About TruthFinder

By HighYa Staff

TruthFinder is a people search website that allows you to search for anyone in the US and gain instant access to contact information, background checks, criminal records, and more.

In order to provide this information, TruthFinder “pores over hundreds of millions of available public records, social network data, and more” from multiple sources, including county, state, and federal databases. Then, your results can be accessed from your mobile device, tablet, or computer, while remaining 100% confidential.

There’s no doubt that the information provided by TruthFinder might come in handy, whether you’re looking to find out more about an old friend, a new flame, or your nice-but-creepy neighbor. But will the price you pay be in line with the information you receive? Are there any important things to keep in mind before handing over your credit card number.

We’ll discuss all of this (and more!) here. To start things off, let’s talk about what a public records company offers.

What Is a People Search Website?

First, public records are simply “documents or pieces of information that are not considered confidential.” This can include records as part of a court proceeding, birth, marriage, death, voter registration, and more.

Due to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), all of these records are publicly​ available to anyone who requests them. However, the process of obtaining information from multiple sources can be cumbersome (we’ll come back around to this in a moment), so companies like TruthFinder can make it easier to quickly gain access, and then view the results in a single report.

For example, let’s say you wanted to find out 1) if someone was delinquent on their taxes, and 2) if they’re married. For the first, you’d have to visit the county tax assessor’s office, wait in line, and request the document (usually by filling out some paperwork and paying a small fee). Next, you’d need to visit the courthouse and do the same for any marriage certificates.

Now, imagine you were interested in obtaining all the available public records for an individual. You’d probably spend weeks dealing with all the appropriate governmental agencies, which could be time consuming and expensive.

But when the rubber meets the road, will people search websites like TruthFinder provide a solid value for your money? To answer this, we’ll first take a look at how you can obtain a TruthFinder report.

How to Use the TruthFinder Website

To begin, you’ll first enter the person’s first name, last name, and state on the TruthFinder home page.

After a few minutes watching various loading bars, you’ll be taken to a page that shows matching results, which displays the person’s age, current/previous locations, and possible relatives. If there’s more than one name that matches your search, they can be sorted by best match, first or last name, age, or location.

From there, you’ll click the ‘Access Report’ button. Again, you’ll wait several more minutes as everything loads. Afterward, you’ll be able to select the person’s possible relatives and order reports for them as well.

Next, you’ll encounter a big, bold image that claims: “Individual’s report may contain graphic content that we can only reveal in a secure session.” In our opinion, after reviewing many of the most popular people search websites (more shortly), this is only intended to grab your attention, and doesn’t necessarily reflect what you’ll actually find in the report.

Screenshot of TruthFinder's WebsitePeople search websites like TruthFinder are notorious for using tactics like this to draw you in. Don’t be fooled though, because it’s unlikely you’ll uncover anything “graphic.”

Finally, you’ll arrive at the pricing page, which is what we’ll discuss next.

TruthFinder’s Subscription Plans

Until you hand over your credit card information, you won’t be able to access TruthFinder’s reports, even though you may have waited 5 minutes or more just to get to this point.

To this extent, you’ll be able to choose from one of the following subscription plans, which provides access to unlimited reports:

  • 5-day trial: $1 – But when your trial ends, you’ll automatically be billed $16.71 for a monthly membership, unless you cancel beforehand.
  • 1 Month: $16.71 per month
  • 3 Months: $15.71 per month ($47.13 total)
  • 6 Months: $13.71 per month ($82.26 total)

Important note: Although you’ll be able to order an unlimited number of reports through these plans, the reports are considered ‘Standard’. In order to obtain access to a Premium report (here’s a sample report), you’ll have to pay an additional $14.95 per report. This will give you access to:

  • Civil Judgments
  • Corporate Affiliations
  • Watercraft Owned
  • UCC Filings
  • Properties Owned
  • Voter Registration
  • Old Phone Numbers
  • Email Addresses
  • Tax Liens
  • Professional Licenses
  • Hunting/Fishing Permits
  • Weapons Permits
  • Foreclosures
  • Criminal Records (Third Data Source)
  • Aircraft Owned
  • Neighbors
  • Business Associates
  • And Much More!

In order to cancel your trial or your subscription plan, you’ll need to call TruthFinder customer service at (800) 699-8081.

How does everything we’ve discussed so far compare to other people search websites?

