• 147 Customer Reviews
  • 77% Recommend This Service
4.0 out of 5
5 star: 69% 4 star: 7% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 22%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Varo

    • By Adam S.,
    • Duluth, MN,
    • Sep 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    It's been really great working with Varo and I would always tell my friends and family about the Varo card, to have them get one.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No fee overdraft
    • No ATM fees
    • Early deposits
    • It only takes away the overdraft after a month
    • They don't always give you the $75 promotion like it says it was going to
    • They email a lot

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great card

    • By Mowanna S.,
    • Lancaster, PA,
    • Sep 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Whenever I have a charge that I need to dispute, they help me to do it. They have no fees and that's the best part because all the other cards I have used have a monthly fee.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No fees
    • Easy to use
    • Fast direct deposit
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Service

    • By Sherry M.,
    • Battle Creek, MI,
    • Aug 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Great card service and very beneficial. They offer many options with this card and always are kind if I needed any help with any issues! I highly suggest this card service. It's been great so far!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Great customer service
    • Awesome card features
    • Beneficial services
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Varo recommendations

    • By Miyadilah H.,
    • Huntsville, AL,
    • Aug 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    I've been with Varo for some time now. Out of all online prepaid debit cards, Varo has no overdraft fees. Overall I give Varo an A+. Thanks Varo.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No overdraft fees
    • Get paid 2 days early
    • Borrow money
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Easy to use, no fees!

    • By Prezza D.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Aug 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    I love being able to access everything online/app. I can send money easily to friends and you can make Varo to Varo transfers.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No fees
    • App
    • Savings account
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Varo rocks!

    • By Melissa A.,
    • Belvidere, NJ,
    • Aug 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I love Varo! Makes life easier. App is simple to use. Highly recommend this company for your online banking. Download the app and it is easy to sign up.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Simple
    • No hassle, excellent customer service
    • No fee to sign up
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Perfect bank

    • By Charles T.,
    • Cartersville, GA,
    • Aug 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Great service, I highly recommend this bank to any and everyone that I know. I have not had any problems what so ever with anything since I started using my Varo card.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Very professional
    • Very precise
    • Great service
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Messed up security measures

    • By Akenya S.,
    • California,
    • Aug 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm in Miami and my phone goes dead but I need to control my card because I've made reservations using this card and I attempt to download the app on my cousin’s phone so I can transfer the money from savings to checkings and as I'm logging in it says the account is disabled. I give them a call and instead of them giving me some verification questions to answer they tell me the fraud department will be sending an email within 24 hours to verify my identity but the card will remain disabled until I receive the email. Like I'm in a whole other state and plans are now messed up because of the messed up security measures of Varo.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Such an inconvenience
    • Dissatisfied

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome bank

    • By Matt B.,
    • Eridu, FL,
    • Jul 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I use my card on a daily basis, it's acceptable everywhere. I like the no-fee Varo to Varo transfer, and it's instant. The online banking application is totally amazing and I'm also able to use my card for online purchases.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No fees
    • Free Varo to Varo transfer
    • Online app works great
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing

    • By Nicholas K.,
    • Mesquite, TX,
    • Jul 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Overall banking with Varo has ben just awsome...it's easy and ten times better than PayPal. All I can say about that. Thank you for the amazing experience, banking with Varo is the best experience I have had with any banking.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy to use
    • It just runs great
    • Transfers are simple
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome

    • By William A.,
    • Lynn, MA,
    • Jul 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    My experience has been great, I'm so happy I found this bank account. I get paid 2 days early, the $50 no-fee overdraft has been very helpful. A great bank account, you will love it.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The no fee overdraft
    • The ATMs
    • Get paid early
    • The system not keeping up with the charges

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Varo is all you need

    • By Sabrina B.,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jul 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    I love all the products, the program features, and services. I never have a problem of my account, it's always right on point, down to the last cent. It's easy to use in stores for transactions. It's convenient ATM access and on-time monthly statements with no monthly fees. It's great for somebody who's trained to store a little nest egg away for emergencies and still be able to get things in the unions to do in everyday life as far as bills I expected, cost here and there.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The ease of use
    • The accuracy of my account information every time
    • Everything, it's just an awesome service
    • Not having to worry about opening my app up and seeing that $9.75 has been taking for monthly service fees like so many other cards
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Good service

    • By Andrew L.,
    • Essex, MD,
    • Jul 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Only had one problem when an ATM didn't dispense the correct amount and Varo customer service was able to help me get my money back in less than 24 hours. I really like this online bank so far. But I wish the overdraft option was more than $50 for people who have direct deposit and get paid on a weekly basis.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best debit card

    • By Edward J.,
    • Midvale, UT,
    • Jul 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    I really like how fast I get my paycheck and the notifications I get when I use my card at different locations. Being able to keep track of my balance on the go with the mobile app.

    Pros and Cons:

    • How fast I get my paycheck
    • Fast notification
    • The savings account
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great banking options!

