Read 95 Try The World Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 36 4 star: 14 3 star: 5 2 star: 8 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 58% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 95
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Great idea, good products, but delays

    • New York, NY,
    • Mar 25, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first went on the site, I thought that it was a really brilliant idea, I love food and traveling, so I thought it would be perfect for me! After subscribing, the wait to receive the box was way too long! I guess they are still a young startup but should be more straightforward about the time to receive boxes. The products in the Venice box were of different qualities. The honey was the best I have ever tasted in my life! It was a bit small but such high quality. Then the rest was pretty good and seemed authentic. I am waiting to receive my next box to see if I am going to stay but I am pretty excited about the box from Morocco.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Not so bad

    The promotion looked pretty good, so I signed up a week and a half ago. When I signed up, they told me that they'll email me when they mail the package. A week later, and no email. So, I started looking online and found this site with fairly bad reviews. So, I decided to cancel. Their web site says that you can cancel 4 business days before they mail the package. Since I haven't gotten any shipping confirmation from them, I emailed their cancel@trytheworld.com email account last weekend telling them that I didn't receive the product and have changed my mind on the subscription. On Monday morning, I got a reply that they usually mail packages 2 weeks after sign-up, apologizing that this was not clear when I ordered. And that she will cancel my subscription and credit my credit card.

    Monday afternoon, I got the first package. Being curious, I opened it. And it was pretty good. Both my husband and my daughter liked the small samples of French food. They told me to keep it.

    On Monday, their credit showed up on my credit card account - not bad. It appears that they have definitely improved on customer service.

    So - the stuff in the package is pretty good, they promptly responded to my email and credited my account. It would have been helpful to have gotten a shipping confirmation, when they actually mailed the package.

    I decided to give them the benefit of the doubt and have emailed them that I want to keep my 6 months subscription. I'll let you know how I feel about packages 2 and 3, but for now, pretty good. And I definitely like the idea.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Avoid - too difficult to cancel subscription

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    Avoid this company! Four attempts to cancel subscription, each time a new hoop to jump through that was not mentioned earlier. I think it's a big scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Great Idea, Bad Follow Through

    • Durham NC,
    • Jun 30, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Kudos for the extraordinary idea of traveling the world via Epicurean delights. However, with up to 60 day delay from the time you pay and delivery, it seems this company has severe cash flow issues, with virtually no customer service.

    They do not send notice when package is sent. No tracking information. So hopefully your package of food won't arrive at your door when you are on vacation for 2 weeks.

    There is no telephone number for contact nor is it easy to receive a response to your email. I have been waiting since June 8, today is June 26, with a where's my package. Charged my account over 30 days ago, so I guess the 60 day delay like the first delivery is in the works. Thumbs down.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • Jul 4, 2015

    I signed up to receive a complimentary box (just pay $5 shipping). I don't know if my experience was different because they didn't try as hard on the promotion, unless this was normal.

    The box is beautiful, the products are fun, but it certainly does not seem worth the high price of $40 per month. Unfortunately, my box did not come with any recipes (so I'm going to have to spend some time researching the products) and history about the products or cultural facts as advertised. Again, maybe they did a cheap box because of the promotion but it seems to me if you wanted to entice customers to keep their subscriptions you would give them the full experience.

    If they lowered the price significantly to about $20 per month or less, I would consider signing up again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Wouldn't recommend

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 30, 2015

    Fun idea, but I could find all the products at Whole Foods or Trader Joe's. I was expecting products straight from Paris and Morocco but, aside from the nice packaging, found products I've either purchased before at Whole Foods, or have seen on the shelves. One of the items was selling at my local Vons. Oh, well.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Good food but not worth the cost.

    • Alabama ,
    • Apr 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Most of the food samples I have received were super yummy. However, the cost for the box is just not on par with what you get.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    The company and its employees are the only ones posting positive reveiws here

    • Jul 24, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Did some deep analysis of the 3, 4 and 5 star reviews and it has become obvious that the company and its employees and friends are posting these comments to make it seem like "real" people are leaving reviews (if they left all 5 stars, it'd seem fake!).

    The product is not worth the money, not even close (I tried it for 4 months / 2 shipments, got expired food, really bad value).

    Look back and see the past couple weeks, and keep watching for a ton of good and semi-good feedback coming on here and Yelp etc. It's all fake. We're onto you, Try the World.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Joined in August and so far, so good.

    I joined in August when they were offering the free France box for subscribing. My first box of the month was Japan. Both the France and Japan boxes arrived together in the same shipment within 10 days of joining. The boxes arrived in excellent condition as well. Along with the food samples, each box included a little booklet about the featured country. The France box contained cookies, teas, fig jam, caramels, mustard, and sea salt. The Japan box contained an Okononiyaki kit, soba noodles, ponzu sauce, caramels, peach gummy candies, and matcha tea. I have liked everything that I have tried so far.

    I made the Okonomiyaki (Japanese griddle cakes) last night for dinner. Some of the ingredients, such as the eggs, cabbage, scallions, bacon, and optional Kewpie mayonnaise and Okonomi sauce, I had to supply myself. I was able to find the mayo and Okonomi sauce on Amazon. So far, so good, but I will have to see how the remaining shipments work out before I can fully judge this company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Try the World Japan - Review

    • Jan 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    After hearing about this from several of my friends, I decided to give Try The World a try. My first box was the one from Japan, and in terms of shipping and delivery I encountered no issues. The box shipped with email confirmation and tracking from UPS. Now onto the actual box review. I think the idea itself is amazing, and the presentation is phenomenal, but the food items themselves can leave something to be desired. I found that the box was lacking in variety and was surprised that a third of the items were not edible right out of the box (i.e. some items require you to cook/prepare). For me personally, I would have preferred if all the items included were of the snack variety. I also didn't feel that the box included enough items, probably due to constricting size of the box and the fact that the cooking items took up the most space. Removing the cooking items would certainly conserve space for other snacks and allow you to include more items that are edible right out of the box. It might also be a good idea to include a unique alcohol sampler from each country.

    Don't get me wrong, the snack items that were in the box were amazing and brought back a lot of memories of Japan. With a few improvements to the food selection and execution, I think Try the World might be next big thing as far as food subscriptions go.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 28, 2016

      Company Response from Try The World

      Thanks for the feedback Brian! Our boxes are more about cooking and creating recipes, but we will definitely have more snack options in the future.


  • 6 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Super fun and yummy

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Feb 3, 2016

    I loved opening my box -- it's so exciting to get new and unusual things I've never tried before! I love the stories and recipes -- though I wish there were more recipes for all of the items in the box. We got the Argentina box, and absolutely loved it. Everything was SUPER delicious, especially the cookies and the chimichurri, which we will be using for a long time. Good mix of sweet stuff and savory stuff, and the tea was a nice addition, though I really only loved one bag of it. The quince was incredible, and they gave a HUGE amount. So much, I'm not actually sure what we'll do with it all, but it was super delicious on toast with some goat cheese. The wine sauce is super sweet, but would go great on the grill as they suggested. We also ordered some stuff off of their store, the tumaca is UNBELIEVABLY good and not very expensive for what it is. Can't wait to put more dulce de leche on ice cream, and we will be buying from their store for a very long time. Really delicious, cool stories, cool foods, interesting perspectives, great service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 95

Write a Review for Try The World!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review