Read 128 TruGreen Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 7 1 star:  114
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 128
Sort reviews by:

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Terrible company - total scam!

    • Nevada,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On April 24th, 2018, a man came to my front door offering TruGreen services. I gave him a glass of water and we sat on my bench and discussed the prospect. I acquiesced to a single initial treatment to try the service out because the salesperson promised that two treatments, one for weeds and another to protect my fruit trees against bugs and fungus would cost me $40.

    It took them at least 3-5 attempts before they finally got the initial application done because I only hired them to treat my backyard, which is locked with a padlock. So despite coming time and again and treating just the front yard for weeds, they couldn't accomplish the treatment that I really hired them to perform. Finally, I called in again on May 3rd to explain that issue and on May 8th we finally connected and I let them in to complete the job in the backyard.

    On May 15th I called to cancel.

    The woman with whom I spoke argued with me so much, and was so difficult to deal with, and I told her time after time that:

    - I didn't want to pay any more and that.

    - I wanted to cancel and that,

    - no more charges should accrue and that,

    - I only wanted it for my backyard but that,

    - it's too difficult to provide them with the necessary access to perform the task.

    My clear understanding of the way things were left after that call was that they could absolutely NOT treat my property without my express permission in advance. She ultimately ignored my request to cancel altogether, because at some point in October I was alerted to ongoing charges on my account - despite never letting anyone into my backyard to treat it.

    Therefore on November 1st, I called in explaining that I only ever authorized a single treatment. Nevertheless, I kept receiving past-due bills. So I called back in again on December 3rd to complain about erroneous charges on my account and explained that:

    - These charges were not authorized, and that,

    - I don't consider them valid, and that,

    - they were performed without my permission,

    - on a part of the home that I didn't care about at all.

    Now, on January 18th, 2019, I'm being THREATENED by a COLLECTIONS AGENCY called Transworld Systems, Inc., on behalf of TruGreen, now jeopardizing my credit to recoup the $74+ that they racked up on my account after I canceled, purportedly applying treatments that I did not authorize, to a part of the home that I explicitly wouldn't pay for, after being misquoted the price and after all of this back-and-forth dialogue.

    Many of the dates in this account had to be retrieved from the company's records, which, among other things, don't reflect the many times they came out to treat my yard unsuccessfully because they missed me and thus couldn't gain access to the backyard. It's frustrating that I am expected to maintain such rigorous records of my dealings with a vendor because they can't be trusted to record things faithfully and to tell the truth.

    I would hire ANY local provider over this firm - you'll be better off, in the long run, no matter what, plus you'll be helping the local economy instead of making one of the 1% even richer. Caveat Emptor!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Kept coming and charging us after we canceled.

    We canceled the services about October of last year. They showed up yesterday and serviced our lawn. Only found out after checking our bank account. This was not the first time they showed up to service after we canceled. Last time I was home and able to stop the gentleman from servicing the lawn. Not so lucky yesterday.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    They killed my grass!

    • Tennessee,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a beautiful green yard with a few weeds, so I purchased nine treatments to get rid of the weeds and make my yard the best one on the block again. After spending $325.15, I have no grass in my yard! Each time I spoke with a technician, I got a different excuse as to why my grass was dying (mostly my fault). One told me I was watering the grass too much. One told me I wasn't watering enough. One told me it was a really hot summer. After complaining and asking for a refund, I was contacted by Brady who ensured me he would resolve all of the issues. He promised my yard would be aerated (didn't happen) and over-seeded (didn't happen). I now have a yard with no grass and was recently told I had brown patch.

    Do NOT use this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Billed for unauthorized services

    • Virginia,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a longstanding TruGreen customer since 2005. This past month, we received an aeration and seeding that we did not authorize. I called to complain and was told that since they left me a voicemail message, they were not going to take any corrective action. As a result, I have canceled the lawn and shrub services - for which we have paid more than $10,000 in the past.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Technicians were not trained

    • Rockwall, TX,
    • Nov 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had weeds they did not spray enough to kill. They got way worse than they would. We only asked for a repeat once in the entire year.

    I called repeatedly to no avail. This is a terrible customer service company. I will tell everyone I know how bad they were. This was a lot of money and the HOA sited us for weeds. No integrity for their business reputation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Don't call TruGreen!

    • Townsend, DE,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hope the review reaches you before you allow TruGreen to treat your yard. First, let me make the statement, that my yard was fine before calling them in. I wanted it to be fuller and darker. I called them in and they guarantee that I would be totally satisfied with the results!

