About TruGreen

Now that spring has sprung and your lawn is beginning to grow again, you’ve probably seen ads popping up everyone for TruGreen. In fact, you’ve probably seen the large TruGreen trucks in your area on more than one occasion. This lawn, shrub, and tree maintenance company claims to take a scientifically tailored approach to lawn and landscape care, and to provide it with the attention it needs in order to remain healthy.

But does TruGreen really live up to its promises? Let’s get our hands dirty and find out.

Quick Facts About TruGreen

As the self-proclaimed leader of the professional U.S. lawn care industry, TruGreen claims to provide regularly scheduled maintenance visits that take the complexity out of lawn care, while improving its health and overall beauty.

First, TruGreen will send a local specialist to your home, which are claimed to be trained by agronomic experts through their TruExpert Certification Program. During this visit, the specialist will conduct a Healthy Lawn Analysis® of your yard, which allows them to formulate a plan specifically tailored to meet your needs based on climate, region, and season. From there, you’ll then need to choose your lawn care plan, which include:

  • TruComplete – TruGreen’s premiere, most comprehensive plan that claims to give your lawn “everything it needs to flourish.” Focused on increasing density, creating a deep green color, and preventing weed growth and insect infestation.
  • TruHealth – This mid-level plan claims to improve your lawn’s moisture, prevent weeds, and to provide essential nutrients.
  • TruMaintenance – A basic plan that provides nutrients and prevents weeds.

TruGreen also offers tree & shrub care plans that work very similar to the lawn plans. In other words, your specialist will focus on things such as improving soil moisture, preventing fungus growth and insect infestation, root zone fertilization, and even scientifically formulated targeted trunk injection.

According to the TruGreen website, your specialist will visit your home once every 7 weeks depending on your plan, which can be adjusted in order to provide “superior” results.

TruGreen Pricing & Refund Policy

TruGreen claims that their plans often cost less than what it would for you to perform the same level on maintenance on your own, and their website provides the ability to estimate costs based on your yard’s size, your specific concerns (e.g. weeds, thinning grass, insect activity, etc.), and more.

With this in mind, prices start at:

  • TruComplete – $528 per year
  • TruHealth – $357 per year
  • TruMaintenance – $282 per year
  • Tree & Shrub Plans – $399 per year

If you pay for your plan a year in advance, you can save 10% off the total price.

TruGreen claims that they provide guaranteed results, and that they will visit as often as necessary in between scheduled visits in order to give you the best results. However, this guarantee only applies to “full” plan customers.

To inquire more about TruGreen’s guarantee or to gain a better idea of cost, contact customer service at 866-369-9539.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About TruGreen?

TruGreen was founded in 1974 and is headquartered in Memphis, TN. The company is accredited with the Better Business Bureau, however, because each branch is a locally owned franchise, there are numerous entries on the BBB website, each of which have their own ratings and list of complaints.

While most Better Business Bureau ratings were in the B range, the online customer reviews we found during our research told a very different story. Overall, it appears that TruGreen has an extremely poor online customer reputation, with the most common complaints citing failure to see results (and in many instances, customers’ lawns actually got worse), numerous unwanted sales calls, that you can likely achieve the same results for less money, missed appointments, difficulty cancelling contracts (e.g. specialists would still show up repeatedly after cancellation), unauthorized additional services, and much, much more.

What’s the Bottom Line About TruGreen?

The phrase “time is money” has never been more relevant than today, when it seems like we have more things to do, and less time to do them in. As such, it can be tempting to hand over control of your lawn to a professional company like TruGreen, and to let them handle all the time-consuming dirty work. However, based on our research, you may want to think twice before signing up for a contract. Here’s why:

First, keep in mind that TruGreen only handles fertilization, aeration, weed and insect control, and pH maintenance. In other words, you’ll still be required to mow and water your own lawn, which are often the most time-consuming aspects of lawn maintenance. While the company claims to be able to discuss mowing techniques with you, they will not mow it themselves.

Next, despite their claimed commitment to excellence, there are thousands of negative online customer reviews about TruGreen. Admittedly, it would be one thing if each complaint cited something different, but nearly every one we read referenced one or more of the following:

  • Failure to see results (and in many instances, customers’ lawns actually got worse). And it’s often the case that when you try to call and let them know it’s not working, they’ll make it seem like it’s your fault (e.g. the grass was walked on too much, brown spots are due to pets, etc.).
  • Numerous unwanted sales calls and high-pressure sales tactics.
  • That you can likely achieve the same results for less money.
  • Multiple missed appointments.
  • Difficulty cancelling contracts (e.g. specialists would still show up repeatedly after cancellation) and then attempt to charge customers for the visit.
  • Unauthorized additional services (e.g. adding an extra treatment, etc.)

