About Turo

You’ve always dreamed of cruising Route 66 — just not in a standard sedan. Enter Turo: This peer-to-peer carsharing service is kind of like AirBnb, except instead of allowing hosts to offer spare rooms, you can transform your idling assets into an earning machine.

For folks who are in need of wheels, Turo works to differentiate itself from the standard car rental service by promising you your pick of the lot. Whether it's an F-150 truck to help out on moving day, a Tesla for a luxurious weekend away, or a classic VW bus for a picture-perfect road trip, Turo claims to help travelers rent the car and own the adventure.

However, anyone who’s ever rented a car the knows the process comes with its fair share of hoops. Who hasn’t fretted over whether or not to buy full coverage or wondered if they missed a scratch during the initial walk around?

Let’s take a closer look to see if Turo really offers enough support to hand over keys or get you into the driver’s seat.

How To Rent a Car With Turo

With a presence in over 2,500 cities and 300 airports, the chances are that there’s an opportunity to rent with Turo wherever you’re traveling stateside.

Why would you choose Turo? They claim to offer:

  • Choice: Hundreds of unique cars for every occasion and every budget.
  • Value: The car you want, when and where you want it, at up to 30% less than traditional agencies.
  • Accessibility: The chance to book cars from home or on the go.

Feeling revved up? Here’s how Turo works.

First, you’ll need to sign up for Turo with Facebook, Google, or your email. They need to confirm your identity and eligibility so you can become an approved driver, so you might want to take this step before arriving.

Using either Turo’s app or their website, you enter your travel dates and location for locally owned cars. Once you find a set of wheels you like, you’ll have to request to rent it. The owner can either confirm or decline your request within eight hours. However, some vehicles are available immediately, thanks to a “Book Instantly” badge.

Turo claims that picking up your rental is easy, promising that many owners will deliver their vehicle to you. More so, Turo claims all you have to do is “walk around the car, show them your license, grab the keys, and drive off into the sunset.”

When you’re done? Replace the gas you’ve used, do-si-do one more walk around, and hand over the keys before planning your next adventure.

Your Responsibilities As a Turo Renter

Turo doesn’t require you to have your own insurance. Instead, they offer renters three choices to cover their physical damage obligations:

  • “Premium” Package: The renter’s out-of-pocket exposure is limited to payment of a deductible of $500. When damage is reported, the renter will be charged $500. If the total costs are less than $500, the renter will be refunded the difference.
  • Basic” Package: The renter’s out-of-pocket exposure is limited to a payment of a deductible of $3000 under the same structure described in the Premium package.
  • “Decline Coverage” Package: The renter’s financial responsibility is essentially unlimited, and is bounded only by the actual cash value of the car, plus all related costs. This means that if the car is lost, stolen, or damaged so extensively that the expected cost of repairs exceeds 75% of the actual cash value, the renter is responsible to pay the entire actual cash value of the car.

Those considering renting with Turo are encouraged to view their entire explanation of insurance and protection provisions here. Additionally, if you already have auto insurance, you’re generally covered for any physical damage or liability claims that you’re responsible for — even if you don’t own the vehicle. Of course, you should always check with your carrier before renting a car.

Note that because Turo isn’t considered a valid car rental service by many credit card companies, the coverage you might normally expect from your Visa or Mastercard may not apply.

Fine print aside, what responsibilities does a Turo renter really take on?

Much like AirBnb or Uber, Turo is based on the trust implicit in today’s growing sharing economy. Basically: You break it, you pay for it.

That means that if your Turo rental gets a flat tire, you’re responsible for fixing it — unless you can prove that the flat is the result of a defect or preexisting excessive wear.

It also means that renters are encouraged to get photo-happy with tons of “before” pics when getting the keys, since you can be held responsible for any pre-existing damage that wasn’t documented at the start of your trip.

Again, we’re assuming you’re not here to read through a thorough rundown of Turo’s fine print. So, if you’re considering car sharing through their service, we recommend studying their coverage FAQs before deciding if the service is right for you.

How To Share Your Car With Turo

Is your car collecting dust? Turo claims that a car with a market value of $18,000 could earn an owner $5,781 over 15 days of sharing per month. Sure, that estimate is averaged over a year, but Turo says they have the data to back it up.

