About Try The World

Working directly with expert chefs and sourcing products from local producers in dozens of countries, Try The World’s subscription service enables customers to discover—and shop for—some of the best foods from around the world.

Each Try The World Signature Box includes 7-8 authentic international gourmet items (e.g. cooking ingredients, snacks, drinks, and more), along with a unique Culture Guide featuring stories behind each product and easy-to-follow recipes. In addition, each of the company’s Snack Boxes includes 5 snacks from 5 countries, along with a card describing each product.

Want to purchase more of a specific product? You’ll be able to do just that on Try The World’s website, where you’ll also find additional recipes and exclusive content.

Since writing our original Try The World review, 100+ HighYa readers have chimed in about their experiences, which provided some on-the-ground feedback (we’ll talk more about this shortly). We were also pleased to speak with the company’s co-founders recently, where we learned more about their vision for Try The World, as well as their responses to some of the most common customer feedback.

We’ll cover all this (and more!) here, so you can decide if Try The World is the right choice for you.

How Try The World Works

Similar to Beauty Box 5, Birchbox, Conscious Box, and other discovery commerce websites, Try The World ships different products directly to your door at regular intervals. Unlike these other companies though, Try The World currently focuses only on gourmet foods and cultural items from around the world, which are hand-picked by Try The World’s staff of highly selective team of travelers, curated by celebrity chefs, and produced by artisanal, family-owned companies from around the world.

After signing up for a Try The World Signature subscription (more about this in the Pricing section below), you will receive the current box of the month, which is featured on Try The World’s Our Boxes page. Your first box will ship within 10 days of purchase.

After opening your box, you’ll find that it features 7-8 local gourmet items for you to enjoy (or, 5 snacks if you choose the Snack Box option). In addition to these foods, the included Culture Guide will provide a brief history about the products and how they should be used, as well as recipes that feature the special products included in your box.

Love the products you received? If so, you can buy them individually through Try The World’s online Shop. And as a subscriber, you’ll receive 20% off!

As we mentioned previously, Try The World’s website also features a regularly updated e-magazine that highlights many of the foods they offer, as well as tips and advice.

Every 2 months you’ll receive a new Try the World box (beginning with the Paris Box), which features USFDA approved products from various cities throughout the world, but ones that are otherwise difficult to find in the U.S. These include:

  • Paris – Jams, traditional hot chocolate powder, snacks, and more.
  • Tokyo – Red bean jelly yokan, Morinaga milk caramels, traditional bamboo chopsticks, and more.
  • Rio – Jabuticaba jam, senhor de bonfim wish ribbons, passion fruit tea, and more.
  • Rome – Orange pastille candies, spaghettata mix, Cantuccini biscotti, and more.

How Much Does a Try The World Signature Subscription Cost?

Try The World customers can choose to receive their boxes once per month or once every other month, which are priced as follows:

Receive Boxes Every Month:

  • Pay every month: $19/box, auto-renews every month
  • Pay every 3 months: $54 ($18/box), auto-renews every 3 months (Save 5%)
  • Pay every 6 months: $102 ($17/box), auto-renews every 6 months (Save 11%)
  • Pay every 12 months: $180 ($15/box), auto-renews every 12 months (Save 21%)

Receive Boxes Every 2 Months:

  • Pay every other month: $39/box, auto-renews every other month
  • Pay every 6 months: $105 ($35/box), auto-renews every 6 months (Save 10%)
  • Pay every 12 months: $198 ($33/box), auto-renews every 12 months (Save 15%)

All boxes come with free shipping. However, keep in mind that your subscription will automatically renew when the time comes, although you can cancel, pause, or skip a box any time by logging into your account and clicking the “Manage Subscription” tab. Although this might be the easiest option, you can also speak to a live representative by calling customer service at (855) 841-0303.

Are Customers Happy With Their Try The World Boxes?

To date, many HighYa readers have talked about their experiences with Try The World.

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel

In the past, most negative feedback seemed to revolve around long shipping times (more than one customer claimed their shipment was skipped altogether) along with customer service issues. However, the company has made a tremendous effort to resolve these issues (we’ll go into more detail in the next section), and the reality is that even the largest, most reputable companies will accrue reviews like these at some point. Based on our dealings with the company, we’d have no problem recommending Try The World to others.

