Read 157 TruGreen Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 9 1 star:  138
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 157
Sort reviews by:

  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Horrible Deceptive Business Practices

    Here is the email I sent False Green after my horrible Deceptive experience:

    Sharme, Renee, Austin (Or whoever else will listen):

    I called and inquired about a lawn treatment for my yard in late Feb/early March. The man on the phone explained to me a seven time LAWN treatment. The first treatment would be half price ($44) and then from there it would be $88. I was fine with that. They told me that TruGreen would be by every 4-6 weeks to do my treatments on my lawn. I never discussed trees and shrubs with the man on the phone. It never came up and I never asked about it.

    My first treatment was on March 11th. It was just fine. As the weeks went by I thought TruGreen would show up again at some point to do my second treatment. At four weeks I checked the website and it said every 4-6 weeks. So I was patient and waited. Weeds began to spring up in my yard. By six weeks I was getting a little nervous but did not inquire based on the assumption that they are being professionals and have the PGA contract and all that crap. I decided to buy some Weed killer Spray ($40) at home Depot and Spray some of the weeds myself and then the guys would be by soon to to reinforce my lawn and give it my second treatment.

    So 8 weeks later, a TruGreen man shows up on May 4th and begins to examine my trees and shrubs. He tries to sell my wife some bill of goods about how all my trees are dying. He then tells her this was complimentary. My wife calls me and tells me that the man did nothing to our yard and worked on our tress and shrubs. What in the World? I am getting upset at this point so I call customer service. My first point was that it has been 8 weeks since my last treatment. Is this very good customer service? I am in the customer service business and I would not have a job if I treated my customers the way TruGreen treated me at this point.

    I call customer service and begin to speak with Sharme. I explain my situation and she says that I have a trees and shrubs contract along with my lawn service. I was so ticked off that TruGreen would deceptively sign me up for a tree and shrubs contract without my knowledge and without any prior information. I will be writing reviews on all internet review sites about their deceptive business practices (bait and switch) and how it takes at least 2 months to get a second lawn service when you sign up. Their website and information about a treatment being done 4-6 weeks is a deceptive lie as well. Sharme keeps telling me that she canceled my trees and shrubs contract. I get upset because I never should have that contract to begin with. I discussed and signed up for a 7 treatments for my lawn. Again, nothing else was explained to me in the contract and should I have known, I would never have agreed to this.

    I would like someone to explain to me how I got signed up for a trees and shrubs service when it was never offered. I will expect a phone call or email back with this answer or I will take this further and higher up the chain at TruGreen (Test me). I requested a cancellation on every service from TruGreen because I have lost all trust in their business practice. This will be explained on all review sites I comment on. Sharme sent me a confirmation by email as requested yesterday.

    This morning I checked my credit card tied to my TruGreen account and there is an $88 charge pending. The rep at our house insisted this tree and shrub service was complementary to my wife. Sharme insisted I had a tree and shrub contract and it would need to be canceled. What a freaking joke these guys are. So help me, if this $88 charge goes through I will fight like hell. In fact, in my business, if I was this bad to customers I would refund all money already spent and apologize profusely. This is so deceptive it's not even funny. All I wanted was lawn service, and even 8 weeks later I couldn't even get that from the PGA specialists. Maybe you can get Tiger Woods to be your spokesperson because you've probably screwed as many people as he has.

    Please let me know ASAP about my $88 phony deceptive charge for trees and shrubs. Also, let me when I can expect to get my $44 back for the first treatment to reimburse me for the Weed killer I had to buy. I would be happy to explain my situation again to anyone that would actually give a crap about my concerns. Thanks False-Green.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Trugreen is not what they say!

    • By Steve Kroll,
    • Texarkana, AR,
    • Jul 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried Trugreen because I was told they guaranteed satisfaction. My yard has never looked so bad. I called weekly concerning weeds and crab grass. They would send someone out, but no results. Finally I told them I wanted to terminate my contract, then they were concerned.

