About Turo

You’ve always dreamed of cruising Route 66 — just not in a standard sedan. Enter Turo: This peer-to-peer carsharing service is kind of like AirBnb, except instead of allowing hosts to offer spare rooms, you can transform your idling assets into an earning machine.

For folks who are in need of wheels, Turo works to differentiate itself from the standard car rental service by promising you your pick of the lot. Whether it's an F-150 truck to help out on moving day, a Tesla for a luxurious weekend away, or a classic VW bus for a picture-perfect road trip, Turo claims to help travelers rent the car and own the adventure.

However, anyone who’s ever rented a car the knows the process comes with its fair share of hoops. Who hasn’t fretted over whether or not to buy full coverage or wondered if they missed a scratch during the initial walk around?

Let’s take a closer look to see if Turo really offers enough support to hand over keys or get you into the driver’s seat.

How To Rent a Car With Turo

With a presence in over 2,500 cities and 300 airports, the chances are that there’s an opportunity to rent with Turo wherever you’re traveling stateside.

Why would you choose Turo? They claim to offer:

  • Choice: Hundreds of unique cars for every occasion and every budget.
  • Value: The car you want, when and where you want it, at up to 30% less than traditional agencies.
  • Accessibility: The chance to book cars from home or on the go.

Feeling revved up? Here’s how Turo works.

First, you’ll need to sign up for Turo with Facebook, Google, or your email. They need to confirm your identity and eligibility so you can become an approved driver, so you might want to take this step before arriving.

Using either Turo’s app or their website, you enter your travel dates and location for locally owned cars. Once you find a set of wheels you like, you’ll have to request to rent it. The owner can either confirm or decline your request within eight hours. However, some vehicles are available immediately, thanks to a “Book Instantly” badge.

Turo claims that picking up your rental is easy, promising that many owners will deliver their vehicle to you. More so, Turo claims all you have to do is “walk around the car, show them your license, grab the keys, and drive off into the sunset.”

When you’re done? Replace the gas you’ve used, do-si-do one more walk around, and hand over the keys before planning your next adventure.

Your Responsibilities As a Turo Renter

Turo doesn’t require you to have your own insurance. Instead, they offer renters three choices to cover their physical damage obligations:

  • “Premium” Package: The renter’s out-of-pocket exposure is limited to payment of a deductible of $500. When damage is reported, the renter will be charged $500. If the total costs are less than $500, the renter will be refunded the difference.
  • Basic” Package: The renter’s out-of-pocket exposure is limited to a payment of a deductible of $3000 under the same structure described in the Premium package.
  • “Decline Coverage” Package: The renter’s financial responsibility is essentially unlimited, and is bounded only by the actual cash value of the car, plus all related costs. This means that if the car is lost, stolen, or damaged so extensively that the expected cost of repairs exceeds 75% of the actual cash value, the renter is responsible to pay the entire actual cash value of the car.

Those considering renting with Turo are encouraged to view their entire explanation of insurance and protection provisions here. Additionally, if you already have auto insurance, you’re generally covered for any physical damage or liability claims that you’re responsible for — even if you don’t own the vehicle. Of course, you should always check with your carrier before renting a car.

Note that because Turo isn’t considered a valid car rental service by many credit card companies, the coverage you might normally expect from your Visa or Mastercard may not apply.

Fine print aside, what responsibilities does a Turo renter really take on?

Much like AirBnb or Uber, Turo is based on the trust implicit in today’s growing sharing economy. Basically: You break it, you pay for it.

That means that if your Turo rental gets a flat tire, you’re responsible for fixing it — unless you can prove that the flat is the result of a defect or preexisting excessive wear.

It also means that renters are encouraged to get photo-happy with tons of “before” pics when getting the keys, since you can be held responsible for any pre-existing damage that wasn’t documented at the start of your trip.

Again, we’re assuming you’re not here to read through a thorough rundown of Turo’s fine print. So, if you’re considering car sharing through their service, we recommend studying their coverage FAQs before deciding if the service is right for you.

How To Share Your Car With Turo

Is your car collecting dust? Turo claims that a car with a market value of $18,000 could earn an owner $5,781 over 15 days of sharing per month. Sure, that estimate is averaged over a year, but Turo says they have the data to back it up.

If that potential extra income caught your attention, here’s the three ways Turo lets you earn:

  • Local pickup: You can enjoy the convenience of renting your car right out of your own driveway.
  • Deliver your car: Or earn even more by meeting guests at nearby airports and other local locations.
  • Park and earn: Drivers willing to leave their car at San Francisco (SFO) and Los Angeles (LAX) airports for two weeks at a time can earn at least a guaranteed extra $425 a month.

How it works is fairly straightforward: You create a listing for your spare car, respond to requests, meet at your chosen location, then “kick back and earn.”

Of course, Turo’s claims of easy pocket cash sounds hunky dory. But, what happens if someone takes a wrong turn into Risky Business territory with your immaculately maintained pride and joy?

Turo offers car owners coverage with a $1 million insurance policy. This includes protection against physical damage up to your car’s actual cash value for collision and most “comprehensive” causes, including theft.

This is good, because most personal lines auto insurance companies specifically exclude livery and rentals from coverage. And, if they find out you’re regularly renting your car, it can be grounds for terminating your policy—a decision that could come back to haunt you when you’re shopping around for replacement coverage (most applications ask, “Has your coverage ever been canceled or declined for underwriting reasons?”).

Heck, Turo even offers you up to $30 a day should your car get into an accident while being rented out — plus the promise that they’ll be there to guide you every step of the way.

But, what about the legality of renting out your car? Some might find Turo’s answer less reassuring. Essentially, there’s no law against doing so, but this probably wouldn’t be a risk that most standard personal lines auto carriers would knowingly insure. Turo leaves the final liability resting on your shoulders.

