About TruGreen

Now that spring has sprung and your lawn is beginning to grow again, you’ve probably seen ads popping up everyone for TruGreen. In fact, you’ve probably seen the large TruGreen trucks in your area on more than one occasion. This lawn, shrub, and tree maintenance company claims to take a scientifically tailored approach to lawn and landscape care, and to provide it with the attention it needs in order to remain healthy.

But does TruGreen really live up to its promises? Let’s get our hands dirty and find out.

Quick Facts About TruGreen

As the self-proclaimed leader of the professional U.S. lawn care industry, TruGreen claims to provide regularly scheduled maintenance visits that take the complexity out of lawn care, while improving its health and overall beauty.

First, TruGreen will send a local specialist to your home, which are claimed to be trained by agronomic experts through their TruExpert Certification Program. During this visit, the specialist will conduct a Healthy Lawn Analysis® of your yard, which allows them to formulate a plan specifically tailored to meet your needs based on climate, region, and season. From there, you’ll then need to choose your lawn care plan, which include:

  • TruComplete – TruGreen’s premiere, most comprehensive plan that claims to give your lawn “everything it needs to flourish.” Focused on increasing density, creating a deep green color, and preventing weed growth and insect infestation.
  • TruHealth – This mid-level plan claims to improve your lawn’s moisture, prevent weeds, and to provide essential nutrients.
  • TruMaintenance – A basic plan that provides nutrients and prevents weeds.

TruGreen also offers tree & shrub care plans that work very similar to the lawn plans. In other words, your specialist will focus on things such as improving soil moisture, preventing fungus growth and insect infestation, root zone fertilization, and even scientifically formulated targeted trunk injection.

According to the TruGreen website, your specialist will visit your home once every 7 weeks depending on your plan, which can be adjusted in order to provide “superior” results.

TruGreen Pricing & Refund Policy

TruGreen claims that their plans often cost less than what it would for you to perform the same level on maintenance on your own, and their website provides the ability to estimate costs based on your yard’s size, your specific concerns (e.g. weeds, thinning grass, insect activity, etc.), and more.

With this in mind, prices start at:

  • TruComplete – $528 per year
  • TruHealth – $357 per year
  • TruMaintenance – $282 per year
  • Tree & Shrub Plans – $399 per year

If you pay for your plan a year in advance, you can save 10% off the total price.

TruGreen claims that they provide guaranteed results, and that they will visit as often as necessary in between scheduled visits in order to give you the best results. However, this guarantee only applies to “full” plan customers.

To inquire more about TruGreen’s guarantee or to gain a better idea of cost, contact customer service at 866-369-9539.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About TruGreen?

TruGreen was founded in 1974 and is headquartered in Memphis, TN. The company is accredited with the Better Business Bureau, however, because each branch is a locally owned franchise, there are numerous entries on the BBB website, each of which have their own ratings and list of complaints.

While most Better Business Bureau ratings were in the B range, the online customer reviews we found during our research told a very different story. Overall, it appears that TruGreen has an extremely poor online customer reputation, with the most common complaints citing failure to see results (and in many instances, customers’ lawns actually got worse), numerous unwanted sales calls, that you can likely achieve the same results for less money, missed appointments, difficulty cancelling contracts (e.g. specialists would still show up repeatedly after cancellation), unauthorized additional services, and much, much more.

What’s the Bottom Line About TruGreen?

The phrase “time is money” has never been more relevant than today, when it seems like we have more things to do, and less time to do them in. As such, it can be tempting to hand over control of your lawn to a professional company like TruGreen, and to let them handle all the time-consuming dirty work. However, based on our research, you may want to think twice before signing up for a contract. Here’s why:

First, keep in mind that TruGreen only handles fertilization, aeration, weed and insect control, and pH maintenance. In other words, you’ll still be required to mow and water your own lawn, which are often the most time-consuming aspects of lawn maintenance. While the company claims to be able to discuss mowing techniques with you, they will not mow it themselves.

Next, despite their claimed commitment to excellence, there are thousands of negative online customer reviews about TruGreen. Admittedly, it would be one thing if each complaint cited something different, but nearly every one we read referenced one or more of the following:

  • Failure to see results (and in many instances, customers’ lawns actually got worse). And it’s often the case that when you try to call and let them know it’s not working, they’ll make it seem like it’s your fault (e.g. the grass was walked on too much, brown spots are due to pets, etc.).
  • Numerous unwanted sales calls and high-pressure sales tactics.
  • That you can likely achieve the same results for less money.
  • Multiple missed appointments.
  • Difficulty cancelling contracts (e.g. specialists would still show up repeatedly after cancellation) and then attempt to charge customers for the visit.
  • Unauthorized additional services (e.g. adding an extra treatment, etc.)

