Read 128 TruGreen Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 9)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 7 1 star:  114
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 89-99 of 128
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Lying salesman, multiple charges

    • Wake Forest, NC,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The sales guy offered me a one-time treatment for half price. Well, it is a lot worse than I thought. They charged me $60 in June twice, and in July $30 and $76.82. They called to tell me they are coming again today after I canceled. The sales guy, Bart, said a one-time treatment for $38.41 half price. Then they just start charging away. I didn't even get one correct charge right. Penmanship is horrible. Can't read anything.

    I canceled everything with my card. If I see another TruGreen in the neighborhood it won't be pretty. I always knew they were a scam, then I trusted them just once and I got screwed. Horrible. Horrible people/company. Now I know why I do everything myself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Stay away!

    • Pompano Beach, FL,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried their "TruHealth" lawn plan for 6+ months, which was supposed to include fertilizers, insect and weed controllers. My lawn was in pretty decent shape before starting the service, and it got worse after six months, with a bunch of brown dead spots in the back, and the front lawn almost completely dead.

    I got tired of paying these scammers and discontinued service, and of course there is no money back. I should've read all these reviews before starting service with them. I was never at home when they did their "service," so maybe they did nothing as many people have complained. This is a scam, stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Positive experience

    • Hutchinson, KS,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I contracted TruGreen to take care of my lawn over Spring and Summer as my schedule doesn't permit much time to do some of the necessary lawn maintenance to keep my lawn in shape.

    I had read through many negative and frankly frightening reviews about their service. But I decided to give them a chance as several of my neighbors use TruGreen and their lawns look fantastic.

    From their first visit to their last, I had no issues. They did the work promised and were efficient. My lawn looks fantastic. Deep green, no weeds, no crabgrass. There were no missed appointments, unauthorized treatments or charges. TruGreen delivered for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Awful customer service and virtually a scam

    • Haymarket, VA,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After less than a year, my front lawn is dead because of repeated applications of Preemergence to treat my crabgrass problem. I was told that Preemergence would kill only the crabgrass, but the crabgrass seems to flourish in it. Worse, I purchased an annual "full" plan on October 1, 2016 and was told today (August 14, 2017) that the plan ran out in June and that was why I was being billed for new treatments.

    The customer rep told me that they have a "tricky system" that sometimes confuses customers. I'll say; annual used to mean 12 months, but TruGreen runs on its own calendar. I've tried to reach my local office, but all phone calls seem to be routed to a national answering service. I wanted a resolution of the new charges but was told that a "service manager" would call me back in 24-48 hours, in other words, we are stalling.

    Bottom line with my experience: for a high cost I have a worse lawn than before, and had the pleasure of running a gauntlet system of customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    TrueGreen service

    I have approximately 1.08 acres of property that I requested TruGreen service(s) for pest control and lawn care.

    I only had two months of service and decided to cancel. The reason is that it was very expensive (for me) at $260 for the pest control and $200 for the lawn care. I understand I have a little over an acre, but I properly maintain my lawn/trees/shrubs, all that is required is a little weed and feed and pest control (ants, spiders, and such). $460 every 4-6 weeks is a little too much for my taste. I have kids and wanted to make sure I had the proper tick controlled living in Maryland, along with a semi-weed free yard.

    After three applications I still have weeds, and the ants are still prevalent as they were before. I must say my grass is greener, but we also had a lot of rain, so I am not certain I can contribute the service for that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worst service ever.

    • Birmingham, AL,
    • Aug 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired them and fired them within four weeks. I signed up for lawn maintenance and an aeration service. I prepaid for aeration. Aeration never happened. They came to my house and treated my TREES AND SHRUBS but not my yard.

    I called them, and they stated I was signed up for trees and shrubs and stated they couldn't find my aeration account and payment that had already been deducted from my personal bank account. After threatening civil and criminal litigation, I finally received my aeration that was paid for three weeks in advance.

    The final straw was when they sent me a bill for putting Lime on my yard, and my yard has never been limed by their company.

    Don't waste your time or money on this company folks. You can't even talk to anyone in your home state at a local office for customer care. It's truly amazing they are still in business. The only positive I came away with was customer service rep Mike Duncan. He did everything he could to help me out, but TruGreen is too flawed for him to work miracles.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service!

    If I could, I would give them zero stars! I had to practically beg them to come out to service my trees. Once they finally came out, they only did five of our trees and the service was for ALL the trees. We have 25+ trees. I watched the guy (David Piper) out my windows the entire time. The worst part though was he lied to my son when he asked if he'd sprayed all the trees in our yard. He told my son that yes, he had sprayed all of the trees. Also, he told my son that we would still have to pick the bagworms off of our pine trees even after his treatment. Funny that the sales department told me that he would come with a hose so powerful that it would knock the bagworms off of the tree and they would die immediately.

    What a joke. I canceled my service immediately after he left our house. So disappointing. Then after canceling, they said I couldn't get my money back for the first treatment. Unbelievable!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    TruGreen has ruined my yard!

    For six years my wife and I enjoyed one of the prettiest lawns in our very nice golf course neighborhood, which is full of beautiful lawns. Enter TruGreen. We hired them five months ago to save money. Bad idea. It only took TruGreen three and a half months to completely ruin our front yard. It is now diseased (we were never notified about this until we asked) and overrun by weeds! Dead, brown areas everywhere! Literally, one of the worst lawns in the area now. AVOID.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Solid

    I have a very different experience. For every treatment, my lawn tech (Bob) will come knock on the door and we will walk the lawn and he tells me his strategy and what he's applying. My service call between treatments was a week after I called, and was effective. My lawn had bare dirt spots in it, and the grass was thin when we moved in last fall. It's thick and full now.

    I have no complaints on the work Bob does; he's doing an excellent job making my lawn one of the best on the block. I always get a phone call the day before he comes. I will agree that their customer service reps are not good and they try and push bush and tree treatments, etc. on you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Poor, poor service. Expensive.

    • Alexandria, MN,
    • Jul 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Stay away from TruGreen. It's expensive and does not kill weeds or fertilize. The did my yard two times and never showed up for the rest of the sprayings. I called them three weeks in a row and kept saying "next week." So I have irrigation, and the yard still looks terrible. No weeds killed as promised and we could not smell any weed killer or fertilizer. It's like $130 for less than a 1/2 acre. I can fertilize for $45.

    I'm giving one star only because there was no choice of zero stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    25-minute job in 5 minutes

    • Westfield, MA,
    • Jul 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Chem Lawn arrived today, 7/13/17. The tech exited the truck, walked the yard (1.5 acres), pulled the hose and sprayed for five minutes, posted the lawn and left. The whole thing is on camera (thanks Lorex)!

    I called customer service to confirm the whole lawn is to be sprayed, and it is. They will send someone in 72 hours to respray the lawn. The manager will be notified, the customer service reps stated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 89-99 of 128

Write a Review for TruGreen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review