About TruGreen

Now that spring has sprung and your lawn is beginning to grow again, you’ve probably seen ads popping up everyone for TruGreen. In fact, you’ve probably seen the large TruGreen trucks in your area on more than one occasion. This lawn, shrub, and tree maintenance company claims to take a scientifically tailored approach to lawn and landscape care, and to provide it with the attention it needs in order to remain healthy.

But does TruGreen really live up to its promises? Let’s get our hands dirty and find out.

Quick Facts About TruGreen

As the self-proclaimed leader of the professional U.S. lawn care industry, TruGreen claims to provide regularly scheduled maintenance visits that take the complexity out of lawn care, while improving its health and overall beauty.

First, TruGreen will send a local specialist to your home, which are claimed to be trained by agronomic experts through their TruExpert Certification Program. During this visit, the specialist will conduct a Healthy Lawn Analysis® of your yard, which allows them to formulate a plan specifically tailored to meet your needs based on climate, region, and season. From there, you’ll then need to choose your lawn care plan, which include:

  • TruComplete – TruGreen’s premiere, most comprehensive plan that claims to give your lawn “everything it needs to flourish.” Focused on increasing density, creating a deep green color, and preventing weed growth and insect infestation.
  • TruHealth – This mid-level plan claims to improve your lawn’s moisture, prevent weeds, and to provide essential nutrients.
  • TruMaintenance – A basic plan that provides nutrients and prevents weeds.

TruGreen also offers tree & shrub care plans that work very similar to the lawn plans. In other words, your specialist will focus on things such as improving soil moisture, preventing fungus growth and insect infestation, root zone fertilization, and even scientifically formulated targeted trunk injection.

According to the TruGreen website, your specialist will visit your home once every 7 weeks depending on your plan, which can be adjusted in order to provide “superior” results.

TruGreen Pricing & Refund Policy

TruGreen claims that their plans often cost less than what it would for you to perform the same level on maintenance on your own, and their website provides the ability to estimate costs based on your yard’s size, your specific concerns (e.g. weeds, thinning grass, insect activity, etc.), and more.

With this in mind, prices start at:

  • TruComplete – $528 per year
  • TruHealth – $357 per year
  • TruMaintenance – $282 per year
  • Tree & Shrub Plans – $399 per year

If you pay for your plan a year in advance, you can save 10% off the total price.

TruGreen claims that they provide guaranteed results, and that they will visit as often as necessary in between scheduled visits in order to give you the best results. However, this guarantee only applies to “full” plan customers.

To inquire more about TruGreen’s guarantee or to gain a better idea of cost, contact customer service at 866-369-9539.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About TruGreen?

TruGreen was founded in 1974 and is headquartered in Memphis, TN. The company is accredited with the Better Business Bureau, however, because each branch is a locally owned franchise, there are numerous entries on the BBB website, each of which have their own ratings and list of complaints.

While most Better Business Bureau ratings were in the B range, the online customer reviews we found during our research told a very different story. Overall, it appears that TruGreen has an extremely poor online customer reputation, with the most common complaints citing failure to see results (and in many instances, customers’ lawns actually got worse), numerous unwanted sales calls, that you can likely achieve the same results for less money, missed appointments, difficulty cancelling contracts (e.g. specialists would still show up repeatedly after cancellation), unauthorized additional services, and much, much more.

What’s the Bottom Line About TruGreen?

The phrase “time is money” has never been more relevant than today, when it seems like we have more things to do, and less time to do them in. As such, it can be tempting to hand over control of your lawn to a professional company like TruGreen, and to let them handle all the time-consuming dirty work. However, based on our research, you may want to think twice before signing up for a contract. Here’s why:

First, keep in mind that TruGreen only handles fertilization, aeration, weed and insect control, and pH maintenance. In other words, you’ll still be required to mow and water your own lawn, which are often the most time-consuming aspects of lawn maintenance. While the company claims to be able to discuss mowing techniques with you, they will not mow it themselves.

Next, despite their claimed commitment to excellence, there are thousands of negative online customer reviews about TruGreen. Admittedly, it would be one thing if each complaint cited something different, but nearly every one we read referenced one or more of the following:

  • Failure to see results (and in many instances, customers’ lawns actually got worse). And it’s often the case that when you try to call and let them know it’s not working, they’ll make it seem like it’s your fault (e.g. the grass was walked on too much, brown spots are due to pets, etc.).
  • Numerous unwanted sales calls and high-pressure sales tactics.
  • That you can likely achieve the same results for less money.
  • Multiple missed appointments.
  • Difficulty cancelling contracts (e.g. specialists would still show up repeatedly after cancellation) and then attempt to charge customers for the visit.
  • Unauthorized additional services (e.g. adding an extra treatment, etc.)

