Trim Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Trim

Overall Rating

1.6

33 Customer Reviews

Summary

Consumers looking for a platform that can help them track spending and cut costs will enjoy the variety of data tools and bill/car insurance negotiation that new app Trim provides for its users. But what are customers saying so far?

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.6 Stars out of 33 Reviews
5 Star:12% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:3% 1 Star:78%
12% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Trim:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Nov 25, 2020

They refunded my money

By Aron W., Denver, CO, Verified Reviewer

Trim refunded my money. It took a few days, but I received a full refund. They get 3 stars for that I suppose.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 16, 2020

2/14/2020 UPDATE

By Erinn W., California, Verified Reviewer

Trim decided to respond to the above review 10 months after I posted it and this is my response to them.

For everyone to see, they posted the same crap answer they gave me when I was having issues with them of basically to give it time to take effect.

When I was discussing everything myself with Sprint, the price lowering happened IMMEDIATELY, not several months later. I had everything in transcript form with Sprint that verified there was no record of any negotiation that happened anywhere near the time frame that Trim had claimed there to be. In fact, the only negotiation on record was the same date and time that I had spoken with Sprint.

Trim thought it necessary to respond to this review not only 10 months after I posted it, but also still continuing to claim that they were valid in trying to charge me more money for services not provided (adding up to $60 total). They have awful customer service and this is exactly why I had them refund all my money in the first place and cancel my account because they were not honest.

There were conversations with Trim where they said one thing in one email and then within the next few emails, they claimed no one had said it. If I didn't keep the detailed records of every conversation I had with both Trim and Sprint, and if I didn't check my bank account as often as I did, I would be screwed out of at least $60, plus I would be paying more for my phone bill on top of it. I literally had to send screen-shots of "their own emails to me* that I had highlighted what they had said to me.

TL;DR Amendment to my original review would be to FLAT OUT to not use this service.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 17, 2019

Messed up Comcast bill, charged me, and wouldn't reverse it

By Tim S., Cottage Grove, MN, Verified Reviewer

They attempted to renegotiate my bill with Comcast and messed it up, causing unwanted equipment to be sent, which I had to go return. I had to call Comcast myself and fix my account. That's fine. But when I contacted Trim's customer support to tell them that, they wanted documentation that Comcast never sent. Any attempts to tell Trim that were met with silence. Next thing I know, Trim is claiming they saved me $400 and are gonna take $100 of it. I've disputed the charge with my credit card and filed a complaint with the BBB.

DON'T USE THIS SERVICE!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from

Feb 11, 2020

This user sent in 5 emails to our support desk since November 19 regarding a negotiation we completed on his Comcast bill recently. He let us know that the savings we reported back to him was incorrect and said that he had to call Comcast to undo the changes we made. The agent assisting the user responded on November 21, requesting that all we needed to resolve the issue was a confirmation (or a screenshot of the changes) so that she could request approval for a refund. We did not hear back from the user.

The agent followed up again on Nov 22, Nov 25, Nov 27 and on Dec 2 let the user know that we are closing the ticket for no response. The user opened a new support request on Dec 2 letting us know again that Trim messed up the account and we responded on December 3 with details about the negotiation, showing the user what we negotiated and also that we stayed within the user preferences selected when the user enrolled the bill. We also let him know that all we needed to conclude the issue was something showing he has made changes since our negotiation. There was again no response from the user, and the agent closed the ticket again on December 9 to which the user responded in his ratings feedback that we were not getting his responses.

The user opened another support ticket on December 9. At this point, first we first established that the user was receiving our messages, and once we were sure he did, showed him screenshots of our previous messages to him and again let him know that all he needed to do was to forward confirmation that the plan had been changed after our negotiation.

The user sent the screenshot we first requested on November 21 to us on Wednesday, December 11 and we processed his refund the following day.

We trust the issue has been resolved, but the agent that has been assisting the user throughout will touch base again next week to make sure that the refund has been received.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 11, 2019

Raised my phone bill and charged me for the privilege

By Nathan W., Virginia, Verified Reviewer

I signed up with Trim thinking it was a clever idea and a cool service. I have used account managers for some of my businesses with similar business models (they get you reimbursed and take a portion of the recouped amount for themselves).

