About Turo

You’ve always dreamed of cruising Route 66 — just not in a standard sedan. Enter Turo: This peer-to-peer carsharing service is kind of like AirBnb, except instead of allowing hosts to offer spare rooms, you can transform your idling assets into an earning machine.

For folks who are in need of wheels, Turo works to differentiate itself from the standard car rental service by promising you your pick of the lot. Whether it's an F-150 truck to help out on moving day, a Tesla for a luxurious weekend away, or a classic VW bus for a picture-perfect road trip, Turo claims to help travelers rent the car and own the adventure.

However, anyone who’s ever rented a car the knows the process comes with its fair share of hoops. Who hasn’t fretted over whether or not to buy full coverage or wondered if they missed a scratch during the initial walk around?

Let’s take a closer look to see if Turo really offers enough support to hand over keys or get you into the driver’s seat.

How To Rent a Car With Turo

With a presence in over 2,500 cities and 300 airports, the chances are that there’s an opportunity to rent with Turo wherever you’re traveling stateside.

Why would you choose Turo? They claim to offer:

  • Choice: Hundreds of unique cars for every occasion and every budget.
  • Value: The car you want, when and where you want it, at up to 30% less than traditional agencies.
  • Accessibility: The chance to book cars from home or on the go.

Feeling revved up? Here’s how Turo works.

First, you’ll need to sign up for Turo with Facebook, Google, or your email. They need to confirm your identity and eligibility so you can become an approved driver, so you might want to take this step before arriving.

Using either Turo’s app or their website, you enter your travel dates and location for locally owned cars. Once you find a set of wheels you like, you’ll have to request to rent it. The owner can either confirm or decline your request within eight hours. However, some vehicles are available immediately, thanks to a “Book Instantly” badge.

Turo claims that picking up your rental is easy, promising that many owners will deliver their vehicle to you. More so, Turo claims all you have to do is “walk around the car, show them your license, grab the keys, and drive off into the sunset.”

When you’re done? Replace the gas you’ve used, do-si-do one more walk around, and hand over the keys before planning your next adventure.

Your Responsibilities As a Turo Renter

Turo doesn’t require you to have your own insurance. Instead, they offer renters three choices to cover their physical damage obligations:

  • “Premium” Package: The renter’s out-of-pocket exposure is limited to payment of a deductible of $500. When damage is reported, the renter will be charged $500. If the total costs are less than $500, the renter will be refunded the difference.
  • Basic” Package: The renter’s out-of-pocket exposure is limited to a payment of a deductible of $3000 under the same structure described in the Premium package.
  • “Decline Coverage” Package: The renter’s financial responsibility is essentially unlimited, and is bounded only by the actual cash value of the car, plus all related costs. This means that if the car is lost, stolen, or damaged so extensively that the expected cost of repairs exceeds 75% of the actual cash value, the renter is responsible to pay the entire actual cash value of the car.

Those considering renting with Turo are encouraged to view their entire explanation of insurance and protection provisions here. Additionally, if you already have auto insurance, you’re generally covered for any physical damage or liability claims that you’re responsible for — even if you don’t own the vehicle. Of course, you should always check with your carrier before renting a car.

Note that because Turo isn’t considered a valid car rental service by many credit card companies, the coverage you might normally expect from your Visa or Mastercard may not apply.

Fine print aside, what responsibilities does a Turo renter really take on?

Much like AirBnb or Uber, Turo is based on the trust implicit in today’s growing sharing economy. Basically: You break it, you pay for it.

That means that if your Turo rental gets a flat tire, you’re responsible for fixing it — unless you can prove that the flat is the result of a defect or preexisting excessive wear.

It also means that renters are encouraged to get photo-happy with tons of “before” pics when getting the keys, since you can be held responsible for any pre-existing damage that wasn’t documented at the start of your trip.

Again, we’re assuming you’re not here to read through a thorough rundown of Turo’s fine print. So, if you’re considering car sharing through their service, we recommend studying their coverage FAQs before deciding if the service is right for you.

