About UpWalker

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff Published on: Nov 30, 2017

The UPWalker is a mobility enhancer that claims to help you walk upright with better posture, less pain, and more security, due to its elevated, adaptable design. The device promises to help you regain your independence, allowing you to maintain a more active lifestyle both indoors and out.

The UPWalker frame weighs in at 23 pounds and folds up for storage and transportation. It features soft, adjustable-height armrests and a sliding chair with built-in back support, allowing you to sit comfortably and make the transition from sitting to standing more easily. To that end, it also features an easy locking handbrake system that allows you to come to a stop or park the walker whenever needed.

The manufacturer states that the UPWalker is designed to help those with mobility issues, including people living with neurological, orthopedic, cardiovascular and other health disorders, providing them with a more effective method of getting around, while also restoring dignity in the process.

Specifically, the company claims that it addresses the shortcomings of traditional walkers, including the risk of falling, slouching, and a general lack of confidence and comfort. Is this really what you can expect, however?

Will the UPWalker Really Cause Less Pain & Discomfort Than a Traditional Walker?

The makers of the UPWalker state that the device’s unique design allows it to provide a more comfortable and secure walking experience, leading to less strain on the wrists and hands, especially for those dealing with arthritis.

The website reports that a laboratory-based research study was carried out with 30 walker users who tried out the LifeWalker Upright (a previous but functionally similar model of the UPWalker), who stated that the product enabled them to walk fully upright, resulting in better overall back posture.

We’re also told that users felt a greater sense of safety and stability when using the device as compared to a conventional rollator or walker. Finally, they assert that the forearm support on the product allowed users to offload weight on the wrists and joints, leading to a more comfortable experience that was easier on the body.

Despite these optimistic reports, the actual study itself is not linked, and we did not encounter it published on third-party websites during our research. We left a message with the staff at Shirley Ryan Ability Lab/Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago where the study is listed as originating from, but hadn’t received a response as of publishing. As soon as we do, we’ll be sure to update this article accordingly.

So, what does all of this mean for you? On the surface, we can see how the raised design and forearm support central to the UPWalker’s construction could potentially enable users to feel more comfortable and secure when out and about, and we can even envision the device helping certain users to regain some degree of their independence, as claimed by the manufacturer.

For instance, if you are dealing with arthritis or chronic back pain, it would reasonably follow that a walker capable of taking pressure away from these crucial areas would allow for a boost to mobility, as well as a reduction in overall pain, as described on the product’s website.

Of course, this likely isn’t the case for everyone, but we could also imagine the UPWalker’s design to be more comfortable and enjoyable for many who simply prefer walking without the “hunched-over” posture that comes along with more conventional devices.

Without testing the product for ourselves (or having actual clinical data to point to), we can’t state with certainty that this is what you’ll experience using it for yourself. All the same, judging purely based on of the information we’re given, it looks as though the potential is there for users dealing with mobility issues to have a better experience overall with the UPWalker.

UPWalker Pricing & Returns

As of this writing, the UPWalker is available exclusively online from the manufacturer’s website. It is sold for $495, and shipping and handling are free, except to Hawaii and Alaska, which will run you an extra $130. The FAQ page states that the UPWalker is sold as a cash pay product, and recommends reaching out to insurers directly to discuss reimbursement.

With each purchase, you’ll also receive the following bonus items:

  • One personal storage bag
  • One beverage holder attachment
  • One supporting backrest

Each order placed on the website comes with a 30-day satisfaction guarantee, including initial shipping and handling fees if they were paid. Before initiating a return, you’ll need to reach out to customer service at 877-488-0822 or via email at customerservice@lifewalkermobility.com to obtain authorization.

You’ll be required to pay any shipping fees associated with the return, which could be anywhere in the range of $40 to $100 and up, depending on where you are located. The terms state that all returns must be in a “like-new” state, and returned in their original packaging to qualify for a refund.

Are There Any Alternatives to the UPWalker?

The UPWalker certainly appears to provide some unique functionality, but does the product truly feature a breakthrough, revolutionary design as the manufacturer claims it to be?

During our research on Google and Amazon, we didn’t encounter any other products that had identical designs to the UPWalker. What we were able to find, however, were a few different walkers that claimed to be able to support a more upright walking position, similar to one of the UPWalker’s main claims.

The most comparable product we encountered during our research was called the Motivo, and it appeared to be coming sometime in 2018. It features a highly similar “upright” design position and also includes a more stylized look with a solid, pre-assembled construction.

Beyond these similarities, the product also folds for easy transport and includes a storage area and drink compartment, just as the UPWalker does. In addition to these, however, the device also includes several unique functions, such as a flip-out tray table, cane holder, narrow turn radius and a speed control system to avoid runaways on downhill surfaces. These additional features come at an added cost, however, as the product is currently listed at $549.00.

