Read 26 Vacations to Go Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 50% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • BUYER BEWARE - should be all over the packet

    • By Mr. S.,
    • Wales, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    All the negative posts here are correct, at least in my opinion.

    I have booked around 8 cruise packages with Vacations To Go and the price is never anywhere near what the Ticker Board States, and all I get is that Port Taxes have to be added, but never disclosed as to which ports charge what. It seems like a scam, which you either sign up to or move on to another shark in the tank.

    I think this is a company you deal with if you deal with everything yourself and not be reliant upon their assistance, because from past emails sent, they have no interest in responding unless it is a sale purchase.

    Be careful, read everything 3 times and always pay by credit card, in the hope that you may have a chance to get back your money back if things go tits up!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bait and switch

    • By Carmen A.,
    • Connecticut,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a Vacations to Go customer for about five years. The business relationship has been acceptable. I purchased one cruise recently that cost the same as the cruise line charges even though VTG claimed to offer me a special deal. That's not my major complaint. Here is their egregious bait and switch tactic:

    Vacations to Go posted a fare for a Queen Mary to Transatlantic crossing at $895 for an interior stateroom. I emailed them through their website, requesting a booking for two at that rate.

    I received a quote for an interior stateroom for two, listing the fares at $1063 each plus taxes and fees.

    When I complained, the agent emailed me back saying the fare had changed to the higher rate. It had taken the agent two days to get back to me. Out of curiosity, I went online and checked the fare again. It was still advertised at $895.

    I complained directly to Alan Fox, the owner of the company. Someone else from VTG phoned me immediately, telling me he had no idea about what I had just seen on the VTG website. The rate was now $1063, but he might reduce it to $970 if I agreed to pay $1063.

    This odd offer was too twisted for me to accept, so I declined. I checked and found other discounters were also asking $1063 for an inside stateroom. VTG plays fast and loose with advertising and actual price they charge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Embelish cost of cruise to make it look like a discount!

    • By Marianne P.,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Nov 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recommend to anyone looking for a cruise first go on the cruise line's website and see actually how much of a discount Vacations to Go are offering.

    They list the original cost of the cruise much higher than it really is.

    I was looking at a cruise, went on the website of the cruise line it was not 50% off as vtg advertised but $10 less. Might have a better deal if you book direct with the cruise line. Always check the price the cruise line is offering the cruise for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • LOWEST PRICING?

    • By Stephen M.,
    • Englewood, FL,
    • Feb 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Vacations to Go claims to provide rock bottom prices. I found an 11-day cruise that was being advertised by Vacations to Go for about $1623 per person, meaning $3246 or so for 2 people for a minisuite. By the time taxes were added in as well as the Free At Sea package, the price was almost exactly what the cruise line would charge me for the exact same reservation, the $5000 level. Not a slam on Vacations to Go, just an observation that there may be some misinformation if the consumer isn't aware.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • 4th time with VTG, first issue this year

    • By Terry B,
    • Ohio,
    • Aug 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have booked all-inclusives with Vacations To Go for 4 years straight. We've been to Jamaica, Punta Cana and Riviera Maya. Next month, we head back to Punta Cana. The first 3 years, we never had an issue and everything was usually better than expected. We booked all excursions through Apple/Amstar (Vacations To Go uses them exclusively for all-inclusives). There is a rep at the airport and daily at the resorts. This year we've had a small glitch, which was the combined fault of VTG and American Airlines. We book 4-5 months out as soon as we see the prices drop. This time, AA changed our returning flights and notified VTG. Our agent missed the change in her queue so we ended up with the last 2 seats on the plane- in separate aisles, clear in the back. I'm not pleased and let them know, but no one seems to able to help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Vacations to Go is the way to go!

    • By Richard S.,
    • Florida,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have used Vacations to Go numerous time to book cruises and resorts. You get exactly what you reserve; there is no rip-off.

    Moreover, they ARE the best site to get good insight as to prices you should expect to pay. Many time they can beat direct prices from various cruise agencies - HA, Expedia, Princess.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The best!

    • By Diana Poole,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have used Vacations to Go to book 15 cruises over the years, and would not consider using another agent. Their sales people are the best. One time we got an agent who did not seem to care about us or our plans, so we asked for another agent, and got one immediately. We book way ahead for our cruises, and WE keep track of what that booking is doing. If the price drops, or if a new perk is offered, we call our agent, and she adjusts our booking to always get us the best deal. We do not expect that our agent has nothing to do but monitor only our booking.

    We have often been called to ask if we want to take advantage of a new perk, or a cabin upgrade for a small fee, etc. It's nice to have that option.

    In my opinion, if you want great service, and you have realistic expectations, Vacations to Go is the best.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • They were great

    • By Cheryle O.,
    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have booked two cruises through VTG and they have been excellent. I have recommended them to many of my friends. If I had a question, it was answered straight away, and I was reminded of things to check before my trip such as country Visa requirements.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Outstanding company and outstanding service

    • By Debra F.,
    • Washington,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a wonderful company that caters to its customers' wants and needs. They take payments, so you don't have to pay for everything at once.

    I have booked three cruises with them. The first cruise was to Alaska to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Our travel agent surprised us by upgrading our room from indoor to a balcony (at no cost to us.) He included champagne with his surprise. We were thrilled!

    Our second and third cruises were to the Mexican Riviera. We just had indoor rooms, but we thoroughly enjoyed our vacation.

    I highly recommend Vacations To Go.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I love Vacations to Go

    • By Charles H.,
    • Idaho,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used Vacations to Go for over 8 years to book my cruises. I really like their website and the different search items they have to find the best deal and cruise I would like to go on. I have used Chester Allen (ext 7602) the past few years to book my trips and found him very honest, friendly, and helpful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • VTG is a great company

    • By Linda M.,
    • Moreno Valley, CA,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using this agency for the last 5 years and have found them to be honest and reputable. Before them, we used the Auto Club but it became apparent that Auto Club couldn't compete with Vacations to Go. I read the comments listed and have never had any such problems. In fact, recently I booked a Royal Caribbean Cruise to the Canary Island which I had to cancel, and Royal charged me $200, which I thought was horrible. My counselor, Rory, explained to me that Royal only books cruises nonrefundable, which I did verify with them. I am a Diamond member and decided not to give them any more business because I disagreed with that policy. I let them know, but they don't seem to care. That's fine. I'm a cruiser.

    I booked two for next year on Carnival and am taking a Viking Cruise shortly. I like this agency. I have no complaints. You realize that you can book using the company and transfer to any agency you want. I've done that many times. I only had one issue. And that was Celebrity Cruises. I booked on board and got a horrible deal. I transferred it to Rory, but she mentioned: "never do that again!" Lesson learned.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 26

Write a Review for Vacations to Go!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Vacations to Go