How To Share Your Car With Turo

Is your car collecting dust? Turo claims that a car with a market value of $18,000 could earn an owner $5,781 over 15 days of sharing per month. Sure, that estimate is averaged over a year, but Turo says they have the data to back it up.

If that potential extra income caught your attention, here’s the three ways Turo lets you earn:

  • Local pickup: You can enjoy the convenience of renting your car right out of your own driveway.
  • Deliver your car: Or earn even more by meeting guests at nearby airports and other local locations.
  • Park and earn: Drivers willing to leave their car at San Francisco (SFO) and Los Angeles (LAX) airports for two weeks at a time can earn at least a guaranteed extra $425 a month.

How it works is fairly straightforward: You create a listing for your spare car, respond to requests, meet at your chosen location, then “kick back and earn.”

Of course, Turo’s claims of easy pocket cash sounds hunky dory. But, what happens if someone takes a wrong turn into Risky Business territory with your immaculately maintained pride and joy?

Turo offers car owners coverage with a $1 million insurance policy. This includes protection against physical damage up to your car’s actual cash value for collision and most “comprehensive” causes, including theft.

This is good, because most personal lines auto insurance companies specifically exclude livery and rentals from coverage. And, if they find out you’re regularly renting your car, it can be grounds for terminating your policy—a decision that could come back to haunt you when you’re shopping around for replacement coverage (most applications ask, “Has your coverage ever been canceled or declined for underwriting reasons?”).

Heck, Turo even offers you up to $30 a day should your car get into an accident while being rented out — plus the promise that they’ll be there to guide you every step of the way.

But, what about the legality of renting out your car? Some might find Turo’s answer less reassuring. Essentially, there’s no law against doing so, but this probably wouldn’t be a risk that most standard personal lines auto carriers would knowingly insure. Turo leaves the final liability resting on your shoulders.

What Are People Saying About Turo?

Turo has a little under 700 Yelp reviews from users in their two main hubs, San Francisco and Los Angeles. In both locations, Turo averages four out of five stars.

However, that isn’t to say that those who’ve used Turo don’t have their fair share of negative feedback. In fact, if you look at Turo’s Los Angeles reviews, it’s a wonder that they scraped above a single star, given that the first page is almost exclusively complaints.

Bad reviews almost exclusively revolve around poor experiences with Turo’s customer service. Here are some highlights:

  • Johnny R. (12/22/15): Owner states that his car was returned with damage and that Turo refused to cover repairs.
  • Paul K. (1/26/16) Renter states that he was charged for cleaning when it wasn’t needed and he was left with an overall impression that Turo squeezes pennies out at every opportunity.
  • Michael C. (11/18/2015) Renter states that he used Turo without a problem, but found his account put on hold afterward and couldn’t reach customer service for an answer — up to seven days later.

Those reviews aren’t cherry picked, either — they’re one after another on page one of Turo’s Los Angeles Yelp page.

Should You Use Turo For Car Sharing?

On one hand, Wired points out that the horror stories we used to associate with peer-to-peer sharing are becoming much less prevalent. “We now worry about Airbnb’s effect on real-estate markets, or whether Uber has undue influence over local governments.”

However, sharing a car comes with far more liabilities than renting out a spare apartment!

While Turo’s concept sounds great, reviews give a solid impression that they have a few more kinks to iron out before providing a desirable service.

For owners considering sharing, realize that it’s not just the market value of your vehicle that you’re putting on the line. Despite their catchy messaging and fun-for-all attitude, it appears that they skirt over some of the more serious legal ramifications of sharing your car.

What if the driver seriously injures or, heaven forbid, kills someone in an accident? What if they drive drunk? A 1 million policy doesn’t begin to cover some of those worst-case scenarios, and Turo’s it’s-up-to-you attitude regarding legalities isn’t very reassuring.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

142 Consumer Reviews for Turo

Average Consumer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 57 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  80
Bottom Line: 41% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 142
Sort reviews by:

  • Do not rent from Turo

    Turo users beware! As an independent business owner who supports the likes of Airbnb, Uber, Lyft, etc., I sadly presumed this company to be on the up and up. It was not.

