Start your review of Turo:
  • 1016 Customer Reviews
  • 80% Recommend This Company
4.2 out of 5
5 star: 72% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 15%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Poor service

    • By David Carson,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the first and last time I'll use Turo. Horrible customer service. I was told to "just drive slowly" when they didn't renew my reservation and insurance on time as requested. I was on hold for over an hour trying to get help.

    Avoid Turo at all costs, especially owners living in Redondo Beach! You've been warned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Tried to rent three times, didn't work

    • By Brooke,
    • California,
    • Jul 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Turo is not a good car sharing service whatsoever. I booked a car for a trip (which is a week away) two months ago. They canceled on me. Then I tried again, another cancellation. And I tried a third time, so this person leads me on for a full month and just canceled on me this morning. I called Turo customer support to see if they could help me out, and all they could say was "try to book again." Now tell me, Turo, why would I simply book again if I have been canceled on three separate times? I mean, would you?

    I will never be using Turo again, and neither should you if this is the way they treat their customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Turo is great! Best test drive.

    • By Bond Lazar,
    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used Turo to test drive a car before I bought it. Great platform! Love it. You can't normally get an overnight test drive of a Tesla but with Turo, you can. Thank you Turo!

    It is expensive though, but you probably knew that.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Initially refused service and account closed without explanation

    • By Josh Virkler,
    • Orlando, FL,
    • Jun 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After much additional correspondence with them, I requested a supervisor who did give me the chance to submit additional documentation to prove my identity. My account was then reinstated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Jun 27, 2017

    Discrimination: refused service and account closed without explanation

    I created an account on Turo and rented a car. Several hours later I was notified by email that they had canceled my reservation and closed my account. I wrote back and forth several times with them, and they refused to provide a reason or allow me to make any changes in order to comply with their secret policies.

    I have been discriminated against by Turo refusing me service and summarily closing my account. I have excellent credit and have had no accidents or even tickets for many years. There is nothing in my financial history which could provide any legitimate basis for these actions. I am appalled that a company would act with such blatant disregard for honesty and treating people fairly.

    Here is my correspondence with the company:

    James Brian Torres (Turo Support)

    Jun 25, 21:10 PDT

    Hi Joshua,

    We’re always keeping an eye on the marketplace to ensure everyone is safe and sound. We recently reviewed your account, and we’re very sorry to inform you that we’ve determined you’re no longer eligible to use our marketplace.

    While we would love to welcome as many people as possible into our community, we closely review all our members’ identities and everyone in the Turo community must meet our eligibility requirements.

    Your upcoming trip has been canceled and your account has been closed. You will receive a full refund for this reservation within 1-5 business days. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

    We wish you the best of luck in finding a car rental, and suggest that you may want to use one of the more traditional car rental companies.

    Again, we apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment this may cause.

    Best,

    Turo Verification Team

    ---------------------

    Joshua Virkler

    Jun 26, 03:36 PDT

    I am shocked that my account has been closed so abruptly! What reason would Turo have for doing this?

    I am not a young driver, a new driver, or someone with a poor driving record. My license has the Safe Driver designation, as I have not had any accidents or even tickets in many years. I have an excellent credit score, and the only thing I can think of is that my credit file has a freeze on it to prevent fraud. Does that have something to do with why you closed my account?

    Please provide additional feedback so I know what is wrong, and therefore can either fix it or know when I might be able to use your service again in the future.

    Thank you.

    Josh Virkler

    -------------------

    Christian Rico Ungos (Turo Support)

    Jun 26, 04:18 PDT

    Hi Joshua,

    We have carefully reviewed your application, and we’re sorry to report that we won’t be to able let you rent or list cars on Turo. To maintain a safe and strong marketplace, Turo does not release the details of our review process as doing so would compromise its effectiveness.

    We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment.

    Best,

    Turo Verification Team

    -----------------------------

    Joshua Virkler

    Jun 26, 05:33 PDT

    At this point, I need to ask that my request be forwarded to a manager.

    I understand and appreciate that you have policies to maintain a safe and strong marketplace. However, I am confident that I can pass any objective criteria which might be used to determine if I am trustworthy enough to have a Turo account.

    This does seem to be some sort of mistake, and I am willing to provide whatever additional information is needed to verify my identity, credit history, or whatever other measurement of trustworthiness you deem appropriate. Because it does seem that there has been a mix-up and you do not have access to the correct information to make a proper decision about my account.

    I am married with three children. I work for a non-profit charitable organization. I have excellent credit (though I currently have a freeze on my credit file to prevent fraud). I have not been in an accident or even had a ticket for many years (my driver's license lists me as a Safe Driver). I will submit proof of all this or whatever else you request.

    Please bring this to the attention of your manager so we can resolve this issue without me needing to resort to posting detailed reviews across many high profile websites of the discrimination I have just beensubjected to.

    Thank you. I trust you will do the right thing.

    Sincerely,

    Josh Virkler

    -------------------------

    Christian Rico Ungos (Turo Support)

    Jun 26, 05:36 PDT

    Hi Joshua,

    Thanks for reaching out. We have carefully reviewed your case, and our decision is final. Per Turo policy, mentioned in our previous email, we are not able or obligated to release the details of our review process.

