Read 157 TruGreen Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 9 1 star:  138
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 157
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Extremely dissatisfied

    • Lexington, MA,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    For a number of years, I used services of TruGreen to maintain the lawn and bushes around my house. In the spring I would get a call from a representative of the company, I would explain what I expected them to do; they would promise me to get the results and I would send them checks. Unfortunately, I was quite dissatisfied how my lawn looks like and during 2018 season talked to technicians a number of times to express my dissatisfaction with the results - yellow and barren spots, uncontrolled weeds, etc.

    After the 2018 season, I decided not to engage TruGreen anymore and hire some local firm to deal with my lawn, so when I received a communication from TruGreen offering to engage them for 2019 season, I did not respond to that offer.

    It was to my big surprise to learn that while I was out of town, without my expressed consent the company sent a technician to perform some services on my property. When they called me next time I told a TruGreen representative that I didn’t authorize the service and did not plan to pay for it.

    The local guy I hired turned my lawn into a beauty in a couple of months. It looks amazing, I wish I got switched from TruGreen years ago.

    Meanwhile, TruGreen sends me a debt collection letter to collect the payment for the services I didn’t order and didn’t authorize.

    I wish they spent the time and resources that went into the collection by making their clients satisfied with their job...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam company

    • The Villages, FL,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Signed up for their services in the summer of 2018. The first time they came, they did a great job. The second time they came, I was reading a book sitting by my front door, and heard their truck pull up. Five minutes later I heard a rattling on my door, got up, open the door and found an invoice. The invoice said he knocked on the door but nobody answered, so he performed all these different services and build me a little over $100. I am mediately called TruGreen‘s office and told them and they said they were sorry and would send another technician right away. The other technician came over and did the service. In May of this year, 2019, the technician texted me around 10 AM and said he would be there that afternoon. They were supposed to notify me two days ahead of time, and I had plans for lunch that I couldn’t cancel. I left for lunch at 20 minutes after two, and by the time I got to the restaurant, I had a text saying he was finished. Charge me for three different services, one being spreading granules to take care of insects in the lawn. I knew there was no way he could complete the services and write up an invoice in 10 minutes, so when I got home, I crawled around my lawn trying to smell any kind of fertilizer that they might have put down. There was no odor. Then I checked everywhere for any kind of granules and there were none. I called and canceled the services and told them not to bill me for what had not been done. They billed my American Express card anyway, so I sent them a cancellation of services letter and contacted American Express to dispute the charge. A few weeks later a manager came to my house asking me how I like their services. I told him I fired them, but he didn’t know that. I explained the whole thing to him and he couldn’t believe it, so I told him never contact me again and make sure my American Express card got credited. It finally did, but I will never use them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service

    • Buxton, ME,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In April of 2018 I contacted TruGreen to treat my lawn. On 4/24/18 Kevin Brown inspected my lawn and said they could definitely improve it, that I might see some decline at first but should fill in nicely. Treatments were performed starting 5/1-10/18 for a total of 7 treatments at a cost of $400.18. As Aug and September passed I noticed a large portion of my lawn was turning brown and dying. In no part of my lawn did I see any improvement, only thinner and browner. By the spring of 2019, 60% of my lawn was dead.

    Calls to TruGreen were unanswered. After a social media post I was contacted on 5/8/19 and told they would look into it. On 5/21/19 at 9am I was contacted by Dan Mercier who stated that on 5/20 my lawn had been aerated and slit seeded by TruGreen. This wasn’t true because two hours later I was contacted by another guy from TruGreen who was at my house to aerate/slit seed my lawn. I left work for the day and met two men at my house. These two men had no idea what they were doing. The fellow operating the aerating machine, by his own admission, had never operated one before and was using it with a flat tire that I had to fix. The 2nd fellow, presumably the one in charge, had little knowledge of how to operate the slit seeder or how either machine should be used. Neither of them appeared to be trained in any lawn care.

    At my expense, I covered bare areas with straw and kept entire lawn moist as needed. Taking into consideration the cold spring I knew germination would be slow. The results after 30 days were abysmal. Since that time I have fertilized and saw some improvement but most of my lawn is in poorer condition than before TruGreen. At least 2500sf will have to be tilled and reseeded from scratch. I paid TruGreen for their professional services. They left my lawn in worse shape than when they started. If you want a nice lawn, don't use TruGreen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Warning! Avoid TruGreen.

    • New York,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a disappointing experience. We pursued services with TruGreen because our daughter has an allergic reaction to mosquito bites. We prepaid for treatments on our lawn for the entire summer. It took a while before anyone even came out to survey our lawn and then finally they did the first treatment. After 5 days, the mosquitoes were horrible, so we requested a service call. It took over 3 weeks (time for our next application) and a tech came and did a spot treatment and claimed the full application would be the following week. Nobody came. After dozens of phone calls and emails filled with excuse after excuse, the "application" finally happened again 4 weeks after the spot treatment and it was another spot treatment. I asked the tech why and what was happening and he was rude and evasive and told me it wasn't his problem, basically. After several more phone calls and emails, we have canceled services completely. This was beyond frustrating and such a painful experience. We will never use this company again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Poor service

