About Trim

By J.R. Duren
HighYa Staff
Published on: Dec 15, 2017

Trim is a financial tool that tracks your spending and subscriptions and will use their in-house methods to negotiate your cable bills and save you money.

The platform is very similar to Clarity Money in the sense that it provides you a good overview of what’s happening with your finances. The main differentiator is the bill negotiation, something we’ll talk about later in this review.

Trim was launched in 2015 by Thomas Smyth and Daniel Petkevich. Before Trim, Smyth worked at a couple of investment firms that focused on start-ups. Petkevich worked for The Climate Corporation, Octane Lending, and popular home-listing site Redfin.

According to an article from The Penny Hoarder, Smyth said he started Trim as a way to automate saving consumers money.

His mother had a Comcast account and he found out Comcast had been slowly raising her rates. Smyth talked with Comcast and saved his mom almost $40 a month.

That experience led him to believe he could build a bot that could negotiate with cable companies on your behalf, mainly because Comcast’s online chat reps used scripted responses to negotiate with customers who were unhappy with their bill.

“My grandmother was overpaying by $35 a month for Comcast, because they had raised her rate a little bit each year for the past decade,” Smyth said. “I negotiated my grandmother’s bill (saving her $420 per year) and wondered if there was a way to do that automatically.”

Does Trim really live up to the claims that it can save you money? How does the platform work? Those are questions that we wanted to answer in an effort to help you understand how Trim can help you.

Signing Up for Trim

Getting a new account with Trim is very simple. You can do it in less than three minutes and all you need to provide is your name and address, then sign into the financial account you want to link to Trim.

Using Trim: The Most Important Features

Your account page is split up into three different sections: tools, Your Wallet and Transactions/Monthly Charges.

Tools

In the tools section of your Trim account, you’ll find three tiles that offer the platform’s services. First, you have what’s called the Comcast Defense tile. This is the tool you’ll use to see if Trim’s negotiating bot can lower your cable bill.

To use this tool, you’ll have to provide Trim with your login information and the card you’re using to pay for your cable bill.

According to Trim, they’ll work on your behalf to negotiate your price. If they are able to win you a discount, then they’ll take 25% of what you save each month. We signed up for the service but had not heard any updates when this review was published.

Here is a list of some of the cable companies that Trim could negotiate with at the time of publishing:

  • AT&T
  • CenturyLink
  • Comcast
  • Cox
  • DirectTV
  • Dish Network
  • T-Mobile
  • Verizon
  • Time Warner
  • Sprint
  • Google Fiber

As you can see from the list, Trim will negotiate with more than just cable companies. They’ll also try and talk mobile and internet companies down.

Another tool Trim offers is a car insurance optimizer. This works in the same way that a car insurance aggregator functions. It searches various insurance companies to find you the lowest rates.

In order to get Trim to find your best rates, you’ll have to provide Trim with the login information for your auto insurance account.

The final tool in this section is the ability to customize your “Personal Alerts”. This section is similar to the alerts you set up with your credit card or bank account. You have the option of choosing which alerts you get and the transaction amount that triggers the alert.

Here are the following transactions that can trigger alerts:

  • Payday
  • Overdraft fee
  • Late fee
  • Balance update
  • Credit card usage
  • Large transactions

Trim also gives you the option of sending alerts when your checking account balance drops below a dollar value you set.

Your Wallet

This section is where you keep track of your checking, credit card and savings balances associated with the bank account that you linked.

Each one of the balances included in this section has a sub-menu where you can check out the account’s balance over time, spending on the account and the ability to hide the account from view.

Keep in mind that the “balance over time” feature won’t pull up balances from before you started your Trim account. It needs a few days of data to populate the graph.

When you click on “spending on this account”, you’ll be moved to the Transactions/Monthly Charges section.

Transactions/Monthly Charges

This section shows you all the recent transactions you’ve made because it defaults to the Transactions tab. The Monthly Charges tab shows you the recurring charges you have: Netflix and Hulu are examples.

The real power of this part of Trim is the “See More” button, which takes you to a pop-up that allows you to see your transactions one of four ways: most recent, largest, merchant and category.

When we clicked “Category”, we saw a five-category list: other, shopping, groceries, restaurant and income. We appreciate that Trim separated shopping from groceries but we think the categories are still too broad.

Granted, Trim isn’t meant to be a budgeting tool which is why, in our opinion, the Category section is pretty basic.

Pro tip: Trim also gives you the ability to cancel a subscription.

Public Opinion About Trim

Much of what we read about Trim came from other review sites. Since the platform doesn’t have an app, there was no wealth of consumer information available through iTunes or Google Play.

The other sites we browsed repeated the information we have here – that Trim tracks your spending, can negotiate your cable bills and has the ability to cancel unwanted subscriptions.

