Read 95 Try The World Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 36 4 star: 14 3 star: 5 2 star: 8 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 58% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 95
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Pretty decent, not exceptional

    • Apr 7, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The products were delivered in a timely fashion, and were reasonably tasty, but my family has severe allergies and every box contained at least one item that we gave away. The lack of customization was very detrimental in that respect. There was a damaged order that was replaced after several weeks, so service wasn't prompt, but it was polite.

    I dislike the auto-renewal, and canceling is proving difficult. Charging your account without a notice is dubious at best.

    I might suggest this to someone with a large disposable income and no food concerns, but sudden charges that cause other things to overdraft is a real concern for most people.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 11, 2016

      Company Response from Try The World

      Hi Rachel, thanks for the feedback. Customization of boxes is a feature we will be working on for future boxes. Canceling can be done from your account page or you can email us at sayhello@trytheworld.com. If you need anything else, please let us know!


  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Let's give this another go!

    • Houston, TX,
    • May 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Try the world reached out to us and resolved all our concerns, and they did it surprisingly quickly. I must have had 8 back and forth emails within the course of about 48 hours. I was told that the customer service department has been expanded and that response time has drastically improved. It certainly seemed that way to us. We are signing back up and giving this another go. Hopefully it works out. As of now, I don't see any reason why it wouldn't. I am updating the original review of 1 star to 4 stars because of their rapid response and attention to detail.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Mar 5, 2016

    Would NOT recommend, Horrible Customer Service

    We signed up for Try the World with the free Paris box offer. With the first box, I emailed Customer Service (CS) and asked for a delayed shipping as I would be out of town. A week later I emailed again. Two weeks after that, I finally received a response that the box had already been shipped. I overlooked the issue as we arrived two days later and found the box on our doorstep. Still excited we referred two people with codes that had been included in the box with promises that we would be rewarded for signing others up. No such luck. I emailed customer service about this issue and about the Paris box that had never been received. They responded a week and a half later that the box was on back order. Yet they were still promoting the free Paris box offer.

    I asked for it to be shipped as soon as it was available. In total, we received 3 boxes before I decided to cancel. We still had not had the issue with the referrals rectified and we still have not received the Paris box. The last email I received said they had shipped the box, but I had never received an email about shipment or a box. They said they would send a replacement box when one was available. That whole conversation spanned for almost three weeks due to Try the World excellent response time.

    The website says 72 hours, If I had ever received an email response from them that fast, it was a miracle. Overall, I would not recommend. It is an awesome idea, but seems to be run by a high school group in their spare time. Prompt has no meaning and neither does integrity with fulfilling promises and obligations, well, unless it is in relation to charging your card or notifying you of a new box you just have to try. I really wanted this to be awesome.

    • Mar 7, 2016

      Company Response from Try The World

      Hey Joshua, we apologize for delays that have happened in the past. We would be happy to send unfulfilled orders asap. Please call us from (10am-6pm M-F EST) (855) 841-0303 or email us at sayhello@trytheworld.com and we can definitely help.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Going out of business, dumping stock

    • New York City, NY,
    • May 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is pretty clearly going out of business. Customers accumulating points for shopping in their exclusive shop full of customer favorite items get skunked when all inventory is suddenly pulled.

    Expensive, premium "country" theme boxes replaced by mixed boxes of random stuff, including numerous month-to-month repeats.

    Items promised to be shareable or at least serving-size replaced with things like 1 fl oz of Balsalmic vinegar, 1 sq cm of chocolate, or a 10g packet of "fancy" salt.

    Customer service emails bounce. Online customer service forms receive no reply. Cancellation is impossible; you know this is a contract, you can't quit your subscription. The more loyal you are, the more you get stiffed.

    They are clearing out stock, fulfilling subscriptions, and soon enough they will cut their losses and cut you off, once they're out of crummy overstock to dump on you.

    This is a sad attempt to continue to make money for a few more months while the business goes belly up, instead of doing the right thing. The executives of this company should be defrocked, blackballed by any future investors, and answerable to the customers they are gypping.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 17 people found this review helpful

    AMAZING PRODUCT & SERVICE!

    • New York,
    • Feb 15, 2015

    Incredible product and service. I just received a box and am in LOVE with what I got. There was seamless delivery and great customer service. I highly recommend Try the World!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 15 people found this review helpful

    It's the real deal.

    • Vancouver WA,
    • Mar 3, 2015

    As a chef and leader of social foodie, I highly recommend this bi-monthly package. We just got the France box and have already used a few things in our recipes. Well worth the 39 bucks every two months.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Nice Experience

    • Austin, Tx,
    • Sep 16, 2015

    First. let me say my Mother absolutely loved the boxes I sent her.

    I ordered a special for Mother's day that was only supposed to be for two boxes, no subscription. I decided to do a cancellation just in case I ended up on a subscription. The cancellation, apparently, didn't go through and I noticed I was charged for a subscription. I contacted customer service right away and explained what had happened. I had a full refund within 48 hours! No hassle or fuss at all.

    I recommend trying them out based on my mom's reaction, just be sure to understand if you are getting yourself into a subscription or not.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Appreciate the variety and trying the tastes of the world

    Good experience for those that like to try a little bit of the world from their own armchairs but don't have the ability or means to visit those places first hand.

    My girlfriend gifted me a subscription to Try the World and I've appreciated getting to try little nibbles of the world since I haven't recently been able to get to these exotic places myself due to work. So trying the cuisines and tastes is certainly a part of the amazing experience of traveling and they've offered me a great substitute until the time when I can get back on the road and in the air!

    Also, just love the Spanish crumble cake "Ines Rosales" I had. If you get a chance to try, wow!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Amazing products and cute packaging

    • Boston, MA,
    • Nov 18, 2015

    Had a three month subscription and received the Argentina, Morocco and Paris boxes. They are such a nice surprise every month. I love everything from the packaging to the descriptions they put in with the products. When I travel, I like to buy local snacks and cooking ingredients. This is just perfect because I get to sample things in smaller quantity without taking the risk of having lugging it on the plane. Perfect cure for my travel bug and just waiting for them to add more countries on the list.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    My box made me happy

    • New York, NY,
    • Jan 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently got the Holiday Box from Try the World, which contained an item from many different countries (instead of being focused on one location). I really enjoyed the spread of different types of items (not just limited to snacks or cooking ingredients). It's obvious how much thought goes into picking each item - you don't need to be a worldly traveler or a foodie to appreciate this box. The only downside is that it's hard/impossible to find these snacks in my local grocery store once I'm hooked!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Surprising, Delicious, Well Packaged

    • New Jersey ,
    • Jan 9, 2015

    My wife got me a subscription for my birthday, and so far we've had a pleasurable experience. We have tried Blue Apron in the past, but this box seems to be more versatile – you can use the product in many meal combinations. There are a lot of spreads, jams, oils, spices, and so on, so it really gives us a kick with many meals.

    The packaging is beautiful, and we got our boxes on time. Also, we have had good experience asking for a change in delivery date when we went on vacation. Michael from their live chat was accommodating (as expected from a subscription box company.)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Thank you Try The World

    • New Jersey,
    • Mar 12, 2015

    I want to say a big thank you to the TryTheWorld.com team! It's an excellent product with a delicious taste. Try The World refers to people who would love to travel but don't do it as often as they wanted to and enjoy getting a taste of a dream destination. It is a wonderful idea to give such a pleasure to people.

    However, I have to say, I am a very well traveled person and everywhere month when I receive packages reflect the different countries where I have been brings me a lot of good memories.

    Truly, I am waiting for every package because there's is always an intrigue there.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 95

Write a Review for Try The World!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review