Varo Bank Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Varo Bank

Overall Rating

4.1

189 Customer Reviews

Summary

Varo is a full-service, app-based bank whose focus is on providing consumers with checking, savings, credit and loan accounts that challenge the way that traditional banks do business.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

4.1 Stars out of 189 Reviews
5 Star:73% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:19%
80% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Varo Bank:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 13, 2021

Great banking option

By Trish M., Oroville, CA, Verified Reviewer

I had a great experience using Varo Bank. I really appreciate the on-time service that the bank has provided and the incredible money-saving options.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Money-saving options

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Feb 12, 2021

Love my online account

By Andrianna F., Prescott, AZ, Verified Reviewer

Love them, they make it easy for me to take care of all my needs on their app. And of I need help finding how to do something they are always very helpful.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It's simple to use

I get my checks deposited in one place

I can save money in an account attached and I don't mess it up

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Feb 12, 2021

Love Varo

By Melissa W., Chalmette, LA, Verified Reviewer

I have been with Varo since they were Varo money. I love banking with Varo, they have great customer service to help you with any problems you may be having. I love the save your change feature. It's the only account I need. Love love love Varo Bank.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Great customer service

The features

No problems

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Feb 12, 2021

Satisfied with Varo

By Amanda S., Los Lunas, NM, Verified Reviewer

I really love my Varo card and so far the Varo Bank card hasn't given me problems. I just hope that I am still able to overdraft monthly without any fees because that really saves me monthly.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fast transfer to other Varo cards

Easy account setup

Love early deposits

Haven't gotten to overdraft service

Can't mobile check load anymore, only able to once

Didn't like how long it took for me to get my money from my deposited check

Posted on Feb 11, 2021

Amazed

By Dakota H., Olean, NY, Verified Reviewer

Varo banking has been the best online prepaid banking I have ever used. I would highly recommend this to everyone. Not only is it easy to use, it’s the best to use as well.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Money transfers

Ability to use card everywhere

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Feb 11, 2021

Great service

By Jessica B., Athens, TX, Verified Reviewer

I've thoroughly enjoyed the convenience and service this app brings. It's great on the go when I'm out and about and need to grab some cash real quick, whenever I need to just pay for something really quick with the card.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Availability

Great service

Convenience

No free money

Fees

Not real people

Posted on Feb 10, 2021

Great banking

By Eric G., Dallas, TX, Verified Reviewer

I've had no problems with Varo, they have been wonderful and have had me all the way to expect to know everything that's going on with your money. Thanks Varo.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quick access to my money

Easy to understand

Always in the loop about my money

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 10, 2021

Outstanding

By Alfonso E., Knoxville, TN, Verified Reviewer

The best online banking experience, I will recommend it to anybody, my friends, my family, my coworkers. It is a good, excellent banking account, especially First Savings. You can save up money for a better future. I wish I could get a $50 bonus for this feedback, thanks. Have a great day everybody, enjoy Varo online banking.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No fees

Great service

Perfect customer service

Customer support

No personal loans

No bonus money

Posted on Feb 10, 2021

There are banks and then there's Varo

By Michael M., Long Beach, CA, Verified Reviewer

Varo Bank has not only advanced their brand/company, but they have also become a reputable bank and business I have been happy to rely on. Never one issue with the app or service.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Speed

Customer service

App

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Feb 9, 2021

Varo, the best banking experience

By Sharif B., Irvington, NJ, Verified Reviewer

Not a single problem, since I had Varo for 2 years, it has only gotten better. Love Varo and they are always adding new features.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy use

Fast deposit

Mobile access

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Feb 9, 2021

Excellent

By Chelsea B., Roseburg, OR, Verified Reviewer

Best bank I've ever had. I have no bad experiences with this bank.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Feb 9, 2021

Great! Never had any issues.

By Olivia G., Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

I have been banking with Varo for a few years now. I have always received deposits early, and I have never dealt with any fees! Everything has always been straight forward. I don’t think I’ve ever had to call customer service as long as I’ve been banking.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Early deposits

No monthly fee

Mobile banking

ATM limits

Daily spending limits

Posted on Feb 7, 2021

2 thumbs up

By Christian B., Ventura, CA, Verified Reviewer

I like them a lot, like the interest rate your money will earn in the savings account. Definitely recommend to my friends and family.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Savings account earned interest rate

Easy to use

Online access

They don't have a referral bonus

Posted on Feb 7, 2021

Great service

By S C., West Palm Beach, FL, Verified Reviewer

Great service and Varo gives you a lot of financial options...such as savings, checking, and opportunities to invest money.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Great options

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Feb 7, 2021

Awesome

By Holly P., Haines City, FL, Verified Reviewer

They have been my first online banking account. Their customer service is awesome. I’ve had my wallet taken twice and they didn’t give me a hassle. Of course, I always had an incident report if needed.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Customer service

No fees

Referral bonuses

ATM fees

Not instant transfer to linked account

Posted on Feb 6, 2021

The best

By Crystal H., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

I just love sooner paychecks and free month service and free ATM fees. Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Free

Checks comes sooner

Free ATM fees

Not free at all ATMs

Posted on Feb 6, 2021

Best online banking account ever

By Joshua P., Concord, NC, Verified Reviewer

It's just an all-around great bank and you never have to worry about being penalized for not having money in your accounts. If you don't have an account with Varo I highly recommend that you get one today. Thanks again, Varo, for being the people's bank.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to use

Free monthly updates

Never penalized for not having money in your account

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Feb 4, 2021

Extraordinary bank!

