Start your review of TruGreen:
  • 176 Customer Reviews
  • 7% Recommend This Company
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 5% 1 star: 88%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Samuel R.,
    • Columbus, OH,
    • Nov 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The problem with TruGreen was solved.

    I used this company for 2 years and my lawn looks worse than ever. I left messages for the "manager" and no response. I asked TruGreen to send the technician back to my home and I was ignored.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Oct 30, 2019

    TruGreen is rip-off company

    I used this company for 2 years and my lawn looks worse than ever. I left messages for the "manager" and no response. I asked TruGreen to send the technician back to my home and I was ignored. TruGreen killed a tree in my front yard planted by the city. My backyard looks like a dirt road. I made a mistake and prepaid the full amount at the beginning of 2019 and asked for my money back in July 2019. However, the poorly educated "manager" is refusing to refund the money. DO NOT WASTE YOUR moey with this company.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Service is awful

    • By Kim Allen,
    • New Castle, DE,
    • May 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We signed up in February. We were supposed to get our pre-emergent applied in March before weeds sprouted. Was schedule twice and rescheduled due to rain. Can't fault them because of Mother Nature but they didn't show up the second reschedule even when we got a call saying they would be out.

    Now this is the end of March by now. I even called late in the day when no one had been there and was told the technician would be there. No show. That was a Friday.

    I called Monday and they rescheduled. It rained that morning but was clear in the afternoon. No one showed. When I called, I was told it was because of the rain although when I was a speaking to the representative earlier she said what was going down did not matter if it rained!

    I called the next scheduled day and was told they would be there. 2:30 came and there was no one yet. Spoke to a very nice gentleman and he said he would call and make sure someone made it out there. Good thing I called. The technician that came out late in the day said the man did actually call him and he came up from Maryland. I had not been on the schedule!

    Needless to say, the weeds were out by this time in April. The next problem was when I called stating that we needed a repeat application as some weeds died but the majority turned yellow and then back to green.

    Also a whole area had been missed as the weeds never went yellow at all. They said they would be out in three business days. I called that day and was told we were scheduled for Wednesday which is 4 business days. Guess what? It's supposed to rain so I suppose this will be rescheduled too.

    Shop for a better service. This one is not all as it's cracked up to be.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wish I never used them

    • By Landon Dao,
    • Georgia,
    • Jun 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When I started the lawn care service, I was hoping to have all the weeds killed. By the end of a year and a half of service and $450 gone, my lawn was filled with bald patches and still covered in weeds. I complained, and they said if I pay $500 for another additional package ($950 yearly for eight treatments), they would fix them problems. Every time I tried to cancel, they offered free treatments, but I just wanted nothing to do with them anymore. The treatments were not effective.

    After I canceled, they called me six times a week on average to get me back on their service. It's been two years since I canceled, and they still call me regularly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • 25-minute job in 5 minutes

    • By Mark L,
    • Westfield, MA,
    • Jul 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Chem Lawn arrived today, 7/13/17. The tech exited the truck, walked the yard (1.5 acres), pulled the hose and sprayed for five minutes, posted the lawn and left. The whole thing is on camera (thanks Lorex)!

    I called customer service to confirm the whole lawn is to be sprayed, and it is. They will send someone in 72 hours to respray the lawn. The manager will be notified, the customer service reps stated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TrueGreen service

    Overall Experience:

    I have approximately 1.08 acres of property that I requested TruGreen service(s) for pest control and lawn care.

    I only had two months of service and decided to cancel. The reason is that it was very expensive (for me) at $260 for the pest control and $200 for the lawn care. I understand I have a little over an acre, but I properly maintain my lawn/trees/shrubs, all that is required is a little weed and feed and pest control (ants, spiders, and such). $460 every 4-6 weeks is a little too much for my taste. I have kids and wanted to make sure I had the proper tick controlled living in Maryland, along with a semi-weed free yard.

    After three applications I still have weeds, and the ants are still prevalent as they were before. I must say my grass is greener, but we also had a lot of rain, so I am not certain I can contribute the service for that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor service and misleading advertisement

    • By G H.,
    • Loudoun County, VA,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I will be canceling my account with TruGreen because of misleading sales practices and incomplete service. I continued to have significant broadleaf weeds on my lawn in spite of their service. Additionally, I purchased the TruGreen Complete plan, which includes aeration, but I am being charged additionally and separately for aeration. If you are charging separately for aeration, then it is not part of the plan and should not be listed as if it were included. That is misleading and dishonest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Technicians were not trained

    • By Dwayne M.,
    • Rockwall, TX,
    • Nov 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We had weeds they did not spray enough to kill. They got way worse than they would. We only asked for a repeat once in the entire year.