In addition, while many customers claimed to have been pleased with the selection and quality of the products in their boxes, others claimed they were “boring” and “not exceptional.”

Our Conversation With Try The World’s Founders

Recently, we had the pleasure of speaking with Try The World’s co-founders, Kat Vorotova, who is originally from Russia, and David Foult, originally from France. The two met several years ago at grad school in NYC, where they learned that they shared a love for food, but also wished they could travel and discover more products.

As a result, Try The World was born to help others in the same position. To fill the niche, Kat and David focused on affordable, enjoyable, delicious, and authentic products from artisanal producers all around the world (which they’re constantly updating), and the idea caught on like wildfire.

In fact, Try The World was such a hit that the budding company went from 1,000 subscribers to 50,000 in the past year alone, leading to some admitted hiccups in the process. However, Kat and David refocused on implementing numerous internal improvements, all aimed at providing ultra-important customer service.

Because of this, Try The World now has a large in-house customer service team at their offices in New York City, who are intimately focused on customer feedback and are constantly improving their model. This includes a 5-hour response time (3 hours for social media), which has skyrocketed the company’s approval rating to 96%.

See Also: How to Choose the Best Subscription Box Services

In the end, Kat and David told us that Try The World is completely focused on customer satisfaction, and will gladly bend over backwards to ensure an excellent customer experience.

What’s the Bottom Line About Try The World?

Whether you’re new to discovery commerce or are a veteran of the subscription box industry, should you sign up for Try The World? By all indications, the company appears to offer unique products that can help you explore different parts of the world without ever leaving your home. However, consider the following before finalizing your subscription:

Unlike many other discovery commerce companies, Try The World doesn’t allow you to customize the products in your box (e.g. vegetarian, gluten free, etc.), or the order in which you’ll receive them. However, if you’d like to purchase products individually, you can easily search through their online Shop by category, such as “All-Natural”, “Dairy Free”, “Gluten-Free”, “Vegan”, and “Vegetarian”. Many of these products seem to be difficult to find in the United States

Finally, although most of Try The World’s customers appear pleased with their products, keep in mind that they’re not the only foodie subscription service in town. Don’t believe us? Try typing “subscription food boxes” into your favorite search engine and watch how many options pop up.

Granted, none of these will offer the same products and services exactly like Try The World, but the point is that you have options.

Bottom line: Although Try The World experienced a couple big speed bumps due to rapid growth (mostly related to customer service), our phone call with Try The World’s founders really helped put the situation into perspective, and went a very long way toward showing us that they’re a legitimate business with a single-minded focus on providing a top-notch customer experience.

Given this, if you’re a foodie, we think it’d be hard to go wrong with Try The World. However, you might want to start with a month-to-month description and try out a few boxes before committing to a longer—and more expensive—plan. After all, if you love it, you can always upgrade later and save on your subscription.

What’d you experience with Try The World? The products? The customer service? Whatever it is, be sure to tell the world about it by writing a review below!

Editor's Disclosure: The Try The World Paris box as shown in the video was sent to HighYa by Try The World free of charge. There was no money/goods exchanged in return for this review and there is no material relationship between HighYa and Try The World. The review in the video reflects the honest opinion of the subject. Click here to learn more.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

87 Consumer Reviews for Try The World

Average Consumer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 36 4 star: 14 3 star: 5 2 star: 7 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 64% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 87
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Wrong box

    My mom purchased a 3-month subscription of the countries boxes for my husband and I. The box has been received, except it is a Snack Box. I have been trying all day to contact them and none of the three numbers I have found work. And I have not received any emails from them either. I'm hoping they will fix and resolve this issue in a timely manner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 3, 2018

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Leah,

      We're sorry for any trouble. It looks like you were sent our "November Around The World Countries Box!" This was not our Snack Box. This month's box was more snack heavy than usual, however, next month's box will have more ingredients in it. I hope this helps clarify and apologies for any confusion.

