TruthFinder

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
TruthFinder

Overall Rating

3.8

1394 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Truthfinder is a people search website that compiles public records for convenient background checks for a monthly subscription. However, inaccurate reports mean you might not get what you’re paying for.

Pros

  • New subscribers can sign up for a $1 five-day trial
  • More comprehensive reports than many competitors
  • Simple interface, easy to perform multiple searches
  • You can adjust what information is shown on your account

Cons

  • Information might be inaccurate
  • The site uses “scare tactics” to encouraging subscribing
  • Easy to inadvertently sign up for added fees (like PDF downloads)
  • Some people were billed even after canceling their subscription

Customer Reviews

3.8 Stars out of 1394 Reviews
5 Star:59% 4 Star:10% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:3% 1 Star:22%
73% Recommend This Service
Start your review of TruthFinder:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Mar 15, 2018

TruthFinder customer service

By Ronnie Mercer, Mangham, LA, Verified Reviewer

Our credit card account was charged twice for our monthly TruthFinder. Caroline (who was the customer service representative) helped to reverse the double charge and correct the problem in billing. Caroline was very helpful and courteous. We appreciate that.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Mar 15, 2018

Not happy

By Maryann Heitl, Lehigh Acres, FL, Verified Reviewer

I joined TruthFinder, almost $30.00 a month. Not at all impressed, I canceled after one hour. Of course, they kept my money. They give you a little bit of nothing with their information. I checked my own name, and they confused me with my deceased husband's cousin's wife who has my same name. They had me living with my boyfriend eight years before I knew him, and my boyfriend's information was so inaccurate, as was my deceased husband, who they had again were inaccurately confusing him with his cousin under the same name. So not worth the money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from TruthFinder Inc.

Mar 16, 2018

Hi Maryann,

I’m sorry to hear you found some inaccuracies in your report. We do not own the public record databases, we simply compile public data. Sometimes, due to circumstances beyond our control, the information in your report may be incomplete or inaccurate. We will reach out to you privately to work out a resolution.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 14, 2018

Great customer service

By Ivan Costa, Verified Reviewer

I went with a free trial. While I can't fully comment on the value of the service (I was doing a light search on myself for business purposes), their customer service was right up there with the best. Since I wasn't certain my initial trial had ended, and I didn't want a recurring membership fee, I contacted them directly via the telephone. I spoke with Caroline. She is professional, knowledgeable, and personable. Not your typical "robot" reading from a script on the other end of the line. I actually enjoyed my conversation with her, while learning more about TruthFinder's range of services.

At this time I'm not in need of the service they provide, however, I'll be sure to use them in the future. If she's part of the this company's culture, they must be a winner. Thanks again!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Mar 14, 2018

TruthFinder and online dating make a great couple

By Louise Nicholas, Maine, Verified Reviewer

Seriously, how can one properly check out a candidate from the online dating world? Well, I believe I found it. TruthFinder proved to be the ticket for me. We spend money on date sites but seem to be shy about spending even more money to check out. For a minimal fee for one month, one can run unlimited reports for the entire month. Lucky for me, I was able to find the perfect match and know without a doubt that he was who said he was; everything I was told checked out. Even a criminal record flag turned out to be tickets for not wearing a seatbelt. We met, he is wonderful, but a terrible driver. Well, everyone has flaws, right?

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Mar 14, 2018

Don’t bother

By Stacy F., McKinney, TX, Verified Reviewer

It literally provided info on your name and addresses, phone numbers, and email address. And your Facebook, past and present home, and some car info. Nothing you could not find doing a name search, and county CAD.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from TruthFinder Inc.

Mar 16, 2018

Hi Stacy,

I understand how frustrating it is when you can’t find the information you were looking for. We work really hard to make our reports as thorough as possible, but some states and counties do not release their records to the public which sometimes impacts the quality of our data. Please reach out to us so we can work out a resolution. You can reach us 24/7 at (800) 699-8081.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 12, 2018

Every informative - helped out a lot.

By Audrey Kellner, Dalton, GA, Verified Reviewer

It was very helpful. I got what I was looking for and more. Thank you.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Mar 12, 2018

I'm so thankful for the young man that I talked to.

By Samantha Helen Ann Beasley, Texas, Verified Reviewer

I was very concerned about what I didn't and did find on my son. Mr. Alhindi was very helpful. I also told him that when I looked up myself, it has me as 67, but I will be 62 next week. I told him that my name, his mother and most of his siblings were not there. I told him that I have sent a message to the company. He told me that it could take awhile. My son passed away on February 11, 2018, at 11:16 a.m. I just wanted to know what others might find about him. His brothers and sister were surprised that they aren't even on his site. Neither were his nieces or nephews, his uncles or aunts, or grandparents. Only from his father's side. It also doesn't mention his living in Connecticut or where he graduated in Connecticut. Thank you for your help.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Mar 11, 2018

Make a payment

By Doris Pugh, Buffalo, NY, Verified Reviewer

My account had been canceled with TruthFinder because every three years you get a new bank card, so I had been canceled. TruthFinder is very good to have the lady that helped me, named Diane. She walked me through to help me get to the right place to reopened my account as the customer. Service was very good. Thank you, Diane, for your help. I will tell people about TruthFinder; a good service to have.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Mar 9, 2018

Great service!

By Marjorie Reilly Smith, Washington DC, Verified Reviewer

The format is superb! I have used other companies and they pail in comparison. The service is also great. When in doubt, I spoke with Naomi (#1173), and she was patient, through, helpful and cheerful. I would give her an A+ and this service as well. I will use TruthFinder again. Thank you.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Mar 9, 2018

My helper was Kimberly from CA. Give that girl a raise, courteous, helpful, sparkling personality. Highly recommend.

By Shirley A. Bell, Argenta, IL, Verified Reviewer

I highly recommend TruthFinder. Being quite elderly and not at all knowledgeable on the computer, I wanted only to check my own background as to any adverse information that may have been posted. I did find inaccurate information as to one of my properties. The young lady with whom I was connected via phone was named Kimberly. She was great, courteous, knowledgeable and immensely patient. Her instructions in helping me were clear, and if I made a mistake, she patiently guided me. Kimberly was very helpful, articulate and she posses a sparkling personality. Congratulations TruthFinder. You employ fantastic personnel such as Kimberly.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Mar 9, 2018

TruthFinder review

By Julie Shere, Florida, Verified Reviewer

I've used TruthFinder for a month now. It took a little getting used to, but in all decent, basic information that came in handy. I was always asked to pay extra for a few things, but wasn't interested in paying the extra. I found a few long lost friends but, on some people, there was no information what so ever, especially if they were incarcerated. Only one did I find invalid because I know the person has been deceased for several years and said they were still living. In all, a good product for general information.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from TruthFinder Inc.

Mar 16, 2018

Hi Julie,

Thank you for your honest feedback on your recent experience with TruthFinder. Our information is gathered from numerous public sources. We’re always working with our data providers to ensure that the information in our reports is as up-to-date and complete as possible, but occasionally some data just isn’t available to us. Thank you again for your feedback, and please feel free to contact us at any time if you have additional questions or comments. You can reach us 24/7 at (800) 699-8081.

Showing 650-660 of 1394

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.