About Turo

You’ve always dreamed of cruising Route 66 — just not in a standard sedan. Enter Turo: This peer-to-peer carsharing service is kind of like AirBnb, except instead of allowing hosts to offer spare rooms, you can transform your idling assets into an earning machine.

For folks who are in need of wheels, Turo works to differentiate itself from the standard car rental service by promising you your pick of the lot. Whether it's an F-150 truck to help out on moving day, a Tesla for a luxurious weekend away, or a classic VW bus for a picture-perfect road trip, Turo claims to help travelers rent the car and own the adventure.

However, anyone who’s ever rented a car the knows the process comes with its fair share of hoops. Who hasn’t fretted over whether or not to buy full coverage or wondered if they missed a scratch during the initial walk around?

Let’s take a closer look to see if Turo really offers enough support to hand over keys or get you into the driver’s seat.

How To Rent a Car With Turo

With a presence in over 2,500 cities and 300 airports, the chances are that there’s an opportunity to rent with Turo wherever you’re traveling stateside.

Why would you choose Turo? They claim to offer:

  • Choice: Hundreds of unique cars for every occasion and every budget.
  • Value: The car you want, when and where you want it, at up to 30% less than traditional agencies.
  • Accessibility: The chance to book cars from home or on the go.

Feeling revved up? Here’s how Turo works.

First, you’ll need to sign up for Turo with Facebook, Google, or your email. They need to confirm your identity and eligibility so you can become an approved driver, so you might want to take this step before arriving.

Using either Turo’s app or their website, you enter your travel dates and location for locally owned cars. Once you find a set of wheels you like, you’ll have to request to rent it. The owner can either confirm or decline your request within eight hours. However, some vehicles are available immediately, thanks to a “Book Instantly” badge.

Turo claims that picking up your rental is easy, promising that many owners will deliver their vehicle to you. More so, Turo claims all you have to do is “walk around the car, show them your license, grab the keys, and drive off into the sunset.”

When you’re done? Replace the gas you’ve used, do-si-do one more walk around, and hand over the keys before planning your next adventure.

Your Responsibilities As a Turo Renter

Turo doesn’t require you to have your own insurance. Instead, they offer renters three choices to cover their physical damage obligations:

  • “Premium” Package: The renter’s out-of-pocket exposure is limited to payment of a deductible of $500. When damage is reported, the renter will be charged $500. If the total costs are less than $500, the renter will be refunded the difference.
  • Basic” Package: The renter’s out-of-pocket exposure is limited to a payment of a deductible of $3000 under the same structure described in the Premium package.
  • “Decline Coverage” Package: The renter’s financial responsibility is essentially unlimited, and is bounded only by the actual cash value of the car, plus all related costs. This means that if the car is lost, stolen, or damaged so extensively that the expected cost of repairs exceeds 75% of the actual cash value, the renter is responsible to pay the entire actual cash value of the car.

Those considering renting with Turo are encouraged to view their entire explanation of insurance and protection provisions here. Additionally, if you already have auto insurance, you’re generally covered for any physical damage or liability claims that you’re responsible for — even if you don’t own the vehicle. Of course, you should always check with your carrier before renting a car.

Note that because Turo isn’t considered a valid car rental service by many credit card companies, the coverage you might normally expect from your Visa or Mastercard may not apply.

Fine print aside, what responsibilities does a Turo renter really take on?

Much like AirBnb or Uber, Turo is based on the trust implicit in today’s growing sharing economy. Basically: You break it, you pay for it.

That means that if your Turo rental gets a flat tire, you’re responsible for fixing it — unless you can prove that the flat is the result of a defect or preexisting excessive wear.

It also means that renters are encouraged to get photo-happy with tons of “before” pics when getting the keys, since you can be held responsible for any pre-existing damage that wasn’t documented at the start of your trip.

Again, we’re assuming you’re not here to read through a thorough rundown of Turo’s fine print. So, if you’re considering car sharing through their service, we recommend studying their coverage FAQs before deciding if the service is right for you.

How To Share Your Car With Turo

Is your car collecting dust? Turo claims that a car with a market value of $18,000 could earn an owner $5,781 over 15 days of sharing per month. Sure, that estimate is averaged over a year, but Turo says they have the data to back it up.

