Read 157 TruGreen Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 9 1 star:  138
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 157
Sort reviews by:

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Wish I never used them

    • By Landon Dao,
    • Georgia,
    • Jun 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I started the lawn care service, I was hoping to have all the weeds killed. By the end of a year and a half of service and $450 gone, my lawn was filled with bald patches and still covered in weeds. I complained, and they said if I pay $500 for another additional package ($950 yearly for eight treatments), they would fix them problems. Every time I tried to cancel, they offered free treatments, but I just wanted nothing to do with them anymore. The treatments were not effective.

    After I canceled, they called me six times a week on average to get me back on their service. It's been two years since I canceled, and they still call me regularly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    25-minute job in 5 minutes

    • By Mark L,
    • Westfield, MA,
    • Jul 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Chem Lawn arrived today, 7/13/17. The tech exited the truck, walked the yard (1.5 acres), pulled the hose and sprayed for five minutes, posted the lawn and left. The whole thing is on camera (thanks Lorex)!

    I called customer service to confirm the whole lawn is to be sprayed, and it is. They will send someone in 72 hours to respray the lawn. The manager will be notified, the customer service reps stated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    TrueGreen service

    I have approximately 1.08 acres of property that I requested TruGreen service(s) for pest control and lawn care.

    I only had two months of service and decided to cancel. The reason is that it was very expensive (for me) at $260 for the pest control and $200 for the lawn care. I understand I have a little over an acre, but I properly maintain my lawn/trees/shrubs, all that is required is a little weed and feed and pest control (ants, spiders, and such). $460 every 4-6 weeks is a little too much for my taste. I have kids and wanted to make sure I had the proper tick controlled living in Maryland, along with a semi-weed free yard.

    After three applications I still have weeds, and the ants are still prevalent as they were before. I must say my grass is greener, but we also had a lot of rain, so I am not certain I can contribute the service for that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Poor service and misleading advertisement

    • By G H.,
    • Loudoun County, VA,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will be canceling my account with TruGreen because of misleading sales practices and incomplete service. I continued to have significant broadleaf weeds on my lawn in spite of their service. Additionally, I purchased the TruGreen Complete plan, which includes aeration, but I am being charged additionally and separately for aeration. If you are charging separately for aeration, then it is not part of the plan and should not be listed as if it were included. That is misleading and dishonest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Technicians were not trained

    • By Dwayne M.,
    • Rockwall, TX,
    • Nov 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had weeds they did not spray enough to kill. They got way worse than they would. We only asked for a repeat once in the entire year.

    I called repeatedly to no avail. This is a terrible customer service company. I will tell everyone I know how bad they were. This was a lot of money and the HOA sited us for weeds. No integrity for their business reputation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Caught on camera not doing the whole job.

    • By Luis C.,
    • Orlando, FL,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had TruGreen for 15 months now, and twice that I know I was scammed by my serviceman. How, you ask? Well, I have cameras all around my property so I view the recordings, which are also time stamped as well. I come to find out it only took my serviceman 4 minutes to apply two applications to my lawn front and back when it usually takes 20 minutes +.

    Nevertheless, my cameras recorded once again TruGreen stealing from hard-working homeowners by not applying what they are charging me for...this is unacceptable and it's a crime. I spoke with customer service and a manager but I got nowhere but half off my service fee. Sorry, not good enough compensation for the second time around. FYI, their product works if they spray it...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Extremely unsatisfied with an exception.

    • By Timothy S.,
    • Pawtucket, RI,
    • Aug 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Before I explain my dissatisfaction, I want to make it clear that my review will concern TruGreen's lawn service and not their mosquito and tick prevention plan. I have only positive experiences regarding their mosquito and tick spraying.

    My main problem with TruGreen involves their lawn care plan. The first person I met with was excellent. He explained everything he was going to accomplish and he spent quite a bit of time looking around the property and treating the lawn and spraying. The next visit was largely the same. After that things started to go downhill pretty quickly. My lawn was increasingly taken over by weeds. I watched the man walk around the yard, ignoring weeds and just spraying here and there. The front lawn was completely untouched and was taken over by nut grass entirely. I left the lawn long for the next appointment so they could clearly observe the weeds. The man did spray the front but ignored the back. I was billed the normal fee. I had planned to cut the lawn over the weekend and was not expecting them to return so quickly with seeding and aeration none the less.