If that potential extra income caught your attention, here’s the three ways Turo lets you earn:

  • Local pickup: You can enjoy the convenience of renting your car right out of your own driveway.
  • Deliver your car: Or earn even more by meeting guests at nearby airports and other local locations.
  • Park and earn: Drivers willing to leave their car at San Francisco (SFO) and Los Angeles (LAX) airports for two weeks at a time can earn at least a guaranteed extra $425 a month.

How it works is fairly straightforward: You create a listing for your spare car, respond to requests, meet at your chosen location, then “kick back and earn.”

Of course, Turo’s claims of easy pocket cash sounds hunky dory. But, what happens if someone takes a wrong turn into Risky Business territory with your immaculately maintained pride and joy?

Turo offers car owners coverage with a $1 million insurance policy. This includes protection against physical damage up to your car’s actual cash value for collision and most “comprehensive” causes, including theft.

This is good, because most personal lines auto insurance companies specifically exclude livery and rentals from coverage. And, if they find out you’re regularly renting your car, it can be grounds for terminating your policy—a decision that could come back to haunt you when you’re shopping around for replacement coverage (most applications ask, “Has your coverage ever been canceled or declined for underwriting reasons?”).

Heck, Turo even offers you up to $30 a day should your car get into an accident while being rented out — plus the promise that they’ll be there to guide you every step of the way.

But, what about the legality of renting out your car? Some might find Turo’s answer less reassuring. Essentially, there’s no law against doing so, but this probably wouldn’t be a risk that most standard personal lines auto carriers would knowingly insure. Turo leaves the final liability resting on your shoulders.

What Are People Saying About Turo?

Turo has a little under 700 Yelp reviews from users in their two main hubs, San Francisco and Los Angeles. In both locations, Turo averages four out of five stars.

However, that isn’t to say that those who’ve used Turo don’t have their fair share of negative feedback. In fact, if you look at Turo’s Los Angeles reviews, it’s a wonder that they scraped above a single star, given that the first page is almost exclusively complaints.

Bad reviews almost exclusively revolve around poor experiences with Turo’s customer service. Here are some highlights:

  • Johnny R. (12/22/15): Owner states that his car was returned with damage and that Turo refused to cover repairs.
  • Paul K. (1/26/16) Renter states that he was charged for cleaning when it wasn’t needed and he was left with an overall impression that Turo squeezes pennies out at every opportunity.
  • Michael C. (11/18/2015) Renter states that he used Turo without a problem, but found his account put on hold afterward and couldn’t reach customer service for an answer — up to seven days later.

Those reviews aren’t cherry picked, either — they’re one after another on page one of Turo’s Los Angeles Yelp page.

Should You Use Turo For Car Sharing?

On one hand, Wired points out that the horror stories we used to associate with peer-to-peer sharing are becoming much less prevalent. “We now worry about Airbnb’s effect on real-estate markets, or whether Uber has undue influence over local governments.”

However, sharing a car comes with far more liabilities than renting out a spare apartment!

While Turo’s concept sounds great, reviews give a solid impression that they have a few more kinks to iron out before providing a desirable service.

For owners considering sharing, realize that it’s not just the market value of your vehicle that you’re putting on the line. Despite their catchy messaging and fun-for-all attitude, it appears that they skirt over some of the more serious legal ramifications of sharing your car.

What if the driver seriously injures or, heaven forbid, kills someone in an accident? What if they drive drunk? A 1 million policy doesn’t begin to cover some of those worst-case scenarios, and Turo’s it’s-up-to-you attitude regarding legalities isn’t very reassuring.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 633 Turo Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 442 4 star: 35 3 star: 6 2 star: 16 1 star:  134
Bottom Line: 76% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 633
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Bad for car owners

    • Chicago ,
    • Jun 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Car owners stay away. I had few cars that I wanted to make money on. When they were smaller it was easy to communicate, all claims were paid. Now one of my cars is stolen and no one does anything about it, second car has scratches all over my bumper that they don't want to pay for, the other one has a 2 inch dent on the door and because it's less than 3 inches they refused to cover it as well. Poor customer service in claims department makes it hard.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Total insurance scam in my opinion!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 31, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Recently purchased a clean title Honda Civic 2016 and put it on the app.