    At first, I rented a car and had no problem with the usual requests of a driver's license number, credit card, insurance, etc. However, when I went to rent a second car the same day I was returning a first, as they had no ability to do that online, and they do not have phone customer service, I simply thought what any consumer might, "create a 2nd account," same information. Well, this turned into a nightmare, and I started to see the sham that Turo is and where all of its weak spots were.

    Firstly, they have no continental customer service. It's all outsourced. By the way, the second account or second car wasn't an issue as they simply asked me to upload a copy of my driver's license, to which I did, and then as the "review process" never finished, I started to inquire. Next thing I know is that they've restricted my account, albeit at first, not jeopardizing the one reservation already in place, and then they started asking for more copies of my driver's license, a picture of me holding it up, a picture of the original credit card, and then if that wasn't good enough? And keep in mind, this is hours and days going by nearing my original trip, they wanted copies of my insurance card, a utility bill, proof of employment and on and on and on.

    The end of this story is that they canceled my account, they canceled my original reservation and gave no explanation as to why after supplying basics, I was now not allowed to rent cars. The moral of this story? I went online and rented not one, but two cars from Enterprise is five minutes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Car owners beware! They will rip you off and not cover damages.

    • Hollywood, FL,
    • Dec 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I rented my car to someone that Turo never verified any contact info for. When he didn't return the car, they had no way to contact him because he provided false info. The car was missing for a week before I tracked it down myself and had to recover myself. Turo offered no help.

    I found the car with thousands of dollars in damage and Turo said they wouldn't cover it because my car was not eligible after they had already charged me for an insurance policy on it. Then they wouldn't even let me charge the driver the maximum amount allowed for late charges.

    This company lies and does not honor what they say! You will regret listing your car for rent on this app!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely the worst car renting service

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Nov 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I never take the time to write reviews, but after my experience, this is the ABSOLUTE WORST car rental service out on the market. Oh yeah, and not to mention how big of a SCAM this company is.

    Sure they’ll let customers sign up, put their info in, click on driving status and it says you are approved to drive. Insert credit card information, charge my card then. But believe me, the minute they charge your card and the money is in their bank account, they will deactivate your account charge you refund fees, trip fees, etc.

    What a joke and the biggest scam in the car renting market. I will be sure to tell all my friends, family members, co-workers, colleagues, and in-laws to stay far away from this company and app. They won’t be in business long while treating their loyal and potential new customers like this. I will also be sure to post on every social media sight I can find a profile for you, that this company is the biggest scam. And to top it off, I will make my HUGE social media and YouTube following aware to STAY FAR AWAY from this company.

    If zero stars were an option here, I wouldn't hesitate to rate this zero stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Simply incompetent. Stay clear of Turo.

    I can only warn everyone NOT to use Turo and avoid a similarly horrible service experience that I have undergone!

    For a trivial service incident (that is changing the name of the person to pick up a rental car in Santa Monica from me to my adult son) Turo requested, in no less than 10 mails from 4 different "service" agents, a copy of my booking, a copy of my passport, a picture of me holding this passport, a copy of my drivers license (front and back), a picture of me holding this license, a copy of my credit card, a copy of my son's passport, a picture of him holding this passport, a copy of his drivers license (front and back), and a picture of him holding this license.

    But guess what? Even though we sent all this crap, they still did not get it done. But it gets worse. In a long phone call, yet another "service" agent asked for us to cancel the first booking, free of charge, and re-book it under a separate name, which we did. Yesterday, three weeks later, I find both debits on my credit card account.

    Needless to say, again there is no one in charge, no one with decision-making authority, just a bunch of bedlams in the call center who are as incompetent as friendly. I have now asked the credit card company to simply return the debit.

