Trivago Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Trivago

Overall Rating

1.5

60 Customer Reviews

Summary

Trivago is a service that aggregates hotel prices and deals from more than 100 booking sites. Learn how customers are reviewing this service.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.5 Stars out of 60 Reviews
5 Star:8% 4 Star:1% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:10% 1 Star:80%
10% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Trivago:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 7, 2016

Love Trivago

By Darren Chaker, Beverly Hills, Calfornia, Verified Reviewer

I usually book via Amex Travel, but decided to go with Trivago. It saved me time reviewing a dozen other sites, and ultimately booked travel for the South Caribbean. Could not be happier with the price and the service.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 2, 2016

Bogus

By Sandy Bernhardt, WA, Verified Reviewer

I used Trivago for the first time for the trip we are going on in November and I had been checking the prices for about two months. I was booking our trip for my husband, myself and granddaughter who is 16, so she is still under the kids group. By the time I was done booking and I hit the button to confirm the trip the price went from 178 to over two hundred and that did not include the resort fees. I called and asked about it and they said that the prices can go up. I said - in about three seconds? If you do book with Trivago you might really want to check things because they are not going to do anything to try and make this right.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 21, 2016

Beware

By Maria C., Verified Reviewer

I did a search on Trivago website on July 12th, and was directed to hoteling.com to book a room at the DoubleTree in Unviersal Orlando.

Reservation was done, payment process and I received my booking confirmation.

Today July 15, out of no where (I usually never check with the hotels when I book a room through Expedia, Lastminute, hotels.com, etc.) I called the hotel to verify -- no sign of my reservation.

I went back to my confirmation with hoteling.com and clicked the link and it took me to their site. What a surprise, the company has gone out of business as of today, July 15.

I immediately called the credit card company and opened a dispute. I just wonder what kind of research of the providers does Trivago perform?

Not happy at all with my first and last experience with Trivago, will make sure to spread the word. Very disappointed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 14, 2016

Bait and switch scam.

By Anonymous, Illinois, Verified Reviewer

After trying for many weeks to find a hotel in the Clearwater Florida area I am extremely frustrated at the dishonesty of the multiple Trivago ads that come up on my phone. Places like Hilton Clearwater Beach and Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach both were advertised with nightly rates from $60. Sounded impassable to me regardless of what time of year or night, because going on to the hotel websites directly showed no prices any lower than around $200 to 250. I searched several months out and tried different dates, however never a price that came near the $60 bait price that Trivago displayed on their ad. As far as I'm concerned this is a huge scam and they purposely list prices that are not even offered in reality. It has wasted a lot of my time and caused a lot of heartache.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 6, 2016

Trivago Scam

By Don, CA, Verified Reviewer

Attempted to book with Trivago for a room in Vegas. They took the credit card and claimed they would forward a confirmation for the room. One week went by and no confirmation. Then, I get a confirmation from a company in a foreign country I have never heard of (low cost hotels Spain & hoteling.com, not Hotels.com). After a week wait I booked with a reputable firm and confirmed the room immediately. This is the second time (I'm a slow learner I guess) Trivago has scammed me. Never use this company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 3, 2016

Good Results with Trivago

By Edward Woods, Many locations, Verified Reviewer

I have used Trivago many times to find rates for hotels in a variety of locations and had nothing but good luck. There is one warning I would have and that is the provider you select. I normally find that booking.com has one of the lowest rates and lots of benefits like the ability to cancel on short notice without a penalty. Some of the other sites have really bad restrictions so you have to be careful and read everything before you sign up through them.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 19, 2016

SCAM

By Cary, Myrtle Beach, SC, Verified Reviewer

I paid a lot of extra money for a VIP room on a recent trip and was booked in a crappy garden view. I even had the paper confirming my VIP room, but upon arrival they told me that is not what the agency booked. I lost out of all my VIP privileges and paid about 600 bucks more than I should have for the room. Upon trying to get back with Trivago, there is no phone number and apparently they don't check their emails.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 29, 2016