    • By Shana C.,
    • Mooresville, NC,
    • Jul 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    Varo is a great banking system. Except for the $5 upload fee. If Varo made it free to deposit cash thru ATMs it would be the best ever. But I suppose that's how they make all their money, being as they don't charge in any other area. Overall wonderful bank!

    Pros and Cons:

    • No fees for zero balance
    • How the app shows all my information
    • Quick upload of funds
    • Paying to load my card

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Most conscience bank ever!

    • By Jeffrey W.,
    • Granite City, IL,
    • Jul 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    It's a great bank, I've had no problem with purchases. Bank withdrawals are a snap, it's easy to use it at almost all the ATMs in my area. I recommend it to anybody and everybody that needs a bank account or banking online. I really enjoy this bank.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Convenience
    • It's taken everywhere
    • Color of card
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great!

    • By Alex D.,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Jul 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    It’s a great company and card and app and stuff. Just the little things like customer service, changing address, disputing transactions, and even getting a new card...those all suck! Maybe fix that.

    Pros and Cons:

    • App
    • Paid early
    • Dispute transactions
    • Get a new card
    • Change address

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • They are liars and they steal your cash

    • By Sierra E.,
    • Arkansas,
    • Jul 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Let's just start off with I work for a bank...

    First, the overdraft is not owned by Varo so if you overdraft there's a wait until it releases, then I can use it. Then they claim they don't have a fraud department that can fix problems or you can speak with. They locked my account saying that they found something fishy with my login, then I called in and told them that it was me and they're gonna say I have to wait for 24 hours to get an email then they might release my hard-earned cash. This is some BS if I ever heard any, I swear.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Customer service sucks, they hang up on you
    • They don't have any answers when you call and actually know what you talking about

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very bad experience

    • By John P.,
    • Glendale, AZ,
    • Jun 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    Ok, lets start with I have had Varo for over a year and all was fine until:

    a) I changed my email address that started it all.

    b) Told a friend about Varo, she used it got the 75 bucks for using my ref code, I got nothing, they claimed the email she used was not mine.

    c) On June 10th my account got put on hold for some darn reason, they claimed they needed me to verify myself with selfies holding my driver's license card, got told my account was re-instated, all good, WRONGGGGGGGGGGGGG.

    d) Called them on Wednesday, got no good answers. Called on Thursday, got told no good answers. Finally called on Saturday, GOT PUT ON HOLD, the lady she needed to turn my card back on and wah-lah.

    All is good so far BUT I AM WORKING ON CLOSING my account. AFTER I FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE BBB.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The phone call on Saturday, June 13th at 11am got my account turned back on
    • Put my account on hold for some darn identity fraud crap

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The best

    • By Heather C.,
    • Hagerstown, MD,
    • Jun 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    I have never been with a better bank. Deposits are easy. Customer service is amazing. Love being able to transfer to other Varo accounts instantly.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Very easy to transfer to other account
    • Friendly service
    • Always available
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love it

    • By Jessica S.,
    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Jun 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Has been the best card I have ever had. You can link one card to another, extra safety, my whole family has the Varo, and moving money is so simple.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Card lock
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome bank, horrible wait times

    • By Sammy K.,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Jun 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Accepted everywhere...try calling though, omg, takes forever, but they do take care of whatever issue you bring to their attention.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Accepted everywhere
    • Mobile app
    • Notifications
    • Wait times when you call

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I chose Varo to get my income faster. It works.

    • By Joshua L.,
    • Kentucky,
    • May 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I chose Varo to help me get my income faster. It works. And I also enjoy the up to $50 overdraft I'm allowed at times. Yes I would recommend Varo to anyone wanting to get their income faster.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • It's awesome

    • By Adrianna W.,
    • South Carolina,
    • May 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It's a great app and card, it makes life so much easier, most definitely recommend to everyone trying to find a card for sure.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Using for about a year now, it's been a great experience, so I hope everybody get this online banking account

    • By Ranier Y.,
    • Ohio,
    • May 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Varo is the best online banking account, they have great offers all the time, they can help you manage your money. They also got different offers as far as saving gas for your car, and also helping you make money from home. So yeah, this is more than enough of a great experience so everyone should join the team and get better results from this online bank.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • OUTSTANDING

    • By Robert C.,
    • Ohio,
    • May 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE. No fees for once people come, 1st/customer. Free ATM card, great customer service, online setup very easy, keep you informed. They look out for you, the customer, while doing what they can to make money and save you money. Again, thank you and OUTSTANDING job! Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The best debit card

    • By Rosa H.,
    • Ohio,
    • May 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Varo is way better than most mobile banking debit cards. The app is user-friendly and convenient. I love the fact that I get more interest with my savings through Varo than my bank savings accounts. It's super easy to load the accounts and transfer between accounts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 147

Write a Review for Varo Bank!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Varo Bank Reviews