About Vacations to Go

If you’ve ever had a sudden, irresistible urge to pack your bags, drive to the nearest port, hop on a cruise ship, and sail to some far off, exotic location, Vacations to Go claims that they’re “America’s clearinghouse for discount cruises,” and that they can help you save up to 82% on last-minute cruises from nearly all cruise companies, destinations, and ports of departure.

But does Vacations to Go really make the process as easy as they claim? And do they really offer some of the best deals around? Let’s drop anchor and see what the facts have to say.

Quick Facts About Vacations to Go

Vacations to Go claims to be a bonded and fully accredited travel agency that can help you save up to 82% on last-minute cruises. In fact, the company is ranked as one of the largest online travel agencies in the U.S. with more than 700 employees, and has helped more than 4 million customers find a great deal on their next cruise.

According to the Vacations to Go website, they offer last-minute deals from every cruise line in the world, which can be accessed in one of three ways on their website:

  • 90-Day Ticker – A list of last-minute cruise deals that depart in 90 days or less.
  • Find a bargain Tool – Allows you to book cruises in advance, while still gaining valuable early bird discounts, two-for-one deals, and cut-rate promotions.
  • Manual Search – Allows you to search for cruises based on date, region, cruise lines and ships, length, port of departure, and destination. You can also search based on discount type (e.g. 55+, military, law enforcement, teacher, and more).

However you find your cruise on the Vacations to Go website, the company claims that the average availability is less than 7 days, although some listings sell out in a matter of hours. Because of this, if you find a deal you like, you may want to book as soon as possible.

In addition to searching on their website, Vacations to Go also provides a weekly e-newsletter that outlines some of their most recent cruise deals.

Vacations to Go Pricing & Refund Policy

In order to search for cruise deals on the Vacations to Go website, you’ll be required to sign up by entering your first and last names, email address, and country. Registration is completely free of charge.

Due to the variety of cruises listed by Vacations to Go, prices can vary greatly, as well as refund policies. In general though, you’ll be required to submit a down payment of anywhere between $100 and $1,000 (depending on the cruise line) when your initially book your trip, and then to pay the remaining balance anywhere between 45 and 120 days prior to departure. Since Vacations to Go specializes in last-minute cruise deals that will usually sail within this time period, in many instances you may be required to submit full payment immediately after booking.

If you need to cancel your cruise prior to departure, refund policies will vary by company, although the closer you get to your sail date, the less money (if any) you’ll receive as a refund. If necessary, your Vacations to Go counselor will be able to provide additional information by calling 800-338-4962.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Vacations to Go?

Vacations to Go has been in business since 1984 (online since 1999), and is based out of Houston, TX. The company holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, although they do have nearly 50 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these appear to reference poor customer service, misunderstandings about the booking process, and undisclosed fees. With this said, it appears that Vacations to Go responds quickly to complaints in an effort to resolve them.

Outside of the BBB, Vacations to Go customer reviews appear to be mostly negative, with the most common complaints citing high pressure/bait and switch sales tactics, agents who are unresponsive to customer’s emails, unlisted additional charges/fees, and booking mistakes.

What’s the Bottom Line About Vacations to Go?

So what’s the deal with Vacations to Go? Should you book your next cruise through them? The answer is: it depends.

First, you should keep in mind that Vacations to Go is a sales-driven company. Employees are typically paid on a commission-only basis where they’re given leads, and then expected to close a certain number of sales in an effort to meet their quotas. This means that the company can help you find great cruise deals, but their Travel Counselors appear to be more focused on making their next sale than they are about providing solid customer service. This could be the primary cause behind many of the customer complaints we encountered that cited high pressure/bait and switch sales tactics, and poor follow-up communication.

Next, if you’re prepared to do a little legwork, we read numerous customer reviews claiming that you can often find many of the same (or even better) deals through other travel sites like Kayak.

Finally, keep in mind that since your cruise is booked through Vacations to Go (and not through the cruise line directly), if any mistakes occur that impact your trip, you’ll typically need to resolve them through Vacations to Go, which might present a problem considering their reputation for poor customer service. Also, because Vacations to Go is a large sales-based organization, you shouldn’t expect to have your hand held throughout the process. In other words, while they may be able to help you locate great cruise deals, it doesn’t appear that they provide much support beyond this.

Have you booked a cruise through Vacations to Go? If so, tell us about your experience by writing a review!


Read 26 Vacations to Go Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 50% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    The best!

    • By Diana Poole,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have used Vacations to Go to book 15 cruises over the years, and would not consider using another agent. Their sales people are the best. One time we got an agent who did not seem to care about us or our plans, so we asked for another agent, and got one immediately. We book way ahead for our cruises, and WE keep track of what that booking is doing. If the price drops, or if a new perk is offered, we call our agent, and she adjusts our booking to always get us the best deal. We do not expect that our agent has nothing to do but monitor only our booking.

    We have often been called to ask if we want to take advantage of a new perk, or a cabin upgrade for a small fee, etc. It's nice to have that option.

