Read 157 TruGreen Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 9 1 star:  138
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 157
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Hired to simplify my life and it only complicated it.

    • By Kris H.,
    • Branson, MO,
    • Aug 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unfortunately, we have had a very rainy season and my first 2 full-price apps were done within less than 24 hours of torrential downpours. This caused the chemicals to pool into large specific areas of my lawn causing everything in those areas to die. Had nothing but mud. Called the first time and was given no good explanation. Second app happened the same way. For 6 weeks trying to put my account on hold and I'm finding it impossible. Sent photos, spoke with TG numerous times and info does not get disseminated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Maybe I'm just lucky

    • By Jason F.,
    • Lewisberry, PA,
    • Aug 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the first year with TruGreen but so far I'm impressed. At the end of last summer, I started to have a real clover and crabgrass problem. After crunching the numbers and comparing what I was spending to do it myself (which obviously wasn't working), I decided to give these guys a try. What a difference! The pre-emergent they used must be magic because I don't have a single crabgrass or clover weed in my entire yard and that's only after a few treatments. I, like most, have high expectations when spending this kind of money and so far they have delivered. I see a lot of folks saying they've had bad customer service experiences but on the contrary, mine was the opposite. After one of the early season treatments, I noticed a select few broadleaf weeds starting to show, I waited about a week just to see if these would brown and die like the others had previously. Once I realized that they didn't, I called to voice my dissatisfaction and was told someone would be out within 3 business days to do another treatment free of charge. Sure enough, 2 days later a tech came out and resprayed the problem areas free of charge and I haven't had a weed since. I can't help but wonder if the local TruGreen office that services my yard is just better than most or I'm just lucky but I have nothing but good things to say up to this point and I would def recommend them to a friend, and in fact, I have.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Extremely unsatisfied with an exception.

    • By Timothy S.,
    • Pawtucket, RI,
    • Aug 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Before I explain my dissatisfaction, I want to make it clear that my review will concern TruGreen's lawn service and not their mosquito and tick prevention plan. I have only positive experiences regarding their mosquito and tick spraying.

    My main problem with TruGreen involves their lawn care plan. The first person I met with was excellent. He explained everything he was going to accomplish and he spent quite a bit of time looking around the property and treating the lawn and spraying. The next visit was largely the same. After that things started to go downhill pretty quickly. My lawn was increasingly taken over by weeds. I watched the man walk around the yard, ignoring weeds and just spraying here and there. The front lawn was completely untouched and was taken over by nut grass entirely. I left the lawn long for the next appointment so they could clearly observe the weeds. The man did spray the front but ignored the back. I was billed the normal fee. I had planned to cut the lawn over the weekend and was not expecting them to return so quickly with seeding and aeration none the less.

    I was going to call and have them come out again to review the problem the following week when all of a sudden two days after we'd spraying they are performing an aeration and seeding service. It is the middle of August and the temperatures are above 90. It is far too early for this service. Further, they never called to indicate that this appointment was scheduled. I complained because the service was far too early and I wasn't notified. The lawn wasn't prepared for seeding. The lawn was too long. There are areas where the soil needs to be turned over and filler should be added. This service costs over $200 and if I am going to pay for it then I want to be prepared. I wasn't because they didn't notify me. They always called before, maybe not as early as I like, but they called. I am 100% certain they did not call. I have the call log, the caller ID log and I was home during the time they claim to have called.

    They were argumentative about the failure to call. Interestingly, they didn't argue that this service was far too early. I found that amusing, it makes me question why they would schedule something that needs planning and entirely different weather and temperature. It comes across as unprofessional and questionable. There is zero chance the seed will take. Everyone's lawn and yard are drying out due to extreme heat and lack of sufficient hydration even when watering daily. To seed now is pointless...and they know it. Early autumn seeding...not mid-summer seeding.

    I will never use them again. I will never recommend their lawn service. Mosquito, sure, that was great.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Very poor and dishonest service

    • By Belinda C.,
    • Huntersville, NC,
    • Aug 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    To start with, we had a healthy lawn, but since TruGreen took over it 4 years ago it has deteriorated to a lawn filled with weeds! In spite of multiple requests over the years, and several false promises made by TruGreen, nothing was really done which ultimately proves their customer service is very poor and no one really cares! I bet they wouldn’t be pleased if I were to post pictures of my weed-filled lawn that I have!

    To add to their failing services, they are dishonest as well, recently I called them since the weeds were getting really bad in spite of their treatment and I was promised re-treatment for free. The specialist who came by left a note saying he had talked to us when he had neither knocked on our door nor talked to us. Also, there was no indication that the lawn was re-treated for weeds. We were also charged on top of this. I called to let them know about their dishonest employee but I doubt they took it seriously since there was no effort made to correct their wrong and I had to call the accounting department for a refund. The manager Dustin promised a service call ASAP after I texted him again but nothing was done for the next two 2 weeks.

    Having had enough of their lousy service, I called to cancel their services and was told that it was because we didn’t use their aeration/seeding services, we had it done but not by TruGreen! However, I don’t understand how that is responsible for the never-ending weeds that crop up after their so-called "regular treatments", one would expect a controlled yard after 4 years of treatment!

