Read 119 TruGreen Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  106
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 119
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not so good service

    • Colorado,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruGreen did a great job on my lawn during the summer. However, when it came time to winterize my yard and blow out my sprinklers, they were the worst. I started receiving calls to ask "did I cancel my service," which I did not make any calls for that request. They kept trying to do my yard in the snow, which was insane. I had to cancel my service because they got worse every week.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service

    • Omaha, NE,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called TruGreen to schedule sprinkler winterization and talked with one lady who said someone else would call me to schedule. I then received another phone call from a salesperson where I gave him my billing information. I was told then that a third person would contact me to schedule my appointment. I never got that phone call.

    I think it's ridiculous to have to talk to three people before they would even come out. I was getting ready to hire another company when the salesperson called me back and said they would take care of me and kept apologizing so I gave them a second chance, and credit card info AGAIN. As I was on the phone with the man that was supposed to come out, he didn't even know who the salesperson was (even though their desks are very close by). I was thinking then how unorganized that company really is, especially for a large company.

    Anyway, they never showed up for the appointment. I had to take off work to be home and no call, no show. I would never recommend this company to anyone. Needless to say, I called a different company and with one phone call got everything I needed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Service details

    • Alexandria, KY,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had TruGreen service for at least 10 years until about 2 years ago. One of the employees (Jason, I believe), drove his truck pulling a cart screeching down our driveway, tearing up some cement. A little while later, he would not allow me to let my dogs out before he pulled his hose from the truck. That was it for us. UNTIL Mark R came and told me that nothing like that will ever happen again and that he will always be available to help. Well, I have tried to reach him at least 5 times to remind him that I need flags to mark our invisible fence before aeration. I spoke with Lisa yesterday who told me she would relay the message to Kurt at the Florence, Kentucky office. I have not heard anything from anyone. So, I put pieces of yarn around the yard to show where the fence is.

    This is such poor service. I can't believe I allowed myself to be taken in by this company again. What a joke it is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    More is not always the best

    • Columbiaville, MI,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After several complaints and several (?) free applications, I still have broadleaf, clover, and crabgrass. It is obvious that the crabgrass preventer was never applied and my lawn is now full of dead crabgrass. My complaints obviously fell on deaf ears, and the answer came in the form of a new treatment, which prevented it but seems let broadleaf and clover continue to grow. Maybe they should get their butt off the power cart and do a little by hand. It seems riding the cart is all they can do. I paid $520.00 for a lawn full of crabgrass. They don't need to call about next year. I am very sorry I got TruGreen and so is the guy that that told me how good they were.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Knightdale, NC,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been with TruGreen for about 3 or 4 years. I was happy with the service at first but have noticed a big drop off in the last year or so. For example, I just paid $200 for aeration and overseed and noticed there were no seeds on the ground. That makes me wonder how long have I been cheated. My yard doesn’t look any better than any of my neighbors' yards. I also just paid $50 for fertilizer, and the guy was gone in about two minutes. No way he could have done the whole yard. I’m wondering if other people have been cheated also.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    A complete and total rip-off

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like an idiot, I signed up for TruGreen service at my new home. For starters, no "professionally trained specialist" EVER came out to my house. As a matter of fact, there were a couple of times that the technician went to the wrong house, even though there are great big numbers on each house - but I digress.

    Anyway, as the end of my contract was approaching, I contacted customer service to make sure they notated my account that I was not renewing my contract, that I had seen no improvement in the lawn or the trees, and was no longer interested in their service. I was told that they cannot do that, that I would have to call prior to the technician coming out and advise I wanted no further treatment.

    The next time I was notified they were coming, by my records, I had two lawn and two tree and shrub treatments left. I wrote myself a note to call and cancel after the treatment, and again cancel my account. About two weeks after the treatment, I received an invoice for over $60 for the treatment.

    When I called their 800 number, I got a rude, uneducated, 20-something who could be heard chewing gum over the phone. She told me I didn’t count correctly and that I owed for the treatment. I told her to close the account, send it to collections, and confirmed I had the tree and shrub service. When she said I did, I told her to remove those from my account, that TruGreen was no longer allowed on my property. It took her almost 10 minutes to type info into her computer, and as we were ending the call, she became completely rude, so I just hung up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Extremely dissatisfied

    • Houston, TX,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was forced to cancel my easy payments because they kept charging me and taking out money from my account as they pleased and after I had already canceled.

