Start your review of TrueCar:
  • 109 Customer Reviews
  • 12% Recommend This Company
1.5 out of 5
5 star: 6% 4 star: 3% 3 star: 3% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 82%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Setting yourself up

    At first, you think this is great and you get an almost immediate response.

    Three dealers were quick to respond, one with a price that was great, so I bit. I received a phone call from some one saying they were from Russel Woodstock Chrysler in Van Nuys, CA to make an appointment to come in and view the car.

    Fortunately, I called to ask to have the window sticker sent over so I could make sure it had all the options I wanted. It took about five plus calls to get a hold of a sales person that could help or not. The car was not available, but they did say they would double check to call me back and say it sold last night. Questionable?

    West Valley Chrysler was very up front. I discussed what I was looking for and he went online and let me know that the vehicle was not available within about 200 miles (thank you sir).

    The MSRP was listed at about $38k minus the $5900, which brings it down to about $32,000. The price the dealers were asking for this car is about $31,500 (the right car not the color I wanted).

    Like every sales gimmick seems rigged.

    Unhappy user of TrueCar.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Buyer beware (with proof)!

    • By Leon Grol,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Jul 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received a TrueCar offer on a vehicle that is over $1,000.00 more than what the dealer is advertising on his/her website. This is one vehicle of many the dealer is offering at this price, so this is a legitimate offer from the dealer.

    Same VIN. Same everything, but the price is over a thousand higher from TrueCar. Why? Is this their mark up for steering buyers to the dealership?

    Buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Too much!

    • By Charity,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jul 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    As soon as I signed up, my email blew up! Then, my text messages on my phone, and then my voicemails, and they never stop. I have to keep blocking, and then they call from different numbers. I unsubscribed from each email that came in, and that's finally slowing down, but wow.

    And the car "inventory" is not correct. I went to two dealerships that claimed to have a vehicle in stock (with the invoice/photo), and when I got there, they acted like that never happens.

    Very disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TrueCar

    I had to laugh when I read the other reviews because the same things happened to me using TrueCar. Not honoring certificates, the constant emails and phone calls, finding cars on the dealer websites that are cheaper, etc. Big waste of time. It's just another way to market cars. That's it. Plus, they do charge $300 when you buy a car. Who pays that? The dealer is not going to eat it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Guarantee discount is worthless

    • By William,
    • Birmingham, AL,
    • Apr 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Serra Chevrolet of Birmingham, Alabama sent a TrueCar exclusive guaranteed discount offer to sell a 2017 Colorado, then refused to honor the discount. I guess Tony Serra's word matches the Serra history. Don't trust TrueCar (who wouldn't do anything) or Serra. I am speaking with an attorney on breach of written contract.

    TrueCar appears to be a come on/lead generator with no power to enforce bad dealer conduct and refuses to get involved in resolving.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Tell everyone, do not use TrueCar

    • By Nunya Bizness,
    • United States,
    • Apr 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you want to use TrueCar, just let me know and I will negotiate a better deal for you.

    TrueCar RECEIVES money from dealers directly, which should throw up a red flag for anyone trying to buy a car. Remember when TrueCar first started they showed "dealer purchase price?" Now they only use MSRP, which is just more profit for the dealers.

    Check around; you can normally find a better deal than the limited dealers who TrueCar sends you by email (their preferred dealers).

    ALSO, I have been unable to delete my account! I've called their phone number (888-truecar) and been left on hold. I couldn't find anywhere on my account to delete it, and there is no link in their emails to unsubscribe.

    Also, read their "privacy" notice. They clearly state that they cannot guarantee the safety of your personal information!

    Buyers/users beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of time

    • By Jim,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Apr 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could have given it zero stars, I would have.

    It gave my personal info out to multiple dealers who appear to have a vague idea of what I wanted, and in most cases totally wrong info. I must be getting 50 calls a day now from it. Meanwhile, the seven "matching" cars it shows me aren't even the right year or model (it sends me 2017's when I want 2016's, Cherokee when I want Grand Cherokee, etc).

    Don't give this site your time or info. You will regret it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Spam calls

    • By Erin,
    • Mar 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up with TrueCar to get some prices on a car I am looking to purchase in the summer. Since signing up, my phone has been ringing off the hook with calls from all different kinds of car dealerships. I since then have just been sending all of my calls to voicemail and calling back my actually important calls from doctors, my school, and work.

    It's a nightmare. DON'T sign up for TrueCar. They will sell your phone number and life will never be the same.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • 2017 Subaru

    • By Greg,
    • Michigan,
    • Mar 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been looking at buying a new car for many years. Each time I find one I like, I used TrueCar to get a good price. The day came to finally purchase my new car. There is only ONE TrueCar dealer in the state of Michigan. The price they quoted was supposed to save me over $1,200. I went to my closest dealer to compare te price as the TrueCar dealership was a hundred miles away. My local dealer beat the TrueCar price by over a thousand dollars. TrueCar is a true rip-off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • "Guaranteed savings" isn't guaranteed. Complete baloney.

    • By Shawn W,
    • Oregon,
    • Jan 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received a TrueCar "Guaranteed Savings Certificate" that had a guaranteed savings amount of $2,033 off the MSRP of a new 2017 Honda CR-V. Local dealers refused to honor it. I called and emailed Truecar to get help, but they would not. Even after five calls and four detailed emails.

    This "guarantee" isn't a guarantee at all. It's nothing but an "approximate savings."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Generates a lot of unsolicited calls

    • By James,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    In order to see any useful information, TrueCar makes you enter your phone number and email address, which TrueCar immediately shares with hundreds of car dealers, who start calling you immediately. So expect a LOT of phone calls and emails as soon as you look anything up on TrueCar.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 23-33 of 109

Write a Review for TrueCar!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
TrueCar