About TruGreen

Now that spring has sprung and your lawn is beginning to grow again, you’ve probably seen ads popping up everyone for TruGreen. In fact, you’ve probably seen the large TruGreen trucks in your area on more than one occasion. This lawn, shrub, and tree maintenance company claims to take a scientifically tailored approach to lawn and landscape care, and to provide it with the attention it needs in order to remain healthy.

But does TruGreen really live up to its promises? Let’s get our hands dirty and find out.

Quick Facts About TruGreen

As the self-proclaimed leader of the professional U.S. lawn care industry, TruGreen claims to provide regularly scheduled maintenance visits that take the complexity out of lawn care, while improving its health and overall beauty.

First, TruGreen will send a local specialist to your home, which are claimed to be trained by agronomic experts through their TruExpert Certification Program. During this visit, the specialist will conduct a Healthy Lawn Analysis® of your yard, which allows them to formulate a plan specifically tailored to meet your needs based on climate, region, and season. From there, you’ll then need to choose your lawn care plan, which include:

  • TruComplete – TruGreen’s premiere, most comprehensive plan that claims to give your lawn “everything it needs to flourish.” Focused on increasing density, creating a deep green color, and preventing weed growth and insect infestation.
  • TruHealth – This mid-level plan claims to improve your lawn’s moisture, prevent weeds, and to provide essential nutrients.
  • TruMaintenance – A basic plan that provides nutrients and prevents weeds.

TruGreen also offers tree & shrub care plans that work very similar to the lawn plans. In other words, your specialist will focus on things such as improving soil moisture, preventing fungus growth and insect infestation, root zone fertilization, and even scientifically formulated targeted trunk injection.

According to the TruGreen website, your specialist will visit your home once every 7 weeks depending on your plan, which can be adjusted in order to provide “superior” results.

TruGreen Pricing & Refund Policy

TruGreen claims that their plans often cost less than what it would for you to perform the same level on maintenance on your own, and their website provides the ability to estimate costs based on your yard’s size, your specific concerns (e.g. weeds, thinning grass, insect activity, etc.), and more.

With this in mind, prices start at:

  • TruComplete – $528 per year
  • TruHealth – $357 per year
  • TruMaintenance – $282 per year
  • Tree & Shrub Plans – $399 per year

If you pay for your plan a year in advance, you can save 10% off the total price.

TruGreen claims that they provide guaranteed results, and that they will visit as often as necessary in between scheduled visits in order to give you the best results. However, this guarantee only applies to “full” plan customers.

To inquire more about TruGreen’s guarantee or to gain a better idea of cost, contact customer service at 866-369-9539.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About TruGreen?

TruGreen was founded in 1974 and is headquartered in Memphis, TN. The company is accredited with the Better Business Bureau, however, because each branch is a locally owned franchise, there are numerous entries on the BBB website, each of which have their own ratings and list of complaints.

While most Better Business Bureau ratings were in the B range, the online customer reviews we found during our research told a very different story. Overall, it appears that TruGreen has an extremely poor online customer reputation, with the most common complaints citing failure to see results (and in many instances, customers’ lawns actually got worse), numerous unwanted sales calls, that you can likely achieve the same results for less money, missed appointments, difficulty cancelling contracts (e.g. specialists would still show up repeatedly after cancellation), unauthorized additional services, and much, much more.

What’s the Bottom Line About TruGreen?

The phrase “time is money” has never been more relevant than today, when it seems like we have more things to do, and less time to do them in. As such, it can be tempting to hand over control of your lawn to a professional company like TruGreen, and to let them handle all the time-consuming dirty work. However, based on our research, you may want to think twice before signing up for a contract. Here’s why:

First, keep in mind that TruGreen only handles fertilization, aeration, weed and insect control, and pH maintenance. In other words, you’ll still be required to mow and water your own lawn, which are often the most time-consuming aspects of lawn maintenance. While the company claims to be able to discuss mowing techniques with you, they will not mow it themselves.

Next, despite their claimed commitment to excellence, there are thousands of negative online customer reviews about TruGreen. Admittedly, it would be one thing if each complaint cited something different, but nearly every one we read referenced one or more of the following:

  • Failure to see results (and in many instances, customers’ lawns actually got worse). And it’s often the case that when you try to call and let them know it’s not working, they’ll make it seem like it’s your fault (e.g. the grass was walked on too much, brown spots are due to pets, etc.).
  • Numerous unwanted sales calls and high-pressure sales tactics.
  • That you can likely achieve the same results for less money.
  • Multiple missed appointments.
  • Difficulty cancelling contracts (e.g. specialists would still show up repeatedly after cancellation) and then attempt to charge customers for the visit.
  • Unauthorized additional services (e.g. adding an extra treatment, etc.)

…and much, much more. In fact, these only scratch the surface of some of the most common online complaints related to TruGreen.

All in all, except in rare instances, it doesn’t appear that TruGreen consistently delivers on its promises. As such, we might recommend researching other local lawn maintenance companies to use instead.

