About TruthFinder

By HighYa Staff

TruthFinder is a people search website that allows you to search for anyone in the US and gain instant access to contact information, background checks, criminal records, and more.

In order to provide this information, TruthFinder “pores over hundreds of millions of available public records, social network data, and more” from multiple sources, including county, state, and federal databases. Then, your results can be accessed from your mobile device, tablet, or computer, while remaining 100% confidential.

There’s no doubt that the information provided by TruthFinder might come in handy, whether you’re looking to find out more about an old friend, a new flame, or your nice-but-creepy neighbor. But will the price you pay be in line with the information you receive? Are there any important things to keep in mind before handing over your credit card number.

We’ll discuss all of this (and more!) here. To start things off, let’s talk about what a public records company offers.

What Is a People Search Website?

First, public records are simply “documents or pieces of information that are not considered confidential.” This can include records as part of a court proceeding, birth, marriage, death, voter registration, and more.

Due to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), all of these records are publicly​ available to anyone who requests them. However, the process of obtaining information from multiple sources can be cumbersome (we’ll come back around to this in a moment), so companies like TruthFinder can make it easier to quickly gain access, and then view the results in a single report.

For example, let’s say you wanted to find out 1) if someone was delinquent on their taxes, and 2) if they’re married. For the first, you’d have to visit the county tax assessor’s office, wait in line, and request the document (usually by filling out some paperwork and paying a small fee). Next, you’d need to visit the courthouse and do the same for any marriage certificates.

Now, imagine you were interested in obtaining all the available public records for an individual. You’d probably spend weeks dealing with all the appropriate governmental agencies, which could be time consuming and expensive.

But when the rubber meets the road, will people search websites like TruthFinder provide a solid value for your money? To answer this, we’ll first take a look at how you can obtain a TruthFinder report.

How to Use the TruthFinder Website

To begin, you’ll first enter the person’s first name, last name, and state on the TruthFinder home page.

After a few minutes watching various loading bars, you’ll be taken to a page that shows matching results, which displays the person’s age, current/previous locations, and possible relatives. If there’s more than one name that matches your search, they can be sorted by best match, first or last name, age, or location.

From there, you’ll click the ‘Access Report’ button. Again, you’ll wait several more minutes as everything loads. Afterward, you’ll be able to select the person’s possible relatives and order reports for them as well.

Next, you’ll encounter a big, bold image that claims: “Individual’s report may contain graphic content that we can only reveal in a secure session.” In our opinion, after reviewing many of the most popular people search websites (more shortly), this is only intended to grab your attention, and doesn’t necessarily reflect what you’ll actually find in the report.

Screenshot of TruthFinder's WebsitePeople search websites like TruthFinder are notorious for using tactics like this to draw you in. Don’t be fooled though, because it’s unlikely you’ll uncover anything “graphic.”

Finally, you’ll arrive at the pricing page, which is what we’ll discuss next.

TruthFinder’s Subscription Plans

Until you hand over your credit card information, you won’t be able to access TruthFinder’s reports, even though you may have waited 5 minutes or more just to get to this point.

To this extent, you’ll be able to choose from one of the following subscription plans, which provides access to unlimited reports:

  • 5-day trial: $1 – But when your trial ends, you’ll automatically be billed $16.71 for a monthly membership, unless you cancel beforehand.
  • 1 Month: $16.71 per month
  • 3 Months: $15.71 per month ($47.13 total)
  • 6 Months: $13.71 per month ($82.26 total)

Important note: Although you’ll be able to order an unlimited number of reports through these plans, the reports are considered ‘Standard’. In order to obtain access to a Premium report (here’s a sample report), you’ll have to pay an additional $14.95 per report. This will give you access to:

  • Civil Judgments
  • Corporate Affiliations
  • Watercraft Owned
  • UCC Filings
  • Properties Owned
  • Voter Registration
  • Old Phone Numbers
  • Email Addresses
  • Tax Liens
  • Professional Licenses
  • Hunting/Fishing Permits
  • Weapons Permits
  • Foreclosures
  • Criminal Records (Third Data Source)
  • Aircraft Owned
  • Neighbors
  • Business Associates
  • And Much More!

In order to cancel your trial or your subscription plan, you’ll need to call TruthFinder customer service at (800) 699-8081.

