Read 125 TruGreen Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 8)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 7 1 star:  111
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 78-88 of 125
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Read reviews before using TruGreen

    • West Chester, PA,
    • Sep 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I talked to a sales rep about my lawn getting brown spots. I was told my lawn would be analyzed. I asked to be called when they come out so I could talk to them. I received a message a week later that they had a date to come out.

    They showed up, but there was never a phone call. Lucky my camera system picked them up and notified me. I went home to talk to the service guy. He was new to the company and told me he was there to put down stuff for grubs. I asked about the brown spots and if he was doing a pH or soil sample. Again he said he was new and was told to put grub stuff down. After watching my camera, the way the treatment was put down and what was missed had me upset.

    Trying to get through to customer service and speak to a higher up took two weeks. They came out to the house and admitted that their tech burned my grass. I mean burned my lawn. It looked like the worse one on the street when before it was the greenest on the street. I was told they would reseed and refund me for the second application. Well, that never happened.

    I called corporate and requested a refund. They gave me a refund but still charged me for the first application. Great job TruGreen, now I need to pay someone who is trusted to seed and get my lawn back the way it was. Bottom line, do your research and read the reviews about the company before signing up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Refund has taken one month and still not received

    • Plano, TX,
    • Sep 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for the one year service, and after the first time spray, some of the trees still have bugs. They came over and did it again, which killed some of my bushes. I canceled the following service and asked for a refund. However, after one month and four phone calls, they still have not refunded the rest of the service charge. Also, the customer service representative's attitude is not helping.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Killed my beneficial insects and birds!

    • Valparaiso, IN,
    • Sep 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had TruGreen all year this year. I paid up front to have my front, side, and backyard all serviced for weeds. I got a fence installed at the beginning of May. Since then, the technicians that come out to the house have refused to service my backyard because of the fence. Keep in mind that the fence isn't locked when they are here, and I've been home during every application.

    I called customer support about this, and their resolution was to send someone out again. I have called multiple times about this as well. Every revisit has resulted in them coming out and telling me they won't service the back yard because of the fence. They do reservice the front yard. Considering that I paid based on yard square footage that includes the back yard, this is very frustrating.

    I was also offered their new service for mosquitos. I decided to go ahead and try it. The technician that comes out with the mosquito application goes into my backyard as well. This makes the above issue more aggravating. They can go past the fence for the mosquito spray but not weeds?

    When they proposed the mosquito spray, I specifically asked about the effects it would have on the other insects in my yard and the birds. I have a large garden and about five bird feeders, as well as a bird house. I was told that the application would not affect any other insects. I was also told that as long as I took my bird feeders in during the application, the birds would be fine. I made sure to point out my bird house as well because I can't move that with a nest in it. I was reassured that the nest would be fine. Fast forward to after the application. I'm finding dead bees, ladybugs, spiders, praying mantis, birds, everything aside from mosquitos. To top it off, it seems like I have more mosquitos now than I did before.

    I would highly recommend against using their services. I paid $800 this year for a crappy looking yard with weeds everywhere, and a genocide of pretty much every insect in my yard, as well as killing any of the birds eating seeds out of the garden. I'm not even sure it's safe for my family to eat any of the produce from our garden. Don't even get me started on how upset I am about all the dead butterflies and caterpillars I've found now. It would have been much cheaper to do this myself with much better results. I feel terrible that I purposely created an environment for beneficial insects, then the mosquito spray killed everything even though I was reassured everything else would be fine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Ruined my Zoysia Grass

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Sep 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had been a TruGreen customer for more than five years or so, and so after my St Augustine lawn started to look bad, I had it replaced with Zoysia Grass for about $4500 or so. The lawn looked so good that my neighbors were always complementing me and I also won several best Yard Awards. After about 6-8 months or so, my lawn started to brown and I got some bald spots and eventually, the front yard looked like some one poured weed killer over it.

    So I complained, and the field manager told me that their spreader must have had a problem and agreed to replace that part. I have been having problems with TruGreen managing Zoysia Grass and I had complained several times but nothing changed, and now my lawn looks completely ruined. I complained to corporate and they told me that they will get to the bottom of it, but nothing got done, so I fired them. I seriously think they don't know how to treat Zoysia Grass.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money - horrible service!

