About Turo

You’ve always dreamed of cruising Route 66 — just not in a standard sedan. Enter Turo: This peer-to-peer carsharing service is kind of like AirBnb, except instead of allowing hosts to offer spare rooms, you can transform your idling assets into an earning machine.

For folks who are in need of wheels, Turo works to differentiate itself from the standard car rental service by promising you your pick of the lot. Whether it's an F-150 truck to help out on moving day, a Tesla for a luxurious weekend away, or a classic VW bus for a picture-perfect road trip, Turo claims to help travelers rent the car and own the adventure.

However, anyone who’s ever rented a car the knows the process comes with its fair share of hoops. Who hasn’t fretted over whether or not to buy full coverage or wondered if they missed a scratch during the initial walk around?

Let’s take a closer look to see if Turo really offers enough support to hand over keys or get you into the driver’s seat.

How To Rent a Car With Turo

With a presence in over 2,500 cities and 300 airports, the chances are that there’s an opportunity to rent with Turo wherever you’re traveling stateside.

Why would you choose Turo? They claim to offer:

  • Choice: Hundreds of unique cars for every occasion and every budget.
  • Value: The car you want, when and where you want it, at up to 30% less than traditional agencies.
  • Accessibility: The chance to book cars from home or on the go.

Feeling revved up? Here’s how Turo works.

First, you’ll need to sign up for Turo with Facebook, Google, or your email. They need to confirm your identity and eligibility so you can become an approved driver, so you might want to take this step before arriving.

Using either Turo’s app or their website, you enter your travel dates and location for locally owned cars. Once you find a set of wheels you like, you’ll have to request to rent it. The owner can either confirm or decline your request within eight hours. However, some vehicles are available immediately, thanks to a “Book Instantly” badge.

Turo claims that picking up your rental is easy, promising that many owners will deliver their vehicle to you. More so, Turo claims all you have to do is “walk around the car, show them your license, grab the keys, and drive off into the sunset.”

When you’re done? Replace the gas you’ve used, do-si-do one more walk around, and hand over the keys before planning your next adventure.

Your Responsibilities As a Turo Renter

Turo doesn’t require you to have your own insurance. Instead, they offer renters three choices to cover their physical damage obligations:

  • “Premium” Package: The renter’s out-of-pocket exposure is limited to payment of a deductible of $500. When damage is reported, the renter will be charged $500. If the total costs are less than $500, the renter will be refunded the difference.
  • Basic” Package: The renter’s out-of-pocket exposure is limited to a payment of a deductible of $3000 under the same structure described in the Premium package.
  • “Decline Coverage” Package: The renter’s financial responsibility is essentially unlimited, and is bounded only by the actual cash value of the car, plus all related costs. This means that if the car is lost, stolen, or damaged so extensively that the expected cost of repairs exceeds 75% of the actual cash value, the renter is responsible to pay the entire actual cash value of the car.

Those considering renting with Turo are encouraged to view their entire explanation of insurance and protection provisions here. Additionally, if you already have auto insurance, you’re generally covered for any physical damage or liability claims that you’re responsible for — even if you don’t own the vehicle. Of course, you should always check with your carrier before renting a car.

Note that because Turo isn’t considered a valid car rental service by many credit card companies, the coverage you might normally expect from your Visa or Mastercard may not apply.

Fine print aside, what responsibilities does a Turo renter really take on?

Much like AirBnb or Uber, Turo is based on the trust implicit in today’s growing sharing economy. Basically: You break it, you pay for it.

That means that if your Turo rental gets a flat tire, you’re responsible for fixing it — unless you can prove that the flat is the result of a defect or preexisting excessive wear.

It also means that renters are encouraged to get photo-happy with tons of “before” pics when getting the keys, since you can be held responsible for any pre-existing damage that wasn’t documented at the start of your trip.

Again, we’re assuming you’re not here to read through a thorough rundown of Turo’s fine print. So, if you’re considering car sharing through their service, we recommend studying their coverage FAQs before deciding if the service is right for you.