How does everything we’ve discussed so far compare to other people search websites?

Is TruthFinder Better Than Other Background Check Websites?

While there’s no denying that the TruthFinder website is attractive (despite the fact that it can take 5 minutes or more just to land on the ordering page), the reality is that they don’t seem to be much different than any of the other people search companies we’ve reviewed in the past. This includes Instant Checkmate, SpyFly, BeenVerified, and more.

In other words, their prices are essentially the same—and since they’re all pulling the same data from the same sources—the information their reports contain probably won’t be meaningfully different. But what are actual customers saying?

Here on HighYa, these companies have an average rating of 1.5 stars (read: stay away). Why does everyone seem so upset?

Overwhelmingly, the biggest complaint is that most of the information in these reports can be found through a quick online search, without pay a dime. On top of this, many customers complain that the information in these reports is out of date, altogether incorrect, or just plain missing. And this seems to apply whether they’re ordering a Standard or Premium report.

Ultimately, because of the high prices associated with these reports, many customers claim to have felt scammed.

Other common complaints include poor customer service and difficulty cancel trials/monthly subscriptions. Is this what other consumers are saying about TruthFinder?

Is TruthFinder Pleasing Their Customers?

TruthFinder was a fairly new company at the time of our research, having been founded in March 2015. As such, there wasn’t a whole lot of online customer feedback.

However, we did find one customer review on Ripoff Report, which referenced website problems and disappointing information in reports. There was also a single complaint on Outscam.com, which also referenced outdated/incorrect information, sneaky subscriptions, and that most of the same information could be found online for free.

From a company perspective, TruthFinder had an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 3 closed complaints (as of 12/10/15). Unlike elsewhere, these appeared to reference difficulty removing personal information from the company’s database.

We know you’re anxious to figure out if TruthFinder is your best option for obtaining public records, so let’s bring it home.

Try Searching Online Before Using TruthFinder

In “The Problems with People Search Websites,” we provided an in-depth look at the people search industry, common customer complaints, and alternatives if you’re looking to save money but still gain access to much of the same information. So if you haven’t read this article yet, we’d suggest doing so at your earliest convenience.

Sure, TruthFinder claims to “scour the deep web to uncover information that normal search engines can't find,” but in reality, we think this is just marketing hype intended to dissuade you from looking elsewhere.

Granted, since all of this is pulled from the same sources, this doesn’t mean the information you’ll find on your own will be any more accurate than going through TruthFinder. But at least you’ll be able to hang on to more of your hard-earned money, which is what HighYa’s all about.

In our opinion, we’d recommend you start there and avoid people search websites like TruthFinder altogether. After all, it doesn’t matter which company you’re thinking about, they all come with bottom-of-the-barrel online reputations.

Did you give TruthFinder a try? Tell us all about your experience by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 1343 TruthFinder Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 794 4 star: 152 3 star: 55 2 star: 48 1 star:  294
Bottom Line: 73% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1343
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 69 out 72 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Buffalo, NY,
    • May 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Truthfinder.com is a complete rip off, don't spend a dime. Their searches find nothing and show bogus results to get you to spend money, but when you do spend money and get the subscription it shows nothing. I was able to call and cancel my subscription relatively easily but they make you call to do so. They have to be stopped before they rip off anyone else. It costs 16.71 per month. You gain nothing, they gain 16.71 per person. Now multiply that by hundreds or thousands and you get the scheme.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 19, 2016

      Mk

      Lucky you. I paid $25.75 for the month and didn't find what I was expecting. Called to cancel and they won't even refund a dime after I politely complained about their service.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 67 out 70 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from TruthFinder

    I tried the FREE version and transferred to a 14 dollar charge and canceled immediately because it NEVER gives you the info you're needing. All info given by them is stuff you can find on your own. Well I canceled immediately and today I looked over my Bank statement and I noticed they charged me again. Please stop and refund me my money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 63 out 63 people found this review helpful

    Scam. Complete waste of time and money

    • Dudley, MA,
    • Mar 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    16.79 to join, automatically billed each month, till you cancel. Each report is $2.00 plus (ex. arrest report, credit report, employment report). I enrolled to check the accuracy of my information. Took 8 minutes for site to gather my reports. Lol. The information I received on myself was laughable, Google had more correct info. The report said I attended college, wish I had but no college. Said I lived in Ohio for 5 years, no never lived or visited Ohio. I called and demanded a refund, they did give me a full refund after telling them I would be calling Attorney General of my state. Do not fall for it, Google it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 62 out 66 people found this review helpful

    I fell for it.