I was pretty happy when they informed me they lowered my Verizon family plan by about $40/month, charging me $160 or so for the fee.

Until I realized they hadn't actually saved me anything. They basically switched us to a new plan that was $40 more expensive but with a $40 discount applied. So basically it is a wash (actually the bill is about $2/month higher) and stole the $160 fee from me.

Absolutely disgraceful company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from

Feb 12, 2020

We negotiated $483.12 worth of yearly savings on this user’s Verizon bill on October 11, 2019. The user wrote to our support desk on November 7 letting us know that his bill is higher instead of lower. We immediately escalated the issue but when attempting to follow up with Verizon, we needed additional information that the user refused to share. As a courtesy, we issued a full refund on the success fee.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Sep 17, 2019

Overcharges, ruined my wireless plan - spent money using Trim!

By Jonathan E., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

I went with Trim to track down some recurring charges. If you're looking to wipe some forgotten monthly charges, DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE! I ended up letting them "negotiate" my Verizon plan, this is where it all went to crap.

Basically, they claimed to have saved me $16, so they charged me over $70 one month claiming that they negotiated my bill. Well, as it turns out, they didn't negotiate anything. They just called and changed my plan. Which invalidated a legacy promotion that can't be placed back on the account, and invalidated me from reentering at the old plan.

All in all, they raised my Verizon bill $32/month, which makes no sense. They saved me $16, but when I refuse their service, suddenly my bill goes up DOUBLE what was saved? Interesting.

I can't get any of the promotions back and am currently in the hassle of trying to get credits for the extra charges they incurred onto my account.

0/10, do not recommend.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from

Feb 12, 2020

We negotiated a yearly saving of $219.56 for this user on April 9, 2019, but on April 30 he let us know that instead of getting savings, his bill will higher by $90 a month. In our follow-up with Verizon, they confirmed the savings we negotiated and confirmed the user’s bill would not be higher. We communicated this to the user, who then let us know that his plan was downgraded. We escalated the issue again and reverted the user’s plan and also refunded the success fee we charged in full. The user responded the next day asking us to stop making and further changes to his all associated accounts because we caused a $140 prorated charge. We followed up with Verizon again who assured us the user would not be charged $140.

Four months later, we heard from the user again on September 9 asking to be reimbursed for the extra money his Verizon bill would cost. We showed the user that we had already reimbursed him in full on April 16 and asked him to forward us his bill showing the additional charges. At that time, the user had already deleted his Trim account and we needed additional information to be able to follow up to get the issue resolved, but the user did not respond to our messages after that.

We recognize that things went wrong during this negotiation and apologized to the user. We would still like to invite him to reconnect with us through our helpdesk if the issue is still not resolved, with the information we need to move forward. His deleted account poses a hurdle that we can’t overcome unless he helps us with some information so that we can reach out to Verizon again.

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 5, 2019

I know nothing about finance and Trim has educated me more in finance than 2

By Charles O., Whitefish Bay, WI, Verified Reviewer

I have a million things to say that are positive about Trim but I'll only say a few. They have helped me understand how to budget even when I don't know what I'm looking at. Kevin, my personal finance advisor, has made budgeting simple. My schedule is very very busy and by utilizing Trim it has made life not so busy when I come home and not have time to manage anything except a shower, dinner, and bed.

The Trim team has guided me verbally and taken my interest to heart and have helped me come out of a bad slump I was in for years and just barely surviving.

They are a new company and there was an issue with the website I was having but they are in constant contact with me about the updates to see if the problem is fixed. Customer Service is serious to them and I do thank them for being responsible for their product unlike other companies who put you on hold when they find out you already use their product. (In those cases, I just hit the new customer button instead of waiting 40 minutes on the line to talk to someone named bob from India.) At Trim I get a response within 24 hours...actually sooner but it just depends on when I have time to get on my phone or the internet.

Either way; their customer service is outstanding; the staff is amazing and I am in a good position now financially even though life has thrown a curveball at me thanks to Kevin. I am now prepared to handle this storm. If you are reading this review, give it a chance and utilize the platform for what it is. I have and have been nothing but happier every day for making the decision to get help/advice.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from

Feb 12, 2020

Hi Charles, we're so glad to have been able to help. Thanks for leaving us a review. We look forward to finding you more savings!