    I was going to call and have them come out again to review the problem the following week when all of a sudden two days after we'd spraying they are performing an aeration and seeding service. It is the middle of August and the temperatures are above 90. It is far too early for this service. Further, they never called to indicate that this appointment was scheduled. I complained because the service was far too early and I wasn't notified. The lawn wasn't prepared for seeding. The lawn was too long. There are areas where the soil needs to be turned over and filler should be added. This service costs over $200 and if I am going to pay for it then I want to be prepared. I wasn't because they didn't notify me. They always called before, maybe not as early as I like, but they called. I am 100% certain they did not call. I have the call log, the caller ID log and I was home during the time they claim to have called.

    They were argumentative about the failure to call. Interestingly, they didn't argue that this service was far too early. I found that amusing, it makes me question why they would schedule something that needs planning and entirely different weather and temperature. It comes across as unprofessional and questionable. There is zero chance the seed will take. Everyone's lawn and yard are drying out due to extreme heat and lack of sufficient hydration even when watering daily. To seed now is pointless...and they know it. Early autumn seeding...not mid-summer seeding.

    I will never use them again. I will never recommend their lawn service. Mosquito, sure, that was great.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Hired to simplify my life and it only complicated it.

    • By Kris H.,
    • Branson, MO,
    • Aug 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unfortunately, we have had a very rainy season and my first 2 full-price apps were done within less than 24 hours of torrential downpours. This caused the chemicals to pool into large specific areas of my lawn causing everything in those areas to die. Had nothing but mud. Called the first time and was given no good explanation. Second app happened the same way. For 6 weeks trying to put my account on hold and I'm finding it impossible. Sent photos, spoke with TG numerous times and info does not get disseminated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    TruGreen is a True Scam

    • By Taha Kowsari,
    • London Ontario,
    • May 15, 2015

    After I canceled my contract they are claiming that they did service on my lawn which is a complete lie. I have been home and they neither called nor rang the bell and they did not touch anything. The service is claimed to provide weed control but there was no touch on my lawn, nothing at all. The funny thing is that the contract was about the whole lawn including my back yard which cannot be reached without me knowing as it is always locked. I called the liars and they said the imaginary technician will call me but never did. I have been told that they will follow up with collection and I cannot do anything. I am moving out of country shortly and cannot sue them, and cannot let them ruin my credit history either, I guess I just have to pay them, lie pays here. That's a sham

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Scammed right off the bat

    My appointment was supposed to be next Monday. I had 2 visits this Monday. The first guy told me it was my fourth installment. Well I just got it and it was my first. I told him I was expecting someone to go over my yard with me, he said he was not told this. Later in the day someone rang our doorbell. Before we could get to the door we saw a TruGreen truck driving away. He left a statement in the mailbox that he had spread 277 pounds of lime. He wasn't there 20 minutes. Even the time stamp says this. We had just arrived home 30 minutes before and no TruGreen truck. No evidence at all of lime and there is no way he could have done this.

    So showed up on wrong date, no explanation of services or yard and a scam for lime service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Worse Service and Customer Service I have ever dealt with!

    It has been a nightmare dealing with all levels of TruGreen personnel. I signed up for lawn service with them. Month after month I called to let them know no changes were happening with my lawn. At first they asked me to wait a few months for me to see the results. After 4-5 months, I finally decided to meet with the service technician in person to complain. It turns out they were only servicing part of my lawn. (Why? I don't know. It is a continuous lawn but for some reason they decided to stop at a certain point.) When I called to complain again, and after being transferred time and time again to different levels of management, they said they would refund me the last payment and try to work something out with my lawn. I never received the refund and never heard from them again. I have continued calling only to be transferred from manager to manager with no results. Finally, my last call to them was for them to inform me that they couldn't do anything about it. A nightmare. Basically, I am out of close to $1000 and with a lawn that looks the worse it has ever been. Be careful with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 157

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review