About TruthFinder

TruthFinder is a people search website that allows you to search for anyone in the US and gain instant access to contact information, background checks, criminal records, and more.

In order to provide this information, TruthFinder “pores over hundreds of millions of available public records, social network data, and more” from multiple sources, including county, state, and federal databases. Then, your results can be accessed from your mobile device, tablet, or computer, while remaining 100% confidential.

There’s no doubt that the information provided by TruthFinder might come in handy, whether you’re looking to find out more about an old friend, a new flame, or your nice-but-creepy neighbor. But will the price you pay be in line with the information you receive? Are there any important things to keep in mind before handing over your credit card number.

We’ll discuss all of this (and more!) here. To start things off, let’s talk about what a public records company offers.

What Is a People Search Website?

First, public records are simply “documents or pieces of information that are not considered confidential.” This can include records as part of a court proceeding, birth, marriage, death, voter registration, and more.

Due to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), all of these records are publicly​ available to anyone who requests them. However, the process of obtaining information from multiple sources can be cumbersome (we’ll come back around to this in a moment), so companies like TruthFinder can make it easier to quickly gain access, and then view the results in a single report.

For example, let’s say you wanted to find out 1) if someone was delinquent on their taxes, and 2) if they’re married. For the first, you’d have to visit the county tax assessor’s office, wait in line, and request the document (usually by filling out some paperwork and paying a small fee). Next, you’d need to visit the courthouse and do the same for any marriage certificates.

Now, imagine you were interested in obtaining all the available public records for an individual. You’d probably spend weeks dealing with all the appropriate governmental agencies, which could be time consuming and expensive.

But when the rubber meets the road, will people search websites like TruthFinder provide a solid value for your money? To answer this, we’ll first take a look at how you can obtain a TruthFinder report.

How To Use the TruthFinder Website

To begin, you’ll first enter the person’s first name, last name, and state on the TruthFinder home page.

After a few minutes watching various loading bars, you’ll be taken to a page that shows matching results, which displays the person’s age, current/previous locations, and possible relatives. If there’s more than one name that matches your search, they can be sorted by best match, first or last name, age, or location.

From there, you’ll click the ‘Access Report’ button. Again, you’ll wait several more minutes as everything loads. Afterward, you’ll be able to select the person’s possible relatives and order reports for them as well.

Next, you’ll encounter a big, bold image that claims: “Individual’s report may contain graphic content that we can only reveal in a secure session.” In our opinion, after reviewing many of the most popular people search websites (more shortly), this is only intended to grab your attention, and doesn’t necessarily reflect what you’ll actually find in the report.

Screenshot of TruthFinder's WebsitePeople search websites like TruthFinder are notorious for using tactics like this to draw you in. Don’t be fooled though, because it’s unlikely you’ll uncover anything “graphic.”

Finally, you’ll arrive at the pricing page, which is what we’ll discuss next.

TruthFinder’s Subscription Plans

Until you hand over your credit card information, you won’t be able to access TruthFinder’s reports, even though you may have waited 5 minutes or more just to get to this point.

To this extent, you’ll be able to choose from one of the following subscription plans, which provides access to unlimited reports:

  • 5-day trial: $1 – But when your trial ends, you’ll automatically be billed $16.71 for a monthly membership, unless you cancel beforehand.
  • 1 Month: $16.71 per month
  • 3 Months: $15.71 per month ($47.13 total)
  • 6 Months: $13.71 per month ($82.26 total)

Important note: Although you’ll be able to order an unlimited number of reports through these plans, the reports are considered ‘Standard’. In order to obtain access to a Premium report (here’s a sample report), you’ll have to pay an additional $14.95 per report. This will give you access to:

  • Civil Judgments
  • Corporate Affiliations
  • Watercraft Owned
  • UCC Filings
  • Properties Owned
  • Voter Registration
  • Old Phone Numbers
  • Email Addresses
  • Tax Liens
  • Professional Licenses
  • Hunting/Fishing Permits
  • Weapons Permits
  • Foreclosures
  • Criminal Records (Third Data Source)
  • Aircraft Owned
  • Neighbors
  • Business Associates
  • And Much More!

In order to cancel your trial or your subscription plan, you’ll need to call TruthFinder customer service at (800) 699-8081.

How does everything we’ve discussed so far compare to other people search websites?

Is TruthFinder Better Than Other Background Check Websites?