    I called repeatedly to no avail. This is a terrible customer service company. I will tell everyone I know how bad they were. This was a lot of money and the HOA sited us for weeds. No integrity for their business reputation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Caught on camera not doing the whole job.

    • By Luis C.,
    • Orlando, FL,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had TruGreen for 15 months now, and twice that I know I was scammed by my serviceman. How, you ask? Well, I have cameras all around my property so I view the recordings, which are also time stamped as well. I come to find out it only took my serviceman 4 minutes to apply two applications to my lawn front and back when it usually takes 20 minutes +.

    Nevertheless, my cameras recorded once again TruGreen stealing from hard-working homeowners by not applying what they are charging me for...this is unacceptable and it's a crime. I spoke with customer service and a manager but I got nowhere but half off my service fee. Sorry, not good enough compensation for the second time around. FYI, their product works if they spray it...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Extremely unsatisfied with an exception.

    • By Timothy S.,
    • Pawtucket, RI,
    • Aug 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Before I explain my dissatisfaction, I want to make it clear that my review will concern TruGreen's lawn service and not their mosquito and tick prevention plan. I have only positive experiences regarding their mosquito and tick spraying.

    My main problem with TruGreen involves their lawn care plan. The first person I met with was excellent. He explained everything he was going to accomplish and he spent quite a bit of time looking around the property and treating the lawn and spraying. The next visit was largely the same. After that things started to go downhill pretty quickly. My lawn was increasingly taken over by weeds. I watched the man walk around the yard, ignoring weeds and just spraying here and there. The front lawn was completely untouched and was taken over by nut grass entirely. I left the lawn long for the next appointment so they could clearly observe the weeds. The man did spray the front but ignored the back. I was billed the normal fee. I had planned to cut the lawn over the weekend and was not expecting them to return so quickly with seeding and aeration none the less.

    I was going to call and have them come out again to review the problem the following week when all of a sudden two days after we'd spraying they are performing an aeration and seeding service. It is the middle of August and the temperatures are above 90. It is far too early for this service. Further, they never called to indicate that this appointment was scheduled. I complained because the service was far too early and I wasn't notified. The lawn wasn't prepared for seeding. The lawn was too long. There are areas where the soil needs to be turned over and filler should be added. This service costs over $200 and if I am going to pay for it then I want to be prepared. I wasn't because they didn't notify me. They always called before, maybe not as early as I like, but they called. I am 100% certain they did not call. I have the call log, the caller ID log and I was home during the time they claim to have called.

    They were argumentative about the failure to call. Interestingly, they didn't argue that this service was far too early. I found that amusing, it makes me question why they would schedule something that needs planning and entirely different weather and temperature. It comes across as unprofessional and questionable. There is zero chance the seed will take. Everyone's lawn and yard are drying out due to extreme heat and lack of sufficient hydration even when watering daily. To seed now is pointless...and they know it. Early autumn seeding...not mid-summer seeding.

    I will never use them again. I will never recommend their lawn service. Mosquito, sure, that was great.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hired to simplify my life and it only complicated it.

    • By Kris H.,
    • Branson, MO,
    • Aug 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Unfortunately, we have had a very rainy season and my first 2 full-price apps were done within less than 24 hours of torrential downpours. This caused the chemicals to pool into large specific areas of my lawn causing everything in those areas to die. Had nothing but mud. Called the first time and was given no good explanation. Second app happened the same way. For 6 weeks trying to put my account on hold and I'm finding it impossible. Sent photos, spoke with TG numerous times and info does not get disseminated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TruGreen is a True Scam

    • By Taha Kowsari,
    • London Ontario,
    • May 15, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    After I canceled my contract they are claiming that they did service on my lawn which is a complete lie. I have been home and they neither called nor rang the bell and they did not touch anything. The service is claimed to provide weed control but there was no touch on my lawn, nothing at all. The funny thing is that the contract was about the whole lawn including my back yard which cannot be reached without me knowing as it is always locked. I called the liars and they said the imaginary technician will call me but never did. I have been told that they will follow up with collection and I cannot do anything. I am moving out of country shortly and cannot sue them, and cannot let them ruin my credit history either, I guess I just have to pay them, lie pays here. That's a sham

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 176

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
TruGreen