Read 1387 TruthFinder Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 123)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 820 4 star: 154 3 star: 58 2 star: 48 1 star:  307
Bottom Line: 73% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1343-1353 of 1387
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Negative

    • By phoenix,
    • USA,
    • Sep 7, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found this site and keyed in all the information needed and was mislead into believing there was actual information to be provided. Once I paid for the account and attempted to open the report there was no information to be provided. So in my opinion this site is operating under false advertisements, a good scam for individuals trying to be secure in their lives. Not recommended to anyone I know.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam, no information is given unless you pay more money.

    • By Dona Tittle,
    • Orange County, CA,
    • Sep 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up and gave TruthFinder my credit card. I did not read the enormous amount of garbage and did clicked on, "I accept".

    I did a test search on myself. I received no information other than a DUI which had been dismissed. NOTHING BUT MY NAME, age, and birthday. I was then offered additional information if I paid another $22.00, no way.

    I did a search on my sister. She was deported to Canada 9 years ago and died 8 years ago. According to TruthFinder she is still alive and no information unless you paid more money. I asked them to cancel and refund my credit card. Representative at TruthFinder said no! I asked to speak to a manager or owner of TruthFinder, he said he didn't know who they were and that management was changing.

    I consider TruthFinder is a fraud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Truthfinder.com gave out my email address to spammers!

    • By Hillary,
    • Berkeley, CA,
    • Sep 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not give this site your email address!

    I was going to sign-up and pay for search with my credit card, but decided not to at the last minute. Thank God I did not (especially after reading all the bad reviews)! However, I did give them my email address on their website and I used a fake name. Well, the very next day, I was bombarded with spam emails over the next week.

    The way I know Truthfinder.com gave out my email address to numerous companies (without my consent), is because those companies sent emails to my email address with that same fake name I gave to Truthfinder.com! Do NOT input ANY personal info about yourself at this website, whether you end up giving them your credit card info or not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointing Results

    I subscribed to a month of TruthFinder so as to investigate what information was available on me and family members as well as a few individuals whose backgrounds I questioned.

    I must say that after reviewing just the initial report on me, family members and then on to a few friends, I quickly came to question the full veracity of the search results.

    For instance, my basic report was very incomplete and rife with inaccurate information and the results were variously similar for some family members and friends. Only a few were rather accurate. When I went on to look at the questionable individuals I was concerned about, I knew the history and information better than the results in most cases.

    What really surprised me was the lack of information provided when I knew there was a substantial online footprint; i.e., outdated email accounts from decades past but no report on current ones; no revelation of Facebook, LinkedIn or professional accounts; large employment gaps.

    Based on my experience with just the basic report, of course I had no desire to pay more for a Premium Report to find out any further information that TruthFinder promised to provide as I questioned its accuracy.

    The bottom line is that my experience with TruthFinder was a disappointing one. I paid for information that I could probably locate freely, and likely more accurately, on my own.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware preauthorized payment plan!

    • By Susan Reid,
    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Aug 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Your description of the lead-in process to obtaining a TruthFinder report reflects my experience. By the time all those "bars" had loaded and I had invested so much time, I figured what the heck, I'll buy it.

    The pricing listed above is WAY OFF. There is no longer a free trial. They only offered a 1-month unlimited subscription ($34.78) or a 3-month (something like $27 per month).

    I bought the 1 month. But I could not see beyond the first screen of any report (in my case I was most interested in the criminal background, I could only see 1 entry when there turned out to be 11). So in order to see the entire page of each section I forked over $4.99 more to get PDF made. I suspect this is deliberate on their part.

    Report itself was ok. Not sure it's worth $40.

    BUT, shortly after the purchase I got a notice from PayPal that I had signed up for a "preauthorized payment plan." I had NOT! I don't know how TruthFinder did that and I immediately wrote them asking to confirm that my subscription will end after 1 month.

    Meanwhile, PayPal had already DEACTIVATED the preauthorized payment plan to protect my account BEFORE I even contacted them to tell them to block TruthFinder from any further access to my account. I can only guess that PayPal has had other run-ins with TruthFinder scamming its customers with this ongoing subscription plan.