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 30, 2019

Trim messed up my Optimum services big time

By Lee F., Norwalk, CT, Verified Reviewer

Trim worked fine renegotiating my Optimum cable bill twice. Yesterday, however, they blew it. They lowered my bill by canceling services that I want and need, like my subscriptions to HBO, Showtime, and my TELEPHONE. So they wrote that they are saving me $56 per month, but they took away services to save money. It is IMPOSSIBLE to get hold of anyone in customer support, especially on a weekend, so it looks like I'm going to have to straighten it out with Optimum and then make sure Trim doesn't bill me for the amount they said they saved. I have no idea why they did not ask for my approval first and I can't find any settings in my account to account for this, but be very, very careful if you use this service - don't let them do anything without your permission.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from

Feb 13, 2020

We completed a negotiation for this user on August 22. The user’s preferences were set that we could accept plan changes on his behalf but we made no changes to his plan.

However, the user let us know the following day (a Friday) that there was a problem with the negotiation, but as the user noted, we have limited support over weekends, and we responded to the user on August 26 (Monday). The user let us know the same day that he has reverted any changes and we let him know on August 27 (the very next day) that we have waived the fee.

There are human beings on both sides of the negotiation process, and therefore there is always the potential for something going wrong. Although we can’t guarantee that things will always go perfectly, we do work very quickly, as we did for this user, when a negotiation has errors. We hope that the user accepts our apology for the mistake and trust that the issue has been fully resolved.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 30, 2019

My Comcast bill went up!

By Kim C., Lancaster, PA, Verified Reviewer

I already have budgeting and account tracking, so I signed up for Trim for the bill negotiation. At first it seemed great - my Verizon charges were slightly reduced and I had a pretty nice credit to my Comcast/Xfinity bill. After a few months, Trim went for a second round of negation and my Comcast bill is now $20 more per month, with no change in service. Would have been better just leaving it alone!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from

Feb 14, 2020

We are sorry to hear that this user experience increases in the Comcast bill. Unfortunately, we are not able to find any support requests in our system for the user but when looking into our system, we find three successful negotiations last year in which we were able to negotiate some one-time credits for the user in March and April.

We had more attempts to find some savings until the user deleted their Trim account last year.

Trim has no affiliation with any of the service providers to be able to control when they will issue increases and unfortunately we can’t guarantee that we will find savings at every negotiation. What we do promise is that we work very hard to find savings and are always looking for ways to lower the bill.

We would welcome another opportunity to work on some savings for this user if she would like to enroll her bill into the service again.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 21, 2019

Amazing!

By Melissa S., Connecticut, Verified Reviewer

Amazing service. I just sit back and let them negotiate my bills. They have saved me hundreds of dollars! They monitor my spending and report to me daily. I am very happy. Love it. Great service, highly recommend!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from

Feb 12, 2020

Hi Melissa. Thank you so much for the positive review. We are thrilled that we have been able to save you some money!

Posted on Aug 7, 2019

Wish I would have read these reviews before I signed up

By L R., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

I'm very disappointed in this service. The credit card negotiation was completely useless, and I didn't receive any savings at all. First of all, I didn't see the success rates until after I paid which is unfortunate because I'm not sure I would have signed up knowing that this was the rates. I at least would have liked to know before choosing to pay.

Not only that, the advisor sent me a Google form to fill out which already contained all the information I put in the Trim app. I didn't want to waste my time refilling the information, but then when my advisor called, I had to tell her all the same info again. Really inefficient.

The noise was so bad on the call and my advisor spoke so quietly I could barely understand her, and neither could any of the banks. It was really embarrassing. She was basically reading from a script, that she then sent me. I was expecting more of a trained person who understands cards and knew the nuances of each company and was able to use that to remove fees or lower APRs, I could have called myself and read from a script.

Also, before she even called any of the banks, she warned me that asking for credit line increases or mentioning hardships can cause creditors to hit your credit score or close your card, neither of which were mentioned in the sign up process so that was 50% of the services I was interested in, gone.