Is TruthFinder Better Than Other Background Check Websites?

While there’s no denying that the TruthFinder website is attractive (despite the fact that it can take 5 minutes or more just to land on the ordering page), the reality is that they don’t seem to be much different than any of the other people search companies we’ve reviewed in the past. This includes Instant Checkmate, SpyFly, BeenVerified, and more.

In other words, their prices are essentially the same—and since they’re all pulling the same data from the same sources—the information their reports contain probably won’t be meaningfully different. But what are actual customers saying?

Here on HighYa, these companies have an average rating of 1.5 stars (read: stay away). Why does everyone seem so upset?

Overwhelmingly, the biggest complaint is that most of the information in these reports can be found through a quick online search, without pay a dime. On top of this, many customers complain that the information in these reports is out of date, altogether incorrect, or just plain missing. And this seems to apply whether they’re ordering a Standard or Premium report.

Ultimately, because of the high prices associated with these reports, many customers claim to have felt scammed.

Other common complaints include poor customer service and difficulty cancel trials/monthly subscriptions. Is this what other consumers are saying about TruthFinder?

Is TruthFinder Pleasing Their Customers?

TruthFinder was a fairly new company at the time of our research, having been founded in March 2015. As such, there wasn’t a whole lot of online customer feedback.

However, we did find one customer review on Ripoff Report, which referenced website problems and disappointing information in reports. There was also a single complaint on Outscam.com, which also referenced outdated/incorrect information, sneaky subscriptions, and that most of the same information could be found online for free.

From a company perspective, TruthFinder had an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 3 closed complaints (as of 12/10/15). Unlike elsewhere, these appeared to reference difficulty removing personal information from the company’s database.

We know you’re anxious to figure out if TruthFinder is your best option for obtaining public records, so let’s bring it home.

Try Searching Online Before Using TruthFinder

In “The Problems with People Search Websites,” we provided an in-depth look at the people search industry, common customer complaints, and alternatives if you’re looking to save money but still gain access to much of the same information. So if you haven’t read this article yet, we’d suggest doing so at your earliest convenience.

Sure, TruthFinder claims to “scour the deep web to uncover information that normal search engines can't find,” but in reality, we think this is just marketing hype intended to dissuade you from looking elsewhere.

Granted, since all of this is pulled from the same sources, this doesn’t mean the information you’ll find on your own will be any more accurate than going through TruthFinder. But at least you’ll be able to hang on to more of your hard-earned money, which is what HighYa’s all about.

In our opinion, we’d recommend you start there and avoid people search websites like TruthFinder altogether. After all, it doesn’t matter which company you’re thinking about, they all come with bottom-of-the-barrel online reputations.

Did you give TruthFinder a try? Tell us all about your experience by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

1336 Consumer Reviews for TruthFinder

Average Consumer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 791 4 star: 152 3 star: 55 2 star: 47 1 star:  291
Bottom Line: 74% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1336
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Ripoff

    • Dry Prong, LA,
    • Mar 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first, you say this is free, then you find the reports and of course you want to look. Then comes filling in the credit card information and it was $3.99. When I looked at my email, it was $27.99. Please do not charge me any more charges because I will not be using this site and I will warn everyone on Facebook about your deceiving me! Shame on you. Go to church today! This is what it says off to the side of this. (We take fake and spam reviews very seriously. We have a zero-tolerance policy on fake reviews.) Well, you spammed me!

    Date: 03/03/2019

    Item: Unlimited PDF Downloads

    Quantity: 1

    Total: $3.99

    Account Last 4:

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Excellent, timely, factual

    • East Texas,
    • Mar 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruthFinder has been excellent (5 stars) in my search for relatives/ancestry as well as a source of important info on people that I questioned their integrity. The TruthFinder helpline was extremely helpful to me too. The operator was respectful, knowledgeable, and timely. I use TruthFinder nearly every day. It's worth the cost to have peace of mind on people. I've found friends from old high school friends and note that they have passed. It's shocking but gives me closure.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    BAD

    • Michigan,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Fake, fake, fake! This site gives fake information to take your money, DO NOT use this website EVER!

    "FINAL STEP: ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT AND UNLOCK YOUR REPORT!" is a SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 27, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Ali. We apologize that you weren't happy with our website. TruthFinder works by aggregating existing public records from local, state, and federal databases by compiling them into one easy-to-read report. You do need to a membership to access TruthFinder, but once you have one, you have access to unlimited, real reports. To learn more about how public records and TruthFinder works, please check out the following article available on our website: https://www.truthfinder.com/public-records/ Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Works great for me!

