About TruthFinder

TruthFinder is a people search website that allows you to search for anyone in the US and gain instant access to contact information, background checks, criminal records, and more.

In order to provide this information, TruthFinder “pores over hundreds of millions of available public records, social network data, and more” from multiple sources, including county, state, and federal databases. Then, your results can be accessed from your mobile device, tablet, or computer, while remaining 100% confidential.

There’s no doubt that the information provided by TruthFinder might come in handy, whether you’re looking to find out more about an old friend, a new flame, or your nice-but-creepy neighbor. But will the price you pay be in line with the information you receive? Are there any important things to keep in mind before handing over your credit card number.

We’ll discuss all of this (and more!) here. To start things off, let’s talk about what a public records company offers.

What Is a People Search Website?

First, public records are simply “documents or pieces of information that are not considered confidential.” This can include records as part of a court proceeding, birth, marriage, death, voter registration, and more.

Due to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), all of these records are publicly​ available to anyone who requests them. However, the process of obtaining information from multiple sources can be cumbersome (we’ll come back around to this in a moment), so companies like TruthFinder can make it easier to quickly gain access, and then view the results in a single report.

For example, let’s say you wanted to find out 1) if someone was delinquent on their taxes, and 2) if they’re married. For the first, you’d have to visit the county tax assessor’s office, wait in line, and request the document (usually by filling out some paperwork and paying a small fee). Next, you’d need to visit the courthouse and do the same for any marriage certificates.

Now, imagine you were interested in obtaining all the available public records for an individual. You’d probably spend weeks dealing with all the appropriate governmental agencies, which could be time consuming and expensive.

But when the rubber meets the road, will people search websites like TruthFinder provide a solid value for your money? To answer this, we’ll first take a look at how you can obtain a TruthFinder report.

How to Use the TruthFinder Website

To begin, you’ll first enter the person’s first name, last name, and state on the TruthFinder home page.

After a few minutes watching various loading bars, you’ll be taken to a page that shows matching results, which displays the person’s age, current/previous locations, and possible relatives. If there’s more than one name that matches your search, they can be sorted by best match, first or last name, age, or location.

From there, you’ll click the ‘Access Report’ button. Again, you’ll wait several more minutes as everything loads. Afterward, you’ll be able to select the person’s possible relatives and order reports for them as well.

Next, you’ll encounter a big, bold image that claims: “Individual’s report may contain graphic content that we can only reveal in a secure session.” In our opinion, after reviewing many of the most popular people search websites (more shortly), this is only intended to grab your attention, and doesn’t necessarily reflect what you’ll actually find in the report.

Screenshot of TruthFinder's WebsitePeople search websites like TruthFinder are notorious for using tactics like this to draw you in. Don’t be fooled though, because it’s unlikely you’ll uncover anything “graphic.”

Finally, you’ll arrive at the pricing page, which is what we’ll discuss next.

TruthFinder’s Subscription Plans

Until you hand over your credit card information, you won’t be able to access TruthFinder’s reports, even though you may have waited 5 minutes or more just to get to this point.

To this extent, you’ll be able to choose from one of the following subscription plans, which provides access to unlimited reports:

  • 5-day trial: $1 – But when your trial ends, you’ll automatically be billed $16.71 for a monthly membership, unless you cancel beforehand.
  • 1 Month: $16.71 per month
  • 3 Months: $15.71 per month ($47.13 total)
  • 6 Months: $13.71 per month ($82.26 total)

Important note: Although you’ll be able to order an unlimited number of reports through these plans, the reports are considered ‘Standard’. In order to obtain access to a Premium report (here’s a sample report), you’ll have to pay an additional $14.95 per report. This will give you access to:

  • Civil Judgments
  • Corporate Affiliations
  • Watercraft Owned
  • UCC Filings
  • Properties Owned
  • Voter Registration
  • Old Phone Numbers
  • Email Addresses
  • Tax Liens
  • Professional Licenses
  • Hunting/Fishing Permits
  • Weapons Permits
  • Foreclosures
  • Criminal Records (Third Data Source)
  • Aircraft Owned
  • Neighbors
  • Business Associates
  • And Much More!

In order to cancel your trial or your subscription plan, you’ll need to call TruthFinder customer service at (800) 699-8081.

How does everything we’ve discussed so far compare to other people search websites?

Is TruthFinder Better Than Other Background Check Websites?

While there’s no denying that the TruthFinder website is attractive (despite the fact that it can take 5 minutes or more just to land on the ordering page), the reality is that they don’t seem to be much different than any of the other people search companies we’ve reviewed in the past. This includes Instant Checkmate, SpyFly, BeenVerified, and more.

In other words, their prices are essentially the same—and since they’re all pulling the same data from the same sources—the information their reports contain probably won’t be meaningfully different. But what are actual customers saying?

Here on HighYa, these companies have an average rating of 1.5 stars (read: stay away). Why does everyone seem so upset?