    I asked for a refund and was told that their guarantee was that they would have someone come spray, not that there would be results.

    I was very disappointed in their service. If I could give less than one star I would!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Not worth even trying

    • By Jeff Turcol,
    • Florence, KY,
    • Sep 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will keep this short. They started out good but the last few years were absolutely horrible. They said things like weeds are coming from my neighbors, my weeds are out of control. How could the weeds be out of control when they been doing my lawn since it was brand new.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Worst Experience Ever

    • By Todd Curtice,
    • Orlando, FL,
    • Sep 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Met with sales person April of 2016 and walked the yard. Assured me they'd take care of everything we were seeing and my lawn would look terrific. Extremely quick to take and process my payment which was for a full year in advance.

    2 weeks later a technician shows up and we walk the yard. He proceeds to point out everything that they WON'T be able to take care of, much of which was the main reason I hired them. No problem, we'll give them a try because, hey, they'll retreat for free and I can always cancel at any time.

    First month treatment, I get a note on my door that the tech has been there and spread nearly 40 gallons of product. I'm home at the time and don't see or hear anything. Nobody in my yard, no truck pulling up - nothing. The note says tech was here for 12 minutes. Over the course of a month, I notice a couple of weed patches disappear but far less effective than my own treatments. I called and asked about it but was told they just treated and it takes time to take effect.

    Month 2 - 2nd treatment, same thing. Note on the door that the tech's been here and nearly 40 gallons of product spread. The note says tech was here for 7 minutes. Again I'm at home and don't see or hear anything. Another month subtracted from my balance. I wait a couple of weeks and finally call because I still have weeds that I used to treat with Ortho Weed B Gone just fine. One whole side of my house looks completely untreated and I'm 2 months in at this point.

    I used to put down Scott's Bonus S by now and my yard would explode with growth - I'd have to mow twice a week to keep up. I call. The manager comes out and says we should be able to rid the lawn of these weeds easily but we just treated and we don't want to stress the lawn. Let's give it another 2 weeks and if still there, we'll retreat. 2 weeks later weeds still there so I call again.

    A week later another note at my door that the tech's been out. The note says tech was here 7 minutes and nearly 90 gallons of product have been applied. Again I'm home and don't see or hear anything. My neighbor comes over later and asks if I'm satisfied with my lawn service and I said "I'm not sure. Why?" He says your yard service guy pulled up as I was going into the back yard to turn off and roll up my hose. I couldn't have been gone more than 3 minutes and when I came back he was gone.

    I got online the next day and looked at my account and sure enough, another month’s treatment has been deducted from my balance. By now I'm wise to the "retreatment" scam. I wrote in requesting a manager contact me. I waited 2 days and then called. Had to leave a message. I waited another week. Then I wrote in and said NO more treatments until a manager contacts me. I also called and said the same thing. At around this time, Scott's was merging with Trugreen. I called in again after another 2 weeks when I didn’t hear from anyone and said I wanted to cancel. Much of the miscommunication was blamed on the transition.

    They were very cordial and asked what they could do to keep my business. I explained everything "again" and was told they took detailed notes and that a manager would contact me. It was another week before someone contacted me. It was a new tech letting me know he would be out the next day for another scheduled treatment. I told him no way. No more treatments and that I couldn't talk right then.

    He shows up the next day anyway so we walked the yard and I point out everything. He agrees the treatments should be working if applied. No treatment made. They've treated April, May, and June so far. Plenty of time to know whether treatment is working and it isn't. My yard isn't special or complicated.

    A manager comes out a couple of days later and again apologizes for the transition. We walk the yard again and I point out again areas that should be weed free and strong growth and he agrees. I mention that the tech comes and goes in minutes and my yard doesn’t look as though it’s being treated properly. He apologizes again and asks to allow them to retreat and get the ball rolling satisfactorily. Fine. By now we’re nearing the end of July and my yard hasn’t been treated this month.