Review of Quality Inn Dubbo International

By Naomi , Melbourne

Excellent service, friendly staff, best bed I have ever slept in, great food. Will be stopping here next time I am in town for sure. Thank you very much.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 29, 2016

Good Help

By Hank Mishra, Melbourne, Australia, Verified Reviewer

Don't expect anything too amazing from Trivago but it's a good help and it's free.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 10, 2016

Deceptive

By Dennis, Verified Reviewer

Used Trivago for the first time, my experience:

Dates changed by 6 weeks when Trivago sent me to a 3rd party site. I did not notice and booked non-refundable accommodation. Very lucky the hotel has had numerous same issues with Trivago customers and credited the sum (albeit I was exposed to the hotel's premium pricing).

Hoteling web site: Booked and prepaid the 'total cost' quoted in AUD. I have noticed on my credit card a large discrepancy. There is no transparency or visible terms regarding additional credit card fees and overseas taxation fees due to my hotel booking going via Spain. Currently pursuing a refund of that balance, but such deception is not a mistake. Expecting lots of hassle to get it.

Have used Expedia for many years - has never failed me and its system is genuine.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trivago

Feb 18, 2016

Dear Dennis,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are very sorry to hear that you have had this issue with booking the wrong dates. However, we always advise our users to check whether the information on the booking site matches the information on trivago after clicking 'view deal'.

We would like for you to get in touch with our user support team directly at info@trivago.com.au so that they can assist you further.

Kind regards,

Trivago user support.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 10, 2016

Trivago and Hoteling: Terrible Customer Service

By Saul Lichtine , Voorhees, N.J.

Trivago has NO phone to reach them. Whatever my issue and complaint I could NOT reach them after two days of trying. They take 20% if you cancel within a week and they and their subsidiary travel site, Hoteling, is truly TERRIBLE and I never plan to use them again. Imagine a site you cannot complain to, ask to match a competitors price or any other issue could not be done by me. For me, this is a site and customer service from hell.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 17, 2016

Trivago

By June Waight, Australia, Verified Reviewer

I had a problem with one of the booking sites on Trivago and their customer service worked hard to get me a complete refund. I'm very happy now.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 8, 2015

Fraud and garbage.

By Ramon , New York

This company is nothing but fraud and garbage. Stay away from it. Do not, I repeat do not, use this garbage.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trivago

Nov 9, 2015

Dear Ramon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Highya.

However, we are unsure of the company you are referring to? If you would like to get in touch with us directly for assistance you can do so at info@trivago.com. Our user support team would be more than happy to help you.

Kind regards,

Trivago user support.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 26, 2015

Non-Responsive Customer Service

By Sandra McAfee-Symons , Colorado Springs, CO

I called the hotel on Friday to ask them a question and was told my reservation did not exist. The hotel could not provide me any information since the booking was not made directly through them. I could not locate a phone number to call Trivago but was able to send an email. I received an email back saying the "office" was closed (EST hours) but that someone would get back to me ASAP. I was not contacted until Monday morning and booking was for Saturday. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE. You are on your own to figure this out because Trivago is no where to be found when you need them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trivago

Oct 27, 2015

Dear Sandra,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Christian in our User support team is doing his utmost to assist you with your booking issue but he is yet to receive the requested info to do so. Please provide him with all relevant details so that he can reach out to the booking site you used to make the booking to find a resolution.

Please note, as a hotel search and not a booking site, Trivago keeps no records of the transactions made through the booking sites and cannot alter or access a booking in any way. In order to make any changes, cancel, or confirm a a reservation, a user needs to contact the booking site which they used. As a hotel search/price comparison site, Trivago does not provide user phone support.