Overwhelmingly, the biggest complaint is that most of the information in these reports can be found through a quick online search, without pay a dime. On top of this, many customers complain that the information in these reports is out of date, altogether incorrect, or just plain missing. And this seems to apply whether they’re ordering a Standard or Premium report.

Ultimately, because of the high prices associated with these reports, many customers claim to have felt scammed.

Other common complaints include poor customer service and difficulty cancel trials/monthly subscriptions. Is this what other consumers are saying about TruthFinder?

Is TruthFinder Pleasing Their Customers?

TruthFinder was a fairly new company at the time of our research, having been founded in March 2015. As such, there wasn’t a whole lot of online customer feedback.

However, we did find one customer review on Ripoff Report, which referenced website problems and disappointing information in reports. There was also a single complaint on Outscam.com, which also referenced outdated/incorrect information, sneaky subscriptions, and that most of the same information could be found online for free.

From a company perspective, TruthFinder had an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 3 closed complaints (as of 12/10/15). Unlike elsewhere, these appeared to reference difficulty removing personal information from the company’s database.

We know you’re anxious to figure out if TruthFinder is your best option for obtaining public records, so let’s bring it home.

Try Searching Online Before Using TruthFinder

In “The Problems with People Search Websites,” we provided an in-depth look at the people search industry, common customer complaints, and alternatives if you’re looking to save money but still gain access to much of the same information. So if you haven’t read this article yet, we’d suggest doing so at your earliest convenience.

Sure, TruthFinder claims to “scour the deep web to uncover information that normal search engines can't find,” but in reality, we think this is just marketing hype intended to dissuade you from looking elsewhere.

Granted, since all of this is pulled from the same sources, this doesn’t mean the information you’ll find on your own will be any more accurate than going through TruthFinder. But at least you’ll be able to hang on to more of your hard-earned money, which is what HighYa’s all about.

In our opinion, we’d recommend you start there and avoid people search websites like TruthFinder altogether. After all, it doesn’t matter which company you’re thinking about, they all come with bottom-of-the-barrel online reputations.

Did you give TruthFinder a try? Tell us all about your experience by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

1326 Consumer Reviews for TruthFinder

Average Consumer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 789 4 star: 151 3 star: 55 2 star: 46 1 star:  285
Bottom Line: 74% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1326
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Data security and findings

    • Los Fresnos, TX,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    TruthFinder is an ideal tool to provide information about persons/people who you've want to know information of, or finding someone you meet long time ago and wonder of their health, or finding a lost family member, or finding your own information, and what the public sees you as. I was very surprised of the information I searched for myself. EYE OPENER. But most imported - to see if you are on the Black Web, and getting protection and alerts is this find work of art called TruthFinder - this site is awesome. Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • New Hampshire,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just what everyone one here tells. Once they have your credit card number, nothing seems to stop them from charging it. The sheer number of hours spent on the futile effort to get money back is staggering.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      We’re sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience with your billing experience. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    This is a really good site

    • Overland Park, KS,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have really enjoyed this site. It's been everything I would have expected and much much more. Worth every dollar...I just keep coming back and looking for more and more things.

    You will enjoy it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      We’re so happy to hear that our service helped you find what you were looking for. Thank you for the positive feedback and high rating! If you ever have a question or need help with our website, our US-based member care team can be reached at (800) 699-8081.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Paid for report that has not been delivered

    • East Africa, Uganda,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Recently, about four days ago, I requested for a search report from TruthFinder for an old friend, penpal to be exact.

    I paid for the fee asked for. The last I remember was advice that my report was ready, and then there was a prompting to "Read Report."

    When I clicked the prompt "Read Report," the screen went blank and I have not been able to get through to TruthFinder since. I have tried to call them severally but all I get is a machine responder that advises you get help from "help@truthfinder.com." I have sent a mail since, but haven't had the courtesy of a reply yet. Have I been conned? I paid about $27 for the report; this amount is renewable every month. I do not intend to do any further searches. What do you advise?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 14, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Richard,

      I’ve tried to look up your account, but nothing is associated with your name, so it’s likely that your membership was not processed. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

    • Jan 16, 2019

      Richard K.

      Yesterday I talked to a lady on +1 800-699-8081 and I gave my email as agency.recreateinternational[at]gmail.com, however, I think the email I used initially was rick.kilonzo[at]yahoo.com.

