• 129 Customer Reviews
  • 75% Recommend This Service
4.0 out of 5
5 star: 68% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 24%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Very bad experience

    • By John P.,
    • Glendale, AZ,
    • Jun 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    Ok, lets start with I have had Varo for over a year and all was fine until:

    a) I changed my email address that started it all.

    b) Told a friend about Varo, she used it got the 75 bucks for using my ref code, I got nothing, they claimed the email she used was not mine.

    c) On June 10th my account got put on hold for some darn reason, they claimed they needed me to verify myself with selfies holding my driver's license card, got told my account was re-instated, all good, WRONGGGGGGGGGGGGG.

    d) Called them on Wednesday, got no good answers. Called on Thursday, got told no good answers. Finally called on Saturday, GOT PUT ON HOLD, the lady she needed to turn my card back on and wah-lah.

    All is good so far BUT I AM WORKING ON CLOSING my account. AFTER I FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE BBB.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The phone call on Saturday, June 13th at 11am got my account turned back on
    • Put my account on hold for some darn identity fraud crap

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The best

    • By Heather C.,
    • Hagerstown, MD,
    • Jun 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    I have never been with a better bank. Deposits are easy. Customer service is amazing. Love being able to transfer to other Varo accounts instantly.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Very easy to transfer to other account
    • Friendly service
    • Always available
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love it

    • By Jessica S.,
    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Jun 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Has been the best card I have ever had. You can link one card to another, extra safety, my whole family has the Varo, and moving money is so simple.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Card lock
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome bank, horrible wait times

    • By Sammy K.,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Jun 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Accepted everywhere...try calling though, omg, takes forever, but they do take care of whatever issue you bring to their attention.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Accepted everywhere
    • Mobile app
    • Notifications
    • Wait times when you call

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I chose Varo to get my income faster. It works.

    • By Joshua L.,
    • Kentucky,
    • May 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I chose Varo to help me get my income faster. It works. And I also enjoy the up to $50 overdraft I'm allowed at times. Yes I would recommend Varo to anyone wanting to get their income faster.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • It's awesome

    • By Adrianna W.,
    • South Carolina,
    • May 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It's a great app and card, it makes life so much easier, most definitely recommend to everyone trying to find a card for sure.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Using for about a year now, it's been a great experience, so I hope everybody get this online banking account

    • By Ranier Y.,
    • Ohio,
    • May 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Varo is the best online banking account, they have great offers all the time, they can help you manage your money. They also got different offers as far as saving gas for your car, and also helping you make money from home. So yeah, this is more than enough of a great experience so everyone should join the team and get better results from this online bank.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • OUTSTANDING

    • By Robert C.,
    • Ohio,
    • May 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE. No fees for once people come, 1st/customer. Free ATM card, great customer service, online setup very easy, keep you informed. They look out for you, the customer, while doing what they can to make money and save you money. Again, thank you and OUTSTANDING job! Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The best debit card

    • By Rosa H.,
    • Ohio,
    • May 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Varo is way better than most mobile banking debit cards. The app is user-friendly and convenient. I love the fact that I get more interest with my savings through Varo than my bank savings accounts. It's super easy to load the accounts and transfer between accounts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I love this card

    • By Christina H.,
    • Grand Cane, LA,
    • May 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is one of the best online banks I have used. I love the fact that it's just like a real bank without the overhead of an actual bank. I have and will continue recommending Varo to others.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love Varo

    • By Derek W.,
    • Portland, ME,
    • May 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I always have had prepaid Visa cards for everything. Now with Varo, I not only have a bank but a savings account as well as ways to save money without damaging my money asset. I have shared Varo with many friends and a few have gotten Varo also and feel the same about its positives. I can't think of the negatives, besides not having an actual bank.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great banking

    • By Maurice C.,
    • Portsmouth, VA,
    • May 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is a great online banking company. I love the no fees and my money is always there. I trust this bank and I would recommend them to everyone. They just upgraded the app so that you can send money to anyone with a Varo card, which makes it easier to send money to friends and family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Would recommend this to everybody

    • By P K.,
    • Luray, VA,
    • May 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I would recommend this to everybody. What I did was my fault, I think because when I entered the digits on the back of the card I may have gotten the routing number wrong and it pulled it from the card but never deposited to my account. But I think it's a really great card and I would recommend this to everybody and anybody.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Needed a banking alternative

    • By Robert H.,
    • California,
    • May 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It's a great app to use easy and is not hard to use.