How Trim Compares to Clarity Money

As we mentioned in the beginning of this review, Trim is very similar to another spend-tracking platform called Clarity Money.

The two apps basically offer the same types of tools for tracking your spending. They let you know which transactions have taken place, which categories those transactions were a part of and which accounts you used to make the purchases.

In our opinion, the main differences between the two platforms are:

  • Trim does the automated bill negotiation for you
  • Clarity has a better Dashboard – you can access more metrics
  • Clarity has an app
  • Trim’s notifications are more customizable
  • Trim claims to find you lower car insurance rates

Our Final Thoughts About Trim

We live in a time when most consumers want an automated, easy way to track their finances. A new crop of financial tech companies has sprung up offering apps that do just that.

Trim is one of those apps and, based on our research, we think it does a great job of offering consumers an easy-to-use platform through which they can see where their money is going, which subscriptions they have and how much they’re spending across a variety of categories.

As we said earlier, Trim isn’t meant to be a budgeting app. So, don’t expect it to offer you an intuitive tool for organizing your spending.

Trim is more like a doctor telling you what your overall health is at any point during the day, whereas a budget is like a dietician who is telling what types of food you need to eat, which foods you need to cut back on and what’s possible for you if you can make changes in what you eat.

The advantage to Trim giving you an overview of your finances is that it combines a lot of different tools into one platform. You don’t need a car insurance site and you don’t need to haggle with your cable company. You don’t need to log into your bank’s website to check your balances on your checking savings and credit cards. Everything is in one place.

As for downsides, Trim doesn’t have a mobile app and this could be a deal-breaker for some consumers. If it is, then we suggest checking out Clarity Money. The app won’t negotiate your cable bill or find you lower car insurance rates, but it has pretty much everything else.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 30 Trim Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  24
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • Overcharges, ruined my wireless plan - spent money using Trim!

    • Colorado,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went with Trim to track down some recurring charges. If you're looking to wipe some forgotten monthly charges, DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE! I ended up letting them "negotiate" my Verizon plan, this is where it all went to crap.

    Basically, they claimed to have saved me $16, so they charged me over $70 one month claiming that they negotiated my bill. Well, as it turns out, they didn't negotiate anything. They just called and changed my plan. Which invalidated a legacy promotion that can't be placed back on the account, and invalidated me from reentering at the old plan.

    All in all, they raised my Verizon bill $32/month, which makes no sense. They saved me $16, but when I refuse their service, suddenly my bill goes up DOUBLE what was saved? Interesting.

    I can't get any of the promotions back and am currently in the hassle of trying to get credits for the extra charges they incurred onto my account.

    0/10, do not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • I know nothing about finance and Trim has educated me more in finance than 2

    • Whitefish Bay, WI,
    • Sep 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a million things to say that are positive about Trim but I'll only say a few. They have helped me understand how to budget even when I don't know what I'm looking at. Kevin, my personal finance advisor, has made budgeting simple. My schedule is very very busy and by utilizing Trim it has made life not so busy when I come home and not have time to manage anything except a shower, dinner, and bed.

    The Trim team has guided me verbally and taken my interest to heart and have helped me come out of a bad slump I was in for years and just barely surviving.

    They are a new company and there was an issue with the website I was having but they are in constant contact with me about the updates to see if the problem is fixed. Customer Service is serious to them and I do thank them for being responsible for their product unlike other companies who put you on hold when they find out you already use their product. (In those cases, I just hit the new customer button instead of waiting 40 minutes on the line to talk to someone named bob from India.) At Trim I get a response within 24 hours...actually sooner but it just depends on when I have time to get on my phone or the internet.

    Either way; their customer service is outstanding; the staff is amazing and I am in a good position now financially even though life has thrown a curveball at me thanks to Kevin. I am now prepared to handle this storm. If you are reading this review, give it a chance and utilize the platform for what it is. I have and have been nothing but happier every day for making the decision to get help/advice.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Trim messed up my Optimum services big time

    • Norwalk, CT,
    • Aug 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Trim worked fine renegotiating my Optimum cable bill twice. Yesterday, however, they blew it. They lowered my bill by canceling services that I want and need, like my subscriptions to HBO, Showtime, and my TELEPHONE. So they wrote that they are saving me $56 per month, but they took away services to save money. It is IMPOSSIBLE to get hold of anyone in customer support, especially on a weekend, so it looks like I'm going to have to straighten it out with Optimum and then make sure Trim doesn't bill me for the amount they said they saved. I have no idea why they did not ask for my approval first and I can't find any settings in my account to account for this, but be very, very careful if you use this service - don't let them do anything without your permission.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My Comcast bill went up!