    I chose the basic insurance plan that claims to cover any damage up to 1 million (turo charges 25% for that)..So I felt safe...

    The first trip was long from from July 3 to July 19. I was happy that I will make some money on it. Hpwever, long story short, I received my brand new vehicle in a horrible condition, all seats were stained it smelled like someone smoked the entire time in the car.

    In the morning I took it to a car wash. After the car came back from a wash I saw a huge dent on a left side and the sunroof was popped open. I double checked pictures that renter submitted after the trip and found out that they occurred at the time of the trip.

    So I immediately submitted a claim.

    Turo got back to me few days after asked for pictures, then they disappeared.So I reached out to them. Their answer was a total surprise. They said that the car is not eligible for coverage! So it was eligible when they charged me all this money and now it's just what it is.

    Their claim department doesn't have any direct line so good luck with reaching them. Claim specialist Tiffany, doesn't know how to read Carfax reports. It's just so upsetting. So the ending of a story, I make $528 Turo made $176 just on me plus what they charge the renter and I lost $1200.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Never again!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company will try to scam you any way that they can. I was charged for an airport delivery that I never received and a ticket that was on the car before I got there. They refused to help me with this and the customer service was absolutely terrible. I will never use this company again. They will scam you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Expensive and awful customer service.

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jul 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used Turo to rent a car. The insurance rate pushed by Turo is over 25 dollars a day (like 10,000 a year) and covers nothing. The deductible is $3500. Thanks God I did not need it.

    But, they will get money out of your credit card for anything. I had a transponder for any toll fees in the car. Apparently, I did not work at one toll bridge plaza. It would have been an easy fix with one call to the bridge authority as this happens. However, Turo jumped to the opportunity and used the credit card on file to pay fines and administrative fees. They would not give an opportunity to fix the ticket because they wanted to make money out it. At the end, I paid close to seventy dollars on fees.

    The cost of the rental car? Three times as it would have been without Turo taking advantage of my credit card on file. Needless to say, I cancel the credit card as I cannot have people like them knowing my account information.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Turo rental broken into and I'm to blame

    • San Fransisco, CA,
    • Aug 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was looking forward to renting a car through Turo. I had heard good things and was thrilled to use something other than a traditional car rental company. I rented a Mini Cooper in San Francisco. On the first night of my trip the car was broken into and all of our luggage was stolen (including mac books, cameras, and all of our clothing). We notified the car owner right away and he was very understanding. I stayed up until 2:00am reading Turo's terms and conditions and found that just to submit a claim I would be charged a $500 deposit (that it sure sounded like I wouldn't be getting back).

    So I reached out to my insurance and they covered 80% of the costs. At this time the car owner submitted a claim. His insurance is through Turo and he was very happy to report there would be no fees (to him, they even go so far to infer to him that I wouldn't be charged either).

    That's when I started speaking with a Turo employee who informed me though my insurance had already covered 80% of fees I would still be charged the $500 "deposit". Low and behold that deposit would cover the car owners deductible, BIG SHOCK the Turo deductible is $500.

    I was robbed, my insurance covered the majority of a $400 repair, and somehow I still walked away spending $500. This is an absolute scam. Do not use Turo.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Stolen car, Turo doesn't care, don't expect a call back

    Man, this is a long story, but I am going to try and cut corners for you and leave in the important information as much as possible.

    On September 16th, 2016 I rented my car out to a lady. She said that she wanted to use it for her daughter's 16th birthday. I drive a 2015 red 370Z. The lady only needed it for one day, but I'm telling you right now she only needs five minutes after she takes your keys! She had no intentions of bringing back the car.

    Turo does a HORRIBLE screening process on the people that they bring into the market (again, TURO doesn't give a "you know what" who comes in, they just want the business aka MONEY) and deny as many claims as they can. Why? Because they CAN! TURO is just as bad as the people who steal your car, 1 million dollars worth of coverage is an illusion!

