About TruthFinder

By HighYa Staff

TruthFinder is a people search website that allows you to search for anyone in the US and gain instant access to contact information, background checks, criminal records, and more.

In order to provide this information, TruthFinder “pores over hundreds of millions of available public records, social network data, and more” from multiple sources, including county, state, and federal databases. Then, your results can be accessed from your mobile device, tablet, or computer, while remaining 100% confidential.

There’s no doubt that the information provided by TruthFinder might come in handy, whether you’re looking to find out more about an old friend, a new flame, or your nice-but-creepy neighbor. But will the price you pay be in line with the information you receive? Are there any important things to keep in mind before handing over your credit card number.

We’ll discuss all of this (and more!) here. To start things off, let’s talk about what a public records company offers.

What Is a People Search Website?

First, public records are simply “documents or pieces of information that are not considered confidential.” This can include records as part of a court proceeding, birth, marriage, death, voter registration, and more.

Due to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), all of these records are publicly​ available to anyone who requests them. However, the process of obtaining information from multiple sources can be cumbersome (we’ll come back around to this in a moment), so companies like TruthFinder can make it easier to quickly gain access, and then view the results in a single report.

For example, let’s say you wanted to find out 1) if someone was delinquent on their taxes, and 2) if they’re married. For the first, you’d have to visit the county tax assessor’s office, wait in line, and request the document (usually by filling out some paperwork and paying a small fee). Next, you’d need to visit the courthouse and do the same for any marriage certificates.

Now, imagine you were interested in obtaining all the available public records for an individual. You’d probably spend weeks dealing with all the appropriate governmental agencies, which could be time consuming and expensive.

But when the rubber meets the road, will people search websites like TruthFinder provide a solid value for your money? To answer this, we’ll first take a look at how you can obtain a TruthFinder report.

How to Use the TruthFinder Website

To begin, you’ll first enter the person’s first name, last name, and state on the TruthFinder home page.

After a few minutes watching various loading bars, you’ll be taken to a page that shows matching results, which displays the person’s age, current/previous locations, and possible relatives. If there’s more than one name that matches your search, they can be sorted by best match, first or last name, age, or location.

From there, you’ll click the ‘Access Report’ button. Again, you’ll wait several more minutes as everything loads. Afterward, you’ll be able to select the person’s possible relatives and order reports for them as well.

Next, you’ll encounter a big, bold image that claims: “Individual’s report may contain graphic content that we can only reveal in a secure session.” In our opinion, after reviewing many of the most popular people search websites (more shortly), this is only intended to grab your attention, and doesn’t necessarily reflect what you’ll actually find in the report.

Screenshot of TruthFinder's WebsitePeople search websites like TruthFinder are notorious for using tactics like this to draw you in. Don’t be fooled though, because it’s unlikely you’ll uncover anything “graphic.”

Finally, you’ll arrive at the pricing page, which is what we’ll discuss next.

TruthFinder’s Subscription Plans

Until you hand over your credit card information, you won’t be able to access TruthFinder’s reports, even though you may have waited 5 minutes or more just to get to this point.

To this extent, you’ll be able to choose from one of the following subscription plans, which provides access to unlimited reports:

  • 5-day trial: $1 – But when your trial ends, you’ll automatically be billed $16.71 for a monthly membership, unless you cancel beforehand.
  • 1 Month: $16.71 per month
  • 3 Months: $15.71 per month ($47.13 total)
  • 6 Months: $13.71 per month ($82.26 total)

Important note: Although you’ll be able to order an unlimited number of reports through these plans, the reports are considered ‘Standard’. In order to obtain access to a Premium report (here’s a sample report), you’ll have to pay an additional $14.95 per report. This will give you access to:

  • Civil Judgments
  • Corporate Affiliations
  • Watercraft Owned
  • UCC Filings
  • Properties Owned
  • Voter Registration
  • Old Phone Numbers
  • Email Addresses
  • Tax Liens
  • Professional Licenses
  • Hunting/Fishing Permits
  • Weapons Permits
  • Foreclosures
  • Criminal Records (Third Data Source)
  • Aircraft Owned
  • Neighbors
  • Business Associates
  • And Much More!

In order to cancel your trial or your subscription plan, you’ll need to call TruthFinder customer service at (800) 699-8081.

How does everything we’ve discussed so far compare to other people search websites?

Is TruthFinder Better Than Other Background Check Websites?

While there’s no denying that the TruthFinder website is attractive (despite the fact that it can take 5 minutes or more just to land on the ordering page), the reality is that they don’t seem to be much different than any of the other people search companies we’ve reviewed in the past. This includes Instant Checkmate, SpyFly, BeenVerified, and more.

