About Trivago

Instead of visiting every booking site on the internet, Trivago claims to be the world’s largest hotel search and information website, and to compare hotel prices accumulated from over 200 booking sites worldwide. As such, the company claims you’ll have the ability to view more than 700,000 hotels, and to save an average of 35% compared to booking your room directly through a hotel.

While Trivago claims to be able to save you time, is it really worthwhile? Let’s search for the facts and find out.

Trivago Details

Because Trivago allows you to compare hotel deals across the U.S. and around the world from more than 200 booking sites, they claim to be an ideal starting point for live travel research. From budget hostels to luxury suites, Trivago claims to have 45 million monthly users, and a million searches per day.

With this in mind, searching for hotel rooms on Trivago works over two steps:

  1. Enter the city where you’d like to locate a hotel room, as well as the date you’ll need it, and…
  2. Search for you room, which can be filtered by price, distance to attractions, number of stars, available facilities (e.g. pool, gym, etc.), and more.

Trivago also claims to include more than 82 million hotel reviews from users, and more than 14 million property photos that can help you make the most informed decision about where you’ll stay. As such, each listing in your search will display the name of the hotel, the city it’s located in, average user rating, up to 6 prices, which booking site is advertising the price, and a picture (if available).

Once you locate a property you’re interested in, you can click on the View Deal button, which will forward you to the booking site that has the actual room. If you decide to book your hotel room from here, keep in mind that the transaction will occur directly between you and the booking site, not with Trivago.

Trivago Pricing

Trivago is completely free, and you’re not required to sign up in order to use the service. This is because Trivago aggregates hotel deals from other booking sites (e.g. Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, etc.), who then pays Trivago a commission for the referral.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Trivago?

Trivago was founded in 2005 and is headquartered in Düsseldorf, Germany. The company’s U.S. operation (based in New York, NY) holds a B rating with the Better Business Bureau, with just 2 closed complaints over the past three years, neither of which the company responded to.

Online customer reviews regarding Trivago appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing:

  • Changed booking dates – The top complaint we encountered about Trivago is that customers would find a hotel they were interested in, click on the View Deal button, and then proceed to make their reservation through the third-party booking site. However, they often noticed that the dates would be changed (sometimes as much as several months), and when they corrected the date, would often find that the price increased dramatically.
  • Incorrect prices – Several customers (even some hotel managers/owners) complained that Trivago would list the wrong per-night prices. In other words, Trivago might show a hotel in NYC as normally being $300 per night, but now available at a reduced rate of $230. However, the reality may be that the hotel’s normal prices are actually $235, giving you little savings.
  • Lost bookings – We read numerous reviews claiming that a hotel reservation was made, but when the customer contacted the hotel directly to confirm, they showed no reservation was processed, despite the company charging the customer’s credit card. While this is most likely due to a third-party vendor’s error, this was a common complaint specifically directed at Trivago.
  • Unresponsive customer service – Perhaps because Trivago is just an aggregator, and doesn’t actually provide any hotel deals directly, their customer service department appears to have a reputation of ignoring emails.

What’s the Bottom Line About Trivago?

With all this in mind, is Trivago worth your time? Probably, but remember the following:

Trivago does not actually provide the hotel deals they list. Instead, they aggregate deals from more than 200 third-party booking sites (e.g. Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, etc.), and display them in an easy to read format. This is claimed to save you the time and effort of visiting each one of these sites individually.

With this in mind, while Trivago appears to be free of annoying advertisements and pop-ups, we did encounter several recurring customer complaints during our research. As detailed in the previous section, these included changed booking dates, incorrect prices, lost bookings, and unresponsive customer service.

Admittedly, with the exception of customer service, many of these complaints likely have to do more with the third-party sites than they do with Trivago, but it brings up some good pointers: if you book a hotel room through Trivago, be sure to double check your reservation dates and prices, and to immediately verify your reservation with the hotel immediately afterward.


Read 59 Trivago Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  47
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 59
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Never use Trivago

    • Washington, DC,
    • Jul 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Didn’t know they went through third-party vendors. Booked a room for my daughter who was traveling through Miami. Never received a confirmation email, thank goodness I printed out the page after I hit confirm. But even with that, when her flight got changed I tried to call to cancel the reservation. The number on the printed page for confirmation was an individual’s number, not the company's number, so there was no way I could cancel the reservation. I tried to call the hotel, they said I had to go back to the company. Totally ridiculous, will never use this website again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Turned up to no booking

    • Scotland,
    • Jul 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Booked a room for 1 night in Sarasota, Florida. When we arrived the hotel had no knowledge of our booking, the voucher we received didn’t have a booking ref so the hotel said it was no good. It was 8 pm so we paid cash for the room. When we checked out we asked the manager to write on our invoice that they had received no booking from Trivago. When we returned home we had been charged for hotel and 2 months later they are still disputing payment as they claim we were a no-show although we have evidence to the contrary. This is the 2nd time this has happened, previously in Amsterdam although American Express claimed our money back then. AVOID TRIVAGO, it spoils your holiday.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive business practice by CancelOn and Trivago

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    With a lot of Trivago TV commercials lately, I decided to try out the Trivago website. Wow, was that a thousand dollars mistake. I have no idea what kind of relationships they have with CancelOn, I felt like I was being scammed by both of them. Thru Trivago, CancelOn offered me the best price which took me to the CancelOn website to continue my reservation. Boy, the best price is no longer the best price once you get to the end of your reservation process. They have their breakdown of the final totals on the lower-left panel where the big and center page is left for you to enter your payment information. By the time you hit the button "submit" and see the final totals, it will be too late for you to cancel the transaction. I immediately called CancelOn and they have me wait for 10-15 minutes so I decided to chat with one of their chat supervisor named Chris. Guess what? It's no use. He kept denying me the opportunity to cancel a reservation that was booked a few minutes ago with misleading info. Instead, he offers me the opportunity to sell it. Wow, what a deceptive business concept. First, they make money off you by misleading you into booking. Then they want to make money off you again by giving you no choice but to sell it.

