Read 95 Try The World Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 36 4 star: 14 3 star: 5 2 star: 8 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 58% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 95
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great idea but disappointed

    I initially thought this was a great idea but that was 2 months ago when I first ordered my boxes and have yet to receive them. I have sent multiple emails and it takes a week for them to get back to you. I was finally told I would get my boxes in mid-November and here it is December and still no boxes. It was supposed to be a birthday gift in October and now I’m going to try to make it a Christmas gift. If I still don’t get it in time, then I will give up on them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 6, 2017

      Company Response from Try The World

      Hi Courtney,

      We're very sorry for any trouble that was caused. Unfortunately, we were going through a warehouse transition that proved to be much more difficult than we expected, which caused significant delays. We are a small team and as of now, we get back to our customers within 2-5 business days. We apologize for the wait but we have just responded to your email with an update.

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Wrong box

    My mom purchased a 3-month subscription of the countries boxes for my husband and I. The box has been received, except it is a Snack Box. I have been trying all day to contact them and none of the three numbers I have found work. And I have not received any emails from them either. I'm hoping they will fix and resolve this issue in a timely manner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 3, 2018

      Company Response from Try The World

      Hi Leah,

      We're sorry for any trouble. It looks like you were sent our "November Around The World Countries Box!" This was not our Snack Box. This month's box was more snack heavy than usual, however, next month's box will have more ingredients in it. I hope this helps clarify and apologies for any confusion.

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No longer any good

    I used to love Try The World, but things have changed quite a bit.

    At one point I had a double subscription and ordered from their online store on top of that. These days boxes are no longer curated or feature a specific country. If you receive a box at all, which it seems many do not judging by what social media comments Try The World hasn't managed to delete, they feature Chinese sauces that can be found in nearly any grocery store, expired items, items not intended for single sale, etc. You can truthfully find better "international" food at Ross, TJ Max, etc.

    The packaging has been downgraded from the beautiful collectors items they used to have to just regular ol' mailers. They no longer partner with chefs or really do much of anything.

    For about six months they've claimed the issues were from a warehouse move, which granted I see they are no longer shipping from Tennessee like they used to, but six months? As well, that does nothing to explain the huge drop in quality.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 26, 2018

      Company Response from Try The World

      Hi Rich,

      We're very sorry for any trouble we've caused. We were undergoing a warehouse transition over the past few months, which unfortunately has caused significant delays and issues. We are now settled, however, do not expect any more delays in the future. We are also listening to all of our customers' concerns and are constantly working hard to perfect each months box. Again, apologies for any frustration and inconvenience.

      Best,

      The Customer Experience Team at Try The World


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Poor service, expired products

    • Mountain View, CA,
    • Apr 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a 6-month snack subscription for my niece entering college. The first box took 2 months to arrive - it was so late it came with the next subscription. They didn't notify me that it was going to be late, I had to inquire. Who knows if it would ever have come if I didn't ask? As an apology, they offered a free additional holiday gift box, which never came. I asked about it three more times in the next three months, and they kept saying a makeup box was coming, but did not.

    Lastly, the products are old. We received Hemp Oil and Coconut Oil, one which was already expired, and one which was going to expire in the same month. They must not have enough customers to keep the turn around quick enough. Terrible. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Try The World is a joke

    • Midwest, United States,
    • Apr 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Honestly, this has got to be the worst subscription service I’ve ever tried. First, they advertise boxes themed by country. This is false advertising. What you actually get is a hodgepodge of international products, many of them extremely small or nearly expired. There is no thought that goes into the curation of these boxes. Honestly, Try The World is garbage. Better to go to your local international grocery, blindfold yourself, and throw random products into your basket.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Total ripoff

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • May 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Total scam artists. We ordered the annual subscription. They failed to deliver. After two and a half months, we disputed the charge on our card. They sent one box to placate us and the credit card company. That was the first and last box we ever received. They refuse to respond to emails, have no telephone. We have filed a consumer case against them in their state of doing business but are pessimistic we will ever see our money or God forbid one of their boxes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Going out of business, dumping stock

    • New York City, NY,
    • May 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is pretty clearly going out of business. Customers accumulating points for shopping in their exclusive shop full of customer favorite items get skunked when all inventory is suddenly pulled.

    Expensive, premium "country" theme boxes replaced by mixed boxes of random stuff, including numerous month-to-month repeats.

    Items promised to be shareable or at least serving-size replaced with things like 1 fl oz of Balsalmic vinegar, 1 sq cm of chocolate, or a 10g packet of "fancy" salt.

    Customer service emails bounce. Online customer service forms receive no reply. Cancellation is impossible; you know this is a contract, you can't quit your subscription. The more loyal you are, the more you get stiffed.

    They are clearing out stock, fulfilling subscriptions, and soon enough they will cut their losses and cut you off, once they're out of crummy overstock to dump on you.

    This is a sad attempt to continue to make money for a few more months while the business goes belly up, instead of doing the right thing. The executives of this company should be defrocked, blackballed by any future investors, and answerable to the customers they are gypping.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam?

    • USA,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don’t get pleasure from bashing companies online. I am only writing this to warn other customers of a possible scam.

    I ordered a 3-month subscription several months ago and never received anything. I called several times and never got an answer and left multiple messages and didn’t get a response. I sent them an email explaining everything and they ignored my request for a refund and didn’t acknowledge any inconvenience that I had informed them of.

    Looks like we won’t be getting our $105.00 back and I am left to wonder if this is a scam as my experience seems to be a regular one, given many, many other online reviews.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No variety, duplicates, would not buy again

    • North Carolina,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I gave a 3-month snacks subscription box as a gift and this is what they said: "We enjoyed our boxes but didn't like any of the products enough to buy again. Thought there should be more variety instead of duplicates."

    I gave a 3-month countries subscription box to a different person and saw the contents and this is what I said: "Hello, subscription cards, waste of space. 90% were spicy products, which was a no go for this couple. 50% from the USA. Lots of duplicates. Was always asking when the subscription box would ship out. The first box took over one month to ship."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Super disappointed

    • New Hampshire,
    • Oct 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve been ordering this for a bit and how disappointing! It’s basically a bunch of expiring food thrown into a box. Canceled after getting a bunch of squished baguettes and repeat seasonings...Yuck!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • Jul 4, 2015

    I signed up to receive a complimentary box (just pay $5 shipping). I don't know if my experience was different because they didn't try as hard on the promotion, unless this was normal.

    The box is beautiful, the products are fun, but it certainly does not seem worth the high price of $40 per month. Unfortunately, my box did not come with any recipes (so I'm going to have to spend some time researching the products) and history about the products or cultural facts as advertised. Again, maybe they did a cheap box because of the promotion but it seems to me if you wanted to entice customers to keep their subscriptions you would give them the full experience.

    If they lowered the price significantly to about $20 per month or less, I would consider signing up again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 95

Write a Review for Try The World!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review