Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Try The World Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Try The World

Overall Rating

3.1

96 Customer Reviews

Summary

Try the World is a subscription-based discovery commerce company that helps you experience foods and cultural items from cities all across the globe. Learn what customers are saying about this brand

Write a Review

Our Personal Experience

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel

Customer Reviews

3.1 Stars out of 96 Reviews
5 Star:37% 4 Star:14% 3 Star:5% 2 Star:8% 1 Star:34%
58% Recommend This Brand
Start your review of Try The World:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Dec 18, 2019

Terrible

By Andrea W., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

Terrible! Ordered a 3-box delivery for my son. He never received the box, so I contacted them (which is also very difficult). They said they would send it and give him another bonus box for the trouble. He said he finally received it two months late. He stated the box was filled with "weird" spices and no instruction on how to use them. Again I contacted them and they emailed back that they would send another shipment (I think their response is a blanketed response they use over and over). They never sent another box! Not the free ones or the two extras they promised. THEY ARE A SCAM! Save your money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Oct 28, 2019

Super disappointed

By Lindsey A., New Hampshire, Verified Reviewer

I’ve been ordering this for a bit and how disappointing! It’s basically a bunch of expiring food thrown into a box. Canceled after getting a bunch of squished baguettes and repeat seasonings...Yuck!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Mar 14, 2019

No variety, duplicates, would not buy again

By Lisa K., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I gave a 3-month snacks subscription box as a gift and this is what they said: "We enjoyed our boxes but didn't like any of the products enough to buy again. Thought there should be more variety instead of duplicates."

I gave a 3-month countries subscription box to a different person and saw the contents and this is what I said: "Hello, subscription cards, waste of space. 90% were spicy products, which was a no go for this couple. 50% from the USA. Lots of duplicates. Was always asking when the subscription box would ship out. The first box took over one month to ship."

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 6, 2018

Scam?

By Dave C., USA, Verified Reviewer

I don’t get pleasure from bashing companies online. I am only writing this to warn other customers of a possible scam.

I ordered a 3-month subscription several months ago and never received anything. I called several times and never got an answer and left multiple messages and didn’t get a response. I sent them an email explaining everything and they ignored my request for a refund and didn’t acknowledge any inconvenience that I had informed them of.

Looks like we won’t be getting our $105.00 back and I am left to wonder if this is a scam as my experience seems to be a regular one, given many, many other online reviews.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 17, 2018

Going out of business, dumping stock

By Clyde, New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

This company is pretty clearly going out of business. Customers accumulating points for shopping in their exclusive shop full of customer favorite items get skunked when all inventory is suddenly pulled.

Expensive, premium "country" theme boxes replaced by mixed boxes of random stuff, including numerous month-to-month repeats.

Items promised to be shareable or at least serving-size replaced with things like 1 fl oz of Balsalmic vinegar, 1 sq cm of chocolate, or a 10g packet of "fancy" salt.

Customer service emails bounce. Online customer service forms receive no reply. Cancellation is impossible; you know this is a contract, you can't quit your subscription. The more loyal you are, the more you get stiffed.

They are clearing out stock, fulfilling subscriptions, and soon enough they will cut their losses and cut you off, once they're out of crummy overstock to dump on you.

This is a sad attempt to continue to make money for a few more months while the business goes belly up, instead of doing the right thing. The executives of this company should be defrocked, blackballed by any future investors, and answerable to the customers they are gypping.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on May 15, 2018

Total ripoff

By David Moolten, Philadelphia, PA, Verified Reviewer

Total scam artists. We ordered the annual subscription. They failed to deliver. After two and a half months, we disputed the charge on our card. They sent one box to placate us and the credit card company. That was the first and last box we ever received. They refuse to respond to emails, have no telephone. We have filed a consumer case against them in their state of doing business but are pessimistic we will ever see our money or God forbid one of their boxes.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 26, 2018

Try The World is a joke

By RML, Midwest, United States, Verified Reviewer

Honestly, this has got to be the worst subscription service I’ve ever tried. First, they advertise boxes themed by country. This is false advertising. What you actually get is a hodgepodge of international products, many of them extremely small or nearly expired. There is no thought that goes into the curation of these boxes. Honestly, Try The World is garbage. Better to go to your local international grocery, blindfold yourself, and throw random products into your basket.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 19, 2018

Poor service, expired products

By Karen W, Mountain View, CA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered a 6-month snack subscription for my niece entering college. The first box took 2 months to arrive - it was so late it came with the next subscription. They didn't notify me that it was going to be late, I had to inquire. Who knows if it would ever have come if I didn't ask? As an apology, they offered a free additional holiday gift box, which never came. I asked about it three more times in the next three months, and they kept saying a makeup box was coming, but did not.

