Read 142 TruGreen Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 7 1 star:  128
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 142
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Poor service

    • Columbus, GA,
    • Jul 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had TruGreen for years. I have an issue with my grass getting brown spots and my shrubs dying. I noticed they kept spraying my yard but never offered a solution to what might be causing the problem, this service is expensive and I expected better. I became concerned about my lawn so I called and asked to have my yard evaluated for a treatment plan. When I call I was very clear that I needed someone to tell me what was going on with my lawn. When the lawn tech showed up he advised he had no idea how to evaluate the lawn and scrubs. He said he would report it and get some one else out. I’ll see how long that takes or if I have to call again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Absolute trash

    • Kennesaw, GA,
    • Jun 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My spouse and I had opted to prepay for a season of TruGreen's service when we first moved into our home. After the first season we were unsure if we wanted to continue with their service. We randomly got a bill in the mail from them after our "prepaid season" had been complete. They wanted us to pay $50 something for a service they had done. TruGreen called and I informed them that I would pay the $50 balance, but needed to talk to my spouse before we continued on.

    After the phone call they came out three MORE times to do a mosquito treatment.

    They now want us to pay $200 plus because they continued a treatment that I DIDN'T ASK FOR!

    Their management team has not resolved the issue. The regional GM wanted to split the difference instead of admitting they had made a mistake.

    They will hound you on the phone stating that it is a service that will be continued no matter what, unless you call them to cancel.

    Their customer service reps are terribly rude and will talk over you continually and will not listen to what you are trying to tell them. I have had them tell me they "had no notes on the account" when I had asked to talk to a manager previously.

    Kasey employee number 41691 was one of the reps that would continue to talk over me when I was trying to ask questions or explain things.

    All in all, the customer service is absolute trash. The management team does not care about you "the customer" and will continue to hound you and twist everything to where it is the customer's fault.

    If I could give zero stars I would.

    There are plenty of other lawn treatment companies that will treat you, the customer, as you should be treated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service and billing

    • Loveland, OH,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had TruGreen back in 2017 for our residential lawn care. The service and product were good but they would go a few months without coming out (supposed to be monthly) and then when they would, they would come out three weeks in a row and bill us for each visit. After numerous phone calls to constantly correct the issue we dropped the company due to the poor management.

    Fast forward two years, we decided to give them a try again after receiving 500 phone calls from salemen. They said they changed their systems and management and ensured me it wouldn't happen again. Well, after treatment #2, I noticed the bill was about $120.00 more than it should be. I called customer service and they said it was because of Grub Control which cost over $100.00. I never authorized this service and then looked at my agreement and I was offered two FREE grub controls. Stephanie from customer service continued to argue with me that Grub Control isn't free and she was not going to refund my $118.00 for the service even though I had the signed papers stating it was free. I spoke with a manager and she determined it was free and that my monthly rate was actually higher than quoted so she gave me back $13.00 for that too. This started to become De Ja Vu so I bailed before the next treatment.

    If you go with them I'd suggest you pay CLOSE attention to your bill and keep all documents about what your services should be. My suggestion is go elsewhere and save the headache!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Oregon,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst lawn service I have ever used. From being told we were going to get a discount by the sales guy and then told no by their billing department, then more billing issues, being misled on services when specifically asked, horrible customer service. I don't know how this company is getting good reviews but I will never use them or recommend them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Woodbury, NJ,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had this company last year to treat our yard for mosquitos. I enjoyed one of the technicians, very kind and professional. And that was it, nothing here nor there. They called a couple of weeks ago asking if we would like to renew our contract, to which we said no. Then I noticed a charge from them on my credit card. My fiancé called to question it, and the extremely rude "customer service" rep told my fiancé that the print telling us everyone is on "auto-renew" on the paperwork we do not have, was the same size print as the rest of the document. Never. Again. And I’ll be sure to spread the word.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Very unhappy

    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Pre-emergent was supposed to be applied in March before weeds sprouted. I don't know what they applied but it didn't work well. After the lawn was half full of wild grass they sprayed to kill, leaving half the lawn dead and full of sharp dried grass stalks that cut your feet. Then I was told that the pre-emergent only lasts a few weeks instead of 3-6 months that a quality product like Preen works. Now half my lawn is dead and full of sharp stalks. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Destroyed my lawn!

    • New Hampshire,
    • Jun 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Disgraceful. Had a decent lawn but always shown up from an exceptional neighborhood. Decided to bite the bullet and hire "professionals" to get my lawn up to par with my neighbors. WORST MISTAKE. Neighbors are now stopping by asking what happened to my lawn I worked so hard on. All I can say is, I tried hiring so-called professionals at TruGreen. Where I used to have grass in my front yard, is now a desolate patchy disaster/embarrassment. Decided to call but first scanned through reviews. Wish I had prior. Hundreds of TruGreen victims posting before and after images of TG's service. No coincidence they all paralleled my own. Customer Care Coordinator David from Londonderry, NH immediately starts comparing the landscape changes from my last years shot (with beautiful grass) to now which does show an added rock garden variant we put in this spring (suggesting I was trying to scam of some sort). Of course, it wasn't their fault. Rude and insisted on speaking over me the whole time. TruGreen is not allowed to step foot on my property ever again. Now I have to pay TRUE professionals to clean up their mess and save my lawn...

    BIGGEST MISTAKE I MADE. Read reviews BEFORE hiring this large hack corporation! Otherwise, you'll be forced to waste your time writing your review here, and more money fixing their damage. Sad thing is, my lawn wasn't even that bad, now I have none...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Is "no stars" an option?

    • North Carolina,
    • May 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Specifically, told them we wanted to "green up" our yard. Killed it. Now have HUGE bare spots. Was told 5 weeks ago they would bring out some grass seed for us. Never did, and have been trying to contact them for 5 weeks. Can’t connect with anyone locally, just end up in a call center queue and they keep telling me they’re escalating. Now it’s 90 degrees out so can’t sew seed. Keep trying to send techs out for scheduled service even though we keep trying to cancel service. We just want a refund. Supposedly they have a guarantee but I’m not holding my breath. This company sucks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Charge for services and don't show up!

    • Waxahachie, TX,
    • May 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They say they did your lawn but they don't show up. Then they try to upcharge you when you complain about your yard. Will not use again! More weeds now than when we started! I would use someone else or ask your local grade. Shop what to use on your yard. Feels like a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • Georgia,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The services are almost twice as the regular scheduled visits. I call with a common complaint - my yard looks like all other yards in my neighborhood that do not have services. Also, every time I review my surveillance system I am disappointed to find out it takes longer to write the report they leave at your door than the actual time to treat, and as others have said the techs just give the same line - you need aeration, mow higher, add lime, etc. I went to a local landscape place in town and they said something that made sense - HAS the soil been tested. Short answer - NO, they said this is the correct starting point. Bye bye "TrueWeeds".

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Florida,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have had TruGreen for 5 months. We STILL have weeds! We have complained. They come back and spray and we are told to wait 10 days. Well, we keep doing it. We have asked to speak with management. No one calls back. We have so many weeds and brown patches. A huge waste of time and money. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 142

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review