Please bear in mind, on Trivago, users can search and compare different hotels and prices on our site. We pull information from multiple OTAs (online travel agencies) and display the prices together. However, once a user clicks through to ‘view deal’, they are directed to the appropriate booking site which provides that price to complete reservation and payment details. Trivago doesn't actually have any involvement in the making of the booking.

We look forward to hearing from you again so that we can assist you further.

Kind regards,

Trivago user support.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 11, 2015

Deceptive hotel selections

By John Joss , San Francisco, CA

After being bombarded with television advertising by Trivago, I decided to test them via a booking in Pacific Grove, California, on the Monterey Peninsula.

Trivago did not recognize or recommend ANY Pacific Grove accommodations in its first 10-12 offerings but referred me instead to much costlier places in Carmel, highly inconvenient for Pacific Grove. I have no explanation for this but it could be due to (1) incompetence on the part of the company or its IT staff or (2) their being paid in some way to recommend costlier places that are not near or (3) their desire to acquire higher fees by offering costlier places. Whichever applies, it's not plain, straight dealing and I find it highly objectionable.,

As an example of this deception, they cited "distance from Pacific Grove" as 0.2 miles, whereas the actual driving distance is more like 5-6 miles--but they could claim the city limit as the "distance" since the two towns are adjacent. Cute,, eh.

I searched further and found Pacific Grove places (which I knew from visiting there many times truly existed) and made the reservation I wanted to make.

I would not trust this organization despite its extravagant claims.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 20, 2015

Fraudulent Listing - Beware

By Emily Weeks, Verified Reviewer

If I could give trivago.com a 0 star rating I would due to fraud and False Advertising, a lack of any sort of customer services, and an overall horrible experience dealing with this Company.

I saw a hotel advertised on trivago.com in Downtown Chicago for a great deal. Trivago took me to hoteling.com to complete the transaction. However, when I finished booking my hotel on hoteling.com, it told me I had booked a hotel in a different location that was nearly 15 miles west of Chicago. I immediately canceled my booking, but was charged a fee equal to that of my reservation.

$400 dollars in the hole for this transaction, and I am still trying to receive a refund from hoteling.com and trivago.com. They have not been helpful to say the least. Both companies have a non-existent customer service desk (hoteling does not have any customer service hotline at all and trivago.com has one that is never monitored and prevents the opportunity to leave voicemails).

On top of this, both companies are unwilling to admit and process a refund for a mistake that is clearly a prevalent error with their services due to mapping issues and broken links between trivago.com and other booking websites. So beware of booking with trivago.com. Stay far away!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trivago

Nov 3, 2015

The error here was the fault of Hoteling.com. Our user support team reached out to them on behalf of Mrs. Weeks and they provided a full refund. The user was satisfied and we consider the case closed.

Trivago user support.

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 16, 2015

A horrible experience just begun

By Maurice Stephens , Dallas Ft. Worth, TX

For my first time I went on Trivago to get round trip flights for a 4-day trip a month away. I booked a return trip on a Sunday, but fought the website which 3 times put in a date completely month later. Checking for seat assignments I was shocked to see that JustFLY Booking had the ticket on that WRONG date a month later. The phone numbers given had NO OPEN HOURS of operation but gave opportunity to enter an extension number. Later, after getting another main phone, I found none of the agents had extension numbers. The handling of our problem--THEIR mistake--has been abysmal, utterly inept and disgusting! It's not over yet.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trivago

Nov 3, 2015

Trivago is a HOTEL search site. We provide absolutely no information on flights. We would like this review removed as soon as possible.

Many thanks,

Trivago user support.

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 10, 2015

The cost

By Emma Tarhalla , Venice, FL

Trivago charges more than $3 per night more for rooms vs. booking directly through a chain hotel. Be wary.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trivago

Nov 3, 2015

Dear Emma,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. However, your claim is incorrect.

As a hotel search and not a booking site, Trivago is not involved in the booking process between the user, the online travel agent and the hotel, and therefore cannot, in any way, claim financial responsibility for the transaction process between these parties.