While there’s no denying that the TruthFinder website is attractive (despite the fact that it can take 5 minutes or more just to land on the ordering page), the reality is that they don’t seem to be much different than any of the other people search companies we’ve reviewed in the past. This includes Instant Checkmate, SpyFly, BeenVerified, and more.

In other words, their prices are essentially the same—and since they’re all pulling the same data from the same sources—the information their reports contain probably won’t be meaningfully different. But what are actual customers saying?

Here on HighYa, these companies have an average rating of 1.5 stars (read: stay away). Why does everyone seem so upset?

Overwhelmingly, the biggest complaint is that most of the information in these reports can be found through a quick online search, without pay a dime. On top of this, many customers complain that the information in these reports is out of date, altogether incorrect, or just plain missing. And this seems to apply whether they’re ordering a Standard or Premium report.

Ultimately, because of the high prices associated with these reports, many customers claim to have felt scammed.

Other common complaints include poor customer service and difficulty cancel trials/monthly subscriptions. Is this what other consumers are saying about TruthFinder?

Is TruthFinder Pleasing Their Customers?

TruthFinder was a fairly new company at the time of our research, having been founded in March 2015. As such, there wasn’t a whole lot of online customer feedback.

However, we did find one customer review on Ripoff Report, which referenced website problems and disappointing information in reports. There was also a single complaint on Outscam.com, which also referenced outdated/incorrect information, sneaky subscriptions, and that most of the same information could be found online for free.

From a company perspective, TruthFinder had an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 3 closed complaints (as of 12/10/15). Unlike elsewhere, these appeared to reference difficulty removing personal information from the company’s database.

We know you’re anxious to figure out if TruthFinder is your best option for obtaining public records, so let’s bring it home.

Try Searching Online Before Using TruthFinder

In The Problems with Online People Searches, we provided an in-depth look at the people search industry, common customer complaints, and alternatives if you’re looking to save money but still gain access to much of the same information. So if you haven’t read this article yet, we’d suggest doing so at your earliest convenience.

Sure, TruthFinder claims to “scour the deep web to uncover information that normal search engines can't find,” but in reality, we think this is just marketing hype intended to dissuade you from looking elsewhere.

Granted, since all of this is pulled from the same sources, this doesn’t mean the information you’ll find on your own will be any more accurate than going through TruthFinder. But at least you’ll be able to hang on to more of your hard-earned money, which is what HighYa’s all about.

In our opinion, we’d recommend you start there and avoid people search websites like TruthFinder altogether. After all, it doesn’t matter which company you’re thinking about, they all come with bottom-of-the-barrel online reputations.

Did you give TruthFinder a try? Tell us all about your experience by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

1305 Consumer Reviews for TruthFinder

Average Consumer Rating: 3.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 781 4 star: 151 3 star: 53 2 star: 46 1 star:  274
Bottom Line: 74% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1305
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Helpful tool for research

    • Uniontown, OH,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The reason I signed up for TruthFinder was to learn information for my Aunt about her past. She was adopted by my grandparents and recently obtained her adoption records. I wanted to use TruthFinder to find out why she was taken from her birth parents by CPS. I was having trouble with my search so I called TruthFinder and Amber was so helpful and tried to help me with my search. I was able to find out information about her biological father. I plan to use TruthFinder to research other family members so that my Aunt might be able to connect with her biological family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    TruthFinder

    • Arkansas,
    • Oct 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've used TruthFinder on a number of occasions and found it to be the best. The information is always complete. It's easy to use and completely accurate. Thanks, TruthFinder, for saving me time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 11, 2018

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Rynette,

      We’re so happy to hear that our service helped you find what you were looking for. Thank you for the positive feedback and high rating! If you ever have a question or need help with our website, our US-based member care team can be reached at (800) 699-8081.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    People search

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought TruthFinder was very easy to use and provided me with the information I was looking for. It even has an app you can download for your phone. Thanks! I would recommend to others.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 11, 2018

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Reanne,

      That's great news! We're so glad to hear that our service is helping you find the information you need. Thanks so much for the positive feedback and high rating, and if you ever have a question or need assistance with your search, our US-based member care team can be reached directly at (800) 699-8081.

      Sincerely,

      TruthFinder Support

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Updated review

    • Texas,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The information on the people I was researching for has been updated and is much more accurate than the original search. The website is easy to use. TruthFinder graciously refunded my money.

    If anyone using this site finds the information inaccurate, I suggest you contact them and ask them to update the information. I would use it again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 27, 2018

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Karen,

      We’re sorry to hear you weren’t satisfied with our reports. We work really hard to make our reports as thorough as possible, but sometimes we are limited to what our data providers give us. Please contact our customer support team at 1-800-699-8081, so we can make things right.

