About Trivago

Instead of visiting every booking site on the internet, Trivago claims to be the world’s largest hotel search and information website, and to compare hotel prices accumulated from over 200 booking sites worldwide. As such, the company claims you’ll have the ability to view more than 700,000 hotels, and to save an average of 35% compared to booking your room directly through a hotel.

While Trivago claims to be able to save you time, is it really worthwhile? Let’s search for the facts and find out.

Trivago Details

Because Trivago allows you to compare hotel deals across the U.S. and around the world from more than 200 booking sites, they claim to be an ideal starting point for live travel research. From budget hostels to luxury suites, Trivago claims to have 45 million monthly users, and a million searches per day.

With this in mind, searching for hotel rooms on Trivago works over two steps:

  1. Enter the city where you’d like to locate a hotel room, as well as the date you’ll need it, and…
  2. Search for you room, which can be filtered by price, distance to attractions, number of stars, available facilities (e.g. pool, gym, etc.), and more.

Trivago also claims to include more than 82 million hotel reviews from users, and more than 14 million property photos that can help you make the most informed decision about where you’ll stay. As such, each listing in your search will display the name of the hotel, the city it’s located in, average user rating, up to 6 prices, which booking site is advertising the price, and a picture (if available).

Once you locate a property you’re interested in, you can click on the View Deal button, which will forward you to the booking site that has the actual room. If you decide to book your hotel room from here, keep in mind that the transaction will occur directly between you and the booking site, not with Trivago.

Trivago Pricing

Trivago is completely free, and you’re not required to sign up in order to use the service. This is because Trivago aggregates hotel deals from other booking sites (e.g. Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, etc.), who then pays Trivago a commission for the referral.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Trivago?

Trivago was founded in 2005 and is headquartered in Düsseldorf, Germany. The company’s U.S. operation (based in New York, NY) holds a B rating with the Better Business Bureau, with just 2 closed complaints over the past three years, neither of which the company responded to.

Online customer reviews regarding Trivago appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing:

  • Changed booking dates – The top complaint we encountered about Trivago is that customers would find a hotel they were interested in, click on the View Deal button, and then proceed to make their reservation through the third-party booking site. However, they often noticed that the dates would be changed (sometimes as much as several months), and when they corrected the date, would often find that the price increased dramatically.
  • Incorrect prices – Several customers (even some hotel managers/owners) complained that Trivago would list the wrong per-night prices. In other words, Trivago might show a hotel in NYC as normally being $300 per night, but now available at a reduced rate of $230. However, the reality may be that the hotel’s normal prices are actually $235, giving you little savings.
  • Lost bookings – We read numerous reviews claiming that a hotel reservation was made, but when the customer contacted the hotel directly to confirm, they showed no reservation was processed, despite the company charging the customer’s credit card. While this is most likely due to a third-party vendor’s error, this was a common complaint specifically directed at Trivago.
  • Unresponsive customer service – Perhaps because Trivago is just an aggregator, and doesn’t actually provide any hotel deals directly, their customer service department appears to have a reputation of ignoring emails.

What’s the Bottom Line About Trivago?

With all this in mind, is Trivago worth your time? Probably, but remember the following:

Trivago does not actually provide the hotel deals they list. Instead, they aggregate deals from more than 200 third-party booking sites (e.g. Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, etc.), and display them in an easy to read format. This is claimed to save you the time and effort of visiting each one of these sites individually.

With this in mind, while Trivago appears to be free of annoying advertisements and pop-ups, we did encounter several recurring customer complaints during our research. As detailed in the previous section, these included changed booking dates, incorrect prices, lost bookings, and unresponsive customer service.

Admittedly, with the exception of customer service, many of these complaints likely have to do more with the third-party sites than they do with Trivago, but it brings up some good pointers: if you book a hotel room through Trivago, be sure to double check your reservation dates and prices, and to immediately verify your reservation with the hotel immediately afterward.

Now read: The Photoshop-Effect: How Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Trick Travelers

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

50 Consumer Reviews for Trivago

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  38
Bottom Line: 12% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 50
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service

    • San Luis Obispo, CA,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm the General Manager for a hotel on the central coast of California. The Trivago sales team called non-stop for a month trying to speak to me. I finally took the call to get them off our backs. I ended up signing up for the service for one year. They did a good job on the "sell."

    When I had questions two weeks later about our page etc., no one would return my call. I emailed asking for a call back. I got a very generic reply that did me no good at all. I continued to call and email for over a month, voicing my frustrations about not being able to speak to someone about my questions. I got one response with the explanation for not calling me back was the time zones in Europe different than states. Really? That did not stop the sales guy from calling our front desk four times a day for weeks during business hours. Eventually I gave up. Not worth my time.

    A year later when I saw a charge for $550 on my credit card from Trivago, I called immediately and told them I did not want to renew my membership and was very dissatisfied with my first year's membership. Their response was basically "too bad." Subscriptions are on auto-renew, which I did not know. I disputed the charge but did not have proof that I didn’t know of the auto-renew. I did speak to someone at Trivago about my complaints and was told that the company had grown so quickly that they were very short staffed and unable to return American client phone calls.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Major Vegas screw up

    • Monterey, CA,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a room on Trivago for Las Vegas at the MGM Hotel. I got as far as the check-in, then proceeded to wait two HOURS while MGM searched for my reservation. Finally, MGM found that my room had been booked at a hotel in BRAZIL! I had to pay for the room IN FULL and was told I’d have to wait for Trivago to reimburse me when I returned home.