    • Columbus, GA,
    • Jul 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had TruGreen for years. I have an issue with my grass getting brown spots and my shrubs dying. I noticed they kept spraying my yard but never offered a solution to what might be causing the problem, this service is expensive and I expected better. I became concerned about my lawn so I called and asked to have my yard evaluated for a treatment plan. When I call I was very clear that I needed someone to tell me what was going on with my lawn. When the lawn tech showed up he advised he had no idea how to evaluate the lawn and scrubs. He said he would report it and get some one else out. I’ll see how long that takes or if I have to call again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Absolute trash

    • Kennesaw, GA,
    • Jun 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My spouse and I had opted to prepay for a season of TruGreen's service when we first moved into our home. After the first season we were unsure if we wanted to continue with their service. We randomly got a bill in the mail from them after our "prepaid season" had been complete. They wanted us to pay $50 something for a service they had done. TruGreen called and I informed them that I would pay the $50 balance, but needed to talk to my spouse before we continued on.

    After the phone call they came out three MORE times to do a mosquito treatment.

    They now want us to pay $200 plus because they continued a treatment that I DIDN'T ASK FOR!

    Their management team has not resolved the issue. The regional GM wanted to split the difference instead of admitting they had made a mistake.

    They will hound you on the phone stating that it is a service that will be continued no matter what, unless you call them to cancel.

    Their customer service reps are terribly rude and will talk over you continually and will not listen to what you are trying to tell them. I have had them tell me they "had no notes on the account" when I had asked to talk to a manager previously.

    Kasey employee number 41691 was one of the reps that would continue to talk over me when I was trying to ask questions or explain things.

    All in all, the customer service is absolute trash. The management team does not care about you "the customer" and will continue to hound you and twist everything to where it is the customer's fault.

    If I could give zero stars I would.

    There are plenty of other lawn treatment companies that will treat you, the customer, as you should be treated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service and billing

    • Loveland, OH,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had TruGreen back in 2017 for our residential lawn care. The service and product were good but they would go a few months without coming out (supposed to be monthly) and then when they would, they would come out three weeks in a row and bill us for each visit. After numerous phone calls to constantly correct the issue we dropped the company due to the poor management.

    Fast forward two years, we decided to give them a try again after receiving 500 phone calls from salemen. They said they changed their systems and management and ensured me it wouldn't happen again. Well, after treatment #2, I noticed the bill was about $120.00 more than it should be. I called customer service and they said it was because of Grub Control which cost over $100.00. I never authorized this service and then looked at my agreement and I was offered two FREE grub controls. Stephanie from customer service continued to argue with me that Grub Control isn't free and she was not going to refund my $118.00 for the service even though I had the signed papers stating it was free. I spoke with a manager and she determined it was free and that my monthly rate was actually higher than quoted so she gave me back $13.00 for that too. This started to become De Ja Vu so I bailed before the next treatment.

    If you go with them I'd suggest you pay CLOSE attention to your bill and keep all documents about what your services should be. My suggestion is go elsewhere and save the headache!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Oregon,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst lawn service I have ever used. From being told we were going to get a discount by the sales guy and then told no by their billing department, then more billing issues, being misled on services when specifically asked, horrible customer service. I don't know how this company is getting good reviews but I will never use them or recommend them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Woodbury, NJ,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had this company last year to treat our yard for mosquitos. I enjoyed one of the technicians, very kind and professional. And that was it, nothing here nor there. They called a couple of weeks ago asking if we would like to renew our contract, to which we said no. Then I noticed a charge from them on my credit card. My fiancé called to question it, and the extremely rude "customer service" rep told my fiancé that the print telling us everyone is on "auto-renew" on the paperwork we do not have, was the same size print as the rest of the document. Never. Again. And I’ll be sure to spread the word.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Very unhappy

    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Pre-emergent was supposed to be applied in March before weeds sprouted. I don't know what they applied but it didn't work well. After the lawn was half full of wild grass they sprayed to kill, leaving half the lawn dead and full of sharp dried grass stalks that cut your feet. Then I was told that the pre-emergent only lasts a few weeks instead of 3-6 months that a quality product like Preen works. Now half my lawn is dead and full of sharp stalks. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Destroyed my lawn!

    • New Hampshire,
    • Jun 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Disgraceful. Had a decent lawn but always shown up from an exceptional neighborhood. Decided to bite the bullet and hire "professionals" to get my lawn up to par with my neighbors. WORST MISTAKE. Neighbors are now stopping by asking what happened to my lawn I worked so hard on. All I can say is, I tried hiring so-called professionals at TruGreen. Where I used to have grass in my front yard, is now a desolate patchy disaster/embarrassment. Decided to call but first scanned through reviews. Wish I had prior. Hundreds of TruGreen victims posting before and after images of TG's service. No coincidence they all paralleled my own. Customer Care Coordinator David from Londonderry, NH immediately starts comparing the landscape changes from my last years shot (with beautiful grass) to now which does show an added rock garden variant we put in this spring (suggesting I was trying to scam of some sort). Of course, it wasn't their fault. Rude and insisted on speaking over me the whole time. TruGreen is not allowed to step foot on my property ever again. Now I have to pay TRUE professionals to clean up their mess and save my lawn...

    BIGGEST MISTAKE I MADE. Read reviews BEFORE hiring this large hack corporation! Otherwise, you'll be forced to waste your time writing your review here, and more money fixing their damage. Sad thing is, my lawn wasn't even that bad, now I have none...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 157

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review