• 166 Customer Reviews
  • 78% Recommend This Service
4.1 out of 5
5 star: 71% 4 star: 7% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 20%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Great customer service

    • By Melissa M.,
    • Uniontown, OH,
    • Nov 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    Willingness to help and get a resolution.

    Very knowledgeable and great people skills. 100% available to you 365. Thanks Varo.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Understanding
    • Knowledgeable
    • Pleasant
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Simple use

    • By Jordan K.,
    • Petoskey, MI,
    • Nov 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have enjoyed using Varo. They even let me overdraft my account fee-free. No better online site. I would recommend this site to all my friends and family. They are extremely quick with their customer service as well. Any time I've called they have been quick, courteous, and helpful.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy use
    • Well connected to other platforms
    • Everyone seems to have
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • No worries

    • By Antonia B.,
    • Cheyenne, WY,
    • Nov 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Varo has been a wonderful bank and a wonderful experience! I have not run into a single issue or a single problem. My daughter recommended Varo while I was using Chime and I am so thankful for the switch. I am thankful for the bank, I am thankful for the service, and I am thankful for the ease-of-use. You will not get a complaint out of me nor will you get a complaint out of my daughter. They cover overdraft with no issues, they answer questions that you have if you have any problems, you can set up direct deposit insanely easily, and it gets credited to your account so early. It has been wonderful and I think it would be a great product or a great thank for military veterans, active-duty, families with children, families with teenagers, or any of the above.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Fast
    • Friendly
    • Easy
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • 100% none better than bank

    • By Rose S.,
    • Kirbyville, MO,
    • Nov 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have had nothing but excellent service in any and all aspects of my account or just me as a person. Several times I have had to dispute certain charges, most min to minor amounts, however, several were of substantial amounts and each time I had my money retrieved and returned, as well as some refunds I received, each one without issue and swiftly. Also, my direct deposit with the no-fee overdraft deal is phenomenal!

    Thank you Varo Bank, I give you a 100% 100 stars review, and I will always recommend your bank forever, just as I have already and continue to do with several others and anyone I meet or talk to.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Efficiency
    • Guarantee
    • Personal phenomenal customer service
    • Hours of customer service availability
    • Small overdraft amount
    • Terms for qualifying for overdraft and/or no account fees

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Nice job

    • By Chasity B.,
    • Nashville, TN,
    • Nov 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Very great job. I love this bank card. It is so easy to use. Every time I think about getting a bank account around the area I say no, this is free, convenient, and fast. I recommend anyone that's paying for an account to use it. It is just absolutely crazy when you could have Varo for free. Come on guys, get yourself a great amazing account.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy to use
    • Fast
    • Convenient
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Fantastic

    • By Blake S.,
    • Jasper, IN,
    • Nov 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have absolutely loved my experience banking through Varo. The app is simple to use and gives me the ability to control every aspect of my account and manage my money with ease.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No fee overdraft
    • Early payday
    • Simple app
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Liars

    • By Alexandria C.,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Nov 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    They allowed someone across the state to steal my money. Somewhere I have never even made a purchase and while I was at work. I provided them with this information and they still denied my claim. They won't let me speak to the fraud department and said I haven't won my funds back, like this is a game. I will never bank with Varo again.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Instant transfer
    • Can't speak to fraud department
    • Doesn't take you seriously
    • Won't give you stolen money back like promised

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • All the above card

    • By Alina S.,
    • Shreveport, LA,
    • Nov 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    I have great card usage access, update saving ability feature as in apps to earn real cash or save a penny, build your credit, customer support is very professional but chill, understanding, and effective problem fixer. No hidden fees, up to date feature, able to transfer funds without fees within Varo or external account, it’s small 1-5% for instant (pennies). Ability to reload at Family Dollar, Dollar General, all CVS, or Walgreens.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Reload card at CVS or family dollar
    • Customer support
    • Unnecessary hidden fees
    • Customer support not 24 hours
    • More earn move apps
    • Monthly refund ATM fees out of network
    • Reload ATM within network

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Easy peasy

    • By Chris A.,
    • Warm Mineral Springs, FL,
    • Oct 31, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    Every time I use my Varo card, I'm not charged an ATM fee. Very convenient setup to put money on it as well. I'm in love.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Did is past tense, I still love the service
    • It's easy enough for my wife to use, ope she don't see this, lol
    • Paying a fee to get money on it

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Varo Prepaid Debit Card

    • By Connie F.,
    • Marysville, CA,
    • Oct 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    I love my experience with Varo. Easy load options. Always alerts me when I make a purchase. There are no monthly fees and no hidden fees. Makes transferring money easy and quickly.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy load
    • No monthly or hidden fees
    • Easy transfers
    • No alerts when money is low

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best bank

    • By James F.,
    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Oct 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    I can't put into words how great the bank is! Customer service is great too! Thanks, Varo, keep up the great work! Looking forward to being a customer for years to come and I'll keep telling my friends and family that they need to switch and give you a try because they won't regret it.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No fee overdraft
    • No credit check
    • No fee ATMs
    • No cash back
    • Money transfers