    • Texas,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everyone I needed to find, I did with TruthFinder! I have had no problems so far. They provide more than enough information and it is not a scam at all and is worth the monthly payment.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 27, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Dee! That's great news! We're so happy you found what you were looking for. Thank you for the positive review and high rating.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Athens, AL,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruthFinder provided erroneous information about an individual that was slanderous. The person is trying to get it fixed. Then TruthFinder automatically renewed my subscription without my approval. SCAM!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 18, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      We apologize for any confusion you experienced in regards to our billing system. When a user activates their account, they must provide an electronic signature authorizing TruthFinder to charge their card as described, including for the automatic renewal of their membership. Our Billing Terms are conspicuously explained on this page and in our Terms of Use. Additionally, all of our customers have the ability to lookup their order history on the TruthFinder dashboard under My Orders and are sent a confirmation email for any orders placed on the site. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    • Feb 23, 2019

      Pamela K.

      I completely regret going to the TruthFinder website. I thought I was getting a trial membership but after looking at a few reports I realized there were a lot of inaccuracies and it was very outdated - so I tried to cancel immediately. But I was charged an immediate fee, which was not refunded. Don't buy this. It's so not worth it.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    False information

    • Texas,
    • Feb 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am VERY dissatisfied with TruthFinder. For one, it has so many false reports on my background check like failure to appear in court, failure to pay for a ticket, possession of a controlled substance, driving while intoxicated, larceny, burglary, unlawfully curing a weapon. FALSE REPORTS like this are dangerous and could RUIN a person's life. I have only had two speeding tickets in over 25 years and you have all these criminal activities that were supposed to be me that it’s not me. I’m not sure WHERE TruthFinder comes up with their information, but they need to recheck it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 18, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      We’re sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience with the information found in our reports. Since we rely on third-party data sources, we can only display the information that we were provided, which could potentially include incomplete or inaccurate data. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Said I had a criminal record but I've never been in trouble

    • Indiana,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I came on TruthFinder to do a background check on myself. I went through all the steps and as it was getting my report ready it said "has Fred Clark any criminal records," I pushed no, it came on and said "you will be surprised, he does have a criminal record." I don't know how, I've never been in trouble with the law. I can't afford to pay the subscription so I'll never know what it was and it's got me worried.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 18, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      We’re sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience with the information found in our reports. Since we rely on third-party data sources, we can only display the information that we were provided, which could potentially include incomplete or inaccurate data. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Accuracy

    • Texas,
    • Feb 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Some of the information was incorrect and I was unable to retrieve what I was looking for. Needless to say, I was only partially satisfied and do not feel I got what I paid for. I would not recommend this site to anyone and would not pay for it again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 14, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      We’re sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience with the information found in our reports. Since we rely on third-party data sources, we can only display the information that we were provided, which could potentially include incomplete or inaccurate data. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Nifty nifty

    • Kennett, MO,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very easy to use and unlike some other sites once you pay it doesn't make your search smaller. I have sites similar lie to me, but this one is great. I've been looking up everyone I can think of and I have even found long lost friends from childhood. Wonderful. I would definitely recommend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 14, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Thank you for your positive review and high rating. We really appreciate your feedback, and we’re so happy to hear that our service helped you find what you were looking for. If you ever have a question or need help with our website, you can reach our US-based member care team at (800) 699-8081.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Easy to recommend changes

    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    While it was easy to sign up, easy to comment on changes that needed to be made, and it seemed to be pretty thorough, I don't like the feature that shows any and all possible criminal offenses as this is upsetting. If the date of birth doesn't match and city/state of residences doesn't match, age doesn't match, then it shouldn't show up. It's unnecessary.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 28, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      We’re so happy to hear that our service helped you find what you were looking for. Thank you for the positive feedback and high rating! If you ever have a question or need help with our website, our US-based member care team can be reached at (800) 699-8081.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    It's fake

    • Florida,
    • Jan 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased service from this company. Surprisingly after I paid the credit card, it logged me out. I decided to contact them by email and phone, they did not answer, so I wouldn't recommend this company to anybody.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 28, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      We’re sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience with our website. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1336

Write a Review for TruthFinder!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review