Read 157 TruGreen Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 8)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 9 1 star:  138
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 78-88 of 157
Sort reviews by:

  • They don't do what they say they do!

    • By James W.,
    • Nampa, ID,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I could give them a ZERO! Horrible company to do business with!

    Jessica at the Meridian office is incredibly rude, and I would never suggest doing business with them in the future. I enrolled online, and they said I would get an email explaining the process. I never got an email, and so I called. They explained over the phone and said that they were doing two treatments on the first visit. The advertisement said the first treatment was $29.95, but they were going to just through on a billbug treatment on the first one for an addition $79.99. I am sure glad that I called so that I didn't get an unexpected charge, and I canceled.

    Wendy was the technician that claimed to come out but did not leave a receipt on my door. She even had the gull to say that she talked to someone at the home, but there was no one even home. I have cameras at my home also, and she wasn't found treating my lawn on the cameras.

    I called and talked to Ryan, the sales manager, and he said that he would send her back out to treat the lawn. She came out to my property at that time and talked to me on my video doorbell. I told her to treat the lawn like Ryan said, and then I saw her sit in her truck for 10 minutes. Then left without doing anything!

    I called back to talk to Ryan, and Jessica told me that he wasn't going to talk to me and asked if I wanted to cancel or what? She said it in a way that was very rude. So, I hung up on her. A couple weeks go by and she calls me again, and left voice mail. I wouldn't talk to her again, and so I called and asked to have the general manager call me.

    Later, I did get a call from Joel. He was professional and polite. He did say that he had researched it and said that GPS showed her at my property both times, and pretty much politely told me that he was going to take Wendy and Jessica's word over mine. There are too many reasons to believe them, and so I will be filing a report with the BBB and disputing their charge to my credit card.

    WARNING! Do NOT do business with this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Works in my area

    • By Dee R.,
    • East Stroudsburg, PA,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After reading the reviews, I felt compelled to leave my own experience. I've been having a beautiful lawn since they started servicing my vacation home. The first year showed slow results, but the technician told me to give it time. I was dealing with a rough lawn, and the results I wanted didn't happen right away. However, each year I noticed the grass came back thicker and greener. Now, seven years later, my lawn is so thick and green, it looks like a carpet! The neighbors are amazed, and we always get compliments on the lawn.

    I'm in the Northeast area of the US, so we get all four seasons here. During the winter months, the grass goes dormant, and I was really concerned about the frost, ice, and snow would damage the roots. But when spring comes around, the grass sprouts back to life with energy and pushes out very green. But like I said, the first year didn't produce the results I was expecting, but by the third year, the results were very obvious. My only complaint, would be the price...yikes!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • TruGreen is dishonest and difficult

    • By Cameron S.,
    • Bedford, NH,
    • Jun 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruGreen is one of the most dishonest and difficult companies I have ever encountered.

    Despite having reservations initially about using TruGreen, I committed to the service because the price was 75% of competitors, and because the salesperson and local service manager gave me detailed and credible assurances that their service was high quality. To ensure that I could monitor the work, I had my account notated to ensure that service is only performed on Saturdays when I am present on the property.

    Despite the notations on my account, TruGreen has continuously tried to schedule services during the week when I am not home. Each time I have called to reschedule, the service center has assured me that the appointments were canceled and would be rescheduled for a day and time that I could be present. However, the second service was performed during the week when I was not present.

    When I arrived home that day, I discovered that the technician had never actually applied any product to my lawn, despite a very specific receipt claiming that 80 pounds of product was applied. I scheduled the service manager to come to my property, which was an extremely time consuming and difficult process. During the visit, the manager explicitly confirms (with witnesses present) that the technician had lied about applying any product, and he assured me that the technician would be disciplined or fired for the fraud. As a result, I was again assured by the service manager that no technician would do any service on my property without me present, and that all services would be completed on Saturdays when I could be home.

    Nonetheless, TruGreen still continued to try to schedule services during the week when I was not home. I continued to have to cancel and reschedule. When I did so, TruGreen failed to make scheduled appointments, and would not call me, and would not call me back when I called them, to reschedule the services.

    As a result, I called the local facility to schedule all of my service appointments on Saturdays when I could be home. The customer service representatives then insisted that TruGreen never performs services on Saturdays, and refused to schedule any appointments for me, even though the company had scheduled and performed Saturday services on previous occasions. When I tried to discuss this with the service manager, in the course of discussing why services are only performed on Saturdays with me present, the manager claimed to that he had never confirmed the instance of employee fraud, despite me identifying the individuals who had witnessed him doing so.

    On top of all of the dishonesty, dealing with TruGreen about anything is always extraordinarily difficult. I typically have to wait on hold for at least 10 minutes before speaking to a person, then have to wait on hold even longer to get to the local facility. When I eventually get to a person at the local facility, the service representatives cannot provide answers to most basic questions, and have to wait longer (typically days) for a call back from a manager, and I often never receive a call back at all, requiring me to start the painful process of calling all over again.

    In short, my experience with TruGreen has been horrific. I believe the company is, at its best, extremely difficult and, at its worst, deceitful and dishonest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dead grass, yard is ruined.

