About Trivago

Instead of visiting every booking site on the internet, Trivago claims to be the world’s largest hotel search and information website, and to compare hotel prices accumulated from over 200 booking sites worldwide. As such, the company claims you’ll have the ability to view more than 700,000 hotels, and to save an average of 35% compared to booking your room directly through a hotel.

While Trivago claims to be able to save you time, is it really worthwhile? Let’s search for the facts and find out.

Trivago Details

Because Trivago allows you to compare hotel deals across the U.S. and around the world from more than 200 booking sites, they claim to be an ideal starting point for live travel research. From budget hostels to luxury suites, Trivago claims to have 45 million monthly users, and a million searches per day.

With this in mind, searching for hotel rooms on Trivago works over two steps:

  1. Enter the city where you’d like to locate a hotel room, as well as the date you’ll need it, and…
  2. Search for you room, which can be filtered by price, distance to attractions, number of stars, available facilities (e.g. pool, gym, etc.), and more.

Trivago also claims to include more than 82 million hotel reviews from users, and more than 14 million property photos that can help you make the most informed decision about where you’ll stay. As such, each listing in your search will display the name of the hotel, the city it’s located in, average user rating, up to 6 prices, which booking site is advertising the price, and a picture (if available).

Once you locate a property you’re interested in, you can click on the View Deal button, which will forward you to the booking site that has the actual room. If you decide to book your hotel room from here, keep in mind that the transaction will occur directly between you and the booking site, not with Trivago.

Trivago Pricing

Trivago is completely free, and you’re not required to sign up in order to use the service. This is because Trivago aggregates hotel deals from other booking sites (e.g. Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, etc.), who then pays Trivago a commission for the referral.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Trivago?

Trivago was founded in 2005 and is headquartered in Düsseldorf, Germany. The company’s U.S. operation (based in New York, NY) holds a B rating with the Better Business Bureau, with just 2 closed complaints over the past three years, neither of which the company responded to.

Online customer reviews regarding Trivago appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing:

  • Changed booking dates – The top complaint we encountered about Trivago is that customers would find a hotel they were interested in, click on the View Deal button, and then proceed to make their reservation through the third-party booking site. However, they often noticed that the dates would be changed (sometimes as much as several months), and when they corrected the date, would often find that the price increased dramatically.
  • Incorrect prices – Several customers (even some hotel managers/owners) complained that Trivago would list the wrong per-night prices. In other words, Trivago might show a hotel in NYC as normally being $300 per night, but now available at a reduced rate of $230. However, the reality may be that the hotel’s normal prices are actually $235, giving you little savings.
  • Lost bookings – We read numerous reviews claiming that a hotel reservation was made, but when the customer contacted the hotel directly to confirm, they showed no reservation was processed, despite the company charging the customer’s credit card. While this is most likely due to a third-party vendor’s error, this was a common complaint specifically directed at Trivago.
  • Unresponsive customer service – Perhaps because Trivago is just an aggregator, and doesn’t actually provide any hotel deals directly, their customer service department appears to have a reputation of ignoring emails.

What’s the Bottom Line About Trivago?

With all this in mind, is Trivago worth your time? Probably, but remember the following:

Trivago does not actually provide the hotel deals they list. Instead, they aggregate deals from more than 200 third-party booking sites (e.g. Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, etc.), and display them in an easy to read format. This is claimed to save you the time and effort of visiting each one of these sites individually.

With this in mind, while Trivago appears to be free of annoying advertisements and pop-ups, we did encounter several recurring customer complaints during our research. As detailed in the previous section, these included changed booking dates, incorrect prices, lost bookings, and unresponsive customer service.

Admittedly, with the exception of customer service, many of these complaints likely have to do more with the third-party sites than they do with Trivago, but it brings up some good pointers: if you book a hotel room through Trivago, be sure to double check your reservation dates and prices, and to immediately verify your reservation with the hotel immediately afterward.

Now read: The Photoshop-Effect: How Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Trick Travelers

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

45 Consumer Reviews for Trivago

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 45
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Booked a SINGLE room but had to share with 9 people

    • London, England,
    • Jun 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've booked one night "Economy single room" for £28.80 at "Camden - Hostel St Christopher's Inn" but it turned out that the room was shared with another 9 people. It was actually a mixed shared dormitory.

    Trivago redirected the request to beta.hotel.de, so I had called them. They put the blame on a subsidiary and apologized for the mistake. I was offered a refund by 3:00 pm, but it was too late for finding a new hostel. So I had to stay there. The place was very noisy and music played on top volume during the night and early morning.

    After several weeks I've now checked online and still see lots of "economy single rooms" at the same hostel. Are they actually "single?"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Unethical and false advertising - shut down Trivago!

    We were scammed by Trivago and Cancelon on two occasions. Great discount offered on Trivago's website and then booking was directed to Cancelon. After booking and paid with credit card, we received an email from Cancelon saying we were late by a few seconds and someone else got it. They then offered us a 10% discount if we book another accommodation on their website. SCAM! On two occasions I saw the same offer and both occasions we were late and did not secure them.