On Trivago, users can search and compare different hotels and prices on our site. We pull information from multiple OTAs (online travel agencies) and display the prices together. However, once a user clicks through to ‘view deal’, they are directed to the appropriate booking site which provides that price to complete reservation and payment details. Trivago doesn't actually have any involvement in the making of the booking.

Hotels distribute discounted rates to multiple booking sites which are usually under the normal BAR or sell rate which can be booked directly at the hotel. What Trivago does is simply displays them all together, in one place, for users to compare and choose from. Our main purpose is to help users find their ideal hotel, which is why we have several different filters to choose from in order to narrow down your search results to meet your specific travel needs.

We function as a portal for hotels to advertise themselves, as well as a meta-search for booking sites to display their rates and increase the traffic to their companies.

You are right, sometimes booking directly with the hotel can be cheaper if they are promoting special rates, however, for the most part, their sell rates do not fluctuate as much as those which are sold through booking sites. Our main goal is to help people find that particular ideal hotel to fit their needs, then they can book it however they choose. We are also currently integrating Direct Connect, an option that you might find useful, which is a service where hotels can directly display their own rates on Trivago and promote themselves this way.

Kind regards,

Trivago user support.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 6, 2015

Prices too high

By Gary , Annapolis, MD

I called hotels directly and found much lower rates. It is a good place to find a list of hotels.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 1, 2015

The Worst ever

By Ron, Edmonton, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Do Not Use this company to book a reservation. Do not! Trivago will refer you to sites that have no intension of booking you a reservation. We booked with Trivago which referred us to OTEL.com that never made the reservation. When we checked with Trivago and they did refer us to Otel which is a company out of Istanbul and has zero interest in helping the customer or making the reservation and Trivago will just keeping referring you to that company. Both are absolutely brutal companies with no interest in helping the customer. It's ruining the internet booking process all by itself. Do not use Trivago/ OTel.com if you want a reservation to be actually booked! Might be the biggest scam on the internet.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 22, 2015

Hidden fees

By Bill Brooks , Turlock, CA

I booked a seven night stay in Williams, Arizona with a third party booking company, Trivago dealt with on this reservation. The third party company was Amoma. It is a French based booking agency. When I received my credit card statement, I had been charged an extra $24 for a foreign credit card transaction by my bank. So it ended up being a minimal savings over making a reservation directly with the hotel. No more Trivago and its third party booking companies.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 18, 2015

My Trivago Experience.

By Mia Trujillo ,

This was my first time using Trivago. I was sent a confirmation number but at check in at the hotel, said that they didn't receive the fax.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 16, 2015

Didn't return desired search results

By D.J. , New Mexico

I found that Trivago did not return the search results desired. For example, when I entered "Alamosa, CO", it kept returning only one listing for Comfort Inn, which I wasn't interested in and there are at least 7-8 other hotels/motels in that town which show up in other search engines. Of course this was frustrating so I ended up booking on Expedia, which was easier and faster to use.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 15, 2015

Tricks and switches

By mybiz, Ohio, Verified Reviewer

Clicking on a deal for one hotel took me to reviews/booking for an overpriced hotel located across the street from the hotel I was trying to book. That's a pretty shady tactic - have some integrity.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 13, 2015

Just another website, no real bargains

By John ,

No different than any other hotel booking site that compares, i.e. kayak.com. It's all the same distribution and pricing. Trivago doesn't get any special deals just for them, disappointed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 12, 2015

Simple and Easy

By Mike ,

Usually I just search on Hotels.com or TripAdvisor when I'm traveling, and then book directly with the hotel. Used Trivago and found that many rooms are cheaper with other sites. I saw no problem with the dates being changed when the booking sites popped up.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 4, 2015

Horrible experience

By Alex A Arrays , Louisiana

Horrible experience and terrible ads. The ads drill the name but it sounds like Zhivago.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted
Showing 28-54 of 60

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.