What Are People Saying About Turo?

Turo has a little under 700 Yelp reviews from users in their two main hubs, San Francisco and Los Angeles. In both locations, Turo averages four out of five stars.

However, that isn’t to say that those who’ve used Turo don’t have their fair share of negative feedback. In fact, if you look at Turo’s Los Angeles reviews, it’s a wonder that they scraped above a single star, given that the first page is almost exclusively complaints.

Bad reviews almost exclusively revolve around poor experiences with Turo’s customer service. Here are some highlights:

  • Johnny R. (12/22/15): Owner states that his car was returned with damage and that Turo refused to cover repairs.
  • Paul K. (1/26/16) Renter states that he was charged for cleaning when it wasn’t needed and he was left with an overall impression that Turo squeezes pennies out at every opportunity.
  • Michael C. (11/18/2015) Renter states that he used Turo without a problem, but found his account put on hold afterward and couldn’t reach customer service for an answer — up to seven days later.

Those reviews aren’t cherry picked, either — they’re one after another on page one of Turo’s Los Angeles Yelp page.

Should You Use Turo For Car Sharing?

On one hand, Wired points out that the horror stories we used to associate with peer-to-peer sharing are becoming much less prevalent. “We now worry about Airbnb’s effect on real-estate markets, or whether Uber has undue influence over local governments.”

However, sharing a car comes with far more liabilities than renting out a spare apartment!

While Turo’s concept sounds great, reviews give a solid impression that they have a few more kinks to iron out before providing a desirable service.

For owners considering sharing, realize that it’s not just the market value of your vehicle that you’re putting on the line. Despite their catchy messaging and fun-for-all attitude, it appears that they skirt over some of the more serious legal ramifications of sharing your car.

What if the driver seriously injures or, heaven forbid, kills someone in an accident? What if they drive drunk? A 1 million policy doesn’t begin to cover some of those worst-case scenarios, and Turo’s it’s-up-to-you attitude regarding legalities isn’t very reassuring.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 633 Turo Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 442 4 star: 35 3 star: 6 2 star: 16 1 star:  134
Bottom Line: 76% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 633
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awesome service

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Mar 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used Turo several times and I have always been happy about it. They have great service, great selection of cars and great prices.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great way to rent cars!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Mar 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Turo concept is a breakthrough for car rentals. The process is simple, easy, and painless and you get to rent GREAT cars at a very reasonable price. I will definitely continue to rent through Turo.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • Maui, HI,
    • Mar 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was our first time using Turo, and it will not be our last. It is easy to sign up, has a large variety of vehicles to choose from, and was the best rental car experience we have ever had!

    We were met at baggage claim by our vehicle's owner. He had already taken pictures of the vehicle and loaded them to the Turo page. A quick 5-minute check of the vehicle, license verification, and a signature, and we were off.

    Bryan was very communicative and great to work with, and we will use him on future trips!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Turo love!

    • Denver, CO,
    • Mar 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved using Turo when I visited Los Angeles! Communication with the vehicle owner was easy, and responses were quick. My car was dropped curbside, I snapped a few photos, and off we went! I felt protected because I purchased the Premium insurance plan, which I felt was very reasonable. Drop off was also very easy; again, my car was picked up curbside!

    Never again will I wait in long lines for a rental car. I'm a HUGE fan of Turo!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Turo is the best!

    • Denver, Colorado ,
    • Mar 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Last week we had an awesome rental experience thanks to Turo! This is the third time I've used the service and recommend it highly. From airport pickup and drop off, to personalized car amenities, I couldn't be happier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Turo trips

    • Monmouth, Oregon,
    • Mar 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have taken two Turo trips this year and found both to be better than using a regular rental service. There is no standing in line at the rental counter. The cars were prompt, well presented and good quality.

    I will definitely look to Turo again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    First encounter with Turo strongly positive

    • Mar 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I rented a Tesla Model S for 12 hours from Scott in Irvine, and this was my first experience using the Turo service.

    I have to say that overall the experience was very positive and that I found it very convenient and am looking forward to my next opportunity to use it. Scott was extremely accommodating, and his car was amazing; having the opportunity to try a new Tesla with the recent Autopilot upgrades was extremely exciting.

    The Turo service was fairly straightforward compared to the experience of driving a new Tesla and experimenting with the Autopilot features, so I am not sure how much feedback I can provide regarding Turo itself, other than to say that the process was very easy, highly accessible and simple, and I would absolutely use it again and will recommend it to any friends looking for such a service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Porsche to Napa

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Mar 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Turo afforded me the opportunity to drive a more exotic car than I might normally on a recent trip from San Francisco to wine country.

    The selection process was really straightforward, and pick-up was even easier. I think it's a great platform, but it definitely dependents on who your "host," in Airbnb lingo, is. Mine (Kent) was a good one. He even showed up to the pick-up in a Porsche hat, so he's definitely a fan and not just all business.

    I'm definitely planning on using the service again (911 Turbo S next time).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Friendly, efficient, best way to rent a car

    Milhail dropped the car off for us in the parking garage and sent us info to find it. It is so much easier than going to a rental car facility, and much less expensive too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Perfect

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Mar 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I rented a nice car for my trip to LA, and it was WELL worth it. Pickups and drop-offs are easier than rentals and definitely worth it. I will be using Turo again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Awesome experience!

    • Naples, FL,
    • Mar 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We used Turo for the first time during a trip to Naples, Florida in February of 2017. It was awesome! Our car and owner were fabulous, and the entire process was smooth, simple and professional. And for less money than a "normal" rental car company. Better service, less hassle and better price. Turo rocks!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 633

Write a Review for Turo!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review