UPWalker Reviews

UPWalker

Overall Rating

2.4

20 Customer Reviews

Summary

The UPWalker is a walking aid designed to address some of the shortcomings of traditional walkers and rollators, such as poor posture and a lack of support. Learn what customers are saying.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.4 Stars out of 20 Reviews
5 Star:15% 4 Star:5% 3 Star:20% 2 Star:25% 1 Star:35%
30% Recommend This Product
Start your review of UPWalker:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Dec 2, 2020

My new UPWalker

By Robert S., Marlborough, CT, Verified Reviewer

I've had the UPWalker for about a month and love it. I can walk around my grounds and don't get tired as I did with my trekking poles. This was recommended by a personal trainer friend. It got me back walking and is sturdy and stable. And I can sit down to relax to observe humanity. People who have stopped to ask about it were impressed I'm going to do some jaunts in the street. But will be careful. This has added years to my life.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to assemble

Rolls easily

Sitting down is convenient

The brakes work fine

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Sep 3, 2020

Design flaw

By Merrell D., Oregon, Verified Reviewer

The front wheels have a lock that extends beyond the wheels and sets when the walker is moved against a wall or door, making it impossible to navigate until someone gets down and releases them again.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 15, 2020

UpWalker 30-day return policy scam

By Robert W., Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

To make a long story short, my mother didn’t care for the UpWalker but I am not criticizing it as a good product. The problem is their return policy. They say there is a 30-day return policy but it has to be sent back through UPS. I paid close to $600.00 for it and was charged $126.00 to return it through UPS and was advised there would be a restocking fee. Scam!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 24, 2020

LOVE IT

By David S., Thousand Oaks, CA, Verified Reviewer

I asked my back surgeon to RX this for me, he did, and it arrived at my door a few days later. At that point, it had been nearly 2 years since my spinal fusion. I’d been using an old-style walker and couldn’t go the approximately 200 steps to the end of my street. Just hurt too bad. After getting my UpWalker, I am now able to go to the end of my block, go two blocks uphill to our park, go around the park on its packed gravel trails and back home again. I do this twice daily. Approximately a total distance of almost 2 miles. Incredible difference. I can actually do this and it doesn’t feel bad at all. About 2 years ago I lost the lower half of my eyesight so I still use the UpWalker for my walks because I cannot see where my feet are going to land. Frightening, at best.

I’m only 5’10” but still had to drill an extra hole to get the arm supports high enough to be comfortable. The biggest complaint I have is the brakes. I’ve been contemplating an electric trike for when I can’t drive anymore and they all have disc brakes. I know it would add more cost, but when going downhill and having brakes that are more able to adjust your speed without grabbing or not stopping at all, would be very comforting. OVERALL, I LOVE THIS THING. IT HAS TRULY SAVED MY LIFE. Thank you.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 27, 2020

Great product

By Wes R., Buffalo, NY, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a used UpWalker on the internet, it was used but not abused. I have Parkinson's, and I have balance issues (side to side) and this UpWalker fits the bill, I feel secure and stable.

It may be a little larger than other walkers, but the secure feeling it provides is well worth it and you are in an upright walking position with no back pain.

I would recommend it, but it should be tried before purchasing.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 25, 2019

Works for me

By Robert J., Arizona, Verified Reviewer

I got mine through the VA Hospital and I'm very happy with it. I can walk more straight and not bent over like with my previous walker. It does fold up, I would put on a carrier on the back of my car, it is adjustable up and down, now I go everywhere with it. I would never go back to my other walker where I was bent over as I walked in the pain I had with it.

I find that I can fold it up enough to go through odd size doors.

It's much easier to use when I have my service dog with me and the brakes are well also.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 35 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 17, 2019

Low quality!

By Ken M., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Very cheaply made. Low quality. After using it a few times it started to rattle and not feel safe. When I tried to return it they charged me a restocking fee! Terrible! They claim in their ads a full refund. DO NOT BUY! After paying almost $100 to ship it back.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 45 People Have Voted

Posted on May 20, 2019

Where can I get rid of this thing

By Bill F., West Chester, PA, Verified Reviewer

My wife bought this for me, I did not want it. I would feel like an idiot walking around with such a goofy apparatus. I have tried on eBay but can't find a category to list it in.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 49 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 17, 2019

Other alternatives

By Tom B., Florida, Verified Reviewer

The UpWalker is too cumbersome for me when I go to the gym and for use on cruise ships. It is not easy to use around the house and is bulky to put in a vehicle. In comparison with a Rollator, it is harder to maneuver and lift to store.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 102 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 23, 2018

Horrible!

By Linda C., Portland, OR, Verified Reviewer

My elderly landlord purchased one. I have no idea what they told him to get him to buy one but it's so huge as to be practically useless for getting around in the home & we live in a very large old Victorian. Getting in touch with the company for returns has proven to be very difficult & the amount in return shipping charges are astronomical.