    The lady had a stolen ID and a stolen phone number, which I will explain later why it's stolen. I don't know about the credit card for certain, but I'm sure that was stolen as well! Who knows. Turo doesn't want to tell you because it makes them look like they don't know what they're doing!

    To continue my story, the lady never came back the next day, and Turo said to wait it out until the next day. Easy for you to say! Guess what, she didn't come back the next day. When Turo calls me to talk to me about the situation, they say it's all MY fault that I didn't verify her ID properly. I'm talking about "David" from Turo, don't expect him to contact you unless it's convenient for him. You have to send a demand letter to the person who has taken your care at the time because you handed your keys over to the client.

    This story is about to get toasty. The house on the address is being renovated, and nobody lives there at the moment. Some rich dude is building his dream home. Guess how long it's going to take me to get a demand letter back, come on guess. Takes FOREVER since no one can reply right? I think I got a return receipt from them around the end of October.

    But WAIT! The story doesn't end because now you have to give that receipt to the police officer (detective) and I'm telling you right now, he doesn't give two "you know what" either. These guys get tons of reports for stolen cars on a DAILY basis. They filed my report and made me do a lineup which had seven pictures, including five Hispanic/Indian looking people and two white looking people. I went for the two white looking folks because the lady looked white to me. She was some country white trash that likes to steal cars because she is a bum up in life and can't work for a living.

    The two white girls in the photo lineup didn't match the person who stole my car. I'll tell you why! The detective told me that he pulled up the lady who stole my car through the phone number that she was using, and this means only one thing, she had a stolen phone number, because no one in the photo lineup was her.

    This story only gets worse. Guess what Turo had to say about this, LOL, I'm sorry, I mean Michael, who represents Turo. He didn't bother explaining his position in the company, but I'm guessing he represents the "I don't give a (you know what) community. Let me explain myself because I didn't throw that out of anywhere, I promise. Michael told me "I don't really know your situation here, but based on what I got, this claim is denied." He didn't even bother to explain himself right away, I had to dig it out of him. He told me that I didn't verify the ID and I didn't select anybody in the photo lineup with the detective.

    I know what's going through your mind because it's the same thing going through mine. He obviously doesn't give a "you know what" about me. He told me the ID he has is blurry! I sent him another one because the one I have is not blurry. How in the hell do you think I sent the "demand letter" with a blurry ID? It's impossible. They didn't care to ask me if I had a clear picture because they don't care. It's not convenient for them to ask! Remember that.

    Now, what about the lineup? Are you kidding me right now, they probably think I'm defending this lady by covering her up and not choosing the right photo. That's pretty much the vibe I got from Michael. Why in the hell would I protect that scumbag? Use your brain! Michael represents Turo, he doesn't represent you. No one is on your side on the Turo team. Remember that. A lawyer is the only person that will defend you in any claim against Turo. Michael asked me to email him on how I verified ID because apparently, they have a step by step way of doing it. They don't make that clear in the beginning because they want you to make a mistake, so that they don't claim any issues with your car. Again, it's not CONVENIENT for them to do so! Remember that.

    They expect you to know everything about this business because you're stepping into it. Turo sells themselves as an easy app to use and that almost anyone can use it to make extra money. That's the vibe I got from it, and I'm pretty sure they expect everyone to think like that. I have some advice for the people who are already using Turo and the people about to use Turo. It's more like a rule in life, don't rent out your personal vehicle to STRANGERS. The money is not worth it. I promise you that.

    I wish I never did business with Turo. I wish I could take it all back but I can't, it's too late. I can only warn you not to do it. Michael told me he would get back with me in a few days. That was on December 7th or 8th. It's December 29th, and I sent numerous emails and calls to him, so he can't say I didn't follow up. I'm in the process of hiring a lawyer to get this straightened out. Let's say the worst scenario happens and I can't get a dime from Turo. My credit score will be screwed for seven years. I would file my situation with the bank, and they will send it to the collections department, and my credit score will drop. It is hard to do anything in America with a bad credit score. Just imagine all the extra fees I will have to go through for the next seven years!!

