431 Consumer Reviews for Turo - Page 3

Average Consumer Rating: 3.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 273 4 star: 20 3 star: 4 2 star: 10 1 star:  124
Bottom Line: 69% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 431
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Great service and price

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a great experience using Turo for the very first time.

    My vehicle provider Renato was awesome. The van was clean, looked great for its age and it got good gas mileage. I have recommended Turo to everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent service

    • Portsmouth, NH,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First-time Turo user - great experience. No problems at any time. Very easy to locate available vehicles and find one to meet my needs. Many great vehicles available at a price point for everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent service

    • Jersey City, NJ,
    • Dec 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Excellent service from Turo, starting from creating an account to book a car, it's so easy. The Turo app is also super user-friendly for booking the car! Recent past one of my friend referred me to Turo and heard about Turo and thought of taking a chance to book a car for my weekend trip and I was so happy to opt for Turo.

    I just booked the car two days prior to my trip and picked up the car, no hidden charges nothing, it had a wide option of choosing a car for different budget and comfort that's amazing.

    I highly recommend opting for Turo as compared to other players in the market!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Loving it...

    • Connecticut,
    • Dec 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love the convenience and flexibility of renting with Turo. So far I've had nothing but one of the best experiences, far easier, and at times much cheaper than renting with a traditional car rental agency.

    I love the concept, genius.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • So convenient and cost effective!

    • Illinois,
    • Dec 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So convenient and cost-effective. This was so much better than waiting in long lines at the airport or having to wait for a shuttle to get to an off-site rental car lot. I like having all the information for the car with the plates, the owner, and previous reviews. The pre-review for the vehicle is also very helpful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Screwed by the owner

    • Denver, CO,
    • Dec 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed the car itself. The owner charged me high additional costs after returned, after I had already cleaned the car. I tried to refute the costs but was never told I’d only have 24 hrs to show "proof." It’s Christmas and I wasn’t allowed to get an extension on the refuted claim.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Is this really a first world operation?

    • Iowa City, IA,
    • Dec 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you have INFINITE time and patience, and no attachment to competence or integrity...Turo just may be your rental car strategy.

    I was delighted to learn about Turo last week as I was searching for an affordable or exciting rental car.

    My first observation was the website is very clumsy and not at all intuitive. The maps are unreliable. Every time I found a car I liked, it turned out to be 100 miles away!

    The filters are also worthless. I needed 150+ miles a day, and was discouraged that even though I entered this parameter, Turo continued to include 100 miles a day listings. Incompetent filters caused an excessive amount of time wasted and I had to start over every time I thought I had the right car.

    After 3 hours I finally had my reservation. The annoyance that struck me was that the $25 promotion for first-time users was not honored.

    An hour after I made my reservation the car owner called to inform me he SOLD THIS CAR and Turo has neglected to remove his listing from their website.

    I was disgusted because I had already wasted too much time negotiating Turo's website to arrive at this rental. This was ridiculous.

    After wasting more time finding a replacement car, Turo refused to allow me to cancel the illegitimate reservation without incurring a $56 penalty. And Turo refused to allow me to make a new reservation over the dates with the faux Turo reservation.

    Turo's negligence and incompetence compelled me to open a second account, which was tedious and time-consuming. They took all of my information, again, and when I went to enter the credit card, the numbers would not enter. Another hour wasted.

    I tried the customer service chat and Juan A was remarkably incompetent, irreverent, and rude. It took him 10-15 minutes to acknowledge me. He would not read my comments, requests or experiences. He kept accusing me of breaking rules and conducting "unacceptable behavior." He then canceled my reservation (for the latter part of my trip) without my consent. Furthermore, he threatened that the only way I could restore the reservation (4+ hours of time by now) I'd have to email him my picture of me holding up my license! Turo was punishing me for opening a second account, rather than taking responsibility for failing to unlist a car that I reserved.

    After four hours I was still dealing with Juan A on customer "service" chatline (service being a euphemism!). He took 10 minutes between each exchange and never offered an iota of support, answers, apologies, empathy or strategies. Rather he made accusations and further complicated TUROs convoluted chaos. This is hands down the worst customer service I've experienced in a developed country.

    After TEN hours, I interacted with THREE Turo representatives. The other two were less belligerent than Juan A, but no more competent. One of my demands was that they restore my original reservation. The agreed to do this, but in the end, all they did was confirm that the car was still available after texting and emailing me twice. I could have done this on my own.

    And when I went reserve the car for a second time, they had my account blocked AGAIN!

    I texted the agent back and she instructed me to call their hotline. Their hotline insisted they couldn't help and hung up on me. There really is no where to go with Turo to receive competent, reliable service. I wouldn't touch it with a 10-foot barge pole.

    I've lived in developing countries as a Peace Corps Volunteer and as a traveler student, etc. My experience with Turo is very reminiscent of living in an underdeveloped country without infrastructure, education, communication, accountability, efficacy or recourse. It's one of those situations that in a first world country NEVER happens.

    I'd set my hair on fire and put it out with a hammer before using Turo again. Buyer beware! I love the informal economy, but Turo is a disaster not worth pursuing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Highly recommend

    • Corona, CA,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was looking to rent a specific vehicle to determine whether I wanted to purchase one similar. Traditional rental agencies weren't able to accommodate that type of request. Turo gave me the option of finding the specific vehicle I wanted to rent and the overall rental was less expensive than the traditional rental route.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great experience.

    • Murrieta, CA,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Using the app was very easy, and I really liked the map option to see how far away and how much. Renting the vehicle was an absolute breeze. I was fortunate enough to have dealt with a very professional individual that was able to help guide me through the process. Returning the car was just as easy. I was so impressed with my experience and I've been telling everyone I know about it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent experience and great value

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our experience using Turo was extremely good. It was so easy. The owner of our vehicle picked us up at the airport at baggage pickup, drove him home, which was close to the airport, and we got use of his beautiful car. When the trip was done, we met him at his house and he drove us back to the airport. It was so easy and worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • General review re Turo

    • California,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used Turo a couple of times at this point. I really like the app and being able to choose the car I want to drive. I also feel that you get a better deal than with the general rental cars. The owners I have met have been great and the cars in great condition.

    I think the drop off charge to the airport is a little steep. I ended up using Uber to get to the car and back. Much, much cheaper, but also less convenient.

    Customer service is not ideal. I am still waiting for a response on the email I had forwarded to them over a week ago.

    All in all, I would recommend using Turo while traveling.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-33 of 431

Write a Review for Turo!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review