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible fraud department

    • By Chris S.,
    • Concord, CA,
    • Oct 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    So I used to think Varo was great, until I discover that Varo thinks it's a great idea to not allow anybody to be able to contact the fraud dept. So when they freeze your account, well, you're screwed for 24 hours at best. Regardless of whether you're stranded at a gas station and have no other means of buying anything because you put all your trust in Varo and they screwed you! Thanks Varo! Next time at least take me to dinner first!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy access
    • No fees
    • Can't contact fraud department
    • Freezes your card for 24 hours
    • No loan options

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome

    • By Adam B.,
    • Louisville, KY,
    • Oct 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I found this to be a very easy app to use, and thank you, online. And I love the way that it saved your change for savings. I forgot all about it and noticed I had eight dollars, very surprising. User-friendly.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Fast
    • Easy
    • Understand
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Rating

    • By Ashley S.,
    • Vale, NC,
    • Oct 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    All good things about Varo. No complaints at all! Have satisfied me throughout my whole experience with Varo. Thanks so much for your great services.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Transfers
    • App
    • Online help
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great

    • By James H.,
    • Kentucky,
    • Oct 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    I love the bank, I use it every day. The numbers wear off the card quickly. But that's about it. It's compatible with all the merchants I use regularly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I love this bank

    • By Ryan G.,
    • Loving, NM,
    • Oct 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Fantastic, no-hassle, friendly phone employee. Card got here fast, up to $50, no charge overdraft charges, it makes it so helpful.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Quick
    • Friendly
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Easy honest banking

    • By Samantha W.,
    • Eugene, OR,
    • Oct 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    I’ve had nothing but good experiences with Varo Bank. The app is super easy and straightforward to use. I would recommend this bank to anyone. I also love how they offer a lot of things that other banks don’t.

    Pros and Cons:

    • App
    • Easy to find routing and accounting numbers
    • Fast costumer service
    • Can’t deposit check unless enrolled in direct deposit
    • No free ATMs
    • Hard to speak to a real human over the phone

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Can't be beat!

    • By Adrian B.,
    • Louisville, KY,
    • Oct 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    I've been using Varo for a little over a year as a bank account, however, I use it more and more. Varo customer service agents are always nice and helpful, never had a bad experience. Varo bank is truly the best banking experience I've ever had! The app is awesome, you are almost like your very own personal banker, you can do a lot within the app. You won't have any regrets keeping your dollars with Varo!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Simplicity
    • Customer service
    • The app
    • Not 24/7 customer service

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Perfect reliable service

    • By James B.,
    • Greensboro, NC,
    • Oct 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have been thrown every debit card in the world online, but chose to keep this one. They are reliable, and will never fail you! Thanks!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Ease of app
    • Fast transfers for incoming deposits
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Varo

    • By Adam S.,
    • Duluth, MN,
    • Sep 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    It's been really great working with Varo and I would always tell my friends and family about the Varo card, to have them get one.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No fee overdraft
    • No ATM fees
    • Early deposits
    • It only takes away the overdraft after a month
    • They don't always give you the $75 promotion like it says it was going to
    • They email a lot

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great card

    • By Mowanna S.,
    • Lancaster, PA,
    • Sep 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Whenever I have a charge that I need to dispute, they help me to do it. They have no fees and that's the best part because all the other cards I have used have a monthly fee.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No fees
    • Easy to use
    • Fast direct deposit
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Service

    • By Sherry M.,
    • Battle Creek, MI,
    • Aug 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Great card service and very beneficial. They offer many options with this card and always are kind if I needed any help with any issues! I highly suggest this card service. It's been great so far!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Great customer service
    • Awesome card features
    • Beneficial services
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Varo recommendations

    • By Miyadilah H.,
    • Huntsville, AL,
    • Aug 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    I've been with Varo for some time now. Out of all online prepaid debit cards, Varo has no overdraft fees. Overall I give Varo an A+. Thanks Varo.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No overdraft fees
    • Get paid 2 days early
    • Borrow money
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Easy to use, no fees!

    • By Prezza D.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Aug 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    I love being able to access everything online/app. I can send money easily to friends and you can make Varo to Varo transfers.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No fees
    • App
    • Savings account
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Varo rocks!

    • By Melissa A.,
    • Belvidere, NJ,
    • Aug 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I love Varo! Makes life easier. App is simple to use. Highly recommend this company for your online banking. Download the app and it is easy to sign up.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Simple
    • No hassle, excellent customer service
    • No fee to sign up
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Perfect bank

    • By Charles T.,
    • Cartersville, GA,
    • Aug 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Great service, I highly recommend this bank to any and everyone that I know. I have not had any problems what so ever with anything since I started using my Varo card.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Very professional
    • Very precise
    • Great service
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Messed up security measures

    • By Akenya S.,
    • California,
    • Aug 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm in Miami and my phone goes dead but I need to control my card because I've made reservations using this card and I attempt to download the app on my cousin’s phone so I can transfer the money from savings to checkings and as I'm logging in it says the account is disabled. I give them a call and instead of them giving me some verification questions to answer they tell me the fraud department will be sending an email within 24 hours to verify my identity but the card will remain disabled until I receive the email. Like I'm in a whole other state and plans are now messed up because of the messed up security measures of Varo.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Such an inconvenience
    • Dissatisfied

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 166

Write a Review for Varo Bank!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Varo Bank Reviews