…and much, much more. In fact, these only scratch the surface of some of the most common online complaints related to TruGreen.

All in all, except in rare instances, it doesn’t appear that TruGreen consistently delivers on its promises. As such, we might recommend researching other local lawn maintenance companies to use instead.

See Also: 5 Tips For Achieving the Greenest Grass on the Block this Spring

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

102 Consumer Reviews for TruGreen

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 5 1 star:  91
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 102
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't call TruGreen!

    • Townsend, DE,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hope the review reaches you before you allow TruGreen to treat your yard. First, let me make the statement, that my yard was fine before calling them in. I wanted it to be fuller and darker. I called them in and they guarantee that I would be totally satisfied with the results!

    After they started treating my yard, I started getting these weeds in it, coming up all over. I called and inquired about the weeds. At that time TruGreen sent someone out to look at the yard. The rep said, "we are not sure what that is!" Then followed up by saying they will be gone in two weeks. They did turn brown by didn’t go anywhere! I had to dig them up, which left potholes in my lawn.

    I cancel my service, and now I get a call on why I canceled. I tell them to check the records, "oh Mr. Alexander, give us a chance to get it right." Long story, short, I have more of that same weed right now. My neighbors don’t have it, and they don’t use TruGreen. I am telling you, don’t use TruGreen. Their WORD means nothing!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Bad, bad, bad!

    • Calera, AL,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruGreen has destroyed by beautiful lawn. My yard has been established for about 15 years and has always been beautiful and healthy. I thought it would be a good idea to turn over the care to TruGreen due to my work schedule. My yard is/was 100% Zoysia grass with no other grasses mixed in. In July, my lawn was lush and green. Between then and September of 2018, TruGreen treated my lawn for fall. Soon after, my lawn was nearly dead. I do not know what they did, but I have pictures that show a healthy green lawn in July, and a nearly dead lawn in August. Parts of it started coming back in September, but due to the weakening of the Zoysia, it has been overrun with Bermuda grass, which is impossible to get rid of. I had people with turf management degrees tell me the Bermuda grass explosion was a result of the weakened state of the Zoysia.

    In October, the area of Bermuda has nearly doubled. I had a couple of competitors come out and give their opinion, which is that TruGreen over fertilized and burned the lawn. Both other companies said that the only way to fix this is to re-sod, but I do not have $10,000 to re-sod. I have complained, and the manager came out and provided little comfort that the issue would be resolved. I have called several times and was told a complaint along with photos was sent to the upper managers in Birmingham. That was over a month ago.

    It has been 4 months since I first started to contact them and still no solution. I have pictures giving a timeline of the issue. I tried several times at the beginning to get someone out there to assess the situation, but they just kept retreating for weeds and would not notify the correct people of the problem. I requested time after time for the technician to meet me at the house to go over things but would only find the invoice on the front doorstep after they had come and gone. Do not use TruGreen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Poor service and misleading advertisement

    • Loudoun County, VA,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will be canceling my account with TruGreen because of misleading sales practices and incomplete service. I continued to have significant broadleaf weeds on my lawn in spite of their service. Additionally, I purchased the TruGreen Complete plan, which includes aeration, but I am being charged additionally and separately for aeration. If you are charging separately for aeration, then it is not part of the plan and should not be listed as if it were included. That is misleading and dishonest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • A complete and total rip-off

    • New York,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have surveillance cameras in my house and noticed that one of the TruGreen guys came in to put fertilizer. The yard fence was locked and he only did the front yard leaving the backyard incomplete. Then he has the audacity to charge me for the complete service of $75 when he was only there for 2 minutes. After a week I checked my online account and noticed that they charged $150 for 2 minutes of service. After this I told anyone that I know is using their service to cut them off. They stole $150 from me but believe me, they will lose more when I tell all my friends to cancel their service. Please do yourself a favor and stay away from TruGreen, they are "SCAMMERS."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not so good service

    • Colorado,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruGreen did a great job on my lawn during the summer. However, when it came time to winterize my yard and blow out my sprinklers, they were the worst. I started receiving calls to ask "did I cancel my service," which I did not make any calls for that request. They kept trying to do my yard in the snow, which was insane. I had to cancel my service because they got worse every week.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Terrible customer service

    • Omaha, NE,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called TruGreen to schedule sprinkler winterization and talked with one lady who said someone else would call me to schedule. I then received another phone call from a salesperson where I gave him my billing information. I was told then that a third person would contact me to schedule my appointment. I never got that phone call.