…and much, much more. In fact, these only scratch the surface of some of the most common online complaints related to TruGreen.

All in all, except in rare instances, it doesn’t appear that TruGreen consistently delivers on its promises. As such, we might recommend researching other local lawn maintenance companies to use instead.

See Also: 5 Tips For Achieving the Greenest Grass on the Block this Spring

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

113 Consumer Reviews for TruGreen

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  101
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 113
Sort reviews by:

  • Sales scam

    • Colorado,
    • Mar 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I first contacted TruGreen in September to have a sprinkler system blown out before Winter. After signing up for what I was told was a $28 service the sales calls started. Sometimes multiple times a day. Ended up telling me that to blow out the system it would be a total of almost $400 a year to be on the Sprinkler Care program. Next, it was I needed to pay hundreds of dollars to have my trees sprayed. The company would not schedule my blow out until I added more services. After weeks of getting sales calls and no services performed, I asked to be removed from their contact list. Now six months later still getting weekly and sometimes daily calls. Always claims to be a supervisor that will remove me but the calls continue. As of today, they are now texting me. STAY AWAY AT ALL COST!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam

    • Maryland,
    • Mar 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's a scam. They promised to make my lawn look great, it's been a year since I hired them and it hasn't happened. I called to complain and nobody (including a supervisor from the Gaithersburg office, Ashley) could help me.

    I am very upset and I will report them to the BBB!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Employees lie!

    • Edgewater, FL,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Employee notices advise that work was done. They lie since no one was at my home to perform service. Non-service reported to customer service and no one contacts me.

    The contract is negated since services not performed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service

    • Virginia,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone. I signed up for the premium service for lawn and shrub service. Half of the time they only serviced the front yard, not the back. One of the service reps candidly told me that the company had probably underestimated the area and so they would ignore the back. The lawn is the worst it has been in 16 years.

    Shrub care - when I called about boxwood blight and dying holly, the rep said it looked like rain so he would return another time. Never came back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    TruGreen services

    • Florence, SC,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used TruGreen for a year and my lawn looked awful in the front yard so I discontinued the service. I had a horticulture expert look at my lawn to see what was up with it. The centipede grass was actually DEAD! The lawn was killed by Mole Crickets. Now, why would TruGreen treat weeds and not tell me the true situation? I would leave notes for the technician where he left his hang tag sign that he had visited while I was not at home. I wanted to ask him some questions so I left him a note on my door to please call me so I could be there next time. The next time he left his hang tag note at the back door instead of the front! He probably saw my note so he used a door he had never left anything on before! I called the number for questions. Well, they know nothing and cannot help you at all.

    I also had the Horticultural treatment for my shrubs. Well, my Camellias have a disease so bad it isn't funny at all.

    My advice is DO NOT use TruGreen! It is a total rip off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No call, no show four times

    • North Port, FL,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible! I signed up for annual service via phone. Explained we needed service ASAP. No one called or texted as we were told would happen "within 1-2 business days" called back after one week only to find out we weren’t even on their schedule for a month. Again explained we need service NOW. We were told they would come within the week. Again no call no show. Called back and we were told they would be here for sure Monday. Nope, again nothing. I called back and were told we were tentatively on the schedule for the next day. I said ok, we are DONE! If this is how NEW customers are treated with an annual contract, I can’t imagine the nightmare recurring customers would have if they needed a repeat service. No thanks! Our money spends just fine elsewhere!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    TruGreen is a waste of money and time

    • Stafford Springs, CT,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    For the past several years I have had the TruGreen people apply their chemicals to my lawn in the hope they could make my lawn look close to the lawn in their TV advertisement. My lawn’s problem has been a combination of crabgrass and spurge. Over three or four years the technicians at my local TruGreen office have repeatedly told me that they would address those weed issues and get me to that great lawn condition I have been paying them for.

    Just so you know, the first application of crabgrass killer needs to go down very early in the spring as these pesky weeds need to be eliminated with a pre-emergent weed killer; if you don’t treat for crabgrass early any subsequent summertime chemical attempt to kill them ends up killing the lawn grass. TruGreen failed to treat early once again. After I complained again, they came out and dosed my lawn with weed killer, and killed about a third of my grass. They promised to reseed my lawn in the fall, but never showed up to do so. I canceled once again.