    • By Jessica B.,
    • Indiana,
    • Jun 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Two applications and most of my grass is dead; bare dirt with a few weeds left. I tried twice to contact them. I am never using them again. The tech came, looked at my dead yard, and offered to upsell aeration and seed. I said NO! It wasn't this way BEFORE you sprayed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Service failure

    • By Peter R.,
    • Rochester, NY,
    • Jun 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had nothing but trouble with TruGreen after they took over from Scott's. They failed to provide the service for which they were paid in spite of numerous calls, visits, and photographs provided. They charged me twice for service that I had thought I paid for and then informed me that, after 30 days of no response and five emails from me, that my credit card had been refused because of transposed numbers, but they never bothered to let me know. They made numerous promises to clearly mark those areas treated, but failed to do so on most occasions.

    A local supervisor finally called me only after I had sent leers to corporate and to the local branch. Just last week, the treated my lawn, again without marking the areas treated, only this time killed several areas of the lawn, video of which I informed them they could view, I ASSUME due to over-application of weed killer. I do not know for sure if that is the reason because it has been four days since I asked for a supervisor to contact me and come out and they have ignored my request, pretty much their usual way of doing business.

    I have informed them I will not be contracting with them again and I would, and have, advised others to steer clear of this company, with a hefty advertising budget and seemingly little else to offer customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Honor

    • By T. G.,
    • North Carolina,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Miss Jennifer and I had agreed on a price for my lawn, but since I was going out of town, we agreed to proceed when I returned.

    I called when I returned to set up when they could come out and begin my lawn treatments. To my surprise, they would no longer honor the price that was agreed upon.

    I still believe that a handshake seals a deal and that your word is everything for without your word you have nothing.

    All I can say for everyone else is good luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great experience, great results

    • By David R.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My own experience with TruGreen has been very good. I contacted them after seeing the huge difference they made in my next-door neighbor's lawn. I've been a customer for three years, previous to this I found it very difficult to get even a crappy lawn to grow, but now my lawn is full and healthy and fantastic. I get the basic service, they come about one time per month between late March - early November.

    Don't expect instant miracles. The first year the improvement is noticeable, but if your lawn is like mine was, it took until the second year to get to where it is now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Repeated horrible customer service

    For the third/fourth time over the past three years, I've been the victim of horrible, horrible, horrible customer service by TruGreen. After being turned off by their service, I decided to take another swing at bat given they seemed to be so determined to win back my trust. So this last time around, the service was going GREAT for my lawn care, until about 7-10 days ago.

    I get a call from a salesperson (4/28 or 4/29), who strongly encourages that I sign up for their mosquito service. After voicing my concerns for twenty minutes, I informed the rep I will sign up and commit to one (single) treatment, and that's all. The sales rep was to call me when it was time for the second treatment and make a decision if I wanted to move forward.

    On the morning of 4/30, the full amount of all treatments were drafted from my account. After calling them and expressing how infuriated I was, the customer service simply stated I had no recourse but to wait 3-5 days for my funds to be returned by my bank. I called back on 5/4 and was informed that they only submitted the funds release on 5/3 and I would have to wait up to 5-14 additional days before I received my funds.

    I have yet to receive any phone call from management or any rep from the company to apologize or to explain what has occurred. I've become so upset that I have since canceled all services with this company: the mosquito treatment which never happened and the lawn care service that was going well. This has been an absolutely horrible experience and the poor service just continues over and over.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible and worst service

    I was TruGreen customer when we were living in Madison, Wisconsin and they were very helpful and doing a great job.

    When we moved to Gainesville, Florida and we bought our new home with quite a big front and back yards, we expected that we can get similar or better service. Instead, we got very bad results! Our back and front yard has more weeds, and when they applied the pesticide we got blank spots and weeds all over the place in our yard, and I need to put the soil and seed.

    The other worst things, the technician that serves our house was lying and instead treating both yards, he only did into front yards. He did it when we are not at home or come over without announcing to us.

    They charged for the bad service in full. I already spoke with the manager and she promised to solve and take care of the problem. Instead, I got an annoying phone call to pay the bill!

    Although I told them that we already quit the service, they never stop calling us!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hopeless

    • By Ken Trivett,
    • Greer, SC,
    • May 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After TruGreen had killed half my lawn I asked them to send a manager out to see what they were going to do about it. Someone who had no authority whatsoever came out and said he would get his manager to call. After waiting a day, I called TruGreen and was told they would get someone to call me but it would take 24-48 hours. Two days later after not receiving a call, I called again and was put through to the store. A guy told me he would get someone to call me straight away.

    Two hours late after not getting a call, I called TruGreen again. This time I was told that there was no one at the store and someone would call me back. I called again after the weekend and was told they would send an email to the store, but it will take 24-48 hours to receive a reply. When I asked the guy what happens if I don't get a call, he said he would contact the store again, but it would be 24-48 hours before I got a reply. It's like I'm stuck in a loop.

    It appears TruGreen are all gung-ho when trying to get you to buy more service, but don't want to know when they receive a complaint.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Over a month and no service scheduled

    We called mid-March to sign up for aeration, seeding, and fertilizing. On March 31st they billed our credit card $1838.34 and as of 4/27/18 have not scheduled our service and refuse to give a refund. We spoke with manager Christian on Monday, and he said it would be done by today/Friday. No show. No callback. The call was placed today, and per Lisa at the call center, she can't reach the branch but said we were never scheduled and she wasn't sure why because several requests were made. She refused to process the refund. I started a dispute with my credit card company. Please don't waste your time or money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 78-88 of 157

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
TruGreen