    A total waste of hard-earned money and time, never hiring TruGreen again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service

    • By Noha T.,
    • Florida,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wouldn't recommend TruGreen to my worst enemy. They charged me for stuff I specifically said I didn't want. One of the things was potassium which they never even put down because they had the wrong address. But yet they still charged me 80 bucks for it. Every time I called and asked to speak to a supervisor, no supervisor was available nor would one call me back. Still waiting on a refund for the crap they didn't even do. My guess is I'll never see that money again. Worst experience ever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Bad customer service.

    • By Lowell U.,
    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Aug 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In October 2018, TruGreen was scheduled to come and do lawn work such as aeration, overseeding, and fertilization for my entire lawn. The customer service rep spent less than 10 minutes at my home (my wife was home at the time and watched); the customer service rep only did the front lawn, which is only 20 feet off the curb of the street with a concrete driveway, etc., basically, the front lawn is less than 25% of my entire yard. They charged me for the full service and when I called to complain I was told a service manager would contact me. This has yet to happen. When I have spoken to different CSR at different times over the past several months, I was told the GM would be contacting. This has never happened. So, now they have turned my bill in for collection efforts. I will pay it off as I probably have no choice in the matter at this point, but they refused to even prorate the bill for the service that was performed (which I was willing to pay for just to get them to stop calling me).

    I would not recommend this company to anyone. I have used their services for several years, some years the lawn comes out looking great other years, they could not control the weeds. Very spotty at best over the long term. You would be better off just hiring a local guy who can do the same work or just go and rent the equipment yourself. Simply put, their customer service should be labeled as "no customer service". Even after all of this they continued to call to try and get "my business back".

    Losers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    No promises kept

    • By Mariette D.,
    • Arizona,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was looking for weed control on our newbought house lawn. I talked to Justin of TruGreen who told me the weeds can be taken care of no problem, although he didn't see it (I told him to come over, he said he can see our lawn on Google Maps).

    He also said if it doesn't work you don't need to pay.

    We had the house inspection done in the winter and the grass was in that spot not level. I asked him if he could fix it. He said he would send a machine in what could do that (I cannot remember the name of the machine, I am not from Canada originally).

    After the first spray, I called the company after 3 days as Justin told me to do that if I didn't see any results. They told me that my salesman didn't know where he was talking about...that the product needed more time to work. I called back later...and was told by Justin that the next spray was on the house. The second spray was done by a good person, as it worked with spots on the leaves of the weeds. That second person also explained to me that it needed to be sprayed more and that first, only the spots appear. Then one day I got another bill in my mailbox that the spring aeration and overseeding was done. I didn't see any results. I did not see that machine or the person. I called the office again and told them nothing happened, I only would like the second person on my property...no one else. Then, 3 weeks later, another bill was found in the front hall and a warning sign on the lawn, with nothing written on it. Again I was told it was free. Again I got another bill. Again, I called TruGreen and Justin to not send anyone till I got a manager over to see my lawn.

    Well...it is now the middle of August and finally, someone came to see my lawn. He told me that the weed control with this spray would not kill weeds. But TruGreen got comments from other people that the lawn was dead so they dilute the spray a lot now.

    He asked what they could do to make it up to us. I said, let me pay for what I got...which, really, was 1 spray what worked...

    Then I finally got a call from another manager (Ken I think was his name) who said that I could only get 1 spray for free as I didn't complain earlier. He couldn't find anything in the system. Well...I now get my phone bill out and will prove that I did call. I also just called TruGreen to see if they could tell me when I called and told them the first time that the spray didn't work.

    He told me the date. And what was said. So it IS in the computer. I asked him for more dates, but the person on the phone became suspicious and told me that pretty soon I would be hearing from a manager...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Major let down

    • By Gary B.,
    • Wynnewood, PA,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were a loyal customer for several years and last month we had a mosquito treatment done and a large spill on our new driveway occurred from TruGreen's truck. I left several messages and not until we canceled service did we get a returned call. No one has come out or offered to repair our "new" driveway. The customer service is terrible! Very nice on the phone but no action.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • By John R.,
    • New York,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hired them to just get rid of wild violets and some other tough weeds popping up and they killed my entire back lawn and 30% of my front on June 28th. All summer I have to look at a dead lawn and they want to aerate and seed as compensation. What a joke. I had a green lawn until they killed it. I may be starting legal action to get satisfaction as they haven't offered anything beyond a few dollars worth of seed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Beware, TruGreen is not reputable

    • By Niccole J.,
    • Parkersburg, WV,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I switched to TruGreen in 2019. What a nightmare. It is hard for me to believe that the PGA is an endorser of this company. I have been lied to on a regular basis by management personnel.

    I have had more service appointments scheduled that I can remember which ended up as "no shows".

    TruGreen tries to bill you for services not provided. If you are fool enough to use TruGreen compare your service receipt very carefully against your billing statement.

    TruGreen has a high turnover rate in service technicians, I never had the same tech twice. Even though they say you don't need to be home, I had to be to ensure they covered the entire lawn. They need a "watch dog" or they skimp on the treatments.

    Giving TruGreen a "1 star rating" is being over-generous. They deserve "0" stars.

    I would not recommend TruGreen to anyone. I wish the PGA would re-evaluate their endorsement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    They burned my lawn

    • By Abraham G.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hired them and they burned half my lawn in less than a month. I now have large yellow patches and missing grass.

    Update: Yellow patches gone and now just dirt. They killed my lawn.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 157

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review