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    • Jan 4, 2018

      Jennifer McMahon

      Unfortunately, you did receive the correct box. They just switched from a single country theme to a variety, so the December "countries" box was a mix of random snacks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great idea but disappointed

    I initially thought this was a great idea but that was 2 months ago when I first ordered my boxes and have yet to receive them. I have sent multiple emails and it takes a week for them to get back to you. I was finally told I would get my boxes in mid-November and here it is December and still no boxes. It was supposed to be a birthday gift in October and now I’m going to try to make it a Christmas gift. If I still don’t get it in time, then I will give up on them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 6, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Courtney,

      We're very sorry for any trouble that was caused. Unfortunately, we were going through a warehouse transition that proved to be much more difficult than we expected, which caused significant delays. We are a small team and as of now, we get back to our customers within 2-5 business days. We apologize for the wait but we have just responded to your email with an update.

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    • Dec 14, 2017

      Laura and Kyle Brewer

      This company doesn’t follow through with your order and doesn’t respond to emails. Highly disappointed to have paid for a 3-month subscription and not receive a single box.

    • Dec 30, 2017

      Anne Sherako

      So we just received the South Africa box. My teen subscribes to this service. We always enjoy the boxes. This one doesn’t have any recipes or featured a chef. It just has ideas on how to use the products, which takes the fun out of the whole thing.

    • Jan 4, 2018

      Jennifer McMahon

      I also never received my boxes. I was eventually told that they must have gotten lost in transit, even though the shipping company says they never received the boxes. It also seems that a lot of people have had their boxes "lost in transit". I was not sent a replacement box because I'm told they were out of stock and it was not Try The World's fault that the boxes were lost.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Amazing boxes, if you get them

    • Michigan,
    • Nov 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a member for around two years. The boxes were well curated, and the kids loved opening them and trying the recipes and treats. We changed our subscription from bimonthly to monthly.

    Then our September box failed to arrive, and nobody answered our email for a week. After rounds and rounds of excuses, our box did finally arrive, in mid-October, and it was a repeat. We still have not received a November box or any response to email inquiries. Despite all the protestations about "transitions" (um, hire some temps?), I have a feeling the company is struggling financially.

    In addition to the late or missing boxes, the online shop abruptly disappeared without notice, leaving us with a large credit we can no longer use. (It returned, very briefly, but only sold cheese before disappearing again.)

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Went downhill fast, don't waste your money

    I've been a Try The World subscriber for two years, have given many boxes as gifts, and bought items from the shop several times. They used to be great, but they stopped shipping boxes on time in June 2017 and have been claiming the delay is due to a warehouse move since August. They're still accepting new subscribers and outright lie about shipping times if you email them directly. They also recently changed to less secure packaging, so items are now arriving broken.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 8, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Sarah,

      We sincerely apologize for the issues we have caused. Our warehouse transition, unfortunately, is taking longer than expected. This transition has caused some bumps along the way, but we will be shipping all of the delayed boxes and getting back on track. We are hoping that with this new warehouse, we will no longer experience delays or issues in the future as well. Again, apologies.

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team and Try The World

    • Dec 1, 2017

      Eva

      Do not buy a subscription! I got a gift subscription in August and haven't received anything, but excuses and lies about products being shipped when in fact, they haven't.

    • Dec 13, 2017

      Leah Schermetzler

      I was so excited to receive a countries box from my mom for Christmas. Except when I opened it, it was the snack crate. No phone numbers for this company have worked, and I have not heard back from any of the times I have tried to contact them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Exhausted customer

    • California,
    • Oct 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a year-long subscription. The actual boxes are amazing, and I'm thrilled when I get them, more like IF I get them.

    As many customers have mentioned, the Try The World transitioning locations have created numerous customer service issues. Unfortunately, my troubles with the business have started months prior to this company-wide problem. I constantly would receive boxes late. However, when I would email at sayhello@trytheworld.com, I would "magically" get the box within 5 days. Why is it I have to complain in order to receive the service I paid for?

    As for the "moving locations" issue, where do I begin? I have contacted the company multiple times to state that I have not received my boxes. In late September, I mentioned I hadn't received both my August and September boxes. I JUST received my August box, and it's October 18th. What the heck?!

