About TruthFinder

By HighYa Staff

TruthFinder is a people search website that allows you to search for anyone in the US and gain instant access to contact information, background checks, criminal records, and more.

In order to provide this information, TruthFinder “pores over hundreds of millions of available public records, social network data, and more” from multiple sources, including county, state, and federal databases. Then, your results can be accessed from your mobile device, tablet, or computer, while remaining 100% confidential.

There’s no doubt that the information provided by TruthFinder might come in handy, whether you’re looking to find out more about an old friend, a new flame, or your nice-but-creepy neighbor. But will the price you pay be in line with the information you receive? Are there any important things to keep in mind before handing over your credit card number.

We’ll discuss all of this (and more!) here. To start things off, let’s talk about what a public records company offers.

What Is a People Search Website?

First, public records are simply “documents or pieces of information that are not considered confidential.” This can include records as part of a court proceeding, birth, marriage, death, voter registration, and more.

Due to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), all of these records are publicly​ available to anyone who requests them. However, the process of obtaining information from multiple sources can be cumbersome (we’ll come back around to this in a moment), so companies like TruthFinder can make it easier to quickly gain access, and then view the results in a single report.

For example, let’s say you wanted to find out 1) if someone was delinquent on their taxes, and 2) if they’re married. For the first, you’d have to visit the county tax assessor’s office, wait in line, and request the document (usually by filling out some paperwork and paying a small fee). Next, you’d need to visit the courthouse and do the same for any marriage certificates.

Now, imagine you were interested in obtaining all the available public records for an individual. You’d probably spend weeks dealing with all the appropriate governmental agencies, which could be time consuming and expensive.

But when the rubber meets the road, will people search websites like TruthFinder provide a solid value for your money? To answer this, we’ll first take a look at how you can obtain a TruthFinder report.

How to Use the TruthFinder Website

To begin, you’ll first enter the person’s first name, last name, and state on the TruthFinder home page.

After a few minutes watching various loading bars, you’ll be taken to a page that shows matching results, which displays the person’s age, current/previous locations, and possible relatives. If there’s more than one name that matches your search, they can be sorted by best match, first or last name, age, or location.

From there, you’ll click the ‘Access Report’ button. Again, you’ll wait several more minutes as everything loads. Afterward, you’ll be able to select the person’s possible relatives and order reports for them as well.

Next, you’ll encounter a big, bold image that claims: “Individual’s report may contain graphic content that we can only reveal in a secure session.” In our opinion, after reviewing many of the most popular people search websites (more shortly), this is only intended to grab your attention, and doesn’t necessarily reflect what you’ll actually find in the report.

Screenshot of TruthFinder's WebsitePeople search websites like TruthFinder are notorious for using tactics like this to draw you in. Don’t be fooled though, because it’s unlikely you’ll uncover anything “graphic.”

Finally, you’ll arrive at the pricing page, which is what we’ll discuss next.

TruthFinder’s Subscription Plans

Until you hand over your credit card information, you won’t be able to access TruthFinder’s reports, even though you may have waited 5 minutes or more just to get to this point.

To this extent, you’ll be able to choose from one of the following subscription plans, which provides access to unlimited reports:

  • 5-day trial: $1 – But when your trial ends, you’ll automatically be billed $16.71 for a monthly membership, unless you cancel beforehand.
  • 1 Month: $16.71 per month
  • 3 Months: $15.71 per month ($47.13 total)
  • 6 Months: $13.71 per month ($82.26 total)

Important note: Although you’ll be able to order an unlimited number of reports through these plans, the reports are considered ‘Standard’. In order to obtain access to a Premium report (here’s a sample report), you’ll have to pay an additional $14.95 per report. This will give you access to:

  • Civil Judgments
  • Corporate Affiliations
  • Watercraft Owned
  • UCC Filings
  • Properties Owned
  • Voter Registration
  • Old Phone Numbers
  • Email Addresses
  • Tax Liens
  • Professional Licenses
  • Hunting/Fishing Permits
  • Weapons Permits
  • Foreclosures
  • Criminal Records (Third Data Source)
  • Aircraft Owned
  • Neighbors
  • Business Associates
  • And Much More!

In order to cancel your trial or your subscription plan, you’ll need to call TruthFinder customer service at (800) 699-8081.

How does everything we’ve discussed so far compare to other people search websites?

Is TruthFinder Better Than Other Background Check Websites?

While there’s no denying that the TruthFinder website is attractive (despite the fact that it can take 5 minutes or more just to land on the ordering page), the reality is that they don’t seem to be much different than any of the other people search companies we’ve reviewed in the past. This includes Instant Checkmate, SpyFly, BeenVerified, and more.

In other words, their prices are essentially the same—and since they’re all pulling the same data from the same sources—the information their reports contain probably won’t be meaningfully different. But what are actual customers saying?

Here on HighYa, these companies have an average rating of 1.5 stars (read: stay away). Why does everyone seem so upset?

Overwhelmingly, the biggest complaint is that most of the information in these reports can be found through a quick online search, without pay a dime. On top of this, many customers complain that the information in these reports is out of date, altogether incorrect, or just plain missing. And this seems to apply whether they’re ordering a Standard or Premium report.

Ultimately, because of the high prices associated with these reports, many customers claim to have felt scammed.

Other common complaints include poor customer service and difficulty cancel trials/monthly subscriptions. Is this what other consumers are saying about TruthFinder?

Is TruthFinder Pleasing Their Customers?

TruthFinder was a fairly new company at the time of our research, having been founded in March 2015. As such, there wasn’t a whole lot of online customer feedback.

However, we did find one customer review on Ripoff Report, which referenced website problems and disappointing information in reports. There was also a single complaint on Outscam.com, which also referenced outdated/incorrect information, sneaky subscriptions, and that most of the same information could be found online for free.