In other words, their prices are essentially the same—and since they’re all pulling the same data from the same sources—the information their reports contain probably won’t be meaningfully different. But what are actual customers saying?

Here on HighYa, these companies have an average rating of 1.5 stars (read: stay away). Why does everyone seem so upset?

Overwhelmingly, the biggest complaint is that most of the information in these reports can be found through a quick online search, without pay a dime. On top of this, many customers complain that the information in these reports is out of date, altogether incorrect, or just plain missing. And this seems to apply whether they’re ordering a Standard or Premium report.

Ultimately, because of the high prices associated with these reports, many customers claim to have felt scammed.

Other common complaints include poor customer service and difficulty cancel trials/monthly subscriptions. Is this what other consumers are saying about TruthFinder?

Is TruthFinder Pleasing Their Customers?

TruthFinder was a fairly new company at the time of our research, having been founded in March 2015. As such, there wasn’t a whole lot of online customer feedback.

However, we did find one customer review on Ripoff Report, which referenced website problems and disappointing information in reports. There was also a single complaint on Outscam.com, which also referenced outdated/incorrect information, sneaky subscriptions, and that most of the same information could be found online for free.

From a company perspective, TruthFinder had an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 3 closed complaints (as of 12/10/15). Unlike elsewhere, these appeared to reference difficulty removing personal information from the company’s database.

We know you’re anxious to figure out if TruthFinder is your best option for obtaining public records, so let’s bring it home.

Try Searching Online Before Using TruthFinder

In “The Problems with People Search Websites,” we provided an in-depth look at the people search industry, common customer complaints, and alternatives if you’re looking to save money but still gain access to much of the same information. So if you haven’t read this article yet, we’d suggest doing so at your earliest convenience.

Sure, TruthFinder claims to “scour the deep web to uncover information that normal search engines can't find,” but in reality, we think this is just marketing hype intended to dissuade you from looking elsewhere.

Granted, since all of this is pulled from the same sources, this doesn’t mean the information you’ll find on your own will be any more accurate than going through TruthFinder. But at least you’ll be able to hang on to more of your hard-earned money, which is what HighYa’s all about.

In our opinion, we’d recommend you start there and avoid people search websites like TruthFinder altogether. After all, it doesn’t matter which company you’re thinking about, they all come with bottom-of-the-barrel online reputations.

Did you give TruthFinder a try? Tell us all about your experience by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 1350 TruthFinder Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 799 4 star: 154 3 star: 55 2 star: 48 1 star:  294
Bottom Line: 74% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1350
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Information search and dark web

    • Missouri,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am excited that I have someone looking out for my best interest in a day and age where Dark Web crawlers are everywhere on every website you visit. Great way to stay safe. I would suggest you add your family members as well, so you can all be protected.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Easy to find

    • Des Moines, IA,
    • May 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently started using TruthFinder for business and personal use. I find it very easy to find the information I'm seeking. I also find it to be accurate on mortgage history and automobiles. The listing of relationships is extremely helpful to confirm the person I am gathering information about is accurate. I would like to see more details regarding legal matters such as divorce filings and other court actions.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • My background check

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • May 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am really impressed with the information they found on me at TruthFinder. They didn't have a present address and there were no listings for places I worked. But, for the most part, it was very accurate. They did list a lot of people I didn't know as friends/family. I have tried several of these kinds of sites and this is by far the best one I have ever seen. The price is outstanding, I don't like the fact that they automatically renew your membership every month and you have to call to cancel, but this price is wonderful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • East Africa, Uganda,
    • May 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After I filed my complaint I have since received a 100% refund of the money I paid. I should give TruthFinder another try.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Jan 12, 2019

    Paid for report that has not been delivered

    Recently, about four days ago, I requested for a search report from TruthFinder for an old friend, penpal to be exact.

    I paid for the fee asked for. The last I remember was advice that my report was ready, and then there was a prompting to "Read Report."

    When I clicked the prompt "Read Report," the screen went blank and I have not been able to get through to TruthFinder since. I have tried to call them severally but all I get is a machine responder that advises you get help from "help@truthfinder.com." I have sent a mail since, but haven't had the courtesy of a reply yet. Have I been conned? I paid about $27 for the report; this amount is renewable every month. I do not intend to do any further searches. What do you advise?

    • Jan 14, 2019

      TruthFinder Inc.

