About Turo

You’ve always dreamed of cruising Route 66 — just not in a standard sedan. Enter Turo: This peer-to-peer carsharing service is kind of like AirBnb, except instead of allowing hosts to offer spare rooms, you can transform your idling assets into an earning machine.

For folks who are in need of wheels, Turo works to differentiate itself from the standard car rental service by promising you your pick of the lot. Whether it's an F-150 truck to help out on moving day, a Tesla for a luxurious weekend away, or a classic VW bus for a picture-perfect road trip, Turo claims to help travelers rent the car and own the adventure.

However, anyone who’s ever rented a car the knows the process comes with its fair share of hoops. Who hasn’t fretted over whether or not to buy full coverage or wondered if they missed a scratch during the initial walk around?

Let’s take a closer look to see if Turo really offers enough support to hand over keys or get you into the driver’s seat.

How To Rent a Car With Turo

With a presence in over 2,500 cities and 300 airports, the chances are that there’s an opportunity to rent with Turo wherever you’re traveling stateside.

Why would you choose Turo? They claim to offer:

  • Choice: Hundreds of unique cars for every occasion and every budget.
  • Value: The car you want, when and where you want it, at up to 30% less than traditional agencies.
  • Accessibility: The chance to book cars from home or on the go.

Feeling revved up? Here’s how Turo works.

First, you’ll need to sign up for Turo with Facebook, Google, or your email. They need to confirm your identity and eligibility so you can become an approved driver, so you might want to take this step before arriving.

Using either Turo’s app or their website, you enter your travel dates and location for locally owned cars. Once you find a set of wheels you like, you’ll have to request to rent it. The owner can either confirm or decline your request within eight hours. However, some vehicles are available immediately, thanks to a “Book Instantly” badge.

Turo claims that picking up your rental is easy, promising that many owners will deliver their vehicle to you. More so, Turo claims all you have to do is “walk around the car, show them your license, grab the keys, and drive off into the sunset.”

When you’re done? Replace the gas you’ve used, do-si-do one more walk around, and hand over the keys before planning your next adventure.

Your Responsibilities As a Turo Renter

Turo doesn’t require you to have your own insurance. Instead, they offer renters three choices to cover their physical damage obligations:

  • “Premium” Package: The renter’s out-of-pocket exposure is limited to payment of a deductible of $500. When damage is reported, the renter will be charged $500. If the total costs are less than $500, the renter will be refunded the difference.
  • Basic” Package: The renter’s out-of-pocket exposure is limited to a payment of a deductible of $3000 under the same structure described in the Premium package.
  • “Decline Coverage” Package: The renter’s financial responsibility is essentially unlimited, and is bounded only by the actual cash value of the car, plus all related costs. This means that if the car is lost, stolen, or damaged so extensively that the expected cost of repairs exceeds 75% of the actual cash value, the renter is responsible to pay the entire actual cash value of the car.

Those considering renting with Turo are encouraged to view their entire explanation of insurance and protection provisions here. Additionally, if you already have auto insurance, you’re generally covered for any physical damage or liability claims that you’re responsible for — even if you don’t own the vehicle. Of course, you should always check with your carrier before renting a car.

Note that because Turo isn’t considered a valid car rental service by many credit card companies, the coverage you might normally expect from your Visa or Mastercard may not apply.

Fine print aside, what responsibilities does a Turo renter really take on?

Much like AirBnb or Uber, Turo is based on the trust implicit in today’s growing sharing economy. Basically: You break it, you pay for it.

That means that if your Turo rental gets a flat tire, you’re responsible for fixing it — unless you can prove that the flat is the result of a defect or preexisting excessive wear.

It also means that renters are encouraged to get photo-happy with tons of “before” pics when getting the keys, since you can be held responsible for any pre-existing damage that wasn’t documented at the start of your trip.

Again, we’re assuming you’re not here to read through a thorough rundown of Turo’s fine print. So, if you’re considering car sharing through their service, we recommend studying their coverage FAQs before deciding if the service is right for you.

How To Share Your Car With Turo

Is your car collecting dust? Turo claims that a car with a market value of $18,000 could earn an owner $5,781 over 15 days of sharing per month. Sure, that estimate is averaged over a year, but Turo says they have the data to back it up.