…and much, much more. In fact, these only scratch the surface of some of the most common online complaints related to TruGreen.

All in all, except in rare instances, it doesn’t appear that TruGreen consistently delivers on its promises. As such, we might recommend researching other local lawn maintenance companies to use instead.

See Also: 5 Tips For Achieving the Greenest Grass on the Block this Spring

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

94 Consumer Reviews for TruGreen

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 4 1 star:  84
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 94
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Knightdale, NC,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been with TruGreen for about 3 or 4 years. I was happy with the service at first but have noticed a big drop off in the last year or so. For example, I just paid $200 for aeration and overseed and noticed there were no seeds on the ground. That makes me wonder how long have I been cheated. My yard doesn’t look any better than any of my neighbors' yards. I also just paid $50 for fertilizer, and the guy was gone in about two minutes. No way he could have done the whole yard. I’m wondering if other people have been cheated also.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A complete and total rip-off

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like an idiot, I signed up for TruGreen service at my new home. For starters, no "professionally trained specialist" EVER came out to my house. As a matter of fact, there were a couple of times that the technician went to the wrong house, even though there are great big numbers on each house - but I digress.

    Anyway, as the end of my contract was approaching, I contacted customer service to make sure they notated my account that I was not renewing my contract, that I had seen no improvement in the lawn or the trees, and was no longer interested in their service. I was told that they cannot do that, that I would have to call prior to the technician coming out and advise I wanted no further treatment.

    The next time I was notified they were coming, by my records, I had two lawn and two tree and shrub treatments left. I wrote myself a note to call and cancel after the treatment, and again cancel my account. About two weeks after the treatment, I received an invoice for over $60 for the treatment.

    When I called their 800 number, I got a rude, uneducated, 20-something who could be heard chewing gum over the phone. She told me I didn’t count correctly and that I owed for the treatment. I told her to close the account, send it to collections, and confirmed I had the tree and shrub service. When she said I did, I told her to remove those from my account, that TruGreen was no longer allowed on my property. It took her almost 10 minutes to type info into her computer, and as we were ending the call, she became completely rude, so I just hung up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Extremely dissatisfied

    • Houston, TX,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was forced to cancel my easy payments because they kept charging me and taking out money from my account as they pleased and after I had already canceled.

    I was promised something totally different.

    I’m retired, disabled, and have to manage my money very carefully.

    In April they charge me once, in May four times, in June once, in July twice, it was getting crazy, amount of the charges varies from $102, $74, $53, etc.

    Please just try to do what you can, watch YouTube videos for guidance, and buy your own items.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They are scamming people!

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was promised that my lawn would be restored to a lush appearance. My lawn was affected by a fungus known as "TARR" or Take All Root Rot." TruGreen apparently did not recognize the gravity of the fungus, and at that time I also was clueless. When the roots are dead no matter how many treatments are applied, nothing will regrow in those barren spots. I was advised that I would notice initial green growth within one month after the first TruGreen application. Unfortunately, no growth materialized; therefore I canceled all further fertilizer treatments which TruGreen had planned. It does not make sense to fertilize dead soil without a root system.

    Since I had prepaid the entire dollar amount of almost $ 1000, TruGreen was not willing to let my money go, and they kept attempting to schedule more treatments. I kept canceling but they would not take no for an answer. They suggested to send out a production manager to analyze the condition of my soil. I was trying to reach this man by phone to schedule an appointment. I called for six consecutive days. He finally returned my call and scheduled a meeting for Monday at 11 am. He did not show up or had the courtesy to call and cancel.

    After five cancellations, I finally told them that I would not tolerate their intrusion any longer and will take the matter to small claims court to stop all their constant solicitations. I paid by credit card and asked my bank to put the amount minus the first treatment on the dispute. It took two months to get my money back. TruGreen did not want to return my money willingly. Companies like that should not be in business!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Go buy some weed n’ feed

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wasted over a thousand dollars on these jerks! I gave them two years to impress me. It became an embarrassment for my neighbors to see those signs stuck in my hideous lawn! I have exactly what I had before TruGreen. A fine green grass in areas with a coarse straw grass with dry, burned, golden grass with clusters of broadleaf weeds and some other weeds for good measure. My neighbors must be laughing at me because their lawns look the same or even better, and they do nothing! TruGreen lies like Trump and you want to believe them because otherwise you’ve been duped! Just like with Trump! And they’re better at it! You’re always a few treatments away from a beautiful lawn. They continue your contract without asking and are always promoting another plan. Don’t worry about my damn mosquitos growing on my lawn! One time I awoke and checking the mail, I saw the truck pull up. By the time I washed my face and put on my flip-flops on, he was gone. Isn’t my yard that small? Home Depot here I come.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Do it yourself!