      Hi Richard,

      I’ve tried to look up your account, but nothing is associated with your name, so it’s likely that your membership was not processed. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Shady sales tactic

    • California,
    • May 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They are not at all up-front about the cost of the reports in the beginning, then they incrementally get you to invest some energy into it while you may be thinking it is free or at least you do not know the cost until you have sat through quite a large ARTIFICIAL delay where they keep telling you they're searching for something or checking something and making you sit there for a minute or two. This is really so that when they ask you for $35 you will be more likely to pay, having already proved it was at least worth your ~20 minutes of filling in forms and waiting, although you did this a little bit at a time.

    This shows that they have little respect for their potential customers and, while I have no comment about whether the reports are useful and accurate (they might be, I didn't pay them!), I will say that it seems to me they are happy to squeeze a bit more profit out of their clients by using manipulative psychological sales tactics which are the antithesis of transparency.

    I HATE being treated that way, so I didn't pay them anything. I was only going to look at my own report out of curiosity anyway, and I think I would have been willing to pay $35 for that if they had just said so up front. The long FAKE DELAYS they made me sit through before telling me it was $35 just sets off my BS alarm.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 13, 2019

      TruthFinder Inc.

      We apologize that you are not happy with our website. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 if you have any further questions or concerns.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Good work

    • Davenport, FL,
    • Apr 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was most pleased with the information I received, it was more than I had expected. Very accurate and on point. Thank you very much for your hard work, it really pays off. I was hoping to find information regarding my son's father and who some of his relatives may be so that he can connect with his siblings he's never met. I was given a lot to go on.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Fred Cato, Jr. (myself)

    • Arizona,
    • Apr 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The experience was great, but I didn't like the idea of adding to my name. My name is Fred Cato, Jr. and not, and was never Fred A Cato, Fred G Cato, or Fred C Cato. Don't understand why all these middle initials are added to my name. Seems like a scam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic

    • Texas,
    • Apr 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's a fantastic service and helps you fix and comment on what is wrong. I just love it! It's almost precise in some areas, but again, it allows you to fix mistakes. Thank you TruthFinder, I'd recommend it to anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    You guys are the greatest

    • New York,
    • Apr 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I've run searches, the reports came back with more info than I thought possible - much more than other services I've tried. And you find some people the other services "couldn't."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 17, 2019

      TruthFinder Inc.

      Hi Peter,

      Thank you so much for your high rating and positive review! We're happy that you found what you were looking for.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam!

    • Valparaiso, IN,
    • Apr 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Can't believe I actually trusted this, but I did. Basically lost $30. The information was terrible, important info missing, didn't even have my place of employment for the last 40 years, incorrect info. Told me I used my son's name as an alias, no. Halfway through told me I won't believe what they found, which was nothing. They have the recurring monthly charge notice hidden somewhere, I didn't see it. And then they bill you on top of that to view your report. Just plain ripped off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 17, 2019

      TruthFinder Inc.

      Hi John,

      We're very sorry that you were unhappy with your report. We assemble pre-existing public records into one easy-to-read report — we don't create or edit the data, we just compile the information that we are provided. Unfortunately, due to clerical errors and slow processing times, some of the information we receive may contain inaccuracies. We'd be happy to process a full refund for you, but we are unable to locate your account with the information provided. Please call our Customer Care department on 1-800-699-8081 or send us an email at help@truthfinder.com to get that refund processed for you.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    They lied to me for $27! And may do the same to you!

    • Florida,
    • Apr 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruthFinder.com, the reason I paid you $27 was that you said I "WILL FIND" in the report criminal records. You didn't say "YOU MAY FIND" criminal records! And when I opened the stupid and inaccurate report of yours, I DIDN'T FIND ANY CRIMINAL RECORDS. I hope you publicly post this, if you won't I will make sure to post this today. Guys, they are lying to you for money, please don't believe them!

    The only reason I paid them $27 was because they said something that made me wonder, what kind of criminal records I have. You did not deliver and I need a refund immediately.

    Not to mention that all phone numbers were WRONG, Facebook picture WRONG, Facebook name WRONG, you said I don't have a professional license, WRONG, addresses WRONG, and you included people that have similar names. How not professional!

    Guys, I do not recommend this to anyone. Literally lied to me to get my $27. I am posting it on all relevant platforms.

    Yours, Joel A, a local guide on Google Maps.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 17, 2019

      TruthFinder Inc.

      Hi Joel,

      We're very sorry that you were unhappy with the information contained in your report. We compile public records into one easy-to-read report. We don't create or modify existing public records. Unfortunately, some of the information that we are provided may be inaccurate. We apologize again and have refunded your account in full.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support


Showing 1-11 of 1350

Write a Review for TruthFinder!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review