    My conclusion: stay clear of booking with Turo!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worst company ever! They are no good!

    • North Carolina,
    • Nov 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I usually don't leave reviews, but this has by far been the worst experience. I used to rent out my vehicle with Turo and had three claims in a row due to accidents. They didn't want to cover half of the damages done to the vehicle, and their support team consists of third parties and people with lack of caring to help anyone. I also rented from them as well, and the experience was terrible. Do not use this company as they are a SCAM!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Read this before renting

    • Florida,
    • Oct 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am telling this story and hope you read before you think it’s a good idea to rent your car true Turo.

    I have been renting my car true Turo since January 2017 until August, when my car was stolen by guy name Christian. Christian didn’t have a valid drivers license, I guess Turo doesn’t care about that. When the police recovered the car, I found damage on my car in the interior, multiple cuts on the leather, exterior dents and scratches, and mechanically car piling to the right side.

    So I submitted the damage and Turo got back to me saying that they will pay only for one dent on the back of my car but not for the rest of the damage. To fix my car it is $19,000, and they offer me $726.

    And one more thing, read the terms and conditions because you can’t take Turo to court, only arbitration (I know that now). So now they are not going to pay, and I am stuck with a damaged car, and no I can’t take that guy to court because he is a junky.

    Hopefully, that will change your mind about renting your car true Turo.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Renters beware - no support from customer support

    • Washington DC,
    • Oct 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thanks to Turo’s awful customer service, a simple problem has become a big problem.

    Someone rented my car last June. While using my car, he knowingly and willfully went through two toll booths without paying and racked up two tickets. I emailed Turo as soon as I got notice of the tickets in July. I never received a response. I called again in October. I was told to email a copy of the tickets. I did that. Again nothing. I chatted online with Turo support and got the run around again.

    Bottom line: there is a renter out there using other people’s cars who brazenly and irresponsibly will rack up tickets at your expense, and Turo will do nothing to him and will do nothing to recover your costs,

    My recommendation: DO NOT rent your car through Turo!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Turo is no good!

    • Pelham, NH,
    • Sep 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I rented a BMW, and it ended up being a complete scam that I was set up for. Turo charged my credit card $835 without my permission. Never use this app! You will regret it every second of your life. I am a college student, and I am now in even more debt. The car almost killed me and my girlfriend. These cars are not safe to drive and can go at any moment. Beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I loved Turo in the beginning, but now it seems like a higher risk but ordinary car rental company.

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Perhaps my experiences are unique to the areas in which I've rented. But, at the start, Turo seemed great. The car was delivered, curbside, at the airport, and the owner arranged his/her own ride home. The last few rentals indicated "curbside delivery," but the fine print was that you had to drive the owner home and then pick him/her up on your way back to the airport. While this may be OK, it's certainly not convenient when the owner lives in the opposite direction!

    Also, it takes you to someone's house you don't know, in a neighborhood you don't know, etc. For me, none of that is worth it anymore, and I'd prefer just to rent at the airport where almost every car has unlimited mileage and, if there are repairs, etc., it's much easier. In my opinion, too many Turo owners now have the equivalent of small fleets, they rent MANY cars, and they have become quite a bit less convenient than the airport car rental companies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • California,
    • Aug 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They sent me to a collections agency after three days (I missed a message about an unpaid toll which was $7). HUGE PAIN, not worth the trouble. I am only sticking with legitimate companies with customer service in the future. Three days and sent to a collections agency? Are you kidding me?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Do not rent your vehicle on Turo!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been on Turo for the past year and rent eight vehicles on Turo, and can tell you that Turo has become more and more shady in their business practices. It started off well, and now I have had incredibly big issues with Turo. I had a customer cause significant damage to my vehicle, and in return, Turo did everything they could to try and deny my claim when the customer had even admitted to the damage, and I had to get close to suing them. I can't even get a simple fuel reimbursement approved from when a renter didn't fill up! The company is a complete scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 142

Write a Review for Turo!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review