    • Oct 2, 2018

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Karen,

      We’re very happy to see that our member care team was able to assist you and get your issue completely resolved. Thank you again for your feedback, and please feel free to contact us at any time if you have additional questions or comments.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Sep 11, 2018

    Inaccurate information

    The information on the people I was researching was completely inaccurate. The only thing accurate was the name and address. It didn’t show all of the related immediate family members. It also doesn’t show the fact that someone was deceased. The website was easy to use, but I wouldn’t recommend it for accurate information.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    On point

    • Fairfield, AL,
    • Sep 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Having TruthFinder by your side is like having your own personal private detective.

    I was able to find and connect the dots to every inquiry that I made.

    I absolutely love this company and its mission.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 2, 2018

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Shirley,

      We’re so happy to hear that our service helped you find what you were looking for. Thank you for the positive feedback and high rating! If you ever have a question or need help with our website, our US-based member care team can be reached at (800) 699-8081.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    No BS, just being honest.

    • Noneya,BS,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I give them credit for the clean website and good advertising, but that’s it. The information is so off. I thought it was for my protection, but it’s just that bad of info. I’d say after running about 45 reports during the 30 days maybe 50% of the info was correct. I gave a copy to each applicant, and they agreed and were more upset than I was. After doing a lot more research and trying out every trial I could, none of these are worth as they all do the same thing. The only thing you’re paying for is the time saved looking up the info yourself, which isn’t correct info anyway. I’ve actually scoured the deep web and found that to be the best source, yet time-consuming.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 27, 2018

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Debra,

      We’re sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience with the information found in our reports. Since we rely on third-party data sources, we can only display the information that we were provided, which could potentially include incomplete or inaccurate data. Please contact our customer support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    You'll be shocked, amazed, and wonder how...

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first came upon this app, I immediately thought it was like most people search websites and app that I have seen in the past, which are basically all scams, or they want $19.99 to reveal a phone number. I was in a bind and really needed the information this time, so I decided to try it out and hope for the best. Wow, was I ever shocked and surprised when my report came back. They know more about me, and my past than I do myself. Very accurate, detailed, and extensive. They'll even tell you who your neighbors were when you lived at XYZ Address, 20-30 years ago. Every phone number you ever had will be listed, every encounter with the law will be made available, your friends and relatives will be listed, and that is just one of many sections. I don't even know where they get all this information from, but I can tell you it's accurate and extensive.

    The only drawback I see, is it is expensive, and it's a membership deal. I have already told most of my friends and family about this and never recommend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Lakewood, CA,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site helped me find an address I needed for a friend so he could file for divorce that was long overdue. I also used it for myself to find out more on someone that I know it opened my eyes to more than I expected.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    The worst, most inaccurate background report I have ever seen

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Stay away. This has to be THE WORST hands-down background check I have ever seen run on someone. All sorts of extraneous incorrect information, mixing and matching data from multiple persons with similar names, seriously incorrect derogatory information. I would caution you to go nowhere near this service, TruthFinder, and their products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 27, 2018

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi David,

      We’re sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience with the information found in our reports. Since we rely on third-party data sources, we can only display the information that we were provided, which could potentially include incomplete or inaccurate data. Please contact our customer support team at 1-800-699-8081, so we can make things right.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Expensive

    TruthFinder, why did you charge my credit card $3.99 on August 27, 2018, when the same day you also charged me with the monthly fee of $27.78? That cannot be a mistake. It is a fraud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 3, 2018

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Roberto,

      We apologize for any confusion you experienced in regards to our billing system. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-699-8081 so we can make things right.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Not free

    • Denver, CO,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw an ad saying this service was free. After inputting the information and waiting 5-10 minutes, they said my report was ready. To access the report you had to pay approximately $27. I don't call this free.

    I did not get the report, so I don't know if it is worthwhile.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 27, 2018

      Ashley H., Customer Service Manager

      Hi Bob,

      We apologize for any misunderstandings, but we do not claim to be a free service. TruthFinder compiles hundreds of millions of available public records from several different data sources. But we have to pay to access those sources. We also have to pay our expert developers to turn that data into background reports that are easy for you to read and understand. We provide all of the billing details before a customer chooses to sign up for our services, and these terms can also be reviewed at any time in our "Terms of Use."

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1305

Write a Review for TruthFinder!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review