    Like other banking apps that are just so ridiculous. Too many apps inside the apps, you know, bottom line, it's perfect for someone like me.

    Thanks Varo.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Perks of Varo.

    • By Steven V.,
    • Thornville, OH,
    • May 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I didn't think an online account was going to work for me. I was very hesitant. Once I started reading and checking into different accounts, I came across Varo. I decided you know what, let's give it try. Well, it has been a great decision. I have my paychecks direct deposited into my Varo account now because I trust them completely. I'm so glad I took this chance, thank you Varo.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Service

    • By Quientin S.,
    • Baltimore, MD,
    • May 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Great service, no-hassle customer service, friendly and knowledgeable staff. No long wait time on the phone. I was very pleased with everything and I’m very pleased with everything they have to offer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I love y’all

    • By Latoya B.,
    • Charleston, SC,
    • May 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I really love this bank, never had any problems since I joined, and I love everything about them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • It's awesome

    • By Deanna P.,
    • Missouri,
    • May 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I haven't really had the opportunity since my card was stolen. But since I was able to use it a few times it's pretty cool. Hopefully I can receive another card soon.

    The card was a very cute color as well, haha. Get back to me about another one being sent, thanks.

    Thanks Varo.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great option for people rebuilding credit

    • By Branson H.,
    • Bradford, AR,
    • May 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had an outstanding balance at a local bank and wasn't able to open an account anywhere locally until that was settled. Opening an account with Varo Bank enabled me to have a real bank account with an actual debit card to be able to pay bills and manage my finances so that I could repay my debt and get back in good standing with my local bank. Varo was a great option for my financial situation, and even though I have a local checking account now, I prefer to use Varo still!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Good bank choice

    • By Joseph F.,
    • Chula Vista, CA,
    • May 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Varo bank has been good and helping me whenever I have any issues or concerns regarding my account, has always been straight up and honest with what they are doing or what they can't even. The dispute department has been very good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love Varo card

    • By Amy B.,
    • Rome, GA,
    • May 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a card to use for PrePay Power because it's paid more than once a month and Varo charged no fees. A friend living with me at the time recommended Varo to me and it was probably the best advice she ever gave me. Thanks Varo.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The best there is

    • By Tone J.,
    • Texas,
    • May 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    One of the best banks I know. I highly recommend. I enjoy the perks and the free checking and savings and...and you can also use the app to connect with other apps to get other incentives.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Five stars

    • By Bri O.,
    • Fort Myers, FL,
    • May 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Varo is the best debit card I’ve used. The $0 overdraft credit of $50 and savings round up are two of my favorite features amongst many. Also, their customer service is A1 and they stay up to date with their app and have added beneficial services since their early days.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Varo bank

    • By Joshua I.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • May 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Varo is amazing. I’ve been with them for almost 2 years now and have never been disappointed with them. If I ever have an issue it is always solved quickly. I’d recommend Varo over any bank honestly!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Easy access

    • By Kristin B.,
    • North Carolina,
    • May 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have recommended Varo to several different friends and family. I also think it's very easy to find places to deposit cash, checks are easily deposited online, and direct deposits not lagging. Also, customer service is great, thank you for your support. Also, no overcharge overdrafts, great idea.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great

    • By Brittani B.,
    • Arkansas,
    • May 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I love everything about my Varo bank card. I got my stimulus check like way before everybody else or at least way before the people I am around all the time. My favorite color is purple so it makes me love the card even more. I love the chip feature, it makes it more up to date and modern.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome

    • By Charles A.,
    • Grand Rapids, MI,
    • Apr 29, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I completely recommend Varo for any and all online money situations. They are a free banking service, better than PayPal and Cash App - you can transfer money among multiple places instantly but some transfers take some time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 129

Write a Review for Varo Bank!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Varo Bank Reviews