TruthFinder

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
TruthFinder

Overall Rating

3.8

1402 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Truthfinder is a people search website that compiles public records for convenient background checks for a monthly subscription. However, inaccurate reports mean you might not get what you’re paying for.

Pros

  • New subscribers can sign up for a $1 five-day trial
  • More comprehensive reports than many competitors
  • Simple interface, easy to perform multiple searches
  • You can adjust what information is shown on your account

Cons

  • Information might be inaccurate
  • The site uses “scare tactics” to encouraging subscribing
  • Easy to inadvertently sign up for added fees (like PDF downloads)
  • Some people were billed even after canceling their subscription

Customer Reviews

3.8 Stars out of 1402 Reviews
5 Star:59% 4 Star:10% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:3% 1 Star:22%
73% Recommend This Service
Start your review of TruthFinder:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Nov 21, 2020

Detailed and accurate

By Jaclyn M., Raleigh, NC, Verified Reviewer

I honestly forgot to cancel my membership after the first month and had considered trying to get it refunded. I decided to go through things one more time...I suppose I had a little sensory overload the first time I used it because I discovered more ways to use the plan I had. I am very pleased with it so far. Would be really great for those who own rental properties, small business owners with certain criteria for employment, those employing in-home workers, for parents worried about the safety of their children, and much more. Am seriously considering upgrading my service.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

How far back the information goes

Related associates

Email and cell phone information

The lack of accessibility to online and social media content

More cellphone information

Difficult to navigate for beginners in background checking

Company Response from TruthFinder Inc.

Nov 23, 2020

Thank you for your positive review and high rating. We’d like to remind you of our Terms of Use and Limited License for Services for TruthFinder which states that our services cannot be used for business purposes. Please contact us at 1-800-699-8081 or via help@truthfinder.com if you have any questions about your account or the use of TruthFinder.

Sincerely,

TruthFinder Support

Posted on Nov 5, 2020

Does what it says

By Tara E., Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I was skeptical about using this website because I’ve seen so many non-legit ones but this site does exactly as advertised. It’s a little pricey but you get what you pay for.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Information

Fast

Efficient

Paying extra for added information

Posted on Nov 2, 2020

Not kidding, this is great!

By Nancy B., Texas, Verified Reviewer

I was hesitant to sign up and pay the small amount of money, but, I tried the monthly anyway. I’m good at finding info on numbers that I don’t recognize or information I want, but, TruthFinder does it all for me, and more! I looked up my husband's female coworker because she wouldn’t stop with her stupid unprofessional behavior, and after reading her information, that coincided with other information my husband told me about her, I was so satisfied. Didn’t worry one bit afterward. Thanks TruthFinder, you sure do find the truth!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Accuracy

Information like "possible" associated numbers help

Fast, inquiry after inquiry

2 numbers I researched didn’t have information

Posted on Oct 26, 2020

Why won't you answer my questions?

By Mark T., California, Verified Reviewer

Lack of responsiveness, just charged my card.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

No response, just charging my card

Company Response from TruthFinder Inc.

Oct 30, 2020

Thank you so much for your feedback. We’re sorry that you were not satisfied with our services. We’re committed to providing our users with a great customer experience and we’d like to make this right for you. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-222-8985.

Sincerely,

TruthFinder Support

Posted on Oct 21, 2020

Accurate reports, however, shady business by charging more than they claim.

By Brandy P., Toledo, OH, Verified Reviewer

The site is very easy to navigate. The reports are accurate going back quite far. Was able to check my own report and correct misinformation, which is quite common, so I highly recommend everyone should be aware and informed on their own reports.

Removed 2 stars from being 5 because I realized they charge more than they initially claim. Shady business practice.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Checking my own report

Correcting misinformation on my report

Able to check others' reports that might affect you or others close to you

Charging more than initially claims

Accidentally monitoring old phone numbers that I don't have the option to correct/delete

Company Response from TruthFinder Inc.

Oct 23, 2020

We’re sorry that you’ve had a negative experience with our billing system. TruthFinder provides all of the billing details to its users before they sign up for our services, and these terms can also be reviewed at any time in our Terms of Use. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

Sincerely,

TruthFinder Support

Posted on Oct 21, 2020

Good overall for phone lookup

By Brittany C., San Marcos, TX, Verified Reviewer

I seem to get the correct information. There’s definitely been some, like mine, that was way off. Overall if you’re going to pay for a service, go with the one that allows you to look people up, not just by their phone number. People change phone numbers like underwear these days!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Informative

Fast

Affordable

Information needs to be updated

Company Response from TruthFinder Inc.