    I am so exhausted with having to jump through hoops and constantly nag the company to follow through on the minimum expectations. I would highly discourage anyone to buy a subscription. Your life will be full of tasty treats paired with constant anxiety.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 23, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Anna,

      We sincerely apologize for any disappointment we have caused you. Our warehouse transition, unfortunately, is taking longer than expected, however, we are working harder than ever to get these boxes out to our customers. We will be shipping all of the delayed boxes and the subscription will go back to a monthly basis once we are caught up. We will ensure that we get your boxes to you, we just ask for your patience during this difficult move. Again, apologies for this frustration.

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Love at first sight!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Love, love, love!

    At first, I fell in love with the Try The World Christmas holiday boxes. I mean, what’s not to love? Italian truffles, Israeli date spread, Taiwanese pineapple cake and many more awesome items won my love at the first hello. They even can be perfect gifts for friends and coworkers, especially since I never have enough time for shopping. I’ve been the biggest fan since.

    Great service, fast shipment, the website is easy; what's not to love?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 30, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Elena,

      Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We hope you get the chance to try this upcoming Holiday Box. Thanks for being our fan!

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    • Jan 4, 2018

      Jennifer McMahon

      I'm curious to know if you are still in love with the company.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bravo, Try The World team!

    I received my Belgium Box as a present for my birthday, and it was so much joy to open it and see Dolfin Belgium chocolate bar among other items! I am a chocolate addict, and this time the chocolate tasted especially heavenly! The peach jam made with beer (who would ever expect such an improbable combination?) was a fusion of two worlds of flavor happily mixed together in a little jar.

    Bravo, curators of the Try The World, for the wonderful treats from Belgium! It felt like I’ve traveled to Europe while never leaving the convenience of my home.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 30, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Anele,

      We're so happy to hear you loved your Belgium Box! The chocolate was definitely one of the favorites in our office. Happy traveling!

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Try The World

    • Augusta, Maine,
    • Sep 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a monthly member for about eight months. I live with my adult daughter. We are both "foodies" and really enjoy creating the suggested recipes included with the country of the month.

    Our Greek Night included the Dolmas, lamb keftedes with tzatziki sauce. Yum!

    We really had fun with the items in the Korea box. One meal was the Somyeon noodles in vegetable broth. The Golden Yuzu Bellini and Yakgwa cookies complimented the meal. A second night, we had the Vegetable Juk (porridge). A touch of the spicy Gochujang wasn't included in the recipe but gave the dish a little oomph.

    So little time and so many more recipes to look forward to creating!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 30, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Ann,

      We love that you have box nights with your daughter! They sound like so much fun. We hope you enjoy the new countries coming your way!

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I love this subscription, and I don't even receive the box!

    • Fairfax, VA,
    • Sep 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this subscription for my in-laws, and with any FANTASTIC company that provides an AMAZING product has a PHENOMENAL customer service, Try The World has the holy trinity when it comes to business, and that's all I have to say about that.

    My in-laws also love the meticulously chosen food stuffed in the boxes. I am good standing with them for a long time now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 30, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Simon,

      Thank you for your kind feedback! We really appreciate it. Also, we hope to keep you in good standing with your in-laws for many months to come!

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Fabulous for gifts

    After getting rave reviews from friends about this service, I decided to try it for my trip to Paris during my honeymoon. It was absolutely FABULOUS! My husband and I travel a lot, both for work and leisure, and it serves as a sort of travel companion, introducing us to all of the new cuisines!

    It's also now become my go-to gift in corporate settings; it's such a unique gift and actually provides the service of making a work trip more rich, informed, and delicious. I LOVE this idea, and it works perfectly for people who travel all the time and want to be well-prepared for every place they visit.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 30, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Elizabeth,

      Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We hope to inspire you with new countries to travel to in future boxes. Happy traveling to you both!

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Sep 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Service is horrible. I paid for six boxes as a gift (12 months, every other month). The recipient only received four total. Items and packaging are fine, but if you never get what you pay for, then the quality of the actual product is worthless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 8, 2017

      Try The World, Try The World Customer Service

      Hi Danielle,

      Thanks for contacting us. I'm sorry you didn't reach out to us sooner regarding this Gift Plan from 2015. We would have been happy to rectify this situation for you! Let us know if you have any further questions at sayhello@trytheworld.com and we'll be happy to help.

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 87

Write a Review for Try The World!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review