From a company perspective, TruthFinder had an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 3 closed complaints (as of 12/10/15). Unlike elsewhere, these appeared to reference difficulty removing personal information from the company’s database.

We know you’re anxious to figure out if TruthFinder is your best option for obtaining public records, so let’s bring it home.

Try Searching Online Before Using TruthFinder

In “The Problems with People Search Websites,” we provided an in-depth look at the people search industry, common customer complaints, and alternatives if you’re looking to save money but still gain access to much of the same information. So if you haven’t read this article yet, we’d suggest doing so at your earliest convenience.

Sure, TruthFinder claims to “scour the deep web to uncover information that normal search engines can't find,” but in reality, we think this is just marketing hype intended to dissuade you from looking elsewhere.

Granted, since all of this is pulled from the same sources, this doesn’t mean the information you’ll find on your own will be any more accurate than going through TruthFinder. But at least you’ll be able to hang on to more of your hard-earned money, which is what HighYa’s all about.

In our opinion, we’d recommend you start there and avoid people search websites like TruthFinder altogether. After all, it doesn’t matter which company you’re thinking about, they all come with bottom-of-the-barrel online reputations.

Did you give TruthFinder a try? Tell us all about your experience by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 1345 TruthFinder Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 795 4 star: 153 3 star: 55 2 star: 48 1 star:  294
Bottom Line: 73% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1345
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 2 out 69 people found this review helpful

    TruthFinder: Top of the people finder heap

    I was very pleased with TruthFinder. I signed up for their Unlimited Standards Report 1 month of unlimited searches for a one time fee of $26.78 USD. During that month, July 2016, I was able to check anytime 24/7 using only first name, last name and the state to locate over a hundred past friends, past girl friends, past school mates, relatives and their families, current and past neighbors, current and past church and business acquaintances, current and former coworkers, and most interesting for me were my own records with previous addresses back to 1982. Results include names of family members or room mates to help narrow your search. It only took 5 to 10 seconds to bring up most results on my home WiFi connection using my Apple iPad. I plan to use TruthFinder again but next time I want to sign up for the 3 month or 6 month plan to save money and extend my search period. I have never used another people finder site so I cannot compare any of them with TruthFinder. But I was very happy with all my returns from TruthFinder and can't think of a good enough reason to switch to another site.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 23, 2017

      Phil Conners

      What is wrong with you? I hope you find your ex-girlfriends in hell.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 22 people found this review helpful

    He's married

    • Chantilly, VA,
    • Jan 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After all our ups and downs the past year, I thought all our hardest drama was behind us. But then I found his family's social media accounts and saw a picture of him and a woman. Then later, a post that said: "MARRIED in 2012" and more recent pictures from just last month and this past summer. He's always been secretive, but I had no idea it was this bad.

    Thank you for saving me time and more heartache TruthFinder. Be careful what you look for.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Finest website for getting information about anyone

    I have visited the website, and I was searching for a particular person's information. The site always shows original data and they have all kinds of criminal records and arrest summary, and all offenses are included.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 13 people found this review helpful

    My experience with TruthFinder

    • Oklahoma,
    • Jul 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have found this site to be excellent. My reports are always complete and to my satisfaction. I have found no reason to have to pick, choose or cancel due to unsatisfactory reporting. The agents are very helpful should you have a problem and are very polite. I am so happy to have found TruthFinder and plan on using their services for quite a while. I usually google as much info on the person (where I know they last lived), to know which one to choose, then I let TruthFinder do the heavy work. Thanks guys.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Product

    • Tahoe, California,
    • Jul 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruthFinder was a valuable tool for gathering background information. They also made it really easy to cancel my subscription, which was a concern. Their customer service was outstanding, not pushy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Great information

    • Fort Myers, Florida,
    • Jul 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found TruthFinder to have very accurate information and very easy to navigate. I have tried several other similar types of sites and found at best their information to be very inaccurate and not up to date. The customer service is also fantastic; you get a real person, and they are more than happy to answer any of your questions. All in all, I would highly recommend their service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Fast and very precise.

    • Burbank, CA,
    • Jul 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a single mother neighbor with children on drugs and constantly in trouble because of them. Her son has been in prison for a few years. The rest of the BLOCK is very unhappy that he will be coming home soon. The Burbank police constantly monitor this block because of one bad apple. We like the attention, but do not want the 34-year-old son to come back. Thank you TruthFinder for helping us find out when.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Excellent information for checking on new people in your life

    • Fayetteville, NC,
    • Jul 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have to say that the site is very close to accurate about things. There were a few things that I flagged, such as a person not related to me, and I removed some old addresses, but other than that, the facts were accurate. I got to look at other profiles of the people listed as related, which offered some insight into them as well. I'd say that if you want your own family history or just check on one person, you just met and are considering letting into your life, this is the place to go to. Depending on what you want to know will decide how much it costs. I personally did the one month unlimited, and it's been great for me. The information you'll get is well worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Finding a former high-school classmate.

    I was able to locate a former high school classmate for whom I had been searching for several weeks. The process was able to be completed with little difficulty and in a minimum of time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Web info was excellent, found everything I need, would recommend to others with no problem

    • Perth Amboy, NJ,
    • Jul 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would give a rating of five stars. It is quick, effective, efficient and the information was creditable. Very helpful in finding that person to the exact location. I would tell everyone about TruthFinder and how well the service worked, and that customer service was professional and courteous.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Amazing

    • Thurston County, WA,
    • Jul 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Out of all the background check services, these guys, TurthFinder, are the best and they have the best information out there. Your website is the best design and is easy to read. If I ever have a question or concern about anything, I know I can contact customer support, and these guys are always there to answer them timely.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1345

Write a Review for TruthFinder!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review