    After they started treating my yard, I started getting these weeds in it, coming up all over. I called and inquired about the weeds. At that time TruGreen sent someone out to look at the yard. The rep said, "we are not sure what that is!" Then followed up by saying they will be gone in two weeks. They did turn brown by didn’t go anywhere! I had to dig them up, which left potholes in my lawn.

    I cancel my service, and now I get a call on why I canceled. I tell them to check the records, "oh Mr. Alexander, give us a chance to get it right." Long story, short, I have more of that same weed right now. My neighbors don’t have it, and they don’t use TruGreen. I am telling you, don’t use TruGreen. Their WORD means nothing!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Bad, bad, bad!

    • Calera, AL,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruGreen has destroyed by beautiful lawn. My yard has been established for about 15 years and has always been beautiful and healthy. I thought it would be a good idea to turn over the care to TruGreen due to my work schedule. My yard is/was 100% Zoysia grass with no other grasses mixed in. In July, my lawn was lush and green. Between then and September of 2018, TruGreen treated my lawn for fall. Soon after, my lawn was nearly dead. I do not know what they did, but I have pictures that show a healthy green lawn in July, and a nearly dead lawn in August. Parts of it started coming back in September, but due to the weakening of the Zoysia, it has been overrun with Bermuda grass, which is impossible to get rid of. I had people with turf management degrees tell me the Bermuda grass explosion was a result of the weakened state of the Zoysia.

    In October, the area of Bermuda has nearly doubled. I had a couple of competitors come out and give their opinion, which is that TruGreen over fertilized and burned the lawn. Both other companies said that the only way to fix this is to re-sod, but I do not have $10,000 to re-sod. I have complained, and the manager came out and provided little comfort that the issue would be resolved. I have called several times and was told a complaint along with photos was sent to the upper managers in Birmingham. That was over a month ago.

    It has been 4 months since I first started to contact them and still no solution. I have pictures giving a timeline of the issue. I tried several times at the beginning to get someone out there to assess the situation, but they just kept retreating for weeds and would not notify the correct people of the problem. I requested time after time for the technician to meet me at the house to go over things but would only find the invoice on the front doorstep after they had come and gone. Do not use TruGreen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Poor service and misleading advertisement

    • Loudoun County, VA,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will be canceling my account with TruGreen because of misleading sales practices and incomplete service. I continued to have significant broadleaf weeds on my lawn in spite of their service. Additionally, I purchased the TruGreen Complete plan, which includes aeration, but I am being charged additionally and separately for aeration. If you are charging separately for aeration, then it is not part of the plan and should not be listed as if it were included. That is misleading and dishonest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    A complete and total rip-off

    • New York,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have surveillance cameras in my house and noticed that one of the TruGreen guys came in to put fertilizer. The yard fence was locked and he only did the front yard leaving the backyard incomplete. Then he has the audacity to charge me for the complete service of $75 when he was only there for 2 minutes. After a week I checked my online account and noticed that they charged $150 for 2 minutes of service. After this I told anyone that I know is using their service to cut them off. They stole $150 from me but believe me, they will lose more when I tell all my friends to cancel their service. Please do yourself a favor and stay away from TruGreen, they are "SCAMMERS."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not so good service

    • Colorado,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruGreen did a great job on my lawn during the summer. However, when it came time to winterize my yard and blow out my sprinklers, they were the worst. I started receiving calls to ask "did I cancel my service," which I did not make any calls for that request. They kept trying to do my yard in the snow, which was insane. I had to cancel my service because they got worse every week.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service

    • Omaha, NE,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called TruGreen to schedule sprinkler winterization and talked with one lady who said someone else would call me to schedule. I then received another phone call from a salesperson where I gave him my billing information. I was told then that a third person would contact me to schedule my appointment. I never got that phone call.

    I think it's ridiculous to have to talk to three people before they would even come out. I was getting ready to hire another company when the salesperson called me back and said they would take care of me and kept apologizing so I gave them a second chance, and credit card info AGAIN. As I was on the phone with the man that was supposed to come out, he didn't even know who the salesperson was (even though their desks are very close by). I was thinking then how unorganized that company really is, especially for a large company.

    Anyway, they never showed up for the appointment. I had to take off work to be home and no call, no show. I would never recommend this company to anyone. Needless to say, I called a different company and with one phone call got everything I needed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 128

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review