    In my opinion, if you want great service, and you have realistic expectations, Vacations to Go is the best.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    They were great

    • By Cheryle O.,
    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have booked two cruises through VTG and they have been excellent. I have recommended them to many of my friends. If I had a question, it was answered straight away, and I was reminded of things to check before my trip such as country Visa requirements.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Outstanding company and outstanding service

    • By Debra F.,
    • Washington,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a wonderful company that caters to its customers' wants and needs. They take payments, so you don't have to pay for everything at once.

    I have booked three cruises with them. The first cruise was to Alaska to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Our travel agent surprised us by upgrading our room from indoor to a balcony (at no cost to us.) He included champagne with his surprise. We were thrilled!

    Our second and third cruises were to the Mexican Riviera. We just had indoor rooms, but we thoroughly enjoyed our vacation.

    I highly recommend Vacations To Go.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    I love Vacations to Go

    • By Charles H.,
    • Idaho,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used Vacations to Go for over 8 years to book my cruises. I really like their website and the different search items they have to find the best deal and cruise I would like to go on. I have used Chester Allen (ext 7602) the past few years to book my trips and found him very honest, friendly, and helpful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    VTG is a great company

    • By Linda M.,
    • Moreno Valley, CA,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using this agency for the last 5 years and have found them to be honest and reputable. Before them, we used the Auto Club but it became apparent that Auto Club couldn't compete with Vacations to Go. I read the comments listed and have never had any such problems. In fact, recently I booked a Royal Caribbean Cruise to the Canary Island which I had to cancel, and Royal charged me $200, which I thought was horrible. My counselor, Rory, explained to me that Royal only books cruises nonrefundable, which I did verify with them. I am a Diamond member and decided not to give them any more business because I disagreed with that policy. I let them know, but they don't seem to care. That's fine. I'm a cruiser.

    I booked two for next year on Carnival and am taking a Viking Cruise shortly. I like this agency. I have no complaints. You realize that you can book using the company and transfer to any agency you want. I've done that many times. I only had one issue. And that was Celebrity Cruises. I booked on board and got a horrible deal. I transferred it to Rory, but she mentioned: "never do that again!" Lesson learned.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    What are you talking about? Really?

    • By Debra R.,
    • Florida,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First of all, Vacations to Go has the best search engine for searching cruises ANYWHERE! I use it even when I am traveling with another agency. When I booked my first cruise with Vacations to Go, I didn't have a current passport to go through the Panama Canal - my Vacations to Go agent had an answer to "expedite our application." Well, worth it. AND- how can you beat the reduced prices? Anybody who cruises knows that the gratuities are going to tacked on at the end of the cruise at $14 or so a day. Also, there are port fees that are included in the Vacations to Go prices - which isn't the case of most price quotes. The email comes from the agent you talk to on the phone - with great info. I don't understand this bad review. "Prices are in US dollars, per person, based on double occupancy. Prices are subject to change without notice by cruise lines until a deposit has been made, and must be reconfirmed at time of booking. Prices include port charges but do not include airfare or (where applicable) airport or government taxes or fees. Prices and promotions are for new bookings only, in accordance with cruise line policies."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Vacations To Go are awesome

    • By Sandra P.,
    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Jul 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have been doing cruises for a number of years and Vacations To Go are the only company we would ever book through, they come out as one of the best priced and staff are amazing, you can ring and talk to your consultant at any time. Very efficient.

    Have recommended them over and over again to so many people.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Always professional service!

    • By Hector V.,
    • Fort Lauderdale, FL,
    • Oct 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It’s my pleasure to submit this 5-star review for VTG. I’ve used them several times and the agents have always been top-notch. Would recommend! Just booked another cruise. Thanks VTG.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • By Richard T.,
    • Oklahoma,
    • Dec 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Booked a Windstar Cruise. VTG had the best price I could find by $200.00. Every stage of the booking process was easy and accurate. Payment was made to the cruise line, not VTG. This is a major yes factor. Dylan Cox and Richard Davis were great to work with. My first time using them, I was very impressed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    4th time with VTG, first issue this year

    • By Terry B,
    • Ohio,
    • Aug 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have booked all-inclusives with Vacations To Go for 4 years straight. We've been to Jamaica, Punta Cana and Riviera Maya. Next month, we head back to Punta Cana. The first 3 years, we never had an issue and everything was usually better than expected. We booked all excursions through Apple/Amstar (Vacations To Go uses them exclusively for all-inclusives). There is a rep at the airport and daily at the resorts. This year we've had a small glitch, which was the combined fault of VTG and American Airlines. We book 4-5 months out as soon as we see the prices drop. This time, AA changed our returning flights and notified VTG. Our agent missed the change in her queue so we ended up with the last 2 seats on the plane- in separate aisles, clear in the back. I'm not pleased and let them know, but no one seems to able to help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Vacations to Go is the way to go!

    • By Richard S.,
    • Florida,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have used Vacations to Go numerous time to book cruises and resorts. You get exactly what you reserve; there is no rip-off.

    Moreover, they ARE the best site to get good insight as to prices you should expect to pay. Many time they can beat direct prices from various cruise agencies - HA, Expedia, Princess.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 26

Write a Review for Vacations to Go!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review