I think there should be way more transparency in this service and product. Show the limitations and be honest with the level of expertise the reps have. Provide a quiet location for them to work. I was really excited for this service as I'm trying to aggressively pay down debt and it looks like I am better off on my own.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from

Feb 13, 2020

We are very sorry to hear that this user had a poor experience. Without much identifiable information with the review, we can’t look into this deeper to see what has transpired, but it doesn’t sound like the type of experience Trim strives to create for our users. We are so sorry things went wrong.

We want to invite the user to write our support desk help@asktrim.com if there is anything more specific that we could assist with.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 13, 2019

Worst experience ever!

By Steve L., California, Verified Reviewer

There is NO customer service with this company...so if you have a problem (which I do) you can only email them and wait 1-2 business days. While I did that over 2 days ago, they still went ahead and "negotiated" a bill for me, after writing to them NOT TO. Now they've charged my credit card for their percentage, but the bill (Verizon) I had already negotiated myself. Now they seem to be taking credit for that. I DO NOT RECOMMEND Trim. So, now I've filed a dispute on my credit card, but who knows what will happen. I am about ready to hit the Better Business Bureau to see if there is any recourse I can take there. Bottom line: STAY AWAY.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from

Feb 14, 2020

We completed a negotiation for this user on May 28 but heard from the user a few days later that he believed the credit was for some services they recently canceled. We received the request on a Friday and responded to the user the following Monday, letting him know how to proceed when we potentially negotiated at the same time or for the same credit. We didn’t hear back from the user about the message we sent, but the user opened another support request a few days later, saying that he had disputed the charge. At that point, we had already established that the savings we negotiated were not related to the services the user canceled, and the negotiation was successful. However, as a one-time courtesy, we refunded the success fee a week prior to this review.

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 11, 2019

Careful with 12-month commitments. Immediate expense without savings.

By Ralph M., Sunnyvale, CA, Verified Reviewer

Mixed results. Happy to pay the 25% for negotiated savings immediately effective, such as a discount for an internet outage.

Be careful if they "negotiate" a 12-month agreement. You will be billed right away before actually realizing the savings over 12 months. This means, additional expenses and no savings for a few months. I contacted customer service by e-mail but did not get a reply.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from

Feb 14, 2020

We are very sorry to hear that this user had a less than ideal experience. Looking into our system, though, we are not able to find any support requests for this user. Unfortunately, without much identifiable information with the review, we can’t look into this deeper to see what has transpired, but we are very sorry that the users didn’t have a great experience using Trim.

We explained during the signup process how it works. In short, with Bill Negotiation, we negotiate savings on your behalf on an ongoing basis and if we manage to secure you some credits, we keep 33 % of the yearly savings. The success fee is charged to the credit card the user enrolled in bill negotiations, usually within a week after a successful negotiation and the credits will post to their account in the first two billing cycles following the negotiation.

We also include this information in the confirmation email the user receives after signup. We are sorry that the process was not clearer at signup. Should the user cancel their service with their service provider before getting the full year's savings, they just need to forward us the cancellation confirmation (or their final bill) and we will refund the appropriate portion of the success fee affected by recurring credits.

We want to invite the user to write our support desk help@asktrim.com if there is anything more specific that we could assist with.

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 21, 2019

Trim is a fraudulent company - do not use!

By Matt A., California, Verified Reviewer

Trim claims they have saved me $414 on my AT&T bill. They have taken $176 from my account. I called AT&T to confirm that there will be savings on my account, to which they replied as follows:

"I cannot see any savings that will apply on your account in the near future that will save you any money. There have been no changes on your AT&T accounts in regards to any offers that would save you any money in the upcoming months. Your account remains unchanged."

Trim's $10 service is a scam. Complete and utter fraud. Do not use this service.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from

Feb 18, 2020

The user wrote to our support desk in January after a completed bill negotiation, requesting that we split the success fee over three months. In February we negotiated again and the user questioned why we negotiated so soon after the previous negotiation. During this support session, we let the user know that some of the notifications he was getting were because we previously split the charge. The extra notification caused confusion and our agent could have done better setting the user’s expectations after we split the charge. In March, the user let us know that his bill is significantly higher after our negotiation. At that time, we also discovered that we incorrectly charged the user previously and refunded him in full for bill negotiation and also for the monthly fees for the Trim Premium service. Things went wrong when we tried to negotiate this bill and we are very sorry for the subsequent hassle but trust that we have the issue fully resolved after refunding all the fees we have charged.

