Start your review of TruGreen:
  • 185 Customer Reviews
  • 6% Recommend This Company
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 4% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 88%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • I was told that this was going to happen by my neighbors!

    • By Tony J.,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Called them to treat my shrubs back in August of this year. Explained to Nick that all I wanted was a ONE TIME SERVICE!

    I RE-iterated to him about 10 times that I did not want a maintenance plan since this was the first time in 20 years living at this house that I had any bug issues with our shrubs!

    Shaun came out and sprayed our shrubs. Very knowledgeable individual. We talked about the service being a one deal and he told me that if this treatment didn't take care of the issue, to call him and he would come back and re-spray.

    At work his morning and I see someone spraying our bushes and trees on our security cameras! Called TruGreen and they informed me that I had signed up for a maintenance plan. BS!

    After 20 minutes on the phone going crazy with the local manager, she agreed to cancel the contract!

    Best part: We have a couple of rope swings/climbers on our trees and the tech didn't even have enough common sense to not soak them down with pesticide when he was soaking the trees!

    In addition: 17-20 MPH wind at the time he's spraying; wonder where all the overspray is going? Oh yeah! ALL OVER our freaking van which was parked in front of house!

    Soooooo, NOW:

    1) I have to replace 2 swing/climber sets ($50) because the ropes were soaked in pesticide and our daughter is highly allergic to pesticides (we use organic products in/outside).

    2) Have to cancel the party that we were going to have with her friends this afternoon since we can't play in the front yard now!

    3) Have to hire a mobile detail/car wash service to come out and wash the van since there's overspray all over it and it stinks ($65)!

    In summary: It's actually going to cost me over $100 and cancel a party that we've had planned for weeks, for something that I never wanted or signed up for!

    PLUS: Now I owed my neighbors $25/ea because I bet them that the "CONTRACT BS WOULD NOT HAPPEN TO US."

    There could be a plague of locust eating all our plants and trees and I would not call TruGreen!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible service

    • By Tricia M.,
    • Cary, NC,
    • Oct 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If I could deduct stars, I would. We called TruGreen a month in advance and then a week in advance to schedule aeration on a specific day so my husband was available to lay topsoil and seed (TruGreen does not provide this service). We were assured we were on the schedule for the agreed-upon day so my husband took the day off. We received a call stating they were coming a day early. We called and asked to be kept on the original day. We received a call confirming the original agreed upon day between 8-1. By 1 no one showed. I called to follow up only to then find out they moved our window without asking or telling us to between 2-7. I called and complained and asked to be placed at the beginning of the window. Customer service said they would have Alvin the technician call with an ETA. At 3:30 still no word. I called again, they requested he call with ETA again. By 5:30 still now word. I called again, they said he would be there no later than 6. By 6:20 no word. I called again and they reported he stated I requested service to be skipped, which clearly was a bald-faced LIE. This company clearly does what they want when they want with no concern for the customer. Do not waste your time or money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TruGreen is the worst

    • By Timothy B.,
    • Burtonsville, MD,
    • Sep 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have videos of my TruGreen tech leaving the service info on my front door but never put a drop of anything on my lawn and sent me a bill . Caught the tech doing half my yard, 1/4 of my yard. My yard looks worst then it ever has.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't bother

    • By Bryan L.,
    • Idaho,
    • Sep 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you're considering this company to care for your lawn or repair your lawn, then look somewhere else. I've had TruGreen out to my house three times now. The first time I was given an explanation as to the cause of my browning lawn and then instructions on what to do with my watering schedule. The second time the techs that showed up said the first set of techs had misdiagnosed the problem and then I was given a completely different set of instructions of how to care for my lawn. The third visit consisted of the tech stating that what the last tech had told was incorrect and I was now given a third set of direction which directly contradicted the last. I'm done! It's clear none of these techs know what they're talking about and I'm out hundreds of dollars and left with a lawn that looks like hell and is unprepared for the coming winter.

    Thanks TruGreen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad service

    • By David R.,
    • South Carolina,
    • Sep 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Before letting them do my yard, I told them I had a camera, and would watch to make sure they did a good job. Noticed that yard wasn't green and even. Decided to watch and found they did a crappy job. I have them on video and show it to them and others. Everybody told me no way they covered the yard. Wish I could post the video. Canceled all service because the owner of the Myrtle Beach franchise was trying to tell me he covered the yard. Don't piss down my back and tell me it is raining.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • RUN! Don't even consider.

    • By Nancy R.,
    • Claymont, DE,
    • Sep 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    DON'T EVEN CONSIDER TruGreen. It is a joke, from the beginning of my service with them they have been nothing but trouble. They don't care about your lawn, just collecting a paycheck. Giving one star was too generous. Go with your local small guy, give them the business. These big companies DON'T CARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hired to simplify my life and it only complicated it.