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Feb 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am looking for information on my son's whereabouts and after looking at so many 'people-finders' decided on TruthFinder, they go through a long process making you think they're really finding info for the specific person. They keep warning you that it's sensitive info and shouldn't be used against a person, you even have to agree. It really makes you think they're legitimate. Then they take your money before the final reveal. The information they gave me had nothing to do with my son. Inaccurate, incorrect info. I told them to give me my money back and the reason. Nothing. Haven't heard a thing from them. It's your choice, but don't be surprised if you're taken to the cleaners.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 61 out 64 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    • Virginia,
    • Sep 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got fooled. Don't let it happen to you.

    I paid over $30 to get info that I could have found on my own.

    The website falsely tells you that they are searching government, city, county, police records, etc. The info they give you includes NONE OF THAT! Only gives you a few of the cities that your searched person has lived in. Current address, phone number (out of the phone book for free), known relatives. No background info. No police reports. Nothing that you would be willing to pay for.

    After they show you their "report", which has no information of value, they say that you have to pay more for a "special" report because you only paid for the "standard" report. Prior to this, they will have led you to believe that you are about to get "special" information.

    Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 59 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the effort/money

    • Grand Rapids, MI,
    • May 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used TruthFinder today for the first time. After going through several minutes of data entry and waiting, I discovered that you have to register for a monthly service to get any information at all. Okay, this might be worth while, so I signed up. When I viewed the report I paid for, I discovered that only very minimal information was given and if I wanted more detail (any of any value) I had to pay additional to get an enhanced report!

    Needless to say, I have canceled my monthly obligation but I have no more information than I did before I started!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 55 out 58 people found this review helpful

    What a waste

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Apr 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Over ten years ago when I moved to Georgia, I put my new phone number in my cat's name to save the ATT monthly charge for an unlisted number. Guess what? For a charge, I can now get all of my cats details from Truth Finder if I want to pay their fee.

    What a disappointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 50 people found this review helpful

    Opt out

    • Jan 21, 2016

    Very upset. This company has me all mixed up with another person with my name. I will never trust them again. How do I know the information about others is correct?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 19, 2016

      Mk

      Totally agree. I paid 1 and a half times as much as you and got nothing.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 46 out 50 people found this review helpful

    Truthfinder.com gave out my email address to spammers!

    • Berkeley, CA,
    • Sep 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not give this site your email address!

    I was going to sign-up and pay for search with my credit card, but decided not to at the last minute. Thank God I did not (especially after reading all the bad reviews)! However, I did give them my email address on their website and I used a fake name. Well, the very next day, I was bombarded with spam emails over the next week.

    The way I know Truthfinder.com gave out my email address to numerous companies (without my consent), is because those companies sent emails to my email address with that same fake name I gave to Truthfinder.com! Do NOT input ANY personal info about yourself at this website, whether you end up giving them your credit card info or not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Generic

    • Bakersfield, CA,
    • Feb 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well I just tried the Truthfinder service for $16 per month, and it is truly NOT what I thought. The data they list is so basic, the only thing I did find out on the person I searched is that they had a DUI 20 years ago, and I'm sure if I asked, they would've told me that. I was thinking I would find out more, I don't think it's worth a monthly charge. The service does gather basic information really fast, so I think a small fee, something like $5.99 per search would be more adequate. Now from what I hear, I'm challenged with the hard part of cancelling my subscription, but even so, I did it with a disposable pre-paid card, so they couldn't continue to bill me anyway, because I don't normally keep money on this card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Big scam, will report.

    • South Paris, ME,
    • Jun 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I subscribed to the 5 day trial for 1 dollar. They showed that after the 5 day trial I had to unsubscribe or I would be billed 29.89. So I checked it out for a couple of hours. It didn't do what it said it would. I canceled it and they still took the 29.89 out of my bank.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1343

Write a Review for TruthFinder!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review