    I get a call from a different, new tech and he’s at my front gate for a treatment. I walk the yard with him and point out things. He treats my lawn with 5 gallons of product and 50 lbs of dry product. He’s here for 30 minutes. The next day I look at my account and it’s now under Trugreen and the Scotts account history is gone. Another treatment has been subtracted and it’s at a higher rate than before. New invoice look and no more time details. I call in and ask them to correct it. That it should’ve been a re-treatment and that the rate was incorrect as well. They’ll have to get a manager involved because they can’t see the Scotts history to know what I was being billed at.

    A week goes by and the account is still unchanged. I call in again about it and also inquire about the treatment of a particular weed since it’s starting to cool down. They’ve been saying it’s been too hot to treat for it. A week later I get a call for another scheduled treatment. By this time I’m completely done. I called to cancel and they again asked what they could do to keep my business. I asked for a manager to call me. The same manager I spoke to before called me the next day and asked what they could do to keep my business. I explained that I wasn’t even sure I received the first 2 or 3 treatments and that I would stay if they credited me back 2 months.

    He said the technician was an 18-year veteran and that he would only credit me back 1-month treatment. I told him that my yard didn’t look like it was being taken care of by an 18-year veteran and that I still had weeds that I normally got rid of myself with no trouble. I questioned whether he even showed up the first couple of times and let him know what my neighbor said. He stood by his 18-year veteran tech and one month offer.

    I said thank you and please proceed with my cancellation. A week later I called and asked what the status was and they said it was "just processed today and that I would get back on the same credit card I used." I waited a week checking my credit card and no credit. I called back in and they said it was being processed through their corporate office and that I would receive a check in about 2 weeks - sheesh.

    What I have left out of this experience is the fact that my immediate next door neighbor used a different lawn service so I was able to compare. Their lawn service techs were seen every month walking around the yard, spraying and treating. I could hear their trucks pull up and I watched them. They would consistently spend 20-30 minutes in the yard. Maybe the length of time spent has nothing to do with anything but my results and the differences in the yards seemed to support that my tech was slacking or inefficient. Certainly not the work of an 18-year veteran!

    I had also called a couple of extra times to get the amount of the refund corrected since they started billing at an incorrect rate. I finally gave up and will be happy to just get a partial refund back and not have to deal with them anymore. If you’re thinking of using them – Don’t. These people were super nice every time I spoke to them and they genuinely seemed like they wanted to do a good job. But there was such a huge disconnect from day 1 and they just never improved.

    The treatments and their effectiveness were suspect from the start and their robotic billing was frustrating. I can honestly say that using Scotts Bonus S and Ortho Weed B Gone together gave me better results than the Scotts, and now Trugreen, Professional Lawn Service. That they would allow a customer to leave their service and write a review like this over $40 should also tell you something. My advice as a homeowner and real estate agent is to save your money or at the very least find another company. My neighbor used Heron and the difference was considerable. Good luck and happy yarding.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money, please read my review.

    • By John,
    • Ankeny, Iowa,
    • Nov 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I worked at Trugreen in Ankeny Iowa for about three months. Basically, as a new employee you are trained about "safety" and company cores, such as integrity, customer satisfaction, and company goals. After about three days of training, you are out on a route for field training. The in-class training is nothing like the field training. You learn real quick that everybody at the company does nothing they are supposed to. Well, I shouldn't say everyone, there are a select few that have morals and are against taking advantage of paying customers. Long story short the company is based on production, all they care about is numbers. You will get numerous calls and messages throughout the day stating about how you need to get more stops done, if you bust butt all day you need to help others out. It's horrible, literally, it gets to the point where you show up at a house, you go balls to the walls to get it done, and move on. The reason I quit is because I honestly couldn't handle ripping off good paying customers. If you choose Trugreen pray you get a tech who actually cares. I would say the company only cares about money, and there are a select amount of employees that will care about your lawn. Don't believe me? That's fine continue your service, you may have lucked out and got a good tech. Remember anybody that is working 60 hours a week normally doesn't care about the work they do, especially when you're only making 12 bucks an hour.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Nothing but a scam