    • By Kris H.,
    • Branson, MO,
    • Aug 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Unfortunately, we have had a very rainy season and my first 2 full-price apps were done within less than 24 hours of torrential downpours. This caused the chemicals to pool into large specific areas of my lawn causing everything in those areas to die. Had nothing but mud. Called the first time and was given no good explanation. Second app happened the same way. For 6 weeks trying to put my account on hold and I'm finding it impossible. Sent photos, spoke with TG numerous times and info does not get disseminated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Maybe I'm just lucky

    • By Jason F.,
    • Lewisberry, PA,
    • Aug 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the first year with TruGreen but so far I'm impressed. At the end of last summer, I started to have a real clover and crabgrass problem. After crunching the numbers and comparing what I was spending to do it myself (which obviously wasn't working), I decided to give these guys a try. What a difference! The pre-emergent they used must be magic because I don't have a single crabgrass or clover weed in my entire yard and that's only after a few treatments. I, like most, have high expectations when spending this kind of money and so far they have delivered. I see a lot of folks saying they've had bad customer service experiences but on the contrary, mine was the opposite. After one of the early season treatments, I noticed a select few broadleaf weeds starting to show, I waited about a week just to see if these would brown and die like the others had previously. Once I realized that they didn't, I called to voice my dissatisfaction and was told someone would be out within 3 business days to do another treatment free of charge. Sure enough, 2 days later a tech came out and resprayed the problem areas free of charge and I haven't had a weed since. I can't help but wonder if the local TruGreen office that services my yard is just better than most or I'm just lucky but I have nothing but good things to say up to this point and I would def recommend them to a friend, and in fact, I have.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Extremely unsatisfied with an exception.

    • By Timothy S.,
    • Pawtucket, RI,
    • Aug 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Before I explain my dissatisfaction, I want to make it clear that my review will concern TruGreen's lawn service and not their mosquito and tick prevention plan. I have only positive experiences regarding their mosquito and tick spraying.

    My main problem with TruGreen involves their lawn care plan. The first person I met with was excellent. He explained everything he was going to accomplish and he spent quite a bit of time looking around the property and treating the lawn and spraying. The next visit was largely the same. After that things started to go downhill pretty quickly. My lawn was increasingly taken over by weeds. I watched the man walk around the yard, ignoring weeds and just spraying here and there. The front lawn was completely untouched and was taken over by nut grass entirely. I left the lawn long for the next appointment so they could clearly observe the weeds. The man did spray the front but ignored the back. I was billed the normal fee. I had planned to cut the lawn over the weekend and was not expecting them to return so quickly with seeding and aeration none the less.

    I was going to call and have them come out again to review the problem the following week when all of a sudden two days after we'd spraying they are performing an aeration and seeding service. It is the middle of August and the temperatures are above 90. It is far too early for this service. Further, they never called to indicate that this appointment was scheduled. I complained because the service was far too early and I wasn't notified. The lawn wasn't prepared for seeding. The lawn was too long. There are areas where the soil needs to be turned over and filler should be added. This service costs over $200 and if I am going to pay for it then I want to be prepared. I wasn't because they didn't notify me. They always called before, maybe not as early as I like, but they called. I am 100% certain they did not call. I have the call log, the caller ID log and I was home during the time they claim to have called.

    They were argumentative about the failure to call. Interestingly, they didn't argue that this service was far too early. I found that amusing, it makes me question why they would schedule something that needs planning and entirely different weather and temperature. It comes across as unprofessional and questionable. There is zero chance the seed will take. Everyone's lawn and yard are drying out due to extreme heat and lack of sufficient hydration even when watering daily. To seed now is pointless...and they know it. Early autumn seeding...not mid-summer seeding.

    I will never use them again. I will never recommend their lawn service. Mosquito, sure, that was great.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very poor and dishonest service

    • By Belinda C.,
    • Huntersville, NC,
    • Aug 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    To start with, we had a healthy lawn, but since TruGreen took over it 4 years ago it has deteriorated to a lawn filled with weeds! In spite of multiple requests over the years, and several false promises made by TruGreen, nothing was really done which ultimately proves their customer service is very poor and no one really cares! I bet they wouldn’t be pleased if I were to post pictures of my weed-filled lawn that I have!

    To add to their failing services, they are dishonest as well, recently I called them since the weeds were getting really bad in spite of their treatment and I was promised re-treatment for free. The specialist who came by left a note saying he had talked to us when he had neither knocked on our door nor talked to us. Also, there was no indication that the lawn was re-treated for weeds. We were also charged on top of this. I called to let them know about their dishonest employee but I doubt they took it seriously since there was no effort made to correct their wrong and I had to call the accounting department for a refund. The manager Dustin promised a service call ASAP after I texted him again but nothing was done for the next two 2 weeks.

    Having had enough of their lousy service, I called to cancel their services and was told that it was because we didn’t use their aeration/seeding services, we had it done but not by TruGreen! However, I don’t understand how that is responsible for the never-ending weeds that crop up after their so-called "regular treatments", one would expect a controlled yard after 4 years of treatment!

    A total waste of hard-earned money and time, never hiring TruGreen again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible service

    • By Noha T.,
    • Florida,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wouldn't recommend TruGreen to my worst enemy. They charged me for stuff I specifically said I didn't want. One of the things was potassium which they never even put down because they had the wrong address. But yet they still charged me 80 bucks for it. Every time I called and asked to speak to a supervisor, no supervisor was available nor would one call me back. Still waiting on a refund for the crap they didn't even do. My guess is I'll never see that money again. Worst experience ever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 34-44 of 185

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
TruGreen Review