Oct 23, 2020

We’re sorry to hear you weren’t satisfied with our reports. We work really hard to make our reports as thorough as possible, but sometimes we are limited to what our data providers give us. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

Sincerely,

TruthFinder Support

Posted on Sep 30, 2020

So thorough

By Julli M., Costa Mesa, CA, Verified Reviewer

I was extremely pleased with the amount of information you get and the ease of which you get it. Also, I appreciated the links to other's backgrounds who were affiliated with the person I was looking into. In fact, I was able to find out more info on the person I was looking into due to one of the backgrounds of one of their affiliates. The ease of getting around the site was appreciated also.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Amount of information

Ease of site

Links to affiliates

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Sep 28, 2020

Surprised!

By Curt B., Cranford, NJ, Verified Reviewer

I looked up my son's mother-in-law, surprised to see all the drug offenses, court appearances.

I also looked up friends from high school.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Good info

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Sep 28, 2020

Complete and good reports

By Scott M., Tacoma, WA, Verified Reviewer

The site was easy to navigate. Gave good and complete reports. Fast reply. Liked the timeline info. Gave info on possible relatives with the ability to look them up. The format was good and gave options to go deeper.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to navigate

Fast and accurate info

Liked that it gave possible relatively

Items left out of timeline

Posted on Sep 27, 2020

Great system ran by a great team!

By Mike V., Cleveland, OH, Verified Reviewer

As a business owner, we do periodically check on our staff, and new hires. This is the right place for it, I assure you! Keep up the great work.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Service

System

Team

No “cons” were specified in this review

Company Response from TruthFinder Inc.

Sep 29, 2020

Hi Mike,

TruthFinder is NOT a Consumer Reporting Agency, and therefore, it is prohibited to use our site for any purpose governed by the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA). When a user signs up for our services, they are required to check a box stating they will not use our service or the information we provide to make decisions about consumer credit, employment, insurance, tenant screening, or any other purpose that would require FCRA compliance.

TruthFinder’s Terms of Use specifically state:

7. Fair Credit Reporting Act Notice And Obligations

TruthFinder IS NOT A CREDIT REPORTING AGENCY ("CRA") FOR PURPOSES OF THE FAIR CREDIT REPORTING ACT ("FCRA"), 15 USC §§ 1681 et seq. AS SUCH, THE ADDITIONAL PROTECTIONS AFFORDED TO CONSUMERS, AND OBLIGATIONS PLACED UPON CREDIT REPORTING AGENCIES, ARE NOT CONTEMPLATED BY, NOR CONTAINED WITHIN, THESE TERMS.

You may not use any information obtained from the Company from its Background Information Services in connection with determining a prospective candidate's suitability for:

Health insurance or any other insurance

Credit and/or loans

Employment

Education, scholarships or fellowships

Housing or other accommodations

Benefits, privileges or services provided by any business establishment.

The information provided by the Company via the Website has not been collected in whole or in part for the purpose of furnishing consumer reports, as defined in the FCRA. Accordingly, by purchasing Membership Plans through this Website and using the Company’s Background Information Services, you understand and agree that you will not use any of the information you obtain from the Company as a factor in: (a) establishing an individual's eligibility for personal credit, loans, insurance or assessing risks associated with existing consumer credit obligations; (b) evaluating an individual for employment, promotion, reassignment or retention (including employment of household workers such as babysitters, cleaning personnel, nannies, contractors, and other individuals); (c) evaluating an individual for educational opportunities, scholarships or fellowships; (d) evaluating an individual’s eligibility for a license or other benefit granted by a government agency or (e) any other product, service or transaction in connection with which a consumer report may be used under the FCRA or any similar state statute, including, without limitation, apartment rental, check-cashing, or the opening of a deposit or transaction account. You also agree that you shall not use any of the information you receive through the Background Information Services to take any "adverse action," as that term is defined in the FCRA; you have appropriate knowledge of the FCRA; and, if necessary, you will consult with an attorney to ensure compliance with these Terms.

Your account has been canceled and fully refunded. For any questions or concerns, feel free to contact our customer service department at (800) 699-8081. We are available to assist you during regular business hours, Mon-Sun 5 am - 10 pm PST (8 am - 1 am EST).

Sincerely,

TruthFinder Support

Posted on Sep 26, 2020

Great source for reliable, accurate information

By Don D., San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

I use the service annually to keep my personal database up to date. Easy to use and very complete listings of financial and criminal data on some not so reputable individuals.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Completeness of data base

Ease of use

Ease of access to reports

No “cons” were specified in this review

Showing 12-22 of 1402

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.