About TruthFinder

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Dec 17, 2015

TruthFinder is a people search website that allows you to search for anyone in the US and gain instant access to contact information, background checks, criminal records, and more.

In order to provide this information, TruthFinder “pores over hundreds of millions of available public records, social network data, and more” from multiple sources, including county, state, and federal databases.

Then, your results can be accessed from your mobile device, tablet, or computer, while remaining 100% confidential.

There’s no doubt that the information provided by TruthFinder might come in handy, whether you’re looking to find out more about an old friend, a new flame, or your nice-but-creepy neighbor.

But will the price you pay be in line with the information you receive? Are there any important things to keep in mind before handing over your credit card number.

We’ll discuss all of this (and more!) here. To start things off, let’s talk about what a public records company offers.

What Is a People Search Website?

First, public records are simply “documents or pieces of information that are not considered confidential.” This can include records as part of a court proceeding, birth, marriage, death, voter registration, and more.

Due to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), all of these records are publicly​ available to anyone who requests them.

However, the process of obtaining information from multiple sources can be cumbersome (we’ll come back around to this in a moment), so companies like TruthFinder can make it easier to quickly gain access, and then view the results in a single report.

For example, let’s say you wanted to find out (1) if someone was delinquent on their taxes, and (2) if they’re married.

For the first, you’d have to visit the county tax assessor’s office, wait in line, and request the document (usually by filling out some paperwork and paying a small fee). Next, you’d need to visit the courthouse and do the same for any marriage certificates.

Now, imagine you were interested in obtaining all the available public records for an individual. You’d probably spend weeks dealing with all the appropriate governmental agencies, which could be time consuming and expensive.

But when the rubber meets the road, will people search websites like TruthFinder provide a solid value for your money? To answer this, we’ll first take a look at how you can obtain a TruthFinder report.

How to Use the TruthFinder Website

To begin, you’ll first enter the person’s first name, last name, and state on the TruthFinder home page.

After a few minutes watching various loading bars, you’ll be taken to a page that shows matching results, which displays the person’s age, current/previous locations, and possible relatives.

If there’s more than one name that matches your search, they can be sorted by best match, first or last name, age, or location.

From there, you’ll click the ‘Access Report’ button. Again, you’ll wait several more minutes as everything loads. Afterward, you’ll be able to select the person’s possible relatives and order reports for them as well.

Next, you’ll encounter a big, bold image that claims: “Individual’s report may contain graphic content that we can only reveal in a secure session.”

In our opinion, after reviewing many of the most popular people search websites (more shortly), this is only intended to grab your attention and doesn’t necessarily reflect what you’ll actually find in the report.

Screenshot of TruthFinder's WebsitePeople search websites like TruthFinder are notorious for using tactics like this to draw you in. Don’t be fooled though, because it’s unlikely you’ll uncover anything “graphic.”

Finally, you’ll arrive at the pricing page, which is what we’ll discuss next.

TruthFinder’s Subscription Plans

Until you hand over your credit card information, you won’t be able to access TruthFinder’s reports, even though you may have waited 5 minutes or more just to get to this point.

To this extent, you’ll be able to choose from one of the following subscription plans, which provides access to unlimited reports:

  • 5-day trial: $1 – But when your trial ends, you’ll automatically be billed $16.71 for a monthly membership, unless you cancel beforehand.
  • 1 Month: $16.71 per month
  • 3 Months: $15.71 per month ($47.13 total)
  • 6 Months: $13.71 per month ($82.26 total)

Important note: Although you’ll be able to order an unlimited number of reports through these plans, the reports are considered ‘Standard’. In order to obtain access to a Premium report (here’s a sample report), you’ll have to pay an additional $14.95 per report.

This will give you access to:

  • Civil Judgments
  • Corporate Affiliations
  • Watercraft Owned
  • UCC Filings
  • Properties Owned
  • Voter Registration
  • Old Phone Numbers
  • Email Addresses
  • Tax Liens
  • Professional Licenses
  • Hunting/Fishing Permits
  • Weapons Permits
  • Foreclosures
  • Criminal Records (Third Data Source)
  • Aircraft Owned
  • Neighbors
  • Business Associates
  • And Much More!