How To Share Your Car With Turo

Is your car collecting dust? Turo claims that a car with a market value of $18,000 could earn an owner $5,781 over 15 days of sharing per month. Sure, that estimate is averaged over a year, but Turo says they have the data to back it up.

If that potential extra income caught your attention, here’s the three ways Turo lets you earn:

  • Local pickup: You can enjoy the convenience of renting your car right out of your own driveway.
  • Deliver your car: Or earn even more by meeting guests at nearby airports and other local locations.
  • Park and earn: Drivers willing to leave their car at San Francisco (SFO) and Los Angeles (LAX) airports for two weeks at a time can earn at least a guaranteed extra $425 a month.

How it works is fairly straightforward: You create a listing for your spare car, respond to requests, meet at your chosen location, then “kick back and earn.”

Of course, Turo’s claims of easy pocket cash sounds hunky dory. But, what happens if someone takes a wrong turn into Risky Business territory with your immaculately maintained pride and joy?

Turo offers car owners coverage with a $1 million insurance policy. This includes protection against physical damage up to your car’s actual cash value for collision and most “comprehensive” causes, including theft.

This is good, because most personal lines auto insurance companies specifically exclude livery and rentals from coverage. And, if they find out you’re regularly renting your car, it can be grounds for terminating your policy—a decision that could come back to haunt you when you’re shopping around for replacement coverage (most applications ask, “Has your coverage ever been canceled or declined for underwriting reasons?”).

Heck, Turo even offers you up to $30 a day should your car get into an accident while being rented out — plus the promise that they’ll be there to guide you every step of the way.

But, what about the legality of renting out your car? Some might find Turo’s answer less reassuring. Essentially, there’s no law against doing so, but this probably wouldn’t be a risk that most standard personal lines auto carriers would knowingly insure. Turo leaves the final liability resting on your shoulders.

What Are People Saying About Turo?

Turo has a little under 700 Yelp reviews from users in their two main hubs, San Francisco and Los Angeles. In both locations, Turo averages four out of five stars.

However, that isn’t to say that those who’ve used Turo don’t have their fair share of negative feedback. In fact, if you look at Turo’s Los Angeles reviews, it’s a wonder that they scraped above a single star, given that the first page is almost exclusively complaints.

Bad reviews almost exclusively revolve around poor experiences with Turo’s customer service. Here are some highlights:

  • Johnny R. (12/22/15): Owner states that his car was returned with damage and that Turo refused to cover repairs.
  • Paul K. (1/26/16) Renter states that he was charged for cleaning when it wasn’t needed and he was left with an overall impression that Turo squeezes pennies out at every opportunity.
  • Michael C. (11/18/2015) Renter states that he used Turo without a problem, but found his account put on hold afterward and couldn’t reach customer service for an answer — up to seven days later.

Those reviews aren’t cherry picked, either — they’re one after another on page one of Turo’s Los Angeles Yelp page.

Should You Use Turo For Car Sharing?

On one hand, Wired points out that the horror stories we used to associate with peer-to-peer sharing are becoming much less prevalent. “We now worry about Airbnb’s effect on real-estate markets, or whether Uber has undue influence over local governments.”

However, sharing a car comes with far more liabilities than renting out a spare apartment!

While Turo’s concept sounds great, reviews give a solid impression that they have a few more kinks to iron out before providing a desirable service.

For owners considering sharing, realize that it’s not just the market value of your vehicle that you’re putting on the line. Despite their catchy messaging and fun-for-all attitude, it appears that they skirt over some of the more serious legal ramifications of sharing your car.