If that potential extra income caught your attention, here’s the three ways Turo lets you earn:

  • Local pickup: You can enjoy the convenience of renting your car right out of your own driveway.
  • Deliver your car: Or earn even more by meeting guests at nearby airports and other local locations.
  • Park and earn: Drivers willing to leave their car at San Francisco (SFO) and Los Angeles (LAX) airports for two weeks at a time can earn at least a guaranteed extra $425 a month.

How it works is fairly straightforward: You create a listing for your spare car, respond to requests, meet at your chosen location, then “kick back and earn.”

Of course, Turo’s claims of easy pocket cash sounds hunky dory. But, what happens if someone takes a wrong turn into Risky Business territory with your immaculately maintained pride and joy?

Turo offers car owners coverage with a $1 million insurance policy. This includes protection against physical damage up to your car’s actual cash value for collision and most “comprehensive” causes, including theft.

This is good, because most personal lines auto insurance companies specifically exclude livery and rentals from coverage. And, if they find out you’re regularly renting your car, it can be grounds for terminating your policy—a decision that could come back to haunt you when you’re shopping around for replacement coverage (most applications ask, “Has your coverage ever been canceled or declined for underwriting reasons?”).

Heck, Turo even offers you up to $30 a day should your car get into an accident while being rented out — plus the promise that they’ll be there to guide you every step of the way.

But, what about the legality of renting out your car? Some might find Turo’s answer less reassuring. Essentially, there’s no law against doing so, but this probably wouldn’t be a risk that most standard personal lines auto carriers would knowingly insure. Turo leaves the final liability resting on your shoulders.

What Are People Saying About Turo?

Turo has a little under 700 Yelp reviews from users in their two main hubs, San Francisco and Los Angeles. In both locations, Turo averages four out of five stars.

However, that isn’t to say that those who’ve used Turo don’t have their fair share of negative feedback. In fact, if you look at Turo’s Los Angeles reviews, it’s a wonder that they scraped above a single star, given that the first page is almost exclusively complaints.

Bad reviews almost exclusively revolve around poor experiences with Turo’s customer service. Here are some highlights:

  • Johnny R. (12/22/15): Owner states that his car was returned with damage and that Turo refused to cover repairs.
  • Paul K. (1/26/16) Renter states that he was charged for cleaning when it wasn’t needed and he was left with an overall impression that Turo squeezes pennies out at every opportunity.
  • Michael C. (11/18/2015) Renter states that he used Turo without a problem, but found his account put on hold afterward and couldn’t reach customer service for an answer — up to seven days later.

Those reviews aren’t cherry picked, either — they’re one after another on page one of Turo’s Los Angeles Yelp page.

Should You Use Turo For Car Sharing?

On one hand, Wired points out that the horror stories we used to associate with peer-to-peer sharing are becoming much less prevalent. “We now worry about Airbnb’s effect on real-estate markets, or whether Uber has undue influence over local governments.”

However, sharing a car comes with far more liabilities than renting out a spare apartment!

While Turo’s concept sounds great, reviews give a solid impression that they have a few more kinks to iron out before providing a desirable service.

For owners considering sharing, realize that it’s not just the market value of your vehicle that you’re putting on the line. Despite their catchy messaging and fun-for-all attitude, it appears that they skirt over some of the more serious legal ramifications of sharing your car.

What if the driver seriously injures or, heaven forbid, kills someone in an accident? What if they drive drunk? A 1 million policy doesn’t begin to cover some of those worst-case scenarios, and Turo’s it’s-up-to-you attitude regarding legalities isn’t very reassuring.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

307 Consumer Reviews for Turo

Average Consumer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 181 4 star: 9 3 star: 2 2 star: 6 1 star:  109
Bottom Line: 63% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 307
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Great service

    • Greenville, SC,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very quick and easy to rent a car. The app is very user-friendly, especially with cars labeled "Book Instantly." Almost feels like you're ordering off Amazon or eBay.

    The car owner I dealt with was awesome, no issues what so ever. I will definitely be using this app more often.

