Read 153 TruGreen Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 9 1 star:  136
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 153
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service

    • Florida,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wouldn't recommend TruGreen to my worst enemy. They charged me for stuff I specifically said I didn't want. One of the things was potassium which they never even put down because they had the wrong address. But yet they still charged me 80 bucks for it. Every time I called and asked to speak to a supervisor, no supervisor was available nor would one call me back. Still waiting on a refund for the crap they didn't even do. My guess is I'll never see that money again. Worst experience ever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Bad customer service.

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Aug 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In October 2018, TruGreen was scheduled to come and do lawn work such as aeration, overseeding, and fertilization for my entire lawn. The customer service rep spent less than 10 minutes at my home (my wife was home at the time and watched); the customer service rep only did the front lawn, which is only 20 feet off the curb of the street with a concrete driveway, etc., basically, the front lawn is less than 25% of my entire yard. They charged me for the full service and when I called to complain I was told a service manager would contact me. This has yet to happen. When I have spoken to different CSR at different times over the past several months, I was told the GM would be contacting. This has never happened. So, now they have turned my bill in for collection efforts. I will pay it off as I probably have no choice in the matter at this point, but they refused to even prorate the bill for the service that was performed (which I was willing to pay for just to get them to stop calling me).

    I would not recommend this company to anyone. I have used their services for several years, some years the lawn comes out looking great other years, they could not control the weeds. Very spotty at best over the long term. You would be better off just hiring a local guy who can do the same work or just go and rent the equipment yourself. Simply put, their customer service should be labeled as "no customer service". Even after all of this they continued to call to try and get "my business back".

    Losers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    No promises kept

    • Arizona,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was looking for weed control on our newbought house lawn. I talked to Justin of TruGreen who told me the weeds can be taken care of no problem, although he didn't see it (I told him to come over, he said he can see our lawn on Google Maps).

    He also said if it doesn't work you don't need to pay.

    We had the house inspection done in the winter and the grass was in that spot not level. I asked him if he could fix it. He said he would send a machine in what could do that (I cannot remember the name of the machine, I am not from Canada originally).

    After the first spray, I called the company after 3 days as Justin told me to do that if I didn't see any results. They told me that my salesman didn't know where he was talking about...that the product needed more time to work. I called back later...and was told by Justin that the next spray was on the house. The second spray was done by a good person, as it worked with spots on the leaves of the weeds. That second person also explained to me that it needed to be sprayed more and that first, only the spots appear. Then one day I got another bill in my mailbox that the spring aeration and overseeding was done. I didn't see any results. I did not see that machine or the person. I called the office again and told them nothing happened, I only would like the second person on my property...no one else. Then, 3 weeks later, another bill was found in the front hall and a warning sign on the lawn, with nothing written on it. Again I was told it was free. Again I got another bill. Again, I called TruGreen and Justin to not send anyone till I got a manager over to see my lawn.

    Well...it is now the middle of August and finally, someone came to see my lawn. He told me that the weed control with this spray would not kill weeds. But TruGreen got comments from other people that the lawn was dead so they dilute the spray a lot now.

    He asked what they could do to make it up to us. I said, let me pay for what I got...which, really, was 1 spray what worked...

    Then I finally got a call from another manager (Ken I think was his name) who said that I could only get 1 spray for free as I didn't complain earlier. He couldn't find anything in the system. Well...I now get my phone bill out and will prove that I did call. I also just called TruGreen to see if they could tell me when I called and told them the first time that the spray didn't work.

    He told me the date. And what was said. So it IS in the computer. I asked him for more dates, but the person on the phone became suspicious and told me that pretty soon I would be hearing from a manager...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Major let down

    • Wynnewood, PA,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were a loyal customer for several years and last month we had a mosquito treatment done and a large spill on our new driveway occurred from TruGreen's truck. I left several messages and not until we canceled service did we get a returned call. No one has come out or offered to repair our "new" driveway. The customer service is terrible! Very nice on the phone but no action.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • New York,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hired them to just get rid of wild violets and some other tough weeds popping up and they killed my entire back lawn and 30% of my front on June 28th. All summer I have to look at a dead lawn and they want to aerate and seed as compensation. What a joke. I had a green lawn until they killed it. I may be starting legal action to get satisfaction as they haven't offered anything beyond a few dollars worth of seed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Beware, TruGreen is not reputable

    • Parkersburg, WV,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I switched to TruGreen in 2019. What a nightmare. It is hard for me to believe that the PGA is an endorser of this company. I have been lied to on a regular basis by management personnel.

    I have had more service appointments scheduled that I can remember which ended up as "no shows".

    TruGreen tries to bill you for services not provided. If you are fool enough to use TruGreen compare your service receipt very carefully against your billing statement.

    TruGreen has a high turnover rate in service technicians, I never had the same tech twice. Even though they say you don't need to be home, I had to be to ensure they covered the entire lawn. They need a "watch dog" or they skimp on the treatments.

    Giving TruGreen a "1 star rating" is being over-generous. They deserve "0" stars.

    I would not recommend TruGreen to anyone. I wish the PGA would re-evaluate their endorsement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    They burned my lawn

    • New Jersey,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hired them and they burned half my lawn in less than a month. I now have large yellow patches and missing grass.