In order to cancel your trial or your subscription plan, you’ll need to call TruthFinder customer service at (800) 699-8081.

Is TruthFinder Better Than Other Background Check Websites?

While there’s no denying that the TruthFinder website is attractive (despite the fact that it can take 5 minutes or more just to land on the ordering page), the reality is that they don’t seem to be much different than any of the other people search companies we’ve reviewed in the past.

This includes Instant Checkmate, SpyFly, BeenVerified, and more.

In other words, their prices are essentially the same—and since they’re all pulling the same data from the same sources—the information their reports contain probably won’t be meaningfully different. But what are actual customers saying?

Here on HighYa, these companies have an average rating of 2.1 stars (read: stay away). Why does everyone seem so upset?

Overwhelmingly, the biggest complaint is that most of the information in these reports can be found through a quick online search, without pay a dime.

On top of this, many customers complain that the information in these reports is out of date, altogether incorrect, or just plain missing. And this seems to apply whether they’re ordering a Standard or Premium report.

Ultimately, because of the high prices associated with these reports, many customers claim to have felt scammed.

Other common complaints include poor customer service and difficulty cancel trials/monthly subscriptions.

From a company perspective, TruthFinder had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 244 closed complaints (as of 8/10/19).

Final Thoughts: Try Searching Online Before Using TruthFinder

Sure, TruthFinder claims to “scour the deep web to uncover information that normal search engines can't find,” but in reality, we think this is just marketing hype intended to dissuade you from looking elsewhere.

Granted, since all of this is pulled from the same sources, this doesn’t mean the information you’ll find on your own will be any more accurate than going through TruthFinder. But at least you’ll be able to hang on to more of your hard-earned money, which is what HighYa’s all about.

In our opinion, we’d recommend you start there and avoid people search websites like TruthFinder altogether. After all, it doesn’t matter which company you’re thinking about, they all come with bottom-of-the-barrel online reputations.

Lastly, in The Problems with People Search Websites, we provided an in-depth look at the people search industry, common customer complaints, and alternatives if you’re looking to save money but still gain access to much of the same information.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 1372 TruthFinder Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 808 4 star: 153 3 star: 57 2 star: 48 1 star:  306
Bottom Line: 73% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1372
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • TruthFinder

    • Minnesota,
    • Sep 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have had some very serious problems with drug abuse within our family. This includes some of our children, grandchildren, and some more distant relatives as well. We are in our 70's and live on a small rural farm located approximately 45 minutes from our county law enforcement. Some of the people our relatives have as friends and associates are not the best of people. TruthFinder allows us to keep track of some potential threats to our well being!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Easy to use

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found that the interface was extremely easy to use. I recommend it to anyone wanting to do a background check. You will be amazed at what shows up...truly exciting stuff. Very affordable as well. Cannot beat the bang for the buck!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I am in shock!

    • Denton, TX,
    • Sep 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The customer service team is the best. I wish I could remember the young lady that helped me out over the phone. She was awesome, friendly and knew her job well.

    I am shocked at some info I have uncovered. You can never be too safe or trusting these days. With that in mind, I am so glad I signed up. I feel a little safer and so does my family. There are a couple of people that I had a gut instinct about and I didn’t want to judge. TruthFinder confirmed just what I needed to know about these intruders.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful service

    • Oceanside, CA,
    • Sep 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have thoroughly enjoyed reading all about my life and that of my family members. So much information is shared and I feel so wonderful knowing that all of my private info is being watched, so carefully. Thank you to TruthFinder for all of your diligent work on my behalf.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 10, 2019

      Company Response from TruthFinder Inc.