      During my search, I was advised that my report was ready and prompted to Read Report. When I clicked Read Report, my screen went blank. Thereafter, I tried to contact TruthFinder via email to no avail.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Ok

    • Oakland, CA,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was alright, it didn't let me reverse search phone numbers, so I felt it could have left a lot of important things unfound, such as accounts on different dating sights perhaps. It is good for business and criminal records. It also charges you to save any of the info you look up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 14, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Thank you for your positive review and high rating. We really appreciate your feedback, and we’re so happy to hear that our service helped you find what you were looking for. If you ever have a question or need help with our website, you can reach our US-based member care team at (800) 699-8081.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Information is so wrong

    • Arkansas,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The information is so wrong, one wonders how this company stays in business. They have my son's age as 73 when it would have been 30 if he were still alive. He was killed 10 years ago. Not one mention of this happening. Why anyone would use this fraudulent site is beyond me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 8, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      We’re sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience with the information found in our reports. Since we rely on third-party data sources, we can only display the information that we were provided, which could potentially include incomplete or inaccurate data. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    So much inaccurate information

    • Kentucky,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very disappointed in the inaccurate information I received when I conducted a check on myself on TruthFinder.com. So many inaccuracies and just incorrect information. I am trying to cancel subscription now. I could not believe how there could be so much incorrect information in my report. Never again will I use TruthFinder.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 4, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      We’re sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience with the information found in our reports. Since we rely on third-party data sources, we can only display the information that we were provided, which could potentially include incomplete or inaccurate data. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Misleading advertisements bait you in for inaccurate information

    • California,
    • Dec 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I ran a search of my name today I was prompted to answer a few simple questions, which I did, and when I got to the final page it flashed a huge "warning!" sign stating that I was possibly being monitored and on a government watch list or associated with someone on said list, for being involved in an extremist group or terrorist activity! The prompt also said buying the report for $27.99 (are you kidding me right now?!) would divulge any information of said activity-(ies), including who was monitoring myself and or my associates and why. The next thing I know, my mom comes out showing me her phone and how the same "government watch warning" is associated with her name! At this point I felt obligated and owed it to my mom to find out just what was going on - stupidly, I paid the fee only to access outdated and inaccurate information, and you guessed it, NO information about being on any list! Nor having ever been!

    In my opinion, this company uses scare tactics to get people to sign up for their outrageously overpriced "public information" and then doesn't deliver its promise. I'm HIGHLY unsatisfied. I want my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 30, 2018

      Stephen A.

      I would have to say, I was more than shocked whenever I ran my own name on TruthFinder. I was mad, extremely mad, up until reading the post before this one. This person said that they had seen a warning that popped up by the government, saying that they could be an extremist or a terrorist that could "Joe" prison records and all kinds of nonsense. I was really worried up until then, I think TruthFinder needs to be stopped. What's going on in my mind now is, is there a way I can place a class action suit against them for defamation of character. I am trying to run a legit business and if customers out there see my name, so many people are going to believe this. What they need to know is they are phonies and they need to be put out of business, if this is the kind of business they are running!

    • Jan 2, 2019

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Tyshawnna,

      We’re sorry to hear you weren’t satisfied with your experience at TruthFinder. Please contact our customer support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Pricing scam

    • Denver, CO,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I signed up for the "special" pricing of $23.00 for one month of unlimited searches, I expected to be charged for $23.00.

    I was charged $46.04 for two months upfront.

    I called customer service and spoke to Jasmine who said her supervisor told me to email help@truthfinder.com and send them the screen I took of the price quoted.

    What a RIP off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 28, 2018

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Michelle,

      We apologize for any confusion you experienced in regards to our billing system. All customers must check a box authorizing TruthFinder to charge their card, as described prior to signing up. Our Billing Terms and Terms of Use conspicuously state the customer will be charged a recurring membership until they cancel. We also apologize that our customer service team was not able to resolve this for you the first time around. Please contact our customer support team again at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Not worth paying for

    • Washington,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Once I finally made it through all the status bar hoops to get to the end where they ask for a monthly payment, my age wasn’t even right. Aliases were wrong, relatives were wrong, places I’ve lived were wrong...you’d think they would be eager to have people correct their databases for free and easily. Instead, they waste your time before asking a ridiculous amount of money just to verify your own information.

    I decided not to get sucked into a monthly “subscription” and just let them list inaccurate information. Perhaps in the future, they will consider making some changes to their business model. Until then, it’s a hard “no” from me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 20, 2018

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Michelle,

      We’re sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience with the information found in our reports. Since we rely on third-party data sources, we can only display the information that we were provided, which could potentially include incomplete or inaccurate data. Please contact our customer support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Very pleased, now I'm addicted to the site!

    • New York,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I actually signed up to do a background check on myself as I was going to be applying for a job with the state and wanted to see what turned up. Then it occurred to me that I could also search friends as well as, let's say, people I'm NOT so fond of (wink).

    Now like the title said, I'm addicted! I research all interviewers I will be meeting with, as well as tracking down people from my past. I had expected to only go with the monthly plan and then unsubscribe, but I can't imagine living without it now!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 14, 2018

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Meredith,

      That's great news! We're so glad to hear that our service is helping you find the information you need. Thanks so much for the positive feedback and high rating, and if you ever have a question or need assistance with your search, our US-based member care team can be reached directly at (800) 699-8081.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    • Dec 17, 2018

      Rodney W.

      I have not been able to print out a report.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1326

Write a Review for TruthFinder!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review