If that potential extra income caught your attention, here’s the three ways Turo lets you earn:

  • Local pickup: You can enjoy the convenience of renting your car right out of your own driveway.
  • Deliver your car: Or earn even more by meeting guests at nearby airports and other local locations.
  • Park and earn: Drivers willing to leave their car at San Francisco (SFO) and Los Angeles (LAX) airports for two weeks at a time can earn at least a guaranteed extra $425 a month.

How it works is fairly straightforward: You create a listing for your spare car, respond to requests, meet at your chosen location, then “kick back and earn.”

Of course, Turo’s claims of easy pocket cash sounds hunky dory. But, what happens if someone takes a wrong turn into Risky Business territory with your immaculately maintained pride and joy?

Turo offers car owners coverage with a $1 million insurance policy. This includes protection against physical damage up to your car’s actual cash value for collision and most “comprehensive” causes, including theft.

This is good, because most personal lines auto insurance companies specifically exclude livery and rentals from coverage. And, if they find out you’re regularly renting your car, it can be grounds for terminating your policy—a decision that could come back to haunt you when you’re shopping around for replacement coverage (most applications ask, “Has your coverage ever been canceled or declined for underwriting reasons?”).

Heck, Turo even offers you up to $30 a day should your car get into an accident while being rented out — plus the promise that they’ll be there to guide you every step of the way.

But, what about the legality of renting out your car? Some might find Turo’s answer less reassuring. Essentially, there’s no law against doing so, but this probably wouldn’t be a risk that most standard personal lines auto carriers would knowingly insure. Turo leaves the final liability resting on your shoulders.

What Are People Saying About Turo?

Turo has a little under 700 Yelp reviews from users in their two main hubs, San Francisco and Los Angeles. In both locations, Turo averages four out of five stars.

However, that isn’t to say that those who’ve used Turo don’t have their fair share of negative feedback. In fact, if you look at Turo’s Los Angeles reviews, it’s a wonder that they scraped above a single star, given that the first page is almost exclusively complaints.

Bad reviews almost exclusively revolve around poor experiences with Turo’s customer service. Here are some highlights:

  • Johnny R. (12/22/15): Owner states that his car was returned with damage and that Turo refused to cover repairs.
  • Paul K. (1/26/16) Renter states that he was charged for cleaning when it wasn’t needed and he was left with an overall impression that Turo squeezes pennies out at every opportunity.
  • Michael C. (11/18/2015) Renter states that he used Turo without a problem, but found his account put on hold afterward and couldn’t reach customer service for an answer — up to seven days later.

Those reviews aren’t cherry picked, either — they’re one after another on page one of Turo’s Los Angeles Yelp page.

Should You Use Turo For Car Sharing?

On one hand, Wired points out that the horror stories we used to associate with peer-to-peer sharing are becoming much less prevalent. “We now worry about Airbnb’s effect on real-estate markets, or whether Uber has undue influence over local governments.”

However, sharing a car comes with far more liabilities than renting out a spare apartment!

While Turo’s concept sounds great, reviews give a solid impression that they have a few more kinks to iron out before providing a desirable service.

For owners considering sharing, realize that it’s not just the market value of your vehicle that you’re putting on the line. Despite their catchy messaging and fun-for-all attitude, it appears that they skirt over some of the more serious legal ramifications of sharing your car.

What if the driver seriously injures or, heaven forbid, kills someone in an accident? What if they drive drunk? A 1 million policy doesn’t begin to cover some of those worst-case scenarios, and Turo’s it’s-up-to-you attitude regarding legalities isn’t very reassuring.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

397 Consumer Reviews for Turo

Average Consumer Rating: 3.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 250 4 star: 16 3 star: 3 2 star: 8 1 star:  120
Bottom Line: 68% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 397
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Terrible experience and horrible customer service

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    In this trip, both the host and the customer service representative were horrible with dealing with the experience I had to deal with during my trip. First, the car was parked in a commercial parking lot so I did not even get to meet the host. Second, a couple of miles into the ride, my car tire blew. And Turo made me pay part of the tow truck even though they say they pay for roadside assistance. Lastly, I'm the one penalized for the payment of the repairs even though I barely got to use the car and lost my whole day due to the fact it took hours for the tow truck to arrive.