    • Lancaster, PA,
    • Aug 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I already have budgeting and account tracking, so I signed up for Trim for the bill negotiation. At first it seemed great - my Verizon charges were slightly reduced and I had a pretty nice credit to my Comcast/Xfinity bill. After a few months, Trim went for a second round of negation and my Comcast bill is now $20 more per month, with no change in service. Would have been better just leaving it alone!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Amazing!

    • Connecticut,
    • Aug 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Amazing service. I just sit back and let them negotiate my bills. They have saved me hundreds of dollars! They monitor my spending and report to me daily. I am very happy. Love it. Great service, highly recommend!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Wish I would have read these reviews before I signed up

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm very disappointed in this service. The credit card negotiation was completely useless, and I didn't receive any savings at all. First of all, I didn't see the success rates until after I paid which is unfortunate because I'm not sure I would have signed up knowing that this was the rates. I at least would have liked to know before choosing to pay.

    Not only that, the advisor sent me a Google form to fill out which already contained all the information I put in the Trim app. I didn't want to waste my time refilling the information, but then when my advisor called, I had to tell her all the same info again. Really inefficient.

    The noise was so bad on the call and my advisor spoke so quietly I could barely understand her, and neither could any of the banks. It was really embarrassing. She was basically reading from a script, that she then sent me. I was expecting more of a trained person who understands cards and knew the nuances of each company and was able to use that to remove fees or lower APRs, I could have called myself and read from a script.

    Also, before she even called any of the banks, she warned me that asking for credit line increases or mentioning hardships can cause creditors to hit your credit score or close your card, neither of which were mentioned in the sign up process so that was 50% of the services I was interested in, gone.

    I think there should be way more transparency in this service and product. Show the limitations and be honest with the level of expertise the reps have. Provide a quiet location for them to work. I was really excited for this service as I'm trying to aggressively pay down debt and it looks like I am better off on my own.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience ever!

    • California,
    • Jun 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    There is NO customer service with this company...so if you have a problem (which I do) you can only email them and wait 1-2 business days. While I did that over 2 days ago, they still went ahead and "negotiated" a bill for me, after writing to them NOT TO. Now they've charged my credit card for their percentage, but the bill (Verizon) I had already negotiated myself. Now they seem to be taking credit for that. I DO NOT RECOMMEND Trim. So, now I've filed a dispute on my credit card, but who knows what will happen. I am about ready to hit the Better Business Bureau to see if there is any recourse I can take there. Bottom line: STAY AWAY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Careful with 12-month commitments. Immediate expense without savings.

    • Sunnyvale, CA,
    • Jun 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Mixed results. Happy to pay the 25% for negotiated savings immediately effective, such as a discount for an internet outage.

    Be careful if they "negotiate" a 12-month agreement. You will be billed right away before actually realizing the savings over 12 months. This means, additional expenses and no savings for a few months. I contacted customer service by e-mail but did not get a reply.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Fraudulent charges

    • California,
    • Apr 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for Trim and the service surprisingly worked for lowering some of my smaller bills, which was great. Then it moved on to "save" me money on Sprint, $120 for the whole year, and charged me $30. I was ok with that, until I realized they were going to charge me another $30 for the same savings 4 months later. I looked into all of my accounts and found out they didn't save me anything on that first sprint bill. I got transcripts from Sprint, bank statements, previous emails, receipts of charge, etc. to prove they didn't do anything and were fraudulently charging me. Two weeks of back and forth emails and me threatening to take them to court, and the issue was resolved and my account was deleted.

    If you use this service, you still need to be COMPLETELY aware of your current bills, bank statements, and charges. It can help to some extent, though.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Trim is a fraudulent company - do not use!

    • California,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Trim claims they have saved me $414 on my AT&T bill. They have taken $176 from my account. I called AT&T to confirm that there will be savings on my account, to which they replied as follows:

    "I cannot see any savings that will apply on your account in the near future that will save you any money. There have been no changes on your AT&T accounts in regards to any offers that would save you any money in the upcoming months. Your account remains unchanged."

    Trim's $10 service is a scam. Complete and utter fraud. Do not use this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Zero customer service

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is an online platform with no app. Because of this, there is never a real customer service person to talk to. The "trim bot" does whatever it wants, and if you tell it not to, or cancel service, etc., it will still do what it wants to do. Then, you are charged for the bot "helping" you when in most cases I’ve discovered, it costs you much more.

    I went all in and set up a savings account. Even after turning off automatic withdraws (and receiving the confirmation email) money is still being taken out of my account, plus $2/month for using the savings service.

    I have attempted to contact their help email every other day for the past two weeks and have never received a response. The bot is no help here either; you will never be contacted with a real person.

    I plan on filing a complaint with the BBB, which I’ve never done in my life, so please, stay away from this service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a Review for Trim!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review