1/3 of the cost to send it back is quite the “Try-out fee”. Don't ever do this!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 132 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 11, 2018

Do NOT order

By Phylissanne S., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

I ordered this as a gift for my arthritic Dad. I am SO disappointed. The commercial looked great and the taller height made sense. The quality is poor, it is NOT sturdy. It is heavy for a senior to lift in and out of the car. The seat does not lock into place, when you turn it the seat lifts. The idea is great, BUT the product is NOT! There is also a fee for UPS to come retrieve it for return.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 139 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 25, 2018

Not happy

By William B., Beaverton, MI, Verified Reviewer

It can work outdoors too. Big for inside use, won't fit in a 30-inch door. It took two hours to put back in the box it came in. I sent it back by USPS; it cost $185.00. UPS was $190.00. They don't give return free shipping.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 159 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 15, 2018

Will not respond to return request

By Raplee M., Alabama, Verified Reviewer

On August 14, 2018, LifeWalker shipped an upright walker to my 95-year-old mother. She tried to use it for several days, but it was too wide and cumbersome for her. It is a well-made device, but she just could not use it. On August 28th, I emailed LifeWalker for a return authorization, and over the last two weeks I have sent two emails, one USPS Priority Letter and a Facebook request for a return. Clearly customer service after the sale does not happen. I will protest the credit card payment, and get my money back, but a simple response to my four communications is all that is needed. I can recommend the product, but if you need service, I can't recommend the company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 184 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 29, 2018

UpWalker wheel configurations

By Kay K., Billings, MT, Verified Reviewer

My main issue involves several back surgeries. I bought my UpWalker (only used a few times and truly like new) from a lady who didn't feel comfortable trying to use it after her purchase. Being fairly tall, I was excited about being able to use a walker where I wasn't all hunched over because it hadn't taken long to discover my old walker put so much pressure on my wrists and arms that it tended to become painful after only a short time.

I love the UpWalker except for one big thing...those back wheels turning exactly like the front wheels! They make one feel very unstable and when trying to turn can also make one feel like the walker is going to suddenly slip sideways and/or go flying out from underneath one. They can also tend to run over one's feet easily, especially while going into or coming out of a turn, which if wearing softer footwear is very uncomfortable to a person!

If the back wheels were stable and turned straight forward and backward with only the front wheels turning side to side like my old walker, I really feel I'd never want to use any other brand. I say this because I personally did like how easy the UpWalker is to use otherwise plus to fold. If one walks straightforward as it's currently built, it is much easier on the back, wrists, and arms. As it now stands with those full turning back wheels, however, and with that flyaway feeling, I'm afraid I don't feel I could recommend buying an UpWalker to anyone else. IF they ever change the back wheel configuration, I'd immediately change my rating and easily give the walker 5+ stars!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 192 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 27, 2018

We didn't buy it for Mom...

By Lauren H., Minnesota, Verified Reviewer

A really good idea but improvements to the design are needed.

Mom was able to try out the walker at a retailer and found that, for walking, it was very comfortable for her and likely would have been better than her standard walker.

However, Mom needs to sit every so often and relies on her walker for sitting when comfortable seating is not available.

The SEAT design of the UpWalker is too narrow for her, the back support does not allow her to do much more than a "perch" on the seat, and the arms cannot be moved out of the way for sitting.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 153 People Have Voted

Posted on May 30, 2018

Too small

By Tyrone B., Houma, LA, Verified Reviewer

It needs to be taller and wider. When sitting you feel smooshed, and when walking it’s just too short to stand upright. The sides interfere when you’re sitting, and the elbows extensions are way too short. You would almost have to be a midget for this thing to work correctly.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 148 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 26, 2018

Too big and awkward

By Paul Holmes, Buckingham, VA, Verified Reviewer

I've tried for weeks to use this walker. It's just too damn big for in-home use. I've scratched up doors and baseboards. The seat is useless, especially when you have to lock the brake to stand up. The brake handles are behind you, impossible to set, plus the seat won’t stay put. Good for walking, if you're in your yard. That’s when I use my electric scooter. And $500? Get real people. This is ridiculous. I pay for all my equipment, thank you very much, I don’t ask for assistance like most people do! My wife got this for me thinking it would be useful; God bless her. Thanks honey, no thanks UpWalker!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 228 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 19, 2018

On the fence

By Donna Schneider, Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

I have only had this walker about a month. I saw it on TV and asked my surgeon about it. Though not familiar with it, my doctor said anything that keeps me more upright was worth a try. I had 16 vertebrae fused.

It took me a while to figure out the best height. I like that there are so many height choices. I like that you can sit on it. It feels sturdy. I also like the beverage holder and the pouch.

However, I felt the advertising about the $100 off was misleading. I expected $100 off the $595 price not free shipping and a pouch and a beverage holder instead.

If you watch the commercials carefully, you never see the walker on a carpet. I find it harder to push on carpet. Also when the walker is going over the step, you do not see the upper part of the Parkinson's disease walker's body when it goes over the step to see what he is doing to have it go over the step. I have found it difficult to go over steps.

It is very important that you walk with your body in the walker proper. My physical therapist said my knees should touch the back band as I walk.

It is easy to fold up but depending upon your affliction, it is not that easy to lift. With my back surgery, I cannot lift it at all.

It shipped quickly. Though assembled there are quite a number of adjustments that needed to be made. I couldn't have done them myself due to my back surgery.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 169 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 18, 2018

Price is an issue

By Leslie Newland, Temecula, CA, Verified Reviewer

The actual price is $647 without any add-ons, as opposed to what is listed on this site, which is $495.00 with free shipping. Here's the site:

When I finally receive it, I will think long and hard before I decide to keep it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 226 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 2, 2018

Didn't find useful

By Mike Ronga, Tucson, AZ, Verified Reviewer

I found it to be too big and cumbersome. For $500, it seems overpriced for what it is. Even folded it is bulk, and when I wasn't using it, was in the way. It was, in fact, very well built and quite sturdy.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 201 People Have Voted
Showing 1-20 of 20

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.