By Stephanie S., Kernersville, NC, Verified Reviewer

No fees, always friendly and courteous. They take care of everything I need and treat me like a person instead of a burden or "just another customer".

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No fees

Live agents

Friendly

Talking to a bot online

Posted on Jan 20, 2021

Varo

By Kris A., Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

It’s good. The only complaint I have is that they offer overdraft up to $50, but I cover what they want - I tried to get gas and it was denied, tried to buy lunch when I was working late, it was denied. Why even offer it if you cover what you want?

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Getting paid early

The overdraft protection issue

Posted on Jan 4, 2021

Best bank I’ve ever had

By Matthew B., Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

So easy to use everything on the Varo app at the touch of a finger. No issues ever and every time I needed help got through to a live agent who was positive and quick to resolve my concerns.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to use

The lock card feature

The save my change feature to savings

Wait long time for replacement card

Wish I could add my daughter on account

Posted on Jan 4, 2021

5 stars for Varo

By Chris C., New Orleans, LA, Verified Reviewer

Varo far exceeded my expectations. I've been with them for 2+ years now and love it. The customer service department is great.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Customer service

Banking app

Ease

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Dec 22, 2020

Varo making unauthorized withdraws

By Jennifer J., Muscadine, AL, Verified Reviewer

Varo Bank has made an authorized debit from my Cash App account and is refusing to give it back. For 2 days I have been told I would have access to my money by the end of the closing time. I have yet to receive it. I have placed a complaint with the BBB and hope that a class-action lawsuit is taken against this organization. This has caused me a terrible inconvenience as well as an excessive amount of stress. I have repeatedly been lied to just to pacify me. With a click of a button they stole my money, and with the click of a button they should've returned it immediately when they were notified. I have been told I am not the only customer this has happened to and it is my hope that me and the other parties involved can join together and seek just and rightful compensation for this unacceptable business practice. What has taken place is not only unacceptable, it is against banking policy and I hope that Varo Bank is revoked from all banking business in the future.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Unauthorized withdrawals

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 21, 2020

The app tech problems resulted in my account closure

By Brian B., Loganville, GA, Verified Reviewer

I've had Varo for about 6 months. I've had issues due to using the app. I recently tried logging into my account and used all the correct information. The app gives you a couple of chances to log in and on my second attempt putting in my info, they locked my account. I called them and they said I have to wait 2-3 business days for the fraud department to email me. One day later I received an email saying my account had been canceled without consulting or asking me what happened. I was extremely upset because now I have to wait another 14 days to get my money back! The app is faulty so I would advise going with a bank that has better app stability.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Save change

Customer service horrible

Varo app could lock you out of your whole bank account and you lose access to your money

You have to wait 3-14 days to get access to your active account or refund from account cancellation

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 4, 2020

Great customer service

By Melissa M., Uniontown, OH, Verified Reviewer

Willingness to help and get a resolution.

Very knowledgeable and great people skills. 100% available to you 365. Thanks Varo.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Understanding

Knowledgeable

Pleasant

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Nov 3, 2020

Simple use

By Jordan K., Petoskey, MI, Verified Reviewer

I have enjoyed using Varo. They even let me overdraft my account fee-free. No better online site. I would recommend this site to all my friends and family. They are extremely quick with their customer service as well. Any time I've called they have been quick, courteous, and helpful.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy use

Well connected to other platforms

Everyone seems to have

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 3, 2020

No worries

By Antonia B., Cheyenne, WY, Verified Reviewer

Varo has been a wonderful bank and a wonderful experience! I have not run into a single issue or a single problem. My daughter recommended Varo while I was using Chime and I am so thankful for the switch. I am thankful for the bank, I am thankful for the service, and I am thankful for the ease-of-use. You will not get a complaint out of me nor will you get a complaint out of my daughter. They cover overdraft with no issues, they answer questions that you have if you have any problems, you can set up direct deposit insanely easily, and it gets credited to your account so early. It has been wonderful and I think it would be a great product or a great thank for military veterans, active-duty, families with children, families with teenagers, or any of the above.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fast

Friendly

Easy

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Nov 3, 2020

100% none better than bank

By Rose S., Kirbyville, MO, Verified Reviewer

I have had nothing but excellent service in any and all aspects of my account or just me as a person. Several times I have had to dispute certain charges, most min to minor amounts, however, several were of substantial amounts and each time I had my money retrieved and returned, as well as some refunds I received, each one without issue and swiftly. Also, my direct deposit with the no-fee overdraft deal is phenomenal!

Thank you Varo Bank, I give you a 100% 100 stars review, and I will always recommend your bank forever, just as I have already and continue to do with several others and anyone I meet or talk to.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Efficiency

Guarantee

Personal phenomenal customer service

Hours of customer service availability

Small overdraft amount

Terms for qualifying for overdraft and/or no account fees

Showing 1-27 of 189

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.