Read 26 Vacations to Go Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 50% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • Bait and switch

    • By Carmen A.,
    • Connecticut,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a Vacations to Go customer for about five years. The business relationship has been acceptable. I purchased one cruise recently that cost the same as the cruise line charges even though VTG claimed to offer me a special deal. That's not my major complaint. Here is their egregious bait and switch tactic:

    Vacations to Go posted a fare for a Queen Mary to Transatlantic crossing at $895 for an interior stateroom. I emailed them through their website, requesting a booking for two at that rate.

    I received a quote for an interior stateroom for two, listing the fares at $1063 each plus taxes and fees.

    When I complained, the agent emailed me back saying the fare had changed to the higher rate. It had taken the agent two days to get back to me. Out of curiosity, I went online and checked the fare again. It was still advertised at $895.

    I complained directly to Alan Fox, the owner of the company. Someone else from VTG phoned me immediately, telling me he had no idea about what I had just seen on the VTG website. The rate was now $1063, but he might reduce it to $970 if I agreed to pay $1063.

    This odd offer was too twisted for me to accept, so I declined. I checked and found other discounters were also asking $1063 for an inside stateroom. VTG plays fast and loose with advertising and actual price they charge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • BUYER BEWARE - should be all over the packet

    • By Mr. S.,
    • Wales, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    All the negative posts here are correct, at least in my opinion.

    I have booked around 8 cruise packages with Vacations To Go and the price is never anywhere near what the Ticker Board States, and all I get is that Port Taxes have to be added, but never disclosed as to which ports charge what. It seems like a scam, which you either sign up to or move on to another shark in the tank.

    I think this is a company you deal with if you deal with everything yourself and not be reliant upon their assistance, because from past emails sent, they have no interest in responding unless it is a sale purchase.

    Be careful, read everything 3 times and always pay by credit card, in the hope that you may have a chance to get back your money back if things go tits up!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They were great

    • By Cheryle O.,
    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have booked two cruises through VTG and they have been excellent. I have recommended them to many of my friends. If I had a question, it was answered straight away, and I was reminded of things to check before my trip such as country Visa requirements.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Misleading agent

    • By Adnan W.,
    • Cypress, TX,
    • Nov 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our first-time experience buying a cruise vacation package. The agent at Vacations To Go mislead us in believing this was an all-inclusive deal. Two weeks after we made the payment, we got a notice in the email basically asking for almost $500 in service charges...for services which have not been delivered yet. I called to complain and was told that it is "standard" practice on all cruises and the agent should have told you. "The cruise line will bill you even more if you decide to pay at the end of your cruise. There is nothing we can do." They just lost any possibility of future business. I will take this to the cruise line but if you ask me, not a very wise business decision by the management.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The nonexistent cabin

    • By Mike K.,
    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found an ocean view cabin on their site at a good price. The cabin information was fine. Then, I tried to book it! Ha!

    Well, the cabin advertised was actually an obstructed view. You got to look at a lifeboat. If you really want to see the water, that would be no problem, but the price was more than doubled.

    So, there was not one cabin with an ocean view at the price advertised.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't promise their agreements

    • By Ron G.,
    • West Jeff, OH,
    • Aug 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They do not honor what is in the itinerary. You pay for a trip of a lifetime, and they do not get to see what you expected. Holland America is the same way, neither would honor the agreement I paid for. I will never use either of them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad company!

    • By Carol D.,
    • Laguna Woods, CA,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We inquired and booked a 14-day Caribbean Cruise. We needed some questions answered when my husband became ill and needed to get some help with buying insurance, as we were told we could go on the cruise by the doctor. We also asked for the cancelation policy since we had not been told that, just in case something went wrong. We come to learn that we had not been told the cancelation policy at all which seemed odd. We wanted to purchase insurance and go on the cruise since it was just minor surgery, and he even had the doctors okay the cruise, but we could not get assistance with insurance from our counselor at Vacations To Go.

    Maria Gomez was our counselor and it was like she was speaking a different language, the language of "I don't want to do any work and I just want to collect my commission." She would not answer emails, and she would not assist with information. She would not return phone calls and keep in mind, we were spending thousands of dollars for an upgraded cabin on a 14-day cruise! Upon speaking with a supervisor, after a week of trying to get help from our counselor, and a day before the final payment, I feel that we could have worked things out, but if we had a week or so to work with and had a "counselor" that was willing to help get the job done. I was ignored for so long and the time was up. We canceled and lost our deposit of over $350.00. Be very careful and ask questions about anything you are not positive about with Vacations To Go. They treated us badly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Vacations to Go is the way to go!

    • By Richard S.,
    • Florida,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have used Vacations to Go numerous time to book cruises and resorts. You get exactly what you reserve; there is no rip-off.

    Moreover, they ARE the best site to get good insight as to prices you should expect to pay. Many time they can beat direct prices from various cruise agencies - HA, Expedia, Princess.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Bad experience with Vacations to Go. AVOID THEM!

    • By Steven O.,
    • Arizona,
    • Jun 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible experience. They only want your money. I have used them in the past and was satisfied. Because I had no issues. However, I booked a resort with them in Puerta Vallarta Crown, and it was horrible. I checked out after one night for fear of catching a disease. I complained to VTG and so far they won't even communicate with me. Its been two months so far. AVOID THEM at all cost! There are many other and better options out there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • CSA insurance is a scam!

    • By Stephen Runyard,
    • Green Mountain Falls, CO,
    • May 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Vacations to Go is alright as a travel agency, but they sell CSA insurance known for leaving you when a claim is filed. Until they represent an honest travel insurance company, book elsewhere!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The best!

    • By Diana Poole,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have used Vacations to Go to book 15 cruises over the years, and would not consider using another agent. Their sales people are the best. One time we got an agent who did not seem to care about us or our plans, so we asked for another agent, and got one immediately. We book way ahead for our cruises, and WE keep track of what that booking is doing. If the price drops, or if a new perk is offered, we call our agent, and she adjusts our booking to always get us the best deal. We do not expect that our agent has nothing to do but monitor only our booking.

    We have often been called to ask if we want to take advantage of a new perk, or a cabin upgrade for a small fee, etc. It's nice to have that option.

    In my opinion, if you want great service, and you have realistic expectations, Vacations to Go is the best.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 26

Write a Review for Vacations to Go!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Vacations to Go