      Hi Carole,

      We’re glad you enjoyed our services! Thank you so much for your pleasant review - we really appreciate it. Please let us know if you ever have any questions by calling our member care team at (800) 699-8081.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Spot on information

    • Oklahoma,
    • Sep 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Had a great first user experience and so far all is working great and I've found information needed for the purpose required to go to TruthFinder. I am happy with the communication and the price is reasonable for what is needed. Thank you for the great experience and others will be happy if they are looking for information on themselves or someone else.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not

    • Petaluma, CA,
    • Aug 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very little information and most is inaccurate. My ex-husband's ex-wives are listed as my children, my siblings, James I have never heard of and addresses I never even visited. My former husband's grandkids are listed wrong, my husband's second wife is listed as my sibling. Lots of names I've never heard of. This simply is not a thorough report at all. No mention of maiden name, where I was born, etc. Nothing! No place of employment. Nothing! I asked about a friend and I was given all the property descriptions of his owner property but little about him. No mother. His father is listed as his wife's father, etc. No information about his death, his marriage, nothing, except descriptions to a detail of his properties.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 27, 2019

      Company Response from TruthFinder Inc.

      We apologize you were unhappy with the information in our reports. Since we rely on third-party data sources, we can only display the information that we were provided, which could potentially include incomplete or inaccurate data. We will reach out to you privately to work out a resolution.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Will steal your money/nearly impossible to remove credit card info

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When you order a SINGLE REPORT, it auto signs you up for A MONTHLY SERVICE FEE.

    They also make it NEXT TO IMPOSSIBLE to remove the card on file! You HAVE to call them to get them to do it. They will play coy and remind you that it is in the fine print.

    I have unknowingly paid this company for over 2 years!

    It auto signs you up in a misleading way. You think you are ordering a one time, one charge report, but it actually signs you up for monthly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 14, 2019

      Company Response from TruthFinder Inc.

      We apologize for any confusion you experienced in regards to our billing system. When a user activates their account, they must provide an electronic signature authorizing TruthFinder to charge their card as described, including for the automatic renewal of their membership. Our Billing Terms are conspicuously explained on this page and in our Terms of Use. Additionally, all of our customers have the ability to look up their order history on the TruthFinder dashboard under My Orders and are sent a confirmation email for any orders placed on the site. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Didn't work and beware of monthly charges

    • California,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Basically, it is a scam. I only used it one time and I could not locate the missing person. I inadvertently checked the box to approve monthly billing. There was no one-time usage. So they billed me for 10 months before I noticed (yes it is my fault). I tried to cancel online and went to Payment to do that but the only option was to affirm the same credit card. So I called. The woman was really nice and eventually, they credited me 3 months.

    You need to go to Membership to cancel the service, not Payment.

    They do not emphasize that you will be paying monthly forever unless you cancel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 14, 2019

      Company Response from TruthFinder Inc.

      We’re sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience with your billing experience. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I found what I was looking for and more

    • California,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a large family, I was blessed as an aunt 12 times. We all live in different cities, states, I tend to worry about my family a lot, definitely my babies, and I really don't like that they're so far away and I can't see who lives or is around my siblings' homes. So when I signed up for TruthFinder my main reason was to do lots of address searches to see if there were any creeps around my babies. I actually was so relieved to find out there weren't any around my family's homes. Thank the good Lord.

    Well, I took my search elsewhere and wanted to know a little about my father who left when I was only 3 years old. While doing my search I found out my donor was convicted of manslaughter and he wasn't someone I would ever want to meet or be around. So TruthFinder gave me the answers I was looking for plus more. I love TruthFinder and their fully informed reports.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Lies on this site

    • Oregon,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Right under my name and my age are criminal conduct statements that never happened and I’m going to call them today and try to resolve it. Just cancel immediately your membership if you find anything inconsistent or egregious!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 14, 2019

      Company Response from TruthFinder Inc.

      We’re sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience with the information found in our reports. Since we rely on third-party data sources, we can only display the information that we were provided, which could potentially include incomplete or inaccurate data. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    False information

    • Tennessee,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ran myself, I have never been arrested, it said that I had. It also said that I was on a Government watch list, there is no reason for that to be. Three are 6 other people in my area with my first and last name. After this, I would not pay you for information on myself that I knew to be untrue. Such untruths will not be tolerated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 7, 2019

      Company Response from TruthFinder Inc.

      Thank you for your honest feedback. While we strive to always provide accurate information, there is a chance that individuals with the same name and basic information could match up and show incorrectly on the report. We apologize for any frustrations you may have experienced. Feel free to call us at 1-800-699-8081 for any other questions or concerns.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support


Showing 1-11 of 1372

Write a Review for TruthFinder!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review