As an additional note, at 25 pounds, it weighs in at just over two pounds heavier than the UPWalker. Depending on your needs and preferences, as well as where you’ll most often use your upright walker in public when on the go, keep in mind that both of these models might not be considered ‘lightweight.’

Ultimately, your choice of walker should come down to the features and design that best suit your unique lifestyle. If you frequently carry a cane, or deal with uneven terrain, or just really enjoy the aesthetic design, the Motivo might be worth the additional funds for you. If all you’re looking for is the ability to walk in a more upright position, however, you could feasibly save some money by going with the UPWalker.

Our Bottom Line on the UPWalker

Based on what we’ve learned about the UPWalker, can you truly expect it to help you regain your independence by enabling you to stand more upright, and in a more comfortable position relative to more conventional walkers?

In short, we feel that the answer is likely yes, depending upon your specific needs. If you find that traditional walkers and rollators cause you increased pain due to slouching, or due to pressure on the wrists and lower extremities, the UPWalker may indeed be able to offer a more comfortable experience for you.

See Also: How Walking 30 Minutes a Day Can Benefit Your Health in a Big Way

That said, we did not encounter the actual clinical study referenced frequently on the manufacturer’s website during our research, and without testing the device for ourselves, we can’t fully state that it will work as described. There’s also the matter of the competition with products like the Motivo. While not available until 2018, the walker has several unique features that might justify the extra expenditures, depending on what you’re looking for.

All said, if you opt for the UPWalker, be sure to keep the 30-day return policy in mind. If you try the product out and decide that it isn’t right for you, you’ll be able to return it, as long as you’re willing to potentially lose out on a decent chunk of change in return shipping fees (remember, it weighs 23 pounds and is oversized) in the process.

Have you used the UPWalker yourself? Leave a review below and share your thoughts with other Highya readers.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

11 Consumer Reviews for UpWalker

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 4 2 star: 3 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 18% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 11
Sort reviews by:

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Horrible!

    • Portland, OR,
    • Nov 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My elderly landlord purchased one. I have no idea what they told him to get him to buy one but it's so huge as to be practically useless for getting around in the home & we live in a very large old Victorian. Getting in touch with the company for returns has proven to be very difficult & the amount in return shipping charges are astronomical.

    1/3 of the cost to send it back is quite the “Try-out fee”. Don't ever do this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT order

    I ordered this as a gift for my arthritic Dad. I am SO disappointed. The commercial looked great and the taller height made sense. The quality is poor, it is NOT sturdy. It is heavy for a senior to lift in and out of the car. The seat does not lock into place, when you turn it the seat lifts. The idea is great, BUT the product is NOT! There is also a fee for UPS to come retrieve it for return.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 44 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Not happy

    • Beaverton, MI,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It can work outdoors too. Big for inside use, won't fit in a 30-inch door. It took two hours to put back in the box it came in. I sent it back by USPS; it cost $185.00. UPS was $190.00. They don't give return free shipping.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 72 out 74 people found this review helpful

    Will not respond to return request

    • Alabama,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    On August 14, 2018, LifeWalker shipped an upright walker to my 95-year-old mother. She tried to use it for several days, but it was too wide and cumbersome for her. It is a well-made device, but she just could not use it. On August 28th, I emailed LifeWalker for a return authorization, and over the last two weeks I have sent two emails, one USPS Priority Letter and a Facebook request for a return. Clearly customer service after the sale does not happen. I will protest the credit card payment, and get my money back, but a simple response to my four communications is all that is needed. I can recommend the product, but if you need service, I can't recommend the company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 83 out 87 people found this review helpful

    UpWalker wheel configurations

    • Billings, MT,
    • Aug 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My main issue involves several back surgeries. I bought my UpWalker (only used a few times and truly like new) from a lady who didn't feel comfortable trying to use it after her purchase. Being fairly tall, I was excited about being able to use a walker where I wasn't all hunched over because it hadn't taken long to discover my old walker put so much pressure on my wrists and arms that it tended to become painful after only a short time.

    I love the UpWalker except for one big thing...those back wheels turning exactly like the front wheels! They make one feel very unstable and when trying to turn can also make one feel like the walker is going to suddenly slip sideways and/or go flying out from underneath one. They can also tend to run over one's feet easily, especially while going into or coming out of a turn, which if wearing softer footwear is very uncomfortable to a person!

    If the back wheels were stable and turned straight forward and backward with only the front wheels turning side to side like my old walker, I really feel I'd never want to use any other brand. I say this because I personally did like how easy the UpWalker is to use otherwise plus to fold. If one walks straightforward as it's currently built, it is much easier on the back, wrists, and arms. As it now stands with those full turning back wheels, however, and with that flyaway feeling, I'm afraid I don't feel I could recommend buying an UpWalker to anyone else. IF they ever change the back wheel configuration, I'd immediately change my rating and easily give the walker 5+ stars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 26, 2018

      Rebekka H.