    Update: Yellow patches gone and now just dirt. They killed my lawn.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Extremely dissatisfied

    • Lexington, MA,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    For a number of years, I used services of TruGreen to maintain the lawn and bushes around my house. In the spring I would get a call from a representative of the company, I would explain what I expected them to do; they would promise me to get the results and I would send them checks. Unfortunately, I was quite dissatisfied how my lawn looks like and during 2018 season talked to technicians a number of times to express my dissatisfaction with the results - yellow and barren spots, uncontrolled weeds, etc.

    After the 2018 season, I decided not to engage TruGreen anymore and hire some local firm to deal with my lawn, so when I received a communication from TruGreen offering to engage them for 2019 season, I did not respond to that offer.

    It was to my big surprise to learn that while I was out of town, without my expressed consent the company sent a technician to perform some services on my property. When they called me next time I told a TruGreen representative that I didn’t authorize the service and did not plan to pay for it.

    The local guy I hired turned my lawn into a beauty in a couple of months. It looks amazing, I wish I got switched from TruGreen years ago.

    Meanwhile, TruGreen sends me a debt collection letter to collect the payment for the services I didn’t order and didn’t authorize.

    I wish they spent the time and resources that went into the collection by making their clients satisfied with their job...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam company

    • The Villages, FL,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Signed up for their services in the summer of 2018. The first time they came, they did a great job. The second time they came, I was reading a book sitting by my front door, and heard their truck pull up. Five minutes later I heard a rattling on my door, got up, open the door and found an invoice. The invoice said he knocked on the door but nobody answered, so he performed all these different services and build me a little over $100. I am mediately called TruGreen‘s office and told them and they said they were sorry and would send another technician right away. The other technician came over and did the service. In May of this year, 2019, the technician texted me around 10 AM and said he would be there that afternoon. They were supposed to notify me two days ahead of time, and I had plans for lunch that I couldn’t cancel. I left for lunch at 20 minutes after two, and by the time I got to the restaurant, I had a text saying he was finished. Charge me for three different services, one being spreading granules to take care of insects in the lawn. I knew there was no way he could complete the services and write up an invoice in 10 minutes, so when I got home, I crawled around my lawn trying to smell any kind of fertilizer that they might have put down. There was no odor. Then I checked everywhere for any kind of granules and there were none. I called and canceled the services and told them not to bill me for what had not been done. They billed my American Express card anyway, so I sent them a cancellation of services letter and contacted American Express to dispute the charge. A few weeks later a manager came to my house asking me how I like their services. I told him I fired them, but he didn’t know that. I explained the whole thing to him and he couldn’t believe it, so I told him never contact me again and make sure my American Express card got credited. It finally did, but I will never use them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service

    • Buxton, ME,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In April of 2018 I contacted TruGreen to treat my lawn. On 4/24/18 Kevin Brown inspected my lawn and said they could definitely improve it, that I might see some decline at first but should fill in nicely. Treatments were performed starting 5/1-10/18 for a total of 7 treatments at a cost of $400.18. As Aug and September passed I noticed a large portion of my lawn was turning brown and dying. In no part of my lawn did I see any improvement, only thinner and browner. By the spring of 2019, 60% of my lawn was dead.

    Calls to TruGreen were unanswered. After a social media post I was contacted on 5/8/19 and told they would look into it. On 5/21/19 at 9am I was contacted by Dan Mercier who stated that on 5/20 my lawn had been aerated and slit seeded by TruGreen. This wasn’t true because two hours later I was contacted by another guy from TruGreen who was at my house to aerate/slit seed my lawn. I left work for the day and met two men at my house. These two men had no idea what they were doing. The fellow operating the aerating machine, by his own admission, had never operated one before and was using it with a flat tire that I had to fix. The 2nd fellow, presumably the one in charge, had little knowledge of how to operate the slit seeder or how either machine should be used. Neither of them appeared to be trained in any lawn care.

    At my expense, I covered bare areas with straw and kept entire lawn moist as needed. Taking into consideration the cold spring I knew germination would be slow. The results after 30 days were abysmal. Since that time I have fertilized and saw some improvement but most of my lawn is in poorer condition than before TruGreen. At least 2500sf will have to be tilled and reseeded from scratch. I paid TruGreen for their professional services. They left my lawn in worse shape than when they started. If you want a nice lawn, don't use TruGreen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Warning! Avoid TruGreen.

    • New York,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a disappointing experience. We pursued services with TruGreen because our daughter has an allergic reaction to mosquito bites. We prepaid for treatments on our lawn for the entire summer. It took a while before anyone even came out to survey our lawn and then finally they did the first treatment. After 5 days, the mosquitoes were horrible, so we requested a service call. It took over 3 weeks (time for our next application) and a tech came and did a spot treatment and claimed the full application would be the following week. Nobody came. After dozens of phone calls and emails filled with excuse after excuse, the "application" finally happened again 4 weeks after the spot treatment and it was another spot treatment. I asked the tech why and what was happening and he was rude and evasive and told me it wasn't his problem, basically. After several more phone calls and emails, we have canceled services completely. This was beyond frustrating and such a painful experience. We will never use this company again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 153

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review