    I'm sorry for my grammar above. I'm pretty sure some of my sentences don't make sense, but I don't have a lot of time during the day to do anything because of work. I need you to ask yourself something right now. Do you think Turo is worth the extra cash?

    My name is Marcelo Palomo. I graduated from the University of Texas in Dallas. I can't put my email address on here but that's enough for you to find me. Contact me if you have any questions because I'm pretty sure I left some stuff out on accident. I can't cuss in this review!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Do not use Turo

    • Houston,
    • Jun 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not trust Turo. They charged me for a damage although I returned the vehicle in the same condition. I asked them for any evidence but they did not respond. Be careful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Terrible experience with Turo.

    • Min,
    • Jul 31, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Renting from Turo has been one of the most negative experiences I've ever had with a travel company.

    I rented from them for five days and on my way to return the car, got a chip in the windshield. I reported the damage and fully expected to pay about $350 for a new windshield. A few days after I reported it, I got an email from them saying there were going to charge me $500 towards the damage initially and follow up once they received an estimate. Than I got an email saying the estimate was $1000 (for a new windshield) and they were going to automatically charge my credit card.

    I called their customer service and they gave me a number direct to the claim agent. Not surprisingly, her mailbox was full, she never answered and every time I called, she was "in a meeting". Included in the damage estimate was $150 worth of processing costs, seriously?

    I will never use Turo again under any circumstances and would advise anyone against using them. So disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Only giving one star because I have to.

    This is the worst company ever. We rented a car and within 3 minutes of driving the master cylinder for the breaks went out making it impossible to stop, causing an accident. We had the responding police officer test the breaks confirming that the break depressed all the way to the floor with the car on and off. As any mechanic knows this part is simple to replace and can be done in around 1 to 2 hours at most. Claims department came back saying there were no issues with the breaks and 6 months later is now saying that we owe almost 2,200 dollars. We purchased extra insurance and nothing is covered. This company is a scam, they help in no way and only contact you through email. DO NOT RENT FROM TURO.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Turo car owners beware!

    • Chicago,
    • Jun 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started using Turo about a year ago as a car owner. I purchased a clean title Kia Optima and placed it on the app. Everything went great. I paid 25% off my earnings every trip (that should've covered insurance and their customer service). The car got into a small accident one time, and they paid for the repairs. But it was last year.

    This year my last renter refused to return the car, so I reached out to Turo to get help. Turo sent me an email saying that they will try to call the renter and will tell her to return the car. Great! The day after this lady sends me a text message that I need go to a Chicago south side pound because they have the car. I called Turo and they said, "Oh yeah, she called us, don't worry, we will take care of that." Ok.

    Four days later I am calling Turo to find out what's going on and Jeff Woo tells me that I probably need to go to the pound, pay the fee, and they will reimburse me. Ok. Long story short, I went to the pound and to the city four times, spent four days, and paid $1,320 to the city because that lady was driving my car on a SUSPENDED driver's license (thanks to Turo for verification of her driver's license). I didn't receive the final bill from the lawyers yet.

    I finally got the car back all trashed and scratched, and guess what? It's been two weeks, and Jeff still didn't reimburse my money. Plus their insurance refused to cover it because the car has something on a Carfax report that Turo doesn't like. Todd Armstrong also said that they paid me last time by mistake. So according to Patrick and Todd (the claim specialists from Turo):

    1. My car was placed on Turo BY MISTAKE.

    2. My car was covered last year BY MISTAKE.

    3. Turo employee placed it back to a platform BY MISTAKE.

    4. Turo was collecting 25% of every trip BY MISTAKE.

    5. Turo gave this car to a lady who drove on suspended driver's license BY MISTAKE.

    Too many MISTAKES turo!

    They are refusing to cover damages and almost refusing to pay for tow expenses and fees.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Awful Customer Service

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Jun 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    After inquiring about Turo, setting up an account, sending in three pictures of my photo identification, verifying my account via SMS text message, and entering in my credit card information, I was declined membership without a specific reason. There was no reason as to why, as they said I didn't “meet their criteria.” What criteria could that be? Someone will and able to pay a company for the use of cars? If there was a zero star option, i would have chosen it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 633

Write a Review for Turo!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review