      We recently received the UpWalker and we agree that it is rather big for smaller homes, but it seems that the design is for stabilization. Unfortunately, the gentleman who wished the back wheels were straight, may not have realized that there are locks on those two back wheels. We love ours and just wanted to offer the advice that those two back wheels lock and the size seems to be for stabilization. It really isn't recommended for those with true neurological conditions. They may want to look into the U Step Walking Stabilizer. Its wheels are engineered to accommodate those with Parkinson, MS, ALS, etc. I believe insurance covers the costs of that one, as it's coded as a medical device. I hope I'm helpful, but most importantly, KEEP WALKING!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 74 out 84 people found this review helpful

    We didn't buy it for Mom...

    • Minnesota,
    • Jul 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A really good idea but improvements to the design are needed.

    Mom was able to try out the walker at a retailer and found that, for walking, it was very comfortable for her and likely would have been better than her standard walker.

    However, Mom needs to sit every so often and relies on her walker for sitting when comfortable seating is not available.

    The SEAT design of the UpWalker is too narrow for her, the back support does not allow her to do much more than a "perch" on the seat, and the arms cannot be moved out of the way for sitting.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 78 out 89 people found this review helpful

    Too small

    • Houma, LA,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It needs to be taller and wider. When sitting you feel smooshed, and when walking it’s just too short to stand upright. The sides interfere when you’re sitting, and the elbows extensions are way too short. You would almost have to be a midget for this thing to work correctly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 149 out 162 people found this review helpful

    Too big and awkward

    • Buckingham, VA,
    • Mar 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've tried for weeks to use this walker. It's just too damn big for in-home use. I've scratched up doors and baseboards. The seat is useless, especially when you have to lock the brake to stand up. The brake handles are behind you, impossible to set, plus the seat won’t stay put. Good for walking, if you're in your yard. That’s when I use my electric scooter. And $500? Get real people. This is ridiculous. I pay for all my equipment, thank you very much, I don’t ask for assistance like most people do! My wife got this for me thinking it would be useful; God bless her. Thanks honey, no thanks UpWalker!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 118 out 127 people found this review helpful

    On the fence

    I have only had this walker about a month. I saw it on TV and asked my surgeon about it. Though not familiar with it, my doctor said anything that keeps me more upright was worth a try. I had 16 vertebrae fused.

    It took me a while to figure out the best height. I like that there are so many height choices. I like that you can sit on it. It feels sturdy. I also like the beverage holder and the pouch.

    However, I felt the advertising about the $100 off was misleading. I expected $100 off the $595 price not free shipping and a pouch and a beverage holder instead.

    If you watch the commercials carefully, you never see the walker on a carpet. I find it harder to push on carpet. Also when the walker is going over the step, you do not see the upper part of the Parkinson's disease walker's body when it goes over the step to see what he is doing to have it go over the step. I have found it difficult to go over steps.

    It is very important that you walk with your body in the walker proper. My physical therapist said my knees should touch the back band as I walk.

    It is easy to fold up but depending upon your affliction, it is not that easy to lift. With my back surgery, I cannot lift it at all.

    It shipped quickly. Though assembled there are quite a number of adjustments that needed to be made. I couldn't have done them myself due to my back surgery.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 175 out 191 people found this review helpful

    Price is an issue

    The actual price is $647 without any add-ons, as opposed to what is listed on this site, which is $495.00 with free shipping. Here's the site:

    When I finally receive it, I will think long and hard before I decide to keep it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 165 out 175 people found this review helpful

    Didn't find useful

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Jan 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found it to be too big and cumbersome. For $500, it seems overpriced for what it is. Even folded it is bulk, and when I wasn't using it, was in the way. It was, in fact, very well built and quite sturdy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 5, 2018

      Coleen Schaefer

      My mom is 84 years old (almost 85), and is really interested in this to help her from humping over. She has early Parkinsons and wants to keep walking. What are your thoughts, as her four-wheel walker causes her pain to stand up?

    • Aug 28, 2018

      Robin B.

      My employer has Parkinson's and this was one of the worst things for him to use, he turns a corner and the back wheels lift off the ground. It wasn't tall enough for him. The brakes are not the best they could be. He has a walker made for Parkinson's, you have to hold the handles in to move and when you let go it stops automatically. Anyone with Parkinson's this system works great, six wheels and it will go wherever you want to go. So, no I would not recommend this UpWalker to anyone at this time. Cheaply made, not tall enough either.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 11

Write a Review for UpWalker!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review