Lastly, the products are old. We received Hemp Oil and Coconut Oil, one which was already expired, and one which was going to expire in the same month. They must not have enough customers to keep the turn around quick enough. Terrible. Don't waste your money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 10, 2018

I used to love it. Now, not so much.

By Melissa J Briscoe, New Hampshire, Verified Reviewer

I've been a monthly box subscriber for over two years (almost since the beginning). I can honestly say that this subscription got me out of my culinary comfort zone, and now I fully enjoy trying recipes from all over the world. I loved looking forward to the boxes, and I can still tell you every item that was in my first box from memory.

Sadly, in June of 2017, my box came delayed. The reason given was the warehouse move. I finally got the box in September. But that meant July, August, September, and October was also delayed. There was one month that I didn't get a box at all, because "they ran out." I did at least get a one-month extension on my subscription because of the missing box.

They used to send emails that the box was coming so you could watch out for it and let the suspense and anticipation built. Now customers are in a communications black hole and have to rely on seeing the box actually arrive to know if it is coming. When I had the delayed boxes, they would tell me that I would receive the box within five days, and two weeks later I would still be asking where it was.

I also noted that the December, January, and February boxes shifted from a single-country format to a mixed country/mixed product format. I recently asked about that, and they claimed that they sent an email to all customers in December of that change. Well, I have EVERY email from them back to my initial subscription setup, and I can tell you that there was no email sent. At least not to me.

The warehouse excuse is starting to wear thin. If the move was going to be such a bear, perhaps a little more time should have been spent on logistics. Also, you can't really use the warehouse excuse for a reason for your complete change in business model. As many others have said, I can buy most of these products in my local stores. Lee Kum Kee sweet and sour sauce? Seriously? I can get that at my local grocery store.

According to the most recent communication with them, I was told their website team was working on getting the store back up online. But they were vague about the expected date of completion.

So I guess that instead of trying the world, the customers are just getting hung out to dry and left in a communication black hole. I hope that the company gets organized again. They had a really good product that was unique. It's not so attractive or unique anymore.

(I wish there was a third option for Bottom Line: "I used to recommend this to friends and strangers all the time. But now, not so much. I would recommend again if they got back to their origins.")

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 24, 2018

No longer any good

By Richard Watters, Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

I used to love Try The World, but things have changed quite a bit.

At one point I had a double subscription and ordered from their online store on top of that. These days boxes are no longer curated or feature a specific country. If you receive a box at all, which it seems many do not judging by what social media comments Try The World hasn't managed to delete, they feature Chinese sauces that can be found in nearly any grocery store, expired items, items not intended for single sale, etc. You can truthfully find better "international" food at Ross, TJ Max, etc.

The packaging has been downgraded from the beautiful collectors items they used to have to just regular ol' mailers. They no longer partner with chefs or really do much of anything.

For about six months they've claimed the issues were from a warehouse move, which granted I see they are no longer shipping from Tennessee like they used to, but six months? As well, that does nothing to explain the huge drop in quality.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Try The World

Jan 26, 2018

Hi Rich,

We're very sorry for any trouble we've caused. We were undergoing a warehouse transition over the past few months, which unfortunately has caused significant delays and issues. We are now settled, however, do not expect any more delays in the future. We are also listening to all of our customers' concerns and are constantly working hard to perfect each months box. Again, apologies for any frustration and inconvenience.

Best,

The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 14, 2017

Wrong box

By Leah Schermetzler, Verified Reviewer

My mom purchased a 3-month subscription of the countries boxes for my husband and I. The box has been received, except it is a Snack Box. I have been trying all day to contact them and none of the three numbers I have found work. And I have not received any emails from them either. I'm hoping they will fix and resolve this issue in a timely manner.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Try The World

Jan 3, 2018

Hi Leah,

We're sorry for any trouble. It looks like you were sent our "November Around The World Countries Box!" This was not our Snack Box. This month's box was more snack heavy than usual, however, next month's box will have more ingredients in it. I hope this helps clarify and apologies for any confusion.

Best,

The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 1-11 of 96

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.