    I was promised something totally different.

    I’m retired, disabled, and have to manage my money very carefully.

    In April they charge me once, in May four times, in June once, in July twice, it was getting crazy, amount of the charges varies from $102, $74, $53, etc.

    Please just try to do what you can, watch YouTube videos for guidance, and buy your own items.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    They are scamming people!

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was promised that my lawn would be restored to a lush appearance. My lawn was affected by a fungus known as "TARR" or Take All Root Rot." TruGreen apparently did not recognize the gravity of the fungus, and at that time I also was clueless. When the roots are dead no matter how many treatments are applied, nothing will regrow in those barren spots. I was advised that I would notice initial green growth within one month after the first TruGreen application. Unfortunately, no growth materialized; therefore I canceled all further fertilizer treatments which TruGreen had planned. It does not make sense to fertilize dead soil without a root system.

    Since I had prepaid the entire dollar amount of almost $ 1000, TruGreen was not willing to let my money go, and they kept attempting to schedule more treatments. I kept canceling but they would not take no for an answer. They suggested to send out a production manager to analyze the condition of my soil. I was trying to reach this man by phone to schedule an appointment. I called for six consecutive days. He finally returned my call and scheduled a meeting for Monday at 11 am. He did not show up or had the courtesy to call and cancel.

    After five cancellations, I finally told them that I would not tolerate their intrusion any longer and will take the matter to small claims court to stop all their constant solicitations. I paid by credit card and asked my bank to put the amount minus the first treatment on the dispute. It took two months to get my money back. TruGreen did not want to return my money willingly. Companies like that should not be in business!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Go buy some weed n’ feed

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wasted over a thousand dollars on these jerks! I gave them two years to impress me. It became an embarrassment for my neighbors to see those signs stuck in my hideous lawn! I have exactly what I had before TruGreen. A fine green grass in areas with a coarse straw grass with dry, burned, golden grass with clusters of broadleaf weeds and some other weeds for good measure. My neighbors must be laughing at me because their lawns look the same or even better, and they do nothing! TruGreen lies like Trump and you want to believe them because otherwise you’ve been duped! Just like with Trump! And they’re better at it! You’re always a few treatments away from a beautiful lawn. They continue your contract without asking and are always promoting another plan. Don’t worry about my damn mosquitos growing on my lawn! One time I awoke and checking the mail, I saw the truck pull up. By the time I washed my face and put on my flip-flops on, he was gone. Isn’t my yard that small? Home Depot here I come.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Do it yourself!

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible management, they pretend that you are important, they promise both service and quality, and neither is true! One tech spends two hours here servicing, the next 45 minutes, manager after manager called or came out promising better service and results. They stated that they were in a pickle because they purchased Scott's clients, but they never came through! They are 100% rip-off, the weeds and bugs came back time after time.

    The same thing happened last season, I fired them only to have the branch manager and field manager promise me that I was important, and they would come through, well they did not. They also lied as to how much the service would cost based on the agreed coverage area. I have now filed a claim against them for a 100% refund, as they claim they stand behind 100% satisfaction. Seriously, purchase these products from the hardware store and do it yourself, it is not hard, and you will actually get proven results. TruGreen is a complete and utter mess, mismanaged, understaffed and just big fat liars.

    They do not care to respond to your service issues. I have pages of texts and emails from managers that I will be sharing and posting on every single consumer forum, until I get a 100% refund, depending on how much energy I want to spend to forewarn future potential customers. Run Forrest, run!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Crooks and fraud

    • Glastonbury, CT,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Crooks, cheaters are these guys. Do not give them credit card info. They will say something else on phone and charge you something else. They send you the invoice in the mail and not in an email, so before it arrives and you get to see it, they already render some service and charge you money. That said, if services are rendered, the credit card company will not give you money back (according to law), so to save yourself, the only way is to not give these guys any credit card info until you see a written piece of document saying exactly how much they will charge you. The managers are rude as heck - they will hang up on you in a heartbeat. Avoid this and stay as far as you can from TruGreen, which is more like "TrueCrooks."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-33 of 119

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review