    I will never recommend anybody to use Turo. And on my Instagram page with over 40k followers I will constantly tell them to never use Turo again. They do not care about the customers opinion and/or well being. Terrible experience. I am never again using Turo.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great service so far

    • Jackson, MS,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First time using this service. Great so far, no problems, was an easy app to understand. We need more cars in service in our area, I think it would be a big hit in the city. The vehicles are clean and well-kept older models, I haven’t had any issues. Clint D. was very accommodating during the entire rental.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great

    • New York,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the second time I’m using Turo, and again, everything was perfect. I would recommend to everyone to try this app and enjoy a car like Porsche Cayenne or Ford Mustang! The main thing is to find a good host, and if you did it, everything will be excellent.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • An amazing app

    • Connecticut,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Turo is a great, hassle-free application designed to make renting a car easier. For example, I recently took a trip to South Florida with my good friend. We rented an Audi for three days. The driver met us curbside at our terminal and we were on our way in minutes. No paperwork, no long lines, no hassle. The fact that the car was beautiful was an added bonus. Drop-off was just as easy. I would recommend Turo to anyone looking to rent a car without any added stress.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    We love using Turo

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have used Turo three times now and in multiple locations. I am always impressed with how easy it is to pick up and drop off the vehicles. The vehicle owners I have dealt with have been very easy to work with and are great communicators. The convenience is the number one reason to use Turo. Follow that up with great vehicles at reasonable rates, and it’s a no-brainer. I also like that we prepay for the vehicle with a debit card. We don’t have to worry if the rental company will take a debit card or not. We are one of those weird families that pays cash for everything and doesn’t use a credit card. We will absolutely use Turo again on our next vacation.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My go-to for renting on vacation!

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used Turo for most of my recent trips to different cities and have yet to be unsatisfied! All the hosts I have dealt with have been really nice, with easy to arrange pick-ups and drop-offs. The app is easy to use, and the selection is always great. It's way cheaper than using rideshare to get around and less hassle than dealing with a rental car company in the airport! I will most likely continue to use Turo on my travels.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing service!

    • New York,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Turo has very reasonable rates, the car owner was a great communicator, and the service was overall extremely convenient. I used a cab to get to the parking lot during off hours as my flight was delayed, I followed very clear instructions and got my car. Turo's rates were less than the airport car service quotes I have received, and they reimburse up to $20 for the car service to their parking lot, just make sure to get the receipt.

    Turo deserves the highest praise. Thank you so much, I am going to use your service again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Amazing experience

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love Turo and use it all the time. I recently had a great time in the Mercedes AMG GTR that I rented through them. The car was ready to go when I arrived at the Turo Valet lot near LAX, and it was very easy to pick up and drop off later that night.

    I highly recommend it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Lots of fun!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The lot was super close to where I live, so I was able to Lyft over there. I decided that for a road trip to Palm Springs I wanted something different. I was able to get a manual transmission Jeep Wrangler that I loved and had zero complaints with. The staff was nice and friendly and the app was easy to work. I plan on renting that Jeep again and plan on using and referring Turo.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    First experience with Turo a good one!

    • Minnesota,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our Turo rental, during a week in Boston over Thanksgiving, was not only economical but convenient! Fabricio met us at the airport right outside the door, and there was our '18 Camry, spotless, warm, and ready to go! It was a great car to have for the week - comfortable, plenty of space for our luggage, and nice to drive. And, when we had to return the car, it was back to the airport at the same place, and 2 minutes later we were on our way. We'll be sure to use Turo again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great first experience

    • La Crosse, WI,
    • Dec 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was a bit hesitant about Turo, as I hadn't known anything about it. However, it was a great experience. The communication was excellent throughout the trip, before and after. The pickup and drop off was very smooth, people were polite, and some unexpected touches like coffee, water, roses...The car was clean and worked perfectly, other than wiper fluid which became an issue due to road conditions (that was the only bump in the whole transaction). I will definitely use Turo again when it is available.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 397

Write a Review for Turo!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review