    • By Nasir,
    • ON,
    • Nov 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    They knock at your door, force you to buy their services or keep calling you until you end up being scammed. Then they threaten you with damaging your credit rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    TrueGreen Ruined Our Lawn

    • By Zerrin Langer,
    • Beverly Hills, Florida,
    • Dec 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We contracted with TrueGreen six years ago for lawn and shrub service. The first few years were good. Last year they dropped the ball completely and our lawn went to hell in a hand basket. It is full of weeds for which they had been offering excuses, no remedies. We lost part of it to cinch bugs they were supposed to control. They were ineffective for controlling or eliminating scale as well although we had been paying for shrub service. Our last contract cost us $1080.28 for which we have the worst lawn to show in the neighborhood. We paid a lot of money to re-sod some of the areas.

    Get yourself someone other than TrueGreen if you want to keep your lawn.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Paid almost $500 in 6 months for nothing

    TrueGreen has been "taking care" of my lawn for six months and have charged me almost $500 in applications and aeration. Applications done were supposedly work on controlling weeds, but it is still abundant in weeds, both in the front and back.

    I closed my account last December, and they have been calling me to assure that they would fix my lawn as they guarantee their services. They went to my house and did an additional application, which from discussions with them my understanding was that it was on them to fix what they have failed to do before. Now I am getting another bill for a serviced at a 50% discount? And they said that my account was active again because they received approval from me to continue with the service, something I never did.

    TrueGreen took almost $500 from me and didn't deliver what they promised, and now they want to charge more money to fix it ? I regret trusting them my lawn.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Bad service and they won't stop!

    • By Lois Michael,
    • Bedford, TX,
    • Feb 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My 90-year-old father contracted with TruGreen for about a year. After he passed away, seeing how TERRIBLE his yard looked compared to how it had been golf-course perfect with another company, I immediately called and canceled TruGreen's services.

    They continued to show up (and bill my mother) for the service even after FIVE CALLS over THREE MONTHS. They also were not treating the back yard because the gate was locked, although they SAID it had been treated (no one ever knocked, and if we knew they were there we would have told them to go away!).

    When I refused to pay, they shifted tactics to calling her weekly, leaving "advertising" flyers on the door, etc. I spoke with supervisors, threatened legal action for harassment and trespassing, and FINALLY got to speak with someone who said they'd "take me off their list." Whew!

    They were quiet for a couple of months, and then this morning they called again! When I called, they said, "I'm sorry, no you can't speak to a supervisor, he's on another call." I called back later and got the same response. I left a callback number. Then I called their main office and left a callback number. NOW, they don't call.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    Buyer Beware:

    I don’t normally write reviews one way or another. I am the type of customer that understands that things happen.

    I first was recommended to TruGreen back at the beginning of December of 2016 from my landscaper. I had recently replaced my entire front yard with new sod and discovered (after the sod was installed) that it came with chinch bugs. I called TruGreen when I came home from work one night at about 7 pm. The customer service agent or salesman sold me the service right over the phone with some BASIC guarantees:

    #1. They always call 24 hours in advance to make sure we are aware that they are coming because I have a newborn and was concerned with the chemicals being sprayed without my knowledge.

    #2. They would fix my lawn and make it green again!

    #3. If I was ever unsatisfied, I could call back in between services and request a respray.

    I agreed to the verbal contract (as we were on a recorded phone line) and was told someone would be in touch with me within the next five days to set up a service. You can imagine my surprise when I arrived home three days later with TruGreen flags on my front yard indicating that someone was there and had sprayed. What happened to calling 24 hours in advance to let me know they were coming out? I was aggravated because this is not what I was sold, but I never complained, which is my fault.

    Two weeks later my wife calls me at work to tell me that TruGreen showed up with no notice and is now aerating my yard. Again, I was not called beforehand. Once again, all I wanted is a GREEN YARD, so I again didn't complain. On the receipt that was left on the door, it stated how to water the lawn and mow it. I showed this to my landscaper, and he assured me that this is exactly how he mows (again he is the man who recommended me to TruGreen).