    Please note that further communications from you will be read, but not responded to.

    Best,

    Turo Verification Team

    (read moreread less...)

  • Turo refusing total loss coverage

    • By Dmitry,
    • Illinois,
    • Jun 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hi All,

    As from the renter's perspective, Turo is a nice option to try out all kinds of cars. But considering long road trips, Turo may not be the best option. First, most of the cars have limited mileage that wouldn't let you get far. The second is that in the case of any issue with the car, there is a risk to be stranded for some time until Turo finds you a replacement. And in that case, the renter is responsible for the issues that can easily happen on the road like a broken windshield, flat, etc.

    As from the owner's side, it does seem attractive, however only until the time when everything is fine. Accidents, damage to cars are frequent. Turo is taking time considering claims while your car is out of service. Dents and scratches less than 3" aren't enough to start a claim, etc.

    I am personally going through a tough claim with Turo now. My car was totaled, and Turo is declining coverage on the damage. Turo claims my car is not eligible to be listed on Turo based on the Carfax report they provided.

    When I bought the car, and before I listed it on Turo, I ran my own report which satisfied all Turo requirements.

    I am looking for advice and suggestions.

    Thanks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cancellation fee

    Overall Experience:

    This is just awful. Make a reservation, they charge your credit card right away, and then I had a change of plans a week out, and they charged me $76 as a cancellation fee. Just play crappy. I will never use them, and you should not either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service

    • By Mike Childen,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jun 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I listed my car on this site to rent. The person who rented it trashed my car. I filed a claim, and the claim supervisor could have cared less. He told me to have fun suing because they're not going to pay a dime. This is literally the worst ride-sharing company and customer service I've ever witnessed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Turo car owners beware!

    • By Natalia,
    • Chicago,
    • Jun 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I started using Turo about a year ago as a car owner. I purchased a clean title Kia Optima and placed it on the app. Everything went great. I paid 25% off my earnings every trip (that should've covered insurance and their customer service). The car got into a small accident one time, and they paid for the repairs. But it was last year.

    This year my last renter refused to return the car, so I reached out to Turo to get help. Turo sent me an email saying that they will try to call the renter and will tell her to return the car. Great! The day after this lady sends me a text message that I need go to a Chicago south side pound because they have the car. I called Turo and they said, "Oh yeah, she called us, don't worry, we will take care of that." Ok.

    Four days later I am calling Turo to find out what's going on and Jeff Woo tells me that I probably need to go to the pound, pay the fee, and they will reimburse me. Ok. Long story short, I went to the pound and to the city four times, spent four days, and paid $1,320 to the city because that lady was driving my car on a SUSPENDED driver's license (thanks to Turo for verification of her driver's license). I didn't receive the final bill from the lawyers yet.

    I finally got the car back all trashed and scratched, and guess what? It's been two weeks, and Jeff still didn't reimburse my money. Plus their insurance refused to cover it because the car has something on a Carfax report that Turo doesn't like. Todd Armstrong also said that they paid me last time by mistake. So according to Patrick and Todd (the claim specialists from Turo):

    1. My car was placed on Turo BY MISTAKE.

    2. My car was covered last year BY MISTAKE.

    3. Turo employee placed it back to a platform BY MISTAKE.

    4. Turo was collecting 25% of every trip BY MISTAKE.

    5. Turo gave this car to a lady who drove on suspended driver's license BY MISTAKE.

    Too many MISTAKES turo!

    They are refusing to cover damages and almost refusing to pay for tow expenses and fees.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My Turo experience

    Overall Experience:

    I absolutely love this app. Turo does not require the unnecessary security deposits that traditional car rental companies do and it's extremely convenient! There are plenty of choices based on price point, car type, proximity to your location, etc. Communication platform is fool proof with email/text/phone options to connect with your Turo host.

    The only con I can think of is the inability to speak to a rep from Turo in the midst of an emergency or for any other guidance. Although there are help topics you can sort thru, every now and again it helps to speak/chat with a staff member.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Turo makes quick trips so easy

    • By Camila F,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I recently used Turo to rent a car just for a half day on a weekend trip away. I didn't need a car for most of the weekend, but when we wanted to take a day trip nearby, it was a convenient and inexpensive way to do so. The app is simple to use and guides you through the whole process. I look forward to using Turo again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Don't travel with a family

    • By Aaron Kenna,
    • San Jose, CA,
    • May 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    All I can say is "wow." If I could give a zero-star review, I would. We rented weeks in advance for memorial weekend. I'm with my family, a newborn baby and about eight bags of luggage. We have been stuck here for 2.5 hours by a no-show Turo owner. The Turo reps have been completely non-professional with this issue. No help. They offered a measly $30 credit, but what the heck will that do if rentals will be $850+ for an SUV at the rental agencies?

    Moral of the story is DO NOT rent from Turo for a vacation. Nothing is guaranteed with this company. Nor are the owners. We booked a 5-star owner with 40+ reviews, and he was a complete no-show.

    Thanks to Turo I just spent $833.28 at Avis for a last minute rental before MDW.

    I am a highly disappointed user. I rented my car on this app and will be sure to never use them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 892-902 of 1016

Write a Review for Turo!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Turo