation of the app and then activation of the link turned out to be very easy. But then after a few minutes my phone couldn't connect with it. It was delivered in sub-zero temperature and left on the porch for 8 hours, so I thought the batteries might be dead. Online FAQs for "batteries dead on arrival," though, suggested taking them out and putting them back in. That, to me, indicated a problem with connectors, not a problem with batteries. The batteries tested out as good, and in fact the device re-established the connection even as I just started to pull out the battery tray. So I think the problem is just a connector issue. I'll try some sort of work-around (maybe bending the connectors to maintain stronger contact) before giving up and sending the Trackr back to Amazon. If it's not just the connectors, but a glitch in the circuitry causing a disconnect every few minutes, the product will be totally useless.

    Oh, by the way, the phone app did locate my Trackr as near the airport, 40 miles from here, as the "last seen at" spot, with a time that corresponded to my installation of the app. So the "locate my Trackr" is probably not going to be really accurate. But who knows? Maybe the intermittent connection of the batteries during installation caused the malfunction.

    I look forward to seeing a later version that has better quality assurance. It still seems like a worthwhile product.

    Oh, one final complaint: the sound that the Trackr emits is so quiet and so high in frequency (a rising tone, starting high and going very high) that someone with music-damaged ears like mine can't hear it more than 8-10 feet away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Useless novelty

    • By Jeff,
    • Hubbard, OR,
    • Dec 30, 2014

    Range very limited. Much less than 100 ft. It's the new "Clapper".

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 18, 2015

      Company Response from TrackR Inc

      Hi Jeff, Bluetooth range can be limited by your phone's Bluetooth. Our support team is happy to help - support@thetrackr.com


  • Not what I expected

    • By Sam,
    • Montgomery, AL,
    • Jul 20, 2015

    I guess it's my fault for ordering before actually doing to research first. The crowd GPS feature only works if there are other TrackR users in the area. I live in Montgomery, Alabama the least tech city in the world so the likely chance that there is another user in my town that would be able to sync up with my device is very slim to none.

    It's more of a gimmick than an actual useful device.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 18, 2015

      Company Response from TrackR Inc

      Hi Sam, Our team is happy to help you with any questions you have on the product or arrange for a return. support@thetrackr.com


  • Promises, promises…

    • By Barry D,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jul 4, 2015

    Much like the others, I ordered and paid for a TrackR package last November at which the time shipment was due in January. Around that time, they announced issues with the product and would push delivery to March. I contacted them in April and they stated they were shipping based on order date. Now it is the end of June and nothing yet. While I am not convinced it is a scam, it is a very poorly run company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ordered 5 in January, got 1 in July

    • By Rick C,
    • Gilbert AZ,
    • Jul 17, 2015

    I ordered 3 to get 2 free, but they changed my order to 1 and then charged me $34. My order was placed in January 2015. My Card was charge in February 2015. I kept getting emails about how my device would be here next month and next month. Finally, July 2015 I got it. Don't want to wait until 2016 so I will stick with the one device. My secretary bought something like it at Walmart for $15.00. Does the exact same thing.

    If these jokers want a business, they need to get there own funding and not rely on someone else to build enough revenue to have China make it for them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never Shipped

    • By Tim Sanchez,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 12, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered on March 29th. Was led to believe the devices would ship at the end of April. Order has never shipped and I have never received an update from the company on my order status.

    Requested a refund via their website; will just issue a chargeback on my credit card if they don't respond.

    I had high expectations for it, but from the reviews I've read from people that actually got their Bravos, the product is pretty bad.

    Just read one of their support questions about the device constantly chirping: one of their recommendations is to put two pieces of scotch tape inside the device: http://support.thetrackr.com/hc/en-us/articles/201543297-StickR-TrackR-Constantly-Chirping-Or-Ringing

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You'll find your lost item before you'll get anything but your money stolen!

    • By Pete,
    • East coast,
    • Jan 5, 2015

    A scam all around. There is no product, no refund, no customer service, and no contact. This is a complete scam. But if you don't believe me, by all means fund the crime and buy one. Heck, buy 10 if you have that kind of cash to throw out. You'll never see your device or your money again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 210

Write a Review for TrackR!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
TrackR