    With this type of experience, I would never give Trivago and CancelOn any opportunity ever again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Fraudulent

    • Mississippi,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used Trivago to find a hotel for a trip for my daughter and me in Fort Walton. They use fraudulent companies (Hotels For Everyone) who book your rooms and charges your credit card only to arrive to the hotel to find out that your reservations have been canceled but your card was still charged. Call customer service on to find out they are going out of business and instead of them putting the refund back on your card, the recording tells you to contact your credit card to see about getting a refund. Do NOT use Trivago if you don't want to get ripped off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Total SCAM!

    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sooooooo angry!

    Re: Hotel booking through Trivago and loveholidays, info@e-loveholidays.com.

    I tried to book a hotel using Trivago. They booked it through lovevacations. I called the hotel to let them know I'd be arriving late and they did not have my reservation. I checked my bank account and the money was taken out for the booking. I then contacted lovevacations, they told me that the hotel did not have any rooms left. I cannot imagine why they would book the room and charge me if the hotel was already booked full. then they said they would refund my money but it would take 4 to 6 days to get it back, which of course is totally unacceptable, so now I don't have a hotel room and I'm out $241.41. Then they charged me another $241.41. Total taken from my bank account $482.82!

    TOTAL SCAM! Trivago also does not have a telephone number for customer support or any type of contact. Share so nobody else gets their vacation messed up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No contact

    • Columbia, MD,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst customer service on the web. I called 10 times to make a change - no answer on the phone or website. I called the hotel for help, they said this is a third party reservation and the hotel can’t help you. I need to change for medical reasons, but with no call back I am stuck!

    What terrible customer service, I feel this is a scam. I also found prices were not that much better for $3 a night more I could have avoided these hassles what a rip off.

    Don’t use!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Tri_effff_you

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is definitely NOT a good service. Fortunately, we didn't give them our credit card number.

    Other places we find deals and make reservations and pay is like Expedia. At least with them, you know your reservation is true.

    With "Tri_effff_you," we didn't know until we checked in, that they didn't have our reservation.

    Fortunately, we were blessed and was able to get a reservation, on the spot. But no thanks to "Tri_effff_you."

    Do NOT use them, do NOT patronize them, do NOT think about them. We're BOYCOTTING them.

    BOYCOTT "Tri_effff_you" (Trivago) and tell your friends. YOU can make a difference in the business by not using them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Do not give your credit card details to Trivago!

    • Eastern Cape, South Africa,
    • Nov 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A year ago, October 2017, I signed my guesthouse up to be listed on the Trivago website. I paid the yearly subscription fee with my credit card. Now, October 2018, Trivago deducted the subscription fee from the credit card details provided to them a year ago. They used my credit card details without my permission. Please think twice before you give your credit card details to Trivago!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Book direct and save the hotel 30%

    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Trivago charges the hotels 30%, so do yourself a favor and phone the hotel directly and you will get a better deal. The pricing doesn’t seem to always match what they offer each time I’ve booked.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service

    • San Luis Obispo, CA,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm the General Manager for a hotel on the central coast of California. The Trivago sales team called non-stop for a month trying to speak to me. I finally took the call to get them off our backs. I ended up signing up for the service for one year. They did a good job on the "sell."

    When I had questions two weeks later about our page etc., no one would return my call. I emailed asking for a call back. I got a very generic reply that did me no good at all. I continued to call and email for over a month, voicing my frustrations about not being able to speak to someone about my questions. I got one response with the explanation for not calling me back was the time zones in Europe different than states. Really? That did not stop the sales guy from calling our front desk four times a day for weeks during business hours. Eventually I gave up. Not worth my time.

    A year later when I saw a charge for $550 on my credit card from Trivago, I called immediately and told them I did not want to renew my membership and was very dissatisfied with my first year's membership. Their response was basically "too bad." Subscriptions are on auto-renew, which I did not know. I disputed the charge but did not have proof that I didn’t know of the auto-renew. I did speak to someone at Trivago about my complaints and was told that the company had grown so quickly that they were very short staffed and unable to return American client phone calls.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Major Vegas screw up

    • Monterey, CA,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a room on Trivago for Las Vegas at the MGM Hotel. I got as far as the check-in, then proceeded to wait two HOURS while MGM searched for my reservation. Finally, MGM found that my room had been booked at a hotel in BRAZIL! I had to pay for the room IN FULL and was told I’d have to wait for Trivago to reimburse me when I returned home.

    What a complete JOKE Trivago is. Never ever again. Stay away from Trivago!

    Footnote, this website made me do at least a one-star rating, but Trivago deserves a minus 10 stars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 59

Write a Review for Trivago!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review