    Well, and last week someone from a southern customer service line called to ask why I had canceled. When I explained my really bad experience to the person on the phone, I was told they would have the local Manager give me a call to see if they could make this right. Today a lady called and informed me she was from the local service office and that the on-site manager did not make those sorts of dissatisfied customer calls, and that I needed to deal with her. I told her I was through with TruGreen, and that I was going to make this online post as I felt it very important to let the consuming public know of my completely unsatisfactory experience.

    Let me state that I am sure if TruGreen treated every customer as they have treated me they would no longer be in business; it is impossible they are this bad in every office. However, based upon how I was handled, I am totally unsatisfied and feel the local office has completely failed not only to treat my lawn, but the local manager has miserably failed to treat me with any level of customer concern, as demonstrated by his unwillingness to not even speak with me on the phone. If you use TruGreen for lawn care be vigilant and be ready to toss them overboard if they fail to do as promised. Treat for weed early if you hope to have success, and if the service you hire doesn’t show up early in the spring fire them and find another service. Good luck with your lawn.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Terrible company - total scam!

    • Nevada,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On April 24th, 2018, a man came to my front door offering TruGreen services. I gave him a glass of water and we sat on my bench and discussed the prospect. I acquiesced to a single initial treatment to try the service out because the salesperson promised that two treatments, one for weeds and another to protect my fruit trees against bugs and fungus would cost me $40.

    It took them at least 3-5 attempts before they finally got the initial application done because I only hired them to treat my backyard, which is locked with a padlock. So despite coming time and again and treating just the front yard for weeds, they couldn't accomplish the treatment that I really hired them to perform. Finally, I called in again on May 3rd to explain that issue and on May 8th we finally connected and I let them in to complete the job in the backyard.

    On May 15th I called to cancel.

    The woman with whom I spoke argued with me so much, and was so difficult to deal with, and I told her time after time that:

    - I didn't want to pay any more and that.

    - I wanted to cancel and that,

    - no more charges should accrue and that,

    - I only wanted it for my backyard but that,

    - it's too difficult to provide them with the necessary access to perform the task.

    My clear understanding of the way things were left after that call was that they could absolutely NOT treat my property without my express permission in advance. She ultimately ignored my request to cancel altogether, because at some point in October I was alerted to ongoing charges on my account - despite never letting anyone into my backyard to treat it.

    Therefore on November 1st, I called in explaining that I only ever authorized a single treatment. Nevertheless, I kept receiving past-due bills. So I called back in again on December 3rd to complain about erroneous charges on my account and explained that:

    - These charges were not authorized, and that,

    - I don't consider them valid, and that,

    - they were performed without my permission,

    - on a part of the home that I didn't care about at all.

    Now, on January 18th, 2019, I'm being THREATENED by a COLLECTIONS AGENCY called Transworld Systems, Inc., on behalf of TruGreen, now jeopardizing my credit to recoup the $74+ that they racked up on my account after I canceled, purportedly applying treatments that I did not authorize, to a part of the home that I explicitly wouldn't pay for, after being misquoted the price and after all of this back-and-forth dialogue.

    Many of the dates in this account had to be retrieved from the company's records, which, among other things, don't reflect the many times they came out to treat my yard unsuccessfully because they missed me and thus couldn't gain access to the backyard. It's frustrating that I am expected to maintain such rigorous records of my dealings with a vendor because they can't be trusted to record things faithfully and to tell the truth.

    I would hire ANY local provider over this firm - you'll be better off, in the long run, no matter what, plus you'll be helping the local economy instead of making one of the 1% even richer. Caveat Emptor!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Kept coming and charging us after we canceled.

    We canceled the services about October of last year. They showed up yesterday and serviced our lawn. Only found out after checking our bank account. This was not the first time they showed up to service after we canceled. Last time I was home and able to stop the gentleman from servicing the lawn. Not so lucky yesterday.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    They killed my grass!

    • Tennessee,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a beautiful green yard with a few weeds, so I purchased nine treatments to get rid of the weeds and make my yard the best one on the block again. After spending $325.15, I have no grass in my yard! Each time I spoke with a technician, I got a different excuse as to why my grass was dying (mostly my fault). One told me I was watering the grass too much. One told me I wasn't watering enough. One told me it was a really hot summer. After complaining and asking for a refund, I was contacted by Brady who ensured me he would resolve all of the issues. He promised my yard would be aerated (didn't happen) and over-seeded (didn't happen). I now have a yard with no grass and was recently told I had brown patch.

    Do NOT use this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Billed for unauthorized services

    • Virginia,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a longstanding TruGreen customer since 2005. This past month, we received an aeration and seeding that we did not authorize. I called to complain and was told that since they left me a voicemail message, they were not going to take any corrective action. As a result, I have canceled the lawn and shrub services - for which we have paid more than $10,000 in the past.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 113

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review