    I think it's ridiculous to have to talk to three people before they would even come out. I was getting ready to hire another company when the salesperson called me back and said they would take care of me and kept apologizing so I gave them a second chance, and credit card info AGAIN. As I was on the phone with the man that was supposed to come out, he didn't even know who the salesperson was (even though their desks are very close by). I was thinking then how unorganized that company really is, especially for a large company.

    Anyway, they never showed up for the appointment. I had to take off work to be home and no call, no show. I would never recommend this company to anyone. Needless to say, I called a different company and with one phone call got everything I needed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Service details

    • Alexandria, KY,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had TruGreen service for at least 10 years until about 2 years ago. One of the employees (Jason, I believe), drove his truck pulling a cart screeching down our driveway, tearing up some cement. A little while later, he would not allow me to let my dogs out before he pulled his hose from the truck. That was it for us. UNTIL Mark R came and told me that nothing like that will ever happen again and that he will always be available to help. Well, I have tried to reach him at least 5 times to remind him that I need flags to mark our invisible fence before aeration. I spoke with Lisa yesterday who told me she would relay the message to Kurt at the Florence, Kentucky office. I have not heard anything from anyone. So, I put pieces of yarn around the yard to show where the fence is.

    This is such poor service. I can't believe I allowed myself to be taken in by this company again. What a joke it is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    More is not always the best

    • Columbiaville, MI,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After several complaints and several (?) free applications, I still have broadleaf, clover, and crabgrass. It is obvious that the crabgrass preventer was never applied and my lawn is now full of dead crabgrass. My complaints obviously fell on deaf ears, and the answer came in the form of a new treatment, which prevented it but seems let broadleaf and clover continue to grow. Maybe they should get their butt off the power cart and do a little by hand. It seems riding the cart is all they can do. I paid $520.00 for a lawn full of crabgrass. They don't need to call about next year. I am very sorry I got TruGreen and so is the guy that that told me how good they were.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Knightdale, NC,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been with TruGreen for about 3 or 4 years. I was happy with the service at first but have noticed a big drop off in the last year or so. For example, I just paid $200 for aeration and overseed and noticed there were no seeds on the ground. That makes me wonder how long have I been cheated. My yard doesn’t look any better than any of my neighbors' yards. I also just paid $50 for fertilizer, and the guy was gone in about two minutes. No way he could have done the whole yard. I’m wondering if other people have been cheated also.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    A complete and total rip-off

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like an idiot, I signed up for TruGreen service at my new home. For starters, no "professionally trained specialist" EVER came out to my house. As a matter of fact, there were a couple of times that the technician went to the wrong house, even though there are great big numbers on each house - but I digress.

    Anyway, as the end of my contract was approaching, I contacted customer service to make sure they notated my account that I was not renewing my contract, that I had seen no improvement in the lawn or the trees, and was no longer interested in their service. I was told that they cannot do that, that I would have to call prior to the technician coming out and advise I wanted no further treatment.

    The next time I was notified they were coming, by my records, I had two lawn and two tree and shrub treatments left. I wrote myself a note to call and cancel after the treatment, and again cancel my account. About two weeks after the treatment, I received an invoice for over $60 for the treatment.

    When I called their 800 number, I got a rude, uneducated, 20-something who could be heard chewing gum over the phone. She told me I didn’t count correctly and that I owed for the treatment. I told her to close the account, send it to collections, and confirmed I had the tree and shrub service. When she said I did, I told her to remove those from my account, that TruGreen was no longer allowed on my property. It took her almost 10 minutes to type info into her computer, and as we were ending the call, she became completely rude, so I just hung up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Extremely dissatisfied

    • Houston, TX,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was forced to cancel my easy payments because they kept charging me and taking out money from my account as they pleased and after I had already canceled.

    I was promised something totally different.

    I’m retired, disabled, and have to manage my money very carefully.

    In April they charge me once, in May four times, in June once, in July twice, it was getting crazy, amount of the charges varies from $102, $74, $53, etc.

    Please just try to do what you can, watch YouTube videos for guidance, and buy your own items.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 102

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review