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 27, 2019

Zero customer service

By Erin K., San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

This is an online platform with no app. Because of this, there is never a real customer service person to talk to. The "trim bot" does whatever it wants, and if you tell it not to, or cancel service, etc., it will still do what it wants to do. Then, you are charged for the bot "helping" you when in most cases I’ve discovered, it costs you much more.

I went all in and set up a savings account. Even after turning off automatic withdraws (and receiving the confirmation email) money is still being taken out of my account, plus $2/month for using the savings service.

I have attempted to contact their help email every other day for the past two weeks and have never received a response. The bot is no help here either; you will never be contacted with a real person.

I plan on filing a complaint with the BBB, which I’ve never done in my life, so please, stay away from this service!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from

Feb 18, 2020

The user wrote to our support desk requesting that we delete her Trim account on February 23. A Trim agent assisted her the next day.

A few months later, we discovered something was wrong when we saw messages the user had left on Facebook about the issue, which at that time was not covered by our support team. We apologized to the user on May 29 when we discovered that there was a problem and refunded the fees we charged. We also assisted with deleting the account.

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 11, 2019

Quite a nightmare

By Josefina G., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

I signed up for Trim expecting to SAVE money. They got into my AT&T account and supposedly "negotiated" some changes. I got a mere $10 discount, only for ONE MONTH. I had asked Trim to not go ahead and not charge me (as instructed in their notification that said to send them an email if I did not want this deal and pay them $157 (!) for my $100 AT&T bill, that used to be between $108 and $124 before they "negotiated"). Needless to say, the email was not responded to until many days later, when they said the deal happened and they could not now access my AT&T account to send them something to enter (???), and they would put the charge on hold (their charge).

I forgot about it. I told them to not charge, to refund if they did, and to leave my AT&T account alone. Today, magically a $157 charge was made to my American Express, by Trim. I sent them an email with my AT&T bill and requested a refund. Since there is no negotiated discount in the amounts they said they did ($630 annual savings? Really?). I will dispute this charge since it is a charge for no service. Especially as I asked to NOT GO AHEAD with the service. I deleted my account from Trim, regardless, they submitted this charge, despite emails exchanged. It is frustrating.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 29, 2018

Horrible service

By Dana A., Verified Reviewer

They charged me $50 without saving me anything.

They charged me without notifying me.

They scam people.

Don’t use them. I had to call my bank to stop their payment. But they still have my account number and routing number.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 23, 2018

Might Work For Those Not Paying Attention

By Joshua J., Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

Nowhere near the level of transparency needed for this. My cable bill was “Negotiated” by changing levels of service and now thanks to Trim (and an equally opaque cable company) I have absolutely no idea what service I have or frankly what I'm paying, just a nice Trim charge to my credit card.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 8, 2018

Worst ripoff of the century

By Ty D., Denver, CO, Verified Reviewer

The system claimed to have saved me over $300 for a yearly subscription. I waited a few months and noticed my bill had lowered by a whopping $2. This company charged me $108 (1/3 of my supposed yearly savings). I have contacted them and their canned email responses never allow you to get through to anyone. There are countless others who have experienced the same thing. Do not trust your money with them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 31, 2018

Said they'd saved me, but they didn't

By Peter V., West Palm Beach, FL, Verified Reviewer

Recently I received an email from AskTrim that they'd saved me $1,010 over the last year and that they'd charge me 25% of that savings ($252.50). While I'd only been noticing my Xfinity bill going up every month. So I looked at my Xfinity account and I noticed I had exactly the same plan as before with absolutely NO promotional or discounted rate.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 30, 2018

Avoid at all costs! They are identity thieves!

By Ingrid O., Van Nuys, CA, Verified Reviewer

I received an email from Trim letting me know they were negotiating my cable bill with Spectrum. I am grandfathered into my previous contract with Time Warner before they merged with Spectrum. This allows me to DVR six programs at a time. The new Spectrum service does not allow that, which is why I opted to stay with the Time Warner plan for as long as I am able to.