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible management, they pretend that you are important, they promise both service and quality, and neither is true! One tech spends two hours here servicing, the next 45 minutes, manager after manager called or came out promising better service and results. They stated that they were in a pickle because they purchased Scott's clients, but they never came through! They are 100% rip-off, the weeds and bugs came back time after time.

    The same thing happened last season, I fired them only to have the branch manager and field manager promise me that I was important, and they would come through, well they did not. They also lied as to how much the service would cost based on the agreed coverage area. I have now filed a claim against them for a 100% refund, as they claim they stand behind 100% satisfaction. Seriously, purchase these products from the hardware store and do it yourself, it is not hard, and you will actually get proven results. TruGreen is a complete and utter mess, mismanaged, understaffed and just big fat liars.

    They do not care to respond to your service issues. I have pages of texts and emails from managers that I will be sharing and posting on every single consumer forum, until I get a 100% refund, depending on how much energy I want to spend to forewarn future potential customers. Run Forrest, run!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Crooks and fraud

    • Glastonbury, CT,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Crooks, cheaters are these guys. Do not give them credit card info. They will say something else on phone and charge you something else. They send you the invoice in the mail and not in an email, so before it arrives and you get to see it, they already render some service and charge you money. That said, if services are rendered, the credit card company will not give you money back (according to law), so to save yourself, the only way is to not give these guys any credit card info until you see a written piece of document saying exactly how much they will charge you. The managers are rude as heck - they will hang up on you in a heartbeat. Avoid this and stay as far as you can from TruGreen, which is more like "TrueCrooks."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    TruGreen, you're fired!

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Aug 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worst company ever! Don’t use this service. They burned my grass on two occasions separately over fertilizing. The first time they did nothing about it and blamed the dead grass on shade (?). Funny how it turned brown just a few days after they fertilized.

    A couple weeks later they burned a large swath of grass in my front yard. It took two weeks and several calls to get someone out to look at the yard. Greg Anderson, manager, did return one call and had a gentleman named Keith stop by our home. He took responsibility for the burned grass and promised to repair. We have never heard from him since, can’t reach Greg, the manager, and the receptionist has nothing scheduled to repair yard.

    I canceled service today, going out to a third-party to repair the yard. See you in court "True Red" - at least that’s what you should rename the company because that’s all a customer will see.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Poor services

    • Schenectady, NY,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’d like everyone to know I prepaid in December 2017 for our service for the year 2018. We were scheduled for seven applications. In the middle of June, it was our second application. Keep in mind, we prepaid but never saw a service guy again. I had three conversations with TruGreen and all three people were very nice and made excuses for the service not showing up. I even asked the manager to call me, and if by any chance I wasn’t home, leave a contact number. No call back in four days. Can you imagine prepaid with no service for two months after trying to get service? Absolutely the worst service and company I ever dealt with.

    Albany New York TruGreen, keep your money and go to a different company. What are the chances this will ever get posted?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Band lawn maintenance

    • Charlottesville, VA,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruGreen is one company you don't want to work with. Forget their ratings on their OWN webpage, which is not the real one. For a real rating, check Yelp.

    They are paid to maintain my lawn, and my lawn has now many dead spots, and weed is growing in many places. This means they have not properly applied the weed killer and fertilizers. All my neighbors have a healthier lawn than me, and they are not paying anyone to maintain it for them.

    TruGreen cannot just do a proper job of lawn maintenance. Try another company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Service of my lawn

    • Tennessee,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had Scott's prior to being bought out by TruGreen. We had a beautiful fescue yard, but since TruGreen took over it has been a nightmare. I have canceled last year and was talked back into purchasing service for 2018. I have more foreign grass and some other weeds. I was told they would take care of it, but no action yet. In 2017 I purchased lawn aerification and they kept calling and changing the dates, eventually got too late, did get a refund, have canceled again because of service, and would never refer to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 94

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review