    I double checked my sprinkler system so that I was completely satisfied that my sprinkler was not over watering (I took the tuna can trick that they recommended). On the receipt, it was stated that I should see all the weeds die and turn yellow within 3- 7 weeks. Nine weeks later I have the same awful looking lawn that I started with. I have already paid TruGreen approximately $250 by then. So if they come out every two months and you are not supposed to see improvements until seven weeks, how are you supposed to call for a retreat? I mean, TruGreen is supposed to be the “experts.”

    Last week was the final straw. I came home from work on 1/30/17 and found a door tag from TruGreen. It was a door hanger to try and drum up some business. On it was a note from the “Area Manager” Steve, who stated that my lawn was overgrowing with weeds and to please call him so we could discuss what his company could do for me. I called him and played dumb. I asked him if my lawn looked that bad. He stated that he would have never left a note if it didn’t. He then told me the same thing the original guy who sold me the plan did from the beginning with a 24-hour call before arrival, etc.

    After he was done with the sales pitch, I told him that my yard was getting treated but never told him it was from his company, TruGreen. He told me that I should call up and FIRE the company that I am with because they are clearly not doing their job and taking my money. When I finally told him that it was TruGreen, he couldn’t backtrack fast enough. He then stated he was so sorry for the service that I had been given. He told me to call him from now on and not to call corporate as he wanted to make sure that the ball didn’t get dropped. We ended the phone call with him putting in a customer concern ticket, and he said that someone would be in contact with me about my issues.

    Once again, imagine my surprise when my wife called me the next day to tell me that TruGreen was spraying my lawn again without calling 24 hours before like they supposedly do. I called the corporate headquarters the next day and spoke with Carl Crawford (sorry if I misspelled) and stated my whole issue. I told him that I didn’t have any faith in the company anymore and my lawn still looks just as bad as it did from day one. I told him that I feel TruGreen should give me my money back as they are not providing the service that was explained to me on a recorded line.

    Again, I told him to either give me my money back or make my lawn green, which I no longer have faith that this company can do. He told me that he wanted to save me as a customer and that someone from the branch level (possibly the GM) would be contacting me no later than three business days (with Friday 2/3/17 being the last day). Well, today is Monday, 2/6/17, and I still haven’t heard anything!

    This is truly AWFUL customer service. I just want what I PAID for! Obviously, after three times out and still not getting it right, this company never will. When I called to talk with someone, I was told that they can only sell you a new service after hours, but all complaints and issues with your account can only be discussed between Monday through Friday, 9 am - 5 pm. WOW, what a great business model! I will be looking for a smaller company that actually values my business.

    I have also been told that because of my experience, my landscaper will not be recommending TruGreen anymore because of the POOR SERVICE. As I stated at the beginning, I never write reviews, but in this case, I don’t want anyone else to go through what I have. To top it all off, I should have done the research from the beginning because their reviews are awful, and I’m sure they don’t even tell the full story!

    I will be posting this review on EVERY review website that there is, and will be contacting the local news. I don’t want anyone else to be SCAMMED like I was!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Cameras don't lie

    • By Jack,
    • Venice, Florida,
    • Mar 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Today I received my receipt on the door from TruGreen specialist Joshua Dudzek. The receipt had stated that he treated my yard with a slow release fertilizer and that he sprayed SedgeHammer.

    I happened to play back my security cameras to see his application that he applied to the lawn. Mr. Dudzek made one pass on the sides of my home (there is 25' of my property on each side). He must have one hell of a spreader, or I got ripped off. I also never saw him use the sprayer as he stated on the receipt, and he completely missed areas on the lawn.

    I was a customer with Scott's for many years and was pleased with their service and trusted them. This is very sad that TruGreen does not have the same loyal service. Tomorrow I will call them and advise them that they lost a customer.

    The video will be shared with the communities around me to show how well they take care of the customers. The only thing they care about making green is their bank account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 157

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review