    I paid the annual service fee up front and have had three applications with NO weeds dying off. My service dates have been canceled and rescheduled multiple times with no one showing up. I've talked to their management multiple times, and they make promises that aren't kept.

    Do not waste your time or money. Neither the customer service nor management care to give proper service to their clients. No apologies are ever made for their terrible service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service and no improvement

    • Williamstown, WV,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was charged twice in June for a service that did not take place. I've contacted "False" Green three times regarding this. Today was the last straw!

    I spoke to Brian in customer service who has no business being in customer service. I had to repeat the situation four times to him, and he still proceeded to tell me the service took place. I was home Brian, and talked to the guy who advised he would be back the following week! The following week came and went; still no service!

    Our yard was looking beautiful at first. They want your business, so they strive to get it. But once they have you, they no longer provide what you pay for! I canceled all services with them today and am going with Ameriturf. I sure wish I read the reviews prior. They are all horrible, and most people indicate they wish they could score them a zero!

    Do yourself a favor; choose another company if you want quality service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    More like "TruBrown"

    We just had our half acre lawn redone from scratch. It cost us $5,000. I called TruGreen to keep it looking good. Well, it's brown and looks worse than anyone on my street that doesn't have TruGreen. So I watched the man when he came out. He walked the yard, sprayed a little bit when he thought I was looking, and then charged me for 9 gallons! I knew right then, that's why my yard looks so bad. Weeds growing. Different grasses growing, and it's brown. After $450 we quit them and asked them to come look at our yard. Never heard another word. I wish I could post pictures to prove it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Poor service and unprofessional customer service

    I first contracted with TruGreen in June 2017 after we had moved into a new construction. I was sold on a program that would help establish our lawn given its infancy.

    To date, they have attempted to provide service multiple times, and my grass has gotten worse. The weeds have taken over (clover and crab grass). I have called multiple times. On four separate occasions, the customer service people have tried to schedule follow-up visits where a specialist would come out to assess our lawn and treat it. The local technicians/specialists have not bothered to show up or give me the common courtesy of a phone call explaining why they cannot make it.

    During my last conversation with them, they told me my account would be escalated to a manager who would call me back. Three days later there was no phone call. I finally decided enough was enough and canceled my service. The customer service people are very friendly and tried to help. However, the people they contract with who are local are unprofessional at best.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Lying salesman, multiple charges

    • Wake Forest, NC,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The sales guy offered me a one-time treatment for half price. Well, it is a lot worse than I thought. They charged me $60 in June twice, and in July $30 and $76.82. They called to tell me they are coming again today after I canceled. The sales guy, Bart, said a one-time treatment for $38.41 half price. Then they just start charging away. I didn't even get one correct charge right. Penmanship is horrible. Can't read anything.

    I canceled everything with my card. If I see another TruGreen in the neighborhood it won't be pretty. I always knew they were a scam, then I trusted them just once and I got screwed. Horrible. Horrible people/company. Now I know why I do everything myself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Stay away!

    • Pompano Beach, FL,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried their "TruHealth" lawn plan for 6+ months, which was supposed to include fertilizers, insect and weed controllers. My lawn was in pretty decent shape before starting the service, and it got worse after six months, with a bunch of brown dead spots in the back, and the front lawn almost completely dead.

    I got tired of paying these scammers and discontinued service, and of course there is no money back. I should've read all these reviews before starting service with them. I was never at home when they did their "service," so maybe they did nothing as many people have complained. This is a scam, stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Positive experience

    • Hutchinson, KS,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I contracted TruGreen to take care of my lawn over Spring and Summer as my schedule doesn't permit much time to do some of the necessary lawn maintenance to keep my lawn in shape.

    I had read through many negative and frankly frightening reviews about their service. But I decided to give them a chance as several of my neighbors use TruGreen and their lawns look fantastic.

    From their first visit to their last, I had no issues. They did the work promised and were efficient. My lawn looks fantastic. Deep green, no weeds, no crabgrass. There were no missed appointments, unauthorized treatments or charges. TruGreen delivered for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 78-88 of 125

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review