What if the driver seriously injures or, heaven forbid, kills someone in an accident? What if they drive drunk? A 1 million policy doesn’t begin to cover some of those worst-case scenarios, and Turo’s it’s-up-to-you attitude regarding legalities isn’t very reassuring.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 633 Turo Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 442 4 star: 35 3 star: 6 2 star: 16 1 star:  134
Bottom Line: 76% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 633
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Business trip in San Francisco

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jun 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I travel often for work and I find myself many a time in different states with a need for an automobile. I have used Turo on a number of occasions and honestly believe it is so much superior to renting cars from traditional places like Hertz or Avis. To me, it is really exciting to research the number and variety of automobiles to choose from. I especially enjoy leasing high-end cars that are available. The price range is for the individual to choose, meaning just how low or how high you want to go is strictly up to the individual. I am so grateful that this service has been available into many states that I travel to. If you going on a business trip or a vacation I need a car I highly recommend Turo, the experience has always been positive for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Rented car for daughter's prom

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was a great experience, it was easy and convenient Duece was very informative with directions and the pick-up and drop off location was perfect. Turo is great because I needed a car for my daughter's prom and the car I rented was perfect!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great app

    • New York,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Love this app because it's very convenient and affordable. The only thing I suggest is that they have some sort of regulation because you don't really know what type of car you are renting until you get it. I've rented three times from Turo and one of the cars was honestly a death trap (doors didn't lock, cockroaches, bad breaks, etc.). Turo needs a place that inspects these cars or they’ll be looking at a lawsuit soon.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Delivery fee

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was an easy process to request the car rental. There was a $100 delivery fee that was indicated as refundable, then at the end of the trip, it ended up being as a non-refundable fee. I called the customer service support and they stated that it is not refundable. They asked for evidence to prove that it was stated as a refundable fee, but I did not have a screenshot of that. So I ended up paying an extra $100 on top of the rental cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Turo review

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have owned a 2007 C7, but after driving the 2014 Stingray, it took my driving experience to a whole new level. I loved the drive time and truly enjoyed being in the moment. This was a birthday present from my daughters and it was definitely a joy and pleasure to drive.

    I will say that a little more attention should have been given to detailing the car prior to pick up, as the car was not clean, the inside windows were very dirty, and all four tires were way overinflated. All in all, it was a very good ride and I would recommend Turo to others.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great car hire company

    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love Turo, they are much cheaper than car hire companies and also have good customers. I use them every time I come to LA. It's like Airbnb for cars. You search your location and the amount of money you want to spend per day and then choose the car you want. There are some people who pick up and deliver the car for free.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great product to use!

    • Colorado,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Aside from the initial approval process, the app and Turo service were amazing and made for a wonderful experience on my vacation. I am already planning on using this again in the very near future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Couldn’t have gone any better.

    • Maui, HI,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was the first time I had used Turo.

    My car was ready and clean as it could be sitting 100 yards from baggage claim. The car worked flawlessly all week and the cool factor was off the charts. Thank you for a great first experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Turo is a great service but the app does not work properly

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used Turo 30 times and all of the rentals have been great. I have met some very nice people and have been able to drive some great cars. I like everything about Turo except the app.

    The Turo app used to function well, but recently, there are many problems with the app and it does not function properly and is very frustrating.

    When you try to log in, it does not take you to your account on a consistent basis and you can't reach the start trip, or end trip screens. You used to be able to load all of your pictures at one time and that function no longer works.

    The app is just plain terrible and needs to be fixed. I used to recommend Turo to everyone, but I now tell them not to use it because the app is too frustrating. I am a tech person and I can tell you that your systems team is incompetent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Good from afar, far from good

    • Boston, MA,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Car outside was very dirty and so was the inside. I had to pick up a client and did not have any time to clean it; was very disappointing. The car itself drove fine. I do not think I can use a rental car system where there are no quality standards. I received a lot of unnecessary emails basically stalking me that my rental car was coming to an end. The renter told me that I needed to send pictures of the dirty car and then he said through the app. It was too much of a hassle to bring the car back an forth for the amount of money I paid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Rental for a week

    • Michigan,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had such a great experience with Turo. The process was really easy and I will never go back to Enterprise or Hertz. I was able to extend my time easily and it made life simple. Even dropping off the vehicle was a breeze. I will definitely recommend Turo to friends and family and when I am in need of a rental I will be using this app again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 633

Write a Review for Turo!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review