    Unfortunately, we made flight bookings, and now we are asking for compensation from Trivago and Cancelon. Cancelon does not compensate us, and Trivago claimed that they are not responsible for what happened. Let me recap this. Trivago let Cancelon advertise on their website and later found scamming their customers, and Trivago says they are not responsible?

    Shut down Trivago I say. Unethical, misleading, and false advertising is their main business!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    False Advertising with hotels in Colombia!

    I booked a hotel in Colombia for two people and I made sure I selected two and this has happened to me before! Once I paid for the voucher, it said that it was for only one person. I called the hotel and www.BestDay.com and all they told me was it was my fault and they could not refund my money for several reasons.

    My complaint is that this happened several times through Trivago.com and to me this is a scam. You book for two and then it comes up only for one person, then you get to the hotel and they want to charge you more money. I just want you to know if I don't get my money back or Trivago doesn't work something out with their client, I will make sure all this matter goes onto all the internet site on how this site works.

    I have been flying for 17 years once a month to South America and all people do out there is steal from customers. I would like for someone to call me back with a result or I will move to the next step. I know I am not important to Trivago but “make no mistake”.

    Daniel Martinez

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Total rip off

    • Adelaide, South Australis,
    • Mar 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have booked a hotel in Sydney through Trivago, booked and paid for a deluxe suite for three nights, only to find I have been given a room smaller than a janitors closet.

    What a crock of rubbish this place is. I have tried to contact them for two days to no avail.

    I am disgusted that scammers like this can get away with these actions, and be untraceable. Disgusting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scam alert!

    • Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada,
    • Dec 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Same suite, day and location. Trivago mobile, $195. Hotel site, $126. Trivago has different pricing on mobile website vs. the website through the desktop. Be very careful. Use the app to find hotels if you like, but only book through the hotel website. These apps or sites target people who are lazy or do not do their research.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    Big mistake making a reservation with them.

    I received my email confirmation and $693.00 were charged to my credit card. I called the hotel to confirm my reservation and they gave me an intern confirmation number from the hotel. Everything was ok! Great rate also.

    Pffff, it was a scam.

    I arrived on November 29th at the hotel at 11:30 pm and I didn't have a reservation. Yes, the hotel received a call from Trivago to say that I was not traveling. Whyyyyyy? The bill was paid and my credit card was processed, so why did they cancel? Why didn't they send an email? Why, why, why?

    Long story short, I was charged $693.00 by Trivago for 4 nights and I have to pay at the hotel $420 for one night.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Manipulative

    So, I saw their ad online and figured to try it two weeks ago when I was looking for a hotel. I compared the prices, and they are not giving the best prices; I got better rates on KAYAK and other travel sites.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Trivago's ads are misleading

    We booked flights several times and tried Trivago. Their "200" booking site thing is crap as the prices for 5 or 6 websites including theirs spit out to the PENNY the same prices for hotels and flights. These travel sites are ALL the same. I rate Trivago a 1-star because they are LYING trying to make us believe they are different or we have a choice with them when we don't. The travel industry spits out the same data to all the travel websites, and there is no advantage to using Trivago.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Total lack of satisfaction with Trivago/AMOMA

    I booked a hotel in Brazil recently, initially via Trivago, who said that I would only need to pay a £1 ($1.28) booking fee and would pay the remainder on arrival at the hotel. I was automatically transferred to AMOMA who, unknown to me, immediately credited the full amount of the booking to my credit card and emailed me all the booking details and confirmation. Not fully trusting AMOMA, I contacted the hotel to be informed that AMOMA had made the booking and had then immediately canceled it. I then had to contact AMOMA who, on my instructions, canceled the booking but charged a £40 ($51.20) cancellation fee, plus about £28 (%35.84) in credit charge costs.

    A most unsatisfactory experience and I would never book again through AMOMA!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Booking

    • Auckland, New Zealand,
    • Feb 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    In the last week, I have turned up at three motels and have been told that the room for which I had a booking confirmation sent to me from Trivago was not available, and no such booking was ever received.

    Today I rang the motel and was told that no room was available, although I had made a booking online. So I found alternative accommodations.

    Tonight was the same. The motel rang and asked when I would be arriving, and after informing them what had occurred, they then charged me full price on my credit card for the cancellation fee.

    I feel completely ripped off and very angry, but have no recourse as I cannot call anyone to complain.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Never ever with Trivago!

    I just booked with Trivago for a hotel in Ft. Collins. I took the paid up "early" plan, and when I pressed CONFIRM, Trivago changed the date for one week later! I immediately saw that they pulled from my account nearly $600.00, so I tried to call their customer service at the USA number, and it was no longer available.

    I have read their reviews, and it seems they have done this in the past. I will never work with this group again and will consider legal action!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 45

Write a Review for Trivago!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review