    Also! The underage fee is way cheaper than going through regular rental car companies. So for those under 25 years of age, I highly recommend you give this app a try.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Fabulous

    A convenient and cost effective alternative to renting from established car rental companies. Option to rent unique cars not typically available. Competitive pricing with flexibility on the duration of the rental. Worth trying!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great experience, and super easy

    • Norfolk, VA,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Turo was great, wow, I have never had an easier time renting a nice vehicle with no wait and with no hassle. My wife, son, and myself have all rented from Turo and I do not believe I will ever use another rental service if I did not have too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Surprised

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My son recommended this app to me. He used Turo in Oahu, Hawaii, and was very pleased with the service. I was skeptical, coming from the old school rental companies. In the end, everything was easy to use on the app, and the car was exactly what I expected. The gentleman who owned the car could not have been nicer. I will use this service again and recommend it. Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awesome Turo Jeep experience

    • Austin, TX,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had a blast in our lifted Jeep Wrangler we rented on Turo. My 12-year-old nephew loved it! The owner met me at the airport and was friendly and cool. I feel like I made a new friend in the process.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • A good ride, but a tight fit

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently used Turo to acquire a vehicle for a 6-day trip in south-central Michigan. The 2011 Chevrolet Cruze performed very well, allowing me to regain my stick shift experience with one problem. The considerate host failed to explain how to get the car in reverse.

    A slip ring on the shift lever must be lifted with the fingers before the car can be reversed. I spent several anxious minutes pinned against a rest stop curb. A quick call to the host saved the day and solved my dilemma.

    My other problem is more personal. Being a man of some girth, the compact size of the Cruze just didn't fit. Despite trying to adjust the seat in many positions, I found myself striking my head on the door frame no matter what body configuration I adopted.

    The remote pickup and delivery system seemed a little onerous, filled with selfies, texts, calls and other instructions, plus the need to pay parking lot fees not noted in the sales pitch.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great service as both a Host and Guest

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a host on Turo for about 4 months and have been pleased with the results and the quality of guests who have rented my vehicle. I recently was a guest on a trip and received excellent service as well. Anytime I needed to contact Turo support, they were responsive and resolved my issue quickly. I want to keep growing and learning with the company and stick through the changes that have been made and will be made in the future to improve the user experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • A pleasant experience

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed my trip. I rented a Toyota Camry from Brittany Young. I must say it was a pleasant experience. She was easy to keep in contact with, and she would respond quickly to messages. I would rent from her again. I would also use the Turo app again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Makes the daily traveling at your trip destination convenient.

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used Turo multiple times; it is very convenient to be able to just have one app/service for renting a vehicle no matter where I am currently traveling.

    I strongly dislike having to fill out paperwork, compare prices, and pretty much the entire airport car rental agency experience.

    The Turo app/website is simple to use, puts all the information you need right in front of you, and makes sure you are taken care of.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awesome experience!

    • East Hartford, CT,
    • Oct 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Turo helped me find the perfect car for my niece's Sweet Sixteen, and it was an amazing night we will never forget, especially when we arrived at the party with style. It was epic! Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Turo is terrific!

    • Appleton, WI,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My four young adult children and I were planning our first trip to Alaska. We were going to need a rental car. Ugh. Turo showed up in my random search. I was intrigued. We had stopped staying at hotels long ago and LOVE using Airbnb or VRBO, which allows us to rent rooms in a home or the entire home. Traveling with a family became SO MUCH BETTER! We have never had a bad experience thru Airbnb or VRBO. But, just like when we used Airbnb/VRBO for the first time, I was nervous.

    The vehicles offered on Turo have more personality than those at the regular rental places. The prices were comparable for the type of vehicle we needed. Then each of us signed up for Turo and ALL OF US were approved to drive at NO EXTRA charge (including two 23-year-old guys)! The nervousness I felt was replaced with excitement.

    We contacted the owner of a Jeep to rent. He was quick to respond and very helpful. Our entire experience from start to finish was smooth and uncomplicated. We will be using Turo again AND recommending it to all our family and friends...and strangers (people in WI strike up a conversation with anyone within talking distance)!

    Thank you, Chris (owner of the Jeep)! Thank you, Turo! Our Alaska adventure was enhanced because of you both!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 307

Write a Review for Turo!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review