See Also: 5 Tips For Achieving the Greenest Grass on the Block this Spring

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

84 Consumer Reviews for TruGreen

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 4 1 star:  74
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 84
Sort reviews by:

  • Service of my lawn

    • Tennessee,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had Scott's prior to being bought out by TruGreen. We had a beautiful fescue yard, but since TruGreen took over it has been a nightmare. I have canceled last year and was talked back into purchasing service for 2018. I have more foreign grass and some other weeds. I was told they would take care of it, but no action yet. In 2017 I purchased lawn aerification and they kept calling and changing the dates, eventually got too late, did get a refund, have canceled again because of service, and would never refer to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Fired!

    I only wanted my tiny front lawn treated to make it green and healthy because I’m getting older and don’t want to do it anymore. They quoted me $30 for the first treatment and $60 for six additional services. The first service was fine...weed and bug control applied, $30.00 paid in full. Next month, the second treatment was applied and the bill was $142.40.

    I called and was told that two treatments had been applied, one for lawn and a second for grubs. I said it was only one visit and one application, so I was going to only pay as agreed, $60.00 They told me it was considered two visits. I told her I never agreed to that and this was a scam. I read her about the printout left in my mailbox by the technician...one application applied. I made her credit me for the second and FIRED TruGreen. After only two visits I discovered TruGreen's TRUE COLORS!

    Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    TruGreen is a scam

    • Plainfield, IL,
    • Jul 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruGreen is a scam. Last year around the beginning of August I had a sales personal knock on my door. They were offering me service for lawn care and mosquito treatment. It seemed like a good deal, but I didn’t know what I was getting into.

    A technician came on the scheduled day and didn’t care to knock on the door. I have three dogs and my request to TruGreen was that I wanted the technician to ring my doorbell when they came to make sure my dogs were not in the backyard. Well, that never happened.

    Summer was over, so I had one mosquito treatment credit for the next year. The lawn service was horrible, the technician was the same, so they never rang the doorbell. Treatments were done only on the front yard and one time I saw he was outside in the truck. I wanted to speak to him, but by the time I put my shoes on, he had left. He never did the treatment; he only put the flag.

    I called TruGreen to report him and ask to have someone else. I didn’t think getting their service was going to be a headache. So at the end of summer, I was told my service was going to be credit for next year's three lawn services and one mosquito treatment. I asked if they can give me a written copy that states what I was told, that I had credit for the following year. Customer service told me that it was in their system and that they couldn’t send me anything in writing, but it was going to be there to see for next year.

    So this year I got my mosquito treatment and my lawn care service, and I received a statement of $169. I called customer service two weeks ago to have this taken care of, and they told me that somebody was going to call me from the billing department. I received a second statement with the same amount, and I was supposed to be credited the full $169 to cover the cost of the mosquito and lawn services. I was only credited one penny.

    So I called today, July 2, 2018, to speak to customer service and they said they couldn’t do anything. I asked to be transferred to a manager or supervisor so that they can fix the problem. I was told that there’s no credit in the system and that I am responsible for the bill. Dealing with TruGreen has been only a problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They don't do what they say they do!

    • Nampa, ID,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I could give them a ZERO! Horrible company to do business with!

    Jessica at the Meridian office is incredibly rude, and I would never suggest doing business with them in the future. I enrolled online, and they said I would get an email explaining the process. I never got an email, and so I called. They explained over the phone and said that they were doing two treatments on the first visit. The advertisement said the first treatment was $29.95, but they were going to just through on a billbug treatment on the first one for an addition $79.99. I am sure glad that I called so that I didn't get an unexpected charge, and I canceled.

    Wendy was the technician that claimed to come out but did not leave a receipt on my door. She even had the gull to say that she talked to someone at the home, but there was no one even home. I have cameras at my home also, and she wasn't found treating my lawn on the cameras.

    I called and talked to Ryan, the sales manager, and he said that he would send her back out to treat the lawn. She came out to my property at that time and talked to me on my video doorbell. I told her to treat the lawn like Ryan said, and then I saw her sit in her truck for 10 minutes. Then left without doing anything!

    I called back to talk to Ryan, and Jessica told me that he wasn't going to talk to me and asked if I wanted to cancel or what? She said it in a way that was very rude. So, I hung up on her. A couple weeks go by and she calls me again, and left voice mail. I wouldn't talk to her again, and so I called and asked to have the general manager call me.

    Later, I did get a call from Joel. He was professional and polite. He did say that he had researched it and said that GPS showed her at my property both times, and pretty much politely told me that he was going to take Wendy and Jessica's word over mine. There are too many reasons to believe them, and so I will be filing a report with the BBB and disputing their charge to my credit card.

    WARNING! Do NOT do business with this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Works in my area

    • East Stroudsburg, PA,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After reading the reviews, I felt compelled to leave my own experience. I've been having a beautiful lawn since they started servicing my vacation home. The first year showed slow results, but the technician told me to give it time. I was dealing with a rough lawn, and the results I wanted didn't happen right away. However, each year I noticed the grass came back thicker and greener. Now, seven years later, my lawn is so thick and green, it looks like a carpet! The neighbors are amazed, and we always get compliments on the lawn.