    What a complete JOKE Trivago is. Never ever again. Stay away from Trivago!

    Footnote, this website made me do at least a one-star rating, but Trivago deserves a minus 10 stars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    High prices

    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Jul 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The prices are MUCH more expensive than directly at the hotel. After all, the aggressive advertising on how there was no way to beat their prices. I checked directly at the hotel first for a one-night stay on a particular night, then I checked Trivago for the exact same night at the same hotel, and it was 25% more expensive. Rip off, nothing more than a scam as far as I am concerned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Host for scammers

    • Cape Town, South Africa,
    • Jul 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a hotel through the HotelQuickly agent displayed on Trivago. When I arrived at the hotel, there was no paid booking despite HotelQuickly having taken payment on my credit card. They have been stringing me along about sorting out the problem for weeks.

    They offer a big discount on the room compared to other agents but are just scam artists.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Beware if you are a UK customer.

    • Tain, Scotland,
    • Jul 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't use this company, you have no rights in the UK as they don't respect UK consumer laws and will only accept complaints made in German courts. This is before Brexit so you will have absolutely no chance of upholding your consumer rights after Brexit.

    Another point worth noting is that if you want to make an internal complaint, you can’t in the UK. Save yourself the stress don't use them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Booked a SINGLE room but had to share with 9 people

    • London, England,
    • Jun 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've booked one night "Economy single room" for £28.80 at "Camden - Hostel St Christopher's Inn" but it turned out that the room was shared with another 9 people. It was actually a mixed shared dormitory.

    Trivago redirected the request to beta.hotel.de, so I had called them. They put the blame on a subsidiary and apologized for the mistake. I was offered a refund by 3:00 pm, but it was too late for finding a new hostel. So I had to stay there. The place was very noisy and music played on top volume during the night and early morning.

    After several weeks I've now checked online and still see lots of "economy single rooms" at the same hostel. Are they actually "single?"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Unethical and false advertising - shut down Trivago!

    We were scammed by Trivago and Cancelon on two occasions. Great discount offered on Trivago's website and then booking was directed to Cancelon. After booking and paid with credit card, we received an email from Cancelon saying we were late by a few seconds and someone else got it. They then offered us a 10% discount if we book another accommodation on their website. SCAM! On two occasions I saw the same offer and both occasions we were late and did not secure them.

    Unfortunately, we made flight bookings, and now we are asking for compensation from Trivago and Cancelon. Cancelon does not compensate us, and Trivago claimed that they are not responsible for what happened. Let me recap this. Trivago let Cancelon advertise on their website and later found scamming their customers, and Trivago says they are not responsible?

    Shut down Trivago I say. Unethical, misleading, and false advertising is their main business!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    False Advertising with hotels in Colombia!

    I booked a hotel in Colombia for two people and I made sure I selected two and this has happened to me before! Once I paid for the voucher, it said that it was for only one person. I called the hotel and www.BestDay.com and all they told me was it was my fault and they could not refund my money for several reasons.

    My complaint is that this happened several times through Trivago.com and to me this is a scam. You book for two and then it comes up only for one person, then you get to the hotel and they want to charge you more money. I just want you to know if I don't get my money back or Trivago doesn't work something out with their client, I will make sure all this matter goes onto all the internet site on how this site works.

    I have been flying for 17 years once a month to South America and all people do out there is steal from customers. I would like for someone to call me back with a result or I will move to the next step. I know I am not important to Trivago but “make no mistake”.

    Daniel Martinez

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Total rip off

    • Adelaide, South Australis,
    • Mar 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have booked a hotel in Sydney through Trivago, booked and paid for a deluxe suite for three nights, only to find I have been given a room smaller than a janitors closet.

    What a crock of rubbish this place is. I have tried to contact them for two days to no avail.

    I am disgusted that scammers like this can get away with these actions, and be untraceable. Disgusting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam alert!

    • Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada,
    • Dec 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Same suite, day and location. Trivago mobile, $195. Hotel site, $126. Trivago has different pricing on mobile website vs. the website through the desktop. Be very careful. Use the app to find hotels if you like, but only book through the hotel website. These apps or sites target people who are lazy or do not do their research.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    Big mistake making a reservation with them.

    I received my email confirmation and $693.00 were charged to my credit card. I called the hotel to confirm my reservation and they gave me an intern confirmation number from the hotel. Everything was ok! Great rate also.

    Pffff, it was a scam.

    I arrived on November 29th at the hotel at 11:30 pm and I didn't have a reservation. Yes, the hotel received a call from Trivago to say that I was not traveling. Whyyyyyy? The bill was paid and my credit card was processed, so why did they cancel? Why didn't they send an email? Why, why, why?

    Long story short, I was charged $693.00 by Trivago for 4 nights and I have to pay at the hotel $420 for one night.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 50

Write a Review for Trivago!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review