So I got an email from them letting me know they had negotiated down my bill. Initially, I was happy until I found out that what they had done was actually change my service to the new Spectrum cable plan. I found this out when Spectrum sent me an email confirming that they were sending me new equipment for me to install my new plan. Fortunately, I was able to call Spectrum and cancel the new agreement, restoring the service I already have and want to keep.

I was incredibly disturbed to hear from the Spectrum customer service representative that "I" had called to make the change to the service. I had done nothing of the sort. Later I was contacted by a supervisor who had listened to the call that came from Trim (not a chatbot but a human female) and the call I had made to cancel, and she verified that the person who had called had identified herself as me.

I have sent two messages to Trim customer service and have received no response other than to say that one of my messages has been merged with the other.

I am seriously considering filing a report with the Better Business Bureau and possibly the FBI for identity theft. Negotiating bills is one thing; impersonating me to do it is a felony.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 44 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 25, 2018

Update

By Dale W., Newnan, GA, Verified Reviewer

They do get you good savings, but if you already have them, they will take credit for the whole amount.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 15, 2018

Trim will extend and renew contracts without consultation or notification

By Brent P., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I received an email from my television provider stating that I had excepted an offer from them that would save me $40 per month. Sounds great, I thought! The only problem is that the Trim agent extended my contract with without my knowledge or consent. I canceled the contract with the provider but was still being charged by Trim. I did NOT agree to allow a third party to negotiate the extension of contracts, so I canceled Trim and went about getting a refund. The representative I have been emailing states that their agent did not extend the contract; I was just given the discount for "loyalty." However, I have an email that I received the day this happened that CLEARLY states "This offer was redeemed on 09/05/18. Your $40.00 promotional credits will last the duration of your new 12-month agreement that expires on 09/04/19."

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 11, 2018

Saved me $440 on my Sprint and AT&T bill

By Cindy M., White Lake, MI, Verified Reviewer

I just started using Trim about a month ago, and they already saved me $440 on my bills per year. Although I have to pay them 33% of what they save me, I feel that it’s still a great deal because I would still be paying those inflated bills right now. I was skeptical, so I called Sprint to confirm that I actually got the discount and it took me about an hour to get through to anyone to confirm. I am sure I would not have called and spent the time to get those discounts on my own. I also appreciate that they can see what subscriptions I have so I can figure out if there something I’m paying for that I don’t use. I also like that they tell me when bills are due and how much they are. Also, it alerts me to some large purchases which, is also nice.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 24, 2018

Can't be trusted

By Denis S., Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

Trim was to negotiate my contract with SiriusXM down and they claimed the money was refunded to me for early cancelation were savings. I would have received this refund, even if I canceled and renewed at the same or higher rates. It's not huge and could have been an honest mistake, but I wouldn't trust sensitive information for a company to have such mistakes. Trim has still a long way to go to understand that trust is the most valuable asset in finance.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 18, 2018

Saved money but halved my data plan

By Lori H., Texas, Verified Reviewer

Trim negotiated my AT&T wireless plan but halved my data. Two weeks after they changed my plan, I got notices from AT&T that I'd maxed out my monthly data usage. Trim claimed to have saved me $600+ for the year (and charged me $150ish to do it), but within less than one billing cycle, I had to re-renegotiate my plan for myself with AT&T. I absolutely don't recommend Trim and will try to block their charge with my credit card company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 11, 2018

They won't actually negotiate your bill

By Robert W., Acworth, GA, Verified Reviewer

I had a Trim account for several months and they never actually tried to negotiate my Comcast bill. I received several notifications saying it would be "a few more days" until I was processed in the queue, but that never happened even though I gave them permission to negotiate on my behalf. They're scraping bank account information and probably selling it to other companies in order to feed their bottom line. They don't actually serve customers. The constant instant messages on Facebook are also really annoying. Avoid this service at all costs.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 19, 2018

Scammers, beware of giving your info!

By Venky I., Denver, CO, Verified Reviewer

Worst service ever. They charged me for saving money on a service that I had already canceled. They sent me an email in July 2018 saying they saved me money on my AT&T bill. I was shocked since I had canceled my pricey AT&T service to a cheaper service from Cricket!

They are scammers and should not be trusted with financial information. They have no live chat or phone numbers to call anyone, just an email service which is not monitored that well either.

A total WASTE of MONEY! Run away from them!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 33

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.