    So beware. You may think you're signing up for a limited time subscription and that's the end of it. But be sure to check your payment source to make sure TruthFinder does not add on a preauthorized payment plan.

    I recommend not paying with a credit card. Pay with PayPal, as they are on top of this. If PayPal had not emailed me to alert me to this additional action by TruthFinder, I would not know until they went ahead and paid themselves more money after my 1 month subscription ran out.

    In summary. Report itself is ok. I believe it is not worth $40. There was no free trial offer. Most important, this preauthorized payment plan thing is unethical at best, possibly illegal too. Caveat emptor. Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • RIP OFF

    • By Richard Luh,
    • Buffalo,
    • Aug 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Every thing you do on this site cost money. Every report is $19, every person in your family is $19. Basically I spent 100 bucks within 15 minutes and found out everything I could on Google under my name. What a waste of effort and time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not Accurate, Not Complete

    • By Anonymous,
    • High Desert,
    • Aug 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Waste of money. BeenVerified is a lot better. Truthfinder sucks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TruthFinder: Top of the people finder heap

    I was very pleased with TruthFinder. I signed up for their Unlimited Standards Report 1 month of unlimited searches for a one time fee of $26.78 USD. During that month, July 2016, I was able to check anytime 24/7 using only first name, last name and the state to locate over a hundred past friends, past girl friends, past school mates, relatives and their families, current and past neighbors, current and past church and business acquaintances, current and former coworkers, and most interesting for me were my own records with previous addresses back to 1982. Results include names of family members or room mates to help narrow your search. It only took 5 to 10 seconds to bring up most results on my home WiFi connection using my Apple iPad. I plan to use TruthFinder again but next time I want to sign up for the 3 month or 6 month plan to save money and extend my search period. I have never used another people finder site so I cannot compare any of them with TruthFinder. But I was very happy with all my returns from TruthFinder and can't think of a good enough reason to switch to another site.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away2 from TruthFinder!

    • By Edward,
    • North Carolina,
    • Aug 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruthFinder is a HUGE RIP-OFF. They are THIEVES out to steal your money. The one report that I got was LAME because I didn't opt to allow them to steal an additional $19.95 from me to get the Premium Report, or whatever they call it. Many things they say on their website are lies, such as their claim that they offer 24/7 Member Care. I clicked on that and NOTHING happened. I've read many of the negative reviews here and trust me, they are all absolutely RIGHT. I rated this one star only because there wasn't an option for a lower rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't give them your email address.

    • By Bob,
    • Utah,
    • Aug 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made the mistake of giving Truthfinder one of my email addresses as I was working my way through the questions you need to answer to figure out whether or not you want to use their service.

    At the end of the process, I decided not to spend nearly $30 to find out if their reports are of any value, so I backed out.

    Now, the email address I gave them is being bombarded by spammers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Promises but doesn't deliver!

    • By Christine,
    • Plymouth, MA,
    • Aug 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Today for a little fun I did a search on myself on Truthfinder. I was intrigued by the scintillating promises of finding out all about myself. I wondered just what was out there about me? After reading Truthfinder's website full of promises of full disclosure on my history: aliases, traffic tickets or arrest record if there were one, online profiles, and assurances to receive deep dark information not garnered on any other search engine, I fell for the gambit. I followed the instructions filling out the long preamble info gathering on the web and finally when the "search" was complete, I was faced with a $26.78 monthly subscription fee to receive my "Report". Ok, I bit. Did I get my report? What I got was a bunch of nonsense, listings of dozens of people whose names were similar or close which I was expected to review and remove if not accurate.

    After an hour I was left with two listings of myself, the town I lived in, my age, and a list of possible relatives. If I wanted more information, profiles, arrest records etc it was more money. There were no social profiles identified that were accurate, no birth records, no aliases, emails or other identifying information. The information received was no more than what one would get doing a simple Google search which costs nothing.

    When I called Customer Service to cancel the monthly subscription and to complain their advertising was misleading, the rep's response was that they do not guarantee any information, but that the web site says "you may" get information. I think this is a huge misrepresentation. No truth in advertising at all. My advice for you is don't waste your time or money. Fortunately for me, they did give me a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1343-1353 of 1387

Write a Review for TruthFinder!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
TruthFinder