    I'm in the Northeast area of the US, so we get all four seasons here. During the winter months, the grass goes dormant, and I was really concerned about the frost, ice, and snow would damage the roots. But when spring comes around, the grass sprouts back to life with energy and pushes out very green. But like I said, the first year didn't produce the results I was expecting, but by the third year, the results were very obvious. My only complaint, would be the price...yikes!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    TruGreen is dishonest and difficult

    • Bedford, NH,
    • Jun 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruGreen is one of the most dishonest and difficult companies I have ever encountered.

    Despite having reservations initially about using TruGreen, I committed to the service because the price was 75% of competitors, and because the salesperson and local service manager gave me detailed and credible assurances that their service was high quality. To ensure that I could monitor the work, I had my account notated to ensure that service is only performed on Saturdays when I am present on the property.

    Despite the notations on my account, TruGreen has continuously tried to schedule services during the week when I am not home. Each time I have called to reschedule, the service center has assured me that the appointments were canceled and would be rescheduled for a day and time that I could be present. However, the second service was performed during the week when I was not present.

    When I arrived home that day, I discovered that the technician had never actually applied any product to my lawn, despite a very specific receipt claiming that 80 pounds of product was applied. I scheduled the service manager to come to my property, which was an extremely time consuming and difficult process. During the visit, the manager explicitly confirms (with witnesses present) that the technician had lied about applying any product, and he assured me that the technician would be disciplined or fired for the fraud. As a result, I was again assured by the service manager that no technician would do any service on my property without me present, and that all services would be completed on Saturdays when I could be home.

    Nonetheless, TruGreen still continued to try to schedule services during the week when I was not home. I continued to have to cancel and reschedule. When I did so, TruGreen failed to make scheduled appointments, and would not call me, and would not call me back when I called them, to reschedule the services.

    As a result, I called the local facility to schedule all of my service appointments on Saturdays when I could be home. The customer service representatives then insisted that TruGreen never performs services on Saturdays, and refused to schedule any appointments for me, even though the company had scheduled and performed Saturday services on previous occasions. When I tried to discuss this with the service manager, in the course of discussing why services are only performed on Saturdays with me present, the manager claimed to that he had never confirmed the instance of employee fraud, despite me identifying the individuals who had witnessed him doing so.

    On top of all of the dishonesty, dealing with TruGreen about anything is always extraordinarily difficult. I typically have to wait on hold for at least 10 minutes before speaking to a person, then have to wait on hold even longer to get to the local facility. When I eventually get to a person at the local facility, the service representatives cannot provide answers to most basic questions, and have to wait longer (typically days) for a call back from a manager, and I often never receive a call back at all, requiring me to start the painful process of calling all over again.

    In short, my experience with TruGreen has been horrific. I believe the company is, at its best, extremely difficult and, at its worst, deceitful and dishonest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Dead grass, yard is ruined.

    • Indiana,
    • Jun 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Two applications and most of my grass is dead; bare dirt with a few weeds left. I tried twice to contact them. I am never using them again. The tech came, looked at my dead yard, and offered to upsell aeration and seed. I said NO! It wasn't this way BEFORE you sprayed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Service failure

    • Rochester, NY,
    • Jun 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had nothing but trouble with TruGreen after they took over from Scott's. They failed to provide the service for which they were paid in spite of numerous calls, visits, and photographs provided. They charged me twice for service that I had thought I paid for and then informed me that, after 30 days of no response and five emails from me, that my credit card had been refused because of transposed numbers, but they never bothered to let me know. They made numerous promises to clearly mark those areas treated, but failed to do so on most occasions.

    A local supervisor finally called me only after I had sent leers to corporate and to the local branch. Just last week, the treated my lawn, again without marking the areas treated, only this time killed several areas of the lawn, video of which I informed them they could view, I ASSUME due to over-application of weed killer. I do not know for sure if that is the reason because it has been four days since I asked for a supervisor to contact me and come out and they have ignored my request, pretty much their usual way of doing business.

    I have informed them I will not be contracting with them again and I would, and have, advised others to steer clear of this company, with a hefty advertising budget and seemingly little else to offer customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Honor

    • North Carolina,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Miss Jennifer and I had agreed on a price for my lawn, but since I was going out of town, we agreed to proceed when I returned.

    I called when I returned to set up when they could come out and begin my lawn treatments. To my surprise, they would no longer honor the price that was agreed upon.

    I still believe that a handshake seals a deal and that your word is everything for without your word you have nothing.

    All I can say for everyone else is good luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great experience, great results

    • Massachusetts,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My own experience with TruGreen has been very good. I contacted them after seeing the huge difference they made in my next-door neighbor's lawn. I've been a customer for three years, previous to this I found it very difficult to get even a crappy lawn to grow, but now my lawn is full and healthy and fantastic. I get the basic service, they come about one time per month between late March - early November.

    Don't expect instant miracles. The first year the improvement is noticeable, but if your lawn is like mine was, it took until the second year to get to where it is now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They sprayed wrong chemicals and killed my grass.

    I had a strip of grass die where they sprayed the wrong chemicals on my grass. It was obvious, I had photos. They never came out to look. I refused to pay them for killing grass so they sent it to collections instead of fixing the problem. I will never use them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 84

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review